Skip Navigation LinksAir-Boss

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I make other carry-on bags nervous.”
Red Oxx Air Boss Carry-on Bag - pictured in Red. Available in 12 colors for $225

Air Boss $245.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


One Bag Travel! Air Boss.

The only carry-on bag you'll ever need.

Designed for the business traveler, this popular five star-rated carry-on travel bag is a must-have for anyone who enjoys the advantages of traveling light. Peruse over 600 customer reviews right here from hundreds of satisfied Air Boss customers and get an honest idea of whether this is the best travel bag for you.

CARRY-ON REBORN.
Red Oxx worked with Internet author and carry-on travel expert, Doug Dyment, guru of OneBag.com fame to develop this all-in-one carry-on bag.

EXPERT DESIGN AND DEVELOPMENT.
Follow this link to learn Doug Dyment's bundle wrapping technique so you can fit more in your airline carry-on bag and be more organized. Thanks to Onebag.com, here's a fantastic luggage packing diagram, showing you how to "bundle wrap" your clothing in the Air Boss.

WRINKLE FREE TRAVEL.
Designed with three large main compartments, the Air Boss carry-on bag also features two outside zippered pockets (one full-length, one for your airline tickets), an outside sleeve pocket, and tie downs inside the outer sections to keep your slacks and dress shirts in position and wrinkle-free until you can hang them up in the hotel.

A PLACE FOR YOUR BELONGINGS.
The center compartment is spacious enough to hold your Toiletries, extra shoes, work-out gear, business briefcase, etc. Volara closed-cell foam padding is sewn in the sides, so you've got a rigid, yet flexible, piece of carry-on luggage that protects your belongings.

PROTECT YOUR LAPTOP.
Looking for extra protection for your laptop? Pick up a Metro Briefcase, which will fit in the center compartment of the Air Boss, adding further protection and giving you a "one bag" travel option...with two bags inside one. Note that this can become a heavy bag to carry if you do this.

NEVER SLIPS OFF.
Includes detachable nonslip Claw Shoulder Strap that keeps your bag where you want it - on your shoulder.

LEARN HOW TO PACK IT.
Watch the Air Boss Packing Video posted in the Videos tab at left where CFO Amanda Markel shows how to use many of the bag's features.

ANOTHER CARRY BAG OPTION.
Looking for a similar carry-on bag with retractable backpack style shoulder straps? Try our other popular travel bag, the Sky Train.

Join the fleet feet crowd and travel carry-on with the Commander of the ship: the Air Boss!

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your Air Boss on our production schedule. Your bag will then be delivered in under 30 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H.
Capacity: 2,184 cubic inches.

Pocket measurements:

  • Matching dual exterior zippered full length side flat pockets: 13"H x 20"W each
  • Exterior flat snap pocket: 9.5"H x 20"W
  • Exterior zippered side flat passport / map pocket: 12.5"D x 7"W
  • Dual zippered tie down side compartments: 2"W x 20.5"L x 12.5"H
  • Main center compartment: 4"W x 20.5"L x 12.5"H

"No Bull" Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, in production products and delivery time? - Read this personal letter from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the steps it takes to handcraft your Air Boss.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear.

Online Air Boss orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email and a review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. Backorders beyond a dozen days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is secure.

Every great carry-on bag needs cool luggage accessories.

2009 Winner of the "Best Durable Luggage Award" from Bestcovery.com; "Discover the Best of Everything."

Selected as Kiplinger's Expert Pics The Best List of 2008 for Best Carry-on Travel Bag.

Air Boss Trivia: On the flight deck of an aircraft carrier, the Air Boss is in charge of all the operations of the flight deck. He controls the moving of planes on deck, landing of aircraft, launching aircraft, ordinance handling, and safety of all the personnel occupying the flight deck. The Air Boss oversees from the command tower. Orders are communicated with the flight deck via megaphone. Ex: "Hey greenshirt. Get out of that checked baggage line and on the plane, now!"

Write a Review

4.79 Average Rating
 (663 Reviews)

 
... 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16  ... Next > 
 So far so good
By D. Blair, Sherwood Park, AB, November 19, 2011

We were pleased at how quickly the Air Boss arrived at our door. We have yet to take a trip with it, but are anxious to try it out. It appears to be exactly as described and very well built.
 
 Best carry on I have ever had
By Mike Nesbit, Sandy, Utah , November 18, 2011

The Bag arrived quickly and in time for a three day trip to Providence, RI - packed light - there were pockets and places for everything I needed - no problem with overheads - this is the best bag I have ever purchased - I will be adding to this one shortly
 
 I really like this bag
By Bill Canady , Iowa, November 17, 2011

Solid bag. I travel about 200k miles a year for my job. I bought this bag because they keep taking my carry on in Europe. They have really strict weight requirements on carry ons. When they take my bag, they typically damage it. So i biught this to combat the "bag police". My last trip was to China, so I took it with me. Worked great. Looked good. Easy to fit in all of the overheads

On the down side, I did get tired of carrying it though O'hare and PuDong. I also missed the ability to hang my coat on my pull luggage handle while I grab a quick bite to eat at the airports.

Like everything in life, there are trade offs.

I would recommend it.
 
 Everything they said, and more!
By Jon West, Pittsburgh, November 17, 2011

I purchased this specifically for a 2-week trip to China, and it arrived the day before I left (very fast shipping!). When I opened the box, I thought "No way will this fit everything I need"..when empty, it is very flat and light. But sure enough, it accommodated everything I needed to pack.5 dress shirts, 5 pants, 2 jackets, jeans, underwear and socks, plus workout clothes and running shoes, and all of my work gear (2 cameras, audio equipment, external hard drives, etc). I breezed through the airports and the clothes were wrinkle-free when I arrived in Shanghai.

Had I known about the custom tailored clothes available in Shanghai, I probably wouldn't have packed anything at all. During my visit, I ended up purchasing 8 dress shirts, a sport coat, 3 heavy winter coats, and 12 long cashmere scarves. I was worried that I wouldn't have room, but the Air Boss was able to handle everything with ease. Its rugged build and heavy duty zippers may seem like overkill, but I'm really needed them this trip. Even with a heavy load, the Air Boss felt comfortable on my shoulder, too. I'm a believer!
 
 Stuff it, stuff it some more...
By David G, NJ, USA, November 17, 2011

I purchased the Air Boss for a recent two week trip to India, and for future domestic travel.

I could not believe how much I was able to get into the Boss. A week's plus worth of clothes and other assorted travel supplies. On the way home it took all of that along with some souvenirs. There were times I swore there was no way I'd get it zipped closed for all the stuff in it, but every time those zippers worked as advertised.

Even fully loaded it was always easy to carry over the shoulder or in hand, and the lack of backpack straps didn't bother me. I had a regular backpack with me to use as a daily bag that also had some items for my trip, and I'm not about to try and use two bags with backpack straps (one in front and one in back).

For domestic travel I could easily get everything into the Air Boss and I'd still be fine with this in hand or over the shoulder.

Very, very pleased!
 
 International champ
By Jamey, Wiesbaden, Germany, November 13, 2011

This bag has now endured four months of at least weekly travel by train and airplane and is versatile and perfectly sized. I've used it as my carry on for five international flights so far. It even fit in the smallest overhead compartment I have seen in a long time (Embraer jet). My seat-back essentials are all close at hand and in either the center compartment or the snapped side pocket, so I can stow it quickly and get comfy for those long trans-Atlantic flights. I live as a "geographic bachelor" during the week, and travel on weekends to stay with my family. This bag has held all my weekend needs, even for the four day holiday weekends. A couple of fellow travelers have asked about it and I wholeheartedly recommended it. Best carry on I've had in over 20 years of international travel.
 
 Guatemala proof!
By Bob, Utah, November 10, 2011

This bag traveled first class by air and then went to the mountains of Guatemala 14 hours by bus. It kept my gear clean and bug free in a jungle environment. I especially like how two Eagle Creek organizing bags fit perfectly side by side in each compartment. Would suggest adding a key clip in the small compartment.
 
 Made my trip
By Iain, London, UK, November 10, 2011

Ordered on Sunday for international shipment to the UK. Arrived as scheduled Friday lunchtime, packed and boarded the plane 4 hours later on Friday afternoon just as the carrier was refusing any more roller cases as carry-ons. Brilliant, thanks Red Oxx, made my trip!
 
 5 Year Check In
By Derek, Atlanta, GA, November 8, 2011

It's been over 5 years now with my AirBoss and it's still holding up strong.

I fly every week for work, usually 140+ flights a year and my AirBoss has held up very well, shows almost no signs of wear.

Because I want flexibly in my travel schedule, I never check luggage and the few times I've boarded the plane and they're out of room for 'other' bags, my soft-side AirBoss is welcomed aboard and tucked in a cozy niche somewhere. I will never use another bag.
 
 Excellent Bag...with a few suggested enhancements
By Steve C., Houston, TX, November 4, 2011

Perfect bag for quick trips. I pack light, but have been able to accomidate enough for a 5-day trip (plus a separate carry-on). Quality = A+. Design = A+.

Suggestions:

1. I'd recommend swapping out the heavy metal strap fasteners with something lighter (and equally as strong).

2. The ID carrier is a nice touch, but I'd also suggest figuring out a way of making it lighter.

Highly recommend!
 
 Best Bag Ever
By Washington, UK, November 4, 2011

I just love this product. I've tried so many bags in the past and non off them have even come close to the quality. And the service of your company has been amazing.
 
 Air Boss works!
By Bret, California, November 4, 2011

Overall, a good buy! Just got back from London. The Boss held up well as a carry on and as a checked bag. Expandable, and easy to carry. I'm satisfied.
 
 I love it too
By Paul B., NYC<->LHR, October 31, 2011

I love it. I know thats what everyone else says, but I feel the same way. I think my favorite part is that the center compartment holds a laptop. That means that at the end of the week when I fly straight from the client's office back to home I can leave my briefcase and just use the red oxx. crucial for keeping weight down.
 
 Just like it was adverstised
By Anonymous, Alaska, October 30, 2011

This is an excellent bag that provides a business like look and provides enough room for quick business trips and week-long vacations. The price seems expensive, but when I look at all the pieces of luggage that are broken, torn or I threw away this is worth it. I'll pay for quality and this clearly fits the bill.

I agree with others, that if you over pack and have to carry it a long distance it does get heavy.

I just finished a two week vacation with the family and we did it all with carry on. I'm sold this is the way to go.

No regrets on this purchase. It's not cheap, but the value is outstanding.
 
 Happy with it
By Tero Toikka, Helsinki, Finland, October 30, 2011

I got the Airboss about a month ago and now had done two trips with it. First a four night conference and second was one week in Asia.

The bag is actually bigger than is needed for my clothes, PC and accessories. This has proven useful since having new materials and souvenirs from the distant location.

I am able to pack all clothes on the side compartments. Then running shoes and other things in the middle top loader compartment. From there it is convenient to take out PC for screening.

I also use a light weight PC sleeve on the location. If would need to gate check then collect all important items on it. The shoulder strap feels indestructable and I use it for the PC sleeve on the location.

I would consider another bag only if it would be even lesser weight.
 
 The Best
By Peter A. Liron, Melville Western Australia, October 27, 2011

I have had many carry on bags over the years. At last I have the best one ever. I have just given my Air Boss a shake-down trip to Vietnam for eleven days. It carried everything that I needed and still had some room. I resisted the temptation to add more, keeping some space for souvenirs.

I purchased four Eagle Creek quarter cubes of different colours to stow all of my loose items and used the colours to identify what items were in which cube.

I put the cubes in the centre compartment, easy to get to, perfect!

I cannot complain about the shoulder strap. For me it was fine given the short distances that I had to carry the bag through airports. There are always trolleys available at airports if really needed.

The Air Boss is one tough bag and will easily see me to the end of my travelling days. It will be handed down to some lucky friend.

Business trips excluded, my next big trip is to South America next year.

Would not consider going with anything other than my Air Boss. That's it, done deal, no Air Boss, no trip. and that's final.
 
 Air Boss Shoulder Strap
By Anonymous, Los Angeles, CA, October 27, 2011

Great bag, made things very easy, of course lot's of space for someone who is 6'4'. My wardrobe is a bit larger. I bought the red one in which is made t much easier to spot in the baggage claim area.

The only thing I would like better would be a broader shoulder strap, the weight of the bag made it dig in while walking with it.
 
 Excellent Build Quality
By Rich Shadrin, Walden NY, October 27, 2011

Along with the shave kit I purchased the AIRBOSS to compliment the many rollaboards I've accumulated over the many years I had traveled for business.

Though skeptical about losing my wheels, I learned 2 lessons. Firstly the claims made about the bombproof construction is true and finally resist overpacking. The latter was a good lesson as I traveled outbound using all the folding techniques and a few tricks of my own and the back was light and well within its recommended packing dimensions. On the way back, loaded with too much 'stuff' I was still able to overhead rack it, but schlepping it across terminals at O'Hare made me wish for wheels. Mea culpa.

Lesson learned is pack much lighter than you need. Learn to be agile and since the whole world has gone casual that task has bccome easier. KI just had to learn the hard way. So pack, smart, light and use the AIRBOSS - I'm a convert.
 
 Great Buy
By Chandler, Colorado, October 27, 2011

I got this bag anticipating a trip to China. And I am sure glad I decided on it. I was able to get a month of travel gear into it.

My trip was supposed to be Denver > Seattle > Tokyo > Shanghai > Zhengzhou

But it ended up being:

Denver > Seattle > San Fran > Taipei > Shanghai > Zhengzhou

So I am sure glad I didn't have to figure out checked luggage at the same time. I would of sure had a bag get lost. Also I was bumped off my flight in Shanghai and had to hit a hotel. But I had everything I needed with me.

I got great service, bag is very well made and it was a perfect buying experience.
 
 I've used it once ...
By Dave, Colorado Springs, October 25, 2011

I have tried a variety of bags for traveling. I hate most of them. The one I've kept coming back to is one that I got 20 years ago for free for answering a survey at a conference. It's 16x12x7, quite a bit smaller than the Air Boss, two zippered pockets on one side and a large open pocket on the other. There is one main compartment that unzips only about halfway. Its handles are uncomfortable on the hands and its shoulder strap is not much better. But it is convenient. It easily fits under the seat or in the overhead even of the miniature airplanes I frequently find myself on. I can pack clean business casual clothes for a week using it.

I read about the Air Boss on OneBag.com. I told my wife I wanted it and she and my daughter bought it for me for Father's Day. I haven't used it yet, but I've looked it over. It is assembled very well. It looks rugged.

I like the way it opens all the way so it won't flop closed when trying to use both hands putting clothes in. I like the tie-downs in the clothes compartments to keep my clothes tidier especially for a short trip when the bag is only lightly packed. I like the center compartment where I can stash my electronics; computer, GPS, iPod, headphones, chargers, etc. and get to them without opening the whole bag. I like the snap-wrap on the handles to give my hands some relief when carrying it. We'll see how the shoulder strap works, but it's fine when the bag is empty. :-)

It's bigger than I'm used to, so I'll need to be careful not to overpack.

OK. I've waited to post this review until I had actually used the Air Boss. I just completed a four-day business and pleasure trip. Once I had packed I weighed the bag and found that it was just under 23 pounds, but all I was taking was in one bag. This was four days worth of business casual attire (including shoes) plus netbook, GPS, camera and battery chargers for all.

My observations (YMMV):

I found the shoulder strap awkward, but it might improve with practice. I was wearing a jacket, but not zipped. The strap would start to grip lower on my shoulder than I wanted and it was difficult to get situated where it was comfortable and not pulling the jacket shoulder off of my shoulder.

Carrying the Air Boss in my hand was less comfortable than I'd hoped. I found that if I used the grippy part of the shoulder strap as a cushion my hands were happier.

I would lose things in the Air Boss's many pockets. I dropped my cell phone into a pocket before TSA and it took me ten minutes to find it again after screening. I still need to figure out where to put things so that I can easily locate them again.

Packing and unpacking are as easy as I had expected. I pack shirts, pajamas, underwear and socks in an Eagle Creek Pack-It Folder. It allows me to neatly fold and compress my clothes. I put the folder into one side and strapped it down. Then I folded pants, put then on the other side and strapped them down. The center section got shoes and the detritus of business travel plus the quart zipper bag of liquids and gels. There was still much more space ... I *was* trying to travel light. I could have packed for a week or more, but I'm not sure I would have been able to lift it. (When I got home I found that my local Costco store has a "personal hand truck" that weighs 7.5 pounds, can carry 150 pounds and folds flat for $20. Bungy cords from Lowes completes my set-up.)

Earlier I said the Air Boss is larger than the "free" bag I've used for 20+ years. It fits under the seat in front of you, but barely. All of my flights were completely full so there was no overhead compartment space. I'm a pretty big guy; 6'2", 250+ pounds. This cramps my foot room. I need to figure out how to deal with my computer and other high-value gear so that I can gate check the bag when needed.

So far I'm pleased.
 
... 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16  ... Next > 
Specifications

Air Boss Spec Size Chart

  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • US Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 53.3cm L x 20.3cm W x 33cm H
  • US Capacity: 2,184 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 35.7 Liters
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Cordura Nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 420 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • 4 lb. Volara closed cell foam padding on exterior panels
  • Double Box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • All zippers #10 YKK self-locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Nylon webbing zipper pull grab loops
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors

Air Boss Carry-on Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 30 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

 

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

Is the Air Boss carry-on legal?
Yes, the Air Boss is carry-on legal on most jet airlines.
 
What's the best way to pack the Air Boss?
The bundle packing method is recommended. Watch the packing video under the Photos and Videos tab or download the printable luggage packing diagram (Pdf file).
 
What's the difference between the Air Boss and the Sky Train?
There are two principle differences between the Air Boss and the Sky Train: The Sky Train has retractable backpack straps and opens flat lengthwise whereas the Air Boss opens flat like a book.
 
Will the Air Boss fit under the seat in front of me?
Cramming the Air Boss under the seat is not recommended.
 
Will the Eagle Creek packing cubes fit the Air Boss?
We recommend that you use our Nomad Shave Kit, Lil Roy Gadget Bag or Tri-fold Toiletry bag as packing cubes. You can color co-ordinate them to your preference and they come with useful carry handles. The Tri-Fold Toiletry Kit is also a brilliant shave kit organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
 
How many pounds will the Air Boss weigh when packed?
It depends on what you pack. A typical 3-5 day load will weigh about 20-25 pounds.
 
How many days travel can I fit in the Air Boss Carry-on?
Most travelers can get about 3-5 days with a typical load. Some adventurous types have been able to pack from a week to ten days! It all depends on how you pack and what you pack.
 
Where do I pack the laptop?
You can use the center compartment. We recommend that you use a padded sleeve to protect your laptop.
 
What's the best way to pack footwear?
Sole to sole to minimize the dirt and placed in the middle compartment. We recommend placing your shoes in a plastic bag first.
 
Can I change the logo color?
Sure. Simply order your favorite color Logo Patch and sew it on yourself. Red Oxx cannot change the patch colors for you.
 
Can I order a bag without the logo?
Logo Patches are centered using a hole punch. If you remove the patch, there will be a hole in the bag that could cause a snag. Red Oxx cannot build a bag without a logo as this would disrupt the efficiency of the production line. Feel free to use a permanent marker to color the patches.
 
Can you lock the Air Boss?
Yes, any TSA approved lock will work. Or you can use one of our inexpensive Cable Locks. Keep in mind, any soft sided bag can be cut open with a sharp knife. It's always better to carry the bag onto the plane and store in the overhead bin where you can keep an eye on it.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
The Air Boss has three large internal compartments. There are no internal pockets.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.