Skip Navigation LinksHome  > Red Oxx Gear  > Backpacks Daypacks  > Sky-Train

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I just say no to checked bag fees.”
Red Oxx Sky Train Convertible Hybrid Backpack Bag - pictured in Saffron. Available in 12 colors.

Sky Train $255.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


Carry-on!
On your back.

Our Red Oxx Travel Testers call it awesome! Imagine, a hybrid backpack and carry travel bag in one.

Your idea of carry-on perfection? The Sky Train meets your desire for hands-free, easy-on, easy-off boarding of planes or trains. Specially designed for the leisure traveler going to Europe or beyond. Keeps you moving. No waiting for lost luggage--it's with you all the way. Once your Sky Train is on, you're gone!

DESIGNED BY TRAVEL EXPERTS.
Red Oxx teamed up again with web author and travel expert Doug Dyment of OneBag.com fame to develop this carry-on backpack travel bag. Think flexible-- this bag can be carried three different ways:

1. Carry like a suitcase using the Euro handle.
2. Over your shoulder like a messenger bag.
3. Or pull out the retractable backpack straps from the smugglers pocket and travel in hands-free comfort.

Grab loops on the sides help make stowing the bag in the overhead bin a snap. Fits the luggage boarding size restriction box.

PLACES FOR YOUR BELONGINGS.
The Sky Train features two main interior compartments and one full-length outside zippered flat pocket. The main compartment tie downs cinch down to the closed cell Volara foam, securing your clothing. These tie downs help keep your slacks and dress shirts wrinkle-free until you can hang them up in the hotel. Easily holds three pairs of slacks and three blouses with room leftover for a light jacket.

The secondary compartment has a foam stay and a small pocket for stashing personal items (9" x 12") spacious enough to hold your Toiletries, shoes, or workout gear... The rigid sewn-in Volara foam padding protects your belongings, but is still flexible enough to shove into a cramped overhead bin.

HOW TO PACK.
Follow this link to learn Doug's bundle wrapping technique. Fit more in your Sky Train airline carry-on bag. Thanks to Onebag.com, here's a handy printable PDF Sky Train Packing Diagram. It covers how to "bundle wrap" for the Sky Train, your ideal backpack hybrid convertible travel bag.

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your Sky Train on our production schedule. It will then be delivered in under 30 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

Dimensions: 20"L x 9"W x 13"H
Capacity: 2,340 cubic inches

Pocket measurements:

  • Exterior zippered full length side flat pocket: 13"H x 19"W
  • 3/4 open flat zippered side compartment: 13"W x 19"L x 1"D
  • Interior side compartment zippered flat flap pocket: 11"W x 9"D
  • Main compartment with adjustable twin tie downs: 19"L x 13"W x 6.5"D
  • Exterior zippered full-width flat smugglers pocket: 13"W x 19"L (Note: this pocket is for storing the backpack straps. Since it has holes in the bottom for steel o-rings to attach the straps to the bottom of the bag, the pocket is only useful for flat magazines, newspapers and storing the straps).

"No Bull" Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, in production products and delivery time? - Read this personal letter from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the steps it takes to handcraft your Sky Train.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email and a review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. Backorders beyond a dozen days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is secure.

Every great carry-on bag needs cool luggage accessories.

Sky Train Trivia: A common European and Asian urban passenger train that rides on raised rails over inner city traffic.

Write a Review

4.79 Average Rating
 (219 Reviews)

 
... 9 10 11 Next > 
 Great Bag!
By Gudrun, Vienna, Austria, May 27, 2010

First compliment: I received the bag 6 days after I had ordered it - great service!

Second: It really holds a lot of stuff - used it for an overnight train trip to Budapest with a friend (and her trolley) and I was happy about the backpack straps - there are a lot of stairs and very few escalators in Budapest! Last week I had to go to Hamburg by plane: the skytrain was the perfect companion as a hand luggage bag and sturdy enough to survive the rough treatment of the baggage handlers of the airport on the flight back. I didn`t even fill both compartments - the big one was sufficient (I used a packing cube and made "garment rolls"). I took: 2 pair of jeans, shoes, 6 polo shirts, underwear, toiletries, a book, an ipod + cables, a huge folder with 200 pages educational stuff..everything fit in the bag nicely and was easy to carry.

The only drawback: the crazy sum of taxes I had to pay - over 80 Euros :-( . I keep thinking about buying another bag but as long as there is no European subsiduary this will have to wait until I or a friend make a trip to Montana and buy it there directly. -----------------------------------------------------------------------------Red Oxx Replies: We're working with a company to reduce costs in International Shipping. We'll announce this on FaceBook when it's implemented. You'll be saving a ton o' moola! ~ Minister of Information for D.O.R.A.
 
 Best Bag Ever!
By GaylM, Canada, May 20, 2010

I bought this bag last year and it has never joined my other bags in the basement because it's too busy being reused time and again.

I even managed to make it my only my only bag for up to 4 weeks of travelling this spring. Unfortunately, I still have to usually take a computer bag for my other 'stuff'. But on my latest trip of 4 days I even managed to fit the 15" laptop & my 'Lil Roy bag packed with gadgets into it, such that I could easily take them out for security. Loved it!

Granted, using this bag can take some discipline in learning how to pack lightly but it's fun discovering new ways of travelling with less (who knew I'd learn to love travel underwear so much?). And it can help keep your souvenir budget in check because there's not a lot of extra room to pack it (still not sure if that's a pro or con for this bag - *grin*).

Last but not least, there's the 'bag envy' I get from people when they find out this is all I am taking on my trip...just how much I have fit in the bag...how long I'm going for...what a great color it is (olive)...quality material, zippers & metal bits...and the way people eye my bag - I know they wish they had one.
 
 No more checking bags!
By Sandy, Pennsylvania, April 29, 2010

Recently bought an Air Train and used on a 4-day trip. I am a 54 year old woman who was concerned about giving up my wheeled luggage when connecting flights necessitated crossing large airports. The design of the air train allowed me to carry the Air Train on one shoulder and the Gator on the other, while freeing my hands for my coffee, open doors or carry a book. Even packed full, it fit in the Southwest luggage sizing frame. I did use the backpack feature when walking from the gate all the way to the car since I had heavy binders and packed it unusually full after a conference. I am surprisingly happy with the abillity to fit everything in, the excellent design and quality of the bag. I did not miss my wheels as I thought I might and thrilled to be able to take what I want yet not check luggage. I dont recommend for anyone with shoulder or elbow issues. Otherwise it is a great purchase and very versitile. The Bordeaux is a great and classy color.
 
 Excellent quality
By Cindy O., Brookings, SD, March 26, 2010

I got the bag shortly before my trip to Italy and I packed too much into it starting out. Even with it stuffed full, it fit into the overhead compartment and was easy to handle on buses and trains. I checked it flying back and the bag held up well. I like that the bag opens fully for packing and unpacking and also that when you set it upright, you can just zip open the top and stuff more things into it. One drawback is that it could be lighter if it had plastic instead of metal for the clips and rings. I realize it's made that way for durability, but my husband has a bag he's used for years with plastic and that has held up remarkably well. Unfortunately, that bag isn't made anymore. I also left the shoulder strap at home in order to lighten the bag. For future trips, I'm going to resist the temptation to take so many clothes -- just because the bag will hold more, doesn't mean I need more!
 
 Superb quality bag
By Sally M, Racine, Wisconsin, March 23, 2010

Combining Sky Train and Gator bag reviews in both places:

I purchased the Sky Train and Gator Bag after months of reading reviews on this website. I've just returned from a 10-day guided tour of Italy where I put them to the test. I took only these two bags. It's astounding how much (too much) that I could stuff into the Sky Train. Not an atom of space left for purchases. I would advise against packing them this full. They are superb quality bags that got bashed around a lot. I had planned to carry it all on my back, but at the last minute checked the Sky Train. If I were younger, I probably could have managed it, but as a 69-year-old , 5'2", 120 pound gal, it was too much weight for me to use the backpack straps. The type of tour we were on was one of those whirlwind, different-hotel-every-night, bags unpacked and repacked every night which became tedious. Here's what I packed: 3 pairs of jeans, a sweatshirt hoodie, rain slicker jacket, hat, 1 blouse, 2 cardigans, 1 turtleneck sweater, two knit tops, seven T-shirts, 1 vest, 6 jockey camisoles, 1 bra, 10 pairs of panties, 5 pairs of socks, 2 pairs of shoes, 1 pair of flip flops, 2 inflatable hangers, extra plastic bags, envelopes and assorted flat things in the outer long pocket. I bundle-packed, using Magellan's 3 packing cubes as the core, which worked wonderfully for t-shirts and underwear. Everything else (cosmetics. Medications, paperwork, passport, camera, lumbar support cushion, umbrella, 2 pairs of glasses, 1 pair sunglasses, candy, phrasebook, scarves, iTouch, shower cap, Kleenex, expandable shopping bags, soap for clothes washing, and more) all went into the gator. The gator is a handsome bag, but I found it difficult to get into and look for items-possibly due to its stiffness. It's amazing how much you can put into it. The outside zipper pocket is very tight and not easily accessed. The two outside flap pockets are excellent and useful. In the future, I'll take these bags on shorter trips with fewer items, which will render them easier to use. All in all, the quality of these two bags is definitely as advertised. I love the zippers! They still look brand new.
 
 The one and only
By Max S, Michigan, March 18, 2010

I have the SkyTrain bag from Red Oxx which is the one and only bag I have been using for 99% of my travel over the past 2-3 years, regardless of duration, distance, or occasion (from day-trips to week-long business and family trips). It can be carried by a handle on the side, worn with a single strap over a shoulder, or with the comfortable hide-away straps (which I prefer when wearing a suit). I pack it according to the folding instructions found on www.onebag.com. Despite the constant use, it looks and feels like it did on Day 1. 

If I could make one recommendation, it would be to eliminate the zippered flap pocket in the middle compartment - it just gets in the way. I could see replacing it by a simple (vertically oriented) thin pocket for laptop / files, but even that isn't necessary. (Such a simple thin pocket exists in the main compartment of the Ruck Sack (which I also own), and I find it extremely useful.)
 
 Most Functional Bag
By Anonymous, Mississippi, March 9, 2010

The Sky Train was purchased to replace my beloved Patagonia MLC (the original one, made in the USA, not the "new improved MLC" made off shore in a different country every year). The Sky Train is slightly smaller than the MLC, however a recent 4 day trip convinced me it is a far superior product to the MLC.

I am a big fan of Eagle Creek folders and cubes, and the Sky Train will accommodate the 18" folder w/ease. On this trip the Sky Train was packed with two pair pants, three dress shirts, two sweaters, two pair socks, two pair underwear in the 18" folder; one pair pants, one pair underwear, two tee shirts, one windshirt, one pair gloves, one neck gaiter in a Eagle Creek half cube; one pair dress shoes and belt and toiletry items in the main compartment. A MacBook Pro w/accessories went into the smaller compartment. There was a minimum amount of room left over, but realistically not much more could have been put into the Sky Train.

The backpack straps are functional for sprinting to and from the airport gates, however one must remember that this is not a backpack, and my feeling is that you can overpack the Sky Train to the point that carrying it on your back for more than a short distance will result in an uncomfortable carry in a short time.

The carrying handles are both functional and surprisingly comfortable. Only time will tell if they will "fade" or discolor, but the material appears to be such that it will last as long as the bag.

In my middle age I have become a big fan of buying American made products. Most of the time you pay more, but most of the time you get a much better product, and the Red Oxx products are no exception. The materials and craftsmanship in this bag guarantee that it will be with me for many years.

My wife still has her original MLC which is/was made to the maximum carry-on dimensions. The Sky Train will not carry everything the MLC will, BUT the Sky Train WILL fit into the overhead bins much easier than the MLC.

The is a very good product that I would recommend to anyone who wants a functional carry-on bag.

The Sky Train was given a 4 Star instead of a 5 Star because I believe a 5 Star implies perfection; otherwise it would have the 5 Star. There is always room for some improvement, but right now I just can't think of what it is. You will not be sorry if you buy the Sky Train.
 
 First Impressions
By Brix, Nomadic, February 28, 2010

Much heavier than i thought it would be, and after seeing other bags torn on latches and other hardware, it was a pleasant note. I have used it once so far, and have not figured how i will configure my gear in it, The Bag is part of a three bag system that will be used every day, i live on the road all year. My luggage is my home. I plan on taking it to India, and found it will handily carry my 17 inch snake boots in it without distortion. My computer fits in the top compartment, with accessories, and for dashing through airports the back straps are fine. THANK YOU for not putting sternum straps or a waist strap on it. If I want those I can buy some after market ones and modify it myself. It shows you really have thought about what is necessary and what is not. Someone mentioned a key strap would be nice, I just took the dog tag that came with the bag and threaded it through the zipper pull on the little inner pouch.
 
 favorite bag
By Rick Sheets, , February 17, 2010

Sorry for delaying my review, I've been traveling with my new favorite bag.

I love the ruggedness of my Sky Train. It takes what I give it and asks for more. I feel, however, there are two areas that could use some improvement.

First, the compression straps are generous in length but seem too far apart. When I use bundle-packing, the bundle isn't long enough to be secured by both straps. I have to compromise and place the bundle in the middle, leaving space at the top and bottom of the bag. Perhaps three

evenly-space straps would provide more flexibility. Maybe changing the buckle design to allow for crossing of the straps if needed. I can avoid the issue with Packing Folders, which fit quite snugly between the straps, but I like options.

Inclusion of backpack straps is the main reason I chose the Sky Train over the Air Boss. Whether hoofing from Concourse A to Terminal Z or

hiking 12 blocks to the train station, they are a God-send. Unlike others, I find neither the strap size nor lack of sternum strap a hindrance. But when the bag is fully packed, deploying and stowing the straps can be frustrating. I think a three-side zippered flap, like the main compartments, would allow for easier and quicker conversions. The straps would pull through reinforced slots above the zipper.

Thank you for enduring my mad alchemy. Keep up the good work.

Sincerely,

Rick Sheets
 
 Perfect one-bag solution
By Dan, Medford, MA, February 11, 2010

This bag met all my criteria -- slightly smaller than the max carryon size for overseas airlines, durable, not black, and wheel-less -- and delivered in spades. I got the khaki color, which seems to hide any dirt; it's somewhat darker than the photo. The "bundle" packing strategy works great here, too.
 
 sky train-almost perfect
By mitch wolf, san diego, ca , January 30, 2010

Let me state that I truly despise having to check luggage. That being said, I believe you are doing yourselves a great disservice by promoting the Sky Train as a "geared to women" alternative to the Air Boss. I have traveled extensively and was in the market for a "carry-on" bag (w/backpack straps!) for an upcoming trip to SE Asia/Indonesia. I purchased your product, took a quick trip to the Caribbean, and found it to be more than adequate and a truly ideal way to pack comfortably and avoid having to check any luggage (my #1 goal.) I put a smaller nylon backpack inside for day trips to some other islands and left the "Sky Train" back in my room. Perfect. My only suggestions would be the incorporation of a chest strap (sliding, like on Patagonia's MLC) which does an amazing job of distributing the stress of the pack weight. Putting a key clip inside the bag so at the outset of your trip you can secure your keys with confidence. And most importantly, to me anyway, add a couple low profile loops to permit strapping something additional to the top of the bag while in 'backpack mode' (ie: a tent, a bag with wet clothes etc.) Otherwise, I am truly pleased with my purchase and would not hesitate to recommend your products to all. Thanks so much. Stay well and travel.
 
 The Best Travel Bag!
By Bob Landis, Roswell, GA, January 7, 2010

I purchased an Air Boss almost 4 years ago to replace a Swiss Army roll aboard bag that was stolen from a rental car. I read the review on onebag.com and it made total sense to me. Many of my business colleagues are still wedded to their roll aboards and their extra weight and they question why I chose this type of bag for business travel because it is so atypical of road warriors. This bag has traveled more than 350,000 air miles since I bought it and it has far exceeded my expectations. There is no problem fitting in almost any overhead luggage compartment.

This year, as my Christmas present to myself, I went for the Sky Train which I have been eyeing for some time. I like the idea of a back pack style suit case that has been designed to meet my needs. What I needed was a bag that was portable and perfect for overnight or two day trips. I feel totally free when using this bag because both your arms are free to drink coffee or read the newspaper and it has even improved my posture because most roll aboard bags are awkward to pull and strain your back. I have given up carrying a computer bag in addition to my luggage and simply consolidated in just this bag. The quality is top shelf and worth every penny. I travel every week and Red Oxx is my total travel solution. I am a repeat customer and look forward to an opportunity to visit the retail store in Montana. You simply cannot find a bag of this quality and of such user friendly design in any store. It truly has been a one bag solution for me.

I still have my Air Boss for longer trips and after 4 years it is still in great condition despite heavy use. That is a testament to the quality materials that were used for its construction.

These products are awesome and should be seriously considered if you want the best! It is not surprising at all that the reviews on this site are all rave reviews for this product.
 
 Very pleased
By Sean Graham, Watertown, MA, December 31, 2009

I have to admit I was rather nervous spending so much money on a bag I had never even seen, but my fears were completely unfounded. Having used the Sky Train for our epic holiday travels, it really ended up being a perfect bag for me.

The main compartment with compression straps was big enough for 5 days worth of t-shirts, underwear, and socks as well as a pair of slacks and pajama pants. And even with all of that, the secondary compartment was still plenty big enough for my 15" MacBook Pro and a textbook. I truly understand how traveling with one bag is not only possible, but pleasant.

Navigating train platforms and airports was a breeze with the shoulder straps. I have always had a bag with wheels, so this was another point of concern for me, but I don't miss the wheels at all.
 
 Superior in all aspects
By Robyn Johnson, Qld, Australia, December 27, 2009

After travelling for 6 weeks to UK, Czech Republic, a 2 week transatlantic cruise and finally 9 days in New York the sky train along with the air boss and the gator met all our expectations after reading previous customer reviews prior to purchasing. In particular the gator was used as my sole handbag - a godsend in UK + New York as I was easlily able to carry 2 fold up umbrellas, scarves, gloves, ear muffs as well as camera and wallet etc. The space available in both the sky train and the air boss seems limitless. I was always able to pack that extra piece of clothing or any item. My congratulations and thanks go to the team at Red Oxx for the quality of your products and the service provided througout the ordering and delivery. A very satisfied and gratelful customer - Robyn Johnson.
 
 SkyTrain - Good Alternative to a STD Rollaboard
By Dave, Arlington VA, December 17, 2009

I used the SkyTrain / Gator for a 6-day trip to Europe last month. Both worked, well, and the Safari olive/khaki color combo is great, if not a bit distracting...(some travelers complimenting me on the 2 bags figured I was in the Army while in reality I'm a Navy officer).

Anyway, RedOxx products are a nice complement to, but don't necessarily replace my Tumi gear. The SkyTrain/Gator combo is perfect for traveling if going light, w/o a laptop but with other connectivity like a Ipaq and a mobile phone.

The SkyTrain has considerably more capacity than a Tumi 22" rollaboard suiter. And since you start with an empty bag that's about 5# lighter, a shoulder-strap or backpack carry is a big deal.

The SkyTrain, used alone would be fine for a short trip, by air or otherwise. It can be "overpacked" and still work pretty well if you are using something like the EC cubes. An overpacked SkyTrain will still fit easily in any a/c overhead. It will go under a seat if not overpacked.

Here's what my SkyTrain held: Trifold toilet kit/running shoes/EC cube with shorts and 1 ea. UnderArmour SS and LS tees, swim goggles & heart monitor/ EC cube with 2 prs extra socks and underwear/ 2 v-neck merino sweaters/2 ls buttondown cotton shirts, a pair of khakis/2 ls cotton tees/a pair of 5.11 tac shorts/ball cap/pair of jeans/gore tex windbreaker/a catch-all EC cube with vitamins, 6 Clif Bars, a small microfiber towel, a bar of soap/ another small EC cube with gloves, watch cap and sunglasses/a ls wool Pendleton Board Shirt. My 1q liquid/gel bag easily slipped into the top section of the main section, so when it was standing upright at security, all I had to do was unzip and stuff the 1q into the TSA/EU tray with my shoes and jacket and I was good to go. Two more comments (1) It may be better to use an AirBoss if you may be overpacking. The lateral strapping that leads to the grips may help to compress the bag. The SkyTrain will bulge out a bit more when carrying it with either grip. Not a big deal unless you are standby on an overbooked leg and an aggressive flight attendant is convinced it won't go under your seat. (2) A SkyTrain or a backpack bag isn't really a "requirement" in Europe vis-a-vis a wheeled bag. Every trip I've had on DB and ICE trains for the last 10 years, it was the LOCALS who had the huge rollaboard bags. The SkyTrain fits in the DB overheads, but there is always room for big bags on the floor behind main seats. That said, my SkyTrain made the city hiking around in Munich, Heidelburg, and Frankfurt a lot easier since I didn't have to be concerned with curbs. And in Frankfurt it was a lot easier to hop on the trams (streetcars) with a SkyTrain than a rollaboard.
 
 Dual life - dual bags?
By Jeff, Albuquerque, NM, December 10, 2009

The Sky Trains are great in most respects. (We bought 2 for my wife and me for a recent trip to Guatemala.) We learned of you on OneBag.com and your bags are in fact of superior construction and design. They served the purpose well of a one-bag carry-on and I'll definitely use it in the future. The Sky Train is advertised as a "ladys bag" but I'm a pretty fit guy and just didn't like lugging a bag on my shoulder. I used the backpack straps a lot. A hardside roller bag is still handy in my opinion unless one is truly going to a very rustic setting. The international concourse and customs in Guat City got mighty long. I do a lot of business traveling in the states and didn't find baggage toting that different in Guatemala. On the other hand, when my bag ended up in a real rustic situation (bed of truck in a rainstorm) my contents were soaked. Bottom line: the Sky Train would fill a niche for some travel for me but I can't see using it exclusively.
 
 SkyTrain review
By Gabriele, SF East Bay, December 6, 2009

I found out about this company through OneBag.com and bought 2 SkyTrains, because we wanted to avoid checking baggage.

We first used our bags for a one-week trip to New York. Initially, we were surprised to actually be able to fit a week's worth of clothing, plus an extra pair of shoes, in this bag. There was actually room to spare! We were even able to fit in a few souvenirs (mugs, T-Shirts) without a problem. And it still could have been stuffed a bit more!

We are very pleased with these bags. Not only do they save you time when flying, but the quality is superb, and I love the flexibility of carrying it either vertically, horizontally, or - most importantly! - as a backpack! It makes getting around so much easier! It's a great product!
 
 Delivered overseas in 82 hours!
By Glyn & Karen Gardner, Wollongong, Australia. , December 5, 2009

Dear Red Oxx Team,

Our sincere thanks for the most amazing service in getting our order of two 'Sky Train' bags, two additional Claw Shoulder Straps and assorted cable locks and Monkey Fist Zip Knots to us within 82 hours of dispatch from youar warehouse to Wollongong, 50 miles south of Sydney, Australia. Your original emailed dispatch advice indicated that the order should arrive within 10 days, so we were amazed when the courier arrived at our door early on the Tuesday morning after we had ordered them on-line on the previous Friday evening our time (Friday. 05.50am your time) - no more than 82 hours! That's incredible! Congratulations - that has to be the best service we've ever experienced!

------------------------------------

Now to your products. We have looked at so many 'carry-on' bags for air flights and after long consideration ordered two 'Sky Trains'. I have already used mine on a four day business trip to Sydney, by train, not plane, and am delighted with the bag. It held many more clothes than I could possibly have expected, given it's compact size. During the course of the week I accumulated a lot of paperwork which, to my amazement, I was a able to stuff into my 'Sky Train' without any problem. In fact there was still room for more if I'd needed it.

------------------------------------

The 'Sky Train' is certainly durable with very sturdy zips, whilst being easy to carry with the various straps/handles and its compact size.

------------------------------------

My wife and I are delighted with our 'Sky Train' bags and accessories, and are sure that we made the right choice with your products. We will be putting them to good use during a three week visit to Europe at Christmas.

------------------------------------

Thank you again for your exemplary service. We shall be passing on the good word to fellow travellers who are looking for the best possible product.
 
 Travel Simplified
By ES, Phoenix, AZ, December 4, 2009

I traveled for years with a cheap (but long-lived) convertible bag called a Eurotote. After wheeled bags became ubiquitous, I broke down and bought a Travelpro. That bag has its uses, but I went back to the cheap convertible so I could stuff into tight bin spaces or under the seat, and to wear it backpack style through the Paris metro.

After a flurry of trips I started to cast about for a better bag. I ordered both the Sky Train (ST) and Tom Bihn's Aeronaut so I could compare them side-by- side. Both are well-made, and I would no doubt have been happy with the Aeronaut. But the Sky Train was a better choice for my packing style (I "bundle wrap" my clothes, and the large open compartment with compression straps in the ST made this easier); and I liked the design and colors of the ST better.

I've now used the Sky Train on many short trips and one longer one, and it's fabulous, light but sturdy, easy to pack, easy to carry, and easy to find things in on the fly. The plastic handles (on the end and top of the bag) are incredibly comfortable--a big surprise--and I think add an edgy quality to the design. The zippers are first-rate and open easily (the promo video suggest that they take some "engagement" to move); and the "monkey fist" knot on the zippers makes them easy to find quickly.

I've always been able to slide the bag into overhead bins, even on ERJ-145's (with a slight push), or under the seat.

For heavier loads, I carry the Sky Train with Tom Bihn's Absolute strap for its springiness; but for lighter loads I prefer the Reddox claw strap for its slip resistance. Both are great at what they do; what's needed is a hybrid which is good at both.

I've noticed that the backpack straps can easily fold over on themselves (creating extra bulk) if you aren't careful stowing them in their zippered compartment.

The Sky Train is overall a great bag: simple timeless design, sturdy construction, and beautifully functional. It might just be the last one I ever buy (sorry Red Oxx, but I will put in a good word for anyone who asks).

 
 Great Purchase
By Bruce, New Zealand, December 3, 2009

This was a great purchase!

It arrived within 10 days of purchase.

It has been of great use as I have traveled from one side of the world to the other.

Very easy to carry and stores everything I need.
 
... 9 10 11 Next > 
Specifications

Sky Train Specs Chart

  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Soft Unisuede padded retractable backpack straps
  • Dual claw-style 360-degree backpack straps swivel clips
  • A.L.I.C.E. pack strap adjusters
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • Detachable adjustable chest strap
  • Dual "Euro" clear vinyl carry handles (top and side)
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Cordura Nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 400 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • 4 lb. Volara closed cell foam padding on exterior back panel
  • All zippers #10 YKK self-locking
  • 1"W Zipper flaps on 2 main and strap compartments
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors
  • US Dimensions: 20"L x 9"W x 13"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 50.8cm L x 22.7cm W x 33cm H
  • US Capacity: 2,340 cubic inches
  • Metric Capacity: 38 Liters

Sky Train Convertible Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 30 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

Is the Sky Train carry-on legal?
Yes, the Sky Train is designed to be carry-on legal.
 
What's the best way to pack the Sky Train?
We recommend the bundle packing method. Watch the packing video under the Photos and Videos tab or download the Sky Train Packing Diagram. Note to iPad users, we are reformatting the video to be viewable on your machines, stay tuned.
 
What's the difference between the Air Boss and the Sky Train?
There are two principle differences between the Air Boss and the Sky Train: The Sky Train has retractable backpack straps and opens flat lengthwise and has 2 packing compartments whereas the Air Boss opens flat like a book with three compartments and is carried with the Claw shoulder strap.
 
Will the Sky Train Carry-on fit under the seat in front of me?
We don't recommend cramming the Sky Train under the seat.
 
Will the Eagle Creek packing cubes fit?
We recommend that you use our Nomad Shave Kit, Lil Roy Gadget Bag or Tri-fold Toiletry bag as packing cubes. You can color co-ordinate them to your preference and they come with useful carry handles. The Tri-fold Toiletry bag is also a brilliant shave kit organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
 
How many pounds will the Sky Train weigh when packed?
It depends on what you pack. A typical 3-5 day load will weigh about 20-25 pounds.
 
How many days travel can I fit in the Sky Train?
Most folks can get about 3-5 days with a typical load. Some adventurous types have been able to pack from a week to 10 days! It all depends on how you pack and what you pack.
 
Where do I pack the laptop?
You can use the back compartment. We recommend that you use a padded neoprene sleeve to secure your laptop.
 
What's the best way to pack footwear?
Sole to sole to minimize the dirt and placed in either compartment. We recommend placing your shoes in a plastic bag.
 
Can I change the logo color?
Sure. Simply order your favorite color Logo Patch and sew it on yourself. Red Oxx cannot change the patch colors for you.
 
Can I order a bag without the logo?
Logo Patches are centered using a hole punch. If you remove the patch, there will be a hole in the bag that could cause a snag. Red Oxx cannot build a bag without a logo as this would disrupt the efficiency of the production line. Feel free to use a permanent marker to color the patches.
 
Can you lock the Sky Train?
Yes, any TSA approved lock will work. Or you can use one of our inexpensive Cable Locks. Keep in mind, any soft sided woven textile bag can be cut open with a sharp knife. Better to carry the bag onto the plane and store in the overhead bin where you can keep an eye on it.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
The Sky Train Hybrid bag has two generous internal compartments and one small internal zippered pocket.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.