Skip Navigation LinksHome  > Red Oxx Gear  > Aviator Duffel Bags  > Extra-Small-Aviator-Bag

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I'm extra small. The new big.”
Red Oxx Extra Small Aviator Kit Bag

Extra Small Aviator Bag $40.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


"Extra Small" in name only.

Capacity can be a deceptive beast.

Based on the Aviator Bag from our days in military service, this rectangular bag is perfect for stowing sleeping bags, emergency roadside assistance supplies in the trunk of your car or even as a short trip laundry bag. This is the smallest in the Aviator Bag series. Which, frankly isn't saying much because it can carry A LOT.

Just 15 inches long, this rectangular kit bag stands at 8 inches wide and nearly a foot tall. The 3/4 wraparound #10 YKK heavy-duty zipper opens up the bag nearly flat. Enveloping 1.5 inch wide webbing handle wraps all the way around the bottom of the bag. It's also double box stitched at all stress points. Lots of folks like to pack them along inside their luggage because it folds flat. Also makes an ideal CPAP machine bag.

Sometimes simplicity rules. Available in Black only.

Dimensions: 15"L x 8"W x 11"H (carry-on).
Capacity: 1,320 cubic inches.

"No Bull" Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, in production products and delivery time? - Read this personal letter from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the steps it takes to handcraft your gear.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email and a review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. Backorders beyond a dozen days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is secure.

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your Extra Small Aviator Kit Bag on our production schedule. Your bag will then be delivered in under 30 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

Every great bag needs cool accessories.

Write a Review

4.82 Average Rating
 (50 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 Next > 
 Extra Small
By Gerard, North Dakota, May 10, 2012

picked up the small cause I needed a small bag, way to big, but still dig my small, the extra small is just right for my over night stays and weekend photo shoots. these bags are just plain made well, tough mean and ready, RED OXX is and will stay in my favorites.

Thank you
 
 Not so small
By Anonymous, Vancouver, BC, May 10, 2012

At almost half the size of the maximum legal carryon it's not so small. Yet it fits under the seat. You will be shocked to find what you can pack into this simple, lightweight, durable and cheap bag. Very highly recommended.
 
 Anybody for an Extra Extra Small?
By Lee, Norfolk, VA, March 29, 2012

A superb, little bag. Nothing fancy, but everything done well. I just used this for a long weekend trip and had more than enough room for three pairs of pants, a belt, underwear and socks for four days, a dress shirt, three polo shirts, two t-shirts, a sweater, a pair of shoes, and a small toiletry kit. There was room left over to put in a 7-inch e-book reader in a case, my cell phone, and a magazine. And still room left over. It's an unstructured, single compartment bag made with high-quality materials. If RedOxx ever sells an Extra Extra Small bag (roughly 1000 cubic inches), I may be the first in line to buy it.
 
 Great Little Bag
By Miles G., Las Vegas, March 16, 2012

Great bag; It is well put together, every stitch, button, and zipper, feels solid. I have put some really heavy gear in the bag and it held up.

I have and continue to recommend this bag, it works really well with cocoon grid it pads to keep all your small gear organized.
 
 Big and good value
By Dave, , January 6, 2012

Bigger than one might gather from the name, which is good -- great value. Well made. Tough. Handsome. Made a good gift. Well received.
 
 It Just Works
By Doug, TX, January 5, 2012

I got this to hold stuff in my car's trunk - jumper cables, flashlight, gloves, etc - its the perfect size for that service.

The bag is well built, sturdy and looks like it will last quite a while, probably longer than my car. 3/4 zip most of the way down the bag allows for good access.
 
 perfect
By Robert Glenn, Chicago, IL, November 24, 2011

This bag is the perfect size for what I need and the construction is top notch. This is my second Red Oxx bag and is unlikely to be the last.
 
 Search is over
By Scott, Tennessee, September 29, 2011

I use my air boss for business travel. I bought the extra small and small aviators for weekends and leisure when I don't need all the space. However each of these little bags hold enough for days easily. Tough as nails. Excellent for throw and go. My search is over after 25 yrs for the best duffle bag. Seriously!
 
 GREAT BAG!
By Erik, DCA, September 26, 2011

The is another fine product I have bought from Red Oxx..finally a bag that looks great, REALLY FITS UNDER the cabin seat and allows me to carry a lot of stuff-my CPAP machine, hose, power unit, ipad, headsets and other stuff!!! You guys rock!
 
 rub a dub dub, one bag and a tub!
By Anonymous, brooklyn, ny, September 15, 2011

This bag is beautiful and well-built. Very happy with it. The only issue, as other people have noted in their reviews, is the lack of a shoulder strap. Its true that I'm not quite sure how/where it would fit (and it would take away from the minimal aesthetic of the bag) but because the bag can actually fit a ton of stuff, it becomes heavy to carry in one hand for a long time. Luckily it's also small enough that you can use the hand loops as a tight shoulder strap, however its quite funny.
 
 Rugged small bag
By Istvan, San Jose, California, July 7, 2011

The extra small aviator bag is small, simple and rugged.

This is the fifth Red Oxx product I bought - all are the same quality - they are built to last. I love that I don't have to worry about my bags anymore.
 
 Awesome little bag
By Elisa, Australia, June 23, 2011

This looked so cute that I threw it into an order for a garment bag for my son. It's turned out to be the bag he uses the most. It's a great size for an overnight bag and is also ideal for carrying a ton of textbooks. The quality is excellent and it looks even better in person. A really handy bag, and one which I'm coveting for myself.
 
 Bigger on the inside
By Jessica, Italy, June 13, 2011

This is the magical Mary Poppins bag, or perhaps Hermione Granger put an extendable charm on it -- truly seems bigger on the inside than the outside. I took just a messenger bag and the XS Aviator for 5 days in Greece, including a ton of toiletries, 4 pairs of shoes, and my own beach towel. Using the onebag.com bundle wrapping, everything fit fine. I do wish there was a shoulder strap (even though the Claw strap on my Air Boss is too long for me to use comfortably), but I just put the bag over my forearm when I got tired of holding it in my hand on the 1/2 mile hike between ferry ports. Love how lightweight this is!
 
 The TARDIS of Duffel Bags
By Jamie, Churchville, MD, May 5, 2011

It is bigger on the inside. My first overnight trip with this bag was to a family event. For kicks I decided to pack really poorly and see how much I could cram into the bag. The fact is that I didn't do any cramming.

I fit 1 pair of Top Siders, 1 pair of underwear, 1 pair of athletic socks, 1 pair dress socks, 1 undershirt, 1 pair of dress khakis, 1 short sleeve polo, 1 long sleeve top, 1 dress shirt, 1 pair of new balance running shoes, 1 lightweight windbreaker for running, toothpaste, toothbrush, razor in ziplock.

For context I wear a size 12 wide shoe. I did a bad job folding knowing that my mother has an ironing board. I have no idea how dressy I will need to be so I packed basically 4 days of clothes just in case.

Here is the best part, the big zipped up without any problems. There was room to spare. It is so stout and tough that it will fit anywhere and not be a pain to lug around. Without a laptop it is pretty light. Best of all is that there is room to spare if you want to take an extra pair of shoes or a little something, but not too much room where you take everything you own. You could pack light and buy a t-shirt when you get there.

For less than $50 this bag is a steal. I am kicking myself for buying an Air Boss. All I need is my briefcase and this bag and I will be set for 5 days of clothes for business travel. If I wanted to bring some in flight entertainment, I am sure I can do three days business travel and put my Lil Roy for gadgets on the plane.

There is so much value for your money. Worst case throw some tools in it and see how you like it. I would love to buy another one, but this is the only bag I will need before it wears out in 20 years.

Red Oxx please email me if you are going to stop making this bag, I will buy a few for safe keeping.

Thanks again for making such a great product.
 
 sweet little bag
By a fierro, west texas, March 3, 2011

great little bag for the gym or a change of clothes. made in the U.S.A.
 
 Would be five stars with shoulder-strap option, pockets
By Tyler, Nashville, TN, March 3, 2011

I travel often for business (on road ~20 weeks/year for 1-4 nights at a time) and bought this bag because my roller bag was just too much for most of my trips. This is a great bag and, as dumb as this sounds, it's a lot bigger than it appears on screen: pay attention to the physical measurements. Capacity is huge: I travel pretty light, but I can readily pack clothes for a 3 or 4 day business trip, including workout gear and running shoes (it requires wearing or rolling your jacket/blazer, which won't fit folded). At the same time, when underpacked it easily smushes down, making it stowable under the forward seat or taking up spots in overhead compartments that are way too small for rollers. The hardware is simple and sturdy.

Two things keep this bag from getting five stars. First, it should really have shoulder strap connections. Because of its huge capacity, the bag can be really heavy when stuffed, which can make it exhausting to hold in hand at all times. I think this is such a serious omission that I may wind up adding loops myself - because otherwise, I love it. Second (and this is far more minor) a couple of patch pockets on the inside of the bag would be a nice addition for tucking a cosmetics zip-lock bag, cell/computer charger, ticket, etc.
 
 Excellent
By Chris, MN, February 17, 2011

I bought 2 of these without ever seeing them in person. I am very happy with the purchase. I see multiple uses for these bags. I've used the bags on multiple occasions for carrying textbooks, clothes, food, and computer equipment. On a recent trip overseas, I rolled up this bag and put it in my carry-on. I ended up buying some duty-free whiskey as a gift and was given some cheap plastic bags. I was able to stuff the purchases into the aviator and was able to securely transport my newly acquired items.

I build quality on these bags is ridiculous. Simple, but very sturdy. The webbing that is wrapped around the entire bag does not make me worry that the bag will fall apart if I'm carrying a heavy load. I wish I could say I would buy more extra small bags, but I'm afraid these bags will last forever. I highly recommend them if you are looking for a simple duffel bag that will last forever.
 
 Perfect carry-on for those short trips
By Jonathan, Ontario Canada, February 17, 2011

Those short, one or two night, trips that involve flying, can pose some tricky choices for luggage. This bag is perfect when you are travelling light. It's surprisingly roomy for such a small bag. It fits easily in the overhead compartment of even the smallest planes. It's also great to toss into a bigger bag giving you options for the return trip when you've bought things and need some extra space. For $30 you can't beat it! Excellent construction too!
 
 Amazing Bag
By L. Smith, Atlanta, GA, February 10, 2011

This bag is wonderful! I'm pleasantly surprised how roomy it is every time I use it. I wavered back and forth between the xs and the s for my go to travel bag. I'm really happy I went with the xs. I haven't been able to completely fill it yet.

Whenever I unpack it I'm reminded of Mary Poppins bag. It doesn't look or feel big but it holds a huge amount of stuff!
 
 Not So Small
By Alan, North Carolina, February 10, 2011

This bag always looked too small to me to be of use according to the website---Wrong!! I finally saw one in person on a cruise to the Bahamas. A fellow cruise passenger had one to take his beach gear from the ship to Coco Cay, the private island the cruise line leases. As fellow Red Oxx fans, we immediately struck up a conversation and I knew I had to get that bag when I got back home!!! It might be "small" compared to the larger models, but the bag hold plenty, trust me!! Now I use it as my personal carry on bag when I fly.
 
1 2 3 Next > 

Photos
Specifications

Aviator Extra Small Specs Size Chart

  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Cordura Nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • All zippers #10 YKK self-locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Wraparound handclasp with Mil-Spec snaps
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Available in Black only
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • US Dimensions: 15"L x 8"W x 11"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 38.1cm L x 20.3cm W x 27.9cm H
  • US Capacity: 1,320 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 21.6 Liters

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 30 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

What's the size difference between the Aviators?
Aviators come in four sizes. Look under the specifications tab for the measurements.
 
Why are some Mesh?
We liked the idea of a breathable bag, especially for damp clothes and beach or swimming accessories.
 
Do you have a comparison chart?
There's a photograph of all the bags side by side located under the Photos tab.
 
Are these carry-on legal?
The Extra Small and the Small Aviator are both carry-on legal.
 
Is there a shoulder strap?
The bag would not work with a shoulder strap as the zipper is designed to open the bag fully.
 
Are the Kit Bags waterproof?
All Red Oxx bags are water resistant, not waterproof. The stitching puts holes in the fabric.
 
Are they a lesser quality than the rest of your bags?
All Red Oxx Bags are made to the same high quality standards and are covered by our lifetime warranty.
 
Why is the price so much lower?
Our Aviator line represents refined simplicity. By having fewer features such as pockets, heavy-duty hardware and being made in one color with fewer pieces to be cut and stitched, and less time to make each bag, we can charge a much lower price.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
To keep the price down, we did not include interior pockets.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.