Skip Navigation LinksHome  > Gear Reviews  > What makes the perfect carry on bag?  > Extra-Small-Aviator-Bag

Email Red OxxRed Oxx on YoutubeRed Oxx on YoutubeRed Oxx on InstagramPin it on Red Oxx PinterestJoin Red Oxx on facebook.Red Oxx on Google Plus

Red Oxx Extra Small Aviator Kit Bag


Write a Review

4.82 Average Rating
 (67 Reviews)

1 2 3 4 Next > 
 Almost perfect
By , Minnesota, November 27, 2013

I bought the bag because I travel a lot via SpiritAir and they have a policy of a very small bag, otherwise you pay a lot in fees. Sometimes the airline people gets nasty and most backpacks don't fit the size required. So I called mine "The Spirit Killer", with more than enough room for a weekend set of casual clothes. Only thing missing is a strap. Quality is excellent and I was really surprised to see everything fitting (Clothes, iPad, chargers, GPS, Radar detector, toiletries).
 Nice Personal Item Bag
By , Missouri, November 23, 2013

Sturdy as all Red Oxx products; I used this as my "extra" carry on/personal item. Used it for extra clothes, electronics, passports, souvenirs and anything else I didn't want to risk losing/breaking when my main carry on was gate checked. Holds a lot more stuff than it looks, but it may be too small for the one-bag-only types.
 Fly bag?.
By , Orlando, florida, October 20, 2013

Not sure where this got its name but don't think it's an a aviators bag. I use it as an extra bag to bring home dirty clothes or extra things on trips. It packs inside my carry on nicely and can use it on my return trips. The closest thing I have seen to a true aviators bag is the gator. Great bag to hold my flying supplies and small enough to use in small cockpits
 95% Perfect. Missing 5%.
By , NJ, October 5, 2013

First, I have to say this is one of the best, simplest bags on the market from any manufacturer.

The simple rectangular shape allows more to be packed than bags that appear larger. The one large pocket design also works well for places like South East Asia where there's a lot of rampant pickpocketing. It's common to check bags when entering stores in South East Asia these days, and the single pocket makes it easy to lock up all your valuables if you need to check your bag.

However, there is one thing that stops this bag from being perfect. Redoxx should reconsider their design decision to add optional D rings. I understand that adding D rings would take away from the "aviator bag" simplicity and heritage, but I would highly encourage Redoxx to make it an optional add on.

The reason I say this is because I've witnessed villagers, incredibly poor people, who rely on bags for survival (ie: food, water, medicine). What I mean is, they rely on their bags to be durable enough to last year after year through daily use and harsh environments (like monsoon season). They NEED D rings so they can attach straps to carry two bags on each shoulder and leave their hands free to carry more things. The D rings would also allow them to secure the bags during transportation (for example on the roof racks or in the bed of the trucks).

The most evident experience was when I witnessed a group of villagers unload water from a Toyota Hilux in the Himalayan hills, and the nylon bag they were using to transport the water containers ripped. I couldn't see exactly how many containers broke, but from the commotion, it seemed serious. Given that it had taken me 6 hours with a private driver to get to the village, I would predict that it had taken the villagers over 16 hours with multiple busses, oxen, and finally a transportation Hilux to get to the same spot.

The affordable price of the aviator bags (which is still expensive for poor people) would make this bag perfect for villager who really need a solid, high quality bag. Having used the XS Aviator extensively, I can attest to the fact that Redoxx makes their gear with the utmost emphasis on quality.

However, if Redoxx could reconsider adding D rings, they could genuinely help people in need and help improve lives. As long as the cost of the Aviator bags remains affordable (no need to include a Claw Strap for example), these Aviator bags could help hundreds if not thousands of poor villagers in South East Asia.

Thanks for reading my review.

- AS.
 Great Bag!!
By , Charlotte, NC, August 4, 2013

Our daughter (20 yr) spent 10 months in Malewi, Africa. She needed a carry-on that would 'fit' and a bag that would serve well while on her mission trip. I gave her my bag (small aviator) and she loved it!! Needless say, the bag is serving her well. She said it is "very rugged" and "takes a beating" yet still looks great. She is always getting offers from people wanting to buy the bag. There is a saying that 'everything has a price'..well, she said she won't put a price on this bag. Needless to say, I had to buy another one (small aviator - great for a 3 or 4 day trip) along with the metro bag..would recommend these bags to any traveler, parent, student, etc.
 Very well made
By , Canada, July 4, 2013

Exceptional quality for a very reasonable price. It's a bit bigger than I expected. The only thing I would suggest is a photo of a person carrying the bag to give a better perspective of it's size. It's a wonderful product. Thank you!
 Extra small but extra useful
By , Western US, June 20, 2013

I sought, for a couple years, a simple, durable bag that will fit under an airline seat and be my One Bag.

Several promotional duffles later, I stumbled upon the name RedOxx. Hmmmm. Made in the US? Tough? Solid color? I'll try it.

This bag is the size of some women's handbags, but being rectangular holds much more without looking like the coolest thing to thieves.

I've schlepped it across country and to events. While the handles do fit over my shoulder, it really, really needs D rings so a strap can be added for long distance carrying.

I doubt every purchaser will use this as an one and only bag, but those of us who do need that weight to not slide as we are running for a train. Or bus. Or ferry.

It is tough, yet not heavy. It fits under an airline seat with a bit of room left...maybe even a slim bag could fit in next to it. Durable, quiet zippers.

Used with packing cubes, it's a simple system for three days or three months in two climates. Your parka and snow boots won't fit.

Yes, I'm a one bag woman. I can get the daily essentials plus one dress up outfit in this. And my iPad, phone, and book for electronics free situations.

The Extra Small Aviator Kit is an extra small bag that can take on the temperate and tropical world along with a Rocky Mountain spring snow, in a very big way.

 Do not let the words extra small fool you
By , Pleasant Prairie, WI, May 30, 2013

I am work in Medical Sales, usually wear scrubs when travelling for work. I was looking for a small bag to take on overnight trips. I now use this bag for trips that last up to four days. 4 pairs of scrubs, t-shirts, underwear, socks, jeans and 4 dress shirts to wear in the evening all fit. Along with a pair of shoes! Wow, one of the best purchase I have made. I travel 45 weeks out of the year, this fits in every overhead I have encountered. Will definitely be purchasing other bags as needed.
 Perfect under seat carry on!
By , dearborn, mi, May 13, 2013

Deceptively small, this is a perfect fit for those who wish to skip the fees and stay within the boundaries when flying with Spirit. Very well made in the US at a price that cannot be beat. While I do wish there were d-rings attached that does not in any way make this bag substandard. Very pleased with my purchase and have even convinced my wife to start packing smart.
 Extra Small Aviator Bag
By , Cleveland, OH, January 24, 2013

My stable of Red Oxx bags keeps growing. I'm always looking for the lightest and most flexible carry-on as I am a devout one-bag traveler. The Air Boss is my constant. Took the advice from a travel forum and got this bag to function as my "personal item". No problem on any airliner so far...and that includes a host of the smaller regional jets. Just ordered the mesh version for the heck of it. I love this stuff !!
 Great Bag
By , Los Angeles, November 17, 2012

Using it as an emergency kit bag in the car. Simple, great size, made in America with a lifetime warranty. What more could you want? Maybe a couple more of them.
By , Nova Scotia Canada, July 31, 2012

Bought this bag for weeekend getaways.

Don't let the title of the bag fool you.

There is tons of room in this bag when packed accordingly.

Superior value for the money.

Good construction and tough materials.

I bought a second one to use for holding gear in my Jeep.

Use it daily as a bag for the gym, or use it for long weekends, this bag does it all.

Truly an awesome purchase.

The only "buyers remorse" is not getting one.
 Great little bag!
By , , July 11, 2012

Great bag. Top notch materials used. Very sturdy. Square size holds many items.
 Great Bag
By , Washington, DC, June 28, 2012

I absolutely love this bag. It's small is size but because of the shape will hold a bunch of stuff.

I'm going to use it for a bunch of different things, such as a carry on, gym bag, and any other uses I can find. I travel quite a bit overseas and will also use it for those trips.

I'm also a wildland firefighter, so I'll be taking this with me on assignment. It is very rugged and well built. I imagine I'll have it for many many years; if not decades.

Another can't beat the price!!
 This Bag ROCKS!
By , Midwest, June 14, 2012

I'm a Bass Guitarist and needed a sturdy bag for my microphone, miscellaneous cords, etc. Hard cases were too limiting while duffle/gym bags were too long. This is just what I needed. The footprint is perfect for sitting atop my loaded cart of equipment secured by a bungee cord. "Made In USA" makes a difference!
 Wow! Count me impressed
By , San Francisco, June 2, 2012

Ordered one on a whim when I purchased my Metro Briefcase. Glad I did. I have been looking for a general purpose, tough as nails bag that could be used to haul a variety of items--volleyball and ski gear, papers, groceries, and the miscellaneous junk that seems to fill my car trunk all too often. As a gear carrier, this bag is unsurpassed. With what seems to be a bottomless capacity, I can stuff this bag to the gills and still have room for more stuff.

The only other bags on the market that even comes close in terns of durability and carrying capacity are the bags that are produced by Porta-Brace . . . and they are three times the cost. No thanks.

Red Oxx, you have a winner here.
 Great bag as to be expected.
By , Nd, May 24, 2012

As usual after buying a red oxx bag my expectations are exceeded. The small aviator bag filled my needs and them some. Quality and performance are top notch.
 Extra Small
By , North Dakota, May 10, 2012

picked up the small cause I needed a small bag, way to big, but still dig my small, the extra small is just right for my over night stays and weekend photo shoots. these bags are just plain made well, tough mean and ready, RED OXX is and will stay in my favorites.

Thank you
 Not so small
By , Vancouver, BC, May 10, 2012

At almost half the size of the maximum legal carryon it's not so small. Yet it fits under the seat. You will be shocked to find what you can pack into this simple, lightweight, durable and cheap bag. Very highly recommended.
 Anybody for an Extra Extra Small?
By , Norfolk, VA, March 29, 2012

A superb, little bag. Nothing fancy, but everything done well. I just used this for a long weekend trip and had more than enough room for three pairs of pants, a belt, underwear and socks for four days, a dress shirt, three polo shirts, two t-shirts, a sweater, a pair of shoes, and a small toiletry kit. There was room left over to put in a 7-inch e-book reader in a case, my cell phone, and a magazine. And still room left over. It's an unstructured, single compartment bag made with high-quality materials. If RedOxx ever sells an Extra Extra Small bag (roughly 1000 cubic inches), I may be the first in line to buy it.
1 2 3 4 Next > 
Related Articles
Frequently Asked Questions

What's the size difference between the Aviators?
Aviators come in four sizes. Look under the specifications tab for the measurements.
Why are some Mesh?
We liked the idea of a breathable bag, especially for damp clothes and beach or swimming accessories.
Do you have a comparison chart?
There's a photograph of all the bags side by side located under the Photos tab.
Are these carry-on legal?
The Extra Small and the Small Aviator are both carry-on legal.
Why isn't there a shoulder strap?
The Aviator style kit bag does not work with a shoulder strap as the break-over zipper configuration is designed to open the bag fully. Our prototype with a strap twisted and flopped around. It was ungainly. Our bag testing team hated it. However, check out this review written by a fan for a simple solution to this question in the section titled: "Simple Modifications to an Aviator Bag Improves Use."
Can you tell me what a "break over zipper configuration" is?
The zipper goes over the top and down the sides of the bag. This allows the sides of the bag to fall away, making it easier to pack.
Are the Kit Bags waterproof?
All Red Oxx bags are water resistant, not waterproof. The stitching puts holes in the fabric.
Are they a lesser quality than the rest of your bags?
All Red Oxx Bags are made to the same high quality company-wide standards and are covered by our unconditional lifetime warranty.
Why is the price so much lower?
Our Aviator line represents refined simplicity. By having fewer features such as pockets, heavy-duty hardware and being made in one color with fewer pieces to be cut and stitch, and less time to make each bag, we can charge a much lower price.
Are there any interior pockets?
To keep the price down, we did not include interior pockets.
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
Is there a way to securely lock my bag?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.
“I'm extra small. The new big.”

Extra Small Aviator Bag $45.00

91011-XSIn stock45

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!

"Extra Small" in name only.

Capacity can be a deceptive beast.

Based on the Aviator Kit Bag from our days in military service, this rectangular shaped bag is perfect for stowing sleeping bags, emergency roadside assistance supplies in the trunk of your car or even as a short trip laundry bag. This is the smallest in the Aviator Kit Bag series. Which, frankly isn't saying much because it can carry A LOT. However, folded flat and tucked into your regular carry-on bag on the trip out, the Extra Small Aviator can return home filled with souvenirs and presents as your "personal item" on the plane.

The Aviator line of storage and carry gear bags were developed for the budget minded. Featuring the same sturdy materials like 1000 weight CORDURA® Brand Nylon fabric and heavy-duty hardware as our regular Red Oxx bags, the Aviators are simplicity by design. They don't have a shoulder strap or the D-ring attachments because the "break-over" zip open design does not condone itself with using a strap. Nor do they have any pockets or padding. Just a good-old basic hand carry bag to serve basic simple needs without the extravagance. Rugged, reliable and tough.

The reason Red Oxx uses the largest zipper we can find, the #10 YKK VISLON® zipper, is that they are easily repairable, even in the field; they will hold their place, that is, they "lock"; they are difficult to penetrate, thereby increasing the security of your belongings; they function smoothly in inclement weather and they can be yanked from a variety of angles without losing teeth or becoming separated.

Just 15 inches long, this rectangular kit bag stands at eight inches wide and nearly a foot tall. The 3/4 wraparound break-over #10 YKK heavy-duty zipper configuration opens up the bag nearly flat. Enveloping 1.5 inch wide webbing handle wraps all the way around the bottom of the bag, these handles will never tear off. It's also double box stitched at all stress points.

Lots of folks like to pack them along inside their luggage because it folds flat. Also makes an ideal CPAP machine bag, roadside emergency kit for your car's trunk, a tool bag, a motorcyle helmet storage bag or stuff your work or muddy sports boots in it. Buy two or more Extra Small Aviator Kit Bags, you'll always find a use for more than one!

The Red Oxx Extra Small Aviator Bag, built to the same heavy-duty exacting standards as all our bags. Available in Black only. In stock, ready to ship.

Sometimes simplicity rules.

U.S.A. Dimensions: 15"L x 8"W x 11"H (carry-on).
Capacity: 1,320 cubic inches.
Weight: 1.1 pounds.

Metric Dimensions: 38.1cm L x 20.3cm W x 30cm H
Capacity: 21.6 Liters
Weight: 0.50 Kilos

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty. Red Oxx lasts longer.
Designed AND hand made in Billings, Montana U.S.A..
UPS Transit Shipping Time Map.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your Extra Small Aviator.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear with pride.

Red Oxx is a Veteran owned and operated US Manufacturer.

EMAIL POLICY: Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond a dozen working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. During checkout purchasers have the option to opt-out of our other occasional email notifications. Your email address is always secure.

Every great bag needs cool accessories.


Aviator Extra Small Specs Size Chart

  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified CORDURA® Nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Wraparound handclasp with Mil-Spec snaps
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Available in Black only
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • U.S.A. Dimensions: 15"L x 8"W x 11"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 38.1cm L x 20.3cm W x 27.9cm H
  • U.S.A. Capacity: 1,320 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 21.6 Liters
  • U.S.A. Weight: 1.1 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 0.50 Kilos

Questions? Visit our Customer Service Help Desk or call our Toll Free Hot Line: 1-888-733-6999.

Red Oxx "No Bull" Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himalayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

Red Oxx Bags are guaranteed forever, be sure to include them in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - No Questions Asked. Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Take me to the top