COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I just say no to checked bag fees.”
Red Oxx Sky Train Convertible Hybrid Backpack Bag - pictured in Saffron. Available in 12 colors.

Sky Train $255.00


X
Buy Now Add to Registry

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


Carry-on!
On your back.

Our Red Oxx Travel Testers call it awesome! Imagine, a hybrid backpack and carry travel bag in one.

Your idea of carry-on perfection? The Sky Train meets your desire for hands-free, easy-on, easy-off boarding of planes or trains. Specially designed for the leisure traveler going to Europe or beyond. Keeps you moving. No waiting for lost luggage--it's with you all the way. Once your Sky Train is on, you're gone!

DESIGNED BY TRAVEL EXPERTS.
In 2007 Red Oxx teamed up again with web author and travel expert Doug Dyment of OneBag.com fame to develop this carry-on backpack travel bag. Think flexible-- this bag can be carried five different ways:

1. Carry like a suitcase using the Euro handle on the side.
2. Vertically using the Euro handle on the top of the bag.
3. Over your shoulder like a messenger bag using the Claw Shoulder Strap.
4. Cross body, also like a messenger bag, again using the Claw Shoulder Strap.
5. Or pull out the retractable backpack straps from the smugglers pocket and travel in hands-free comfort.

The grab loop Euro handles on the sides help make stowing the bag in the overhead bin a snap. Fits the luggage boarding size restriction box.

PLACES FOR YOUR BELONGINGS.
The Sky Train features two main interior compartments and one full-length outside zippered flat pocket. The main compartment tie downs cinch down to the closed cell Volara foam, securing your clothing. These tie downs help keep your slacks and dress shirts wrinkle-free until you can hang them up in the hotel. Easily holds three pairs of slacks and three blouses with room leftover for a light jacket.

The secondary compartment has a foam stay and a small pocket for stashing personal items (9" x 12") spacious enough to hold your Toiletries, shoes, or workout gear... The rigid sewn-in Volara foam padding protects your belongings, but is still flexible enough to shove into a cramped overhead bin.

HOW TO PACK IT.
Follow this link to learn Doug's bundle wrapping technique. Fit more in your Sky Train airline carry-on bag. Thanks to Onebag.com, here's a handy printable PDF Sky Train Packing Diagram. It covers how to "bundle wrap" for the Sky Train, your ideal backpack hybrid convertible travel bag.

A CONVERTIBLE CARRY-ON BAG BUILT LIKE A TANK?
Our customers like to define our gear as "built like a tank". While obviously you're not going to be toting around bags that weigh 50 tons and have three inches of armor plate, still the comparison is valid. For a carry-on bag, Sky Trains are built tough. Starting with the most durable soft textile material available, 1000 weight CORDURA® nylon, we use super strong UV resistant thread that is double stitched into every seam.

BOUND AND BAGGED.
Places where two separate pieces of fabric are stitched together are then bound, that is, we take a long piece of one inch wide nylon webbing and fold it over the edges of the two pieces and stitch them together, this creates a strong seam, or binding, that prevents the pieces from unraveling on the inside of the bag, or gives it a clean finished look if on the outside of the bag.

In addition, each exposed fabric edge, such as on a pocket flap, is also bound using a thicker binding material. Inside edges typically receive a thinner nylon webbing, whereas outside corner edges that are exposed to wear will have a thicker nylon binding. All of our binding material is vertically woven to prevent fraying, peeling or splitting that you may commonly see in competitors bags that brag of "binding" their edges.

WHY DOUBLE BOX STITCHING?
Each stress point, such as where the handles attach to the bag, is double box stitched - which is where we get the "double XX" in our name, Red Oxx; a stitching practice we adapted from our time as parachute riggers.

MY, WHAT BIG ZIPPERS YOU HAVE!
The reason Red Oxx uses the largest zipper we can afford, the #10 YKK VISLON® zipper, is that they are easily repairable, even in the field; they will hold their place, that is, they "lock"; they are difficult to penetrate, thereby increasing the security of your belongings; they function smoothly in inclement weather and they can be yanked from a variety of angles without losing teeth or becoming separated.

PUTTING THE HARD IN HARDWARE.
Red Oxx has occasionally been accused of "overdoing" our hardware. But once you've had a cheap piece of plastic hardware break in the middle of a busy intersection, airport or other inconvenient locale dumping your precious belongings all over the ground, having a heavy-duty nickel-plated or stainless steel D ring or attachment swivel that weighs just a little more, or might make a little noise, is a travel companion's confidence builder and peace of mind maker. After all, you want to enjoy your journey as best you can. Why worry about having your bag break down?

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your Sky Train on our production schedule. It will then be shipped in under 14 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

Dimensions: 20"L x 9"W x 13"H
Capacity: 2,340 cubic inches.
Weight: 4 pounds.

Pocket measurements:

  • Exterior zippered full length side flat pocket: 13"H x 19"W
  • 3/4 open flat zippered side compartment: 13"W x 19"L x 1"D
  • Interior side compartment zippered flat flap pocket: 11"W x 9"D
  • Main compartment with adjustable twin tie downs: 19"L x 13"W x 6.5"D
  • Exterior zippered full-width flat smugglers pocket: 13"W x 19"L (Note: this pocket is for storing the backpack straps. Since it has holes in the bottom for steel o-rings to attach the straps to the bottom of the bag, the pocket is only useful for flat magazines, newspapers and storing the straps).

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time Distance Map.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your Sky Train.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear with pride.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond a dozen working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. During checkout purchasers have the option to opt-out of our quartly email newsletter. Your email address is always secure.

Every great carry-on bag needs cool luggage accessories.

Sky Train Trivia: A common European and Asian urban passenger train that rides on raised rails over inner city traffic.

Write a Review

4.8 Average Rating
 (243 Reviews)

 
... 9 10 11 12 13 Next > 
 The Best way to travel
By Herbie P, Cary, NC USA, December 5, 2008

Excellent product, visionary design - the simplicity keeps my goodies well organized and traveling light. A friend told me about the Sky Train's durability and the one bag travel concept. After a two week trip to China with "old fashioned luggage" I knew I was in need of a change - lugging "rollable" heavy luggage up and down train/subway/apartment stairs and scurrying for a bus/taxi/train was intolerable (even though I'm a very strong 200 lb. male). I needed something that could go on my back, hold all my gear, and fit in the overhead. This is it. My first trip using the sky-train was a 3-day business trip in the US, the bag held my business clothes, workout gear, electronics accessories and fit nicely in the overhead even on the small commuter jet. Then I got to return to China for 10 days and the experience was much more enjoyable. The Sky Train held all my goodies, quickly switched from shoulder bag to backpack as needed, and all the airlines and airport staff were completely impressed that I wasn't checking baggage and only carrying "that small bag". I let my 9 and 12 year old sons borrow it for summer camp, it held all their stuff and was easy for them to carry. My only regret is that I now have to buy them for my wife and kids as they've become believers as well.
 
 Wonderful bag but...
By Katherine, Maryland, November 12, 2008

After dragging (and checking) a 22" roller bag on several recent trips, I got a Sky Train because I wanted to be able to fly carryon only. And I didn't need to take my computer and it's attendant goodies. The good news: I felt liberated. The bag packed like a dream, I put my clothes in a medium sized Eagle Creek folder and it fit perfectly. I didn't really pack the small compartment because with my clothes, etc., in the main compartment, there wasn't much room left. I used my Gator Bag as my "personal item" and had the coolest luggage on the plane. Bad news: On the way home I must have put more in the Sky Train, because the Gator Bag had practically nothing in it except my purse. When I got home I weighed the bag. 20#. This didn't seem like it was that heavy, but my back really suffered. I now have a mini-ruck which I wanted to use for my computer, but my 15" MacBookPro is too large for the compartment. I love these bags. I just have to figure out how to use them properly.
 
 I had my doubts at first but now I'm convinced
By Anonymous, California, October 28, 2008

I travel often for work and even sometimes for pleasure and am always looking for the perfect luggage. As a woman in my 60s, I was concerned about being able to lug a bag around without the rolling wheels, and I got the Sky Train rather than the Air Boss mostly because of the backpack feature. Well, so far, I haven't had any need to put it on my back and it's very easy to carry around with the claw strap. I knew I was on the right track on my first trip with the Sky Train, when I was waiting for the airport shuttle and chatting to a couple there. The man looked at my bag and said incredulously "You mean you traveled all the way from California with just that little bag!" I then took it on a longer trip and was again very happy with it. It held plenty of clothing and accoutrement's for a week, along with my laptop and accessories, and I could easily have packed a lot more into it. It was easy to manage and to carry, and it was very convenient to be able to have everything with me at the airport and on the plane - it made life much simpler not to have to wait for a checked bag, plus the airline couldn't lose my luggage! I got an Air Boss for my son and he is very happy with it as well. These bags are well made and high quality. I am a very satisfied customer so far.
 
 The best bag I've owned
By Mary, Virginia, September 17, 2008

I just returned from a two-week vacation to Scotland. I used this bag as my primary carry-on, and a Gator as my personal bag; after packing, I had room left over for souvenirs! Our tour guide was grateful for my only having one suitcase, too. I am amazed at how much I can fit into the Sky Train, and the backpack straps were extremely helpful while walking through Newark Airport. And when our flight was delayed, the Sky Train, on end, makes a very good footrest.I was also happy that the bag kept out the wet. I worried when it was set onto the wet pavement, but my clothes inside stayed nice and dry.Thanks Mary,You can also spray the bag with a water proofing product like Camp Dry to increase the water repelling ability of the fabric.Red Oxx
 
 Not sure at first
By Martina, St. Louis, MO, September 2, 2008

Getting ready for my annual European trip/going "home"for 6 weeks, I ordered the Skytrain. Did not feel like hauling several pieces of luggage and most of my stuff is there anyway. But I needed something to take for shorter trips around the continent, easy to carry, soft enuf to put my head on sleeping at the airport etc. Pictures here looked great, nicely shaped, colorful. Being not too flashy, I ordered the charcoal one. What arrived was a flat box with something inside, that did not look impressive at all :( My first idea after pulling it out was - Oh, great, all this money and I get a plain cloth bag! Whatta rip-off!!! started turning it around and trying to justify the purchase...well, there is quite a bit to "plain Jane" bag - the zippers are more solid than anything I've ever seen, there are no silly fancy flashy pockets, additions, only add weight and nothing else, it fits on my back wonderfully, on a T-shirt or a winter jacket, it is sooo easy to pull on, the plastic handles are a fantastic idea!, shoulder strap does not hurt or slide and you can grab all the buckles even with gloved hands. then I started putting stuff inside, thinking maybe half of what I would like to take might fit...that bag is BOTTOMLESS!!! and basically all the weight will be my stuff, not luggage. THANK YOU for a fantastic design, me and my Taurus (the bag got a name already, OK:)) haven't been on a plane or a train yet but we are READY!
 
 Ms.
By K.T., Alberta, Canada, August 22, 2008

The Greatest Piece of Luggage I Own!I purchased my Sky Train a while ago, and it's been great from the start. It has gone to Portland as carry-on. It had to come back checked because I had bought 17 books at Portland and I couldn't lift it. The books and my clothes all fit in the bag, with no seams gapping or straining!It went to Las Vegas, where my friend and I smugly sailed passed frustrated travelers waiting for their luggage to arrive on the carousels. We were able to catch our shuttle quickly and were out of the airport in no time flat. It came back as carry-on, despite all the souvenirs I had bought for everyone. Most recently it has gone to San Jose, California. I was the envy of my traveling companions, (although they insisted I wouldn't be able to last carrying my bag everywhere) as I patiently waited for them to get their luggage. I ended up being put on luggage guard duty, while it took 1/2 an hour for them to get their bags. On the way home I did have to check it, not because of any problems, but I had bought a lot of Bath and Body Works items, and they don't let you take that volume of liquid items as carry on. I love, love, love my Sky Train. I'm now thinking about the Gator....Next adventure for me and my Sky Train, Montreal Quebec, and Europe!
 
 Sky Train
By Annie, Arizona, August 8, 2008

My children and husband were shocked when I loaded just one bag into the truck of the car for our recent trip to the east coast. I mean "really" shocked! They did not believe that I could actually travel with one bag since my pattern has been to travel with at least two large suitcases and a carryon bag. Thank you, Red Oxx for creating a top quality bag which I could stuff to the max and still pass the carryon monitors at the airport.
 
 Where has this bag been all my life?
By Jeff Rovner, Laguna Beach, California, August 5, 2008

My family takes a long vacation every summer, and we ordinarily check all of our luggage. But after a terrible experience last year, when the airlines lost our bags for several days, I decided that this year I would follow the advice of experts and figure out a way to carry on all of my stuff. So in preparation for my recent three weeks in Spain, I bought a Saffron-colored Safari Beanos Bag to carry my computer, electronics paraphernalia, reading materials, etc., and a matching Sky Train Bag for clothes. I'm delighted to report that the experiment was a total success. The Safari Beanos and Sky Train performed flawlessly. They held everything I needed and were incredibly user-friendly and durable. The attention to detail and thoughtfulness of design are remarkable. In fact, as I used the bags I discovered several practical features I hadn't known about, such as the outside pocket of the Beanos bag that turns into a sleeve to fit over extendable handles on other luggage.

These bags are now among my most prized possessions. I give them my very highest endorsement. Kudos to Red Oxx!
 
 There is no better product
By Brian, Ladera Ranch CA, July 23, 2008

I have now owned 3 different Red Oxx products and can testify to their superior quality and craftsmanship. I have a bad habit of always looking for a new bag for travel or laptops or just toting along stuff on trips. I've owned Tumi, Dakota, Samsonite, Patagonia, TImbuk2, BooqBag, Oakley, and even a few trash bags in my time and there simply has never been a better bag for me to use than my Red Oxx Air Boss and Sky Train.

I recently bought a Sky Train mostly for the back straps, and have found it to be a trusted and worthy travel companion. My most recent trip I had it loaded with 11 days worth of business clothes, workout gear (including 2 pairs of size 11 shoes), toiletries, and misc power chargers for PSP, iPhone, iPod, Kindle and a GPS. I have to say it was a tough squeeze, but I did get it all in and just under the 50lbs weight limit. I never wanted for a thing on my trip and I looked freshly pressed and ready for business every day I was working.

I sold my Air Boss after a couple of trips with the Sky Train and have found the Sky Train's straps to be a nice additional feature over the Air Boss. However, the Air Boss has slightly more space than the Sky Train and for that reason I'll probably switch back (see paragraph one above regarding bad habits), but it won't be for any lack of functionality in any Red Oxx product line. I love the quality and it does make me proud to see such a superior product come from the heartland of America. It's funny. I see a lot of comments on you get what you pay for here. I can honestly say that after my first Red Oxx purchase I never balked at the price even for a second. It's money well INVESTED and if you're willing to separate from the brainwashed roll-along crowd you'll never look back.
 
 I'm a believer now
By Mary, NYC, June 15, 2008

I have used this bag twice now: once for a 2-week trip, once for a 1-week trip (both times to Europe). What's notable is that I'm a 46-year-old woman, and on both trips I had to look extremely presentable. Meaning, even though I'm an efficient packer, I had to pack multiple pairs of shoes and several outfits in order to meet my obligations for "dressing up" on several occasions.

I was skeptical at first, but now that I have used this bag twice, I'm a believer. It's easy for me to carry either way, depending on the situation. It fits nicely in the overhead bins, and it's rugged but still sleek. It's made well, so I assume I will be able to enjoy it for years to come. Now, my mission is to find a second, smaller carry-on (my "personal item," as the airlines call it) by Red Oxx. I'm hooked!

----------Red Oxx replies: thanks so much for the review Mary. Have you tried a Gator as a personal item?
 
 Great product, great service!
By Colin Asquith, Edinburgh, Scotland, June 1, 2008

I bought the red Sky Train bag a close to when I was leaving for a 3 week trip to Japan and Australia. Red Oxx couldn't have been more helpful in ensuring that I got it delivered in time, the service was excellent.

I decided to travel with only one bag to avoid hauling lots of unused gear with me, and I followed the instructions for optimal packing. I'm 6'5" so it wasn't like I was just fitting dainty sized clothes in there. I took it as hand luggage to avoid the headaches of the opening of Terminal 5 at Heathrow, and then found it easy to travel all across Japan with. The bag is really comfortable and durable, it has a good number of useful pockets and is really well made, the zips and ties are fantastic. I hardly used the bag as a backpack as it was a lot more comfortable than I had imagined when using the shoulder strap as the rubber keeps it in place and spreads the weight over your shoulder.

Thanks to Red Oxx for the quality product, keep up the good work! I'm hoping to get the chance to get away a lot more often so I can test it even more!
 
 if you ever run into trouble
By Anonymous, Germany, May 29, 2008

Uncomplicated people, outstanding customer service. I had a problem with my Sky Train and received unbureaucratic and fast help - which I value a lot!Great bag, great company, buy your stuff here!
 
 Well built bag, looks great
By Sam K, Phoenix, AZ, May 24, 2008

I just received my Mariner Sky Train last week and I was very impressed when I took it out of the box. You can tell immediately that it's a very well constructed piece of luggage and it looks very sharp in Mariner. There are no stray threads anywhere. I can't wait until my next trip so that I can try it out. It was a bit expensive, but if I can get 20 to 30 years of use out of it, the cost is negligible. It looks like it will last at least that long as it appears to be very durable. I like the flexibility of the back pack straps and will probably use it mostly for leisure travel, but it looks nice enough for business travel as well. With the recently announced policy by American Airlines of charging $15 for the first checked bag (and $25 for the second), it even makes financial sense and it would help pay for itself over time by avoiding the need to check any luggage. Great job, Red Oxx!
 
 Sky Train
By Al S, Charlottesville, VA, May 21, 2008

The Sky Train arrived yesterday and my first impression was "what great craftsmen ship. The people who designed and made this really care. The stainless steel fittings have heft and open easily. There wasn't a loose thread in the bag. I'm really going to put it to work and learn to travel light with no check-in. Given the poor rep of two of my local carriers, United & US Air, this is almost a condition of travel.

My only suggestion is that you ought to include more descriptive literature on your product line & the How to Pack diagram with each shipment. I ordered up a cell phone carrier now, knee jerk reaction to satisfaction with your product. The best to you and thanks for keeping it in the good old USAofA!

----------Red Oxx replies: thanks so much for the review, you can download the Sky Train Bundle Wrap Method diagram here: https://www.redoxx.com/assets/images/pdf/Bundle-Pack-Skytrain.pdf
 
 Another hit -- great bag
By Anonymous, Arlington, Virginia, March 22, 2008

I already own an Air Boss, which serves almost all my travel needs very well. Its only drawback (for me) is that it cannot be carried as a backpack. I find this feature important when charging through airports, or walking to and from the underground, metros, subways, etc., which I try to use if at all possible when traveling to cities with mass transit. When the Sky Train was released, I was delighted and bought one as soon as I could.

I just got back from a short (2 day) trip to NYC; it was my shake down trip with my new bag. This was an all rail and walking trip -- DC metro, Amtrak, NYC subway -- with some taxi rides around NYC (due to the rain).Like the Air Boss, the Sky Train seems to swallow up packed items with ease.

Plenty of room for all that I needed, including my exercise equipment, clothes for 2 business meetings, assorted papers and a lap top. I used the backpack mode exclusively. I had no problem negotiating rapid transit, and the 20 block walk from NYC's Penn Station to my hotel was fairly comfortable.My only complaint -- the bag should include both a sternum strap and waist belt to help distribute the weight load more effectively.

I know that the Sky Train is not meant for hiking/mountaineering, and I am not suggesting that it should be designed that way. But being able to adjust the bag with these additional features would take it, in my opinion, from nearly perfect to perfect. All in all, another superior product. Its my third Red Oxx purchase, and won't be my last.
 
 SCEPTIC NO LONGER
By Roger J, United Kingdom, March 22, 2008

After researching various bags for several months, I purchased my olive Skytrain in December 2007. I took delivery when I overnighted in Houston on my return from Nicaragua back to home in the UK.I was initially disappointed, even on that first trip back home. HOWEVER, I have just completed a 3.5 week assignment in Maputo, Mozambique and am now a confirmed Redoxx fan: great build quality and customer service, although there are some improvements that could be made (four tie downs in each compartment for adaptability/flexibility, "sleeve"`panel at rear to enable Skytrain to be slipped over trolley or handle of other luggage).

I decided to go for carry-on luggage due to reports that Johannesburg Airport en route has an increasingly unenviable reputation for theft and damage. My Skytrain carried: four shirts, two pairs slacks, pair of New Balance walking shoes, tie, handkerchiefs, sunglasses, toilet kit (core of bundle-wrap), portable scanner and cables, all in the main compartment; packing cube with underpants, socks, three t-shirts, one swimming costume, running shorts, spare power adapter for Toshiba notebook, external CD/DVD drive and power cable for use with Toshiba Portege M200 notebook, laundry bag, medication, flip-flop sandals, all in second compartment; "outside" compartment contained book (thick book, "Charlie Wilson's War"), toiletries in clear inspection bag, compression straps (just in case!).

Note to onebag.com aficionados: I note that most of you ALSO carry another bag for in-flight use; I carried a 2002 Swiss Army Webmaster tough nylon computer bag with my Toshiba Portege M200, cables etc, plus a Fujitsu U810 UMPC etc, system CDs, external HDD, camera, spare glasses, mouse, LaptopDesk, etc.Because I am 60 years old and have a back that was subjected to years of enjoyable sport, backpacking etc, I also used a collapsible trolley.

I have confidence I can go without check-in bags for most assignments in future, thanks mainly to my Redoxx Skytrain.
 
 SKY TRAIN
By MIKE HARVEY, CHANNELVIEW,TEXAS, March 13, 2008

I purchased the Sky Train mainly as a carry-on for shirts and slacks,as an alternative to a large roller type garment bag.I have my shirts dry cleaned, folded, and plastic packaged.

I packed 5 shirts, 4 slacks, 1 jacket, pj's, and several other items.I ended up not using it as a carry on on this trip, I took off the monkey knots in case they were a problem for conveyor belts.

All worked well,clothes were no more wrinkled than using a heavier, larger bag.

I weighed the bag on my return with soiled clothes and books and assorted items. It weighed 22 pounds. It was pretty stuffed,with about 18 pounds not counting the bag. The bag is rugged, holds a lot and I will use in all my trips coming up, maybe even as a carry-on.

I have several Red Oxx bags, all are worth the money. I am a satisfied customer. Thanks Mike
 
 Christmas Success
By Anonymous, Dublin, Ireland, February 4, 2008

I recently took delivery of your SkyTrain product. I did quite a bit of research on carry-on bags before purchasing the SkyTrain including checking the carry-on luggage dimensions stated by the airlines I would be most likely to use - this bag complied with the greatest number of them.

I used the bag for Christmas holiday trip, as a trial run for a more lengthy journey in 2008 which will include both plane &train travel. The trip was within Ireland on a commuter airline -their carry-on luggage criteria were 8 x 11 x 17 ins. (the SkyTrain is compliant-ish) and max weight of 7 kg.

The weight restriction turned out to be more of an issue than the case size - as your case weighs 1.8kg, that left 5.2 kg for clothes etc. Nevertheless, even with Winter-weight clothes and weighing each item, I managed to get a sportscoat, 1 pair of trousers, 1, shirt, 1 pyjamas, 1 set of underwear, socks, tie, electric shaver (it was surprisingly heavy [350g] - I will have to seek a smaller, perhaps battery powered one in future), hair brush, toothbrush, toothpaste, charger for mobile phone, a hat and two editions of national geographic (I find these just the right physical size and reading length for 1-2 hour plane and train journeys), plus travel documents and still was just over the 7kg limit.

I used the bundle-wrap method described in your website for the clothes. If weight restriction was not an issue, I could have easily fitted twice the amount of clothes, I am sure. I found the construction of the bag and the zips and handles and back back straps of solid construction, very comfortable and easy to use. The general construction of the case gave me confidence that if I was forced to treat it as checked luggage, it would withstand the baggage handlers 'care & attention'. Its overall appearance passed muster in the 5 star hotel I stayed in over Christmas.

In the event, the airline did not comment on the size of the case, nor did they weigh it and inside the plane (a ATR 42/72 -small body, 70 person commuter plane) the case fitted both within the overhead locker (even though they are triangular in section) and under the seat - no effort and no problem. ( I noted that a sign inside the locker said 30kg max - each locker serves 4 seats, hence the 7 kg limit - though it would only have been possible to fit 2cases of the dimension criteria in each locker.).

The return trip was equally smooth and traveling through airports at Christmas was considerably easier by virtue of not having to wait for checked luggage to be regurgitated by the system. On the basis of my experience with the SkyTrain, plan to purchase other Redoxx products - the Gator & Travel Basket. - to supplement my options for my next trip.

I congratulate you on producing such fine travel case.
 
 From Lambeau to Mexico
By Cam Smith, Mississippi, January 28, 2008

The Sky Train is as billed...the perfect hybrid travel bag. I left last Sunday and flew to Green Bay with my Sky Train and a C-Ruck full of cold weather clothes. The saffron Sky Train not only held LOTS of thermal underwear, wool, hats, socks, and gloves; it also doubled well as a cheesehead during the sub zero pre-game activities. Flew back to Mississippi on Monday, dumped the cold weather clothes, and filled the Sky Train up with a weeks' worth of shorts, t-shirts, and sandals for a week in Mexico. The padded backpack straps work great when you're not wearing a shirt and the claw shoulder strap or plastic handles work well when you've already got the C-Ruck on your shoulders. I like the Sky Train's two levels for separating clean/dirty clothes on the return trip or wet/dry while on day hikes.
 
 Now my favorite
By Anonymous, London, December 11, 2007

I thought the Air Boss was good, but this is definitely an improvement. It's very comfortable to carry (I've only used the handle, not the back straps), and the compartments are just what you need, and nothing more, for hassle-free travel. The size is compact enough to escape the attention of the baggage size enforcers. When my flight was delayed, it was such a relief to know that I didn't have to worry about waiting for my luggage to come out at the end of my flight.From just one trip (Chicago-London), I can see why this bag will be the one I'll be using for many of my travels.Great job, Redoxx Design Team!
 
... 9 10 11 12 13 Next > 
Specifications

Sky Train Specs Chart

  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Soft Unisuede padded retractable backpack straps
  • Dual claw-style 360-degree backpack straps swivel clips
  • A.L.I.C.E. pack strap adjusters
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • Detachable adjustable chest strap
  • Dual "Euro" clear vinyl carry handles (top and side)
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified CORDURA® Nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 400 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • 4 lb. Volara closed cell foam padding on exterior back panel
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • 1"W Zipper flaps on 2 main and strap compartments
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors
  • US Dimensions: 20"L x 9"W x 13"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 50.8cm L x 22.7cm W x 33cm H
  • US Capacity: 2,340 cubic inches
  • Metric Capacity: 38 Liters
  • US Weight: 4 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 1.81 Kilos

Sky Train Convertible Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 14 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx "No Bull" Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

Red Oxx Bags are guaranteed forever, be sure to include them in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - No Questions Asked. Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

Is the Sky Train carry-on legal?
Yes, the Sky Train is designed to be carry-on legal.
 
What's the best way to pack the Sky Train?
We recommend the bundle packing method. Watch the packing video under the Photos and Videos tab or download the Sky Train Packing Diagram.
 
What's the difference between the Air Boss and the Sky Train?
There are two principle differences between the Air Boss and the Sky Train: The Sky Train has retractable backpack straps and opens flat lengthwise and has 2 packing compartments whereas the Air Boss opens flat like a book with three compartments and is carried with the Claw shoulder strap.
 
Will the Sky Train Carry-on fit under the seat in front of me?
Cramming the Sky Train under the seat is not recommended.
 
Will the Eagle Creek packing cubes fit?
We recommend that you use our Nomad Shave Kit, Lil Roy Gadget Bag or Tri-fold Toiletry bag as packing cubes. You can color co-ordinate them to your preference and they come with useful carry handles. The Tri-fold Toiletry bag is also a brilliant shave kit organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
 
How many pounds will the Sky Train weigh when packed?
It depends on what you pack. A typical 3-5 day load will weigh about 20-25 pounds.
 
How many days travel can I fit in the Sky Train?
Most folks can get about 3-5 days with a typical load. Some adventurous types have been able to pack from a week to 10 days! It all depends on how you pack and what you pack.
 
Where do I pack the laptop?
You can use the back compartment. We recommend that you use a padded neoprene sleeve to secure your laptop.
 
What's the best way to pack footwear?
Sole to sole to minimize the dirt and placed in either compartment. We recommend placing your shoes in a plastic bag.
 
Can I change the logo color?
Sure. Simply order your favorite color Logo Patch and sew it on yourself. Red Oxx cannot change the patch colors for you.
 
Can I order a bag without the logo?
Logo Patches are centered using a hole punch. If you remove the patch, there will be a hole in the bag that could cause a snag. Red Oxx cannot build a bag without a logo as this would disrupt the efficiency of the production line. Feel free to use a permanent marker to color the patches.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my bag?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
The Sky Train Hybrid bag has two generous internal compartments and one small internal zippered pocket.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.