Skip Navigation LinksHome  > Gear Reviews  > Red Oxx Joins Men on a Mozzie Net Mission  > Extra-Small-Aviator-Bag

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I'm extra small. The new big.”
Red Oxx Extra Small Aviator Kit Bag

Extra Small Aviator Bag $45.00



In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


"Extra Small" in name only.

Capacity can be a deceptive beast.

Based on the Aviator Bag from our days in military service, this rectangular shaped bag is perfect for stowing sleeping bags, emergency roadside assistance supplies in the trunk of your car or even as a short trip laundry bag. This is the smallest in the Aviator Kit Bag series. Which, frankly isn't saying much because it can carry A LOT. However, folded flat and tucked into your regular carry-on bag on the trip out, the Extra Small Aviator can return home filled with souvenirs and gifts as your "personal item" on the plane.

The Aviator line of storage and carry gear bags were developed for the budget minded. Featuring the same sturdy materials like 1000 weight CORDURA® Brand Nylon fabric and heavy-duty hardware as our regular Red Oxx bags, the Aviators are simplicity by design. They don't have a shoulder strap or the D-ring attachments because the "break-over" zip open design does not condone itself with using a strap. Nor do they have any pockets or padding. Just a good-old basic hand carry bag to serve basic simple needs without the extravagance or expense.

The reason Red Oxx uses the largest zipper we can afford, the #10 YKK VISLON® zipper, is that they are easily repairable, even in the field; they will hold their place, that is, they "lock"; they are difficult to penetrate, thereby increasing the security of your belongings; they function smoothly in inclement weather and they can be yanked from a variety of angles without losing teeth or becoming separated.

Just 15 inches long, this rectangular kit bag stands at 8 inches wide and nearly a foot tall. The 3/4 wraparound break over #10 YKK heavy-duty zipper configuration opens up the bag nearly flat. Enveloping 1.5 inch wide webbing handle wraps all the way around the bottom of the bag. It's also double box stitched at all stress points. Lots of folks like to pack them along inside their luggage because it folds flat. Also makes an ideal CPAP machine bag, roadside emergency kit for your car's trunk, a tool bag, a motorcyle helmet storage bag or stuff your work or sports boots in it. Buy two or more Extra Small Aviator Kit Bags, you'll always find a use for more than one!

The Red Oxx Extra Small Aviator Bag, built to the same heavy-duty exacting standards as all our bags. Available in Black only.

Sometimes simplicity rules.

Dimensions: 15"L x 8"W x 11"H (carry-on).
Capacity: 1,320 cubic inches.
Weight: 1.1 pounds.

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Transit Shipping Time Map.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your Extra Small Aviator.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear with pride.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond a dozen working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. During checkout purchasers have the option to opt-out of our other occasional email notifications. Your email address is always secure.

Every great bag needs cool accessories.

Write a Review

4.81 Average Rating
 (58 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 Next > 
 Extra Small Aviator Bag
By Jeff S., Cleveland, OH, January 24, 2013

My stable of Red Oxx bags keeps growing. I'm always looking for the lightest and most flexible carry-on as I am a devout one-bag traveler. The Air Boss is my constant. Took the advice from a travel forum and got this bag to function as my "personal item". No problem on any airliner so far...and that includes a host of the smaller regional jets. Just ordered the mesh version for the heck of it. I love this stuff !!
 
 Great Bag
By T Park, Los Angeles, November 17, 2012

Using it as an emergency kit bag in the car. Simple, great size, made in America with a lifetime warranty. What more could you want? Maybe a couple more of them.
 
 Awesome.
By Joe S., Nova Scotia Canada, July 31, 2012

Bought this bag for weeekend getaways.

Don't let the title of the bag fool you.

There is tons of room in this bag when packed accordingly.

Superior value for the money.

Good construction and tough materials.

I bought a second one to use for holding gear in my Jeep.

Use it daily as a bag for the gym, or use it for long weekends, this bag does it all.

Truly an awesome purchase.

The only "buyers remorse" is not getting one.
 
 Great little bag!
By Anonymous, , July 11, 2012

Great bag. Top notch materials used. Very sturdy. Square size holds many items.
 
 Great Bag
By CK, Washington, DC, June 28, 2012

I absolutely love this bag. It's small is size but because of the shape will hold a bunch of stuff.

I'm going to use it for a bunch of different things, such as a carry on, gym bag, and any other uses I can find. I travel quite a bit overseas and will also use it for those trips.

I'm also a wildland firefighter, so I'll be taking this with me on assignment. It is very rugged and well built. I imagine I'll have it for many many years; if not decades.

Another thing...you can't beat the price!!
 
 This Bag ROCKS!
By Keely, Midwest, June 14, 2012

I'm a Bass Guitarist and needed a sturdy bag for my microphone, miscellaneous cords, etc. Hard cases were too limiting while duffle/gym bags were too long. This is just what I needed. The footprint is perfect for sitting atop my loaded cart of equipment secured by a bungee cord. "Made In USA" makes a difference!
 
 Wow! Count me impressed
By Dex, San Francisco, June 2, 2012

Ordered one on a whim when I purchased my Metro Briefcase. Glad I did. I have been looking for a general purpose, tough as nails bag that could be used to haul a variety of items--volleyball and ski gear, papers, groceries, and the miscellaneous junk that seems to fill my car trunk all too often. As a gear carrier, this bag is unsurpassed. With what seems to be a bottomless capacity, I can stuff this bag to the gills and still have room for more stuff.

The only other bags on the market that even comes close in terns of durability and carrying capacity are the bags that are produced by Porta-Brace . . . and they are three times the cost. No thanks.

Red Oxx, you have a winner here.
 
 Great bag as to be expected.
By T Davis, Nd, May 24, 2012

As usual after buying a red oxx bag my expectations are exceeded. The small aviator bag filled my needs and them some. Quality and performance are top notch.
 
 Extra Small
By Gerard, North Dakota, May 10, 2012

picked up the small cause I needed a small bag, way to big, but still dig my small, the extra small is just right for my over night stays and weekend photo shoots. these bags are just plain made well, tough mean and ready, RED OXX is and will stay in my favorites.

Thank you
 
 Not so small
By Anonymous, Vancouver, BC, May 10, 2012

At almost half the size of the maximum legal carryon it's not so small. Yet it fits under the seat. You will be shocked to find what you can pack into this simple, lightweight, durable and cheap bag. Very highly recommended.
 
 Anybody for an Extra Extra Small?
By Lee, Norfolk, VA, March 29, 2012

A superb, little bag. Nothing fancy, but everything done well. I just used this for a long weekend trip and had more than enough room for three pairs of pants, a belt, underwear and socks for four days, a dress shirt, three polo shirts, two t-shirts, a sweater, a pair of shoes, and a small toiletry kit. There was room left over to put in a 7-inch e-book reader in a case, my cell phone, and a magazine. And still room left over. It's an unstructured, single compartment bag made with high-quality materials. If RedOxx ever sells an Extra Extra Small bag (roughly 1000 cubic inches), I may be the first in line to buy it.
 
 Great Little Bag
By Miles G., Las Vegas, March 16, 2012

Great bag; It is well put together, every stitch, button, and zipper, feels solid. I have put some really heavy gear in the bag and it held up.

I have and continue to recommend this bag, it works really well with cocoon grid it pads to keep all your small gear organized.
 
 Big and good value
By Dave, , January 6, 2012

Bigger than one might gather from the name, which is good -- great value. Well made. Tough. Handsome. Made a good gift. Well received.
 
 It Just Works
By Doug, TX, January 5, 2012

I got this to hold stuff in my car's trunk - jumper cables, flashlight, gloves, etc - its the perfect size for that service.

The bag is well built, sturdy and looks like it will last quite a while, probably longer than my car. 3/4 zip most of the way down the bag allows for good access.
 
 perfect
By Robert Glenn, Chicago, IL, November 24, 2011

This bag is the perfect size for what I need and the construction is top notch. This is my second Red Oxx bag and is unlikely to be the last.
 
 Search is over
By Scott, Tennessee, September 29, 2011

I use my air boss for business travel. I bought the extra small and small aviators for weekends and leisure when I don't need all the space. However each of these little bags hold enough for days easily. Tough as nails. Excellent for throw and go. My search is over after 25 yrs for the best duffle bag. Seriously!
 
 GREAT BAG!
By Erik, DCA, September 26, 2011

The is another fine product I have bought from Red Oxx..finally a bag that looks great, REALLY FITS UNDER the cabin seat and allows me to carry a lot of stuff-my CPAP machine, hose, power unit, ipad, headsets and other stuff!!! You guys rock!
 
 rub a dub dub, one bag and a tub!
By Anonymous, brooklyn, ny, September 15, 2011

This bag is beautiful and well-built. Very happy with it. The only issue, as other people have noted in their reviews, is the lack of a shoulder strap. Its true that I'm not quite sure how/where it would fit (and it would take away from the minimal aesthetic of the bag) but because the bag can actually fit a ton of stuff, it becomes heavy to carry in one hand for a long time. Luckily it's also small enough that you can use the hand loops as a tight shoulder strap, however its quite funny.
 
 Rugged small bag
By Istvan, San Jose, California, July 7, 2011

The extra small aviator bag is small, simple and rugged.

This is the fifth Red Oxx product I bought - all are the same quality - they are built to last. I love that I don't have to worry about my bags anymore.
 
 Awesome little bag
By Elisa, Australia, June 23, 2011

This looked so cute that I threw it into an order for a garment bag for my son. It's turned out to be the bag he uses the most. It's a great size for an overnight bag and is also ideal for carrying a ton of textbooks. The quality is excellent and it looks even better in person. A really handy bag, and one which I'm coveting for myself.
 
1 2 3 Next > 

Photos
Specifications

Aviator Extra Small Specs Size Chart

  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified CORDURA® Nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Wraparound handclasp with Mil-Spec snaps
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Available in Black only
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • US Dimensions: 15"L x 8"W x 11"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 38.1cm L x 20.3cm W x 27.9cm H
  • US Capacity: 1,320 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 21.6 Liters
  • US Weight: 1.1 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 0.50 Kilos

If out of stock, back orders are typically filled within 14 working days. Visit our Customer Service Help Desk or call our Toll Free Hot Line: 1-888-733-6999.

Related Articles
Red Oxx "No Bull" Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

Red Oxx Bags are guaranteed forever, be sure to include them in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - No Questions Asked. Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

What's the size difference between the Aviators?
Aviators come in four sizes. Look under the specifications tab for the measurements.
 
Why are some Mesh?
We liked the idea of a breathable bag, especially for damp clothes and beach or swimming accessories.
 
Do you have a comparison chart?
There's a photograph of all the bags side by side located under the Photos tab.
 
Are these carry-on legal?
The Extra Small and the Small Aviator are both carry-on legal.
 
Why isn't there a shoulder strap?
The Aviator style kit bag does not work with a shoulder strap as the break-over zipper configuration is designed to open the bag fully. Our prototype also twisted and flopped around. Our bag testing team hated it. However, check out this review written by a fan for a simple solution to this question in the section titled: "Simple Modifications to an Aviator Bag Improves Use."
 
Can you tell me what a "break over zipper configuration" is?
The zipper goes over the top and down the sides of the bag.
 
Are the Kit Bags waterproof?
All Red Oxx bags are water resistant, not waterproof. The stitching puts holes in the fabric.
 
Are they a lesser quality than the rest of your bags?
All Red Oxx Bags are made to the same high quality standards and are covered by our lifetime warranty.
 
Why is the price so much lower?
Our Aviator line represents refined simplicity. By having fewer features such as pockets, heavy-duty hardware and being made in one color with fewer pieces to be cut and stitched, and less time to make each bag, we can charge a much lower price.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
To keep the price down, we did not include interior pockets.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my bag?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.
 

Take me to the top