Skip Navigation LinksHome  > Red Oxx Gear  > Aviator Duffel Bags  > Small-Aviator-Bag

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I'm your souvenir bag for the flight home.”
Red Oxx Small Aviator Kit Bag

Small Aviator Bag $50.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


Your souvenir bag for the flight home.

Fly out flat, fly home packed.

Carry in your carry-on. Use the Small Aviator Bag as your "extra" carry on when traveling. It lays flat inside your primary bag when heading out on vacation and after you've found all the trinkets and treasures to bring home for souvenirs, just stuff them in and you can carry this bag onto your flight home. Dozens of other uses. Gym bag, gear bag, sports bag, the list goes on.

Just under two feet long, this rectangular bag stands at eight inches wide and nearly a foot tall. The 3/4 wraparound break over #10 YKK heavy-duty zipper configuration opens up the bag nearly flat. Enveloping 1.5 inch wide webbing handle wraps all the way around the bottom of the bag. Webbing is also double box stitched at all stress points. Available in Black only.

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your Small Aviator Kit Bag on our production schedule. Your bag will then be delivered in under 30 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

Dimensions: 22"L x 8"W x 11"H (Legal carry-on).
Capacity: 1,936 cu. inches. Weight: 1.4 pounds.

"No Bull" Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, in production products and delivery time? - Check out this personal message from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the steps it takes to handcraft your gear.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email and a review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. Backorders beyond a dozen days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is secure.

Every great bag needs cool accessories.

Read the rave review from Rob M at KK Cool Tools.

Write a Review

4.89 Average Rating
 (47 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 Next > 
 This is not Small to me
By Steve, Greenville SC, February 27, 2014

I see a lot of reviews wanting to get compression straps and attachment for the claw strap. Well, I live close to REI and they sell the compression straps and plastic D-rings. So I set this up for this bag and it works great as long as the bag is full. I now have the 3 amigos, which I use for field work to hold the extra helmet, boots and safety gear. The airboss, which I use for pure business travel, and I am getting the skytrain for the wife to take to Europe. I have put 150K miles on the 3 amigos, these are built to last a lifetome. I shoved it into an overhead compartment so hard, I broke off some plastic on the bin and the bag didn't even have a scratch!
 
 Simple, perfect carry-on
By John, Memphis, January 30, 2014

The small aviator bag is a work of art and a study in simple, indestructible bag design. This is a perfect weekend bag. It's a great gift too, and an absolute bargain at $40. Don't think twice, buy it and take a trip.
 
 Beauty in simplicity
By Anonymous, Missouri, January 23, 2014

My favorite travel bag
 
 Great bag for souvenir
By Lise Muia, Montréal, Québec Canada, January 17, 2014

I bought that bag to put it in my Air boss to bring back the things you can not resist buying during a 2 weeks vacation. It is a very practical bag, sturdy and robust. I recommand it.

 
 Good could be great bag
By David in Phoenix, , January 16, 2014

Really nice, roomy, well constructed, but no frills bag at a really great price. Would buy again.

Two things would make it a great bag: 1) true "clamshell" open to flat for packing ( it gets sort of close to that), and 2) D rings for a shoulder strap.

Just add the rings and charge $5 more, or supply as an option. Let the customer put his own shoulder strap on.
 
 Best Constructed Bag Ever
By Lt. K. Stuart, Texas, November 14, 2013

Bag is used at the fire department every shift. It was intended for wild land gear storage, but after seeing it and how well it was constructed, this bag now holds essential extrication equipment. The items inside weigh appx. 40 lbs. and it handles it without a problem. RedOxx is the new standard for well built storage solutions.
 
 Bike Race Bag
By Fox, Minneapolis, MN, November 5, 2013

I use this as my race-day bag for mountain bike races. (Actually, I first bought the medium and needed to downsize; although I still find plenty of use for the large). Typical contents include: cycling shoes, helmet, clothes for during and after race, tools, hydration pack, and multiple water bottles. All fits easily, and the bag looks great with a little mud on it after a good day at the races.
 
 RUGGED AND CLASSIC
By Patrick K, San Diego, CA, September 12, 2013

This is a perfect travel bag - the right size and proportion for carry-on, incredibly well-built, and it looks sharp. Straight-forward design and solid construction make me confident that I'll travel with it for years.

Well done Red Oxx.
 
 Super Bag!
By Dave, Fort Lauderdale, September 12, 2013

I bought this bag for a trip to England where we would be taking a 3 day side trip. Packed flat in my suitcase on the way out, used it for the side trip and packed flat on the way back. Didn't buy enough to use as souvenir bag. Perfect for what it is: simple, sturdy, inexpensive bag. I'm not a fan of lots of pockets anyway, so this is ideal. I kind of would like D-rings and optional strap, and more colors would be nice, but those would add to cost.
 
 Perfect for those "extra" things
By Shelley, Hudson Valley, NY, June 16, 2013

Bought this, and packed it flat in my husband's Eagle Creek wheelie. As soon as we had dirty clothes, schwag, and miscellaneous stuff, out it came. What a champ! We used it as our one overhead bag on the flight home from Europe. It's money well-spent.
 
 Great Bag
By JB, Austin, TX, March 28, 2013

I highly recommend this bag. Well built and very spacious for a "small" bag.
 
 Great bag
By Mike, PA, January 4, 2013

This bag is really well constructed and was bigger than I anticipated. I bought it to use as a range bag and if anything, it is a little too big (not what I would call a problem). The only improvement that I would suggest is adding D rings so that I could add a shoulder strap. Great value for the price, but I would certainly pay a little more for the addition of a pair of D rings. However, I will buy another soon.
 
 Almost Perfect
By Rick A, Steamboat Springs CO, November 29, 2012

Used this for a five day trip to Europe and it worked great. A couple of packing cubes helped keep its shape so it didn't collapse on itself. Survived being checked from Austria to OH as well as carry on in Barbie Jets and "real" airplanes.

OTOH, I really missed a shoulder strap schlepping through airports, especially CDG and AMS where if you don't find a baggage cart, it can get a little heavy walking forever between terminals.

 
 Really love this bag
By Anonymous, , November 14, 2012

I received this bag as a present and it has been perfect as a carry on for commuter jet and prop plane rides. It fits in all overhead compartments no matter the plane and I have fit it underneath the seat in front of me. Great for a week of clothes and very light to carry. Packing cubes and aids are a must. Highly recommend it.
 
 Great Bag! Needs D Rings
By Anonymous, , October 19, 2012

Awesome bag...simple, durable, discrete, perfect week or less trip size (more if you are an extreme packer!)

Needs D-rings for over the shoulder straps when carrying a heavily loaded bag...also small nit but while the fabric is very durable the tactile touch is a little lacking. Just doesnt have that heavy duty feel which I assume is a sacrifice in exchange for high durability to weight ratio.
 
 Awesome bag
By Shena, Kansas City, September 2, 2012

I ordered this bag before going on a two-week vacation to Yellowstone and Rocky Mountain National Park. I tend to overpack bags, and the sturdy construction held up very well. I was able to easily fit two+ weeks of clothes into the bag. It's much bigger than the name suggests, and it will be my go-to bag for travel from now on.
 
 Extra bag for souvenir purchases
By Charlotte, Austin, TX, August 30, 2012

I packed this small duffle in my carry on bag during a trip to Europe. It was perfect for having extra storage. The bag was durable, well built and sturdy. I ended up putting all my clothes and other personal items in this bag and checking it on the plane while my souvenirs stayed with me in my carry on luggage. The duffle was checked three times on several flights and was in great shape. I highly recommend the aviator bags.
 
 Love it!
By Teresa, Michigan, August 30, 2012

I am using this bag mainly as a gym bag. The only thing I would change is to add a little outside pocket to keep my padlock in - it usually ends up at the bottom of the bag and I have to dig through everything in order to find it. Otherwise it is perfect. I have also used it as a weekend getaway bag twice already - you can really fit a lot more in it than it appears!! Am loving it - Thanks for making such a great product!
 
 Simply Perfect
By Jeremiah Reilly, Cambridge MA, August 16, 2012

This is the 6th Aviator duffel bag I've purchased. I keep finding more and more uses for them. Each bag is durable, well made, and discrete. It is my go-to bag for travel. I employ the minimalist packing strategy promoted by Onebag.com. I just returned from a trip to California and pack 3 changes of dress clothing, every day wear, swim wear, gifts, a hardback book to read, a laptop---all in the small aviator. Wow.
 
 Perfect fit
By Joe S., Nova Scotia Canada, July 17, 2012

I bought this bag in hopes that its rugged simplicity would be perfect for my needs --- I was not disappointed. I bought this bag and a medium size at the same time. The small will fit the ticket perfectly for its intended use, and the medium will get used as a gear bag for the weekends at the cottage and camping.

I have an LL Bean Quickload that was my entry into the one bag travel arena, but I wanted something "simpler" --- no extra pockets, no straps just a bag to hold stuff. I use packing cubes and this keeps my stuff organized and gives structure to the bag.

The size will pretty much fit any carry-on dimensions going, so this is perfect for the travel I prefer. Even though it is close to half the weight of the Quickload, it feels more durable.

I have recommended this bag to numerous people, since my purchase. Great build quality, super value for your money and fast shipping makes this one of the best deals available.

Buy one because I guarantee you will not be disappointed.
 
1 2 3 Next > 

Photos
Specifications

Aviator Small Specs Size Chart

  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Cordura Nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Wraparound handclasp with Mil-Spec snaps
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Available in Black only
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • US Dimensions: 22"L x 8"W x 11"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 55.9cm L x 20.3cm W x 27.9cm H
  • US Capacity: 1,936 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 31.6 Liters
  • US Weight: 1.4 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 0.64 Kilos

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 30 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

What's the size difference between the Aviators?
Aviators come in four sizes. Look under the specifications tab for the measurements.
 
Why are some Mesh?
We liked the idea of a breathable bag, especially for damp clothes and beach or swimming accessories.
 
Do you have a comparison chart?
There's a photograph of all the bags side by side located under the Photos tab.
 
Are these carry-on legal?
The Extra Small and the Small Aviator are both carry-on legal.
 
Why isn't there a shoulder strap?
The bag would not work with a shoulder strap as the break over zipper configuration is designed to open the bag fully. Check out this review written by a fan for a simple solution to this question in the section titled: Simple Modifications to an Aviator Bag Improves Use.
 
Can you tell me what a "break over zipper configuration" is?
The zipper goes over the top and down the sides of the bag.
 
Are the Kit Bags waterproof?
All Red Oxx bags are water resistant, not waterproof. The stitching puts holes in the fabric.
 
Are they a lesser quality than the rest of your bags?
All Red Oxx Bags are made to the same high quality standards and are covered by our lifetime warranty.
 
Why is the price so much lower?
Our Aviator line represents refined simplicity. By having fewer features such as pockets, heavy-duty hardware and being made in one color with fewer pieces to be cut and stitched, and less time to make each bag, we can charge a much lower price.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
To keep the price down, we did not include interior pockets.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my bag?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.