Skip Navigation LinksHome  > News & Events  > Behind the Scenes  > Air-Boss

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I make other carry-on bags nervous.”
Red Oxx Air Boss Carry-on Bag - pictured in Red. Available in 12 colors for $225

Air Boss $255.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


One Bag Travel! Air Boss.

The only carry-on bag you'll ever need.

Designed for the business traveler, our most popular five star-rated carry-on travel bag is a must-have for anyone who enjoys the advantages of traveling light. Peruse over 600 customer reviews right here from hundreds of satisfied Air Boss Carry-on customers to get an honest idea of whether this is the best travel bag for you.

CARRY-ON REBORN.
Red Oxx worked with Internet author and carry-on travel expert, Doug Dyment, guru of OneBag.com fame to develop this all-in-one carry-on bag.

EXPERT DESIGN AND DEVELOPMENT.
Follow this link to learn Doug Dyment's bundle wrapping technique so you can fit everything you need and nothing you don't in your Air Boss airline carry-on bag and become a more organized traveller. Thanks to guideance from Onebag.com, here's a fantastic luggage packing diagram, showing you how to easily "bundle wrap" your clothing in the Air Boss.

WRINKLE FREE TRAVEL.
Designed with three large main compartments, our Air Boss carry-on bag also features two outside zippered pockets; one full-length, one for your airline tickets, an outside sleeve pocket, and tie downs inside the two outer compartments to keep your slacks and dress shirts in position and wrinkle-free until you can unpack and hang them up in the hotel.

A PLACE FOR YOUR BELONGINGS.
The center compartment is spacious enough to hold your Toiletries, extra shoes, work-out gear, business briefcase, etc. Volara closed-cell foam padding is sewn into the sides, so you've got a rigid, yet flexible, piece of carry-on luggage that still protects your valuable belongings.

NEVER SLIPS OFF.
Includes detachable nonslip Claw Shoulder Strap that keeps your bag where you want it - on your shoulder.

DISCOVER HOW TO PACK IT.
Watch the Air Boss Packing Video posted in the Videos tab at left where CFO Amanda Markel shows how to use many of the bag's features.

PROTECT YOUR LAPTOP.
Looking for extra protection for your laptop? We recommend using a neoprene Laptop sleeve. A "macho" option is to put it in a Metro Briefcase, which will fit in the center compartment of the Air Boss, adding further protection and giving you a "one bag" travel option...with two bags inside one. Note that this can become a very heavy bag to carry if you decide to try this. Adding an extra Claw Shoulder Strap from your Metro and then carrying the Air Boss "backpack style" (one strap over each shoulder) can help offset this added load.

ANOTHER CARRY BAG OPTION IS.
Looking for a similar carry-on bag with retractable backpack style shoulder straps? Try our other popular travel bag, the Sky Train.

Join the fleet feet crowd and travel carry-on with the Commander of the ship: the Air Boss!

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your Air Boss on our production schedule. Your bag will then be delivered in under 30 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H.
Capacity: 2,184 cubic inches.
Weight: 3.4 pounds.

Pocket measurements:

  • Matching dual exterior zippered full length side flat pockets: 13"H x 20"W each
  • Exterior flat snap pocket: 9.5"H x 20"W
  • Exterior zippered side flat passport / map pocket: 12.5"D x 7"W
  • Dual zippered tie down side compartments: 2"W x 20.5"L x 12.5"H
  • Main center compartment: 4"W x 20.5"L x 12.5"H

"No Bull" Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, in production products and delivery time? - Check out this personal message from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the steps it takes to handcraft your Air Boss.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear.

Online Air Boss orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email and a review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. Backorders beyond a dozen days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is secure.

Every great carry-on bag needs cool luggage accessories.

2009 Winner of the "Best Durable Luggage Award" from Bestcovery.com; "Discover the Best of Everything."

Selected as Kiplinger's Expert Pics The Best List of 2008 for Best Carry-on Travel Bag.

Air Boss Trivia: On the flight deck of an aircraft carrier, the Air Boss is in charge of all the operations of the flight deck. He controls the moving of planes on deck, landing of aircraft, launching aircraft, ordinance handling, and safety of all the personnel occupying the flight deck. The Air Boss oversees from the command tower. Orders are communicated with the flight deck via megaphone. Ex: "Hey greenshirt. Get out of that checked baggage line and on the plane, now!"

Write a Review

4.79 Average Rating
 (679 Reviews)

 
... 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24  ... Next > 
 Better than advertised
By Thorsten, Switzerland, September 7, 2010

Just received another order from Red Oxx (an Air Boss for an envious friend, Travel Baskets, PR4, PR5...) na dthought it's about time I tell the world how good these bags are. Ok, the world seems to know, but adding to it can't do any harm, I guess.

The Air Boss took (almost) all my clothes I needed for our summer holiday, plus the photo gear, plus the Macbook Pro, plus all those cables and stuff - and a few books. Admittedly, I did not take a suit, left the shoes in our shoe bag and packed my shirts elsewhere. But still, I was thoroughly impressed - as was the guy in the hotel who volunteered to carry it... :-)

Add to this the incredible friendliness and customer orientation of the Red Oxx team, I can only recommend this company.

Another thing that became important for me in recent years: These are real guys producing real products and have a real life besides. Nowadays it's almost a political statement not to buy a Chinese product - well, so be it.
 
 Perfect Carry On Bag
By Vince, Los Angeles, CA, September 5, 2010

This bag was all that I expected, having read the great reviews. I just returned from a week-long business trip to South America. I packed one suit, four shirts, toiletries and casual clothes. I even included a spare pair of shoes. I had plenty of room to include a few gifts that I picked up along the way. The bag is incredibly durable yet reasonably light-weight. I never had any problem carrying it on - or fitting it into an overhead bin. This was true even on a previous business trip to Mexico where I managed to fit it in a crowded economy class overhead bin. While roll-aboard bags wouldn't have been as versatile, this bag was the perfect solution. My suit arrived reasonably free of wrinkles thanks to the tie-down straps inside. Just a really well thought out bag. It is my new international travel companion.
 
 Outstanding bag!
By Otterlady, Bloomington, IN, September 2, 2010

This bag is unbelievable! Worth every penny! As one reviewer said, it's too easy to stuff it to the point you can't lift it! I've carried enough stuff for 10 days with no problem. I've just purchased an Air Boss for my husband for Christmas so he won't have to lust after mine!
 
 This bag makes independent travel a breeze!
By Stephen, Australia, August 31, 2010

I have owned my airboss for about 3 years now and have mostly used it for 3-4 day business and a couple of 2 week car tours.

July and August this year was spent touring Canada, NE USA and Alaska for 6 weeks and I travelled with the airboss and a daypack and found it more than capably handled everything we through at it.

The first 3 weeks were independent travel by car followed by 2 weeks on a coach tour and then a 1 week cruise.

We actually felt less organised on the cruise as we had to unpack our clothes.

The comments from fellow travellers regarding our travel light style were very complimentary and it was all made possible by my airboss.
 
 Air Boss
By Anonymous, Brooklyn, NY, August 30, 2010

Purchased this for myself and the sky train for my wife (who liked the backpack style) and I can't really tell you that one is better than the other. Both are easy to pack, hold plenty for a long weekend trip, and even when fully packed are balanced enough to carry easily. My wife was worried about fitting shoes into the Sky Train but worked fine.
 
 Rugged Lightweight Capacity
By Brian, Kentucky, August 29, 2010

I have owned this bag for over a year and travel nearly every week. I have NEVER even so much as gate checked it. It fits into any overhead bin of my preferred airline's fleet (including smaller the C90, ERJ-145, etc.).

I easily pack six shirts, 3 pairs of shoes, 3 pairs of pants, 2 pairs of shorts, 5 under-garments, and toiletries.

I deftly navigate stairs, curbs, long walks, & short walks without shoulder strap slippage or discomfort. Transition from airport to train, boat, car, or anything - is simple and uninvolved as the bag doesn't have to be converted or transform. It simply rides on my shoulder.

Fully packed, my AIR BOSS weighs less than 25 lbs compared to the multi-computer backpack/mobile-office I also take with me (which weighs nearly twice as much).

I really debated about this bag a year ago given the price but found I really did get what I paid for & more. The freedom of movement and stowing options made possible by eliminating the internal spine & roller wheels makes this bag truly all purpose and all terrain.

I would easily buy this bag again if anything ever happened to it - but aside from a stain on the outer pocket - it shows no wear!

This bag has served me well in virtually ever mode of transportation on 3 continents for business & pleasure and I can't believe I don't see more of them in the airports.

Someone in line next to me complemented the bag last week and I raved about it for the next 3 minutes. Then I caught myself and laughed as I couldn't believe I was so excited about luggage I purchased in early 2009.
 
 Air Boss
By Jonathan, Sheffield, UK, August 28, 2010

As I live in the UK, I had to order the bag to see what it was really like. It's bigger than I expected. It's also a lot heavier than I expected, but that's down to the build quality and all that nickle plated metal work; I have a feeling it'll last for ever. I agree with an earlier reviewer that it's not easy to get a spare pair of shoes in the middle compartment along with packing cubes etc, but it can be done. I've just taken delivery of a Gator Carry On just in case I need extra space!

One last thing, and it's not the fault of Red Oxx at all, but the big downside for me is the cost of having Red Oxx products posted to the UK and paying tax on it this end. I love their products so much, I wish I lived in Montana. Have you got any jobs going for a Welshman? A great product, thanks very much Red Oxx.
 
 Red Oxx in Black
By John, Maryland, August 26, 2010

I purchased this bag a few weeks back after reading about it on various one bag traveling sites.

Aside from the bag itself, one of my favorite things was the warranty printed inside the box. I've never purchased a product with such a simple and robust warranty.

I have only travelled with the bag once so far, but it was exactly what I expected.

Other travelers were asked to gate check their bags on a small dash 8 flight, and I was able to carry mine onboard.

Loaded with enough clothes for a 4 day weekend, plus a laptop, it came in around 22lbs, but was no where near uncomfortable. It was also nice to have my hands free as I walked through the airport.

I was even able to put the bag under the seat on a flight back on the dash 8. Not that I had to, but I wanted to see if it would fit.

Great bag, well worth the money.
 
 Air Boss truly is
By Jim Alderman, NYC, August 26, 2010

I eagerly awaited the arrival of this new piece of luggage. It is much better than I could have imagine. I have literally thousands of dollars invested in luggage over the years looking for the latest new thing that would make travel easier. This is it! The Air Boss immediately solicits a wow response from other up in the air types. It is great quality and holds an enormous amount. Even inn the smaller CRJ's I am able to get it into their small overhead bins. Unique designm great strap that you don't have to pay extra for like with Tom Bihn' stuff.
 
 A good bag
By Alex, Paul, August 26, 2010

This is a good bag, very well made and extremely sturdy. The shoulder strap is the best I have used.

I am not very happy with the pockets on the outside though. The one that is fastened by a popper is a flat pocket and not much use for anything as it tends to gape open. Also, if you pick the bag up by the carry handle on that side then the popper pops open. I would rather see this as one or two zipped or velcro close pockets.

It is very good but for the money it should be perfect.
 
 Nice looking bag, thought it would hold more
By Rick P, Potomac MD, August 21, 2010

This is a nice bag, good design and what appears to be good quality and workmanship. My only complaint is that it does not hold as much clothing and related gear as the reviews lead you to believe. I took the bag for a 3 day trip to New Orleans and packed, using Eagle Creek cubes and folder, pair of extra pants, 3 tee-shirts, 2 casual nice shirts, socks, underwear and gym stuff. In the middle section I put my MacBook Pro (protected in Incase neoprene sleeve) and cable bag. I tried putting extra pair of shoes and toiletry cases in bag but felt the bag would not close or fit in overhead bin. Had it all fit I would give this bag 5 Stars.
 
 Very nice bag
By Prakash Nayak, Bangalore, India, August 20, 2010

I live in India and I had no opportunity to either visit Redoxx store or see the bag before buying. Only way for me to buy this bag was to order online, get it shipped to a friend's place in US and collect it during one of my many visits. That is what I did with my recent purchase of this bag.

I am one of those who believe in minimalist possessions whether it is travel or day to day life. But the irony is it is more difficult to be a minimalist and still be comfortable than being in possession of many mindless objects wasting money, storage and losing peace. The man reason is lack of appropriate, simple, well designed products. Air Boss fills one such gap. I am very happy with it except that that the hardware used is flashy and heavy.Redoxx must find ways and means to make hardware more subdued in looks and much lighter without compromising strength.

Other than this I have no other issues. If I praise many of its positive aspects I will be simply repeating what others have said. So I will leave it here.

Before I finish one important point. This bag is too big for a 2 to 3 days visit. Can Redoxx come out with a similar bag ( Airboss lite version) for a shorter trip of say 3 days?
 
 It's more than a bag
By Anonymous, , August 18, 2010

I am delighted with my Air Boss. My first trip was a 10 day effort involving many kinds of activity (informal to more formal), and the bag held everything I needed. The major revelation for me was the difficulty I encountered packing light. I thought I knew how, but no way. If you are going to use the Air Boss as a one-bag tool, much of what you are tempted to take will be unnecessary. Be prepared to wash your clothes as necessary, and accept that it will take several trips to get one-bag traveling down pat. Oh, one more thing: the CRJ900s will require you to leave your bag on the jetway.
 
 An Excellent Travel Solution
By Patrick Oranmore, Dallas/Ft Worth, TX, August 17, 2010

Purchased black variant along with Neoprene Pad (and Beanos Bag PR 5.5) for 3 weeks in Europe. Excellent carrying capacity, sensibly thought-out design, well-built and in combination with the PR 5.5 and a Maxpedition backpack it held everything needed (formal suit to shorts and flipflops) for 20 busy days in 7 locations in 3 countries, plus train, air and vehicle travel. Only beefs were the ease with which all the zips undid (too easy to "happen accidentally" during baggage handling - now fixed with a local modification) and the fact that the neoprene pad was pretty superfluous (now replaced with my own stiffer, longer and narrower wrap-round design). I bought it because my ancient Samsonite version was falling apart, and the Air Boss has proved to be far superior - also easy to recognize on the carousel thanks to the logos. Built like a parachute pack, it looked as good on my arrival home last night as it did out of the box - in contrast, my wife's more expensive high-end rollaboard in in the trash, thanks to the ham-handed handlers of Heathrow, Gatwick, Inverness, Bordeaux, Paris, Chicago and Dallas! I recommend this bag highly; next stop, India....
 
 Best suitcase ever
By jwheeler, massachusetts, August 14, 2010

I've used this suitcase far a month now and I have to say I am delighted. I travel weekly for 3 or 4 days and the Air Boss is able to hold everything I need neatly and in less space than my old roll-on. This is a great bag!
 
 Excellent travel bag
By Anonymous, KS, August 12, 2010

Great design. Very compact for its size and capacity. Easy to carry by hand or using shoulder strap. Excellent quality and craftsmanship. This is a great business and personal travel bag--especially for airplane travel.
 
 Good Design
By Bag Toter, USA, August 12, 2010

Well constructed bag. Well thought out overall. I'm pleased with the purchase. Only shortcoming in my opinion is the strap. While extremely sturdy, it is too narrow when the bag is heavily loaded. Strap is fine wiht moderate weight but if you load up the Oxx into the 20# plus range - the narrow strap begins to dig in.
 
 with medium size packing cubes and compression sacs
By JH Fleming, Cayucos California, August 8, 2010

Medium Compression Sacs folded into Medium Packing Cubes fit perfectly in each side pocket of the Air Boss! Very nice with the ties holding the bundle in place.

Amazing space saving. I am still under the 26 lb limit even with my laptop in the center compartment.
 
 Terrific in Tanzania
By Tracey, California, August 5, 2010

I wanted to bring one single carry-on for a two week safari, and I spent what seemed like weeks researching luggage. In the end I bought the Air Boss, and it proved to be a terrific purchase.

I only gave it 4 stars for 2 reasons ... I shelled out another $30 for one of the "Tom Bihn Absolute Shoulder Straps" which provided a better load distribution than the strap the Air Boss had, and for $225 I don't want to have to buy a new strap. And secondly, for me the unstructured Air Boss required a lot of Eagle Creek individual packing bags in order not to have stuff just falling out every time I opened the bag. I found it easier to pack by using the EC cubes,, and then placing the cubes into the Air Boss.

In the end, I carried only about 16# (including the bag) with me: 3 pairs of pants, 4 t-shirts, flip flops, a hat, a fleece jacket, a lighter jersey hoodie, hair dryer (never used!), some school supplies to donate, underwear, PJ's. Oh, yeah ... and enough bandaids and OTC medications for a dozen people or so!

The bag easily fit in the overhead compartments of the planes I was in; the Regional Air Services DeHavilland Otter16-seater had no overhead storage so it went in the hold.

My husband managed without all the EC packing cubes but did use one of their packing folders.

We were the only people on the Amsterdam-Kilimanjaro leg with no checked luggage (so they told us when they wanted to know if we'd give up our seats), and never having to wait for luggage was liberating. I'm glad I got the Air Boss, and hope my overpacking days are over!
 
 I have arrived
By Kai, Victoria BC Canada, August 4, 2010

I have now used the Airboss on two trips and I am very impressed.

Have done some adjustments on what not to take and it will be going on its 3 and 4th trip this month.

I am away for 5-10 days and have no problem packing for that

time. Airboss can be compared to a Turkey, you can stuff a lot of stuff in it and you have to be careful it does not grow to a size that will not fit in the overhead.

On regional and small carriers I leave it on the "cart" instead of battling with it in a small cabin. I use two rolled up t-shirts in the center compartment, that helps protect the netbook etc.
 
... 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24  ... Next > 
Specifications

Air Boss Spec Size Chart

  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • US Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 53.3cm L x 20.3cm W x 33cm H
  • US Capacity: 2,184 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 35.7 Liters
  • US Weight: 3.4 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 1.54 Kilos
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Cordura Nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 420 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • 4 lb. Volara closed cell foam padding on exterior panels
  • Double Box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Nylon webbing zipper pull grab loops
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors

Air Boss Carry-on Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 30 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

Is the Air Boss carry-on legal?
Yes, the Air Boss is carry-on legal on most jet airlines.
 
What's the best way to pack the Air Boss?
The bundle packing method is recommended. Watch the packing video under the Photos and Videos tab or download the printable luggage packing diagram (Pdf file).
 
What's the difference between the Air Boss and the Sky Train?
There are two principle differences between the Air Boss and the Sky Train: The Sky Train has retractable backpack straps and opens flat lengthwise whereas the Air Boss opens flat like a book.
 
Will the Air Boss fit under the seat in front of me?
Cramming the Air Boss under the seat is not recommended.
 
Will the Eagle Creek packing cubes fit the Air Boss?
We recommend that you use our Nomad Shave Kit, Lil Roy Gadget Bag or Tri-fold Toiletry bag as packing cubes. You can color co-ordinate them to your preference and they come with useful carry handles. The Tri-Fold Toiletry Kit is also a brilliant shave kit organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
 
How many pounds will the Air Boss weigh when packed?
It depends on what you pack. A typical 3-5 day load will weigh about 20-25 pounds.
 
How many days travel can I fit in the Air Boss Carry-on?
Most travelers can get about 3-5 days with a typical load. Some adventurous types have been able to pack from a week to ten days! It all depends on how you pack and what you pack.
 
Where do I pack the laptop?
You can use the center compartment. We recommend that you use a padded sleeve to protect your laptop.
 
What's the best way to pack footwear?
Sole to sole to minimize the dirt and placed in the middle compartment. We recommend placing your shoes in a plastic bag first.
 
Can I change the logo color?
Sure. Simply order your favorite color Logo Patch and sew it on yourself. Red Oxx cannot change the patch colors for you.
 
Can I order a bag without the logo?
Logo Patches are centered using a hole punch. If you remove the patch, there will be a hole in the bag that could cause a snag. Red Oxx cannot build a bag without a logo as this would disrupt the efficiency of the production line. Feel free to use a permanent marker to color the patches.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my bag?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
The Air Boss has three large internal compartments. There are no internal pockets.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.