Skip Navigation LinksSky-Train

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I just say no to checked bag fees.”
Red Oxx Sky Train Convertible Hybrid Backpack Bag - pictured in Saffron. Available in 12 colors.

Sky Train $255.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


Carry-on!
On your back.

Our Red Oxx Travel Testers call it awesome! Imagine, a hybrid backpack and carry travel bag in one.

Your idea of carry-on perfection? The Sky Train meets your desire for hands-free, easy-on, easy-off boarding of planes or trains. Specially designed for the leisure traveler going to Europe or beyond. Keeps you moving. No waiting for lost luggage--it's with you all the way. Once your Sky Train is on, you're gone!

DESIGNED BY TRAVEL EXPERTS.
In 2007 Red Oxx teamed up again with web author and travel expert Doug Dyment of OneBag.com fame to develop this carry-on backpack travel bag. Think flexible-- this bag can be carried three different ways:

1. Carry like a suitcase using the Euro handle.
2. Over your shoulder like a messenger bag.
3. Or pull out the retractable backpack straps from the smugglers pocket and travel in hands-free comfort.

Grab loops on the sides help make stowing the bag in the overhead bin a snap. Fits the luggage boarding size restriction box.

PLACES FOR YOUR BELONGINGS.
The Sky Train features two main interior compartments and one full-length outside zippered flat pocket. The main compartment tie downs cinch down to the closed cell Volara foam, securing your clothing. These tie downs help keep your slacks and dress shirts wrinkle-free until you can hang them up in the hotel. Easily holds three pairs of slacks and three blouses with room leftover for a light jacket.

The secondary compartment has a foam stay and a small pocket for stashing personal items (9" x 12") spacious enough to hold your Toiletries, shoes, or workout gear... The rigid sewn-in Volara foam padding protects your belongings, but is still flexible enough to shove into a cramped overhead bin.

HOW TO PACK.
Follow this link to learn Doug's bundle wrapping technique. Fit more in your Sky Train airline carry-on bag. Thanks to Onebag.com, here's a handy printable PDF Sky Train Packing Diagram. It covers how to "bundle wrap" for the Sky Train, your ideal backpack hybrid convertible travel bag.

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your Sky Train on our production schedule. It will then be delivered in under 30 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

Dimensions: 20"L x 9"W x 13"H
Capacity: 2,340 cubic inches

Pocket measurements:

  • Exterior zippered full length side flat pocket: 13"H x 19"W
  • 3/4 open flat zippered side compartment: 13"W x 19"L x 1"D
  • Interior side compartment zippered flat flap pocket: 11"W x 9"D
  • Main compartment with adjustable twin tie downs: 19"L x 13"W x 6.5"D
  • Exterior zippered full-width flat smugglers pocket: 13"W x 19"L (Note: this pocket is for storing the backpack straps. Since it has holes in the bottom for steel o-rings to attach the straps to the bottom of the bag, the pocket is only useful for flat magazines, newspapers and storing the straps).

"No Bull" Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, in production products and delivery time? - Check out this personal statement from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the steps it takes to handcraft your Sky Train.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email and a review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. Backorders beyond a dozen days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is secure.

Every great carry-on bag needs cool luggage accessories.

Sky Train Trivia: A common European and Asian urban passenger train that rides on raised rails over inner city traffic.

Write a Review

4.8 Average Rating
 (228 Reviews)

 
... 9 10 11 12 Next > 
 SCEPTIC NO LONGER
By Roger J, United Kingdom, March 22, 2008

After researching various bags for several months, I purchased my olive Skytrain in December 2007. I took delivery when I overnighted in Houston on my return from Nicaragua back to home in the UK.I was initially disappointed, even on that first trip back home. HOWEVER, I have just completed a 3.5 week assignment in Maputo, Mozambique and am now a confirmed Redoxx fan: great build quality and customer service, although there are some improvements that could be made (four tie downs in each compartment for adaptability/flexibility, "sleeve"`panel at rear to enable Skytrain to be slipped over trolley or handle of other luggage).I decided to go for carry-on luggage due to reports that Johannesburg Airport en route has an increasingly unenviable reputation for theft and damage. My Skytrain carried: four shirts, two pairs slacks, pair of New Balance walking shoes, tie, handkerchiefs, sunglasses, toilet kit (core of bundle-wrap), portable scanner and cables, all in the main compartment; packing cube with underpants, socks, three t-shirts, one swimming costume, running shorts, spare power adapter for Toshiba notebook, external CD/DVD drive and power cable for use with Toshiba Portege M200 notebook, laundry bag, medication, flip-flop sandals, all in second compartment; "outside" compartment contained book (thick book, "Charlie Wilson's War"), toiletries in clear inspection bag, compression straps (just in case!).Note to onebag.com aficionados: I note that most of you ALSO carry another bag for in-flight use; I carried a 2002 Swiss Army Webmaster tough nylon computer bag with my Toshiba Portege M200, cables etc, plus a Fujitsu U810 UMPC etc, system CDs, external HDD, camera, spare glasses, mouse, LaptopDesk, etc.Because I am 60 years old and have a back that was subjected to years of enjoyable sport, backpacking etc, I also used a collapsible trolley.I have confidence I can go without check-in bags for most assignments in future, thanks mainly to my Redoxx Skytrain.
 
 SKY TRAIN
By MIKE HARVEY, CHANNELVIEW,TEXAS, March 13, 2008

I purchased the Sky Train mainly as a carry on for shirts and slacks,as an alternative to a large roller type garment bag.I have my shirts dry cleaned,folded,and plastic packaged.I packed 5 shirts,4 slacks,1 jacket,pj's,and several other items.I ended up not using it as a carry on on this trip,I took off the monkey knots in case they were a problem for conveyor belts.All worked well,clothes were no more wrinkled than using a heavier,larger bag.I weighed the bag on my return with soiled clothes and books and assorted items. It weighed 22 pounds. It was pretty stuffed,with about 18 pounds not counting the bag. The bag is rugged,holds a lot and I will use in all my trips coming up,maybe even as a carry on.I have several Red Oxx bags,all are worth the money.I am a satisfied customer.ThanksMike
 
 Christmas Success
By Anonymous, Dublin, Ireland, February 4, 2008

I recently took delivery of your SkyTrain product. I did quite a bit of research on carry-onbags before purchasing the SkyTrain including checking the carry-onluggage dimensions stated by the airlines I would be most likely touse - this bag complied with the greatest number of them. I used the bag for Christmas holiday trip, as a trial runfor a more lengthy journey in 2008 which will include both plane &train travel. The trip was within Ireland on a commuter airline -their carry-on luggage criteria were 8 x 11 x 17 ins. (the SkyTrainis compliant-ish) and max weight of 7 kg. The weight restriction turned out to be more of an issuethan the case size - as your case weighs 1.8kg, that left 5.2 kg forclothes etc. Nevertheless, even with Winter-weight clothes andweighing each item, I managed to get a sportscoat, 1 pair oftrousers, 1, shirt, 1 pyjamas, 1 set of underwear, socks, tie,electric shaver (it was surprisingly heavy [350g] - I will have toseek a smaller, perhaps battery powered one in future), hair brush,toothbrush, toothpaste, charger for mobile phone, a hat and twoeditions of national geographic (I find these just the right physicalsize and reading length for 1-2 hour plane and train journeys), plustravel documents and still was just over the 7kg limit. I used thebundle-wrap method described in your website for the clothes. If weight restriction was not an issue, I could haveeasily fitted twice the amount of clothes, I am sure. I found the construction of the bag and the zips andhandles and back back straps of solid construction, very comfortableand easy to use. The general construction of the case gave meconfidence that if I was forced to treat it as checked luggage, itwould withstand the baggage handlers 'care & attention'. Its overallappearance passed muster in the 5 star hotel I stayed in over Christmas. In the event, the airline did not comment on the size ofthe case, nor did they weigh it and inside the plane (a ATR 42/72 -small body, 70 person commuter plane) the case fitted both within theoverhead locker (even though they are triangular in section) andunder the seat - no effort and no problem. ( I noted that a signinside the locker said 30kg max - each locker serves 4 seats, hencethe 7 kg limit - though it would only have been possible to fit 2cases of the dimension criteria in each locker.). The return trip was equally smooth and traveling throughairports at Christmas was considerably easier by virtue of not havingto wait for checked luggage to be regurgitated by the system. On the basis of my experience with the SkyTrain, plan topurchase other Redoxx products - the Gator & Travel Basket. - tosupplement my options for my next trip. I congratulate you on producing such fine travel case.
 
 From Lambeau to Mexico
By Cam Smith, Mississippi, January 28, 2008

The Sky Train is as billed...the perfect hybrid travel bag. I left last Sunday and flew to Green Bay with my Sky Train and a C-Ruck full of cold weather clothes. The saffron Sky Train not only held LOTS of thermal underwear, wool, hats, socks, and gloves; it also doubled well as a cheesehead during the sub zero pre-game activities. Flew back to Mississippi on Monday, dumped the cold weather clothes, and filled the Sky Train up with a weeks' worth of shorts, t-shirts, and sandals for a week in Mexico. The padded backpack straps work great when you're not wearing a shirt and the claw shoulder strap or plastic handles work well when you've already got the C-Ruck on your shoulders. I like the Sky Train's two levels for separating clean/dirty clothes on the return trip or wet/dry while on day hikes.
 
 Now my favorite
By Anonymous, London, December 11, 2007

I thought the Air Boss was good, but this is definitely an improvement. It's very comfortable to carry (I've only used the handle, not the back straps), and the compartments are just what you need, and nothing more, for hassle-free travel. The size is compact enough to escape the attention of the baggage size enforcers. When my flight was delayed, it was such a relief to know that I didn't have to worry about waiting for my luggage to come out at the end of my flight.From just one trip (Chicago-London), I can see why this bag will be the one I'll be using for many of my travels.Great job, Redoxx Design Team!
 
 My new GO TO bag
By Anonymous, NY to Teaxs, December 8, 2007

I switched to this bag from the Aeronaut to better handle by business clothes. It definitely works better to keep my clothes unwrinkled. Although it looks small than the Air Boss - it really does expand to hold as much. I got my dad an AirBoss, which is great for travel by car, but the backpack straps are a lifesaver in the airport, now that I almost always need to connect. I suppose I would have preferred it 21" long, but now I can last 1 week on the road with the Sky Train and an Empire Builder. I'm now glad to be done fiddling trying to find the "perfect" bag, the Sky Train gets the job done with style.
 
 Another Winner from Redoxx
By Alan, North Carolina, November 26, 2007

Just put my new Sky Train to the test in the Bahamas. The bag scores an A+I love my Air Boss but on long trips I tend to over pack and as great as the claw strap is, my shoulder still gets worked over. The Sky Train, with its backpack straps, solves that problem. I also used my Gator Bag in combination with the Sky Train for the first time. Sitting empty on the bed, the Gator looks small. But when I started packing it I was amazed at how much it could handle. And, that short length proved perfect when slid under my airline seat giving me plenty of room to move my feet. I am looking forward to using the Sky Train and Gator on upcoming trips to Canada, Italy and Romania. I highly recommend these bags.
 
 This bag is fantastic
By GadgetFreak, Metro NYC, November 14, 2007

I travel about 200,000 miles a year in planes. I have been using rolling bags but it is getting harder and harder to fit them in the various overheads on planes. Add to that about 5 trips through London Heathrow with their one bag rule and I was ready to try something different and go with a bag like this. I heard about Red Oxx on a frequent flyer web forum and decided to give it a try. I considered the Air Boss, and still may get one but liked the backpack straps, primarily for when I'm carrying a heavier notebook computer.I am stunned by the quality of this bag, the "fit and finish" and the engineering. It is both very utilitarian and nice looking. It just feels like high quality. From the various zippers to the other hardware and to the shoulder strap it is incredibly well done. I particularly like the way the backpack straps are almost completely concealed. My only question now is which of your bags should I order next. Keep making these high quality products.
 
... 9 10 11 12 Next > 
Specifications

Sky Train Specs Chart

  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Soft Unisuede padded retractable backpack straps
  • Dual claw-style 360-degree backpack straps swivel clips
  • A.L.I.C.E. pack strap adjusters
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • Detachable adjustable chest strap
  • Dual "Euro" clear vinyl carry handles (top and side)
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Cordura Nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 400 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • 4 lb. Volara closed cell foam padding on exterior back panel
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • 1"W Zipper flaps on 2 main and strap compartments
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors
  • US Dimensions: 20"L x 9"W x 13"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 50.8cm L x 22.7cm W x 33cm H
  • US Capacity: 2,340 cubic inches
  • Metric Capacity: 38 Liters

Sky Train Convertible Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 30 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

Is the Sky Train carry-on legal?
Yes, the Sky Train is designed to be carry-on legal.
 
What's the best way to pack the Sky Train?
We recommend the bundle packing method. Watch the packing video under the Photos and Videos tab or download the Sky Train Packing Diagram.
 
What's the difference between the Air Boss and the Sky Train?
There are two principle differences between the Air Boss and the Sky Train: The Sky Train has retractable backpack straps and opens flat lengthwise and has 2 packing compartments whereas the Air Boss opens flat like a book with three compartments and is carried with the Claw shoulder strap.
 
Will the Sky Train Carry-on fit under the seat in front of me?
We don't recommend cramming the Sky Train under the seat.
 
Will the Eagle Creek packing cubes fit?
We recommend that you use our Nomad Shave Kit, Lil Roy Gadget Bag or Tri-fold Toiletry bag as packing cubes. You can color co-ordinate them to your preference and they come with useful carry handles. The Tri-fold Toiletry bag is also a brilliant shave kit organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
 
How many pounds will the Sky Train weigh when packed?
It depends on what you pack. A typical 3-5 day load will weigh about 20-25 pounds.
 
How many days travel can I fit in the Sky Train?
Most folks can get about 3-5 days with a typical load. Some adventurous types have been able to pack from a week to 10 days! It all depends on how you pack and what you pack.
 
Where do I pack the laptop?
You can use the back compartment. We recommend that you use a padded neoprene sleeve to secure your laptop.
 
What's the best way to pack footwear?
Sole to sole to minimize the dirt and placed in either compartment. We recommend placing your shoes in a plastic bag.
 
Can I change the logo color?
Sure. Simply order your favorite color Logo Patch and sew it on yourself. Red Oxx cannot change the patch colors for you.
 
Can I order a bag without the logo?
Logo Patches are centered using a hole punch. If you remove the patch, there will be a hole in the bag that could cause a snag. Red Oxx cannot build a bag without a logo as this would disrupt the efficiency of the production line. Feel free to use a permanent marker to color the patches.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my bag?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
The Sky Train Hybrid bag has two generous internal compartments and one small internal zippered pocket.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.