Skip Navigation LinksHome  > Adventures  > Adventure Journals  > C-Ruck Performs in New Zealand Hiking Experiment  > Airborne-Carry-on-Ruck-Sack-C-Ruck

VIEW 360º

“I'm a history lesson carried on your back.”
Red Oxx Airborne C-Ruck Rucksack - shown in Olive. Chose from 12 Colors.

Airborne Carry-on Ruck Sack (C-Ruck) $255.00


In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!

Paratrooper Tough!

C-Ruck: the do-it-all airline carry-on legal rucksack.

Rucksacks were used by WWII paratroopers. Comfortably molded to their backs they did not add hassles to their already perilous days. Our modern version of the rucksack works just as well--without the added weight and bulk of an internal frame.

Called the "C-Ruck" for carry-on travel use, the Volara foam padded backing on the main compartment cushions your back. The deep and wide main compartment will hold more than enough belongings for a dawn to dark hike.

This rugged rucksack features an interior slip pocket that will safely stow your CamelBak, laptop notebook computer, or tablet. Underneath the C-Ruck pack, we've added Fastex straps to hold your jacket in the middle of your day hike, or your yoga mat when you're heading off to class.

No more squirming for the straps--soft UniSuede articulating shoulder straps provide surprising all-day comfort, rotating freely at the base of the shoulder. Far stronger than stitching into the bag. The rings provide a keen workable solution to the weakest part of a backpack, the shoulder strap seams, and are much stronger than stitching into the bag.

Loaded with plenty of daisy chain loops on both the ruck itself and both straps, you'll never be short for hanging keys, flashlights, iPods, smartphones and anything else you may need quick access to.

Double drawstring top closures and handy external front and side zippered pockets add almost another 1,000 cubic inches of carrying capacity making it easy to organize your belongings. All external pockets feature our tough #10 YKK zippers that conveniently zip halfway down the pocket sides so you can dig deep if you need to. These tall pockets are also the perfect size for wine, spirit or soda bottles (or a package of a dozen eggs) in case you plan to pack for a picnic.


Our customers like to define our gear as "built like a tank". While obviously you're not going to be toting around rucksacks that weigh 50 tons and have three inches of armor plate, still the comparison is valid. For a rucksack, they are built tough. Starting with the most durable soft textile material available, 1000 weight CORDURA® nylon, we use super strong UV resistant thread that is stitched into every seam.

Places where two separate pieces of fabric are stitched together are then bound, that is, we take a long piece of one inch wide nylon webbing and fold it over the edges of the two pieces and stitch them together, this creates a strong seam, or binding, that prevents the pieces from unraveling on the inside of the ruck, or gives it a clean finished look if on the outside of the bag.

In addition, each exposed fabric edge, such as on a pocket flap, is also bound using a thicker binding material. Inside edges typically receive a thinner nylon webbing, whereas outside corner edges that are exposed to wear will have a thicker nylon binding. All of our binding material is vertically woven to prevent fraying, peeling or splitting that you may commonly see in less expensive dime a dozen rucksacks that brag of "binding" their edges.

Each stress point, such as where the shoulder straps attach to the bag, is double box stitched - which is where we get the "double XX" in our name, Red Oxx; a stitching practice we adapted from our time as parachute riggers.

The reason Red Oxx uses the largest zipper we can afford, the #10 YKK VISLON® zipper, is that they are easily repairable, even in the field; they will hold their place, that is, they "lock"; they are difficult to penetrate, thereby increasing the security of your belongings; they function smoothly in inclement weather and they can be yanked from a variety of angles without losing teeth or becoming separated.

Red Oxx has occasionally been accused of "overdoing" our hardware. But once you've had a cheap piece of plastic hardware break in the middle of a busy intersection, airport, out on the trail or other inconvenient locale dumping your precious belongings all over the ground, having a heavy-duty nickel-plated or stainless steel D ring or attachment swivel that weighs just a little more, is a travel companion's confidence builder and peace of mind maker. After all, you want to enjoy your journey as best you can. Why worry about having your rucksack break you down?

Use the C-Ruck as your vehicle bug-out bag loaded for bear and ready to ramble. Since this is a fairly large knapsack, smaller framed folks might try the Roadster Mini Ruck.

Tested across the European theater by our Red Oxx Roughneck Bag Testing Crew, the C-Ruck knapsack loaded on and off trains and intercontinental flights without a hitch (and flagged a few taxis along the way). Packing a week's worth of clothes left room for souvenirs and the external pockets kept our goods organized.

Because Red Oxx backs our rucksacks with our "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty, you won't feel guilty about filling up your local landfill with cheap imported junk every season. Buy it once, own it forever, and pass it on. Join the "pack" and buy a military inspired, combat-tough rucksack and stand out from the ordinary backpack crowd. When you're on the go, a Ruck sack that won't breakdown is one less worry. Rugged, reliable and tough.

If you're a railroader, we recommend our larger ballistic nylon Rail Runner Rucksack or the mondo large Rail King Rucksack.

U.S.A. Exterior Dimensions: 18"L x 12"W x 7"H (excludes pockets).
Capacity: 1,428 cubic inches (2,400 including external raised pockets).
Weight: 3.7 pounds.

Metric Dimensions: (Main Compartment Only) 45.7cm L x 30.5cm W x 17.8cm H.
Capacity (total): 40 Liters.
Weight: 1.68 Kilos.

Pocket Measurements:

  • Exterior dual raised side zippered pockets: 12"H x 7"W x 2"D
  • Exterior dual raised side zippered flat slip pockets: 7"W x 6.5"H
  • Exterior raised front pocket: 8"L x 7"W x 2"D
  • Exterior zippered flat slip flap pocket: 10.5"W x 9"H
  • Interior slip pocket: 14.5"H x 11.5"W

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty. Red Oxx lasts longer.
Designed AND hand made in Billings, Montana U.S.A..
UPS Transit Shipping Time Map.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your Airborne C-Ruck Rucksack.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear with pride.

Red Oxx is a Veteran owned and operated US Manufacturer.

EMAIL POLICY: Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond a dozen working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. During checkout purchasers have the option to opt-out of our other occasional email notifications. Your email address is always secure.

Every great rucksack needs cool luggage accessories.

Rave Reviews from the Pros:'s Go Europe travel advisory gives the C-Ruck Rucksack a smashing 5 stars. Check out his Rucksack review.

Rucksack Trivia:
Rucksack is German for Backpack. Der Rücken (Ruck) refers to the back part of the body and translates as "to move". Sack means "pack". To move a pack. Surprising similarities exist in other European languages such as Rucksack is Rygsæk in Danish, Rugzak in Dutch, Ryggsäck in Swedish, Ryggsekk in Norwegian, and Rugsak in South Afrikaans. A Rucksack (or Ruck Sack) is also commonly called a Haversack, Knapsack or Packsack. We call it the Airborne C-ruck because it's airline carry-on legal.

Airborne C-Ruck Rucksack is a Red Oxx "Staff Pick" favorite.

Write a Review

4.87 Average Rating
 (98 Reviews)

1 2 3 4 5 Next > 
 3 Year Update
By Chris, , September 28, 2015

Here's an update on my bag for those wanting to know how it holds up over time.

I've had the bag over 3 years now and it's logged thousands and thousands of miles around the world. From the jungles of Central and South America to the harsh roads of Eastern Europe and the wild, remote areas of the Balkans, (and even a trip or two to Myrtle Beach :) )it's held up tremendously well. It's the best backpack I've ever owned and I've pretty much owned all the usual suspects.

Once, in Panama, the zipper teeth on the side pocket just crumbled and broke when I went to zip it shut. Turns out a few years ago, Red Oxx got a bad batch of zippers. They fixed it immediately and for free and it's run like a top since.

Which illustrates one of the reasons I love the C-Ruck: a sparse amount of zippers, always the weak spot of even the toughest constructed pack.

It's never been babied, including being my main bag in a wilderness survival course. But it's got virtually no wear. Certainly not ready to give up the ghost anytime soon.

People often ask me about the bag, mostly because they find it crazy it's all the luggage I'll carry for a 3 week trip overseas. I'm always glad to explain how awesome the bag is. Sometimes, the inquirer will balk at the price when they hear it, which I find humorous. Over a 10 year period, I'll spend way less on backpacks (only needing one) than them (needing to constantly replace their $100 packs).

I've got a closet full of gear regrets. The C-Ruck will never be one of them.

John Muir famously wrote the following about how to go have an adventure, "Throw a loaf of bread and a pound of tea in an old sack and hop over the back fence." Still great advice. Just no reason to use an old sack these days--get a C-Ruck!
 used as rr grip
By B.D.H., Illinois, July 25, 2015

bought this after buying the rail king ruck sack. although the rail king was great it was just bigger and bulkier than what I needed. I use this for my every day grip. works great for holding everything that I need as an engineer for the cn. holds all books, ppe and all overnight things. I also pack my laptop and rain poncho. change of clothes and extra shoes. it holds it all. great bag.
 Great Sack
By Greg, Orchard Park, NY, June 25, 2015

The Carry-on Ruck is great. I bought the Ruck to be hands free during air travel. It fits my computer, and much more all while stowing beneath the seat in front of me. Thanks Red Oxx!
 Home -in -one
By Alan M, Victoria, B.C. Canada, April 22, 2015

This is an incredible bag.When I told people that I was going away for 6 weeks (4 in Africa and 2 in the UK) with only this bag as a carry-on they were very skeptical but it held all I needed for Zambia at 30c to Scotland at 4c with no problem.Very pleased with this purchase.
By Jim H, Denver, CO, April 17, 2015

I took this pack with me through Belize and Honduras. Packed the heck out of it (holds a ridiculous amount of stuff). Dragged it through jungle and beach alike. Stuffed it under bus seat, on several plane flights and long hikes. The pack still looks like band new. The quality and hardware are tiptop. I was concerned about the padding on the straps but found them to be plenty thick and comfortable. I expect this to last through many adventures. Hell, if it doesn't, there's always that warranty! Thanks Red Oxx!
 great for the railway.
By Anonymous, Alberta, March 26, 2015

I use this as my grip on the railway.I bought the duffel bag as well as the rail king ruck sack and the rail king was way to big for me and I found I'd get hung up trying to get through the nose of the unit.This ruck sack is perfect size and they way it's designed is perfect I use it as my lunch bag at work but also use it as my everyday bag for when I go shooting,fishing or what ever is going on that day.I would like to be able to have my name badge sewn on it just like the rail king and duffel bags but a small problem.all in all just another red oxx ruck sack. High quality,great service,great product.
 My Bulletproof Man Purse
By Max, Stage Left Wing, March 3, 2015

Superb. This bag is with me every day. I literally do not leave home without it. I've built a system around it. Each pocket has a purpose. I love this bag!

It's only a few months old, and has survived EVERY DAY use on multiple continents. There's plenty of room for all measures of life and work related gear.

It has shown NO signs of wear. If and when it does, your warranty is what all warranties should be... BS FREE! I thank you for the design integrity of your bags and your company.

 Great hard wearing backpack
By Bob Farrow, Dubai, February 19, 2015

This is such a great hard wearing bag. I have to travel a lot, often taking 2 or 3 short flights a week and as airports are quite big in this part of the world a backpack is far easier than a briefcase but taking all my gear in the past meant a new pack every few months, stitching would tear, buckles break etc. but that's never going to be a problem with this baby

Very comfortable on my back and loads of room for my MacBook, iPad, Chargers, connectors, pads etc.

My only minor gripe is that the base could be better padded for when carrying a laptop, but otherwise perfect!

Oh a nd I love this dark blue colour!
 Great for a carry-on
By Paul, Denver, February 19, 2015

Tuff as nails. Zippers work flawlessly. MADE IN THE USA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! More on the higher end price wise, but worth every cent.
 Simple Quality at a Slight Cost
By Brandon, Dalian, December 10, 2014

If it was possible to give this bag a 4.5, I would.

This bag is nearly perfect. It's so simple and sturdy, all at the perfect size. It's big enough to fit everything you need, yet short enough to shove under a plane seat without any problems.

All of this wrapped in with what seems to be an unbelievably great warranty and great price -- it can't be beat.

The pocket layouts are perfect to with a place for everything. Quick access to papers/phone/passport/headphones/pens at the top, side pockets for dirty clothes or large bottles, front pocket for access to things you may need in between those pockets and the massive main compartment. And you can't forget about that massive compartment. Perfect for loads of clothes/food and also equipped with a loose sleeve for tablets/laptops. The bottom loops are great for jackets and other large things that you don't want to take up space in the bag with. All this is in the fantastic simple design of a rucksack which is the best design for easily tossing things in and out.

That being said, there are some issues with its simplicity and size with a very heavy load. When loading a case of 12 tall cans of adult beverages into this bag (which it easily fits along with a 2 liter bottle of coke, juice, and vegetables), the strain on the lower back (light padding) and between the shoulder blades (middle strap design) becomes pretty intense during a standing bus ride and 3 mile walk from the shop.

The simplicity also comes at a cost for protecting laptops and tablets. The loose sleeve that is inside relies on a tapered pocket to protect your laptop from dropping your bag on the floor. This works pretty well for a larger 17 inch laptop, but a smaller tablet will hit the ground with a thud. The pocket is also fairly loose and doesn't seem secure in your bag unless it has other things in it. Also, with that rucksack design, drawstrings, and a smaller top flap, you may not feel comfortable with a laptop in there when it's pouring out.

That being said, I would recommend this bag to anyone who believes size, durability, simplicity, and travel needs trump that of electronics protection and extremely heavy long haul comfort. It works for me and I love it.
 Great travel backpack
By Andy, Madison, WI, November 20, 2014

Great backpack, I fit all of my scuba gear (except for fins) and a change of clothes into the bag and it kept everything nice and secure! The warranty looks stellar too! I would recommend this to a friend.
 Best bag for flying
By Mike C, Calgary AB, November 6, 2014

I flew to a lot different cities this past year and the ruck showed its best in crowded situations like subways where there may be lots of stairs and no close escalators or elevators (occurs in old subway stations) which rule out wheeled bags. The number of pockets on the outside means less unpacking of the main compartment. Once I got used to where I put items on a regular basis, easy assess even when stored in an overhead bin on a plane. Only improvement I made was to add some foam insulation (Home Depot) on the carry handle so it cuts the hand less with heavy loads. I have gray foam but the next one will be black to match the webbing.
 Quality Bag
By Bill, , October 30, 2014

Very nice bag. I was a bit worried that the bag would be too small for my needs, but it is a bit bigger than I thought. My Alienware M17 fits in the laptop sleeve, although I wish it was a tad taller. The pockets are great and hold a lot of gear. The shoulder straps are comfortable and even with the bag loaded it is easy to carry. I will be getting some more red oxx gear in the future. I have been thinking about getting this bag for over a year... happy with my purchase. I plan on using this as my only bag for a few trips coming up and I think it will work great. I am a little concerned how it will do in the rain and snow with moisture getting in through the top.

I agree with a previous recommendation to male the top flap a little larger.
 Good Pack
By John, Texas, October 20, 2014

Good pack for travel and in the field.
 Airborne Carry on Ruck sack
By Sharon Bass, Benbrook, TX, September 27, 2014

My husband and I both work for the railroad and needed a better, roomier backpack. This seems to the bill. Only wish it had zippers to close instead of draw strings. It is comfortable and holds quite a bit of stuff with room to spare. Wish you had something similar in the "railroad" category.
 Fantastic Carry-on
By Anthony S. , Pittsburgh, PA, August 6, 2014

I took this bag on a 2 week tour of Italy as one of two carry-on bags. Rugged, well made, and good looking, it was a great investment. So good, I bought my wife an Air Boss.

By Mark M, New York, July 11, 2014

Highest quality - a beautiful product. Thanks to the folks at RedOxx for superfast delivery. It's gone across the Balkans with me over the past month as carry-on in small planes, boats, taxis and on my back and it has held everything I needed. Robust and comfortable: I won't be looking for another rucksack.
 Very pleased
By Pete, San Diego , July 4, 2014

I leave in August for three weeks in china studying tai chi and Taoist thought. This is perfect for a traveling light in busses and trains and such. Might not be big enough if I needed to get dressed up or if the weather was cold, but perfect for these plans.
 Great bag
By rick davison, United States, May 29, 2014

Very good bag holds my 17inch. laptop and other gear in it also is very comfortable carrying on back all around great bag!
 Use as backpack
By Ron crichton, Fenton MI, May 12, 2014

VERY sturdy build. Point where top straps attach are the wrong angle (for me, at least) to allow straps to lay flat on my shoulders. Also I will need to add some padding between this connection point and my shirt.
1 2 3 4 5 Next > 

C-Ruck Rucksack Specs Chart

  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Designed AND hand made in U.S.A.
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified CORDURA® nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 400 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded Solar Max nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Double box stitching such as on carry handles
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Daisy chain loops on ruck body and both straps
  • Includes adjustable detachable chest strap
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Fastex side release buckles
  • A.L.I.C.E. pack strap adjusters
  • Nickel plated 1/4" O-rings allow articulating shoulder straps
  • Grab loop handle
  • Mil Spec parachute cord with adjustable Fastex tension locks
  • Spurred stainless steel grommets
  • Uni-Suede padded articulating backpack straps
  • 4 lb. closed cell Volara foam padding in back
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • U.S.A. Dimensions - Main Compartment: 18"L x 12"W x 7"H
    Side Pockets: 12"L x 7"W x 2"H
    Front Pocket: 8"L x 7"W x 2"H
  • Metric Dimensions Main Compartment only: 45.7cm L x 30.5cm W x 17.8cm H
  • U.S.A. Capacity (total): 2,400 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity (total): 40 Liters
  • U.S.A. Weight: 3.7 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 1.68 Kilos

Airborne C-Ruck Rucksack Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black = Raven
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, back orders are typically filled within 14 working days. Visit our Customer Service Help Desk or call our Toll Free Hot Line: 1-888-733-6999.

Related Articles
Red Oxx "No Bull" Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

Red Oxx Bags are guaranteed forever, be sure to include them in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - No Questions Asked. Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

What's the difference between the Airborne Rucksack and the Roadster Mini Ruck?
The Airborne C-Ruck's main compartment is two inches wider and one inch taller than the Roadster Mini Ruck. These larger dimensions are also reflected in the side pockets, front raised pocket and cover flat pocket. See the Specifications Tab at left for further dimension details.
Will the Airborne meet carry-on legal standards?
Sure, the C-Ruck Rucksack will easily fit in the overhead bins of most airlines.
What's the best way to pack the Airborne?
Since our Rucksacks are top loaders, the most efficient way to pack one is to pack items you may need easy access to in the raised exterior pockets. Try rolling each piece of clothing. Another option we recommend is to use our Red Oxx Packing Cubes. Some intrepid travelers have used the Nomad Shave Kits and Lil Roy Gadget Bags as packing cubes. This way you can compartmentalize everything by color coding it. Bundle wrapping would require pulling the entire bundle out to access anything.
How many days worth of supplies will fit in the Airborne?
Depends on how good a packer you are. Most people can get a weekends worth of clothes in the Airborne C-Ruck. We'd estimate three to five days.
What's the red fabric on the inside of the bag for?
Having a bright color on the inside of the bag helps to see what's inside the bag. It also adds an extra layer of weather resistant protection.
Will a laptop fit in the Airborne? What size laptop?
Virtually any laptop with up to a 17 inch diagonal screen and two inches thick will slide into the padded sleeve inside the rucksack.
Does the Airborne Carry-on have a belly strap?
Because the C-Ruck Rucksack does not have a built in frame, therefore a belt strap would not help to balance the load.
Are there any interior pockets?
There is a notebook / laptop stitched-in sleeve located in the back of both the C-Ruck and the Mini Ruck.
Is there a way to securely lock the pockets on my rucksack?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, try to fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.

Take me to the top