Skip Navigation LinksHome  > Airline Carry-on Luggage  > Sky-Train

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I just say no to checked bag fees.”
Red Oxx Sky Train Convertible Hybrid Backpack Bag - pictured in Saffron. Available in 12 colors.

Sky Train $255.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


Carry-on!
On your back.

Our Red Oxx Travel Testers call it awesome! Imagine, a hybrid backpack and carry travel bag in one.

Your idea of carry-on perfection? The Sky Train meets your desire for hands-free, easy-on, easy-off boarding of planes or trains. Specially designed for the leisure traveler going to Europe or beyond. Keeps you moving. No waiting for lost luggage--it's with you all the way. Once your Sky Train is on, you're gone!

DESIGNED BY TRAVEL EXPERTS.
In 2007 Red Oxx teamed up again with web author and travel expert Doug Dyment of OneBag.com fame to develop this carry-on backpack travel bag. Think flexible-- this bag can be carried three different ways:

1. Carry like a suitcase using the Euro handle.
2. Over your shoulder like a messenger bag.
3. Or pull out the retractable backpack straps from the smugglers pocket and travel in hands-free comfort.

Grab loops on the sides help make stowing the bag in the overhead bin a snap. Fits the luggage boarding size restriction box.

PLACES FOR YOUR BELONGINGS.
The Sky Train features two main interior compartments and one full-length outside zippered flat pocket. The main compartment tie downs cinch down to the closed cell Volara foam, securing your clothing. These tie downs help keep your slacks and dress shirts wrinkle-free until you can hang them up in the hotel. Easily holds three pairs of slacks and three blouses with room leftover for a light jacket.

The secondary compartment has a foam stay and a small pocket for stashing personal items (9" x 12") spacious enough to hold your Toiletries, shoes, or workout gear... The rigid sewn-in Volara foam padding protects your belongings, but is still flexible enough to shove into a cramped overhead bin.

HOW TO PACK.
Follow this link to learn Doug's bundle wrapping technique. Fit more in your Sky Train airline carry-on bag. Thanks to Onebag.com, here's a handy printable PDF Sky Train Packing Diagram. It covers how to "bundle wrap" for the Sky Train, your ideal backpack hybrid convertible travel bag.

BUILT LIKE A TANK.
Our customers like to define our gear as "built like a tank". While obviously you're not going to be toting around bags that weigh 50 tons and have three inches of armor plate, still the comparison is valid. For a carry-on bag, Sky Trains are built tough. Starting with the most durable soft textile material available, 1000 weight Cordura nylon, we use super strong UV resistant thread that is double stitched into every seam.

Places where two separate pieces of fabric are stitched together are then bound, that is, we take a long piece of one inch wide nylon webbing and fold it over the edges of the two pieces and stitch them together, this creates a strong seam, or binding, that prevents the pieces from unraveling on the inside of the bag, or gives it a clean finished look if on the outside of the bag.

In addition, each exposed fabric edge, such as on a pocket flap, is also bound using a thicker binding material. Inside edges typically receive a thinner nylon webbing, whereas outside corner edges that are exposed to wear will have a thicker nylon binding. All of our binding material is vertically woven to prevent fraying, peeling or splitting that you may commonly see in less expensive bags that brag of "binding" their edges.

Each stress point, such as where the handles attach to the bag, is double box stitched - which is where we get the "double xx" in our name, Red Oxx; a stitching practice we adapted from our time as parachute riggers.

The reason Red Oxx uses the largest zipper we can afford, the #10 YKK VISLON® zipper, is that they are easily repairable, even in the field; they will hold their place, that is, they "lock"; they are difficult to penetrate, thereby increasing the security of your belongings; they function smoothly in inclement weather and they can be yanked from a variety of angles without losing teeth or becoming separated.

Red Oxx has occasionally been accused of "overdoing" our hardware. But once you've had a cheap piece of plastic hardware break in the middle of a busy intersection, airport or other inconvenient locale dumping your precious belongings all over the ground, having a heavy-duty nickel-plated or stainless steel D ring or attachment swivel that weighs just a little more, or might make a little noise, is a travel companion's confidence builder and peace of mind maker. After all, you want to enjoy your journey as best you can. Why worry about having your bag break down?

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your Sky Train on our production schedule. It will then be shipped in under 14 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

Dimensions: 20"L x 9"W x 13"H
Capacity: 2,340 cubic inches.
Weight: 4 pounds.

Pocket measurements:

  • Exterior zippered full length side flat pocket: 13"H x 19"W
  • 3/4 open flat zippered side compartment: 13"W x 19"L x 1"D
  • Interior side compartment zippered flat flap pocket: 11"W x 9"D
  • Main compartment with adjustable twin tie downs: 19"L x 13"W x 6.5"D
  • Exterior zippered full-width flat smugglers pocket: 13"W x 19"L (Note: this pocket is for storing the backpack straps. Since it has holes in the bottom for steel o-rings to attach the straps to the bottom of the bag, the pocket is only useful for flat magazines, newspapers and storing the straps).

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time Distance Map.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, products in production and delivery time? - Check out this personal message from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your Sky Train.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear with pride.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond a dozen working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is always secure.

Every great carry-on bag needs cool luggage accessories.

Sky Train Trivia: A common European and Asian urban passenger train that rides on raised rails over inner city traffic.

Write a Review

4.78 Average Rating
 (239 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ... Next > 
 So good, we have 3
By Phil, Duarte CA, July 13, 2013

We like the Sky Train so much that we have 3 of them in our family now. We bought our first Sky Train for my wife because she thought the backpack would be easier for her to handle than my Air Boss. She was right, loved the Sky Train. We recently bought 2 more Sky Trains for our kids (girl age 11, boy age 9). They also love the backpack configuration.

I am trying to train my kids to be responsible for their own baggage on trips, pack lightly, etc. The Sky Train is perfectly suited for this. It was really easy for them to just walk through the airports and down the aisles on the aircraft with the Sky Trains on their backs (both squeeze into overhead bins easily where roll-along suitcases cannot).

The straps and hardware are VERY sturdy. They do add some weight compared to my Air Boss, but the Sky Train is still easy to carry and the cubic inch capacity is very close between Air Boss and Sky Train. Now when the kids go to stay with the grandparents, go to summer camp, or anyplace overnight, they take their Sky Trains.
 
 New travel partner
By Len Dillon, Bassett, VA, July 1, 2013

I pondered this purchase for a very long time. When my SkyTrain finally arrived I was very pleased to find it met all of my expectations. I remained unphased, even after my bride of 28 years exclaimed "you paid how much for that small bag? " I have car traveled once with the bag packed for three days of golf. The SkyTrain performed as advertised. Later this month we travel to Austin, TX for a long weekend. That will be a good test for both the SkyTrain and my one bag packing techniques! If you are on the fence, purchase sooner rather than later. You will not be dissappointed.
 
 watch your fingers
By Brian, Palatine, June 27, 2013

This is one tough bag, but be careful with it. RedOxx melts the edges of the internal tie down edges to keep the webbing from unraveling, and the edges can be SHARP! I was fishing for the tie-down strap under my clothes bundle the second time I used the bag and sliced my index finger pretty good. Lots of blood and several weeks to heal. CS didn't suggest I send the bag in for repair but rather to "take a lighter or soldering iron and melt down that edge".
 
 Sky Train vs Air Boss
By Jay, Los Angeles, June 20, 2013

If you are like me, you have probably spent a lot of time reading reviews and have narrowed your choices down to the Sky Train or Air Boss. As an owner of both bags I can tell you that you really can't go wrong. Both bags have the same rugged construction that Red Oxx is known for and you will be very happy with your purchase. However, there are some differences to be aware of.

I have travelled with the Air Boss for several years. Recently, my wife needed a bag and I went with the Sky Train and that has become my "go-to" bag. I am about 5'8" and I find the Sky Train easier to carry and definitely easier to get in an out of overhead storage on flights. The multiple plastic handles are fantastic and big improvement over the Air Boss snap handle. I almost never need to use the backpack straps but it is helpful to know that they are there. The Air Boss is still my choice when I need to carry a lot of equipment and clothing. At first I found the Sky Train a little more difficult to get into on the run but now I use the large, built in, zipper pouch more frequently for quick access items.

If you are on the smaller side and spend a lot of time on planes or in airports, go with the Sky Train. If you want maximum flexibility and have a tendency to overpack, go with the Air Boss. Thanks Red Oxx for continuing to innovate!
 
 Very good but ...
By David O, Thailand, June 18, 2013

The build quality on this bag is terrific. It will probably outlast me. The well padded straps make wearing as a pack very comfortable. In general, I love everything about this pack except for the two compartment design. When i bought it, I did not have a feel for how the design would impact its use. I compare it to my Rick Steves convertible carry-on with its one large compartment which, to me, is much more packing efficient.

For example, with the smaller Sky Train compartment unzipped, I have to zip it closed before I can flip it open to access the larger compartment. If i don't, the items in the small compartment tend to unpack themselves. With the single compartment, I don't have to do that.

Also, with the single compartment, I have a lot more options and control concerning what I fit where in order to optimize the space utilization. Because of this, I will probable be carrying the Sky Train on shorter trips where space is not as critical and will carrying my Rick Steves bag on longer trips that require more packing flexibility.

What would make the Sky Train perfect for me, especially for multiple month trips, would be this build quality on a single compartment bag like the Rick Steves convertible carry-on. If you guys ever do a redesign like that, I'll probably be at the head of the line to buy one.
 
 Here's my story
By Shelley, Hudson Valley, NY, June 16, 2013

Let's start with the bad news: I overpacked for a 3.5 week trip to Europe (not by much, but every little bit counts), rendering my beautiful purple Sky Train just a bit too heavy for carrying via shoulder strap, and slightly too heavy for backpacking. I had to buy a rolling bag (boo), transfer everything to it, and send my Sky Train back to the US.

Now, let's cut to the good news: This bag is beautifully made, tough, durable, well worth the extra $$ you pay for it, and baby, lookie-lookie at those crazy zippers. There's no way I'm going to part with my Sky Train, and will use it on shorter trips as much as possible.

Finally, the best news of all: Red Oxx staff is personable, knowledgeable, patient, and darned funny, to boot. They underpromise and overdeliver. I'm a fan (you can check out my reviews for other products). Buy with confidence!
 
 High quality bag
By Will, Mississippi, June 1, 2013

Performed a thorough search for a new piece of luggage for a trip to Europe. Decided on sky train. Just got home from the trip. You can use packing cubes and fit seven days worth of clothes no problem. Bag fit in overheads totally stuffed with a little pushing. Easy in underground while other struggled lugging roll on bags up and down the stairs. Tough as nails construction. Interior red makes items easy to see. Love the heavy duty buckles and straps. I would leave the shoulder strap at home. Hope to use it on lots of other adventures. This is a great one bag solution.
 
 What are you waiting for?
By j warner, harrisonburg,va, May 11, 2013

Let's get straight to the point. The Sky Train is very well made and feels very durable, right down to the thick rubber luggage tag! I bought this bag for an upcoming 10 day trip to the U.K. So far I am able to pack 6 pair of pants,eight t-shirts/polos,all necessary underwear,socks,small first aid kit,rain hat and jacket,as well as toiletry supplies. Love the heavy duty zippers and shoulder strap. Can't wait to get going with my new Sky Train. Buy one now!!
 
 The Search Is Over
By Philip, UK, May 9, 2013

I own more bags than my wife. I am an avid fan of one bagging and am almost compulsive about what I take when I travel. In fact, that's a lie. I AM compulsive about it: I have a packing list which is actually a spreadsheet with quantities, weights and volumes. This is because I work offshore and am often only allowed one bag at 10kg (25 lbs) to last me for a 4 or 8 week journey and this has to include a lot of stuff both work related and personal.

Currently my list of most used bags includes: RedOxx Sky Train, RedOxx Air Boss, Victorinox Standard Issue (a more executive looking hybrid with the straps of the Sky Train and the organisation of an Air Boss), a Tom Bihn Aeronaut, a Rohan 50 litre reversible backpack (the whole back reverses to change it from a full on backpack to a duffel bag) and various standard types of duffel bags specifically designed for offshore use.

All of them were good for some stuff and not so good for other stuff.

I have had the Air Boss for about 6 months and it is great, but not quite right for offshore use which I was disappointed about because I love it. It is now used more by my wife for various trips.

The Victorinox is very similar to the Air Boss in layout, but has backpack straps. This also didn't quite work for me and it looks too much like an executive bag. It is excellently made, but just makes me feel like an accountant or something else corporate and distasteful and the zips, handles and furnishings, while very high quality and strong, are a little dainty and sometimes hard to access.

The Tom Bihn Aeronaut is also an excellent bag and the end compartments are great for shoes/toiletry bags, etc. But it leaves an internal central compartment that is makes accessing certain things in transit not that convenient, especially electronics and the like.

The Rohan 50 litre reversible backpack is great for clothes, but is not great for a mix of all kinds of stuff and is basically a backpack with straps that can be hidden.

Having owned the Air Boss and loving the strong, no nonsense construction I figured that after the last few years of intensive experimentation and investment in bags the best solution for me was the construction principles, materials and quality used by RedOxx but in something with one large compartment but with another full length/width compartment, a couple of extra smaller pockets and detachable backpack straps.

So, despite some groans from my wife, I ordered the Sky Train.

My first attempt at packing it and everything worked easily. I use packing "cubes" and segment all items into smaller lightweight bags within the bag. This adds not much weight but makes overall management a lot easier.

Everything I need for an 8 week trip fitted in perfectly, logically and easily and came to 9.65kg out of a maximum of 10kg. In fact, The bag could easily take another 30% in volume on top of what I have packed before it would start to bulge. Everything feels secure and well padded and protected and the bag has a great balance between structure and flexibility.

The backpack straps (despite not being "curved and ergonomic") are incredibly comfortable with a full load for an extended period whilst walking from one end of a major international airport to another, or waiting by the side of a quay for the ship to dock up, etc. They pack away easily and this makes stowing the bag a lot easier.

Personally, I don't bother taking the shoulder strap with me, but the one provided is built to last a few lifetimes and is now a spare for the Air Boss. We'd only need the spare if we lost one as I can't see them wearing out in the next millennium or so.

All in all it's pretty easy to pack about 20 litres or so into the main compartment and still feel like you could squeeze another 10 in.

In the secondary compartment I have an 11" MBA in a leather sleeve and it fits in sideways at the bottom easily leaving a lot of space. You could probably fit 4 of them in that compartment (2 stacks of 2) without any trouble at all and the bag would not look stretched. In fact, it would probably just look nicely squared.

This is by far my go to bag for travel. This is the one bag solution to beat so far as I am concerned.

For those who want to want to know roughly what I can fit in, my usual list comprises of:

5 pairs of trousers, 4 T-shirts, 2 full sleeve shirts, 6 * underwear and 6 * pairs of socks, thermal vest, thermal/windproof jacket, waterproof jacket, waterproof trousers, 6 handkerchiefs, 1 pair of trainers, thermal hat, thermal gloves.

2 months of daily contact lenses, spare glasses, sunglasses, TSA compliant toiletry set, 11" MacBook, iPod with CLAS -dB and RX Mark III, custom in ear monitors, and then about 1.5kg of cables, adaptors, logbooks and paperwork I need.

There's probably a few other bits and pieces, but all of this fits in comfortably with a lot of room to spare and it is easily and clearly a cabin bag regardless of airline (so far).

I also have an emergency 30 litre packable duffel bag that weighs about 160 grams and I can throw some of the packing cubes into if I am confronted with the check in staff member from hell and this would take me about 10 seconds and drop the weight to under 6kg and all I would lose is half my clothing.

(I get my tough, ultra-lightweight clothing from Rohan.co.uk and if you are a one bagger... you'd be dumb not to take a look).

So, RedOxx for the win!

Sky Train is, in my opinion, the best piece of cabin baggage in the world today.

Thanks guys.
 
 being a backpack had it's advantages
By Bob, canada, May 5, 2013

I was surprised by the advantages of carrying it as a backpack. When it was over my shoulder, it was not taken from me and stored out of my sight, as when I boarded boat taxis in Venice, Eurotrain, etc.

On the busy subways in Paris and London, it was nice to have both hands free to hold on.

Although I hadn't planned on it, the backpack gave me two free hands to carry the new luggage I purchased in Europe, filled with new purchases. It's a keeper.
 
 So far a wonderful work bag
By Sean, Chicago, May 2, 2013

So far this bag has been great to use on multiple work trips. The craftsmanship is incredible and you can tell it's made for a lifetime. I really enjoy the clamshell opening to reach my clothes quickly and keep things organized while minimizing dead space. I'm currently using a packing folder and haven't had any trouble with bringing enough clothes for 4 days of work and running as a solo bag.

I haven't used the shoulder straps yet aside from around the house, but they seem very well made. I do find the shoulder strap's lack of any sort of movement a bit irritating as it often sticks on my suit and pulls the suit awkwardly on my shoulders. That said, the strap is also made for a lifetime, if I can't adjust to the stick, I might just look into an alternative strap.

Great product, glad it might be the last carryon I ever buy.
 
 One well thought out and made carry on
By John Lowry, Johnson City TN, April 18, 2013

It is wonderful to find a carry-on with this much room to pack. Your company was great to deal with. My Sky Train arrived on the day you said it would, it is an extremely well built piece of luggage, very functional to use. I just wish I had found your company years ago. Another selling point for me is IT IS MADE IN THE USA. Anyone who travels would benefit greatly by having a Sky Train. The only thing that would make it better would be to include a laminated "packing / folding instruction sheet". Keep up the good work!
 
 Great bag - always great quality
By regan wright, fort worth, texas, April 4, 2013

Sky Train is a replacement for an Air Boss that recently was stolen during a home burglary. My connection to my Air Boss was pretty deep - over 300,000 miles traveled, 4 continents, countless great memories. I wasn't sure that any new bag could elicit the same types of feelings that my previous bag did - but i was wrong.

The Sky Train, in Safari colors, right out of the box was unique and wonderful.

Typical of Red Oxx - it seems totally indestructible. In just a few weeks, I've lugged it all over the country, into overhead bins, onto hotel beds, into the back of taxi cabs. Still looks brand new.

I like the Sky Train and Red Oxx in general because it's different. I'm not a typical corporate traveler and I don't want to look like one. Roll-aboards and briefcases just don't fit with me.

The Sky Train offers just the right amount of room so that you don't carry too much, but have plenty of ability to get it all there, comfortably and easily.
 
 Solid Investment
By CMP, Poughquag, NY, March 29, 2013

This is a really great American made product that has exceeded my expectations and I am proud to own. Purchased as my primary bag for two weeks travel in Italy, it performed as advertised on planes, trains and buses and transitioned easily between them; it was very comfortable carried on the shoulder as well as in backpack mode. Construction and materials are top notch and the design is simple and elegant making it suprisingly flexible for packing. I used the bundle method and two Nomads as packing cubes- also great items that multiply the utility of the bag. I will recommend the Sky Train without reservation and only one caveat that others have mentioned: It's easy to overpack this bag to the point that it would be uncomfortable to carry for long distances. Great job Red Oxx- the Sky Train is worth every penny and I look forward to being a repeat customer!
 
 Small but MIGHTY!
By Kendall, Cedar Falls, IA, March 28, 2013

When i first opened the package and seen it, my first thoughts where WOW it is small! The next thing I noticed was the construction, it is built like a TANK! Now I,m a large framed fellow, so I thought I would pack it with all the stuff I would take with me on my trips to Europe (2-3 weeks), I was AMAZED!! I could fit everything AND still had room left over! You always read the comments others leave on how much room the product has, But being a large fellow your not sure what to expect.

Thank you so much for making an EXCEPTIONAL product!
 
 Packs like a mule
By Matt, Blue bell, pa, February 24, 2013

This unassuming brief case looking bag packs like a mule. I have only had the pleasure to own this bag for about a month but I have had a chance to use it for a three day business trip as well as a weekend wedding with my wife. In both cases this bag just seems to expand to fit the occasion and was able to hold clothes for both of us for an entire weekend. I can't wait to try it out on my next adventure.
 
 med student
By mparrott, oregon, February 17, 2013

Please see my AirBoss review for details on my packing situation. This is another great bag. It looks smaller than an AirBoss but still had no issues fitting a suit plus a few days of clothes and a few other things. the bundle method does seem to work really well.

I love the ALICE straps on this bag; It is going to be a great bag for trips where I'll be walking a lot and especially if I am going on vacation rather than going on business.

One other point; I got the safari color scheme in this bag and the AirBoss and my girlfriend really likes the way they look.
 
 Size matters
By ronnieo, pendleton New york, January 17, 2013

This is my second redoxx purchase. I originally bought an airboss for my wife and my son kind of took it over so I bought him a skytrain and he dropped the airboss like yesterdays newspaper. Althought the specs say this is a bigger bag for some reason that did not seem to be the case when he started to pack. I think he may just need help in learning how to pack more efficiently. Great Bags! will for sure be buying more.
 
 Great product for 1 bag travel.
By Larry Valeriano, Chicago, IL, January 15, 2013

I love traveling, but hate checking bags. Recently, I have been spending time in Latin America, and have been traveling light.

The Skytrain is an great bag with excellent quality, looks, and durability.

This thing was able to hold 9 days of shoes, clothing, and tech (laptop, cables, etc.) with ease.

The backpack straps are extremely comfortable, and it has a great option of using the claw strap for using it as an over-the-shoulder bag.

The only thing on my wishlist was more organization, as items can shift easily if you don't use things such as packing cubes, etc.

However, that being said, it's a great bag worth the investment!
 
 Feel Good Carry On
By Dominik, Toronto, December 28, 2012

This bag is great! I was looking for a light, durable, carry-on sized bag and came across this one and ordered it.

It makes me very happy. I will also likely purchase a selection of other items from this company in the future.
 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ... Next > 
Specifications

Sky Train Specs Chart

  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Soft Unisuede padded retractable backpack straps
  • Dual claw-style 360-degree backpack straps swivel clips
  • A.L.I.C.E. pack strap adjusters
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • Detachable adjustable chest strap
  • Dual "Euro" clear vinyl carry handles (top and side)
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Cordura Nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 400 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • 4 lb. Volara closed cell foam padding on exterior back panel
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • 1"W Zipper flaps on 2 main and strap compartments
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors
  • US Dimensions: 20"L x 9"W x 13"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 50.8cm L x 22.7cm W x 33cm H
  • US Capacity: 2,340 cubic inches
  • Metric Capacity: 38 Liters
  • US Weight: 4 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 1.81 Kilos

Sky Train Convertible Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 14 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

Is the Sky Train carry-on legal?
Yes, the Sky Train is designed to be carry-on legal.
 
What's the best way to pack the Sky Train?
We recommend the bundle packing method. Watch the packing video under the Photos and Videos tab or download the Sky Train Packing Diagram.
 
What's the difference between the Air Boss and the Sky Train?
There are two principle differences between the Air Boss and the Sky Train: The Sky Train has retractable backpack straps and opens flat lengthwise and has 2 packing compartments whereas the Air Boss opens flat like a book with three compartments and is carried with the Claw shoulder strap.
 
Will the Sky Train Carry-on fit under the seat in front of me?
We don't recommend cramming the Sky Train under the seat.
 
Will the Eagle Creek packing cubes fit?
We recommend that you use our Nomad Shave Kit, Lil Roy Gadget Bag or Tri-fold Toiletry bag as packing cubes. You can color co-ordinate them to your preference and they come with useful carry handles. The Tri-fold Toiletry bag is also a brilliant shave kit organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
 
How many pounds will the Sky Train weigh when packed?
It depends on what you pack. A typical 3-5 day load will weigh about 20-25 pounds.
 
How many days travel can I fit in the Sky Train?
Most folks can get about 3-5 days with a typical load. Some adventurous types have been able to pack from a week to 10 days! It all depends on how you pack and what you pack.
 
Where do I pack the laptop?
You can use the back compartment. We recommend that you use a padded neoprene sleeve to secure your laptop.
 
What's the best way to pack footwear?
Sole to sole to minimize the dirt and placed in either compartment. We recommend placing your shoes in a plastic bag.
 
Can I change the logo color?
Sure. Simply order your favorite color Logo Patch and sew it on yourself. Red Oxx cannot change the patch colors for you.
 
Can I order a bag without the logo?
Logo Patches are centered using a hole punch. If you remove the patch, there will be a hole in the bag that could cause a snag. Red Oxx cannot build a bag without a logo as this would disrupt the efficiency of the production line. Feel free to use a permanent marker to color the patches.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my bag?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
The Sky Train Hybrid bag has two generous internal compartments and one small internal zippered pocket.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.