Skip Navigation LinksHome  > News & Events  > Behind the Scenes  > Sky-Train

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I just say no to checked bag fees.”
Red Oxx Sky Train Convertible Hybrid Backpack Bag - pictured in Saffron. Available in 12 colors.

Sky Train $255.00


X
Buy Now Add to Registry

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


Carry-on!
On your back.

Our Red Oxx Travel Testers call it awesome! Imagine, a hybrid backpack and carry travel bag in one.

Your idea of carry-on perfection? The Sky Train meets your desire for hands-free, easy-on, easy-off boarding of planes or trains. Specially designed for the leisure traveler going to Europe or beyond. Keeps you moving. No waiting for lost luggage--it's with you all the way. Once your Sky Train is on, you're gone!

DESIGNED BY TRAVEL EXPERTS.
In 2007 Red Oxx teamed up again with web author and travel expert Doug Dyment of OneBag.com fame to develop this carry-on backpack travel bag. Think flexible-- this bag can be carried five different ways:

1. Carry like a suitcase using the Euro handle on the side.
2. Vertically using the Euro handle on the top of the bag.
3. Over your shoulder like a messenger bag using the Claw Shoulder Strap.
4. Cross body, also like a messenger bag, again using the Claw Shoulder Strap.
5. Or pull out the retractable backpack straps from the smugglers pocket and travel in hands-free comfort.

The grab loop Euro handles on the sides help make stowing the bag in the overhead bin a snap. Fits the luggage boarding size restriction box.

PLACES FOR YOUR BELONGINGS.
The Sky Train features two main interior compartments and one full-length outside zippered flat pocket. The main compartment tie downs cinch down to the closed cell Volara foam, securing your clothing. These tie downs help keep your slacks and dress shirts wrinkle-free until you can hang them up in the hotel. Easily holds three pairs of slacks and three blouses with room leftover for a light jacket.

The secondary compartment has a foam stay and a small pocket for stashing personal items (9" x 12") spacious enough to hold your Toiletries, shoes, or workout gear... The rigid sewn-in Volara foam padding protects your belongings, but is still flexible enough to shove into a cramped overhead bin.

HOW TO PACK IT.
Follow this link to learn Doug's bundle wrapping technique. Fit more in your Sky Train airline carry-on bag. Thanks to Onebag.com, here's a handy printable PDF Sky Train Packing Diagram. It covers how to "bundle wrap" for the Sky Train, your ideal backpack hybrid convertible travel bag. Or watch the packing video at left in the videos tab where professional travel guide Kasey Austin demonstrates some awesome packing tips.

A CONVERTIBLE CARRY-ON BAG BUILT LIKE A TANK?
Our customers like to define our gear as "built like a tank". While obviously you're not going to be toting around bags that weigh 50 tons and have three inches of armor plate, still the comparison is valid. For a carry-on bag, Sky Trains are built tough. Starting with the most durable soft textile material available, 1000 weight CORDURA® Brand Nylon, we use super strong UV resistant thread that is double stitched into every seam.

BOUND AND BAGGED.
Places where two separate pieces of fabric are stitched together are then bound, that is, we take a long piece of one inch wide nylon webbing and fold it over the edges of the two pieces and stitch them together, this creates a strong seam, or binding, that prevents the pieces from unraveling on the inside of the bag, or gives it a clean finished look if on the outside of the bag.

In addition, each exposed fabric edge, such as on a pocket flap, is also bound using a thicker binding material. Inside edges typically receive a thinner nylon webbing, whereas outside corner edges that are exposed to wear will have a thicker nylon binding. All of our binding material is vertically woven to prevent fraying, peeling or splitting that you may commonly see in competitors bags that brag of "binding" their edges.

WHY DOUBLE BOX STITCHING?
Each stress point, such as where the handles attach to the bag, is double box stitched - which is where we get the "double XX" in our name, Red Oxx; a stitching practice we adapted from our time as parachute riggers.

MY, WHAT BIG ZIPPERS YOU HAVE!
The reason Red Oxx uses the largest zipper we can afford, the #10 YKK VISLON® zipper, is that they are easily repairable, even in the field; they will hold their place, that is, they "lock"; they are difficult to penetrate, thereby increasing the security of your belongings; they function smoothly in inclement weather and they can be yanked from a variety of angles without losing teeth or becoming separated.

PUTTING THE HARD IN HARDWARE.
Red Oxx has occasionally been accused of "overdoing" our hardware. But once you've had a cheap piece of plastic hardware break in the middle of a busy intersection, airport or other inconvenient locale dumping your precious belongings all over the ground, having a heavy-duty nickel-plated or stainless steel D ring or attachment swivel that weighs just a little more, or might make a little noise, is a travel companion's confidence builder and peace of mind maker. After all, you want to enjoy your journey as best you can. Why worry about having your bag break down?

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your Sky Train on our production schedule. It will then be shipped in under 14 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

Dimensions: 20"L x 9"W x 13"H
Capacity: 2,340 cubic inches.
Weight: 4 pounds.

Pocket measurements:

  • Exterior zippered full length side flat pocket: 13"H x 19"W
  • 3/4 open flat zippered side compartment: 13"W x 19"L x 1"D
  • Interior side compartment zippered flat flap pocket: 11"W x 9"D
  • Main compartment with adjustable twin tie downs: 19"L x 13"W x 6.5"D
  • Exterior zippered full-width flat smugglers pocket: 13"W x 19"L (Note: this pocket is for storing the backpack straps. Since it has holes in the bottom for steel o-rings to attach the straps to the bottom of the bag, the pocket is only useful for flat magazines, newspapers and storing the straps).

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Transit Shipping Time Map.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your Sky Train.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear with pride.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond a dozen working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. During checkout purchasers have the option to opt-out of our other occasional email notifications. Your email address is always secure.

Every great carry-on bag needs cool luggage accessories.

Sky Train Trivia: A common European and Asian urban passenger train that rides on raised rails over inner city traffic.

Sky Train is a Red Oxx "Staff Pick" favorite.

Write a Review

4.81 Average Rating
 (249 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ... Next > 
 LOVE my Sky Train!
By Kim K, Boston, MA, May 7, 2015

Love love love this bag! I am determined to travel with only a carry on bag, and to travel light. This bag accomplishes both. In the past month this bag has been on planes, trains, buses and taxis in Boston, Iceland, England, France and Las Vegas. The bag was a dream! Easy to stow, easy to carry, easy to toss into a taxi. I recommend this bag and Red Oxx products to anyone who will listen. I know this is the last bag I'll ever need to buy!

Thanks Red Oxx!!
 
 Awesome Bag!
By Travis, , May 6, 2015

I recently purchased this for a carry on, as I was wanting to try out the whole one bag for traveling system. When I received it I noticed how well built the bag was and I absolutely loved the look and design! Now to try it out on my first trip. I packed 3 long sleeve button ups, 3 polos, 2 long pants, 3 shorts, 5 T-shirts, socks, underwear, and a pair of sandles. I actually could have packed more in it, but didn't need to. Needless to say I was very impressed and happy I bought this bag!
 
 Great Bag, Literally!
By Stephan Hollemans, The Netherlands, April 26, 2015

I took the Sky Train on a 23 day trip to Thailand, Cambodia and Vietnam weighing about 7 kilo's ( the weather was hot so I didn't take anything bulky, washing is about 1$ a kilo and done the same day). It was perfect; could take it everywhere; accepted as carry on, boat, train, bike, bus, tuk tuk etc. Very practical and sturdy. The strap is exellent,; never slips always comfy. Would recommend it to everyone!
 
 Happy Travelling
By Peter Liron, Australia, March 19, 2015

Currently travelling through the USA (from Australia) with my Sky Train. This bag is just as good as my Air Boss with the advantage of the shoulder straps for those extra long walks through large airports. This is a round the world trip and the Sky Train is proving its worth without a doubt. Many thanks again to Red Oxx.
 
 thailand 1 month
By magnumdi1, saskatoon,canada, January 23, 2015

me and my fiancé just spent a month in Bangkok and on the southern islands of Thailand.(koh tao and phangnan) we each had a sky train.traveling in everything from 777's, small aircraft, ferry boats, small boats right down to trains taxis and scooters. the sky train was accepted as carryon everytime and we had them full.if anything it made us pack smarter and we whipped through airports and train stations with ease never lost our luggage and in a few occassions were called pro travelers. all this thanks to red oxx.
 
 The Only Bag I'll Use
By Gregg R, Seattle, January 6, 2015

I've have not checked a bag in years, and the Sky Train is the best carry-on I've ever owned. It's flexible, fungible, and impervious. The combination of the backpack straps and the Claw shoulder strap make this bag a cinch to transport (no more ankle-biter roll-aboards), and it fits overhead bins with room to spare. Highly recommended.
 
 Sky Train Comes Through AGAIN!
By J. P. Sposato, New York, December 13, 2014

I own 2 Sky Trains, 1 Tres Hombres, 1 Gator, 1 Beano 5.5, 1 CPA Brief Case. I typically travel with only a Sky Train and a Gator for up to 2 weeks overseas. I just returned from 4 nights in Prague with 6 nights visiting the Christmas markets in Germany. I was concerned about carrying enough layers as well as clothes to an area that was going to be fairly 'fresh' as far as weather. I typically pack thin underclothing - ExOfficio stuff - but I knew I needed heavier clothing for this trip.

I packed the Gator and the Sky Train, then took the Beano 5.5. PLENTY of room. I packed 4 days worth of clothing in the Sky Train. The balance went in the Beano, which I checked in at the airlines, with toiletries, meds, Kindle, etc., going in the Gator. This way at my destination, I knew that even if the airlines lost the Beano, I'd be able to survive until they got it to me. The good news - it all arrived safely. The better news - after arrival, I put everything that was in the Sky Train into the Beano as well, INCLUDING the Sky Train itself!

As a result, I had everything in 2 bags for my travels and the return trip home. As always, the Sky Train can be packed pretty full, and the backpack straps make carrying it a dream. The Beano held everything I threw at it and then some. I had the security of knowing I'd have at least 4 days of clothing in the Sky Train if the Beano got misplaced by the airlines. Having the Sky Train fitting inside the Beano, and stuffing the Beano with the Sky Train contents, was an added bonus. On my return flight, I simply strolled on the plane with the Gator. Other travelers had other 'name' carry-on bags, and they always looked awkward to carry and like they would explode clothing at any minute. Not any of mine.

I travel overseas at least once a year, for at least 10 - 12 days as a rule. I usually only take the Sky Train and the Gator and have never - NEVER - had a problem (just don't over stuff the Sky Train or you'll exceed most airlines carry-on weight limits).

Never a weak seam, never an uncomfortable 'carry,', and never a lack of space.

I work professionally in travel and know a good deal about luggage, packing, and the ins-and-outs of traveling. I continually recommend the Red Oxx line to clients. It's perfect for carry-on, and perfect if you need to check-in. It's built to take all that you can throw at it and then some.

I wish my car was as well-built as a Red Oxx product! I'm looking forward to another purchase soon, perhaps a larger (maybe 6?) Beano for check-in for my next excursion. Lasts longer and a more fun gift than anything I can imagine. Keep up the good work, Red Oxx.
 
 My GoTo Bag
By Dave B, Atlanta, GA, November 7, 2014

OK, we all have a favorite bag that we grab for a quick trip or our long distance business commutes (road warriors will understand).

Mine was a B-R rolling carry on I've had for I can't remember how many years. It had been around the world several times over.

But I read some sites on One Bag traveling and decided to try a RedOxx. Couldn't decide which to try so I bought both the Air Boss and the Sky Train.

The Sky Train has now over six months of steady weekly travel and has supported several multi-week trips. I'm not sure when I'm going to need the slightly larger Air Boss, but it's patiently waiting its turn.

This is a great bag, even stuffing into the smallest of commuter overheads.

And arriving at the hotel has never been met by wrinkled clothes...

I still can't believe how much you can stuff into this thing.

I've carried a suit, two extra slacks, four shirts and all the accessories, toiletries, and regular stuff, then still had room for my TRX, office accessories, and a daypack for sightseeing.

Carrying this thing through terminals, across terminals, between terminals, you know the drills, and schlepping it through towns and cities, has NEVER been a problem with the backpack straps. They are wilderness capable, comfortable, and durable.

Like I said, not sure when the Air Boss is going to get a chance given the capacity and easy handling of the Air Train. Maybe I'll just have to arrange a trip with the misses and convince her to pack her stuff in it.

It has taken first chair as my go to bag.
 
 50 stars
By Brandon, San Diego, November 6, 2014

This bag is exceptional. I have never seen such workmanship in a textile product. I was able to fit 5 pairs of shorts 3 pairs of pants 5 t shirts socks boxers a large North face jacket a pair of size 14 Reebok shoes my sandals toiletries my Big Lebowski sweater. This back rivals that of Marry Poppins herself. Honestly, the best part of my vacation was me just looking forward to the next time i had the pleasure of carrying it.
 
 5 countries / 16 days
By Renee K, Chicago IL USA, October 21, 2014

I travel for business all the time in US and have it down to a science re: a single carry-on bag. However, planning a personal vacation with 5 girlfriends, covering 5 countries in 16 days, using trains/smaller airlines once in Europe, and with a 40F - 85F temp range, did raise concerns. When I read onebag.com review & took a look at Red Oxx Sky Train, figured I should give it a try. Very happy that I did! Backpack worked wonderfully. Had no issues with size even given limitations on smaller airlines. Carried it around ever couple days almost without thinking -- very comfortable. Very well constructed. Looking forward to using it on many more trips!
 
 Hold lots of stuff!
By A, , October 9, 2014

A nice strong bag, love having multiple ways to carry it. It hold a ton of stuff! Awesome being Made in USA
 
 Italy travel partner
By Robert, San Diego, September 4, 2014

This backpack is awesome! It is amazing how much stuff you can get in it. The construction of the pack is second to none and provides a comfortable set of straps for all the walking we did.

But it is really nice to be able to stow the straps and just use the pack as a carry bag if necessary. We traveled all along the Italy coast with the only problem being, our trip finally came to an end. Great Pack and worth every single dollar spent.
 
 Great Backpack
By Anonymous, Hon, HI, August 21, 2014

Great size for up to a week of travel (longer depending on climate and type of vacation). Easy to carry and will hold more than a comparably sized backpack. Material and hardware as usual are top notch. Colors are great (I got in amethyst and bordeaux so we can see each other in a crowd). The back straps are surprisingly comfortable and easy to adjust. Only suggestion is to attach compression straps to minimize bulging.
 
 Thrid time is the charm
By Robert, Great Falls VA, August 21, 2014

The Skytrain is my third (and last) carryon.

Let me explain: I had an Air Boss from 2006 to 2013. While it was, and is, a grat bag for business travel, it really didn't fit the way I travel now that I'm retired. Also, the lack of a grab handle, and the uncomfortable carrying handle led me to reluctantly sell the bag last year.

So, then I tried a T** B*** T****** that I had bought for my wife. Three compartments don't really fit the way I like to pack, and it's way too fussy with lots of small compartments. The should straps and grab handle are nice though.

The solution: Sky Train. Nice shoulder straps, comfortable handles and TWO compartments.

Great bag. Problems solved.
 
 Holy smokeys
By Jarin Udom, San Diego, CA, August 15, 2014

This bag is constructed so well, I feel like I'm probably going to pass it on to my grandkids someday. It's perfectly sized and has a ton of room, and I doubt I'll ever need a suitcase again. Thanks!
 
 one bag for two
By Anonymous, maine, August 15, 2014

I have used this bag on several trips now of varying lengths. My 15month old daughter and I share this bag. I fit a bundle for her, a bundle for me, diapers, craft project, and day bag with the snacks wallet and other things you need handy-by in it. I use the backpack function exclusively since I like the ease of mobility it gives me and I have the little one in a sling on the front while manuvering.

For me, one downside is that the bag feels heavy to me when empty. Since I carry the baby and the bag it adds up, but I appreciate the quality and toughness. I know this bag will last and stand up to all kinds of travel. I also have shoulders on the narrow side and have sometimes wished for a chest strap.

I love one bag travel, especially now that i have a kid to keep track of too, and this bag fits the bill. Manuvering is simple, i never have to check anything and I have been able to fit this bag under the seat of most airplanes if needed.
 
 Mahalo to Red Oxx!
By James, Kelowna, BC, August 7, 2014

Great bag. Everything I was hoping for and helped me achieve my first true "one bag" travel. Fit 2 weeks of clothes, sandals, water shoes, snorkle gear, etc and never had to check it (or sky check it!) on any of the 7 flights we took to and around Hawaii. As mentioned it fits all overhead unless you fill it a bit too much. Gotta watch the 9" depth when packing; btw I didn't need to bundle but like cubes which work great of your clothes don't wrinkle. On the two planes it was over 9" wide for the overhead ai fit under the seat easily even on the small planes like a Dash 8. Mahalo to Red Oxx!
 
 Lived up to expectations!
By MikeH , Connecticut, August 3, 2014

The quality and functionality is terrific. Packed enough for a two week tour of France. It was also a plus when other travelers commented about it and asked about the brand. I am one happy camper with all my Redoxx purchases (e.g., sky train, C rucksack, and rigger wallets - and too numerous to mention accessories).
 
 Backpacking for grown-ups
By Russ, Washington, DC, August 2, 2014

My wife and I are well past the age where we might backpack through Europe. But on a three-week trip this summer, we really did not want to check a bag and my Air Boss was not going to be big enough for both of us. We bought a Sky Train for the trip and it didn't let us down.

Just like the Air Boss, it fit in the overhead bin of the regional jet we took for one leg. Just like the Air Boss, it is exceedingly well-made. Just like the Air Boss, it has compartments that hold more than you think they should.

Compared to the Air Boss, the backpack straps are a real plus when you've got a long haul to get to Passport Control after you land. I think the Air Boss holds more, but it got pretty heavy on my shoulder on long walks to connecting gates.

Compared to "normal" luggage, the only downside of Red Oxx is that you have to do the bundle packing method, which gets a little old when you're changing hotels a lot. But for us, the much bigger capacity, the fact that it fits in the smallest overhead, and the fact that they build things to a quality other manufacturers can't even see--all of those make the bundling just a minor annoyance.
 
 Sky Train
By Jerry, Lancaster PA, July 29, 2014

I've been looking for a carry-0n that also had backpack straps for many years. Finally I stumbled upon Red Oxx and your Sky Train. Great bag. I also ordered a couple Lil Roy's and a the Nomad Shave Kit. Your quality is top notch.
 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ... Next > 
Specifications

Sky Train Specs Chart

  • Designed AND hand made in the U.S.A.
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Soft Unisuede padded retractable backpack straps
  • Dual claw-style 360-degree backpack straps swivel clips
  • A.L.I.C.E. pack strap adjusters
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • Detachable adjustable chest strap
  • Dual "Euro" clear vinyl carry handles (top and side)
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified CORDURA® Brand Nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 400 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • 4 lb. Volara closed cell foam padding on exterior back panel
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • 1"W Zipper flaps on 2 main and strap compartments
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors
  • US Dimensions: 20"L x 9"W x 13"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 50.8cm L x 22.7cm W x 33cm H
  • US Capacity: 2,340 cubic inches
  • Metric Capacity: 38 Liters
  • US Weight: 4 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 1.81 Kilos

Sky Train Convertible Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, back orders are typically filled within 14 working days. Visit our Customer Service Help Desk or call our Toll Free Hot Line: 1-888-733-6999.

Related Articles
Red Oxx "No Bull" Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

Red Oxx Bags are guaranteed forever, be sure to include them in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - No Questions Asked. Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

Is the Sky Train carry-on legal?
Yes, the Sky Train is designed to be carry-on legal.
 
What's the best way to pack the Sky Train?
We recommend the bundle packing method. Watch the packing video under the Photos and Videos tab or download the Sky Train Packing Diagram.
 
What's the difference between the Air Boss and the Sky Train?
There are two principle differences between the Air Boss and the Sky Train: The Sky Train has retractable backpack straps and opens flat lengthwise and has 2 packing compartments whereas the Air Boss opens flat like a book with three compartments and is carried with the Claw shoulder strap.
 
Will the Sky Train Carry-on fit under the seat in front of me?
Cramming the Sky Train under the seat is not recommended.
 
Will the Eagle Creek packing cubes fit?
We recommend that you use our Nomad Shave Kit, Lil Roy Gadget Bag or Tri-fold Toiletry bag as packing cubes. You can color co-ordinate them to your preference and they come with useful carry handles. The Tri-fold Toiletry bag is also a brilliant shave kit organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
 
How many pounds will the Sky Train weigh when packed?
It depends on what you pack. A typical 3-5 day load will weigh about 20-25 pounds.
 
How many days travel can I fit in the Sky Train?
Most folks can get about 3-5 days with a typical load. Some adventurous types have been able to pack from a week to 10 days! It all depends on how you pack and what you pack.
 
Where do I pack the laptop?
You can use the back compartment. We recommend that you use a padded neoprene sleeve to secure your laptop.
 
What's the best way to pack footwear?
Sole to sole to minimize the dirt and placed in either compartment. We recommend placing your shoes in a plastic bag.
 
Can I change the logo color?
Sure. Simply order your favorite color Logo Patch and sew it on yourself. Red Oxx cannot change the patch colors for you.
 
Can I order a bag without the logo?
Logo Patches are centered using a hole punch. If you remove the patch, there will be a hole in the bag that could cause a snag. Red Oxx cannot build a bag without a logo as this would disrupt the efficiency of the production line. Feel free to use a permanent marker to color the patches.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my bag?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
The Sky Train Hybrid bag has two generous internal compartments and one small internal zippered pocket.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Why doesn't the Sky Train come with a waist strap?
The bag was not designed to operate with a waist strap. However, you can use a pair of Luggage Compression Straps to cinch down the bag from the outside. Wrap one straps around the top, about 4-6 inches down, and the second strap further down, about 4-6 inches from the bottom. The top strap, if cinched tighter than the bottom strap, will pull the pack closer to your upper body, relieving excessive weight from the pack on your hips. Another option is to take a belt, any belt will do, and thread it through the holes in the smuggler's pocket at the base of the bag where the backpack straps attach to the bag. While not a very comfortable way to travel, using a belt this way can also relieve some weight off the hips. The best solution however, is to focus on traveling light and not over pack your Sky Train. Use the internal cinch straps to hold your belongings in place.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.