Skip Navigation LinksHome  > Briefcases & Garment Bags  > CPA-Briefcase

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I'm for CPA's who like tattoos and firearms.”
Red Oxx CPA Nylon Business Briefcase - pictured in Black. Choose from 12 Colors.

CPA Briefcase $175.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


A durable Nylon Briefcase for when you need more room.

Double the volume of our Metro Briefcase.

Carry-on the CPA Business Briefcase on your next flight and you'll have everything you need securely at your side. Plenty of room for files, a tablet or laptop, a snack, and even a change of clothes-- just in case your checked luggage goes to Barbados, while you're heading to Brooklyn. Volara closed cell foam padding in front, bottom and back keeps your laptop notebook safe and as a nice added touch, it also keeps your briefcase upright.

DOUBLE THE CARRY CAPACITY.
The CPA briefcase has the same features as our popular Metro briefcase, except double the volume capacity. The inside includes two internal mesh dividers on each side of the briefcase. One file divider is sewn down on the bottom to keep your files or magazines fixed in place, while the other is left open to the bottom so you can secure your laptop out of the way using the snap buckle. Both dividers have pockets for CDs, business cards, and writing instruments. Carry your Nalgene bottle in one of the twin gathered-elastic end pockets.

PLENTY OF POCKETS.
On the exterior of the briefcase you have access to six pockets, including two expanding bellows pockets with exclusive 'Red Oxx finger loop snap' closures. 'Red Oxx Finger Loop Snap' closures. These side pockets feature the exclusive ROFLS -- "Red Oxx Finger Loop Snap" closures which utilize our Mil-Spec stainless steel snaps and thoughtfully designed thumb loops that make closing these handy pockets a "snap." ROFLS allows one-handed snapping closure. Simply slip a finger into the loop under the snap post and use your thumb to press the post in place. ROFLS is a clever solution that prevents crushing items (like your precious sunglasses) under the snaps. Behind each gusseted pocket are secret hidden flat slip pockets for that little extra bit of storage.

Hidden behind each bellows pocket is a secret flat "slip pocket" for papers, boarding passes, sunglasses, etc. The bellows pockets work well for laptop batteries or power supplies. The other two pockets are full-length flat zipper pockets for tablets, documents or magazines. Confidently carry your CPA Briefcase using the nonslip Claw Shoulder Strap or by the reinforced nylon carry handles.

A BRIEFCASE BUILT LIKE A TANK.
Our customers like to define our gear as "built like a tank". While obviously you're not going to be toting around briefcases that weigh 50 tons and have three inches of armor plate, still the comparison is valid. For a briefcase, the CPAs are built tough. Starting with the most durable soft textile material available, 1000 weight Cordura nylon, we use super strong UV resistant thread that is double stitched into every seam.

Places where two separate pieces of fabric are stitched together are then bound, that is, we take a long piece of one inch wide nylon webbing and fold it over the edges of the two pieces and stitch them together, this creates a strong seam, or binding, that prevents the pieces from unraveling on the inside of the case, or gives it a clean finished look if on the outside of the bag.

In addition, each exposed fabric edge, such as on a pocket flap, is also bound using a thicker binding material. Inside edges typically receive a thinner nylon webbing, whereas outside corner edges that are exposed to wear will have a thicker nylon binding. All of our binding material is vertically woven to prevent fraying, peeling or splitting that you may commonly see in less expensive bags that brag of "binding" their edges.

Each stress point, such as where the handles attach to the CPA, is double box stitched - which is where we get the "double xx" in our name, Red Oxx; a stitching practice we adapted from our time as parachute riggers.

The reason Red Oxx uses the largest zipper we can afford, the #10 YKK VISLON® zipper, is that they are easily repairable, even in the field; they will hold their place, that is, they "lock"; they are difficult to penetrate, thereby increasing the security of your belongings; they function smoothly in inclement weather and they can be yanked from a variety of angles without losing teeth or becoming separated.

Red Oxx has occasionally been accused of "overdoing" our hardware. But once you've had a cheap piece of plastic hardware break in the middle of a busy intersection, airport or other inconvenient locale dumping your precious documents and electronics all over the ground, having a heavy-duty nickel-plated or stainless steel D ring or attachment swivel that weighs just a little more, or might make a little noise, is a travel companion's confidence builder and peace of mind maker. After all, you want to enjoy your journey as best you can. Why worry about having your bag break down?

WHY THE CPA?
The primary advantage of the CPA over the Metro is space. Doubling the volume in the main compartment (width) gives you flexibility to carry more with you. The Red Oxx CPA Briefcase keeps you moving, organized, even clothed, and your office goods protected.

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your CPA Briefcase on our production schedule. Your bag will then be shipped in under 14 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

Dimensions: 17"L x 7"W x 11"H.
Capacity: 1,309 cubic inches.
Weight: 3.25 pounds.

Pocket measurements:

  • Twin exterior bellowed snap pockets: 4.5"W x 8"T x +/-2"D (measured at top of pocket)
  • Twin exterior hidden flat slot pockets: 4.5"W x 7"T
  • Dual exterior zippered flat pockets:16"L x 10"H
  • Interior closed bottom mesh pocket: 16"W x 8"D
  • Three Interior closed bottom canvas flat pockets: 6"W x 5"D
  • Three interior closed bottom canvas flat pockets: 6"W x 4"D
  • Interior open bottom mesh pocket: 16"W x 9"D
  • Two interior closed bottom canvas pockets: 7.5"W x 5.5"D
  • 5 interior pen / pencil slots: 5"D
  • Main compartment: 7"W x 11"H x 17"L

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time Distance Map.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, products in production and delivery time? - Check out this personal message from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your CPA Briefcase.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear with pride.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond a dozen working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is always secure.

Every great briefcase needs cool luggage accessories.

Write a Review

4.78 Average Rating
 (119 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next > 
 A little disappointed
By Dan, Houston TX, March 2, 2011

Generally well built with very good materials and workmanship but poorly designed. External pockets on front are not secure. Bottle holders on ends are hard to get things in & out of due to rings where shoulder strap hooks. Internal pockets don't hold things so items find their way to bottom of the bag. The main top zipper needs to be longer, since the bag is wide it can be hard to get larger items in & out of bag. Bag could stand to be 1-2 inches higher and 2-3 inches wider. It appears this bag was an after thought to the Metro brief case.
 
 Almost perfect
By Andrew, Anywhere someone is drilling for oil., December 17, 2010

This bag is almost perfect. It's built to last forever and look good doing it. The build quality is second to none. There are two things I would change though. I would love a zippered pocket on the inside, and the outer bellows pockets need a more secure closure. As they are now, small items can fall out when the bag tips on its side. Otherwise this bag is great, I expect to use it for the next 30 years.
 
 Why Did I Wait So Long?
By GaylM, Canada, December 15, 2010

I have wanted to get a computer bag from here since I bought my Sky Train a few years ago (which I adore). My friend bought one of these bags at the same time & I've been envious every time we travel together.

After purchasing numerous other bags which let me down in one way or another, I finally broke down and got a CPA on my last trip to the U.S..

What a difference in travelling with this! I can get rid of the extra tote bag I carried with my Lil'Roy & a wrap or sweater because it all fits in here with my computer.

The best part of all for me is that it feels secure & balanced when carrying it...especially combined with the Sky Train...both of them grip & sit fantastically while you're slogging from one end of the airport to the other. I've even slung this across like a messenger bag & had my Sky Train on my back & have been amazed at how much less tiring it is to walk.

As with all Redoxx products, the quality product you purchase far outweighs the extra cost that you pay. These are products that you will only pay once for and use forever.
 
 Good stand-alone bag
By Duke, Airplanes, December 7, 2010

As a laptop bag, it's great. As a smallish carry-on bag, it's great. As a laptop travel bag to go along with an Air Boss (my other bag) it's pretty annoying.

I've recently been using the Air Boss with another random laptop backpack when actually traveling, since I'm like 6' wide if I put a bag over each shoulder when walking through an airport. Since I do like this bag a lot, though, I'm going to pick up a Sky Train so the heavier of my bags can be the backpack and take a little stress off one of my shoulders.

I still give it 5 stars, though, since impracticality introduced because of another product that I happen to use it with should not count against it.
 
 Awesome Bag
By Bob, Minnesota, October 11, 2010

This bag was my second Red Oxx purchase this year. Great bag, holds all you need plus more. If you are a minimalist, you can get by the Metro. Selling my fancy briefcase on eBay!
 
 Buy this. Next question.
By Alpha Actual, Bicoastal, June 10, 2010

It's all been said, and it ain't hype. I've had the bag a little over a month and already know it's the most durable, accommodating, flexible bag I've ever seen. I bought a Red Oxx travel bag a year ago for occasional use, but this one I load up every day with 20 pounds of computer, papers, books, and other crap... and it performs like a champ and is comfortable to carry in hand or over the shoulder. I'm a "creative executive", and particular about form as well as function. I've run through the Tumis, Vics, et al. -- none stand up to the no-nonsense superiority of the Oxx. Big. Black. Badass. 'Nuff said.
 
 Quality
By Cindy, Texas, April 13, 2010

Super quality and USA made. Appears to be exactly what I have been looking for- roomy, plenty of pockets, good hardware and zippers. Good investment.
 
 Yet Another Great Addition
By Dick Hahn, On The Road, April 6, 2010

I just added the CPA Briefcase to my arsenal of Red Oxx items. Everything I can say about it would be repeats from others but here goes-like each Red Oxx items it is made to ride under steamrollers and come out unscathed. Although called a briefcase, it is a wonderful overnight bag for a quick trip. With any of the duffles, my Air Boss or the Gator, I can live for an extended period if rocks and running water are available to wash clothes. Over engineered? I think not. My major problem now is pulling out all my Red Oxx gear and deciding which ones to use.
 
 Great Bag - Tons of Space
By jdmitch, Olathe, KS, April 5, 2010

This is a great bag with more than enough space for everything. The only suggestion for improvement is to move the computer sleeve to the front panel... when you lay the bag on it's back (like when sliding under the seat in front of you on a plane) all the weight inside the bag (and with the space that weight can be significant) lays on your computer. Now, I realize this actually goes contrary to nearly every computer bag maker, however I feel with the capacity of this bag it's worth noting.

Oh, and in retrospect I wish I had gotten black rather than the dark blue. Don't get me wrong, the dark blue is very cool, the black would've been a touch more professional for what I do.
 
 Ghurka Style
By sr, Illinois, February 22, 2010

Thanks Red Oxx - you make me look good!

I bought the CPA briefcase as a Valentine's Day gift for my husband this year. On his most recent briefcase, not a Red Oxx, the handle wore through. I can tell how much he likes something I give him, by how quickly he converts over to it.

The day after receiving the briefcase, he was carrying it to work! He rides the commuter in to Chicago daily, and needs to pack light entertainment as well as lunch, plus his normal work gear. On heavy snow days, emergency over-night gear also needs to be stashed in too.

On the inside, the Red Oxx CPA center-section has enough room for him to carry his 6-ring Daytimer (8 x 9-1/2 x 2-1/2), a small nylon lunch box (8 x 10 x 3-1/2), plus there is room for the small paper back to read on the train (4-1/4 x 7 x 2). He puts all the pen/pencil slots to good use, and even has room for the commuter train schedule, all neatly organized next to the pen slots. There is even room for the custom-programmed work laptop, which he occasionally brings home, in the center section.

The red lining allows for easy finding and placing of items inside the briefcase, as soon as you unzip it.

The outside-end pockets, elasticized and 7-inches high on either side, hold his collapsible umbrella, on one end, and his Wall Street Journal, folded, on the other end. Nice touch, those! I suppose even an occasional water bottle or sunglasses would fit in those, too.

Outside front, the two front flap-snap-pockets, 7 x 5 each, hold car keys, commuter-rail pass, and cell phone, among other things. These pockets are deep, and the special way the snaps are affixed, so you can easily snap them, is a nice touch.

These front-snap pockets, stylish and functional at the same time, remind me a bit of the old leather Ghurka briefcase he has around at home (with a broken top handle!). They lend style and a bit of 'British' functional elegance to the front of the briefcase! These provide quick access to small items.

Behind the front snap-pockets is another zip pocket, extending all across the top of the bag, used for an 8 x 11 yellow legal pad.

Outside back, there is a large zip pocket, across the top, for the weekly newsmagazine he picks up.

The handles on the top of the briefcase won't be wearing through any time soon - there are actually TWO handles - one each coming in to the center of the bag top, from each side of the briefcase. They are held together by snapped fabric, so once snapped, they function as one handle.

And last, but certainly not least, is that wonderful wide-and-comfortable shoulder strap, which, because of the center portion, does not slip off his shoulder.

For the overall picture, he is 6 ft 2-inches - and the dimensions of this briefcase make him look balanced. Previous briefcases were very much dwarfted by his size, and almost looked like 'large shoulder bags' on his tall frame, instead of a briefcase. He looked out of balance - I suppose only a wife would notice that!

The quality of this briefcase is obvious, from the box it arrived in, through to the workmanship and materials used in the briefcase itself. It "signals" quality to the casual observer! I am picky and critical when it comes to the style, design, functionality, and quality of workmanship on the items I buy for him - because they reflect back on me, and ultimately on him.

Well - this briefcase is a winner --- Nicely done. And I'll bet I won't be sending this one back for repairs, anytime soon. Thanks Red Oxx.
 
 Briefcase ideal for commuting
By David Killick, Christchurch, New Zealand, January 23, 2010

I liked the C-Ruck so much I thought I would try the CPA briefcase as a replacement for my old leather briefcase which was looking rather frayed. "Looks like a rat's been at it," said my wife. I'm a journalist, and smart casual is fine -- I don't think this case would suit more formal business attire (probably not if you really are a Certified Public Accountant). But then times have changed and quality is always in fashion! Name aside, it's an excellent bag, as robust as I'd expect from Redoxx. So far I have taken it to work on my Vespa. It's carried lunchbox, books and once or twice I overloaded it by adding more books and a couple of bottles of wine on my way home. That rugged Claw strap and the stainless steel lugs perform admirably. I still don't want to overburden the bag, though. So far I haven't struck rain.

Re the zips: Yes, they're sturdy as hell, but I saw one other design where the two zip-pulls lock together snugly. That way you'd avoid any gap. Just a thought.

A comment re color: I got the burgundy and it's brilliant, but I think you probably have to see them on the bag to truly appreciate how deep and rich the Redoxx colors are, especially the brights. If you are hesitating about what color to choose, just go for it!

I'm planning to take this bag to Europe in a couple of months on a work trip, so more later on the art of traveling light.

----------------------------------------

We're always happy to send color swatches. ~Minister of Information, Department of RedOxx Affairs
 
 Great Bag When Kept Vertical
By David, Rockville, MD, January 11, 2010

Solidly built. Sturdy. Over built! Small items fall out of the pockets whenever the bag is layed on its side. Works better as a laptop toting overnight bag than as a briefcase. I use it as a briefcase and overnight case. Plenty of room, I love the red interior so it is easy to find miscellaneous items inside. Especially those that fell out of the pockets. A redesign of the pockets with snap tops or elastic would be a thought. Laptop fits comfortable. The outside pockets do have the appearance of a design afterthought but they are nonetheless usefull. Consider the Metro or Gator if your space needs are smaller, this CPA is big.
 
 Great Bag
By McAllsiter, Buffalo, NY, December 31, 2009

Overall, great bag. This bag would be perfect if it were an inch wider and the rubber shoulder pad was removable.
 
 Excellent Briefcase
By David, Boston, December 31, 2009

I'm very happy with this briefcase. Like other Red Oxx products, its construction quality is superb and its design is thoughtful. It is roomy enough to hold work items and a change of clothes for an overnight trip. On extended trips, I use it to carry work items and reading materials and pack all my clothing and workout items in my Red Oxx ruck sack. I notice that others have found the rubber-like carry strap wanting. I have had the opposite experience. I love the fact that it won't constantly slip off my shoulder, and I find it very comfortable. It is true that the bag does not have a multitude of inner organizing pockets (it has at least 4, plus two sleeves), so I have my electronics gear and other items sorted into small packing cubes, which I now find works very well. In sum, I am very impressed and happy with this product.
 
 Booq Bag
By John V., Oregon, December 22, 2009

I moved to this bag from a Booq bag due to amount of one –night travel I am currently doing. It works great to carry clothes and laptop. My constructive feedback:

· The interior pockets are not so great. Would be nicer if they could hold more and have tops – stuff ends up loose in bottom of the bag.

· Exterior pockets open very easily. I have had them open if I slide bag under seat. I have had items come out on a plane this way.

· Outside zippered pockets are great. Room enough for books and files.

· I liked the Booq bag better in how it kept track of small items. It was just too small to function as a “one-bag” solution.

Regards,

Jeff M.
 
 CPA Briefcase
By Olivier Cacault, Milwaukee WI, December 14, 2009

The product is well constructed and offers practical features such as the front pockets. I am not a complete 'fan' of the 'look', I would have preferred it to be more subdued, such as black powder coated hardware, possibly hidden zippers and a different shoulder strap, i.e. w/o the rubber pad. Also the 'red' lining could be more discrete as well. This being said, I am a repeat customer I would recommend the product, the company and the product line. I like your website and the fact that it is a US made product at a very reasonable price.
 
 Great bag...needs a better strap
By Lars, Rochester, NY, December 6, 2009

So, I wanted to give this bag 5 stars, but I have two complaints that would make it 4 for me:

1. The strap is way too narrow and not good for wearing the bag across your body like a messenger bag. Also, the rubberized strap keeps things secure, but doesn't allow for sliding from on the back to at the hip.

2. The D-rings turn in the loops that hold them on. I wish they had a better way to secure the strap.

Otherwise a great bag.
 
 Great bag!
By Bill Cravens, Fulton, Missouri, December 3, 2009

Absolutely great product. I have gone through 3 or 4 attache/brief case style bags and this has meet my every need. There is ample room and pockets for storage of papers, pens, checkbook, cell phone, computer etc. The carry strap is wide and with the rubber part it does not slide off of my shoulder. Works well for everyday use as well as travel.
 
 great
By David Sinclair, Kazakhstan, December 3, 2009

Having bought countless variations on shoulder bag / briefcases in a fruitless search for the perfect solution, I am currently very happily using this one and it is definitely the best so far: right size, good pockets, useful separators but not over the top on fussy organiser-style trimmings. And of course the usual RedOxx top-notch quality materials, fittings, and manufacture. I'm very, very happy with this product. My only unfulfilled wish would have been for a key holder loop to keep keys in one place and under control. (My solution, I clip the key ring carabiner to some split rings looped onto one of the D-rings the shoulder strap attaches to and they drop into one of the elasticated edge pockets).
 
 Great Computer Briefcase
By Chris Gardner, Oshkosh, Wisconsin, November 27, 2009

As a locomotive engineer, I travel a lot. I pack along a 17" custom made laptop that needs good protection for the rough environment that I work in. This bag fills the bill. I can not only pack the laptop in there, but a protective sleeve that the laptop fits in, several portable hard drives, travel speakers, cables, cordless mouse, DVD's, tool kit, and other various items for the computer hobbyist. Lots of room in front and back pockets for additional DVD's or CD's, magazines, papers, etc. I wish that I had purchased this bag years ago! I would not even think of using anything else for my computer. I love it!
 
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next > 
Specifications

CPA Briefcase Specs Chart

  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Cordura nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 400 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Double Box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • 3250 welded D-rings, nickel plated
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Claw No Slip Shoulder Strap
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • 4 lb. closed cell Volara foam padding
  • Classified as a "personal item"
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors
  • US Dimensions: 17"L x 7"W x 11"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 43.2cm L x 17.8W x 27.9cm H
  • US Capacity: 1,309 cubic inches
  • Metric Capacity: 21.5 Liters
  • US Weight: 3.25 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 1.47 Kilos

CPA Briefcase Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan (Proprietary Red Oxx Exclusive)

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 14 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

What's the difference between the CPA and the Metro?
The CPA Briefcase is twice as wide as the Metro.
 
Will the CPA hold a laptop? What size?
The CPA was designed to carry virtually any laptop notebook up to 17-inch screen and three inches thick.
 
Will the CPA Briefcase meet personal item/carry-on standards?
Absolutely. It will fit any overhead bin and even under most airline seats.
 
How are the internal pockets configured?
The backside has a full length slip mesh pocket that is anchored to the bottom of the bag. In front of this pocket are six smaller cordura slip pockets. On the other side is a full length mesh divider not anchored to the bottom. In front of the divider are two cordura slip pockets and five pen pockets. Both of the full length interior pockets include buckle closures to help keep your office items organized.
 
Can I fit my C-pap machine inside?
Yes, the CPA will fit your C-pap. We also recommend using our Gator Compact Carry-on to carry your C-pap machine.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my briefcase?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.