Skip Navigation LinksCPA-Briefcase

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I'm for CPA's who like tattoos and firearms.”
Red Oxx CPA Nylon Business Briefcase - pictured in Black. Choose from 12 Colors.

CPA Briefcase $175.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


A durable Nylon Briefcase for when you need more room.

Double the volume of our Metro Briefcase.

Carry-on the CPA Business Briefcase on your next flight and you'll have everything you need securely at your side. Plenty of room for files, a tablet or laptop, a snack, and even a change of clothes-- just in case your checked luggage goes to Barbados, while you're heading to Brooklyn. Volara closed cell foam padding in front, bottom and back keeps your laptop notebook safe and as a nice added touch, it also keeps your briefcase upright.

DOUBLE THE CARRY CAPACITY.
The CPA briefcase has the same features as our popular Metro briefcase, except double the volume capacity. The inside includes two internal mesh dividers on each side of the briefcase. One file divider is sewn down on the bottom to keep your files or magazines fixed in place, while the other is left open to the bottom so you can secure your laptop out of the way using the snap buckle. Both dividers have pockets for CDs, business cards, and writing instruments. Carry your Nalgene bottle in one of the twin gathered-elastic end pockets.

PLENTY OF POCKETS.
On the exterior of the briefcase you have access to six pockets, including two expanding bellows pockets with exclusive Red Oxx finger loop snap closures. These clever looped snaps allow easy one-handed snapping closure. Simply slip a finger into the loop under the snap post and use your thumb to press the Mil-Spec cap in place. A simple solution that prevents crushing items located under the snaps. Hidden behind each bellows pocket is a secret flat "slip pocket" for papers, boarding passes, sunglasses, etc. The bellows pockets work well for laptop batteries or power supplies. The other two pockets are full-length flat zipper pockets for tablets, documents or magazines. Confidently carry the CPA Briefcase using the nonslip Claw Shoulder Strap or by the reinforced nylon carry handles.

The primary advantage of the CPA over the Metro is space. Doubling the volume in the main compartment (width) gives you flexibility to carry more with you. The Red Oxx CPA Briefcase keeps you moving, organized, even clothed, and your office goods protected.

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your CPA Briefcase on our production schedule. Your bag will then be delivered in under 30 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

Dimensions: 17"L x 7"W x 11"H.
Capacity: 1,309 cubic inches.
Weight: 3.25 pounds.

Pocket measurements:

  • Twin exterior bellowed snap pockets: 4.5"W x 8"T x +/-2"D (measured at top of pocket)
  • Twin exterior hidden flat slot pockets: 4.5"W x 7"T
  • Dual exterior zippered flat pockets:16"L x 10"H
  • Interior closed bottom mesh pocket: 16"W x 8"D
  • Three Interior closed bottom canvas flat pockets: 6"W x 5"D
  • Three interior closed bottom canvas flat pockets: 6"W x 4"D
  • Interior open bottom mesh pocket: 16"W x 9"D
  • Two interior closed bottom canvas pockets: 7.5"W x 5.5"D
  • 5 interior pen / pencil slots: 5"D
  • Main compartment: 7"W x 11"H x 17"L

"No Bull" Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, in production products and delivery time? - Check out this personal message from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the steps it takes to handcraft your CPA Briefcase.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email and a review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. Back orders beyond a dozen days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is secure.

Every great bag needs cool luggage accessories.

Write a Review

4.78 Average Rating
 (115 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next > 
 Awesome Bag
By Bob, Minnesota, October 11, 2010

This bag was my second Red Oxx purchase this year. Great bag, holds all you need plus more. If you are a minimalist, you can get by the Metro. Selling my fancy briefcase on eBay!
 
 Buy this. Next question.
By Alpha Actual, Bicoastal, June 10, 2010

It's all been said, and it ain't hype. I've had the bag a little over a month and already know it's the most durable, accommodating, flexible bag I've ever seen. I bought a Red Oxx travel bag a year ago for occasional use, but this one I load up every day with 20 pounds of computer, papers, books, and other crap... and it performs like a champ and is comfortable to carry in hand or over the shoulder. I'm a "creative executive", and particular about form as well as function. I've run through the Tumis, Vics, et al. -- none stand up to the no-nonsense superiority of the Oxx. Big. Black. Badass. 'Nuff said.
 
 Quality
By Cindy, Texas, April 13, 2010

Super quality and USA made. Appears to be exactly what I have been looking for- roomy, plenty of pockets, good hardware and zippers. Good investment.
 
 Yet Another Great Addition
By Dick Hahn, On The Road, April 6, 2010

I just added the CPA Briefcase to my arsenal of Red Oxx items. Everything I can say about it would be repeats from others but here goes-like each Red Oxx items it is made to ride under steamrollers and come out unscathed. Although called a briefcase, it is a wonderful overnight bag for a quick trip. With any of the duffles, my Air Boss or the Gator, I can live for an extended period if rocks and running water are available to wash clothes. Over engineered? I think not. My major problem now is pulling out all my Red Oxx gear and deciding which ones to use.
 
 Great Bag - Tons of Space
By jdmitch, Olathe, KS, April 5, 2010

This is a great bag with more than enough space for everything. The only suggestion for improvement is to move the computer sleeve to the front panel... when you lay the bag on it's back (like when sliding under the seat in front of you on a plane) all the weight inside the bag (and with the space that weight can be significant) lays on your computer. Now, I realize this actually goes contrary to nearly every computer bag maker, however I feel with the capacity of this bag it's worth noting.

Oh, and in retrospect I wish I had gotten black rather than the dark blue. Don't get me wrong, the dark blue is very cool, the black would've been a touch more professional for what I do.
 
 Ghurka Style
By sr, Illinois, February 22, 2010

Thanks Red Oxx - you make me look good!

I bought the CPA briefcase as a Valentine's Day gift for my husband this year. On his most recent briefcase, not a Red Oxx, the handle wore through. I can tell how much he likes something I give him, by how quickly he converts over to it.

The day after receiving the briefcase, he was carrying it to work! He rides the commuter in to Chicago daily, and needs to pack light entertainment as well as lunch, plus his normal work gear. On heavy snow days, emergency over-night gear also needs to be stashed in too.

On the inside, the Red Oxx CPA center-section has enough room for him to carry his 6-ring Daytimer (8 x 9-1/2 x 2-1/2), a small nylon lunch box (8 x 10 x 3-1/2), plus there is room for the small paper back to read on the train (4-1/4 x 7 x 2). He puts all the pen/pencil slots to good use, and even has room for the commuter train schedule, all neatly organized next to the pen slots. There is even room for the custom-programmed work laptop, which he occasionally brings home, in the center section.

The red lining allows for easy finding and placing of items inside the briefcase, as soon as you unzip it.

The outside-end pockets, elasticized and 7-inches high on either side, hold his collapsible umbrella, on one end, and his Wall Street Journal, folded, on the other end. Nice touch, those! I suppose even an occasional water bottle or sunglasses would fit in those, too.

Outside front, the two front flap-snap-pockets, 7 x 5 each, hold car keys, commuter-rail pass, and cell phone, among other things. These pockets are deep, and the special way the snaps are affixed, so you can easily snap them, is a nice touch.

These front-snap pockets, stylish and functional at the same time, remind me a bit of the old leather Ghurka briefcase he has around at home (with a broken top handle!). They lend style and a bit of 'British' functional elegance to the front of the briefcase! These provide quick access to small items.

Behind the front snap-pockets is another zip pocket, extending all across the top of the bag, used for an 8 x 11 yellow legal pad.

Outside back, there is a large zip pocket, across the top, for the weekly newsmagazine he picks up.

The handles on the top of the briefcase won't be wearing through any time soon - there are actually TWO handles - one each coming in to the center of the bag top, from each side of the briefcase. They are held together by snapped fabric, so once snapped, they function as one handle.

And last, but certainly not least, is that wonderful wide-and-comfortable shoulder strap, which, because of the center portion, does not slip off his shoulder.

For the overall picture, he is 6 ft 2-inches - and the dimensions of this briefcase make him look balanced. Previous briefcases were very much dwarfted by his size, and almost looked like 'large shoulder bags' on his tall frame, instead of a briefcase. He looked out of balance - I suppose only a wife would notice that!

The quality of this briefcase is obvious, from the box it arrived in, through to the workmanship and materials used in the briefcase itself. It "signals" quality to the casual observer! I am picky and critical when it comes to the style, design, functionality, and quality of workmanship on the items I buy for him - because they reflect back on me, and ultimately on him.

Well - this briefcase is a winner --- Nicely done. And I'll bet I won't be sending this one back for repairs, anytime soon. Thanks Red Oxx.
 
 Briefcase ideal for commuting
By David Killick, Christchurch, New Zealand, January 23, 2010

I liked the C-Ruck so much I thought I would try the CPA briefcase as a replacement for my old leather briefcase which was looking rather frayed. "Looks like a rat's been at it," said my wife. I'm a journalist, and smart casual is fine -- I don't think this case would suit more formal business attire (probably not if you really are a Certified Public Accountant). But then times have changed and quality is always in fashion! Name aside, it's an excellent bag, as robust as I'd expect from Redoxx. So far I have taken it to work on my Vespa. It's carried lunchbox, books and once or twice I overloaded it by adding more books and a couple of bottles of wine on my way home. That rugged Claw strap and the stainless steel lugs perform admirably. I still don't want to overburden the bag, though. So far I haven't struck rain.

Re the zips: Yes, they're sturdy as hell, but I saw one other design where the two zip-pulls lock together snugly. That way you'd avoid any gap. Just a thought.

A comment re color: I got the burgundy and it's brilliant, but I think you probably have to see them on the bag to truly appreciate how deep and rich the Redoxx colors are, especially the brights. If you are hesitating about what color to choose, just go for it!

I'm planning to take this bag to Europe in a couple of months on a work trip, so more later on the art of traveling light.

----------------------------------------

We're always happy to send color swatches. ~Minister of Information, Department of RedOxx Affairs
 
 Great Bag When Kept Vertical
By David, Rockville, MD, January 11, 2010

Solidly built. Sturdy. Over built! Small items fall out of the pockets whenever the bag is layed on its side. Works better as a laptop toting overnight bag than as a briefcase. I use it as a briefcase and overnight case. Plenty of room, I love the red interior so it is easy to find miscellaneous items inside. Especially those that fell out of the pockets. A redesign of the pockets with snap tops or elastic would be a thought. Laptop fits comfortable. The outside pockets do have the appearance of a design afterthought but they are nonetheless usefull. Consider the Metro or Gator if your space needs are smaller, this CPA is big.
 
 Great Bag
By McAllsiter, Buffalo, NY, December 31, 2009

Overall, great bag. This bag would be perfect if it were an inch wider and the rubber shoulder pad was removable.
 
 Excellent Briefcase
By David, Boston, December 31, 2009

I'm very happy with this briefcase. Like other Red Oxx products, its construction quality is superb and its design is thoughtful. It is roomy enough to hold work items and a change of clothes for an overnight trip. On extended trips, I use it to carry work items and reading materials and pack all my clothing and workout items in my Red Oxx ruck sack. I notice that others have found the rubber-like carry strap wanting. I have had the opposite experience. I love the fact that it won't constantly slip off my shoulder, and I find it very comfortable. It is true that the bag does not have a multitude of inner organizing pockets (it has at least 4, plus two sleeves), so I have my electronics gear and other items sorted into small packing cubes, which I now find works very well. In sum, I am very impressed and happy with this product.
 
 Booq Bag
By John V., Oregon, December 22, 2009

I moved to this bag from a Booq bag due to amount of one –night travel I am currently doing. It works great to carry clothes and laptop. My constructive feedback:

· The interior pockets are not so great. Would be nicer if they could hold more and have tops – stuff ends up loose in bottom of the bag.

· Exterior pockets open very easily. I have had them open if I slide bag under seat. I have had items come out on a plane this way.

· Outside zippered pockets are great. Room enough for books and files.

· I liked the Booq bag better in how it kept track of small items. It was just too small to function as a “one-bag” solution.

Regards,

Jeff M.
 
 CPA Briefcase
By Olivier Cacault, Milwaukee WI, December 14, 2009

The product is well constructed and offers practical features such as the front pockets. I am not a complete 'fan' of the 'look', I would have preferred it to be more subdued, such as black powder coated hardware, possibly hidden zippers and a different shoulder strap, i.e. w/o the rubber pad. Also the 'red' lining could be more discrete as well. This being said, I am a repeat customer I would recommend the product, the company and the product line. I like your website and the fact that it is a US made product at a very reasonable price.
 
 Great bag...needs a better strap
By Lars, Rochester, NY, December 6, 2009

So, I wanted to give this bag 5 stars, but I have two complaints that would make it 4 for me:

1. The strap is way too narrow and not good for wearing the bag across your body like a messenger bag. Also, the rubberized strap keeps things secure, but doesn't allow for sliding from on the back to at the hip.

2. The D-rings turn in the loops that hold them on. I wish they had a better way to secure the strap.

Otherwise a great bag.
 
 Great bag!
By Bill Cravens, Fulton, Missouri, December 3, 2009

Absolutely great product. I have gone through 3 or 4 attache/brief case style bags and this has meet my every need. There is ample room and pockets for storage of papers, pens, checkbook, cell phone, computer etc. The carry strap is wide and with the rubber part it does not slide off of my shoulder. Works well for everyday use as well as travel.
 
 great
By David Sinclair, Kazakhstan, December 3, 2009

Having bought countless variations on shoulder bag / briefcases in a fruitless search for the perfect solution, I am currently very happily using this one and it is definitely the best so far: right size, good pockets, useful separators but not over the top on fussy organiser-style trimmings. And of course the usual RedOxx top-notch quality materials, fittings, and manufacture. I'm very, very happy with this product. My only unfulfilled wish would have been for a key holder loop to keep keys in one place and under control. (My solution, I clip the key ring carabiner to some split rings looped onto one of the D-rings the shoulder strap attaches to and they drop into one of the elasticated edge pockets).
 
 Great Computer Briefcase
By Chris Gardner, Oshkosh, Wisconsin, November 27, 2009

As a locomotive engineer, I travel a lot. I pack along a 17" custom made laptop that needs good protection for the rough environment that I work in. This bag fills the bill. I can not only pack the laptop in there, but a protective sleeve that the laptop fits in, several portable hard drives, travel speakers, cables, cordless mouse, DVD's, tool kit, and other various items for the computer hobbyist. Lots of room in front and back pockets for additional DVD's or CD's, magazines, papers, etc. I wish that I had purchased this bag years ago! I would not even think of using anything else for my computer. I love it!
 
 Superb flexible large briefcase and overnight bag
By Anonymous, Illinois, July 17, 2009

I have been using this bag for about three years. It is superb. It is extremely sturdy and flexible. For example, I frequently make one- or two-night trips for work The bag is big enough for a toiletries, a change of clothes, windbreaker, my computer, and papers. An umbrella and thermos fit nicely in the pockets at the ends. The flat exterior pockets are conveniently located for tickets, passport, receipts, etc.When I go on longer trips with my family, I put all kinds of junk in the bag (dvds, books, snacks for the kids, my books and computer, still the windbreaker and umbrella and thermos) I like the fact that the bag stands up on its own and I can fold the top open. When I'm working with a lot of files, I sometimes put them in the bag even at home so that everything's at hand and visible from my favorite work chair. The only problem is, the bag is bigger than I need to carry things to and from work on a daily basis, and, because the foam padding fixes the width, things rattle around and the bag feels to big. Might we recommend the Metro Briefcase as your daily commuter.Team Red Oxx
 
 FABULOUS QUALITY
By Kim, NC, July 8, 2009

Ordered this in Amethyst and absolutely love it! It is a beautiful deep purple, with the RedOxx logo done in black. I can't believe how this bag is so well-constructed! I plan to use this as my personal carry-on item, along with my Sky Train which I also love. Both items arrived exactly on time and I couldn't wait to tear into the box. Going for 10-day trip to Europe soon and wanted to only do lightweight carry-on luggage. These 2 items fit the bill. Yes, they are expensive, but I think you definitely get what you pay for. Don't hesitate to buy!
 
 What Briefcase? It's A Range Bag!
By Mark, Corpus Christi, Texas, USA, June 29, 2009

I've needed a new range bag for some time now and have been actively shopping; however, I remembered this bag and by far, it far surpasses the ordinary bags at Ye Olde Gun Store!Cavernous space encloses tools, ammunition, targets and anything else I choose to carry along for the day. The front pockets store cleaning supplies and the side pockets carry 2 bottle of liquid refreshment of choice for the shooter.Thanks Red Oxx!
 
 Good overnight bag
By Anonymous, , June 1, 2009

Great bag. I use the CPA as my "personal item" when I fly. It will hold 2 pairs of jeans, 2 shirts, socks, underwear and your 1 quart zip top bag and still fit under the seat in front of you.
 
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next > 
Specifications

CPA Briefcase Specs Chart

  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Cordura nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 400 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Double Box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • 3250 welded D-rings, nickel plated
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Claw No Slip Shoulder Strap
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • 4 lb. closed cell Volara foam padding
  • Classified as a "personal item"
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors
  • US Dimensions: 17"L x 7"W x 11"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 43.2cm L x 17.8W x 27.9cm H
  • US Capacity: 1,309 cubic inches
  • Metric Capacity: 21.5 Liters
  • US Weight: 3.25 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 1.47 Kilos

CPA Briefcase Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan (Proprietary Red Oxx Exclusive)

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 30 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

What's the difference between the CPA and the Metro?
The CPA Briefcase is twice as wide as the Metro.
 
Will the CPA hold a laptop? What size?
The CPA was designed to carry virtually any laptop notebook up to 17-inch screen and three inches thick.
 
Will the CPA Briefcase meet personal item/carry-on standards?
Absolutely. It will fit any overhead bin and even under most airline seats.
 
How are the internal pockets configured?
The backside has a full length slip mesh pocket that is anchored to the bottom of the bag. In front of this pocket are six smaller cordura slip pockets. On the other side is a full length mesh divider not anchored to the bottom. In front of the divider are two cordura slip pockets and five pen pockets. Both of the full length interior pockets include buckle closures to help keep your office items organized.
 
Can I fit my C-pap machine inside?
Yes, the CPA will fit your C-pap. We also recommend using our Gator Compact Carry-on to carry your C-pap machine.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my briefcase?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.