Skip Navigation LinksHome  > Red Oxx Gear  > Briefcases & Garment Bags  > Gator-Carry-On-Bag

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I have a big appetite for adventure.”
Red Oxx Gator Compact Carry On and Padded Gadget Bag - in Coal. Choose from 12 colors.

Gator Carry On Bag $125.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


Behold! The Gator.

A compact carry-on bag with a big appetite.

We can tell you how others have used this multi-purpose carry-on bag, but we're sure you'll think up something new. Just like its hungry namesake, this tough-skinned beauty will swallow up everything you need for travel. Ideal as an compact airline carry-on and easily classified as a personal item, a shooting bag for the range, SLR bag, diaper bag, C-pap bag, take it to work with a packed lunch; you get the picture.

WHAT ABOUT POCKETS?
Secure your delicate equipment in the Gator's rigid-formed, shock-resistant padded main compartment. No need to carry separate hydration, the Gator features dual elastic beverage end pockets. The expandable gusseted side pockets help you to keep track of gadgets like cell phones, iPods, sunglasses, and more.

These side pockets feature the exclusive "Red Oxx finger loop snap closures" which are Mil-Spec stainless steel snaps with thoughtfully designed thumb loops that make closing these handy pockets a "snap." This allows one-handed snapping closure. Simply slip a finger into the loop under the snap post and use your thumb to press the post in place. A simple genius solution that prevents crushing items under the snaps. Behind each gusseted pocket are hidden flat slip pockets for that little extra bit of storage.

GET ORGANIZED.
Inside the Gator carryall bag, there's a full-length mesh divider with four slots for pens and pencils and two mesh pockets. Located on the back is another full-length zippered pocket. 4lb. Volara closed cell padding envelopes the bag in the front, bottom, and back, protecting your precious contents from damage.

A HANDY MULTI-PURPOSE BAG.
Fully adjustable Claw Shoulder Strap will not slip. Or carry it with the wraparound handle handclasp. Popular with the demanding business crowd and all the rage with the adventure travel crowd, Gator Travel Bags are durable companions for many uses: SLR camera bags, diaper bags, NetBook or Tablets, C-pap bags, pistol range, you name it, the Gator will eat it. Consider it your "bag of all trades."

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your Gator on our production schedule. Your bag will then be delivered in under 30 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

"No Bull" Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND made in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, in production products and delivery time? - Read this personal letter from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the steps it takes to handcraft your Gator compact carry-on.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email and a review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. Backorders beyond a dozen days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is secure.

Every great bag needs cool luggage accessories.

Dimensions: 12"L x 6"W x 9"H
Capacity: 648 cu. inches

Pocket measurements:

  • Dual exterior gusseted pockets: 4.5"W x 7.5"H x 2.5"D (at opening)
  • Dual exterior flat slip pockets: 5"W x 7.5"H
  • Exterior zippered side flat pocket: 12"W x 6"D
  • Twin end elastic bottle pockets: 6"W x 6"W x 4"D (at opening)
  • Interior mesh pocket: 12" x 6"
  • Interior dual mesh slip pockets: 4"W x 4"D
  • Main compartment: 12"L x 6"W x 9"D

Gator Trivia: When Red Oxx President Perry Jones had young children he was embarassed to appear like he was carrying a diaper bag. After they were out of diapers he wanted a decent range bag to take with him shooting. The name Gator was selected because a Gator is sly and stealthy and can quickly consume large prey, sometimes larger than itself, with it's enormous mouth.

Write a Review

4.7 Average Rating
 (148 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next > 
 Not for documents or laptops
By Chris, Pa., September 23, 2008

The dimensions should state the obvious - it's not a briefcase, nor is it a laptop bag. It's a bag for all your other s**t. For example, I'm an attorney. I've always lugged a "trial box" to court, which up to now has been a cardboard storage box filled with extra paper and writing supplies, a few power bars, reference books, advil and antacid, some personal grooming basics - all the mundane stuff needed to get through all day or longer courtroom appearances. Lugging a box in and out of courthouses ties up two hands that can be used for lugging other stuff. Plus, boxes look ratty after just a few uses. So, I just bought a black Gator Bag and plan to use it as my hands free "trial box" from now on. I have no doubt that it will work splendidly for years to come, and probably outlast me.The other observation I would make is that it's not the type of bag you sling over your shoulder and walk around with 24 hours a day while on vacation. I personally prefer a traditional messenger bag that lays flatter in the small of your back and can be ripped open quicker. In no way a criticism of the Gator, just an observation from a bag freak.
 
 Big Enough
By Don Koue, Bay Area, August 15, 2008

The Gator bag is bigger than its dimensions. I was already really happy with my RedOxx Safari-Beano PR5, which was great for a long trip to Spain, but I needed to replace a smaller field bag. I worried that the Gator specs, 12"w and 9'h wouldn't hold my 13"w and 10.5"h laptop, but it did. I wouldn't say it is the ideal laptop bag, but I didn't buy it for that reason, but more as an all around carry on bag. Haven't used it for that yet but have traveled enough to know it will be great, tempting me always to cram too much into it. However, it is nice to know that my laptop can find a home in it, if needed, and I think others might like to know this.
 
 take me out to the ballgame
By Anonymous, , August 8, 2008

I go to 40+ baseball games a year. I take a camera, a notebook, binoculars, sunscreen, hand sanitizer, sunglasses, and a whole host of other small things to make life more comfortable. i also like to be able to put my camera down for an inning. I tried other bags that were supposed to be 'sturdy' but they were flimsy and I didn't trust them sitting on the floor next to my feet. camera bags are too limiting for 'other stuff'.I had resorted to using a tote bag with everything tossed into it... until I discovered the Gator. I was actually here to buy an Air Boss, but the gator kept tempting me... and while I waited for my Air Boss, I finally caved in and added it to my order.I echo everyone's comments about how it's bigger than it seems. Just when I think it's full, I manage to get a few more things inside and it's still easy to get to everything. I use the water bottle pockets for my binoculars and sunglasses - one small thought is that I wish the elastic around the bottle pockets was adjustable, since the size and shape of bottles varies so much. It is also impermeable to the occasional splash of beer and peanut shells, it opens easily for inspection, fits under a seat at the park or on a plane. pen slips, slots for my extra memory cards and battery, my Nikon and two lenses - it all just fits.
 
 Not got it yet!
By Roger J, Hereford, UK, August 1, 2008

I've been following the various reviews for the Gator bag for some time. Once I know my upcoming assignment to Nicaragua is confirmed, I'll be ordering my Gator bag so that I can collect it in the US en route, like I did with my SkyTrain.Like the latest reviewer, I intend to use mine in conjunction with my ST, and as a general bag round town et here. If I can't fit my Toshiba notebook (M700 in neoprene bag) in, it will either be clipped (via karabiners) to the Gator or put in the the ST.I'll submit a post-purchase review as well, but this posting shows the faith I have in Redoxx products.Roger J
 
 Ms
By Mary, Virginia, July 30, 2008

Like so many others, I initially thought the Gator bag seemed small. My first trip with this bag was a quick overnighter, and I was amazed that I could fit an extra pair of shoes, my binoculars, extra clothes, a hardcover book and all my toiletries and still had room left over. I found myself looking around for more stuff to pack, just to see how much the Gator would hold. This bag is bottomless. I am traveling to Scotland in three weeks, and can't wait to use this bag as my "personal bag" along with my brand-new Sky Train.
 
 Fantastic smaller bag
By Jon H, Manchester, UK, July 4, 2008

Having traveled with an Air Boss all of the last year, my expectations of this bag were high, but the Gator exceeded them.I ordered from the UK late on Tuesday night and was astonished when it was delivered by UPS on Friday morning. Stung again by UK customs charges, but the bag is more than worth it!It holds my laptop and all the gear I need for a day, and the number and position of pockets seems spot on. The best bag of its type I have yet seen. Can't wait to try it on a longer trip back across the Pond this summer.
 
 Much beefier than it looks on website
By Vinson A., Grand Junction, Co, June 6, 2008

WOW! Much better than I thought and much better than can be presented on this web page. The hardware is all top notch and the quality is superb. Seemed a little small at first, but then I took everything out of my old brief case (Sandstorm Bag bought in Kenya) and it easily fit in the Gator which was half the size of the sandstorm bag. I am EXTREMELY impressed. I will give another review after a few months of travel with it. I am outbound for a tour in Iraq and will really put it through some rigorous use. Thanks Redoxx!!
 
 VP, Counterterrorism, Stratfor
By Fred Burton, Austin, Texas, May 31, 2008

Jim and the folks at Red Oxx produce outstanding bags. I own four, to include the wallet and shave kit. The craftsmanship is "old school" quality. Perfect for business or personal travel.
 
 The perfect bag
By Chris, Baltimore, March 19, 2008

This is my second bag from Redoxx. The quality and craftsmanship is unmatched. When I travel I am using the gator as a multipurpose camera/haul bag. It works really well with the Billingham small Hadley removable camera insert. I can carry a few lenses and the camera body with attached lens. When i get to my hotel or tent I just pull out the insert and place the camera with the lens of choice in the padded section. This frees up space for other essentials needed during the day. At home it works as a good bailout bag and yes the really cool diaper bag!
 
 Ultimate Bag For European Travel
By Montanaandy, Billings Montana, February 8, 2008

I went on a 3 week vacation/tour of Europe with my daughter this past summer and I can say without hesitation that this bag was the best investment that I made in preparation for that trip. This is the only bag that we took with us when we left the hotel for the day. There is a ton of room in the Gator and we carried quite a bit with us in this bag as we traveled (i.e. digital cameras, digital video camera, passports, wallets, snacks, batteries, hand sanitizer, maps, GPS, - you get the idea). The water bottle holders on the ends were really great. The shoulder strap is wonderful but you can also carry it by the handles if your shoulder gets sore. I still use this as one of my primary carry-on bags when I travel.
 
 Ultimate Bag For European Travel
By Montanaandy, Billings Montana, February 8, 2008

I went on a 3 week vacation/tour of Europe with my daughter this past summer and I can say without hesitation that this bag was the best investment that I made in preparation for that trip. This is the only bag that we took with us when we left the hotel for the day. There is a ton of room in the Gator and we carried quite a bit with us in this bag as we traveled (i.e. digital cameras, digital videocamera, passports, wallets, snacks, batteries, hand sanitizer, maps, GPS, - you get the idea). The waterbottle holders on the ends were really great. The shoulder strap is wonderful but you can also carry it by the handles if your shoulder gets sore. I still use this as one of my primary carry-on bags when I travel.
 
 Gator : A camera bag?
By Anonymous, , May 5, 2007

The Gator is a great personal carryon bag. The quality of materials, attention to detail, and craftsmanship are superb. The Humvee of small bags. Bottom line is, the bag is over-built, and will carry pretty much anything you can put in it without a hiccup. If the Guvernator carried a man bag, this would be it.But I also wanted a bag that will do double duty as a camera bag. And this is really the purpose of this mini-review. See, oftentimes, when I travel with a real camera bag as carryon, there is not much room for other (i.e. non-photography related) stuff I want to bring with me. And if I use a plain old carryon, I don't feel like my equipment is secure or protected enough.Aside from doing double duty, it must also be small and light enough to comfortably carry around all day (as camera and daypack) when I am there.The Gator is just about the same size as a Domke F6, for those who are familiar with that bag. In fact, the F6's four-compartment insert fits nicely.It can hold a good-sized rangefinder kit with room to spare. For digital users, I used it with a Nikon DSLR plus Sigma 35/1.4. The (domke) insert easily held a Tokina 12-24mm f/4, Nikkor 80-200mm F/2.8 AF, flash, 24mm and 50mm Nikkors. Not that I would bring all that.It is interesting to note that packed with the heavy SLR lenses, the bag felt very comfortable slung over my shoulder. I think that is thanks, in part to the massive rubberized Claw strap that stretches with heavy loads, and in part to the fact that the padding keeps the bag from sagging despite the weighty contents.That is what I think is one of the neatest features of this bag. The bottom and both large side panels are lined with 1/4 inch thick 4-lb closed cell foam. What is that exactly? Something waaay better than the foam used on the Domkes. Going by feel, it is the same quality of padding in the insert of a Billingham S3. Not the dividers. The insert that you snap into the bag. Excellent built-in protection.Not to worry - the bag is sturdy but not too bulky. The top and ends are not padded, so the bag is more streamlined, sort of "compressible" side-to-side. It is not stiff and won't bounce off your body like, say, most Lowepro bags. It is not too wide either. Just the right size to go under the airplane seat.The only con about this bag is that I don't think it is waterproof. The cordura is water repellent, but the zipper and seams are probably not.That, and it makes about as much of a fashion statement as a pickup truck.I like trucks.If you are looking for a tough, protective, versatile bag, this is definitely worth considering. I can see why it is guaranteed to outlive you. Sure, it is not cheap, but you get what you pay for. You will ABSOLUTELY not find a better made bag anywhere. For any price.The folks at Red Oxx are a nice, helpful bunch too. Before I bought the bag, I asked them some questions about using the bag for cameras, and had a series of helpful emails with Jim Markel. He even added a photo of the bag holding a Nikon DSLR to their website. You can't put a price on little things like that.
 
 THE GREATEST BAG EVER CREATED!!
By Anonymous, , December 6, 2006

This carry on bag is amazing! I have never seen such high quality and amazing craftmanship in carry luggage than the Gator. It is truly amazing. I take it on every business trip and it has endured a lot of tough use. I've had it for nearly 3 years and it still looks like it's new! When and IF I ever need a replacement, I won't look anywhere else but Redoxx!!
 
 Gator Bag Eats Diapers
By Cam Smith, , November 20, 2006

This may be the coolest diaper bag a Dad will ever carry. Load the main compartment up with diapers, wipes, and a few small swaddling blankets; put all the Little Noses and Mylocon you can fit in the right pocket; Goldfish and Nutri Grain bars in the left pocket; and you're ready for a day anywhere with Jr. or Little Miss. The strap makes it easy for Mom to carry and Dad has plenty of room for big hands around the button down carry handle. The elastic side pockets are great for sippee cups if you've got one a little older.
 
 Greatest bag ever made.
By Anonymous, , November 20, 2006

I carried the Gator Carry On Bag for two weeks sightseeing all around Paris and Germany. Served as a very secure camera bag. It also has a perfect pocket for maps and the water bottle pockets on the ends were indispensable. The strap is extremely comfortable regardless of the weight in this carry bag. Since then the Gator has been serving as my shooting range bag. The two pockets on the front are the perfect size for AR-15 magazines and two pistols with ammo to spare fit comfortably in the main compartment. I would recommend this product to anyone. You'll wonder how you lived without it.
 
 Third Bag is the Charm
By John Herndon, , November 20, 2006

After trying for years and the purchase of at least 3 gadget bags, the Gator Carry-on Bag is what I was searching to find. It was my constant companion this last summer during a 3 week trip to the UK and a week museum-hopping in London. Great carry bag; well built and very useful.
 
 Great little bag which handles it all.
By Petri Niemi, , October 24, 2006

I'm from northern Finland. Here we have four seasons which are very unique. In winter we have kaamos, which is the time at midwinter when the sun won't even rise and there is just a short pale moment around midday. Temperature drops sometimes even below -50 celsius degrees (-60F) and the ground is covered a thick snowcover. In summer the sun won't go down for a weeks and it's bright daylight around clock. This time at summer is called nightless night. Autumn is often wet and temperature is very unsteady. Spring is very nice time for winter sports. There is a lot of light reflected from snow and temperature is around mild -10 celsius (15F).I love my Red Oxx Gator Carry-on Bag because it works around the year. It works at leisure and it works at work. From snowmobiling to biking to hectic work trips. It's very often with me and it wont let me down. The Gator Carry Bag covers my valuables and keep them always at my hands. The bag works good and you don't even have to think about it. The Red Oxx Gator Carry-on Bag is definitely that kind of bag!
 
 The perfect size for every day
By Chris Juzda, , August 27, 2006

This is a great small airline carry bag. Perfect for every day and airline travel. I think I'm something of an expert - I've carried a bag for my "gadgets" for years - all kinds of materials, brands and sizes. I use my Gator every day to carry my PDA, Blackberry, video ipod, Shure earphones, Canon SD 400 digital camera, Moleskin large notebook, pen, pencil, reading glasses, sun glasses, bluetooth headset, and a small GPS receiver and lots of room to spare - try getting all that in your pockets!

I use one of the water bottle pockets for my reading glasses, gives me quick access whenever I need them. After using so many bags, including some really nice hand crafted leather ones, I think the Gator Carry On is the perfect answer. I can't think of anything I would add. The shoulder strap is extremely comfortable and stays put better than anything else I've tried. While I love this Gator, it would be interesting to see if Red Oxx could develop a pretty much identical carry bag, just flip the format to a vertical bag instead of the horizontal format of the Gator - this would might result in the bag hanging a little closer to the body - less likely to hit people as you go by. It might be the only think that would make me give up my Gator!
 
 Tough bag and deceptively spacious
By Anonymous, , July 24, 2006

Just got back from two weeks in Indonesia, a research and lecture trip. Airlines lost my checked bag with some of my dress clothes and all gifts for friends. I had just my carry on bags: a Beano and a Gator. The Gator Carry On was my everywhere bag -- trial by fire in Sumatra. Camera, field medicine, phone, notebooks, plenty of stray books that I seem to collect... the bag worked as a great gadget bag and held everything. The foam gives it nice structure and protects my electronics. I only realized towards the end of the trip that there are two more slip pockets behind the front gusseted pockets. The Gator Carry On is a really great bag with none of the unnecessary length of a computer briefcase.
 
 The perfect (rare) combination
By Anonymous, , July 3, 2006

Innovative, practical/functional design, superb quality/workmanship, and handsome - the Gator Carryon Bag is ideally suited for travel of any kind e.g. an additional carry-on and as a day bag. I couldn't be more pleased with the Gator. And the Red Oxx customer service is every bit as good as their bags.
 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next > 
Specifications

Red Oxx Gator Bag Specs Chart

  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Designed AND made in Billings, Montana USA
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Cordura Nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 400 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • Detachable Claw no-slip adjustable shoulder strap
  • All zippers #10 YKK self locking
  • Nylon webbing zipper pull grab loops
  • Thread: #92 bonded Solar Max Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Double box stitched seams on all stress points
  • 3250 welded D-rings, nickel plated
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Wraparound handclasp with Mil-Spec snaps
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • 4 lb. Volara closed cell foam padding
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Available in 12 vibrant colors
  • US Dimensions: 12"L x 6"W x 9"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 30.5cm L x 15.2cm W x 22.9cm H
  • US Capacity: 648 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 10.6 Liters

Gator Carry-on Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 30 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

Will a Gator meet the airline's personal item standards?
Yes, and you can fit the bag under the seat, too.
 
Will my laptop fit in the middle compartment?
Most netbooks, iPads, Tablets and "mini" laptops will fit with room to spare, but probably not a full size laptop (17" plus).
 
Will my work files fit inside?
If you want a briefcase that will hold your files and a laptop, look into our Briefcase line, specifically the Metro and the wider CPA.
 
Can the Gator double as an SLR camera bag?
Yes, the Gator makes for a perfect SLR camera bag due to it's generous, yet practical size, its full wrap around padding and handy pockets.
 
What are the differences between the Gator and the Metro and / or CPA?
The Metro and CPA are specifically designed to be laptop business briefcases, whereas the Gator is more of a general multipurpose day bag.
 
Will the iPad, iPad II or most other Tablets fit inside?
Yes, the Gator makes an ideal Tablet bag.
 
Will the Gator compact carry-on fit into the Air Boss central compartment? We don't recommend inserting the Gator into the Air Boss. The results would be too bulky.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
It has one flat panel pocket with pouches for smaller items and writing instruments.
 
Can I fit my C-pap machine inside?
The Gator is an ideal C-pap bag.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.