Skip Navigation LinksAir-Boss

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I make other carry-on bags nervous.”
Red Oxx Air Boss Carry-on Bag - pictured in Red. Available in 12 colors for $225

Air Boss $245.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


One Bag Travel! Air Boss.

The only carry-on bag you'll ever need.

Designed for the business traveler, this popular five star-rated carry-on travel bag is a must-have for anyone who enjoys the advantages of traveling light. Peruse over 600 customer reviews right here from hundreds of satisfied Air Boss customers and get an honest idea of whether this is the best travel bag for you.

CARRY-ON REBORN.
Red Oxx worked with Internet author and carry-on travel expert, Doug Dyment, guru of OneBag.com fame to develop this all-in-one carry-on bag.

EXPERT DESIGN AND DEVELOPMENT.
Follow this link to learn Doug Dyment's bundle wrapping technique so you can fit more in your airline carry-on bag and be more organized. Thanks to Onebag.com, here's a fantastic luggage packing diagram, showing you how to "bundle wrap" your clothing in the Air Boss.

WRINKLE FREE TRAVEL.
Designed with three large main compartments, the Air Boss carry-on bag also features two outside zippered pockets (one full-length, one for your airline tickets), an outside sleeve pocket, and tie downs inside the outer sections to keep your slacks and dress shirts in position and wrinkle-free until you can hang them up in the hotel.

A PLACE FOR YOUR BELONGINGS.
The center compartment is spacious enough to hold your Toiletries, extra shoes, work-out gear, business briefcase, etc. Volara closed-cell foam padding is sewn in the sides, so you've got a rigid, yet flexible, piece of carry-on luggage that protects your belongings.

PROTECT YOUR LAPTOP.
Looking for extra protection for your laptop? Pick up a Metro Briefcase, which will fit in the center compartment of the Air Boss, adding further protection and giving you a "one bag" travel option...with two bags inside one. Note that this can become a heavy bag to carry if you do this.

NEVER SLIPS OFF.
Includes detachable nonslip Claw Shoulder Strap that keeps your bag where you want it - on your shoulder.

LEARN HOW TO PACK IT.
Watch the Air Boss Packing Video posted in the Videos tab at left where CFO Amanda Markel shows how to use many of the bag's features.

ANOTHER CARRY BAG OPTION.
Looking for a similar carry-on bag with retractable backpack style shoulder straps? Try our other popular travel bag, the Sky Train.

Join the fleet feet crowd and travel carry-on with the Commander of the ship: the Air Boss!

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your Air Boss on our production schedule. Your bag will then be delivered in under 30 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H.
Capacity: 2,184 cubic inches.

Pocket measurements:

  • Matching dual exterior zippered full length side flat pockets: 13"H x 20"W each
  • Exterior flat snap pocket: 9.5"H x 20"W
  • Exterior zippered side flat passport / map pocket: 12.5"D x 7"W
  • Dual zippered tie down side compartments: 2"W x 20.5"L x 12.5"H
  • Main center compartment: 4"W x 20.5"L x 12.5"H

"No Bull" Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, in production products and delivery time? - Read this personal letter from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the steps it takes to handcraft your Air Boss.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear.

Online Air Boss orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email and a review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. Backorders beyond a dozen days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is secure.

Every great carry-on bag needs cool luggage accessories.

2009 Winner of the "Best Durable Luggage Award" from Bestcovery.com; "Discover the Best of Everything."

Selected as Kiplinger's Expert Pics The Best List of 2008 for Best Carry-on Travel Bag.

Air Boss Trivia: On the flight deck of an aircraft carrier, the Air Boss is in charge of all the operations of the flight deck. He controls the moving of planes on deck, landing of aircraft, launching aircraft, ordinance handling, and safety of all the personnel occupying the flight deck. The Air Boss oversees from the command tower. Orders are communicated with the flight deck via megaphone. Ex: "Hey greenshirt. Get out of that checked baggage line and on the plane, now!"

Write a Review

4.79 Average Rating
 (665 Reviews)

 
... 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16  ... Next > 
 Air Boss
By Anonymous, Canada, January 31, 2012

I purchased the Air Boss before my yearly trip to the Carribbean and was very impressed with the amount of clothing that I could fit into it (and wrinkle free silk shirts upon my arrival). I go to the Carribbean yearly (for two weeks) and only utilize a carry on and this fit the bill. The only downfall of the product is that the weight of the bag puts a great deal of stress on your shoulder as you carry it through the airport. All in all a great purchase and would recommend it!
 
 Great Product!
By Anonymous, , January 28, 2012

I crammed this bag full of stuff and it still looked like a small bag. Best thing going
 
 The ONE
By Thorin Moss, New York, January 27, 2012

Extremely happy with the Airboss, great gift for a frequent traveler. Tuff and holds a TON. Never having to worry about the airline telling you your bag is too big and has to be checked is priceless. MADE IN USA with a LIFETIME warranty! Well worth the price.
 
 Amazing gear!
By WBM, Richmond, VA, January 23, 2012

I've been using it for a month of nonstop business travel. Literally the best bag I've ever owned. It's well designed, well made and extremely well executed. More than worth the premium price if you want something that will last and be effective. You can't go wrong here...
 
 Over-rated, over-priced
By Bruce, Madison, WI, January 13, 2012

I'm a seasoned traveler and expert packer so I expected much more from this bag, especially after reading so many positive reviews. All I can say is, those reviewers must have had some terrible bags in the past! This bag didn't hold anything like the amount of clothing I expected it to and I had no chance at all of including my laptop. I had to leave stuff behind when I went on a short 10-day trip - not happy about that. The bag is well made, no arguments there, but at $200-plus is way overpriced. I'm going back to my old suitcase and selling this one to someone who only goes away for long weekends. Disappointed!
 
 Holiday travel
By Day, Florida, January 12, 2012

I used my bag for the first time as we traveled over New Year's weekend. What a relief to not spend time at the baggage claim! We got in, on, and out quickly and I had everything I needed with me.
 
 This bag changed the way I travel
By Bob Anderson, Grand Rapids, MI, January 7, 2012

Being a seasoned hiker, I'm no stranger to light gear, efficient packing, and abusing bags. The Air Boss is tough as nails, doesn't add any unnecessary bulk, and eases you into the right mindset for packing. It made it much easier for me to pass through security while still giving me quick and easy access to everything in it.

I recently went on a four day business trip. When I got done packing my clothes and the few various items I needed, I realized that I still had a ton of room in the bag! I carry a messenger style laptop bag, but half way through the trip, I folded that up and stuffed it in the Air Boss along with the laptop.

One bag...amazing.
 
 11 on a 10 point scale
By Anonymous, Houston, Texas, January 5, 2012

To quote an infamous line from Spinal Tap, "This one goes to eleven." I have travelled with this bag extensively and while it obviously is well made, very functional and highly accessible, what impressed me the most was the sheer capacity. I could always find room to fit that extra something after I was done packing or picked up on the road. Also, it is equally comfortable carrying on your shoulder or by hand. And it is versatile enough to use on day trips, weekend vacations, and longer excursions. So, while most bags go to ten, this one can always turn it up a notch, which is inevitably helpful on most trips.
 
 Great Bag
By Kent, Wilmington, NC, January 5, 2012

I am a frequent global traveler. I bought this after many months of searching for a high quality, highly functional carry on made it USA. This fits the bill to the letter, and is very cost competitive compared to every alternative I looked at. Product shipped day of order, and I like the warranty.
 
 Excellent Product
By Andy Anderson, Lake Elmo, MN, December 31, 2011

Build quality is exceptional. Bright color choices make it stand out from the pack. I was initially a little skeptical about how much it would hold. Now I'm a believer. Amazing. Seriously. It does in fact hold way more than a standard roll on bag. I travel 180K a year including international trips so I am looking forward to many more years of dependability and no lost/delayed luggage!
 
 great bag, good work
By albert, israel, December 29, 2011

I spent a lot of time selecting bag particularly for my needs: not small, because usually I travel 5-7 days and need enough goods for this; not big, because I am not a big and do not like monster size in my hands, shoulders and neck. I stopped on Air Boss despite the cost. With great web site it was not very difficult to image the dimensions, quality and general things about the bag. I got exactly what I expected. Furthermore, the shipping from the other side of the Earth was perfect and quick. It is a real great bag for week travel, even if You go to place with unstable climate. You can fit two pairs of shoes, jacket and sweater as well as T-shirts and shorts. Thousands thanks Red Oxx!
 
 Versatile Bag
By Andrew, Australia, December 29, 2011

Bought this bag for a six month trip overseas. Fit a week of clothing and a bunch of electronics no problem. It's light enough to carry around on day trips with a few small items as well.
 
 4 Year Review
By Chris, Pa., December 28, 2011

I give it a 4.75.

I bought my Air Boss in 2007 and baptized it on a 2 week trip to the Republic of Georgia. Bags are such personal thing. Every criticism I've seen here no doubt has some validity for some users, depending on their habits and preferences. The two I tend to agree with are the strap getting uncomfortable when the bag is heavily loaded and the single-snap outside pocket being rather useless. Weight? You gotta pack intelligently.

I've used this bag for weekend getaways, business trips from 2 days to a week, and multi-week overseas vacations. For business trips, I bring along a hanging garment bag (just bought a Gypsy) for suits and dress shirts. Frankly, I've yet to find any other way to keep business attire neat. My laptop never goes in the Airboss, always in my personal bag. With that setup, the Airboss holds Redoxx Nomad shaving kit, undergarments, extra shoes, and a sweater or jacket, and I'm always easily under 25 pounds, so strap issues are usually inconsequential to me. But, there have been trips where I've returned with more than I left with, and the bag gets uncomfortable, in hand or on the shoulder, if it gets up around 40 pounds.

For pleasure trips, I leave the laptop and business clothes at home and do laundry in the hotel, so almost everything goes in the Air Boss. Khakis and casual shirts stay neat in the outside compartments. Again, always easily under 25 pounds, one bag, no matter how long the trip. Things like cameras and kindles and music gizmos go in my personal bag.

This bag has been more than big enough for every trip I've ever taken. I have never, ever, had a problem getting it in an overhead bin, and it's never been flagged as too big to carry on. And, of course, it's ridiculously overbuilt. After 4 years, mine has almost no visible wear, and I expect it will outlive me.
 
 Quality Bag!
By Gary, Sacramento, California, December 27, 2011

I received it as a Christmas gift. I haven't had a chance to use it yet. However, I am impressed with the quality and appreciate that it is made in the USA!
 
 A bit pricey, but worth it...
By George C., Galt, CA., December 22, 2011

I found Red Oxx on-line after driving myself nuts in stores trying to find a carry-on that is made in the U.S.

I left on a five day trip the day after receiving my Air Boss. My too large laptop and more clothes than I needed all fit into the bag.

It seems a bit pricey, but if it lasts a few years, it's worth the money........
 
 Bullet Proof
By S DelRosso, Delaware, December 15, 2011

Started using the bundle method and mistakenly bought a standard duffle with u shaped zipper. Worked ok, but recognized the need for a better bag. Bought the Air Boss before a week's trip to Japan which also included travel within the country. The Boss's 2 flat opening side pockets were perfect, allowing me to divide up my clothes for each destination so that I would not have to repackage. The size was perfect to fit a week's worth of clothes and still fit in every over head including a small regional jet. Maneuverability was perfect through train stations, crowded airports and small taxis. My travel mates were jealous of the ease I could move through the crowds as well as going up and down stairs etc... Construction is bulletproof! I feel bad for the expensive black roller bag crowd!
 
 Very satisfied with recent purchase
By Mitch Weiss, Knoxville, TN, December 15, 2011

Received my new Air Boss just before leaving for a meeting in NYC. Looked great! Quickly learned bundle packing technique, clothes were fine when we arrived. Had no problems fitting into overhead bin in the ERJs we flew on. Looking forward to many years of use!
 
 Outstanding
By Anonymous, , December 11, 2011

One trip was enough to convince me that my Air Boss purchase was money well spent. Clothes for an 8-day trip fit nicely in the two outer pockets, allowing me to put my camera and laptop in the middle.

The biggest disadvantage turned out to be the sudden realization of how irritating it is to try to maneuver around people with wheeled suitcases.
 
 Better with each use
By Todd W., Niceville, FL, December 9, 2011

I have had my Air Boss for about a year now, and it gets better with each use. I am amazed how much I can carry with this bag. While others struggle to fit bags in overhead bins, the Air Boss fits easily. I move faster through airports with this over my shoulder than I ever did with a wheeled bag.

I have had a few positive comments and questions about the bag from other travelers.

Solidly built. Well worth the price.
 
 Excellent Quality
By Anonymous, , December 5, 2011

Exactly what I was looking for! I first ordered the Timbuk2 Wingman, at half the price. It arrived with a defective strap and was a lumpy compromise. No comparison; the build quality and design of the Red Oxx is far superior. The "Coal" color looks better in person than online.
 
... 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16  ... Next > 
Specifications

Air Boss Spec Size Chart

  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • US Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 53.3cm L x 20.3cm W x 33cm H
  • US Capacity: 2,184 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 35.7 Liters
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Cordura Nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 420 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • 4 lb. Volara closed cell foam padding on exterior panels
  • Double Box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • All zippers #10 YKK self-locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Nylon webbing zipper pull grab loops
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors

Air Boss Carry-on Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 30 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

 

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

Is the Air Boss carry-on legal?
Yes, the Air Boss is carry-on legal on most jet airlines.
 
What's the best way to pack the Air Boss?
The bundle packing method is recommended. Watch the packing video under the Photos and Videos tab or download the printable luggage packing diagram (Pdf file).
 
What's the difference between the Air Boss and the Sky Train?
There are two principle differences between the Air Boss and the Sky Train: The Sky Train has retractable backpack straps and opens flat lengthwise whereas the Air Boss opens flat like a book.
 
Will the Air Boss fit under the seat in front of me?
Cramming the Air Boss under the seat is not recommended.
 
Will the Eagle Creek packing cubes fit the Air Boss?
We recommend that you use our Nomad Shave Kit, Lil Roy Gadget Bag or Tri-fold Toiletry bag as packing cubes. You can color co-ordinate them to your preference and they come with useful carry handles. The Tri-Fold Toiletry Kit is also a brilliant shave kit organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
 
How many pounds will the Air Boss weigh when packed?
It depends on what you pack. A typical 3-5 day load will weigh about 20-25 pounds.
 
How many days travel can I fit in the Air Boss Carry-on?
Most travelers can get about 3-5 days with a typical load. Some adventurous types have been able to pack from a week to ten days! It all depends on how you pack and what you pack.
 
Where do I pack the laptop?
You can use the center compartment. We recommend that you use a padded sleeve to protect your laptop.
 
What's the best way to pack footwear?
Sole to sole to minimize the dirt and placed in the middle compartment. We recommend placing your shoes in a plastic bag first.
 
Can I change the logo color?
Sure. Simply order your favorite color Logo Patch and sew it on yourself. Red Oxx cannot change the patch colors for you.
 
Can I order a bag without the logo?
Logo Patches are centered using a hole punch. If you remove the patch, there will be a hole in the bag that could cause a snag. Red Oxx cannot build a bag without a logo as this would disrupt the efficiency of the production line. Feel free to use a permanent marker to color the patches.
 
Can you lock the Air Boss?
Yes, any TSA approved lock will work. Or you can use one of our inexpensive Cable Locks. Keep in mind, any soft sided bag can be cut open with a sharp knife. It's always better to carry the bag onto the plane and store in the overhead bin where you can keep an eye on it.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
The Air Boss has three large internal compartments. There are no internal pockets.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.