Skip Navigation Links

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“Your new home on the rails.”
Red Oxx Rail King Railroad Grip Rucksack. Our largest, toughest bag.

Rail King Railroad Rucksack $325.00


Currently out of stock. Place your order today and it will ship within 30 days.

Embroidered Monogram Patches:

  • One - Three Initials $7.50
  • Four - Ten Letters $10.00

Embroidered Monogram Patches:

  • One - Three Initials $7.50
  • Four - Ten Letters $10.00

X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


A Railroad Rucksack on Steroids. Ready to ride the rails.

The undisputed King of the Rails.

Our friends down at the train yard will be thrilled we've done our final testing on the new Rail King Railroad Grip Rucksack and it's ready for the rails. Bigger, badder and ready to go down the longest mile in style, for quite a while. Just like our popular Railroad Grip, it's still hand built in our factory in Billings, Montana. It comes with our famous no questions asked "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty. It uses the same tough Ballistic Nylon materials.

DESIGNED EXCLUSIVELY FOR LONG RANGE RAIL RIDERS.
Back in 1992, local Rail Engineers helped design our original Railroad Grip. Seems since then, they're packing more personal stuff, taking longer trips like the "xtra board" and there was also a need for a grip bag that could carry winter gear along with the typical lamp, radio and GCOR rule book.

WHY A BACKPACK STYLE RUCKSACK?
All this could be thought of as becoming pretty heavy for a Grip. Rather than convert a larger bag such as our Sherpa Jr. Outfitters Expedition Bag, the decision was made to spread the weight across your back evenly and keep the compartmentalized features railroaders like so much by creating an enlarged rucksack.

COMFORT AND STRENGTH.
Upgraded durable Uni-Suede padded articulating shoulder straps for carry comfort cinch down with Mil-Spec A.L.I.C.E. hardware. Every stress point is double box stitched for peace of mind. Heavy-duty compression straps on bottom of the Rail King Rucksack stores your jacket, blanket or bedroll out of the way. Beware, the Rail King is our LARGEST Rucksack Backpack. Now you can ride the Red Oxx Hi-Ball on the roll by!

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your Rail King Rucksack on our production schedule. It will then be delivered in under 30 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

Exterior Dimensions: 24"L x 12"W x 9"H (excludes pockets).
Capacity: Total Capacity: 5652 cubic inches - including external raised pockets.

Pocket Measurements:

  • Exterior dual side zippered pockets: 14"H x 7"W x 4"D
  • Exterior dual side zippered flat slip pockets: 8"H x 7"w
  • Exterior front pocket: 15"L x 12"W x 5"D
  • Exterior zippered flap pocket: 12"W x 12"H x 3"D
  • Interior slip pocket: 18"H x 12"W

"No Bull" Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, in production products and delivery time? - Read this personal letter from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the steps it takes to handcraft your Rail King Rucksack.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email and a review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. Back orders beyond a dozen days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is secure.

Every great rail rucksack needs Railroader accessories.

Personalize it. An embroidered Ruck is a respected Ruck.
Order an Embroidered Monogram Patch (located on top zipper panel).

  • Three initials for only $7.50
  • Up to ten characters for only $10.00

NOTE: Custom Embroidered Monogram Patches adds an additional 2-3 business days before shipping.

Other ideal uses for the rugged Railroad Rail King Rucksack include:

  • Riggers Rucksack Backpack - tough enough for any oil rigging job
  • Trucker cargo ruck - great for tools and travel gear
  • Roughneck backpack - If you work a big tough job, this is your bag
  • Horse tack knapsack
  • Rodeo ruck
  • Roping ruck
  • Halter rucksack
  • Trainers rucksack

UPDATED
Free Printable Railroad Rucksack PDF Brochure Download (3.7MB)
Free Printable Railroad Accessories PDF Brochure Download (3.4MB)

Write a Review

4.75 Average Rating
 (61 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 4 Next > 
 Great Stuff!!
By Jim Amsbury, Denver Colorado, December 1, 2011

There is no better back pack or grip made for a railroader. It is tough enough, and BIG enough to do the job! I bought it on the advice of one of the guys I work with. Have had mine for one month, and have passed on the recommendation !! Keep up the good work.
 
 Great bag for more than just railroading!
By BCB, Denver, Colorado , November 2, 2011

I have done a lot of traveling in my days & gone through many bags. This bag is by far one of the best I've owned. I wish I knew about it sooner than I did. I am a railroader & I can pack all my gear & more in this thing. I am very happy with this pack.

I have never been a fan of duffle bags so I am happy to see a very versatile & rugged backpack style bag. It balances well on my back when packed properly. I can fit my rule book, laptop, winter cold weather gear, boots, shoes, two or three days worth of clothes, radio, lantern, shower gear ect, all in one bag. It can get a bit heavy with all that so pack wisely.

It has great heavy duty zippers & very nice drawstrings for closing it up. There are loops, buckles & cinching straps with endless uses. I would like to see a little more room in the small side pockets. They are the only thing I think could use some improvement. When the large sides are packed the small sides have very little room in them for anything. I would also like to see a seperate shallow zippered compartment on the larger interior possibly on the front or back wall of the large interior compartment. That would make it a perfect pack.

All in all great bagfor over the road travel when you will be away for a day or longer. A little high priced but I guess it's the quality & the lifetime warranty you are paying for. Guaranteed for life!
 
 Very Good
By Andrew, Las Vegas, October 30, 2011

I love this bag. The side pockets are huge and to help with organization I stuff things into a nomad shave kit then fill the gaps with other misc crap. This bag is a lot bigger than the C-Ruck it's replacing, and that's where I have my only complaint. The straps on this bag are clearly more substantial than the C-Ruck straps, and that's a good thing, it can get heavy. However, the grab loop on the top of the bag is the same single unpadded piece of webbing found on the C-Ruck. For a lot of people that won't matter, but I use that loop a lot hoisting the bag into and out of trucks and whatnot. Maybe I'm nitpicking, but the bag gets heavy and I wish it have a better grab loop. Otherwise, this is a fantastic bag and just like my Air Boss, I expect to use it for a VERY long time.
 
 Grip for a lifetime!
By Anonymous, Kansas, October 5, 2011

This grip is built superior to any others that I know of on the market.

After using many others, I decided to spend the money on one that would not wear out!

The embroidery is top notch!

The grip will work for Conductors as well as Engineers it is very Large. Easy to clip train lanterns, store GTB's, GCOR a laptop computer, clothes, shoes, shaving gear and even more in one backpack!

This grip has a Lifetime warranty out here that is 30 years+ That definately puts this product in a league of it own and says something.
 
 Don't be fooled by the Price!
By Cornductor, Stuck in the siding, September 21, 2011

I know what you're thinking..... DAMN thats high for a grip!!! This is a railroaders last grip he'll ever buy. Period.

You've probably seen another railroader with one and admired from afar. You're away from home terminal and you see something strange; a transportation employee carrying only one grip. Trust your intuition, it really is love at first sight. You think "look at this tool, he's sharpshooting the board and catching all the hot shots. He's woefully unprepared for hours in the hole." But you're mistaken my friend. He's got everything in his RailKing grip that you've got in your 2 grips plus some extras. Probably a magical time machine as well, that transports him to home terminal. But his time machine is different it; it pays like 12+ hours rather than the usual trip rate. And throws the finger to the shitty footboard yardmaster that couldn't cut it on the ground. His logic for spending $300+ on a grip lies in the fact that a morning of awkwardness is far better than a night of loneliness..

This grip is freaking HUGE, it holds everything a railroader could ever want, need, or wish for. Pack supper for two because baby, you got room! Go ahead and spend the extra $10 and get it embroidered; you won't be returning it.

This RailKing Grip will become a family heirloom. You'll tell your great grandchildren about this grip. I've already written it in my will to first born child. Buy this grip, you will not regret it! It's worth it's weight in gold! Radio, ALL your rule books (like you ever read them, you just have them in there for the SAT teams), ability to pack enough clothes for an Ethiopian village and food for a small garrison of soldiers (even those emergency rations when they didn't order a cab and it won't be there for 5 hours).

All said, think of it as an investment. You're going to spend that much buying grips over time. Just go ahead and it get out of the way. Drop the money and you will be the envy of every other railroader out there. A term I have dubbed "grip envy".
 
 A very good grip
By Jack, , September 15, 2011

I've been through the outdoor store bags, army surplus, and one of the "rail designed/made" grips. This has by far the best quality material, and zippers. I suspect it will be the one grip that will last. I see no weak points. The grip has great capacity, but I would like to see a little more use of dividers or compartments. All in all a great grip.
 
 Great Bag and money saver.
By Chris, North Platte, August 5, 2011

Had 2 big bag now down to one big bag. Very confortable for wearing as a back pack and walking any kind of distance. Love the big pockets. The best thing about this bag is you don't have to fill it to the top it holds its shape. So if later on in life as I get older if carrying that much weight is to much I can still use the same bag just take some stuff out. The Red Oxx No Bull Warranty is also the reason I went this way been buying new bags every 2 to 3 yrs now I don't have to waste my money again. Its taken care of if something happens to the bag. I will save so much money in the long run.
 
 Great Bag!
By Mark Roue, Brooks MN, July 28, 2011

This is a well designed, well built replacement for the normal grip. There are plenty of nice sized pockets to keep books as well as smaller items easily accessed without having to dig. There is plenty of room and then some, to stow away everything you need to take along. Even though this bag is big, I've found it easily fits through grab irons and doors and readily straps on a motorcycle ( plus makes a nice backrest for the ride to work ).
 
 Conductor
By Mike Towell, Galesburg, June 16, 2011

Wife got it for me after all my bitching this last winter. We looked and decided that this bag could haul everything I wanted plus all my winter gear.

It is VERY BIG!!! The only problem I have found with it so far is that the pockets on the side(which by the way are the perfect size for lantern, coffee thermos, radio, ect..) gets hung up while going into the cab of the locomotive. If they were positioned in the front it would be perfect!!

The wife had my name put on it and I'm glad she did. It looks great.



I use the top fold down pocket for my laptop and other things. The front pocket holds my rule book, all the time tables and every warrant book, and other forms I could ever imagine. The center compartment holds everything you can think of.

1 bag holds my lunch cooler, change of clothes, laptop, winter coat, overalls, overshoes, and all the required items I have to have and I still both hands free to maintain 3 points of contact while climbing up on the motor....PLUS its a whole lot easier to carry it on your back instead of having to carry 2 bags if you have to walk very far to catch that ride. GREAT PRODUCT
 
 One Big Bag
By Jason, ND, April 3, 2011

This bag is huge. I over pack all the time, and this bag still has room for more. When it sits in the depot, everyone else stops and checks it out. One thing I wish it had was a inner pocket in the front pouch for pens and pencils. Also would have liked it to be cheaper, but for the quality and the life time guarantee I felt it was gonna be money well spent. It has only made a couple of trips so far, but I plan on working it hard for many of years. Overall very happy with my purchase.
 
 Great bag but even though I love it still very pricy
By Corey Patten, , March 24, 2011

I love the bag it is made well and does fit almost all me stuff but two faults it have two circle rings on the straps that, well feel like metal on your shoulders. An dang is it really worth that much not quite sure, but still happy.
 
 Great Bag!
By Anonymous, North Carolina, March 10, 2011

This bag is perfect! My huband works for the railroad and has been searching for a bag to fit all his stuff. He absolutely loves this bag. Definitely worth the money.
 
 I love this bag!
By RJ , Seattle, February 17, 2011

Best purchase I have made in a while. This bag is awesome. No regrets here.

 
 Holy Rucksack, Batman!
By SJ Abbotts, Portland, OR, December 17, 2010

Wow, where do I start? Umm, this grip is everything that I expected, plus more. Highest quality materials, as well as workmanship. I'm half tempted to cut it open to see if it's actually made of kevlar, woven over a fine mesh of rebar.

I've seen the tried and tested traditional Red Oxx grip being toted by fellow railroaders throughout my seven years as a Conductor. I always admired their quality grips, but that was the problem. They were the traditional duffel bag style grips. That's just never been an option for me since I've always leaned toward rucksacks and backpacks. Then one day I was deadheading on Amtrak when I saw a Conductor from another railroad with a Red Oxx Rucksack on his back. I was in shock; a rucksack with the unmistakable Red Oxx patch. The sky parted, the sun began to shine and the birds began chirping... I was in love.

I quickly cracked open my laptop and frantically searched for my new grip to-be. After seeing the price, I couldn't justify trading in my old, trusted backpack for a Red Oxx quite yet. In the mean time, I carried my backpack, as well as a laptop backpack. After spending $90 on this laptop backpack, the zipper pulls broke about three months into its lifespan. Not too long after this, I was asked what I wanted for Christmas. The first thing out of my mouth was; "I want a Red Oxx Rucksack!" Picture Ralphie from the movie, A Christmas Story, asking for a Red Ryder BB Gun. That was totally me.

It's hard to justify to someone the price of a good quality grip when they, themselves don't live out of a bag on a constant basis, while carrying it through the elements, in and out of locomotives and crew vans and down the hallways of a hotel. Once I explained that it was more of an investment that was backed by a lifetime warranty, I had sold my wish.

I received my early gift about a week ago. Did you really think that I would hold out until Christmas? It's made two and a half round trips with me and thus far, the love is still there. I've read other reviews stating that it was too big. I don't think so. I was able to fit the contents of two good sized backpacks into this rucksack and it has thoroughly impressed me.

In one of the side pockets resides my lantern, radio with two batteries, gloves and a microphone with a DTMF keypad with some room to spare. The other side pocket contains my Locoverter, inverter and random toys and cables. The top pocket is home to various folders, books and logs. The front pocket holds other random items including my vest, a couple of cases with glasses, noise-canceling earmuffs and some other goodies. The "cargo bay" holds my clothes, shoes, shaving bag, rain gear, food and drinks (I don't believe in coolers considering there is a fridge in my hotel room and an ice box [or fridge] on the locomotive). Behind the divider sits my 19.1" HP widescreen laptop in a neoprene sleeve (perfect fit, by the way).

I'm 6'2" with broad shoulders and with this bag fully loaded; so far I've had no trouble getting in or out of four different models of locomotives. One thing that has been a little tough to get used to is the lack of organizing pockets that I had become accustomed to when traveling with two backpacks. I have, however, remedied this by ordering packing cubes from another retailer. Since this was a gift, I didn't get the name patch that I wanted, but I suppose that I can live without it. I did get excited to see a dog tag on it, only to realize that it was a product/price tag.

I did a little digging and found the made to order Dog Tags on the website. I had my Dog Tag all made up and added it to my cart, only to have my jaw drop when this $2 Dog Tag, became a $9.99 Dog Tag with shipping via UPS. Really? $7.99 for shipping something that weighs practically nothing? Hey Red Oxx, could I send you a self-addressed, stamped envelope with two bucks paper clipped to it? ;-)

Overall, this is a kick ass grip! Oops, can I say that? Anyway, don't hesitate a moment longer. BUY IT NOW! Operators are standing by and the internet is open 24/7, which means it's railroad-friendly.

Thanks, Red Oxx!
 
 Best Grip Period.
By J, Denver, November 23, 2010

This is a great grip. I put my rule book and paperwork in the top pocket and don't have a problem with the functionality. The side pockets are big enough to hold a lantern, radio, gloves, and that dreaded vest in one pocket. When I work the ground it holds all the stuff I need to stay warm. When I am in the seat it handles the lighter load nicely. I can also fit my lunch box in the front pocket, so this is the only thing I carry to the engine. All I need in one tuff bag that still looks brand new after a year.
 
 awesome grip
By pete m., philadelphia, pa, November 19, 2010

picked this as a gift for my brother attending rr academy... he really, really likes it... might have to get one myself.
 
 Huge bag.
By Ryan L, Sheridan, WY, October 24, 2010

It's a RedOxx item... extremely well built and impossible to destroy but after having it for two months there are some things I am having problems with or wouldn't mind seeing changed slightly. I'm still deciding how I'd like it changed but maybe in a year I'll have an exact idea.

The size of the bag is extremely large. When you get the side bags filled all of the way out (where I put the majority of my items I need as a conductor) the bag gets hard to squeeze in and out of the nose of a cab. My last trip was a new engine (built 2009) and for some reason they made the door ways even narrower which was an extremely tight fit. You can put everything you can possibly think of in it and have room to strap on clothes beneath it, on it, anywhere. I can't imagine putting as much stuff in/on this bag as it can hold because it would be bigger than I am and weigh just as much.

The pockets are extremely large. The pocket on the front is almost too big. I have a bunch of stuff in there and it's an unorganized mess so I wouldn't mind the front pocket made into two pockets. Or even three but that would probably make them a little too small.

The pocket on top of the bag I seem to have the most problem with. It seems the perfect size to put the rule book in but when you do that and have the pocket down so you can get into the main compartment of the bag it causes the center of balance of the bag to be thrown too far one direction so it always wants to tip over instead of resting normally on the ground. I end up having to put the rule book in the pocket on the front which is too large for it alone and put everything else around it. I put a pillow and the paper work for the current trip in the pocket on top and that seems to work.

To sum up a messy review. The bag is huge extremely well built however I wouldn't mind seeing it an inch (or three) smaller on all dimensions. Change the front pocket on the bag so it is easier to organize such as making it two pockets. Plus possibly added a third small pocket to the very front of it like are on the side pockets or is on the sides of the main compartment of the other Railroader Grip. At some point I'll drive up to Billings and walk through the store and see if I should have gone with the C-Ruck sack instead to suit my needs. Definitely not a bad buy but I'd try and find someone with it to see how absolutely huge it is before purchasing if possible.
 
 unstuffed bag!
By Kelli, Vancouver WA, October 21, 2010

I LOVE my rucksak!!! I cannot fill it. I wish it were about 1 inch wider front to back so my lunchbox would actually fit IN, but it isn't a problem as it DOES clip in nicely on the outside in the foldover. There's lots of room to stash my winter warmies, and cart home my empty lunch dishes, too. I hope they widen the carry straps eventually and devise a new system to hook them on, that's what makes them twist. It only bugs me when my coat is in the way. As for the cost, I have 9 years yet to work, it works out to $36 per year. I haven't wornout my other Redoxx in 15 years....
 
 Rail King, awesome bag
By Reid, Olathe, KS, October 14, 2010

Awesome bag, everything I expected. Worth the money. Was dissappointed on one thing though. For the quality that it's supposed to be, warranty, and price that it costs. I would prefer and expect those black plastic strap clips (male and female ends) to be metal. Other than that good bag. Enough room to put enough stuff in the bag to make it weigh more than your supposed to be carrying, lol. (Weight Restriction on Grips). Other than those plastic strap clips bag should last forever! (There shouldn't be any plastic on a RED OXX).
 
 Carry All Comfort
By Scotty, Forsyth Mt , April 6, 2010

Well The guys (and gals) at the Oxx have done it again. The ruck carry's everything you could need plus. A dead day stuck in a motel, or that siding that won't end, my ruck keeps me organized and ready. With enough pockets for all the extras we love to lug around. Ample room for winter cloths and chow.

The tri-fold shave kit snugs down in the bottom perfect and is ready to deploy at a moments call. I also got the travel basket that I shove in the top flap. This thing is simple but keeps me from wondering "did I grab my watch?" When packing up on those 0200 calls. Best of all with the "no bull" warrenty the investment more than pays for itself.
 
1 2 3 4 Next > 
Specifications

  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • 1050 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Ballistic nylon fabric
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 400 weight denier soft black nylon lining
  • All zippers #10 YKK self locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded Solar Max Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Double box stitching such as on carry handles
  • 3250 welded D Rings, nickel plated
  • Stainless Steel Mil spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Daisy chain loops on ruck body and both straps
  • Includes adjustable detachable chest strap
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Dual set of Fastex side release buckles
  • A.L.I.C.E. pack strap adjusters
  • Nickel plated 1/4" O-rings allow articulating shoulder straps
  • Grab loop handle
  • Mil-Spec parachute cord with adjustable Fastex tension locks
  • Spurred stainless steel grommets
  • 4 lb. closed cell foam padding in back
  • Uni-Suede padded articulating backpack straps
  • Available in Black Only
  • US Dimensions: Main Compartment 13"W x 20"H x 7"H
    Side Pockets: 14"H x 7"W x 4"D
    Front Pocket: 14"H x 13"W x 6"D
    Flap pocket: 12"W x 12"H x 3"D
  • Metric Dimensions: Main Compartment 33cm W x 50.8H x 17.8cm H
    Side Pockets: 35.5cm H x 17.8cm W x 10.1c m D
    Front Pocket: 35.5cm H x 33cm W x 15.2cm D
    Flap Pocket: 30.5cm H x 30.5cm W x 7.6cm D
  • US Total Capacity: 5652 cubic inches
  • Metric Total Capacity: 92.6 Liters

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 30 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

What's the difference between the Rail King Rucksack, the Airborne C-Ruck, or Roadster Mini Ruck?
The Rail King is made with a heavier and stronger 1050 weight ballistic cordura nylon, our toughest. Ideal for Railroaders and the harsh rail lifestyle.
 
Can I get one in a different color other than black?
Our U.S.A. sourced ballistic nylon is only available in black.
 
What is Ballistic Nylon?
This is a special grade heavier weight cordura nylon, our strongest, and is designed for hard use. It will not tear, shred or rip.
 
What colors does the embroidery come in?
Embroidery is only available in red.
 
Will my rulebook (US), radio, and lantern fit inside?
Yes, the Rail King was specifically designed to hold this exclusive railroader gear.
 
Will a laptop fit in the Roadster? What size laptop?
The Rail King Rucksack has a special slide pocket inside the back main compartment that will accommodate Laptops up to 17 inches.
 
Are there any interior pockets or dividers?
We recommend using our Nomad toiletry kit and/or Lil Roy Gadget bags to organize your belongings inside your Rail King Rucksack. The Tri-fold Toiletry bag is also a great organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
 
Is there a railroad discount available?
Red Oxx eliminates the middle man with it's factory direct to consumer model. Our prices are based on the length of time it takes to build a bag and the cost of materials. Each product we build comes with our iron clad "No Bull," no questions asked lifetime warranty. You will save considerable money in the long run because you bought only one bag, not to mention peace of mind knowing you own a railroad rucksack that will not fail.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.