Skip Navigation LinksHome  > Airline Carry-on Luggage  > Air-Boss

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I make other carry-on bags nervous.”
Red Oxx Air Boss Carry-on Bag - pictured in Red. Available in 12 colors for $225

Air Boss $255.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


One Bag Travel! Air Boss.

The only carry-on bag you'll ever need.

Designed for the business traveler, our most popular five star-rated carry-on travel bag is a must-have for anyone who enjoys the advantages of traveling light. Peruse over 680 customer reviews right here from hundreds of satisfied Air Boss Carry-on customers to get an honest idea of whether this is the best travel bag for you.

CARRY-ON REBORN.
Red Oxx worked with Internet author and carry-on travel expert, Doug Dyment, guru of OneBag.com fame to develop this all-in-one carry-on bag.

EXPERT DESIGN AND DEVELOPMENT.
Follow this link to learn Doug Dyment's bundle wrapping technique so you can fit everything you need and nothing you don't in your Air Boss airline carry-on bag and become a more organized traveller. Thanks to guideance from Onebag.com, here's a fantastic luggage packing diagram, showing you how to easily "bundle wrap" your clothing in the Air Boss.

WRINKLE FREE TRAVEL.
Designed with three large main compartments, our Air Boss carry-on bag also features two outside zippered pockets; one full-length, one for your airline tickets, an outside sleeve pocket, and tie downs inside the two outer compartments to keep your slacks and dress shirts in position and wrinkle-free until you can unpack and hang them up in the hotel.

A PLACE FOR YOUR BELONGINGS.
The center compartment is spacious enough to hold your Toiletries, extra shoes, work-out gear, business briefcase, etc. Volara closed-cell foam padding is sewn into the sides, so you've got a rigid, yet flexible, piece of carry-on luggage that still protects your valuable belongings.

NEVER SLIPS OFF.
Includes detachable nonslip Claw Shoulder Strap that keeps your bag where you want it - on your shoulder.

DISCOVER HOW TO PACK IT.
Watch the Air Boss Packing Video posted in the Videos tab at left where CFO Amanda Markel shows how to use many of the bag's features.

PROTECT YOUR LAPTOP.
Looking for extra protection for your laptop? We recommend using a neoprene Laptop sleeve. A "macho" option is to put it in a Metro Briefcase, which will fit in the center compartment of the Air Boss, adding further protection and giving you a "one bag" travel option...with two bags inside one. Note that this can become a very heavy bag to carry if you decide to try this. Adding an extra Claw Shoulder Strap from your Metro and then carrying the Air Boss "backpack style" (one strap over each shoulder) can help offset this added load.

BUILT LIKE A TANK.
Our customers like to define our gear as "built like a tank". While obviously you're not going to be toting around bags that weigh 50 tons and have three inches of armor plate, still the comparison is valid. For a carry-on bag, they are built tough. Starting with the most durable soft textile material available, 1000 weight Cordura nylon, we use super strong UV resistant thread that is double stitched into every seam.

Places where two separate pieces of fabric are stitched together are then bound, that is, we take a long piece of one inch wide nylon webbing and fold it over the edges of the two pieces and stitch them together, this creates a strong seam, or binding, that prevents the pieces from unraveling on the inside of the bag, or gives it a clean finished look if on the outside of the bag.

In addition, each exposed fabric edge, such as on a pocket flap, is also bound using a thicker binding material. Inside edges typically receive a thinner nylon webbing, whereas outside corner edges that are exposed to wear will have a thicker nylon binding. All of our binding material is vertically woven to prevent fraying, peeling or splitting that you may commonly see in less expensive bags that brag of "binding" their edges.

Each stress point, such as where the handles attach to the bag, is double box stitched - which is where we get the "double xx" in our name, Red Oxx; a stitching practice we adapted from our time as parachute riggers.

The reason Red Oxx uses the largest zipper we can afford, the #10 YKK VISLON® zipper, is that they are easily repairable, even in the field; they will hold their place, that is, they "lock"; they are difficult to penetrate, thereby increasing the security of your belongings; they function smoothly in inclement weather and they can be yanked from a variety of angles without losing teeth or becoming separated.

Red Oxx has occasionally been accused of "overdoing" our hardware. But once you've had a cheap piece of plastic hardware break in the middle of a busy intersection, airport or other inconvenient locale dumping your precious belongings all over the ground, having a heavy-duty nickel-plated or stainless steel D ring or attachment swivel that weighs just a little more, or might make a little noise, is a travel companion's confidence builder and peace of mind maker. After all, you want to enjoy your journey as best you can. Why worry about having your bag break down?

ANOTHER CARRY BAG OPTION IS?
Looking for a similar carry-on bag with retractable backpack style shoulder straps? Try our other popular travel bag, the Sky Train.

Join the fleet feet crowd and travel carry-on with the Commander of the ship: the Air Boss!

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your Air Boss on our production schedule. Your bag will then be shipped in under 14 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H.
Capacity: 2,184 cubic inches.
Weight: 3.4 pounds.

Pocket measurements:

  • Exterior full length zippered side flat pocket: 13"H x 20"W
  • Exterior full length flat snap pocket: 9.5"H x 20"W
  • Exterior zippered side flat passport / map pocket: 12.5"D x 7"W
  • Dual zippered tie-down compartments: 2"D x 20.5"L x 12.5"H
  • Main center compartment: 4"D x 20.5"L x 12.5"H

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time Distance Map.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, products in production and delivery time? - Check out this personal message from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your Air Boss.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear with pride.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond a dozen working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is always secure.

Every great carry-on bag needs cool luggage accessories.

2009 Winner of the "Best Durable Luggage Award" from Bestcovery.com; "Discover the Best of Everything."

Selected as Kiplinger's Expert Pics The Best List of 2008 for Best Carry-on Travel Bag.

Air Boss Trivia: On the flight deck of an aircraft carrier, the Air Boss is in charge of all the operations of the flight deck. He controls the moving of planes on deck, landing of aircraft, launching aircraft, ordinance handling, and safety of all the personnel occupying the flight deck. The Air Boss oversees from the command tower. Orders are communicated with the flight deck via megaphone. Ex: "Hey greenshirt. Get out of that checked baggage line and on the plane, now!"

Write a Review

4.79 Average Rating
 (687 Reviews)

 
... 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24  ... Next > 
 It's more than a bag
By Anonymous, , August 18, 2010

I am delighted with my Air Boss. My first trip was a 10 day effort involving many kinds of activity (informal to more formal), and the bag held everything I needed. The major revelation for me was the difficulty I encountered packing light. I thought I knew how, but no way. If you are going to use the Air Boss as a one-bag tool, much of what you are tempted to take will be unnecessary. Be prepared to wash your clothes as necessary, and accept that it will take several trips to get one-bag traveling down pat. Oh, one more thing: the CRJ900s will require you to leave your bag on the jetway.
 
 An Excellent Travel Solution
By Patrick Oranmore, Dallas/Ft Worth, TX, August 17, 2010

Purchased black variant along with Neoprene Pad (and Beanos Bag PR 5.5) for 3 weeks in Europe. Excellent carrying capacity, sensibly thought-out design, well-built and in combination with the PR 5.5 and a Maxpedition backpack it held everything needed (formal suit to shorts and flipflops) for 20 busy days in 7 locations in 3 countries, plus train, air and vehicle travel. Only beefs were the ease with which all the zips undid (too easy to "happen accidentally" during baggage handling - now fixed with a local modification) and the fact that the neoprene pad was pretty superfluous (now replaced with my own stiffer, longer and narrower wrap-round design). I bought it because my ancient Samsonite version was falling apart, and the Air Boss has proved to be far superior - also easy to recognize on the carousel thanks to the logos. Built like a parachute pack, it looked as good on my arrival home last night as it did out of the box - in contrast, my wife's more expensive high-end rollaboard in in the trash, thanks to the ham-handed handlers of Heathrow, Gatwick, Inverness, Bordeaux, Paris, Chicago and Dallas! I recommend this bag highly; next stop, India....
 
 Best suitcase ever
By jwheeler, massachusetts, August 14, 2010

I've used this suitcase far a month now and I have to say I am delighted. I travel weekly for 3 or 4 days and the Air Boss is able to hold everything I need neatly and in less space than my old roll-on. This is a great bag!
 
 Excellent travel bag
By Anonymous, KS, August 12, 2010

Great design. Very compact for its size and capacity. Easy to carry by hand or using shoulder strap. Excellent quality and craftsmanship. This is a great business and personal travel bag--especially for airplane travel.
 
 Good Design
By Bag Toter, USA, August 12, 2010

Well constructed bag. Well thought out overall. I'm pleased with the purchase. Only shortcoming in my opinion is the strap. While extremely sturdy, it is too narrow when the bag is heavily loaded. Strap is fine wiht moderate weight but if you load up the Oxx into the 20# plus range - the narrow strap begins to dig in.
 
 with medium size packing cubes and compression sacs
By JH Fleming, Cayucos California, August 8, 2010

Medium Compression Sacs folded into Medium Packing Cubes fit perfectly in each side pocket of the Air Boss! Very nice with the ties holding the bundle in place.

Amazing space saving. I am still under the 26 lb limit even with my laptop in the center compartment.
 
 Terrific in Tanzania
By Tracey, California, August 5, 2010

I wanted to bring one single carry-on for a two week safari, and I spent what seemed like weeks researching luggage. In the end I bought the Air Boss, and it proved to be a terrific purchase.

I only gave it 4 stars for 2 reasons ... I shelled out another $30 for one of the "Tom Bihn Absolute Shoulder Straps" which provided a better load distribution than the strap the Air Boss had, and for $225 I don't want to have to buy a new strap. And secondly, for me the unstructured Air Boss required a lot of Eagle Creek individual packing bags in order not to have stuff just falling out every time I opened the bag. I found it easier to pack by using the EC cubes,, and then placing the cubes into the Air Boss.

In the end, I carried only about 16# (including the bag) with me: 3 pairs of pants, 4 t-shirts, flip flops, a hat, a fleece jacket, a lighter jersey hoodie, hair dryer (never used!), some school supplies to donate, underwear, PJ's. Oh, yeah ... and enough bandaids and OTC medications for a dozen people or so!

The bag easily fit in the overhead compartments of the planes I was in; the Regional Air Services DeHavilland Otter16-seater had no overhead storage so it went in the hold.

My husband managed without all the EC packing cubes but did use one of their packing folders.

We were the only people on the Amsterdam-Kilimanjaro leg with no checked luggage (so they told us when they wanted to know if we'd give up our seats), and never having to wait for luggage was liberating. I'm glad I got the Air Boss, and hope my overpacking days are over!
 
 I have arrived
By Kai, Victoria BC Canada, August 4, 2010

I have now used the Airboss on two trips and I am very impressed.

Have done some adjustments on what not to take and it will be going on its 3 and 4th trip this month.

I am away for 5-10 days and have no problem packing for that

time. Airboss can be compared to a Turkey, you can stuff a lot of stuff in it and you have to be careful it does not grow to a size that will not fit in the overhead.

On regional and small carriers I leave it on the "cart" instead of battling with it in a small cabin. I use two rolled up t-shirts in the center compartment, that helps protect the netbook etc.
 
 The Ultimate Carry-on
By Anonymous, Kentucky, August 3, 2010

This bag is fantastic, and has a really heavy duty feel to it. I easily loaded 3 days travel into it using eagle creek folders and had plenty of space left. I actually cut back on how much I packed because the shoulder strap while being very grippy has little cushion and bruised my shoulder with little "hickeys" caused by a "connection delay run across the airport". Compared to my wife's roller carry-on I could pack more and it fit easily into the embrauer overhead bins.

I'm very satisfied with my purchase.
 
 The Perfect Carry-On
By Anonymous, Florida, July 31, 2010

This bag is fantastic! I was able to comfortably pack 4 days of clothes and I'm very impressed with the design and it's durability. In the airport, I actually got compliments.
 
 Marvellous bag!
By Alessandro, , July 31, 2010

I have to tell you that Air Boss is really marvellous. You can put inside a lot of items and it is really useful to organize your travel. When I travel I have the space for the presents for my family, as well!
 
 Boss of Air Travel
By Brian, Houston, July 29, 2010

I was looking for a carry on bag that would last--what I got when I bought the Air Boss was beyond all expectations. The good reviews are not without merit. This bag holds all the clothes & equipment I need for my 3-4 day business trips, and has room for more. Unless they finally invent the personal jetpack, I'll be using this bag for the rest of my days.
 
 Great bag/Great service
By John, Yardley, PA, July 29, 2010

I recently traveled through three countries in Europe, including 4 flights and long rental car trips. The Air Boss helped make the trip easier, with the many compartments helping organization. I am thinking that I might have been able to leave my checked roller luggage at home! Additionally, Red Oxx service is super.
 
 Great Bag
By Jordan, Marietta GA, July 29, 2010

I love this bag got a ton of stuff in it. I did have to buy an eagle creek hanging clothes folder to ensure no wrinkles on the dress clothes but that made this bag perfect. I got all my heavy jiu jitsu gear and all my dress clothes for 4 days in this one carry on. It is amazing.

Would be great if the middle compartment was slightly wider for stuffing gear in but it holds a ton....
 
 Great Bag
By Sean, , July 22, 2010

This was my go to bag for a 3 day seminar "tour." Able to fit clothes, running shoes, and a projector. Easy to get stuff in and out, which was important when trying to pack up at 4am in the dark (hotel lost power). Lots roomier than my roller and much easier to get in and out of the airport with.

The shoulder strap doesn't slip. However, when you can load the bag up, which you can, your shoulder knows it's there.

Thanks for the great bag!
 
 One Bag. One Airboss
By John N., South Carolina, July 22, 2010

This is the only bag you will need for a weeks worth of traveling. Perfectly designed with plenty of room. It has no flaws. My only suggestion would be to not overpack this bag if you will be using it as a carry on. It's easy to do. I stuffed it full on the way back from Panama and had to check it. It held up without injury through all of the rough handling unlike some of the roller bags which came down the conveyor with mangled handles.
 
 Tough Elegance
By Edwin Dario, West Chester, OH, July 13, 2010

Ordered Air Boss on 7/9, received the Air Boss early 7/12 in Cincinnati! I was quite excited to receive this bag, and was impressed with the "Red Oxx" packaging tape on the box. When I opened the box (Hallelujah Chorus). There it was, my new Raven Black Air Boss staring at me with all it's elegance and toughness begging to be used. The bag is distinct and the Red Oxx emblem can be seen a mile away, and could never be mistaken for anything other than first rate. It screams quality and professionalism. I initially purchased the Patagonia MLC after reading a review on OneBag.com and PraticalHack.com. In both reviews, the MLC was highly rated but was always compared to the highly rated Air Boss which I had never heard of. When I received the MLC, I was satisfied, but not overly impressed. I questioned the bag's structural integrity, durability and materials. The bag was compact, light and small. However, when I tugged on the handles I could hear a slight ripping noise...Did I just spend $160 on bag that wouldn't withstand my lugging and trekking throughout my business travels? At that moment, I went to the Red Ox web-site and navigated to the Air Boss and made my purchase. I intensely compared each bag side by side, stuffed both with a variety of eagle creek pack-it tubes, cubes and folders. Also added two pairs of shoes etc. Both bags accommodated my gear with ease, however, the Air Boss maintained is it's structural integrity and the MLC sagged. The Air Boss had plenty of room to add more gear; the MLC was at its' capacity. While the MLC has the optional back pack straps, the Air Boss fit comfortably on my shoulder with the claw. Total weight- ~16 lbs. Needless to say, the MLC is in the process of being returned. I'm so impressed with the gear from Red Oxx that I'm going to ditch my Patagonia back pack that I use for work and will purchase the Metro Briefcase which conveniently fits in the center compartment of the Air Boss. I will truly be a "One Bag" Traveler! I only have two gripes: 1) I really wanted the Air Boss in Midnight, however as expected it was on back order and I couldn't wait 2 weeks. 2) The enclosed Red Oxx sticker was commandeered by my 12 year old daughter who immediately took the sticker and stuck ir on her bedroom mirror! When I later sneaked into her room to remove the snicker, she caught me red handed and yelled at me that I couldn't have it! Women! Needless to say, I don't have a Red Oxx sticker to display to show my loyal following. The Air Boss will take it's maiden voyage in two weeks aboard a Regional Jet. Hopefully, I will also have the Metro to take along with me as well. Thanks Red OXX!
 
 Does what it says it does
By G Curtis, Georgia, July 8, 2010

I've only used the bag once, but the highest compliment I can give is this product is what it claims to be. It's rugged, tough, sized right, and just works.

I would recommend this bag to anyone.
 
 Flat Out the Best
By Blake , Washington State, July 8, 2010

I have been on the hunt for the "perfect" single bag for years. The goal: find a bag that can support my ambition to never check luggage again ... whether I am gone for just one day, a week, or two months. This is it.

I confess that this is my second bag... but that is ONLY because my son needed one for his walkabout. This bag has wandered through the Middle East, all point of Europe, Asia and to the town an hour away. It truly is the perfect solution.
 
 Nice Bag
By Tony, Plano, Texas, July 8, 2010

Quality of the materials and construction is excellent. I also like the design.

Improvements could be made in the following areas: 1) the carry handle could use a bit of padding to make it more comfortable to carry when loaded; and, 2) more adjustability in the shoulder strap. The strap is too long for my wife to use comfortably.
 
... 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24  ... Next > 
Specifications

Air Boss Spec Size Chart

  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • US Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 53.3cm L x 20.3cm W x 33cm H
  • US Capacity: 2,184 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 35.7 Liters
  • US Weight: 3.4 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 1.54 Kilos
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Cordura Nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 420 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • 4 lb. Volara closed cell foam padding on exterior panels
  • Double Box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Nylon webbing zipper pull grab loops
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors

Air Boss Carry-on Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 14 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

Is the Air Boss carry-on legal?
Yes, the Air Boss is carry-on legal on most jet airlines.
 
What's the best way to pack the Air Boss?
The bundle packing method is recommended. Watch the packing video under the Photos and Videos tab or download the printable luggage packing diagram (Pdf file).
 
What's the difference between the Air Boss and the Sky Train?
There are two principle differences between the Air Boss and the Sky Train: The Sky Train has retractable backpack straps and opens flat lengthwise whereas the Air Boss opens flat like a book.
 
Will the Air Boss fit under the seat in front of me?
Cramming the Air Boss under the seat is not recommended.
 
Will the Eagle Creek packing cubes fit the Air Boss?
We recommend that you use our Nomad Shave Kit, Lil Roy Gadget Bag or Tri-fold Toiletry bag as packing cubes. You can color co-ordinate them to your preference and they come with useful carry handles. The Tri-Fold Toiletry Kit is also a brilliant shave kit organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
 
How many pounds will the Air Boss weigh when packed?
It depends on what you pack. A typical 3-5 day load will weigh about 20-25 pounds.
 
How many days travel can I fit in the Air Boss Carry-on?
Most travelers can get about 3-5 days with a typical load. Some adventurous types have been able to pack from a week to ten days! It all depends on how you pack and what you pack.
 
Where do I pack the laptop?
You can use the center compartment. We recommend that you use a padded sleeve to protect your laptop.
 
What's the best way to pack footwear?
Sole to sole to minimize the dirt and placed in the middle compartment. We recommend placing your shoes in a plastic bag first.
 
Can I change the logo color?
Sure. Simply order your favorite color Logo Patch and sew it on yourself. Red Oxx cannot change the patch colors for you.
 
Can I order a bag without the logo?
Logo Patches are centered using a hole punch. If you remove the patch, there will be a hole in the bag that could cause a snag. Red Oxx cannot build a bag without a logo as this would disrupt the efficiency of the production line. Feel free to use a permanent marker to color the patches.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my bag?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
The Air Boss has three large internal compartments. There are no internal pockets.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.