Skip Navigation LinksHome  > News & Events  > Behind the Scenes  > Air-Boss

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I make other carry-on bags nervous.”
Red Oxx Air Boss Carry-on Bag - pictured in Red. Available in 12 colors for $225

Air Boss $255.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


One Bag Travel! Air Boss.

The only carry-on bag you'll ever need.

Designed for the business traveler, our most popular five star-rated carry-on travel bag is a must-have for anyone who enjoys the advantages of traveling light. Peruse over 600 customer reviews right here from hundreds of satisfied Air Boss Carry-on customers to get an honest idea of whether this is the best travel bag for you.

CARRY-ON REBORN.
Red Oxx worked with Internet author and carry-on travel expert, Doug Dyment, guru of OneBag.com fame to develop this all-in-one carry-on bag.

EXPERT DESIGN AND DEVELOPMENT.
Follow this link to learn Doug Dyment's bundle wrapping technique so you can fit everything you need and nothing you don't in your Air Boss airline carry-on bag and become a more organized traveller. Thanks to guideance from Onebag.com, here's a fantastic luggage packing diagram, showing you how to easily "bundle wrap" your clothing in the Air Boss.

WRINKLE FREE TRAVEL.
Designed with three large main compartments, our Air Boss carry-on bag also features two outside zippered pockets; one full-length, one for your airline tickets, an outside sleeve pocket, and tie downs inside the two outer compartments to keep your slacks and dress shirts in position and wrinkle-free until you can unpack and hang them up in the hotel.

A PLACE FOR YOUR BELONGINGS.
The center compartment is spacious enough to hold your Toiletries, extra shoes, work-out gear, business briefcase, etc. Volara closed-cell foam padding is sewn into the sides, so you've got a rigid, yet flexible, piece of carry-on luggage that still protects your valuable belongings.

NEVER SLIPS OFF.
Includes detachable nonslip Claw Shoulder Strap that keeps your bag where you want it - on your shoulder.

DISCOVER HOW TO PACK IT.
Watch the Air Boss Packing Video posted in the Videos tab at left where CFO Amanda Markel shows how to use many of the bag's features.

PROTECT YOUR LAPTOP.
Looking for extra protection for your laptop? We recommend using a neoprene Laptop sleeve. A "macho" option is to put it in a Metro Briefcase, which will fit in the center compartment of the Air Boss, adding further protection and giving you a "one bag" travel option...with two bags inside one. Note that this can become a very heavy bag to carry if you decide to try this. Adding an extra Claw Shoulder Strap from your Metro and then carrying the Air Boss "backpack style" (one strap over each shoulder) can help offset this added load.

ANOTHER CARRY BAG OPTION IS.
Looking for a similar carry-on bag with retractable backpack style shoulder straps? Try our other popular travel bag, the Sky Train.

Join the fleet feet crowd and travel carry-on with the Commander of the ship: the Air Boss!

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your Air Boss on our production schedule. Your bag will then be delivered in under 30 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H.
Capacity: 2,184 cubic inches.

Pocket measurements:

  • Matching dual exterior zippered full length side flat pockets: 13"H x 20"W each
  • Exterior flat snap pocket: 9.5"H x 20"W
  • Exterior zippered side flat passport / map pocket: 12.5"D x 7"W
  • Dual zippered tie down side compartments: 2"W x 20.5"L x 12.5"H
  • Main center compartment: 4"W x 20.5"L x 12.5"H

"No Bull" Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, in production products and delivery time? - Check out this personal message from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the steps it takes to handcraft your Air Boss.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear.

Online Air Boss orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email and a review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. Backorders beyond a dozen days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is secure.

Every great carry-on bag needs cool luggage accessories.

2009 Winner of the "Best Durable Luggage Award" from Bestcovery.com; "Discover the Best of Everything."

Selected as Kiplinger's Expert Pics The Best List of 2008 for Best Carry-on Travel Bag.

Air Boss Trivia: On the flight deck of an aircraft carrier, the Air Boss is in charge of all the operations of the flight deck. He controls the moving of planes on deck, landing of aircraft, launching aircraft, ordinance handling, and safety of all the personnel occupying the flight deck. The Air Boss oversees from the command tower. Orders are communicated with the flight deck via megaphone. Ex: "Hey greenshirt. Get out of that checked baggage line and on the plane, now!"

Write a Review

4.79 Average Rating
 (676 Reviews)

 
... 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24  ... Next > 
 The "One Bag"
By Mick, Melbourne, Australia, October 21, 2010

I bought this bag for a 13 flights in 12 days trip around the world. We had a carry-on's only rule for the group travelling and so after some time reading on www.onebag.com I bought this bag.

It was great and performed as advertised.

The bag carried all I needed for meetings in the depths of winter in the US and Europe with room for my Shorts and Crocs for use in India.
 
 Pretty, But Heavy
By Nesha C., St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands, October 14, 2010

At first glance the bag is beautifully constructed. Sturdy zippers and great pockets. However the mechanisms for the handle make me weary of carrying it for long distances. The strap would just not be sufficient to provide comfort for a long haul.
 
 Air Boss
By Rachel , Australia, October 14, 2010

* Prompt delivery

* Amazing functionality

 
 Long time on the road with this puppy
By Nathan, texas, October 13, 2010

I bought this bag based primarily on feedback from a frquent traveler forum (flyertalk) and have been very pleased. Because I use it for 6-14 day trips requiring me to pack a variety of types of clothing I found the "wheels free" option worth investigating. Each time I see people lugging those wheeled cases up and down stairs as I whiz on by I am happier with my decision. I wanted somethig that fits in the overheads and holds the maximum. I believe this is it.

I have purchased numerous bags in the past and this is the one I use the most. I fly and travel a lot.

I did replace the strap with a beefier one with more padding as I routinely get a lot of weight and carry it a long way.
 
 Great Bag - Lots of Compliments
By Bill, Huntingdon Valley, PA, October 8, 2010

I bought this bag for a 5-day trip to Oktoberfest in Germany. It was my only bag and the first time I've traveled so lightly, so I was fearful that I wouldn't have what I needed.

Let me tell you, the Air Boss performed its duties admirably. I packed a spare pair of shoes, 5 dress shirts, 2 pairs of pants, 2 sweaters, 4 t-shirts, socks, underwear, and toiletries. I had way more than I needed, but still fit everything in the overhead bins on the planes with no problem.

When getting ready to leave, one of my travel companions saw my bag for the first time and was shocked. "That's all you brought?!" I gained a lot of cred as a seasoned traveler and light packer, even though I'm really neither of those things.

If you're debating about this bag, just do it. You won't regret the decision.
 
 Air Boss
By Anonymous, Texas, October 4, 2010

I've been on a five day boy's trip to DC and a couple of three day business trips with the Air Boss so far. The Air Boss is exactly what I wanted. You can put more in this bag than you want to carry, but even when you fill it sparingly it still holds it's shape and stands up when you set it down at the airport as you wait in line for coffee. In addition to great function it looks fantastic. I got the midnight color and love it. Add a few packing cubes and you'll be on your way to organized, one-bag travel bliss.
 
 My Search is Over
By Kai, Victoria BC , October 3, 2010

My search is over, and I am now a very happy chappy.

Used the Airboss for 5 trips and countless flights from the smallest commuter to the largest Jumbo, this is IT!.

The packing is easy, you know where things are, and in the airplanes/hotels/motels/busses you are always organized and can find items you need very easy.

Do not overpack as you might have problems getting the Airboss into the overhead bin.

If I ever have to purchase another carry on bag.. guess what it would be?
 
 Most Excellent
By karynrae2001, Las Vegas, September 27, 2010

Perfect. We packed 2 bags for 3 people for a 10 day Spain trip. Along with 2 Totes, they were perfect. Packing directions helped us arrive wrinkle free, but the most important thing I need right now is allways in the center of my bundle!!They wore well, looked great and carried easy. Plently of room. Very well designed and pretty. I want to reiterate that we never had anyone question the bag as we carried them on the planes.It was always assumed they would fit and they did!
 
 Great Bag!
By Guy Martin, California, September 24, 2010

An outstanding bag that makes traveling a breeze - partly because even with the cavernous size, this bag forces you to think about the things you want to put in it, since the weight you carry is still there, despite the bag's compact dimensions.

I LOVE the fact that getting the Air Boss into and out of overhead bins is so much easier than watching my fellow travelers struggle to push and pull bulky wheeled luggage into the bins.

Construction of this bag is top notch, with heavy duty components all around. In short, a great bag that helps you learn how to pack more efficiently and makes travel a pleasure. I highly recommend this bag, as well as Eagle Creek packing cubes and 18" folders to make packing easier.
 
 My other bags don't compare
By Robin, Canada, September 23, 2010

I did my homework before I purchased the Air Boss, so I had high expectations. Needless to say, I was still impressed when I received the bag. The construction is robust and the attention to details is well suited to my obsessive compulsive behavior. I'm planning a trip to Europe and I intend on using this bag with the Eagle Creek Cubes to compliment my Dueter backpack. I'll follow up after to let you know how this bag holds up in the field.
 
 Does The Job
By Anonymous, Cape Cod, MA, September 21, 2010

Just completed a 16 day trip carrying the Air Boss and a brief case. Filled it up to the 22# Air Canada limit and had it on/off 6 flights. Fit nicely in overhead storage even on some CRJs and sky checked it on some smaller planes. Very happy with the performance. I should not have brought the shoulder strap as I found it more comfortable to carry the briefcase via its shoulder strap and hand carry the Air Boss. Doing this for a fair amount of walking I found the handle on the Air Boss uncomfortable. It flexes and thus tries to loop tightly around one's hand. A bit of padded stiffness in the handle would go a long way toward mitigating this problem.
 
 Great Carry On Bag!
By Anonymous, Memphis, TN, September 20, 2010

One of the best things about the Air Boss is that, unless its stuffed to the gills, it'll fit in the overhead of the regional jets that are so common today. The flight attendants don't usually give it a second look, so even gate checking it isn't necessary.

My wife & I recently spent a week in Europe and neither of us checked a bag . . . I used the Air Boss and she has a Sky Train. Either bag is highly recommended!
 
 Air Boss
By Kenneth, Madison, Wisconsin, September 16, 2010

This is my first experience with Red Oxx and attempting to use only carry-on luggage for travel. First, service was great and the product is top-notch. Travelers who normally take lots with them and check luggage should be aware that despite the proclamations that you can get everything into this bag, you will not be able to continue your old habits. Using this bag requires paring back the items you take with you and following a packing methodology such as the one suggested on One Bag. It will take a few trys to get the packing strategy down. On the recent trip, we traveled by train, air and car (taxi). YOU MUST BE AWARE that you will be carrying this bag along with any other carrying items. For most of our trip this worked out OK, though my traveling companion had an injured leg and i ended up carrying this bag along with two others. The really bad scene was at O'Hare where gate changes required incredibly long and brisk walks in congested situations while carrying the bags. The shoulder strap on this bag is not the best, as indicated by other reviewers, and I will likely replace it before my next trip. Also, I will get some kind of collapsable cart for the really long lugs. Overall, I really like this product and can see using it nearly everytime I travel. Just be aware, you are buying a philosophy along with the bag, and you may need to make additional plans to deal with your newfound ways of travel.
 
 Great Bag
By William, USA, September 16, 2010

This is a solidly made bag. I loaded it up with ~25 pounds of stuff for international travel. The strap can leave a mark on your shoulder if its loaded with weight but it won't slip.

Very satisfied.
 
 Down Under Demon
By kogvos, Sydney Australia, September 12, 2010

Another awesome purchase from Red Oxx. Very impressed with their international service. I've only had the bag for about a month but it's already travelled the length and breadth of Australia. Absolutely perfect for a week-long or multi-week trip with room to spare. I don't actually carry-on as I fill it to the brim and it's then a bit too big and heavy for most of our airlines and their carry-on restrictions but I knew that when I purchased and I didn't buy it to carry-on (and I didn't want to become one of those annoying people that seem to drag half their house as carry-on onto Australian planes!).
 
 Impressed
By Fred, Ohio, September 9, 2010

The AIR BOSS functions as advertised and reviewed. Six day business trip to Europe with the AIR BOSS and a briefcase. I had room to bring back presents for the kids. Easy to carry from airport to rail stations and from rail to hotels.
 
 Perfect bag
By Anonymous, NC, September 7, 2010

This bag is perfect. I am currently on my honeymoon in florence, italy, and this bag was spectacular to travel with. I am a student, so, this bag plus a backpack for my books and laptop was perfect for my 10 day vacation.

Highly Recommended!
 
 Better than advertised
By Thorsten, Switzerland, September 7, 2010

Just received another order from Red Oxx (an Air Boss for an envious friend, Travel Baskets, PR4, PR5...) na dthought it's about time I tell the world how good these bags are. Ok, the world seems to know, but adding to it can't do any harm, I guess.

The Air Boss took (almost) all my clothes I needed for our summer holiday, plus the photo gear, plus the Macbook Pro, plus all those cables and stuff - and a few books. Admittedly, I did not take a suit, left the shoes in our shoe bag and packed my shirts elsewhere. But still, I was thoroughly impressed - as was the guy in the hotel who volunteered to carry it... :-)

Add to this the incredible friendliness and customer orientation of the Red Oxx team, I can only recommend this company.

Another thing that became important for me in recent years: These are real guys producing real products and have a real life besides. Nowadays it's almost a political statement not to buy a Chinese product - well, so be it.
 
 Perfect Carry On Bag
By Vince, Los Angeles, CA, September 5, 2010

This bag was all that I expected, having read the great reviews. I just returned from a week-long business trip to South America. I packed one suit, four shirts, toiletries and casual clothes. I even included a spare pair of shoes. I had plenty of room to include a few gifts that I picked up along the way. The bag is incredibly durable yet reasonably light-weight. I never had any problem carrying it on - or fitting it into an overhead bin. This was true even on a previous business trip to Mexico where I managed to fit it in a crowded economy class overhead bin. While roll-aboard bags wouldn't have been as versatile, this bag was the perfect solution. My suit arrived reasonably free of wrinkles thanks to the tie-down straps inside. Just a really well thought out bag. It is my new international travel companion.
 
 Outstanding bag!
By Otterlady, Bloomington, IN, September 2, 2010

This bag is unbelievable! Worth every penny! As one reviewer said, it's too easy to stuff it to the point you can't lift it! I've carried enough stuff for 10 days with no problem. I've just purchased an Air Boss for my husband for Christmas so he won't have to lust after mine!
 
... 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24  ... Next > 
Specifications

Air Boss Spec Size Chart

  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • US Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 53.3cm L x 20.3cm W x 33cm H
  • US Capacity: 2,184 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 35.7 Liters
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Cordura Nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 420 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • 4 lb. Volara closed cell foam padding on exterior panels
  • Double Box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Nylon webbing zipper pull grab loops
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors

Air Boss Carry-on Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 30 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

Is the Air Boss carry-on legal?
Yes, the Air Boss is carry-on legal on most jet airlines.
 
What's the best way to pack the Air Boss?
The bundle packing method is recommended. Watch the packing video under the Photos and Videos tab or download the printable luggage packing diagram (Pdf file).
 
What's the difference between the Air Boss and the Sky Train?
There are two principle differences between the Air Boss and the Sky Train: The Sky Train has retractable backpack straps and opens flat lengthwise whereas the Air Boss opens flat like a book.
 
Will the Air Boss fit under the seat in front of me?
Cramming the Air Boss under the seat is not recommended.
 
Will the Eagle Creek packing cubes fit the Air Boss?
We recommend that you use our Nomad Shave Kit, Lil Roy Gadget Bag or Tri-fold Toiletry bag as packing cubes. You can color co-ordinate them to your preference and they come with useful carry handles. The Tri-Fold Toiletry Kit is also a brilliant shave kit organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
 
How many pounds will the Air Boss weigh when packed?
It depends on what you pack. A typical 3-5 day load will weigh about 20-25 pounds.
 
How many days travel can I fit in the Air Boss Carry-on?
Most travelers can get about 3-5 days with a typical load. Some adventurous types have been able to pack from a week to ten days! It all depends on how you pack and what you pack.
 
Where do I pack the laptop?
You can use the center compartment. We recommend that you use a padded sleeve to protect your laptop.
 
What's the best way to pack footwear?
Sole to sole to minimize the dirt and placed in the middle compartment. We recommend placing your shoes in a plastic bag first.
 
Can I change the logo color?
Sure. Simply order your favorite color Logo Patch and sew it on yourself. Red Oxx cannot change the patch colors for you.
 
Can I order a bag without the logo?
Logo Patches are centered using a hole punch. If you remove the patch, there will be a hole in the bag that could cause a snag. Red Oxx cannot build a bag without a logo as this would disrupt the efficiency of the production line. Feel free to use a permanent marker to color the patches.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my bag?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
The Air Boss has three large internal compartments. There are no internal pockets.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.