Skip Navigation LinksHome  > Red Oxx Merchandise  > Aviator Duffel Bags  > Extra-Small-Aviator-Bag

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I'm extra small. The new big.”
Red Oxx Extra Small Aviator Kit Bag

Extra Small Aviator Bag $45.00


In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


"Extra Small" in name only.

Capacity can be a deceptive beast.

Based on the Aviator Bag from our days in military service, this rectangular shaped bag is perfect for stowing sleeping bags, emergency roadside assistance supplies in the trunk of your car or even as a short trip laundry bag. This is the smallest in the Aviator Bag series. Which, frankly isn't saying much because it can carry A LOT. However, folded flat and tucked into your regular carry-on bag on the trip out, the Extra Small Aviator can return home filled with souvenirs and gifts as your "personal item" on the plane.

The Aviator line of storage and carry gear bags were developed for the budget minded. Featuring the same sturdy materials like 1000 weight CORDURA® nylon fabric and heavy-duty hardware as our regular Red Oxx bags, the Aviators are simplicity by design. They don't have a shoulder strap or the D-ring attachments because the "break-over" zip open design does not condone itself with using a strap. Nor do they have any pockets or padding. Just a good old basic hand carry bag to serve basic simple needs without the extravagance or expense.

The reason Red Oxx uses the largest zipper we can afford, the #10 YKK VISLON® zipper, is that they are easily repairable, even in the field; they will hold their place, that is, they "lock"; they are difficult to penetrate, thereby increasing the security of your belongings; they function smoothly in inclement weather and they can be yanked from a variety of angles without losing teeth or becoming separated.

Just 15 inches long, this rectangular kit bag stands at 8 inches wide and nearly a foot tall. The 3/4 wraparound break over #10 YKK heavy-duty zipper configuration opens up the bag nearly flat. Enveloping 1.5 inch wide webbing handle wraps all the way around the bottom of the bag. It's also double box stitched at all stress points. Lots of folks like to pack them along inside their luggage because it folds flat. Also makes an ideal CPAP machine bag. Buy two or more Extra Small Aviator Kit Bags, you'll always find a use for more than one!

The Red Oxx Extra Small Aviator Bag, built to the same heavy-duty exacting standards as all our bags. Available in Black only.

Sometimes simplicity rules.

Dimensions: 15"L x 8"W x 11"H (carry-on).
Capacity: 1,320 cubic inches.
Weight: 1.1 pounds.

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time Distance Map.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, products in production and delivery time? - Check out this personal message from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your Extra Small Aviator.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear with pride.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond a dozen working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is always secure.

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your Extra Small Aviator Kit Bag on our production schedule. Your bag will then be shipped in under 14 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

Every great bag needs cool accessories.

Write a Review

4.82 Average Rating
 (55 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 Next > 
 Would be five stars with shoulder-strap option, pockets
By Tyler, Nashville, TN, March 3, 2011

I travel often for business (on road ~20 weeks/year for 1-4 nights at a time) and bought this bag because my roller bag was just too much for most of my trips. This is a great bag and, as dumb as this sounds, it's a lot bigger than it appears on screen: pay attention to the physical measurements. Capacity is huge: I travel pretty light, but I can readily pack clothes for a 3 or 4 day business trip, including workout gear and running shoes (it requires wearing or rolling your jacket/blazer, which won't fit folded). At the same time, when underpacked it easily smushes down, making it stowable under the forward seat or taking up spots in overhead compartments that are way too small for rollers. The hardware is simple and sturdy.

Two things keep this bag from getting five stars. First, it should really have shoulder strap connections. Because of its huge capacity, the bag can be really heavy when stuffed, which can make it exhausting to hold in hand at all times. I think this is such a serious omission that I may wind up adding loops myself - because otherwise, I love it. Second (and this is far more minor) a couple of patch pockets on the inside of the bag would be a nice addition for tucking a cosmetics zip-lock bag, cell/computer charger, ticket, etc.
 
 Excellent
By Chris, MN, February 17, 2011

I bought 2 of these without ever seeing them in person. I am very happy with the purchase. I see multiple uses for these bags. I've used the bags on multiple occasions for carrying textbooks, clothes, food, and computer equipment. On a recent trip overseas, I rolled up this bag and put it in my carry-on. I ended up buying some duty-free whiskey as a gift and was given some cheap plastic bags. I was able to stuff the purchases into the aviator and was able to securely transport my newly acquired items.

I build quality on these bags is ridiculous. Simple, but very sturdy. The webbing that is wrapped around the entire bag does not make me worry that the bag will fall apart if I'm carrying a heavy load. I wish I could say I would buy more extra small bags, but I'm afraid these bags will last forever. I highly recommend them if you are looking for a simple duffel bag that will last forever.
 
 Perfect carry-on for those short trips
By Jonathan, Ontario Canada, February 17, 2011

Those short, one or two night, trips that involve flying, can pose some tricky choices for luggage. This bag is perfect when you are travelling light. It's surprisingly roomy for such a small bag. It fits easily in the overhead compartment of even the smallest planes. It's also great to toss into a bigger bag giving you options for the return trip when you've bought things and need some extra space. For $30 you can't beat it! Excellent construction too!
 
 Amazing Bag
By L. Smith, Atlanta, GA, February 10, 2011

This bag is wonderful! I'm pleasantly surprised how roomy it is every time I use it. I wavered back and forth between the xs and the s for my go to travel bag. I'm really happy I went with the xs. I haven't been able to completely fill it yet.

Whenever I unpack it I'm reminded of Mary Poppins bag. It doesn't look or feel big but it holds a huge amount of stuff!
 
 Not So Small
By Alan, North Carolina, February 10, 2011

This bag always looked too small to me to be of use according to the website---Wrong!! I finally saw one in person on a cruise to the Bahamas. A fellow cruise passenger had one to take his beach gear from the ship to Coco Cay, the private island the cruise line leases. As fellow Red Oxx fans, we immediately struck up a conversation and I knew I had to get that bag when I got back home!!! It might be "small" compared to the larger models, but the bag hold plenty, trust me!! Now I use it as my personal carry on bag when I fly.
 
 Rugged and useful...
By Gary, NW Indiana, October 27, 2010

I use this bag to cart around my large format (4x5) camera gear. My camera, film, meter and holders fit well in this.

It's a great alternative to a standard camera bag. If you do large format, get one.
 
 Perfect
By Jeremiah Reilly, Montpelier VT, October 15, 2010

The xs aviator bag is perfect for the lean, serene traveler. I debated between ordering the s or xs and am glad that I choose the xs. Simple, sturdy, unfussy, sharp looking. For any travel which does not involve carry luggage long distances-most of my travel-this bag is perfect. I bought it to test on a weekend flight to Michigan and I was only able to make my connections because I could get on and off planes quickly and pass through security quickly. The Red Oxx XS Aviator plus the concepts from http://www.onebag.com/ are the perfect match. I could easily pack clothing and essentials for 5 to 10 days in the bag. If I were traveling longer or carrying my luggage with transport, I would order one of the Red Oxx bags with shoulder straps.
 
 Second Aviator bag and I need more
By joi edwards, California, October 3, 2010

I got a Small Aviator bag a while back and have used it for many different things, Storing exercise equipment, Emergency Gear bag, Art bag on a painting crawl. Looking through your website I noticed that there was a smaller Aviator, the Extra Small! I needed a new gym bag and ordered one to try it out. It is perfect. I organize my gear in smaller bags so the wide-mouth is great. I can get a full change of clothes, 2 towels, small toilet kit, small bag of exercise stuff and my shoe bag. Fits in the locker when full. The perfect bag. I'm trying to figure out why I need another bag.
 
 EXCELLENT SMALL CARRYON
By Anonymous, Wauwatosa, WI, September 30, 2010

The ES Aviator is excellent as a small carryon. As remarked by others it has a deceptively large capacity and the unstructured nature of the bag works in its favor. I do not mind the lack of any pockets. Using a medium EC packing cube gave me all the internal structure I needed for a recent 3 day business trip requiring semi casual attire and was able to us the ES Aviator as my only carryon. As with all Redoxx products the build quality is outstanding. It is perfectly suited to even the smallest regional jets. The only complaint, as has been noted by others, is that it lacks strap attachment points. There are times when having the ability to sling the bag over my shoulder and have two hands free is a huge advantage. If the bag had attachment points it would be my main go to bag for short, casual trips.
 
 Absolutely Great
By jdmitch, Olathe, KS, April 5, 2010

I use this for a travel bag. Fits in even the smallest overheads (and sometimes behind the very back seat in small planes). I can go (and have gone) an entire week out of this bag. I'd love to see an XXS for a workout gear bag.
 
 Give it 5 stars
By John V., San Diego, CA, December 22, 2009

I use (it) to carry all the things I need to take to work everyday. The

bag is a perfect fit for one of my panniers on my R100GS BMW. I am

loving the bag. It has done a great job. I only wish it had a pocket

to hold my keys and a few small Items. Thanks for making great

products.

John
 
 great carry on bag
By Kevin B., Dallas, December 3, 2009

I needed a bag to fit in "the seat in front of you" as a carry-on bag. This is perfect. I put my roll-aboard up in the bin. I put my 12" notebook in its sleeve and slide it into this bag along with other carry-on essentials such as a nice book to read, digital camera case, sweater, scarf, and a few other odds'n ends. It is a great little bag. I love the way the bag's zippers go almost all the way around. It makes it easy to zip all the way open, stack tons of stuff inside, then zip shut. I fly over 130 thousand miles a year and this bag is usally with me. Great complement to my 22" roll-aboard bag.
 
 This Bag and the Rick Steves Packing Cubes are Made for Each Other
By Michael W., Northern California, August 18, 2009

Rick Steves Packing Cube Set:

....

one large @ 14x11x5 plus two small @ 7x11x5 (two small, side by side, match one large cube)

....

Small Aviator Bag = 15x11x8 - a perfect match (well, the cubes stacked could hit 10", but I seldom fill both sets completely)

....

Separated at birth?

....

Or BFFL (best friends for life)?

....

I can pack all my ESSENTIAL extra clothing for a week's trip to Thailand in one large Steves cube plus one small cube (spare Ex Officio pants, lightweight synthetic short sleeve polo shirts in the large cube; underwear and socks in one of the small cubes). My toiletries and miscellaneous essential junk fit the other small cube. The large cube is fully packed to its full 5" thickness, but the the smaller cubes which fill out the width of the Extra Small Aviator are only about half filled, which works perfectly with the Extra Small Aviator's 8" width.

....

The Cubes provide all the organization I really need, which organization the Aviator, a marvel of simplicity, lacks on its own.

....

This results in such a small carry-on bag that I can't imagine any airline ever turning it down, even on the smaller regional jets with small overhead bins that I encounter in SE Asia. It WILL fit under the seat if necessary.

....

When I get to my destination I pull the cubes out and live out of them.

....

Mind you, if you need a bag to help with your organizing, you are better off with Red Oxx's conventional duffel bag series, which have lots of useful slots and pockets. But if you use a packing cube system or packing cubes plus Ziplocs or ditties, this might be perfect, and save you some weight without giving up the basic robust construction.

....

My personal bag (or personal item, in airline lingo) is the Gator - it holds the junk I need for the flight itself (netbook, snacks, neck pillow, sweater, etc.). In the worst case scenario it will also stuff under the seat - or fit the smallest of small, the most over-stuffed of overstuffed, overhead bins.

....

My checked bag, for my NON-essential "luxury items" like some extra clothing (the bulkier denim pants, the bulkier long sleeve cotton polos, beach/shower flip flops and extra shoes), gym gear, is a Red Oxx SMALL Aviator (which is also carryon sized, but much larger than I need for carryon).

....

I love the Aviator series because they don't waste weight on pockets and slots and straps and strap attachment points, but are still made to Red Oxx quality standards and have their "non-slip" zippers which won't open until you tug the zipper pulls - hence no chance a careless TSA inspector might forget to close the zipper all the way, and stuff starts widening the opening and spilling out.

....

BTW, the "mesh" version of this bag works too, but I discovered that the mesh version isn't "spill-proof" so unless you want to wrap your cubes/bundles in a plastic sack, this non-mesh version is better for real travel, the mesh version better for gym use.
 
 a problem solver
By Peter Berg, Hawai'i, December 11, 2008

I've got two of these - Extra Small - that I use for tool bags. They are perfect: I like that they open fully enough to have the tools laid out for easy, dirt free access, and that they suffer continued abuse with grace.Thank you!!PeterQuindembo Bamboo NurseryHawai'i
 
 Good car organizer
By Anonymous, , September 19, 2007

I bought this thinking it would be good for a spare bag on trips but I think the next larger size might be better. But this probably could do as an emergency overflow bag even though it seems to be an odd size. I have it now in my car holding all the gear like a towel, flashlight, bungee cords, and a mapsco. I think I could also fit jumpers in there if I wanted. It's a nice way to organize everything so I can easily find it or move it around if I need space. As with all the Red Oxx products I own it's very rugged and tough. I could see this or the mesh version being a very good bag for the gym clothes, but I use my Sunchaser for that. I think it's a great value for the price and the quality you get.
 
1 2 3 Next > 

Photos
Specifications

Aviator Extra Small Specs Size Chart

  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified CORDURA® Nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Wraparound handclasp with Mil-Spec snaps
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Available in Black only
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • US Dimensions: 15"L x 8"W x 11"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 38.1cm L x 20.3cm W x 27.9cm H
  • US Capacity: 1,320 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 21.6 Liters
  • US Weight: 1.1 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 0.50 Kilos

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 14 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx "No Bull" Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

Red Oxx Bags are guaranteed forever, be sure to include them in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - No Questions Asked. Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

What's the size difference between the Aviators?
Aviators come in four sizes. Look under the specifications tab for the measurements.
 
Why are some Mesh?
We liked the idea of a breathable bag, especially for damp clothes and beach or swimming accessories.
 
Do you have a comparison chart?
There's a photograph of all the bags side by side located under the Photos tab.
 
Are these carry-on legal?
The Extra Small and the Small Aviator are both carry-on legal.
 
Why isn't there a shoulder strap?
The bag would not work with a shoulder strap as the break over zipper configuration is designed to open the bag fully. Check out this review written by a fan for a simple solution to this question in the section titled: Simple Modifications to an Aviator Bag Improves Use.
 
Can you tell me what a "break over zipper configuration" is?
The zipper goes over the top and down the sides of the bag.
 
Are the Kit Bags waterproof?
All Red Oxx bags are water resistant, not waterproof. The stitching puts holes in the fabric.
 
Are they a lesser quality than the rest of your bags?
All Red Oxx Bags are made to the same high quality standards and are covered by our lifetime warranty.
 
Why is the price so much lower?
Our Aviator line represents refined simplicity. By having fewer features such as pockets, heavy-duty hardware and being made in one color with fewer pieces to be cut and stitched, and less time to make each bag, we can charge a much lower price.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
To keep the price down, we did not include interior pockets.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my bag?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.