VIEW 360º

“I make other carry-on bags nervous.”
Red Oxx Air Boss Carry-on Bag - pictured in Red. Available in 12 colors for $225

Air Boss $255.00


In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!

One Bag Travel! Air Boss.

The only carry-on bag you'll ever need.

Designed for the business traveler, this popular five star-rated airline carry-on legal shoulder bag is a must-have for anyone who enjoys the many advantages of traveling light:

  • freedom of movement -- mobility = power
  • less of your time wasted waiting in baggage and boarding lines
  • never any lost luggage
  • easy and quick access
  • overall travel simplification
  • lighter load = less fatigue
  • arrive fresh
  • no wheels to break or get you dirty
  • fits in the overhead bin
  • hands-free carry

Don't believe it? Peruse over 700 customer reviews right here from satisfied Air Boss Carry-on customers to get an honest idea if this is the best travel lite bag for you.

Red Oxx worked hand-in-hand with famous carry-on one bag travel expert, Doug Dyment, guru of fame to develop this all-in-one inclusive mobile carry-on bag.

Follow the link to learn Doug Dyment's bundle wrapping technique so you can fit everything you need, and nothing you don't, in your Air Boss airline carry-on bag to become a more organized and happier traveler. Thanks to guidance from, here's a fantastic luggage packing diagram, showing you how to easily "bundle wrap" your clothing in the Air Boss. Not into bundle packing? Now you can pack and still be organized when you build your very own custom Red Oxx Packing Cube Kit.

Designed with three large main compartments, the Air Boss carry-on bag also features two outside zippered slip pockets; one full-length, one for your airline tickets, and an outside sleeve pocket for magazines, files, or a tablet. Inside the Air Boss are two outer compartments that each have buckled adjustable tie-downs inside to keep your belongings, or packing cubes, held in position and wrinkle-free until you unpack at your destination.

The center compartment is spacious enough to hold your Toiletries, extra shoes, work-out gear, business briefcase, etc. Volara closed-cell foam padding is sewn into the sides, so you've got a rigid, yet flexible, piece of carry-on luggage that still protects your valuable belongings.

Includes detachable padded nonslip Claw Shoulder Strap that keeps your bag where you want it - on your shoulder.

Watch the Air Boss Packing Video posted in the Videos tab where Red Oxx Ambassador Kasey Austin from Austin Adventures shows how to best use many of the bag's thoughtful features.

Looking for extra protection for your laptop? A neoprene laptop sleeve is recommended. A "macho" option is to put it in a Metro Briefcase, which will then fit in the center compartment of the Air Boss, adding further protection and giving you a "one bag" travel option...with two bags inside one.

However, please be aware that this can become a very heavy bag to carry if you decide to try this! To accommodate the extra weight try adding a second Claw Shoulder Strap and then carrying the Air Boss "backpack style" (one strap over each shoulder). This can help offset the added load. See Photos tab for how this is done.


Our fans like to define our gear as "built like a tank". While obviously you're not going to be toting around bags that weigh 50 tons and have three inches of armor plate, still the comparison is valid. For a soft sided carry-on bag, the Air Boss is built tough. Starting with the most durable, flexible, and practical textile material available -- 1000 weight CORDURA® Brand Nylon, the Air Boss is built using super-strong UV-resistant thread that's stitched into every seam. Rugged, reliable and tough.

Places where two separate pieces of fabric are stitched together are then bound -- that is, we take a long piece of one-inch wide nylon webbing and fold it over the edges of the two pieces and stitch them together, this creates a strong seam, known as a binding, that prevents the pieces from unraveling on the inside of the bag, or gives it a clean, finished look on the outside of the bag.

In addition, each exposed outside fabric edge, such as on a pocket flap, is also bound using a thicker binding material. Inside edges typically receive a thinner nylon webbing, whereas outside corner edges that are exposed to heavy wear have a thicker nylon binding. All of our binding material is vertically woven to prevent the fraying, peeling or splitting that you may commonly see in competitors carry-on bags that brag of "binding" their edges.

Each stress point, such as where the handles attach to the bag, is double box stitched for unbreakable strength - which is where we get the "double XX" in our name, Red OXX; a stitching practice we adapted from our experience as parachute riggers.

The reason Red Oxx uses the largest practical zipper available, the #10 YKK VISLON® zipper, is that they're easily repairable, even in the field; they will hold their place, that is, they "lock"; they are difficult to penetrate, thereby increasing the security of your belongings from casual theft; they function smoothly in inclement weather, and they can be yanked from a variety of angles without losing teeth or becoming separated.

Red Oxx has occasionally been accused of "overdoing" our hardware. But once you've had a cheap piece of imported plastic "hardware" break in the middle of a busy intersection, airport or other inconvenient locale dumping your precious belongings all over the ground for everyone to see (and steal), having a heavy-duty nickel-plated or stainless steel D ring or attachment swivel that weighs just a tiny bit more, or might be a little "jingly", is a travel companion's confidence builder and peace-of-mind maker. After all, you want to enjoy your journey as best you can. Why worry about having your favorite carry-on travel bag bust apart and break you down?

Looking for a similar capacity carry-on bag but with retractable backpack style shoulder straps for hands-free carry? Try our other popular airline travel bag, the Sky Train.

Join the fleet feet crowd and travel carry-on with the Commander of the ship: the mobile Air Boss!

U.S.A. Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H.
Capacity: 2,184 cubic inches.
Weight: 3.4 pounds.

Metric Dimensions: 53.3cm L x 20.3cm W x 33cm H
Capacity: 35.7 Liters.
Weight: 1.54 Kilos

Our bags will fit! Currently in stock, all colors, ready to ship.

Pocket measurements:

  • Exterior full length zippered side flat pocket: 13"H x 20"W
  • Exterior full length flat snap pocket: 9.5"H x 20"W
  • Exterior zippered side flat passport / map pocket: 12.5"D x 7"W
  • Dual zippered tie-down compartments: 2"D x 20.5"L x 12.5"H
  • Main center compartment: 4"D x 20.5"L x 12.5"H

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty. Red Oxx lasts longer.
Designed AND hand made in Billings, Montana U.S.A..
UPS Transit Shipping Time Map.
UPS Ground Shipping in the U.S.A. is $13.00 (orders up to $260.00).
UPS or USPS Priority International to Canada is $30.00. Australia and New Zealand is $55.00. All other International orders are $50.00. More information on International Shipping here.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your Air Boss.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear with pride.

Red Oxx is a Veteran owned and operated US Manufacturer.

EMAIL POLICY: Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond a dozen working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. During checkout purchasers have the option to opt-out of our other occasional email notifications. Your email address is always secure.

Every great carry-on bag needs cool luggage accessories.

2009 Winner of the "Best Durable Luggage Award" from; "Discover the Best of Everything."

Selected as Kiplinger's Expert Picks The Best List of 2008 for Best Carry-on Travel Bag.

Air Boss Trivia:
On the flight deck of an aircraft carrier, the Air Boss is in charge of all the operations of the flight deck. He controls the moving of planes on deck, landing of aircraft, launching aircraft, ordinance handling, and safety of all the personnel occupying the flight deck. The Air Boss oversees from the command tower. Orders are communicated with the flight deck via megaphone. Ex: "Hey brownshirt. Get out of that checked baggage line and on the plane, now!"

The Air Boss Carry-on bag is a Red Oxx "Staff Pick" favorite.

Write a Review

4.8 Average Rating
 (717 Reviews)

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ... Next > 
 My favorite bag
By Anonymous, USA, July 18, 2014

I've had this bag for 2 1/2 years and it's the best piece of luggage I've owned. I take 4-5 international trips per year and often need to fly with a laptop, work materials and clothing to deal with assorted climates. The Air Boss has a surprisingly large capacity and despite all the miles, still looks great. I love that it doesn't have wheels. This is a carry on, not a roll on. If you pack more than you can carry, check the bag and don't run over my feet with your little wheels. I'm looking forward to many more years with this bag. Thanks Red Oxx for a quality product.
 this is the One!
By Debra L. Taylor, Duluth, MN, July 3, 2014

I have had too many checked bags delayed at critical times, I can't stand messenger bags that slip from my shoulder two times a minute, and I am fed up with the small capacity of wheeled bags that are "legal" carry-on size. My new Air Boss has solved all three problems. I recently packed it for eight days in Nevada -- a combination of outdoor and more dress-up activities -- and my new Air Boss held all that I needed, and stayed on my shoulder, and allowed me to escape the checked bag worries. Bravo!
 Perfect Bag for Business Travel
By Jake Abbott, Salt Lake City, Utah, June 26, 2014

I love this bag! I bought one for myself when I became a professor six years ago and knew I would be traveling frequently to conferences. I will never check a bag again; this one always fits in the overhead, yet has plenty of room. I recently bought two more of these for my graduating PhD students. I've now seen three different colors, and they all look beautiful.
 Air Boss
By JAS, North Dakota, June 19, 2014

I travel by air weekly for my job and I bought the Air Boss as I wanted to quit using a bag that was just a "tad" oversized. It took a couple of trips to learn how to pack the bag but I'm finding that I have plenty of room for work clothes, shoes and all the miscellaneous items that I carry. While I miss the wheels for the airport, I find I never have an issue getting it up into the luggage compartment even on RJ's. I would recommend this bag to anyone. It's lighter than any previous bag that I've used in the past and hold more than the wheeled bags also.
 I have bag envy
By Kathleen, New York City, June 12, 2014

I bought this bag for my husband for a recent trip to France, to replace an old Tumi that was falling apart. I wanted something equivalent. (We both prefer carry-on bags sans wheels.) Well, the Air Boss is both sturdy and stylish. I like it way better than the Tumi! It fit tons of stuff and yet is compact. Plus, it's great to buy a Made in USA product. I covet his new bag and plan to buy another one for myself! Well done, Red Oxx.
 Excellent bag
By Josh, Fort Worth, June 12, 2014

Not much to say that hasn't already been said. I honestly had no idea how to pack or travel light before taking the plunge on the Airboss. I'm a business traveler, and while it isn't elegant like Tumi or Travelpro, it is distinctly masculine and has a classically manly feel. It is overbuilt and should last forever, but with a warranty like that I'm not really worried about it anyway. It's an awesome bag and will never give you trouble as a carry on. I even slid it under my seat on a very full flight. If stolen I would purchase it again without hesitation. I plan to be a repeat customer in the future. Thanks Redoxx for the awesome product and the great buying experience.
 Air Boss review after 5 years
By Nathan Meehan, Texas, our Texas!, May 26, 2014

I purchased the Air Boss a little over five years ago after many trips with a rolling type bag that hit one too many bumps. I found the rolling bags were often being carried up and down stairs and as I traveled to Asia and got local they didn't go on buses, tuk-tuks, etc. The original strap is great and won't slip off your shoulder but I replaced mine with a better padded one (The O*/T**h one that is similar to the T*m B**n A******e strap). I think the ideal strap is a merger of the Red Oxx ad the better padded one. Anyway I often carry suits and many items. I made a "one bag" trip of more than 10 days and multiple countries many times. Now I still use a rolling bag (the R***a T***s S*****th) fairly often and sometimes combine the two. But when you see another passenger with the Air Boss you both exchange a knowing glance...this is the gear the real travel Ninjas use...
 CRJ200 Approved

I fly over 140 segments a year. This bag fits in a CRJ200! (Sometimes you have to bang it in there if you have a weeks worth of clothes) I do not have to pink tag this bag. Thus when you have that tight connection, you grab the bag (while others are waiting for theirs) and make the airport dash with a great shoulder strap and make your next flight. Even if I did not need it to fit in a CRJ this would be my bag of choice so much easier to get around with than a roller bag. I bought mine about 15 months ago and my wife just bought one for her. We plan on travelling to Hawaii for 10 days with just these two bags. @deltasegmentfly
 upgrade to Air Boss
By Geza, Minneapolis, MN, May 3, 2014

As others, I was concerned about the time it might take to get the bag before my trip. I did get it on time about 3 1/2 weeks after ordering it. I wish there was someway I could have tracked the progress of my order.

I had a similar bag before but not this heavy duty. That had two compartments and two side packets and one large one for magazines. I miss those but I was always afraid that it was going to rip at any time (lived though 20 years and countless trips). I still need to figure out the packing with three compartment but I can say, I'm not concerned about the construction! I'm looking forward to many trips with it.
 Traveling like a Boss!
By Brett, Middle TN, April 29, 2014

As many others, I found this bag on I'm not a frequent flyer, taking a trip or two per year so I waited to purchase when my latest trip came up.

This is my first shoulder bag. The shoulder strap literally hangs on for dear life. Couldn't be happier about it staying put. I've decided to try and pack even lighter next time though! You can easily over-pack this bag both in weight and girth. I had a difficult time getting it to fit in the overhead compartment of a small jet. My shoulder also got tired at my home airport when walking to my car.

Build quality is unbelievable and the Safari color is better than the photos. Very happy about it. I'm sticking with the AirBoss. It will be perfect once I get my pack refined.

BTW the "bundle packing" method works wonderfully at keeping away wrinkles.

Bottom Line: Yes, it's that good. Just heed the warnings about over-packing and you'll be a happy traveller!
 I bought for my husband for Christmas on his request
By Rich, Raleigh, nc, April 24, 2014

I cancelled, when I saw how long it took for delivery; but my husband was insistent that he still wanted it. Now, he loves it for short flights where they store all wheeled luggage under the plane. He can carry it on and off, then make tight connections.
 love, Love, LOVE!
By Jared, Boston, MA, April 11, 2014

Completely, totally, righteously awesome bag. Never had a problem fitting it into an overhead bin -- the dimensions of this thing are just genius. I'm able to get the bag into most overhead bins when upright. Haven't tried it yet, but I'm very confident that I'd be able to fit 2 weeks worth of outfits into this guy, including business, casual, and workout gear. I absolutely love showing it off to my friends and colleagues as well.
 Best Bag Ever
By Todd B, Magnolia, TX, April 9, 2014

So I have had my Air Boss for 4 years now and am constantly amazed at what I can pack in it. I am an endurance athlete and am always traveling to trail runs, bike races, etc. Multiple times, my Air Boss has come through, allowing me to stuff into it day packs, trail shoes, cycling shoes, etc. along with my "civilian" clothes for long trips. No checked baggage for me! The last trip I took, I tried an old rolling suitcase only to scrap that and go back to my Air Boss. Thanks for making a great travel bag! Construction is bomb proof.
 Amazing Bag!!
By Nick F. , Ohio, April 3, 2014

I am what you call an over packer. Usually taking a large wheeled suitcase and a garment bag for my suit on a 4 or 5 day business trip. I was able to fit everything in this one bag! It is built with quality in mind. The shoulder strap can hurt if you have to constantly carry, but stays in place as described. I did not believe this bag was worth the price. Upon taking it over 20k miles in three weeks, I have changed my mind. This bag is worth every penny. Do yourself a favor. Stop comparing- buy this bag! You won't regret it.
 Air Boss
By richard whitcroft, Great Falls MT, March 13, 2014

Very impressed with the bag, lots of seperated storage but a person could tend to overpack with it
 Worth every dollar
By Ed, Stony Plain, Alberta, Canada, March 1, 2014

We came across Red Oxx in researching "one bag" travel. We bought two of the Air Boss carry on bags. We used them for the first time on a recent Caribbean cruise. We traveled by air, then aboard ship. These bags are well made in every detail, very sturdy, and easy to handle. We received several unsolicited positive comments on them (one by airport security). It fit the exact dimensions for carry on luggage, as advertized, and it slid into the overhead bin smoothly while others were trying to force their over-sized "carry-ons" to fit. This is the best luggage I have ever owned.
 The Best Carry-On
By JB, San Diego, February 20, 2014

By far, this is the best carry-on I've had! The 3-compartment design is great and makes for very easy packing. The durability is very obvious in the quality zippers, hardware and fabric.

This is a great weekend bag, or even a week-long bag if it's combined with a smaller bag for toiletries and such. The center compartment is also big enough for a laptop if you don't have a separate bag or briefcase for this. I pack one side of the Air Boss with dress clothes and the other side with casual clothes, leaving the center compartment for shoes and other items. The Air Boss is an excellent, well-made and well-designed bag that lasts. Thanks to Red Oxx for the American-made quality!
 Hard to beat this bag
By Bruce, Bathurst, Australia, February 20, 2014

I bought the Air Boss after several weeks of reading reviews and online comparisons. The repeated comments about excellent design and build quality were the determining factors for me. I did baulk at the price, although I figured I'd only ever need to buy one Air Boss.

For some reason, the bag looked bigger 'in the flesh' than I was expecting, but this also means it holds more than I was expecting.

The temptation to overpack will have to be resisted when I take it on its first serious 'onebag' trip for three weeks next month.

Great bag. The right choice.

 Great Bag
By Adam, New York, February 13, 2014

Great bag. All of the other reviews are on point. Got to use it for a week-long business trip a few weeks ago and I was 100% satisfied.
 Best bag yet
By Ron G, Norfolk, UK, February 8, 2014

It's just like Mary Poppins bag, with a shoulder strap.

Having done a 2 week trip to California with hand luggage I decided to try the Air Bosson a 4 week 'one bag' trip to Phoenix, AZ. Firstly, I was surprised at how much went in the bag without appearing to be bursting at the seams. It can be a bit of hassle taking another laptop bag but not too bad once used to carrying it by the handle. It easily passed its maiden test and due to be used on another trip to Australia in a couple of months.

Let's see how many miles we can put on this bag.
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ... Next > 

Air Boss Spec Size Chart

  • Designed AND hand made in the U.S.A.
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • U.S.A. Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 53.3cm L x 20.3cm W x 33cm H
  • U.S.A. Capacity: 2,184 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 35.7 Liters
  • U.S.A. Weight: 3.4 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 1.54 Kilos
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified CORDURA® Brand Nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 400 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • 4 lb. Volara closed cell foam padding on exterior panels
  • Double Box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • All zippers: #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Thread: proprietary #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Nylon webbing zipper pull tabs
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors

Air Boss Carry-on Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black = Raven
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, back orders are typically filled within 7-10 working days. Visit our Customer Service Help Desk or call our Toll Free Hot Line: 1-888-733-6999.

Related Articles
Red Oxx "No Bull" Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

Red Oxx Bags are guaranteed forever, be sure to include them in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - No Questions Asked. Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

Is the Air Boss carry-on legal?
Yes, the Air Boss is carry-on legal on most continental jet airlines. Our bags fit!
What's the best way to pack the Air Boss?
We recommend you build your own packing cube kit. If you're not into cube packing, the bundle packing method is handy. Watch the packing video under the Videos tab or download a printable Air Boss luggage packing diagram (Pdf file).
What's the difference between the Air Boss and the Sky Train?
There are two principle differences between the Air Boss and the Sky Train: The Sky Train has retractable backpack straps and opens flat lengthwise whereas the Air Boss opens flat like a book and is carried by a shoulder strap.
Will the Air Boss fit under the seat in front of me?
If it will fit, you can go ahead and cram your Air Boss under the seat, just be sure to slip the Claw Shoulder Strap inside the bag so it won't get caught on anything, (or anyone).
Will the Eagle Creek packing cubes fit the Air Boss?
Skip the cheap imported packing cubes and create your own custom Red Oxx Packing Cube Kit. Or try our Nomad Shave Kit, Lil Roy Gadget Bag or Tri-fold Toiletry bag as packing cubes? You can color co-ordinate them to your preference and they come with useful carry handles. The Tri-fold Toiletry Kit is also a brilliant shave kit organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold-open-flat hanging design.
How many pounds will the Air Boss weigh when packed?
It depends on what you pack. A typical 3-5 day load will weigh about 20-25 pounds.
How many days of travel can I fit in the Air Boss Carry-on?
Most travelers can get about 3-5 days with a typical load. Some adventurous types have been able to pack from a week to ten days! It all depends on how you pack and what you pack.
Where do I pack my laptop?
You can use the center compartment. We recommend that you use a padded neoprene sleeve to protect your laptop.
What's the best way to pack footwear?
Sole-to-sole to minimize the dirt and placed in the middle compartment inside a plastic bag.
Can I change the logo color?
Sure. Simply order your favorite color Logo Patch and sew it on yourself. Red Oxx cannot change the logo patch colors for you.
Can I order a bag without the logo?
Logo Patches are centered using a hole punch. If you remove the patch, there will be a hole in the bag that could cause a snag. Red Oxx cannot build a bag without a logo as this would disrupt the efficiency of the production line. Feel free to use a permanent marker to color the red patches black.
Is there a way to securely lock my bag?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
Are there any interior pockets?
The Air Boss has three large internal compartments. In the interest of simplicity, there are no internal pockets.
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, try and fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.

Take me to the top