Skip Navigation LinksHome  > News & Events  > Behind the Scenes  > Safari-Beanos-Bag-PR4

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I'm ready for two days in Vegas.”
Red Oxx Safari Beanos PR4 Duffel Bag - pictured in Amythest. Available in 12 colors.

Safari-Beanos Bag PR4 $185.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


Graduate to minimalism‽

Find traveling peace when less is more.

As Antoine de Saint-Exupéry, the author of 'The Little Prince' once said, "He who would travel happily must travel light." As the smallest in our carry-on safari luggage series, the PR4 is perfect for overnight airline travel, as a gym bag, or a passenger seat companion for overland travel.

PLACES FOR YOU BELONGINGS.
Featuring plenty of exterior pockets for organizing your gear and a cavernous interior compartment, the PR4 Safari Beanos Duffel holds more than you thought possible. Handy spacious end pockets allow easy access to your 'must have' gear, especially useful when stuffing the PR4 under the seat, be it plane, train, or bus. Both pockets zip halfway down their sides for easy access to buried belongings.

A zippered front flat pocket keeps your passport handy. The pass-through panel on the back side is designed for use as a docking sleeve with wheeled luggage. Unzip top and bottom zippers and slip it over the wheeled bag's telescoping carry handle (or leave the bottom zipper closed and it doubles as a second flat exterior pocket).

The spacious center compartment has a unique open flap with twin zippers that allow you to peel away the flap for unhindered access to your belongings. Twin steel turn locks keep the flap secure.

NO SLIP CARRY.
Like most of our duffel bags, the PR4 includes the famous Claw nonslip padded shoulder strap. Attached using heavy-duty 360 degree "claw-like" swivels, this hardware will endure any abuse you can throw at it. Quickly detaches for storage inside in case you use your PR4 carry-on for checked luggage.

BUILT LIKE A TANK.
Our customers like to define our gear as "built like a tank". While obviously you're not going to be toting around bags that weigh 50 tons and have three inches of armor plate, still the comparison is valid. For a carry-on duffel bag, they are built tough. Starting with one of the most durable soft textile materials available, 1000 weight Cordura nylon, we use super strong UV resistant thread that is double stitched into every seam.

BOUND AND BAGGED.
Places where two separate pieces of fabric are stitched together are then bound, that is, we take a long piece of one inch wide nylon webbing and fold it over the edges of the two pieces and stitch them together, this creates a strong seam, or binding, that prevents the pieces from unraveling on the inside of the bag, or gives it a clean finished look if on the outside of the bag. Inside edges typically receive a thinner nylon webbing, whereas outside corner edges that are exposed to wear will have a thicker nylon binding. All of our binding material is vertically woven to prevent fraying, peeling or splitting that you may commonly see in competitors bags that brag of "binding" their edges.

RIGGER CHECK.
Each stress point, such as where the handles attach to the PR4, is double box stitched - which is where we get the "double xx" in our name, Red Oxx; a stitching practice we adapted from our time as parachute riggers.

MY, WHAT BIG ZIPPERS YOU HAVE!
The reason Red Oxx uses the largest zipper we can afford, the #10 YKK VISLON® zipper, is that they are easily repairable, even in the field; they will hold their place, that is, they "lock"; they are difficult to penetrate, thereby increasing the security of your belongings; they function smoothly in inclement weather and they can be yanked from a variety of angles without losing teeth or becoming separated.

PUTTING THE HARD IN HARDWARE.
Red Oxx has occasionally been accused of "overdoing" our hardware. But once you've had a cheap piece of plastic hardware break in the middle of a busy intersection, airport or other inconvenient locale dumping your precious belongings all over the ground, having a heavy-duty nickel-plated or stainless steel D ring or attachment swivel that weighs just a little more, or might make a little noise, is a travel companion's confidence builder and peace of mind maker. After all, you want to enjoy your journey as best you can. Why worry about having your bag break down?

USE IT AS A PERSONAL ITEM.
Ladies, if you want to use this on your next flight, stick your purse inside this spacious bag's center compartment and use it as your "personal item" in conjunction with your primary carry-on, such as an Air Boss or Sky Train.

For the men out there, fill it to the brim, and travel in the same carry-on manner.

Designed for the minimalist traveler out there, the Red Oxx Safari Beanos PR4 is still packed to the gills with overbuilt features that will serve you for a lifetime of travel.

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your bag on our production schedule. It will then be shipped in under 14 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

Dimensions: 19"L x 9"W x 9"H (carry-on legal).
Capacity: 1,539 cubic inches.
Weight: 3.35 pounds.

Pocket measurements:

  • Dual end compartments: 9"W x 9"H x 2"D
  • Dual end zippered flat pockets: 9"W x 9"H
  • Front exterior zippered flat pocket: 11.5"W x 6"H
  • Back exterior twin zippered flat pass-through pocket: 11.5"W x 6.5"H
  • Main compartment: 9"W x 14"L x 9"H

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time Distance Map.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, products in production and delivery time? - Check out this personal message from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your Safari Beanos PR4.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear with pride.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond a dozen working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is always secure.

Every great bag needs cool accessories.

"Beanos" Trivia: Named after our friend "Beano" who needed a gear bag that could carry his clothes and still be carry-on legal. Named after his grandfather, a bean farmer in the midwest, whom he looked like as a kid. Formerly the Super Beano, the bag is now available in several sizes and is in it's 4th stage of design revision.

Write a Review

4.82 Average Rating
 (44 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 Next > 
 Freaking Fantastic!
By Jeff, Cliffside Park, NJ, December 29, 2011

Absolutely the best small bag on the plant! I have used various railroad crew overnight bags for my photographic equipment, but this one is the best: quality construction, great zippers, rugged, perfect layout. Simply one of the best freaking bags I've ever owned and--gasp!--made in America.
 
 Amazing service, awesome bag!
By John McCarthy, London, England, December 7, 2011

From the moment I opened the box and lifted out my PR4, I was in love. I'm a minimalist traveller so, for me, this is perfect for weekend and week-long trips alike. I would have bought the PR5, but UK airlines have dodgy size restrictions and in this day and age it's better to be safe than sorry when it comes to dealing with airport employees. Aside from the costly delivery ($45 to the UK), I couldn't fault a single thing. The bag is even better than expected; very durable, looks fantastic and was delivered very quickly. I currently have it sitting by my bed and constantly find myself looking for the next opportunity to use it. To top it off I recently received a 'Thank you for your support' card that makes me even prouder to own a Red Oxx bag. I will definitely purchase gear from here again, although I don't see my PR4 giving in anytime soon. Thanks guys!
 
 The Only Bag for My Safari
By Austin, Ireland, November 24, 2011

I admit to being a compulsive bag buyer - mainly because I have never found the one right bag for all my needs. So heading to South Africa for a second safari I chose the Safari PR4 which I can confidently say is the perfect bag for all my needs. Huge capacity, unbelieveably strong (I've tested it with over 100 Lbs of gear) and still compact and comfortable enough to tote around all day and pop under your seat on long haul flights. This is the last bag I will ever buy!
 
 Two Words. Freaking. Awesome.
By Eddie Forero , Colorado Springs, June 30, 2011

I'll try to keep it short. This bag is amazing. I can't say enough good things about it. I got the PR4 just before a 5-day business trip after eyeing it and reading reviews for months.

I'm so glad I did. Even though it seemed smaller than my previous bag it fit everything I needed and even stuff I bought while away.

It almost seems like magic how much you can put in this bag.

I may have get a PR5 for our trip to Europe this year, but honestly, if I plan it just right I may try to do it with the PR4!

If you're in the fence about pulling the tigger on a Red Oxx rest assured this bag will not only suit your needs, but will be doing it for years to come.

This is the single best traveling purchase I have made bar none.
 
 WOW!!
By Roger, Colorado, April 13, 2011

When I recieved this well built bag I worried that I had chosen too small. I was wrong! This bag surpassed all my expectations! I just came back from a 7 day trip to Washington,DC and Williamsburg, VA. I packed for 7 days and all my gear fit in this bag. I am a light traveler and chose Exofficio clothing and was able to pack 4 long sleeve shirts, 4 underwears/socks, 1 shorts, 1 pants, 3 t-shirts, toiletries, 1 windstopper vest, 1 raincoat, and a Nikon DSLR!! I kept tickets and reciepts on the thin outside pocket. I love this bag!! I could have added a little bit more but I was actually a little overpacked. If I had needed to bring some sort of formal wear then this bag would not have worked for this trip, but for casual travel, or short trips this bag rocks!! 7 days=1bag AWESOME!
 
 Just the Job
By Terry Ogg, Liverpool, UK, March 11, 2011

My Safari-Beano PR4 in Khaki is my 8th piece of Redoxx gear so I've come to expect the best quality. The PR4 doesn't disappoint. Rugged, utilitarian, capacious and draws admiring comments (just like its owner!). Shipping to the UK was quick.
 
 The perfect bag for work and play
By Steve, MI, January 27, 2011

I have had this bag for about a month now. I use daily as for everything from carrying my lunch and supplies to work, my workout clothes skipping rope and supplements. The pocket combination is perfect and there a suprising amount of space. Small enough to rest on the passenger seat of my 4Runner but large enough to hold all my stuff. Sure it is a little pricey but this bag is built to last and in america. Oh ya I get alot of compliments on the bag, it does have a cool look about it. Would buy it all over again with no hesitation. Steve
 
 The Perfect Gym Bag
By Glenn, Upstate NY, January 7, 2011

This is an excellent bag. Top Quality, made in the US, with thoughtful features and great attention to details.

Rubber shoulder pad means it doesn't slip off my shoulder when I am on the run, metal loops are convenient to hook things onto, zippers and pulls are super and work easily. There are plenty of pockets well laid out with room for everything. For the first time I can find everything when I go to the gym.

Well done Red Oxx, and thank you for a great experience. The best things are still made in the US!
 
 Mighty Mouse
By BobbyD, Alabama, December 21, 2010

I had been looking at the airboss for a long time. But I was to cheap to buy it for myself. My wife knew I was looking at Red Oxx bags so she gave me one as a gift for my birthday. I was really disappointed when I opened the box and saw this tiny little bag. But not to hurt her feelings I raved over the bag. I decided to try and use the bag for a two day trip to the coast. I started packing the bag. When I had everything for the two day trip packed, I still had room for more stuff. I was shocked at how much stuff I had in this little bag. I love all the pockets to keep things organized. I use this bag all the time for two and three day trips with no problem. I love it and would not think of taking anything bigger for a two day trip. Don't let the small size fool you. This mighty mouse is a mighty bag. Now if Red OXX would only make an airboss/skytrain this small.
 
 Great bag, hard to tell size
By Eric Klein, Cupertino, CA, December 10, 2010

I had a difficult time determining whether to buy the PR4 or the PR5. I looked at all the photos, read as many independent reviews as possible, then took a risk and ordered the PR4.

I really like the PR4. It's incredibly well built, and the hardware almost seems like overkill for a bag of its small size. It really seems like the hardware was designed for a larger bag (PR5) and was ported to PR4 without downsizing it.

The PR4 is definitely a day bag only. Shoes, a full change of clothes, and big side pockets for toiletries, etc. It makes an awesome, though again overkill, gym bag. I couldn't tell from everything I read whether I could get two days worth of travel clothes (full gym gear + work change of clothes) into it, but I now believe you need a PR5 for that.

Highly recommend the PR4 for its build quality and attention to detail. The only thing preventing me from giving it a 5 star is its hardware that seems out of place or overkill for such a small bag, and the challenge I had determining whether a PR4 or a PR5 was the right choice. Probably really a 4.5 star rating from me, and I guess I'll be looking into a PR5 at some point for longer than day trips. I bet a PR5 turns out to be a 5 Star experience.
 
 Good bag
By Anonymous, Chicago, September 29, 2010

Well made, very sturdy bag. This bag will take a beating. I purchased this over the sunchaser as i like the end pockets being easy to access if in overhead compartment or car trunk. No need to pull the bag out to get a few items if in the end pockets. Used this past week overseas carry-on. fit everything i needed with room to spare, including my small travel camera bag w/ 3 lenses, light jackets, other little travel necessities. great size for a couple days travel. happy with the purchase. the biggest complaint is that there's no keyring inside one of the pockets. when i travel, i like to attach my keys to a fob inside a pocket so no worries about losing them on the trip. I will be figuring a good way to attach one on myself. Otherwise, im very happy with the bag

------------------------------------------------------------------------------

We are researching the detachable keyring and now have a suitable solution. Look for it this fall. ~ Minister of Information, Red Oxx
 
 As a p.s. to my review below
By Lisa, Venice CA, June 17, 2010

One of the things I'm always wrestling with is the laptop going through security lines. I've used my Mini-Ruck, and as much as I love that bag, getting a laptop out of it is kind of a pain. I have a Gator, and it only fits small laptops. The PR-4 is a great solution for this -- the laptop fits nicely along the side, it's easy to access and slide in and out. Makes the whole security check a lot smoother.
 
 Perfect Carry-on bag
By Lisa, Venice CA, June 17, 2010

I'm a big Red Oxx fan and have the Skytrain, the PR-6, the Mini-Ruck and the Gator. All of these are great bags; it's just a question of matching up the right luggage to the type of trip I'm taking.

This time around I was doing a book tour with a number of early flights and at least one tight connection. I didn't want to check anything but I didn't want to be weighed down either, and I had books and other promotional materials to bring with.

I used my Skytrain and my brand new PR-4. I had heard criticism that the PR-4 was overbuilt for its size, too small. I totally disagree. The PR-4 is the perfect "personal item" -- big enough that you can pack a lot of stuff in it but not unwieldy. It fits neatly under the seat in front of you, even in small commuter jets. I loved having enough space in my two bags so that packing wasn't a puzzle-piece operation that took a lot of planning -- it's just roll and go.

I still kinda want to snag a PR-5 for other types of trips, but I think I'm going to get a ton of use out of the PR-4. It's an awesome bag.
 
 Great Carry-On and SkyTrain Mate
By Dave, Arlington VA, January 18, 2010

A very good to great carry-on. If you have a few extra items on a longer trip, do what I did: SkyTrain for the overhead, and the PR-4 for under the seat. I'm a big Gator fan but this bag is nice because it's a bit bigger and you can shove it under an airline seat and still easily access an end or main pocket w/o pulling it out all the way.

I stuff one end pocket with Clif bars and maybe an iPod,noise CANX phones,and a paperback and I'm set.

It's also good for a 2 or 3 day trip by car, where you have the flexibility to use a laptop or larger bag for business materials. It's well-made as is everything from Red Oxx. It is also a great 1-bag option for a short airline trip if you aren't carrying a big laptop. I don't used it as a gym bag because I just don't need all the pockets. Finally, the material is plenty sturdy and rigid, and even though not foam-panel lined like the Gator, stands upright pretty well. It does not "collapse" on itself when not fully packed, which makes it a lot easier to organize your packing. I am a big Filson fan and have been for years but this bag is a very good and much more useful alternative to the Filson Sportsman's bag which I also have. The PR-4 is less expensive and in many respects a better product. I use it often on road trips as a passenger seat "organizer" with the end pockets holding electronics and water bottles. (The Filson Sportsman bag "collapses on itself" and is more like a range bag and not that great for travel)
 
 MONTANA,U.S.A
By George, Phoenix Az. U.S.A., December 2, 2009

Nice to see a product still made in the USA. Even nicer to see the quality of the workmanship. I couldn't be happier with your product. Well Done!!! I will be back for sure. Thank you for your eye to detail, G.L.
 
 Details
By JGT, Canada, USA, November 26, 2009

I have reviewed another RedOxx bag and this review will be similar. To start I will say that I own many of their products, have given many as gifts, but I do not have any other interest in the company. My philosophy is to buy the best, no matter where it is made. The Safari Beano is among the best of its type. I will briefly review and comment on each feature. FABRIC. Very strong and tough. Still will abrade if it bounces around in the bed of a pickup on gravel roads for 18 or so hours, rubbing against a sharp edge of a metal dog kennel. Actually fabric not that important except for long term life. Short term, in the middle of a trip, duct tape can usually rescue fabric failures. Down side of the heavy duty fabric is that it adds weight. ZIPPERS. The strongest available on the market. Maybe not, there may be one size that is substantially larger, but I have never seen it used by any luggage manufacturer. Zippers are important, failure in the middle of a trip is usually a disaster. The quality of the zipper, its reliability, is the most important feature on the whole bag. Zippers will work themselves open after being subjected to vibration, so I usually use twist tabs to hold them closed if I am checking the bag with an airline. This is not unique to RedOxx products. HARDWARE is strong, but heavy. DESIGN is good, and if you don't like the color, pocket arrangements or the size RedOxx has lots of other models. It is not however dustproof. The fine dust that hangs in the air for minutes after a logging truck passes you will find its way into the bag. AREAS FOR IMPROVEMENT 1) There are premium bags available that have linings. This adds to the price of course. The ones available that I have seen or own are only available in limited number of styles and colors, have dark linings and are targeted at a more formal travel market than the RedOxx product line. Still I would love the option of a white fabric liner, to help see what is in the bag. 2) The super strong hardware adds a lot of weight, especially for the smaller bags such as the PR4. Airlines are checking weight more carefully nowadays. A titanium hardware option would drive up the price, but would be great. There must be aluminum hardware that would be strong but substantially lighter. 3) The rubber in the provided shoulder strap is a weak point, if you abuse the bag by loading it up with many boxes of shotgun shells or books. I have broken two, but I am talking about serious weight here. The rest of the bag handles such use routinely.
 
 Tough and Noticed
By Debra D, Iowa, April 18, 2009

I hadn't traveled by air since 1982!Naturally, needed luggage. This bag was perfect! I couldn't believe how much this bag held. I just kept packing in more and more. So, I over packed for my trip. I did take the monkey knots off, just in case, as I did check the bag. Went through everything just fine and really stood out (I got the saffron yellow) at the baggage claim areas. I had many people compliment me on my bags. I also have the Air Boss, the Gator, and the Metro / briefcase bag for my laptop. That bag alone could get me through a weekend trip - with the laptop!
 
 Didn't work for me
By Dan, Sacramento, CA, March 30, 2009

I own four Red Oxx bags and all are extremely tough. I love the other three, but this one didn't work for me. It has the same super heavy duty hardware as the bigger bags which is way too much for a bag this small.I've never used it, but it's kicked around storage and now I am stuck with it. As a boutique manufacturer I am a little disappointed that return/exchange policy isn't a little more flexible.----------------------------------------Red Oxx Replies: Our Return Policy: All unused in new condition bags can be returned for a refund less shipping.
 
 PR$
By Cate White, tampa, FL, December 16, 2008

I love my unique purple Red Oxx bag. The pockets are exactly right for whatever I need them for. There is always space for what I need whether a carry on/day trip/sightseeing. Very sturdy, too. Hope I can afford a larger model for my main luggage soon!
 
 Ballistic Beano
By Gary Ustik, , October 29, 2007

Hi, I got the ballistic Beano Safari Bag on Friday. What a bag!!! I love it. The quality you guys put on every piece of work is fantastic. Like I said before, the best in the world includes things like custom ultra light rifles and any bag you guys make. Thanks again, happy holidays and I will be placing another order soon, I'm hooked.Sincerely,Gary Ustik
 
1 2 3 Next > 
Specifications

Safari Beanos PR4 Specs Chart

  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Cordura nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded Solar Max nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • 304 welded heavy-duty stainless V ring
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Detachable Claw No Slip Shoulder Strap
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Pass-through panel to use with wheeled luggage; can double as an extra pocket
  • Dual turn locks on zippered top flap panel
  • Twin D rings for locking zippered flap panel
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors
  • US Dimensions: 19"L x 9"W x 9"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 48.3cm L x 22.9cm W x 22.9cm H
  • US Capacity: 1,539 cubic inches
  • Metric Capacity: 25.3 Liters
  • US Weight: 3.35 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 1.52 Kilos

Safari Beanos PR4 Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 14 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

What are the differences in size of the Beano's bags?
The PR4, the smallest of the series and the PR5, a step up in size from the PR4, were designed for legal carry-on travel. The PR5-5 is sized between the PR5 and the largest of the series, the PR6, which was designed for checked bag travel.
 
Is the PR4 carry on legal?
Yes, it was designed to be carry-on legal on most jet airlines.
 
Will the PR4 qualify as a personal item?
The PR4 is designed as more of a smaller carry-on than a personal item. You could try it as a personal item, but we don't guarantee the results.
 
What's the difference between the PR4 and Sun Chaser?
The Sun Chaser has a full length main compartment with extra raised pockets located on the side of the bag, whereas the PR4/5 have a shorter main compartment and the pockets on both ends. The Sun Chaser also features grab handles on the ends and a padded bottom reinforced with ballistic nylon, our toughest.
 
How many days of travel will fit in the PR4?
The PR4 carry-on bag was designed to hold a weekend's worth of clothes.
 
Can I fit my laptop in it?
Most 15 inch or smaller notebooks and tablets should fit in the main compartment.
 
Is the PR4 padded on the bottom?
Our Sun Chaser and Flying Boxcar are padded on the bottom. The PR series is not padded.
 
Why are there two zippers on the back pocket?
This is a special "pass through" pocket that allows you to mount the bag over the handle of a wheeled bag.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my bag?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
What are the D-Rings for at the end of the zippers?
The D-rings allows you to lock your zippers closed.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
The Safari Beano's series has exterior flat and raised pockets only.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.