Skip Navigation LinksHome  > Red Oxx Gear  > Backpacks Daypacks  > Sky-Train

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I just say no to checked bag fees.”
Red Oxx Sky Train Convertible Hybrid Backpack Bag - pictured in Saffron. Available in 12 colors.

Sky Train $255.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


Carry-on!
On your back.

Our Red Oxx Travel Testers call it awesome! Imagine, a hybrid backpack and carry travel bag in one.

Your idea of carry-on perfection? The Sky Train meets your desire for hands-free, easy-on, easy-off boarding of planes or trains. Specially designed for the leisure traveler going to Europe or beyond. Keeps you moving. No waiting for lost luggage--it's with you all the way. Once your Sky Train is on, you're gone!

DESIGNED BY TRAVEL EXPERTS.
In 2007 Red Oxx teamed up again with web author and travel expert Doug Dyment of OneBag.com fame to develop this carry-on backpack travel bag. Think flexible-- this bag can be carried three different ways:

1. Carry like a suitcase using the Euro handle.
2. Over your shoulder like a messenger bag.
3. Or pull out the retractable backpack straps from the smugglers pocket and travel in hands-free comfort.

Grab loops on the sides help make stowing the bag in the overhead bin a snap. Fits the luggage boarding size restriction box.

PLACES FOR YOUR BELONGINGS.
The Sky Train features two main interior compartments and one full-length outside zippered flat pocket. The main compartment tie downs cinch down to the closed cell Volara foam, securing your clothing. These tie downs help keep your slacks and dress shirts wrinkle-free until you can hang them up in the hotel. Easily holds three pairs of slacks and three blouses with room leftover for a light jacket.

The secondary compartment has a foam stay and a small pocket for stashing personal items (9" x 12") spacious enough to hold your Toiletries, shoes, or workout gear... The rigid sewn-in Volara foam padding protects your belongings, but is still flexible enough to shove into a cramped overhead bin.

HOW TO PACK.
Follow this link to learn Doug's bundle wrapping technique. Fit more in your Sky Train airline carry-on bag. Thanks to Onebag.com, here's a handy printable PDF Sky Train Packing Diagram. It covers how to "bundle wrap" for the Sky Train, your ideal backpack hybrid convertible travel bag.

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your Sky Train on our production schedule. It will then be delivered in under 30 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

Dimensions: 20"L x 9"W x 13"H
Capacity: 2,340 cubic inches

Pocket measurements:

  • Exterior zippered full length side flat pocket: 13"H x 19"W
  • 3/4 open flat zippered side compartment: 13"W x 19"L x 1"D
  • Interior side compartment zippered flat flap pocket: 11"W x 9"D
  • Main compartment with adjustable twin tie downs: 19"L x 13"W x 6.5"D
  • Exterior zippered full-width flat smugglers pocket: 13"W x 19"L (Note: this pocket is for storing the backpack straps. Since it has holes in the bottom for steel o-rings to attach the straps to the bottom of the bag, the pocket is only useful for flat magazines, newspapers and storing the straps).

"No Bull" Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, in production products and delivery time? - Check out this personal statement from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the steps it takes to handcraft your Sky Train.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email and a review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. Backorders beyond a dozen days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is secure.

Every great carry-on bag needs cool luggage accessories.

Sky Train Trivia: A common European and Asian urban passenger train that rides on raised rails over inner city traffic.

Write a Review

4.8 Average Rating
 (228 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ... Next > 
 Sky Train
By Jerry, Lancaster PA, July 29, 2014

I've been looking for a carry-0n that also had backpack straps for many years. Finally I stumbled upon Red Oxx and your Sky Train. Great bag. I also ordered a couple Lil Roy's and a the Nomad Shave Kit. Your quality is top notch.
 
 Really good
By Bruno, Brazil, July 17, 2014

Just came back from a 20-day trip around Europe. I took 10 t-shirts, 3 bermuda shorts, 10 pairs of socks and 10 of briefs, one pair of sneakers and one of flip-flops, all fit well inside.

This is a really good bag: resistant, great quality, versatile, beautiful, and it packs up a lot. Actually, be aware that it might become non-cabin luggage if you overpack it. Overall I'm really happy, hoping to have it beside me for the rest of my travel life!
 
 Lightweight travel must
By David O'Connell, San Diego, June 27, 2014

I purchased a Red Oxx Sky Train bag/pack in anticipation of a two-week trip to Europe this spring. I was intrigued by the bag's good reviews online, including light weight packing zealots, which inexplicably are everywhere. We had traveled with an assortment of TravelPro roller bags in the past, which were fine, if you had a flat street without cobblestones or a floor to drag the bag through. My wife was sold on them, as she is a flight attendant and travels for a living; and, those bags make traverse through hotels and airports a breeze. But, I wanted to push the limits and give myself more flexibility.

The bag, although appearing small, will allow you to pack a ton of stuff, especially if you use some of the drape and fold methods suggested by the light travel zealots. I found I had a lot of space left after packing my electronics, three pairs of everything, and an extra pair of shoes. Predictably, my wife saw an opportunty and stuffed her overflow in my bag. So much for light travel.

Carrying the bag, instead of rolling, proved to be an adjustment, especially with security checks every ten feet. The back pack straps were a bit of a hassle, but proved their worth walking around Belgium and the Netherlands, especially on trains, in places my wife's roller would not go. But, it is not a classic "backpack" and would not be appropriate for any camping.

Travel, while a life's dream and passion, does take work; and, this bag gave me more flexibility and ease than any TravelPro.

I stongly recommend an adventorous traveler that likes to strike out without the albatross of a roller to get one of these.
 
 just another great review
By Jane, Denver, June 19, 2014

Does this bag really need another glowing review? Probably not, but that's what it's going to get. I got to try it out when a friend got one and fell in love and ordered it for myself the next day. I used to be a wheeled carry-on type of girl but that resulted in gate checking 8/10 times. This bag looks small enough for flight attendants to allow you on even when they're gate checking others and the bag fits just as much as my max regulation size wheeled carry on did. The backpack straps are priceless. I can carry it through airports without getting tired. Workmanship is great, design is great. Looks most awesome in the safari color
 
 Best luggage ever!
By Carrie O, Minnetonka, MN, June 12, 2014

The sky train is awesome. I was afraid that it's backpack straps would be too flimsy to really work well carrying heavy bags, but they are really built well, and padded nicely. We covered a lot of ground with these on our backs, switched to the shoulder straps when we were waiting to board planes, and were comfortable the whole time. They are easy to pack, and they fit well in the overhead bins, even when they're stuffed. I can't imagine a better bag.
 
 Versatile
By DavidG, Raleigh NC USA, June 6, 2014

I had the opportunity to test out my Skytrain both in the Sky and on a Train. I had a very tight schedule involving flights, a 5 hour train ride, rental cars and taxis in 5 cities and 3 states. I had to get in and out of vehicles quickly and take steps and go places not necessarily friendly to pulling wheeled luggage. This is exactly the type of trip the Skytrain was designed for and it worked flawlessly. I used the backpack straps. (hint; to keep the sternum straps from slipping down when not in use just buckle them together) I used the shoulder strap when bringing it into a client meeting and I used the handles to put it in various overhead bins. I was one of the only people on one of my flights home (very small commuter jet) that did not get my carry on tagged for gate check.

On another flight I heard one of the flight attendents at the plane entrance say to the other; "anything you see with wheels, tag it! I don't care how small it is." When you breeze through with your Skytrain on your back you then seem to notice more how overly dependent people are for their wheeled luggage and how it seems to take a lot of their time and attention. The build quality is over engineered to the point that you do not worry at all about it.

The thought of design reveals itself much more when you actually travel with it. You then notice little things (such as: the zippers are automatically locked unless pulled by the monkey fist zip pulls- try to move them with your finger without pulling up-they won't move) that show how much thought has gone into the design that looks deceptively simple.
 
 Deceptive
By Peter M., Australia, May 15, 2014

I'm a fan of sub-40 litre carry-on bags. I have several and when packed right they are rarely challenged by airline staff. The Sky Train actually holds more than my other bags but its design and shape are deceptive in that the bag holds far more but still looks small. Very clever design and the back-pack straps are icing on the cake.
 
 Red Oxx on European 3 week tour
By Cynthia , Maryland, April 26, 2014

Had a great experience with the Red Oxx bag. Used it for a 3 week business and pleasure trip through Europe. The bag was able to accommodate nicely all of my items. I set up to use the bag pack straps. I used them once but my husband ended up carrying the bag most of the time so we used the handle section. I felt very
 
 Perfect bag
By Doc, Ireland, April 24, 2014

Great bag: rock solid & dependable, really well designed. Shoulder strap is great too - it just won't come off. the bag was also issued much faster than the 30 day turnaround.
 
 Oh yeah!
By Jsr, Florida, March 20, 2014

Construction is impeccable, didn't see any flaws or stray and excessive material waste within the bag. Big zippers, solid stitching along with the heavy duty clear tubing surrounding both grab handles are "choice". Material selection appears to be able to withstand a good number of road years of abuse that I'm going to hand it. The only "personal improvement" recommendation that I have would be to add another "d-clip" sewn into the other side of the top handle. That way one could use the carry strap with the sky train orientated in a "portrait" carrying style manor. Needing to order another might ask Redoxx if that's "do-able" even as a "one-off" option. Cheers.
 
 Great bag
By Pablo Legorreta, Dallas, Tx, March 13, 2014

This is great bag overall. Loved the space, compartments and how it is great for travel even on smaller planes. The only reason for the 4 star rating is that the shoulder strap can be rather uncomfortable when the bag is fully loaded.
 
 Solid and Awesome
By Anonymous, , March 6, 2014

I normally don't write reviews, but I also normally don't experience exceptional products. I just finished an ambitious 5-night business trip with my Sky Train and it delivered the good. Literally.
 
 Great Bag!
By Kay Schmidt, Walton, Kansas, February 27, 2014

I have used this bag (so far!) for long weekend trips, and am amazed at how much I can pack! I use eBag packing cubes and have no trouble getting everything packed in.

I have yet not tried the back pack feature, but expect this will come in handy for international travel where bags with wheels cannot be successfully used. I love the soft sides and the two compartment design.

Trying harder to pack "smart" - Hope to use this bag as my sole bag for a two week trip to Guatemala this summer! Wish me luck!
 
 Savvy Travelers Must Have This Bag!
By Jason, San Francisco Bay Area, January 16, 2014

After becoming a one bag convert, I decided Sky Train was the right bag for me, bought it and practiced packing & unpacking it via the bundle technique along with packing cubes. My next trip was a 10 day vacation to the east coast. I tested Sky Train by deliberately over packing and it passed with fantastic marks. It amazes me to this day how many travelers skirt the carry on rules. My overhead bin was almost full (in first class no less!) by the time I boarded. Sky Train's soft shell material allowed me to wiggle it into the overhead with no worries.

During my trip I efficiently unpacked & packed in 2 hotels and a friend's house. Traveling with one bag allowed me some souvenir liberties that I was able to carry home in a separate plastic bag. Sky Train's backpack flexibility came in super handy when my flight home was delayed for several hours. I comfortably navigated the airport terminals with minimal hassle. Some minor suggestions: like other reviewers mentioned, a removable waist strap and wider & slightly better padded backpack straps would enhance carrying comfort and stability. Other than that, Red Oxx has themselves a fantastic mainstay for their bag line up. I've already donated all of my other luggage pieces and am a staunch net promoter of Sky Train. Cheers!
 
 A Superb Bag
By Corey, Calgary, AB, January 16, 2014

I've only used the Skytrain on a few trips, but it is surprisingly capacious. The outward appearance belies the overall capacity of this well-constructed, highly durable bag. As a long time Tumi customer, I can attest that the quality of the Skytrain is on par, if not better, for half the price. As long as you're okay with luggage sans wheels, I would highly recommend this bag for both business and leisure travel. The only caution is that the bag is easily over-packed, and even with the optional backpack straps, can prove to be a heavy load. However, if you're willing to pack smart, this bag is a must have.
 
 must have for international travel
By Justin , Weatherford tx, January 6, 2014

I purchased this bag for a month long trip in Europe that consisted of 10 flights. This bag saved me many times. The size is just perfect for the budget airlines restrictions. It was small enough to met requirements but large enough to fit a weeks worth of clothes. My other friends had to check their bags. This bag is worth the money just to save on checked bags.
 
 The best Carry On Bag Ever Made!
By BW, Albuquerque, January 6, 2014

This is the best carry on bag ever made. It is great for air travel. It's so well designed that I can forgo checking a bag in instances when I used check one. It saves time and checked bag fees and I don't have to worry about the airlines losing my luggage. One of the best pieces of luggage I have ever owned. I love it.
 
 Red Ox Sky Train
By Alistair Nolan, Paris, France, December 27, 2013

I recently purchased a Sky Train for my brother after reading the recommendation made by Doug Dyment at OneBag.com. My brother is a musician who travels continuously, and has found the Sky Train exceedingly useful. So I then purchased one for myself. I rarely write product reviews, but this is an exceptionally well made and well-thought-through product which is a pleasure and a great help to travel with. Congratulations and thank you.
 
 The most well-constructed travel bag I own!
By Brad, Brisbane, Australia, December 12, 2013

Having completed hours of research online, I purchased the Sky Train with the confidence that it would be my ultimate travel bag. I was not disappointed whatsoever! This has to be the most well-constructed travel bag that I've ever purchased!

It has already served me well on trips of up to 4 days and I'm hoping to use it as my primary bag for a 2 week trip to Europe in February.

Am looking forward to adding more Red Oxx products to my collection in the near future.
 
 Research paid off -- the sky train delivered
By Victoria, Canada, November 28, 2013

After going overboard on research into the perfect 'one bag', I'm glad I chose the sky train. As per other reviews, it fulfills all potential travel needs.

It's pulled me through the first leg of our one-year round-the-world trip, and constantly amazed me that there's still room in it once fully packed. Despite downpours during bag loading on the Tarmac, everything still arrives dry and as I packed it. It's a marvel!
 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ... Next > 
Specifications

Sky Train Specs Chart

  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Soft Unisuede padded retractable backpack straps
  • Dual claw-style 360-degree backpack straps swivel clips
  • A.L.I.C.E. pack strap adjusters
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • Detachable adjustable chest strap
  • Dual "Euro" clear vinyl carry handles (top and side)
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Cordura Nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 400 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • 4 lb. Volara closed cell foam padding on exterior back panel
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • 1"W Zipper flaps on 2 main and strap compartments
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors
  • US Dimensions: 20"L x 9"W x 13"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 50.8cm L x 22.7cm W x 33cm H
  • US Capacity: 2,340 cubic inches
  • Metric Capacity: 38 Liters

Sky Train Convertible Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 30 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

Is the Sky Train carry-on legal?
Yes, the Sky Train is designed to be carry-on legal.
 
What's the best way to pack the Sky Train?
We recommend the bundle packing method. Watch the packing video under the Photos and Videos tab or download the Sky Train Packing Diagram.
 
What's the difference between the Air Boss and the Sky Train?
There are two principle differences between the Air Boss and the Sky Train: The Sky Train has retractable backpack straps and opens flat lengthwise and has 2 packing compartments whereas the Air Boss opens flat like a book with three compartments and is carried with the Claw shoulder strap.
 
Will the Sky Train Carry-on fit under the seat in front of me?
We don't recommend cramming the Sky Train under the seat.
 
Will the Eagle Creek packing cubes fit?
We recommend that you use our Nomad Shave Kit, Lil Roy Gadget Bag or Tri-fold Toiletry bag as packing cubes. You can color co-ordinate them to your preference and they come with useful carry handles. The Tri-fold Toiletry bag is also a brilliant shave kit organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
 
How many pounds will the Sky Train weigh when packed?
It depends on what you pack. A typical 3-5 day load will weigh about 20-25 pounds.
 
How many days travel can I fit in the Sky Train?
Most folks can get about 3-5 days with a typical load. Some adventurous types have been able to pack from a week to 10 days! It all depends on how you pack and what you pack.
 
Where do I pack the laptop?
You can use the back compartment. We recommend that you use a padded neoprene sleeve to secure your laptop.
 
What's the best way to pack footwear?
Sole to sole to minimize the dirt and placed in either compartment. We recommend placing your shoes in a plastic bag.
 
Can I change the logo color?
Sure. Simply order your favorite color Logo Patch and sew it on yourself. Red Oxx cannot change the patch colors for you.
 
Can I order a bag without the logo?
Logo Patches are centered using a hole punch. If you remove the patch, there will be a hole in the bag that could cause a snag. Red Oxx cannot build a bag without a logo as this would disrupt the efficiency of the production line. Feel free to use a permanent marker to color the patches.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my bag?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
The Sky Train Hybrid bag has two generous internal compartments and one small internal zippered pocket.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.