Skip Navigation LinksHome  > News & Events  > Behind the Scenes  > Air-Boss

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I make other carry-on bags nervous.”
Red Oxx Air Boss Carry-on Bag - pictured in Red. Available in 12 colors for $225

Air Boss $245.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


One Bag Travel! Air Boss.

The only carry-on bag you'll ever need.

Designed for the business traveler, this popular five star-rated carry-on travel bag is a must-have for anyone who enjoys the advantages of traveling light. Peruse over 600 customer reviews right here from hundreds of satisfied Air Boss customers and get an honest idea of whether this is the best travel bag for you.

CARRY-ON REBORN.
Red Oxx worked with Internet author and carry-on travel expert, Doug Dyment, guru of OneBag.com fame to develop this all-in-one carry-on bag.

EXPERT DESIGN AND DEVELOPMENT.
Follow this link to learn Doug Dyment's bundle wrapping technique so you can fit more in your airline carry-on bag and be more organized. Thanks to Onebag.com, here's a fantastic luggage packing diagram, showing you how to "bundle wrap" your clothing in the Air Boss.

WRINKLE FREE TRAVEL.
Designed with three large main compartments, the Air Boss carry-on bag also features two outside zippered pockets (one full-length, one for your airline tickets), an outside sleeve pocket, and tie downs inside the outer sections to keep your slacks and dress shirts in position and wrinkle-free until you can hang them up in the hotel.

A PLACE FOR YOUR BELONGINGS.
The center compartment is spacious enough to hold your Toiletries, extra shoes, work-out gear, business briefcase, etc. Volara closed-cell foam padding is sewn in the sides, so you've got a rigid, yet flexible, piece of carry-on luggage that protects your belongings.

PROTECT YOUR LAPTOP.
Looking for extra protection for your laptop? Pick up a Metro Briefcase, which will fit in the center compartment of the Air Boss, adding further protection and giving you a "one bag" travel option...with two bags inside one. Note that this can become a heavy bag to carry if you do this.

NEVER SLIPS OFF.
Includes detachable nonslip Claw Shoulder Strap that keeps your bag where you want it - on your shoulder.

LEARN HOW TO PACK IT.
Watch the Air Boss Packing Video posted in the Videos tab at left where CFO Amanda Markel shows how to use many of the bag's features.

ANOTHER CARRY BAG OPTION.
Looking for a similar carry-on bag with retractable backpack style shoulder straps? Try our other popular travel bag, the Sky Train.

Join the fleet feet crowd and travel carry-on with the Commander of the ship: the Air Boss!

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your Air Boss on our production schedule. Your bag will then be delivered in under 30 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H.
Capacity: 2,184 cubic inches.

Pocket measurements:

  • Matching dual exterior zippered full length side flat pockets: 13"H x 20"W each
  • Exterior flat snap pocket: 9.5"H x 20"W
  • Exterior zippered side flat passport / map pocket: 12.5"D x 7"W
  • Dual zippered tie down side compartments: 2"W x 20.5"L x 12.5"H
  • Main center compartment: 4"W x 20.5"L x 12.5"H

"No Bull" Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, in production products and delivery time? - Read this personal letter from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the steps it takes to handcraft your Air Boss.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear.

Online Air Boss orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email and a review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. Backorders beyond a dozen days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is secure.

Every great carry-on bag needs cool luggage accessories.

2009 Winner of the "Best Durable Luggage Award" from Bestcovery.com; "Discover the Best of Everything."

Selected as Kiplinger's Expert Pics The Best List of 2008 for Best Carry-on Travel Bag.

Air Boss Trivia: On the flight deck of an aircraft carrier, the Air Boss is in charge of all the operations of the flight deck. He controls the moving of planes on deck, landing of aircraft, launching aircraft, ordinance handling, and safety of all the personnel occupying the flight deck. The Air Boss oversees from the command tower. Orders are communicated with the flight deck via megaphone. Ex: "Hey greenshirt. Get out of that checked baggage line and on the plane, now!"

Write a Review

4.79 Average Rating
 (663 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ... Next > 
 Great bag
By Ian, Italy, June 23, 2012

I love my AirBoss. It's efficient and great for carrying a variety of clothing styles.

A couple of enhancements could be shoe bags/compartments, and a sleeve for gym clothes.
 
 Great, but not for everybody
By Yudanta, Los Angeles/Jakarta, June 21, 2012

I came across One bag travel and was really obsessed with the idea. I started to research and was trying to implement the idea. At one of the website that promote it, Redoxx bag was heavily recommended. After obsessing over it (and practice it with my rollover bag), I had the chance to order Air Boss on my recent trip state side.

The ordering process was great and the bag arrived in time for my short trip to New York. It is indeed, as many reviews mentioned, a really nice looking bag. Great material, sturdy and very well thought off. The zipper, bag material and other elements scream 'durable'.

I packed all my stuff and head off to my trip, and here is where I found that this may not be the bag for me: For those who needs to walk a long way in airports, streets and anywhere, carrying more than 10 kg on your shoulder may take toll on you, especially if you are used to wheeled carry on.

The bag fit all my luggage and still keeps form, nicely hold my mac air and iPad in the middle compartment, yet the weight on my shoulder really bothers me after walking from one end of the terminal to the other in the airports and walking around in New york city street, hailing cab.

I tried to return the bag, but Redoxx company policy forbid that after usage, even once.

I still think the bag is great looking and sturdy, however if you do have problem carrying weight on your shoulder, this may not be the best luggage for you
 
 Great bag, durable
By Anonymous, Bristow, VA, June 7, 2012

When I ordered the Air Boss for business travel, my wife thought I had lost my mind. I was about to go on week long business and she was convinced the bag was too small. Needless to say she was convinced after I packed a suit, 3 shirts, 2 dress pants, 2 pair of shoes and toiletries in only one of the outside compartments and center compartment of the Air Boss. I still had the second outside compartment to pack more.

This is a great bag, built very well and can hold a deceptively large amount of items. I highly recommend for anyone looking to travel in one bag or wants a soft bag. Even "fully packed," it fit easily into the overhead bins of the airlines I frequently fly. This bag was built for travelers and crafted by people who make parachute rigging... what more could you ask for?
 
 Escaped "tag & check"
By Alex Ryer, Chicago, IL, June 7, 2012

First of all, the bag is sturdy, plenty of room for 2-day conference in NYC. Well designed functionally, no wrinkles! The small narrow outside pocket between straps is too deep - have to dig for phone. I was on a full flight, and they required anyone with a carryon defined as "wheels and a handle" had to tag and check at the plane door. My bag held more stuff, but I was fine. It fit easily in the overhead bin too.

I will buy another for my wife, although I'll have to wean her off wheels!
 
 I love the bag, but watch the zippers!
By Scott, Austin, TX USA, June 7, 2012

I purchased this bag in hopes of gaining more room than my roller carry on. I'm extremely pleased, so far. It easily holds enough clothes for 4 days of business travel. It also easily holds an extra pair of my size 13 shoes, which always took up a lot of room in my roller. The only downside, it can get a little heavy if you have it stuffed to it's full capacity. It also won't quite hold my smallish laptop bag, but it may if I travel a little lighter.

One word of caution....Watch the zippers as you zip up the compartments. They are great, but will chew up your pants or suit jacket if you're not careful.

This bag is a stud, and it won't be my last Redoxx!
 
 Tried it, Loved it, Bought Another!
By Mark, Seattle, WA, June 7, 2012

When I ordered this bag, the Customer Service began BEFORE I even got it! I had requested 3-day ground at the extra cost. Guess it is only 2-days normally anyway so they changed the shipping and notified me why and saved me a couple bucks. Hey, if they care enough to pay attention to that, I'm sold! BUT WAIT, THERE'S MORE! We travelled with the bag and my wife loved it so much, she found a reason to buy another (in a different color)! When our garment bag dies, I know where we'll be buying it's replacement. Great product, glad I came across it and now my sister is buying one as well. Loved the chunky zippers and the strap (might not be the most comfortable but it will not come off your shoulder easily). And it carries a lot of clothing, too.
 
 2003 well traveled Boss
By Steve B., Sacramento, June 4, 2012

I purchased my Air Boss ten years ago prior to heading out on a month long trip that would take me to Hong Kong, Thailand, Maylasia and Australia before retuning home. Since then, it has taken a few trips to Europe, Canada and all over the US.

At the time of my purchase, the Sky Train was not available. In keeping with the history of the military riggers who founded Red Oxx, I have made some rigging modifications of my own. I took apart an old Kelty back pack and had my shoe repair guy rig up the straps. It is perfect.

If you think you need wheels (you don't), this bag is not for you.

The Air Boss makes the perfect all round carry on. It can get a bit heavy when loaded and the straps help that. The interior pocket is great for a lap top, iPad or electronics so a breifcase or separate case is not needed. The three way compartment is convienent and perfect for packing suits or other attire. Needless to say, this case is bullet proof. Mine has been all over the world and it still looks great.

I would also add that the claw grip shoulder strap is a great invention. I am not a fan of the Red Oxx breifcase but my Tumi sports a claw. Cheers, Steve
 
 Air Boss is #1
By Larry Davidson, Irving, Texas, June 3, 2012

My wife and I just came back from a 12 day trip in Europe where we went to London, Wales and Paris. My Air Boss and Gator were part of our luggage and both worked great as "carry on" luggage. The Air Boss has plenty of room and will carry a lot of clothing, gear etc. I am completely happy with both bags and would highly recommend them as they are made of the highest quality and materials.
 
 Tough as nails
By Josh, Denver, June 1, 2012

Just got back from a 2 week trip with this bag. Very pleased with the significant amount you can fit in here and the comfort of the strap (considering the amount of stuff I'm hauling). This will definitely be my go-to bag from now on for carry on. You can just feel the quality of the stitching and zippers - worth it.
 
 I really reallly like it!
By Shayn A, Sacramento, May 31, 2012

I travel a lot for business and because of rising checked bag fees, I went with a bag I could use as a carry on. Did a ton of research and decided to go with Red Oxx. I was not disappointed! Once you learn how to bundle pack, this bag is a bit easier, but anyway you pack, it's an awesome bag. I recently used it on 4 flights to Canada (2 each way). Packed 2 suits, 4 shirts, extra pair of pants, swim suit, extra set of dress shoes, laptop and all the necessary items (socks, underwear, t-shirts, belts, etc.). Even on the smallest planes (and believe me one was extra small), this bag fit in the overhead compartment (only once did I need a gentle push on the tiny plane). Also, while everyone else was being asked to do a gate check of their bag, I was not asked once. This is an incredibly durable and well made bag. Zippers and material are outstanding. Customer service at Red Oxx is incredible. Only one small draw back, once I packed the bag, it got a little heavy carrying it. I will probably learn to pack a little lighter. The shoulder strap is awesome though and does not slip at all. Recently went to Tahoe for the holiday weekend and I easily packed all my stuff and some of my wifes and daughters as well as their bags would not hold everything. Big fan now of Red Oxx and letting everyone know.
 
 Amazing
By Aaron, Iowa, May 31, 2012

Bought this bag as I was taking a week trip to the NE for some soccer matches. All I can say is WOW! As a business traveler, I was always looking for a bag like this and was seriously considering a bag from another manufacturer. I am so happy to pay the extra little bit, I am sure this bag and I will be going through some amazing travels in the future....
 
 WOW!!!!
By Scott Taylor, Southeast Michigan, May 31, 2012

I have made four business trips since I recieved my Air Boss and I keep wondering how I ever got along without it. I am a carry-on only guy and the Air Boss fits anywhere. I do place it on top of a small underseat Tumi wheeled computer bag to make the long (DTW) airport walks easier but I will never have a large wheeled bag again. It is only a month old but I tell all my road warrior friends who will listen that the Air Boss is the only what to travel!!!
 
 Great travel bag!
By Dennis, Worthington, OH, May 30, 2012

I took my first trip with the Air Boss and I really appreciated the rugged construction and high quality materials. This is the first multi-compartment bag I have used and I used it with some packing cubes. This makes sorting and finding clothing items super easy. The cubes also make sure that smaller non-clothing items don't get lost or misplaced. I also love the rugged zippers that close authoritatively-they make it easy to sometimes overstuff the bag. Some suggestions for future versions of the Air Boss bag: padded handles (like Tom Bihn bags) and a grab handle on the side would make the Air Boss even better.
 
 Well Built
By T Fry, Bozeman, MT, May 29, 2012

Very well built and looks like it will last forever. Shipping was incredibly fast- I ordered it on short notice for a trip and was happy to have it a couple of days before I left. Was very convenient to do the "one bag" thing.

The only thing I would add, as someone else sort of mentioned, is some type of loop or pocket(s) on the inside to securely attach stuff to (such as keys, etc.) maybe a small secure pocket. Loops would do it for me. p.s. is there a way to open the loop on the little dog tag/key chain that came with it?
 
 Size matters
By Richard, Doha, Qatar, May 27, 2012

It's bigger than I expected it would be! But Qatar Airways didn't raise any issues about it. As with all Red Oxx stuff, it gives the feel and appearance of being completely bomb-proof. I think it's an ideal solution for shorter trips where I don't have to take two suits. I might be in the market for a garment bag some time soon ...
 
 No wheels makes it very heavy
By C. Thomas, Philadelphia, May 27, 2012

I used this bag on a one week trip to Columbia and a one week trip to Brazil. While the bag is very well constructed, very roomy and easy to get into overhead bins without wheels it is VERY difficult to carry between terminals when full.

For examples going through customs at MIA and trying to change terminals in DFW, the lack of wheels will slow you down.

I should have thought of this but put way to much stock in all the 5 star reviews and didn't think it would be a problem. What was I thinking!? Of course the lack of any sort of return policy means I am now stuck with this bag for the foreseeable future as I can not afford a replacement.
 
 So far so good
By Bill, Massachusetts, May 18, 2012

The bag is solidly built and held clothes as advertised. Although I did not carry the bag on the plane I would've felt completely comfortable doing so (no trepidation about whether it would fit in the overheads or not). The bag survived being checked on 2 international flights with no problems and clothes arrived relatively wrinkle-free. My only suggestions would be to include a few small/low profile pockets (internal or external) for cell, keys, pens, etc. and to indicate on the website that the bag comes with a luggage tag (I could've avoided purchasing an extra one).
 
 Follow-up: 4 years, 200th trip
By David A., Jerusalem, Israel, May 15, 2012

In West Yellowstone, MT for the next 10 days, and as I was going over my frequent flier miles statement I realized- this is my AirBoss's 200th trip! I got it 4 years ago, and haven't used another bag since. The bag still looks the same as when I got it, but the cordura has a slightly softer hand to it- broken in like your favorite old shoes. I wanted to relate a story from this trip about how awesome this bag is.

I don't get to the US often anymore, but when I do, I have a somewhat unhealthy obsession with stocking up on nice silk Nat Nast shirts, which are hard to get abroad. As I transferred to the puddle jumper from Denver to Bozeman, they of course made me gate check my AirBoss full of expensive new shirts. After landing in Bozeman, I waited on the jetway for my bag, only to see it arc through the air as some jerk baggage handler tossed it to his buddy. Of course, it landed in a huge, oily puddle on the tarmac. When I finally got my bag, a soaking, disgusting, mess, I took it immediately to the bathroom and went to work on it with paper towels. After about 5 minutes, the bag looked brand new- and dry- again. I opened it up- not a drop of water inside. Shirts saved! I'm sure that most bags don't have the splash resistance of the AirBoss- this one instance paid for the bag twice over.

So, thanks guys, from another grateful AirBoss owner. I look forward to the next 200 flights!

PS I know Montana is a small place, so if said baggage handler is your brother-in-law, niece's boyfriend, whatever, please know it's not personal
 
 Doug Dyment Rocks!
By Tony, Massachusettes, May 14, 2012

Some of you might know that Doug helped design this with the Air Boss team.

WOW what a job, I love this bag, it is good looking, rugged, the pockets are in the right place.

It is generous sized, and I have no problem packing a laptop, tech stuff, and 5 days travel into the bag, with out it being overstuffed. Easy to pack, and easy to unpack in pieces if you want to.

The big strap is fantastic, I have weak shoulders, and I find this a great boon.

Thank you Doug and RedOxx!!
 
 I Like It!
By Brett, Boston, May 13, 2012

This bag's maiden voyage with me was a three day business trip and it is indisputably the best piece of luggage I have owned.

I was pleased by the durable construction, its amazing carrying capacity, and the functionality of its design. I am a particular fan of the big zippers; they open and close authoritatively without jamming.

As others have noted, don't overpack or the bag will be uncomfortably heavy for a shoulder strap. A word of caution about the shoulder strap, when they say "non-slip" they aren't kidding. I found the strap's traction made it difficult to adjust the bag position and at one point I almost tore the hood off my shell jacket when doing so.

A few minor things that would make this bag even better for me: some kind of reflective piping, a handle on the side for grabbing regardless of which way the bag is oriented, more padding in the bottom of the center section, and a small, covered external pocket for quick-grab items. Overall a great bag, though.
 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ... Next > 
Specifications

Air Boss Spec Size Chart

  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • US Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 53.3cm L x 20.3cm W x 33cm H
  • US Capacity: 2,184 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 35.7 Liters
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Cordura Nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 420 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • 4 lb. Volara closed cell foam padding on exterior panels
  • Double Box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • All zippers #10 YKK self-locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Nylon webbing zipper pull grab loops
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors

Air Boss Carry-on Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 30 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

 

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

Is the Air Boss carry-on legal?
Yes, the Air Boss is carry-on legal on most jet airlines.
 
What's the best way to pack the Air Boss?
The bundle packing method is recommended. Watch the packing video under the Photos and Videos tab or download the printable luggage packing diagram (Pdf file).
 
What's the difference between the Air Boss and the Sky Train?
There are two principle differences between the Air Boss and the Sky Train: The Sky Train has retractable backpack straps and opens flat lengthwise whereas the Air Boss opens flat like a book.
 
Will the Air Boss fit under the seat in front of me?
Cramming the Air Boss under the seat is not recommended.
 
Will the Eagle Creek packing cubes fit the Air Boss?
We recommend that you use our Nomad Shave Kit, Lil Roy Gadget Bag or Tri-fold Toiletry bag as packing cubes. You can color co-ordinate them to your preference and they come with useful carry handles. The Tri-Fold Toiletry Kit is also a brilliant shave kit organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
 
How many pounds will the Air Boss weigh when packed?
It depends on what you pack. A typical 3-5 day load will weigh about 20-25 pounds.
 
How many days travel can I fit in the Air Boss Carry-on?
Most travelers can get about 3-5 days with a typical load. Some adventurous types have been able to pack from a week to ten days! It all depends on how you pack and what you pack.
 
Where do I pack the laptop?
You can use the center compartment. We recommend that you use a padded sleeve to protect your laptop.
 
What's the best way to pack footwear?
Sole to sole to minimize the dirt and placed in the middle compartment. We recommend placing your shoes in a plastic bag first.
 
Can I change the logo color?
Sure. Simply order your favorite color Logo Patch and sew it on yourself. Red Oxx cannot change the patch colors for you.
 
Can I order a bag without the logo?
Logo Patches are centered using a hole punch. If you remove the patch, there will be a hole in the bag that could cause a snag. Red Oxx cannot build a bag without a logo as this would disrupt the efficiency of the production line. Feel free to use a permanent marker to color the patches.
 
Can you lock the Air Boss?
Yes, any TSA approved lock will work. Or you can use one of our inexpensive Cable Locks. Keep in mind, any soft sided bag can be cut open with a sharp knife. It's always better to carry the bag onto the plane and store in the overhead bin where you can keep an eye on it.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
The Air Boss has three large internal compartments. There are no internal pockets.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.