Skip Navigation LinksHome  > News & Events  > Behind the Scenes  > Air-Boss

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I make other carry-on bags nervous.”
Red Oxx Air Boss Carry-on Bag - pictured in Red. Available in 12 colors for $225

Air Boss $255.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


One Bag Travel! Air Boss.

The only carry-on bag you'll ever need.

Designed for the business traveler, the popular five star-rated carry-on travel bag is a must-have for anyone who enjoys the many advantages of traveling light: freedom of movement, less time wasted waiting in lines, no lost luggage, easy access, and overall travel simplification. Peruse the nearly 700 customer reviews right here from hundreds of satisfied Air Boss Carry-on customers to get an honest idea if this is the best travel bag for you.

CARRY-ON REBORN.
Red Oxx worked hand-in-hand with famous Internet author and carry-on travel expert, Doug Dyment, guru of OneBag.com fame to develop this all-in-one carry-on bag.

EXPERT DESIGN AND DEVELOPMENT.
Follow the link to learn Doug Dyment's bundle wrapping technique so you can fit everything you need and nothing you don't in your Air Boss airline carry-on bag to become a more organized happier traveller. Thanks to guideance from Onebag.com, here's a fantastic luggage packing diagram, showing you how to easily "bundle wrap" your clothing in the Air Boss.

WRINKLE-FREE TRAVEL.
Designed with three large main compartments, our Air Boss carry-on bag also features two outside zippered pockets; one full-length, one for your airline tickets, an outside sleeve pocket, and tie downs inside the two outer compartments to keep your belongings in position and wrinkle-free until you can unpack and hang them up at your destination.

A SPACIOUS PLACE FOR YOUR BELONGINGS.
The center compartment is spacious enough to hold your Toiletries, extra shoes, work-out gear, business briefcase, etc. Volara closed-cell foam padding is sewn into the sides, so you've got a rigid, yet flexible, piece of carry-on luggage that still protects your valuable belongings.

NEVER SLIPS OFF.
Includes detachable nonslip Claw Shoulder Strap that keeps your bag where you want it - on your shoulder.

DISCOVER HOW TO PACK IT.
Watch the Air Boss Packing Video posted in the Videos tab at left where CFO Amanda Markel shows how to use many of the bag's thoughtful features.

PROTECT YOUR LAPTOP.
Looking for extra protection for your laptop? A neoprene laptop sleeve is recommended. A "macho" option is to put it in a Metro Briefcase, which will then fit in the center compartment of the Air Boss, adding further protection and giving you a "one bag" travel option...with two bags inside one. Note that this can become a very heavy bag to carry if you decide to try this. Adding an extra Claw Shoulder Strap from your Metro and then carrying the Air Boss "backpack style" (one strap over each shoulder) can help offset this added load.

A BUSINESS TRAVEL BAG BUILT LIKE A TANK?
Our customers like to define our gear as "built like a tank". While obviously you're not going to be toting around bags that weigh 50 tons and have three inches of armor plate, still the comparison is valid. For a carry-on bag, the Air Boss is built tough. Starting with the most durable, flexible, and practical textile material available -- 1000 weight CORDURA nylon, the Air Boss is built using super-strong UV-resistant thread that's stitched into every seam.

BOUND AND BAGGED.
Places where two separate pieces of fabric are stitched together are then bound -- that is, we take a long piece of one-inch wide nylon webbing and fold it over the edges of the two pieces and stitch them together, this creates a strong seam, known as a binding, that prevents the pieces from unraveling on the inside of the bag, or gives it a clean, finished look if on the outside of the bag.

BINDING INSIDE / BINDING OUTSIDE.
In addition, each exposed outside fabric edge, such as on a pocket flap, is also bound using a thicker binding material. Inside edges typically receive a thinner nylon webbing, whereas outside corner edges that are exposed to heavy wear have a thicker nylon binding. All of our binding material is vertically woven to prevent the fraying, peeling or splitting that you may commonly see in competitors carry-on bags that brag of "binding" their edges.

WHY DOUBLE BOX STITCHING?
Each stress point, such as where the handles attach to the bag, is double box stitched - which is where we get the "double XX" in our name, Red Oxx; a stitching practice we adapted from our history as parachute riggers.

MY, WHAT BIG ZIPPERS YOU HAVE!
The reason Red Oxx uses the largest zipper we can afford, the #10 YKK VISLON® zipper, is that they're easily repairable, even in the field; they will hold their place, that is, they "lock"; they are difficult to penetrate, thereby increasing the security of your belongings; they function smoothly in inclement weather, and they can be yanked from a variety of angles without losing teeth or becoming separated.

PUTTING THE HARD IN HARDWARE.
Red Oxx has occasionally been accused of "overdoing" our hardware. But once you've had a cheap piece of plastic "hardware" break in the middle of a busy intersection, airport or other inconvenient locale dumping your precious belongings all over the ground, having a heavy-duty nickel-plated or stainless steel D ring or attachment swivel that weighs just a tiny bit more, or might make a little noise, is a travel companion's confidence builder and peace-of-mind maker. After all, you want to enjoy your journey as best you can. Why worry about having your Air Boss break down?

IS THERE ANOTHER CARRY BAG OPTION?
Looking for a similar carry-on bag but with retractable backpack style shoulder straps? Try our other popular travel bag, the Sky Train.

Join the fleet feet crowd and travel carry-on with the Commander of the ship: the Air Boss!

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY!
Due to high demand, you're encouraged to place your order now to get your Air Boss on our production schedule. Your bag will then be shipped in under 14 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H.
Capacity: 2,184 cubic inches.
Weight: 3.4 pounds.

Pocket measurements:

  • Exterior full length zippered side flat pocket: 13"H x 20"W
  • Exterior full length flat snap pocket: 9.5"H x 20"W
  • Exterior zippered side flat passport / map pocket: 12.5"D x 7"W
  • Dual zippered tie-down compartments: 2"D x 20.5"L x 12.5"H
  • Main center compartment: 4"D x 20.5"L x 12.5"H

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time Distance Map.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, products in production and delivery time? - Check out this personal message from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your Air Boss.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear with pride.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond a dozen working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is always secure.

Every great carry-on bag needs cool luggage accessories.

2009 Winner of the "Best Durable Luggage Award" from Bestcovery.com; "Discover the Best of Everything."

Selected as Kiplinger's Expert Picks The Best List of 2008 for Best Carry-on Travel Bag.

Air Boss Trivia:
On the flight deck of an aircraft carrier, the Air Boss is in charge of all the operations of the flight deck. He controls the moving of planes on deck, landing of aircraft, launching aircraft, ordinance handling, and safety of all the personnel occupying the flight deck. The Air Boss oversees from the command tower. Orders are communicated with the flight deck via megaphone. Ex: "Hey brownshirt. Get out of that checked baggage line and on the plane, now!"

Write a Review

4.79 Average Rating
 (697 Reviews)

 
... 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16  ... Next > 
 Air Boss
By Norm , Nanaimo, BC Canada, February 10, 2012

Ordered the bag and received it in 3 days to vancouver island. Just used it for 10 days in Maui and it carried everything I needed. I was amazed at the amount of stuff you can get into the bag and the quality of the product. I put my bulky old laptop inside the middle compartment and checked the bag and had no trouble with damage. Good job Red Oxx!
 
 Great bag - awesome price
By Brad S., Kansas City, MO, February 9, 2012

I travel frequently on short one-to-two night business trips. I have been suspicious of any bag that claimed to "do it all." But I gave the Air Boss a shot and wow, did it come through. I can pack a suit, shirt, sundries and other gear, extra shoes, another change of clothes (jeans or whatnot) and still have room for the special Japanese bean pillow I travel with for a bad neck problem. I would buy this bag again!
 
 Air Boss can handle it but can your shoulder?
By Mondy, India, Gurgaon, India, February 3, 2012

Bag is good but...

1. First heard about Red OXX from Doug of One Bag (what a great site).

2. Excellent delivery. On a visit to USA from India and had ordered 7 items from different vendors at the same time. Red OXX delivered 1st!

3. Bag humongously large & tough. Vastly overbuilt for Air Travel. My 1st trip I was stuck carrying family's last minute airport shopping 15kg (33Lb). Still had some space leftover! Not a squeak from the bag although my shoulder shrieked.

Suggestions

1. I see a lot of non USA reviews so clearly fans are global. Except for US, the rest of the world uses metric system. How about giving dimensions / weight in Cm & Kgs please?

2. Wish I had bought the Sky Train instead for the Backpack straps. A load over 7kg (15Lb) hurts if you need to carry for more than 10 min (I'm a fit 5'10" (177cm) in my 40s).

3. The Air Boss is good but my ideal bag would be an Air Boss / Sky Train Lite - weigh a lot less (under 1kg / 2.2Lb) designed for a maximum payload of 10kg (22Lbs). In the rest of the World (Ex. USA) the median Carry on weight limit is 7Kg / 15Lbs so anything designed for greater load becomes superflous for Air Travel. Maybe lighter snaps / tags / etc. could be used considering the lighter design payload. I'd even sacrifice some durability for lighter weight. The Air Boss was designed when the airlines did not have tight carryon weight restrictions - only size. Past 5 years have seen continuously tighter weight restrictions specially non USA.

4. Still a fabulous bag. Have to be careful about loading it. The bag can take it all but can your shoulder?

5. Recently did a 10 day scuba diving trip in Thailand using only my Air Boss. It carried everything with loads of spare space for gifts.
 
 almost perfect
By Peter, USA, February 2, 2012

Bag is bombproof, no question. Just got back from a 4 day business trip where I experimented with the bundle wrap technique. Jury is still out on that, the clothes looked ok when I steamed them at the hotel. Could be operator error in my packing though.

Two main criticisms: The tie downs need to be longer and heavier. They are flimsy compared to the rest of the design. Two, and the more important is that the outside reinforcing straps should go INSIDE of at least one of the outside pockets. Currently you can't get access to stuff without undoing the handles. Also, anything large and flat is put under significant strain when carrying the bag, as the straps try to "bend" it.

If you do make that modification, let me know and I'll send that bag back to make it a perfect 5.0!
 
 As good as they say
By Russ, Washington, DC, February 2, 2012

I WISH I were one of those people who was buying luggage for a life of exciting trips to faraway lands. I'm not. I travel for work. A lot.

For the last eight years, I've used a top-of-the-line rolling, carry-on garment bag for my 3-day trips. Before that, I carried a garment bag on my shoulder. I hate ironing.

So, I bought the AirBoss with more than a little nervousness when my trusty wheeled luggage died mid-trip last month. Do these guys in Montana who spend time writing about parachute rigging actually know about keeping suits, sport coats, and dress shirts from wrinkling?

The attraction was, besides the glowing reviews and apparent quality, that handles and wheels take room. I can't really fit my gym shoes in my wheeled carry-on unless I'm only doing a one-night trip.

They fit in the AirBoss, no problem. AND, those four-day trips where the old bag was really stretched even without shoes? No problem. I even crammed an extra windbreaker in this morning.

As for wrinkles, well, I like my rolling garment bag better, honestly. But I've gotten better at the bundle method, and as long as I'm not rushing, it's pretty good. After nearly a month of nonstop travel, I've avoided the hotel iron (though not the hot shower trick).

I've also been able to fit it in the smallest RJ overheads, where all the guys with the rollaboards had to leave theirs at the bottom of the stairs, which is an added benefit.

It does seem to get heavier as the gates get farther away, but at least the strap isn't falling off my shoulder. And that button on the outside is annoying as it gets caught on stuff.

But I'm not going back. The capacity and the never gate-checking is worth the weight and the minor wrinkles.
 
 Great bag - did get heavy though
By Anonymous, Des Moines, IA, February 2, 2012

Great bag - durable materials, solid stitching, intelligent design with the 2 sides and center pocket. I'm an XL guy and was able to pack everything for a 6-day trip - with a clean dress shirt daily. It fit great into all overhead bins, too. Admittedly, I didn't think carrying the bag would be a problem (fully loaded, it was only 20.6 lbs). But traveling between terminals on international flights and walking to rental car stations, it did kind of heavy. I totally recommend the bag - but be sure to fully think through the impact of carrying vs. rolling your luggage.
 
 Air Boss
By Anonymous, Canada, January 31, 2012

I purchased the Air Boss before my yearly trip to the Carribbean and was very impressed with the amount of clothing that I could fit into it (and wrinkle free silk shirts upon my arrival). I go to the Carribbean yearly (for two weeks) and only utilize a carry on and this fit the bill. The only downfall of the product is that the weight of the bag puts a great deal of stress on your shoulder as you carry it through the airport. All in all a great purchase and would recommend it!
 
 Great Product!
By Anonymous, , January 28, 2012

I crammed this bag full of stuff and it still looked like a small bag. Best thing going
 
 The ONE
By Thorin Moss, New York, January 27, 2012

Extremely happy with the Airboss, great gift for a frequent traveler. Tuff and holds a TON. Never having to worry about the airline telling you your bag is too big and has to be checked is priceless. MADE IN USA with a LIFETIME warranty! Well worth the price.
 
 Amazing gear!
By WBM, Richmond, VA, January 23, 2012

I've been using it for a month of nonstop business travel. Literally the best bag I've ever owned. It's well designed, well made and extremely well executed. More than worth the premium price if you want something that will last and be effective. You can't go wrong here...
 
 Over-rated, over-priced
By Bruce, Madison, WI, January 13, 2012

I'm a seasoned traveler and expert packer so I expected much more from this bag, especially after reading so many positive reviews. All I can say is, those reviewers must have had some terrible bags in the past! This bag didn't hold anything like the amount of clothing I expected it to and I had no chance at all of including my laptop. I had to leave stuff behind when I went on a short 10-day trip - not happy about that. The bag is well made, no arguments there, but at $200-plus is way overpriced. I'm going back to my old suitcase and selling this one to someone who only goes away for long weekends. Disappointed!
 
 Holiday travel
By Day, Florida, January 12, 2012

I used my bag for the first time as we traveled over New Year's weekend. What a relief to not spend time at the baggage claim! We got in, on, and out quickly and I had everything I needed with me.
 
 This bag changed the way I travel
By Bob Anderson, Grand Rapids, MI, January 7, 2012

Being a seasoned hiker, I'm no stranger to light gear, efficient packing, and abusing bags. The Air Boss is tough as nails, doesn't add any unnecessary bulk, and eases you into the right mindset for packing. It made it much easier for me to pass through security while still giving me quick and easy access to everything in it.

I recently went on a four day business trip. When I got done packing my clothes and the few various items I needed, I realized that I still had a ton of room in the bag! I carry a messenger style laptop bag, but half way through the trip, I folded that up and stuffed it in the Air Boss along with the laptop.

One bag...amazing.
 
 11 on a 10 point scale
By Anonymous, Houston, Texas, January 5, 2012

To quote an infamous line from Spinal Tap, "This one goes to eleven." I have travelled with this bag extensively and while it obviously is well made, very functional and highly accessible, what impressed me the most was the sheer capacity. I could always find room to fit that extra something after I was done packing or picked up on the road. Also, it is equally comfortable carrying on your shoulder or by hand. And it is versatile enough to use on day trips, weekend vacations, and longer excursions. So, while most bags go to ten, this one can always turn it up a notch, which is inevitably helpful on most trips.
 
 Great Bag
By Kent, Wilmington, NC, January 5, 2012

I am a frequent global traveler. I bought this after many months of searching for a high quality, highly functional carry on made it USA. This fits the bill to the letter, and is very cost competitive compared to every alternative I looked at. Product shipped day of order, and I like the warranty.
 
 Excellent Product
By Andy Anderson, Lake Elmo, MN, December 31, 2011

Build quality is exceptional. Bright color choices make it stand out from the pack. I was initially a little skeptical about how much it would hold. Now I'm a believer. Amazing. Seriously. It does in fact hold way more than a standard roll on bag. I travel 180K a year including international trips so I am looking forward to many more years of dependability and no lost/delayed luggage!
 
 great bag, good work
By albert, israel, December 29, 2011

I spent a lot of time selecting bag particularly for my needs: not small, because usually I travel 5-7 days and need enough goods for this; not big, because I am not a big and do not like monster size in my hands, shoulders and neck. I stopped on Air Boss despite the cost. With great web site it was not very difficult to image the dimensions, quality and general things about the bag. I got exactly what I expected. Furthermore, the shipping from the other side of the Earth was perfect and quick. It is a real great bag for week travel, even if You go to place with unstable climate. You can fit two pairs of shoes, jacket and sweater as well as T-shirts and shorts. Thousands thanks Red Oxx!
 
 Versatile Bag
By Andrew, Australia, December 29, 2011

Bought this bag for a six month trip overseas. Fit a week of clothing and a bunch of electronics no problem. It's light enough to carry around on day trips with a few small items as well.
 
 4 Year Review
By Chris, Pa., December 28, 2011

I give it a 4.75.

I bought my Air Boss in 2007 and baptized it on a 2 week trip to the Republic of Georgia. Bags are such personal thing. Every criticism I've seen here no doubt has some validity for some users, depending on their habits and preferences. The two I tend to agree with are the strap getting uncomfortable when the bag is heavily loaded and the single-snap outside pocket being rather useless. Weight? You gotta pack intelligently.

I've used this bag for weekend getaways, business trips from 2 days to a week, and multi-week overseas vacations. For business trips, I bring along a hanging garment bag (just bought a Gypsy) for suits and dress shirts. Frankly, I've yet to find any other way to keep business attire neat. My laptop never goes in the Airboss, always in my personal bag. With that setup, the Airboss holds Redoxx Nomad shaving kit, undergarments, extra shoes, and a sweater or jacket, and I'm always easily under 25 pounds, so strap issues are usually inconsequential to me. But, there have been trips where I've returned with more than I left with, and the bag gets uncomfortable, in hand or on the shoulder, if it gets up around 40 pounds.

For pleasure trips, I leave the laptop and business clothes at home and do laundry in the hotel, so almost everything goes in the Air Boss. Khakis and casual shirts stay neat in the outside compartments. Again, always easily under 25 pounds, one bag, no matter how long the trip. Things like cameras and kindles and music gizmos go in my personal bag.

This bag has been more than big enough for every trip I've ever taken. I have never, ever, had a problem getting it in an overhead bin, and it's never been flagged as too big to carry on. And, of course, it's ridiculously overbuilt. After 4 years, mine has almost no visible wear, and I expect it will outlive me.
 
 Quality Bag!
By Gary, Sacramento, California, December 27, 2011

I received it as a Christmas gift. I haven't had a chance to use it yet. However, I am impressed with the quality and appreciate that it is made in the USA!
 
... 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16  ... Next > 
Specifications

Air Boss Spec Size Chart

  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • US Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 53.3cm L x 20.3cm W x 33cm H
  • US Capacity: 2,184 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 35.7 Liters
  • US Weight: 3.4 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 1.54 Kilos
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified CORDURA® Nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 420 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • 4 lb. Volara closed cell foam padding on exterior panels
  • Double Box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Nylon webbing zipper pull grab loops
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors

Air Boss Carry-on Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 14 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

Is the Air Boss carry-on legal?
Yes, the Air Boss is carry-on legal on most jet airlines.
 
What's the best way to pack the Air Boss?
The bundle packing method is recommended. Watch the packing video under the Videos tab or download the printable Air Boss luggage packing diagram (Pdf file).
 
What's the difference between the Air Boss and the Sky Train?
There are two principle differences between the Air Boss and the Sky Train: The Sky Train has retractable backpack straps and opens flat lengthwise whereas the Air Boss opens flat like a book.
 
Will the Air Boss fit under the seat in front of me?
Cramming your Air Boss under the seat is not recommended.
 
Will the Eagle Creek packing cubes fit the Air Boss?
Why not use our Nomad Shave Kit, Lil Roy Gadget Bag or Tri-fold Toiletry bag as packing cubes? You can color co-ordinate them to your preference and they come with useful carry handles. The Tri-Fold Toiletry Kit is also a brilliant shave kit organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold-open-flat hanging design.
 
How many pounds will the Air Boss weigh when packed?
It depends on what you pack. A typical 3-5 day load will weigh about 20-25 pounds.
 
How many days of travel can I fit in the Air Boss Carry-on?
Most travelers can get about 3-5 days with a typical load. Some adventurous types have been able to pack from a week to ten days! It all depends on how you pack and what you pack.
 
Where do I pack my laptop?
You can use the center compartment. We recommend that you use a padded neoprene sleeve to protect your laptop.
 
What's the best way to pack footwear?
Sole-to-sole to minimize the dirt and placed in the middle compartment inside a plastic bag.
 
Can I change the logo color?
Sure. Simply order your favorite color Logo Patch and sew it on yourself. Red Oxx cannot change the patch colors for you.
 
Can I order a bag without the logo?
Logo Patches are centered using a hole punch. If you remove the patch, there will be a hole in the bag that could cause a snag. Red Oxx cannot build a bag without a logo as this would disrupt the efficiency of the production line. Feel free to use a permanent marker to color the patches.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my bag?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
The Air Boss has three large internal compartments. There are no internal pockets.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.