VIEW 360º

“I help you get a grip on your inner chimp.”
Red Oxx Monkey Fist Zip Knot

Monkey's Fist Zip Knot $0.75

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!

Monkey's Fists and a fist full of Fair Trade.

How a little knot's making a big difference...

A monkey's fist is a type of knot, so named because it looks somewhat like a small bunched fist. The monkey's fist knot is most often used as the weight in a heaving line on ships. Our version is used with all Red Oxx zippers. The Zip Knot makes it easier to grab the zipper pull, even with bulky gloves on. Use them on you favorite coat or ski jacket or as a key chain!

Each knot is hand tied by our craftsman in the highlands of Guatemala. The work is carried out in the spirit of Fair Trade. Each year I visit the village and check on our workers. The impact of this business has been tremendous for the village. By purchasing Monkey Fist Zip Knots you're keeping families together and helping maintain the proud craftspeople of Guatemala.
Jim Markel
CEO and Co-Owner, Red Oxx Luggage

Available in Black / Gray only.

UPS Transit Shipping Time Map.

Red Oxx is a Veteran owned and operated US Manufacturer.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email and a review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. Backorders beyond a dozen days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. During checkout purchasers have the option to opt-out of our other occasional email notifications. Your email address is always secure.

Write a Review

4.94 Average Rating
 (83 Reviews)

1 2 3 4 5 Next > 
 Love them
By Corey, Pitttsburgh, April 22, 2010

Love these things. I bought a number of them and have been putting them on all sorts of luggage/bags. Makes everything much easier to open/close. Only request is that there should be smaller ones to put on jackets/vests, etc. I would buy plenty more of them if they were offered in smaller sizes.
 monkey Knots
By TJ Hendrickson, MN, April 8, 2010

I purchased the monkey knots for lugage... then I relized it would work great for my 2 year old and his coat zippers.... that got me thinking about the Disabled students, at the school that I teach at, and the difficulties they have with getting dressed... so we have now tried them with them... what a rush to see students smile and become more self sufficent... the things we take for granted.
 Simple and effective
By BLT, CT, March 4, 2010

Love these monkey fists! I have them on most of my luggage, backpacks and fleece coats. They make it so easy to find and pull the zippers. Great product and cheap!
 Biker Jacket Zippers
By Chris, , March 2, 2010

Wello there,

I'd have to state the first thing I'd tie those little primates onto is my motorcycle jacket zippers. Between the rain and the snow and the hail, the leather pulls on my 8 motorcycle zippers have left me looking like a paperclip dispenser on The Office. I have jumbo paper clips in front, down the middle, sides and in back where the original zipper pulls have defected. So! Give me something durable, that's going to outlive my jacket and hopefully not me. That's use one.

Secondly, I plan to use them on my chaps. Even with a bigger zipper, the pull still gets buried amidst a mass of cow leather. So that's use two.

Thirdly, how about a belt, to anchor the pants. Take a bucket o monkeys and intertwine them, not only do you have a new trend and fashion statement, you've got yourself a bonafied billboard exclaiming the triumph's of Red Oxx and their conceptual design team. Yessirree. You want a tried and true suspension belt that will live to be as old as your favorite jeans, none other than the Monkey Fist Belt will suffice.

So, there are my three suggestions.

Keep in mind, these are not my top three, these are just the three to win me the bag o Monkey Fists. After that, the sky is the limit. Hmmm, which may lead me to my Monkey Fist ladder....

It's all good,

 Great Product!
By jangle, , December 3, 2009

They just work! I use them everywhere. Easy to find. Easy to grab even with gloves. I'm always finding somewhere I need one.
 Job equals work
By Anonymous, Colorado Springs, December 1, 2009

This is a handy, functional product and now appears on virtually every zipper I own. Not only is it excellent but the idea behind it should be taught in every governmental agency. If you give someone a job, it gives them worth. Jim Markel's partnership with the people in Latin America who make this delightful, handy little product is something that we continue to miss in our dealings with other countries. People do not want handouts; they want to work. By providing a means for this work, Jim has done more for our relationship with a foreign country than all the high dollar programs put together. If I ordered a thousand of these handy little pulls, I'd still order more.
 Knots That Rock
By Dennis Moser, Wyoming, November 26, 2009

How do we like the Monkey's Fist Zipper Knots? Well, we buy them by the dozen ...

Simple tools are often the best, as they lend themselves to creative applications. It all started when I bought a dozen for a piece of soft luggage. Put one on every zipper, and next thing I knew, my wife wanted some of them too.

They are just simply very practical. Can't say enough good things about them and I really appreciate that their production is part of a Fair Trade initiative that is working ... just like these little guys!
 Monkey's Fist Zip Knot
By Josh Apple, Greensboro, NC, November 26, 2009

Great product. Works like a charm as a zipper pull.
 Be prepared
By Jeff Kamp, Miami, Florida, April 14, 2009

Always be prepared, never leave home without your Monkey Fists...Once upon a time, I was trapped inside a locked bathroom of an isolatedfastfood joint. They kept me there for 29 days. They kept feeding meSupersized meals. It was addicting after a while. Must have been one ofthe secret ingredients. I gained 10 pounds and my face started to puff outwith pimples. I felt euphoric at first, but as time went by I got depressed and lethargic. I couldn't take it anymore. It finally dawned on me that I could link all of my Monkey Fists together and lower myself through the window. I have since lost the 10 pounds, my face cleared up, feel much better ingeneral, but I do have a little twitch anytime I pass by a fast food joint.I don't know what would have happened to me (might have started to growcurly red hair, huge feet with red shes, and a red nose) if it weren't for my Monkey Fists. I could really use some more.Jeff KampJeff, You win! Congratulations on coming up with the most innovative use of a Monkey's Fist I've seen yet! ~Jim
By Jimmy G, Niles, IL, October 21, 2008

My nieces and nephews saw one hanging off my fall jacket. They thought it was awesome! Being the great uncle I am (pat on back) I stripped my newly acquired Flying Boxcar of a few of it's "fists" and outfitted the whole crew. Monkey Fist Zip Knot- $0.75, a child's smile- priceless!
 Monkey Fist Beats All Others To Death
By Mark, Corpus Christi, Texas, October 17, 2008

WOW, I love them and use them on all my can too.
 Great for Sleeping Bags!
By S.L., Omaha NE, October 16, 2008

Who needs a lifetime warranty...these things are indestructible. Try them on your sleeping bag.they are perfect for finding the zipper in the dark!
By S.L., Omaha, NE, October 16, 2008

Who needs a lifetime warranty...these things are indestructible. Try them on your sleeping bag.they are perfect for finding the zipper in the dark!
 Handy dandy
By Kirsten, NH, October 15, 2008

I bought a couple of these a year ago because they looked interesting. These make great pulls for winter jackets, the "fist" is easy to grip even with mittens on. I also keep one on my key ring as a spare (plus it makes a rather attractive key chain!!)
By Jason, Morristown, NJ, October 15, 2008

I have an airboss and the awesome fists fit right in. They aren't gonna come undone or rip. They are like the rest of the bag, of great quality.
By Doug Crabb, Virginia Beach, VA, October 15, 2008

Being a retired Navy sailor, I can tell you that a proper "Monkey's fist" attached to a "heaving line"does the job it is designed to do: get the line from point "a" to point "b".The monkey's fist(s) on my Roadster Mini Ruck is always right where it is supposed to be. No more searching for the zipper (daytime or night), just reach and grab the monkey's fist and there you go. A smooth pull every time.
 Monkey Size But Ape Strong
By Alan, Goldsboro, NC, October 15, 2008

I am tired of similar cords breaking--such as those made by Columbia, etc. These made by Redoxx are as tough as they come. They might be called MonkeyFists, but they are Gorilla Fist strong!!!!
 LOVE the Monkey Fists
By Sully, Georgia, October 15, 2008

I love these monkey fists. I have them now on all my bags. Simple to install and easy to grip, these make a good bag great. The ease in which they assist in opening a zipper, or interlocking two together to secure one, is simply amazing. Great work Red Oxx Team!
 Traditional ropecraft for modern times
By greg, united kingdom, October 15, 2008

Monkey fists were traditionally used by sailors to create stoppers on ropes for handles, to protect parts (or ships) from hitting each other or to prevent them from pulling through eyes. There are much simpler knots which serve the same purpose but this was one of the few ways a sailor could express a bit of aesthetic style in his work. Much larger and more complex monkey fists adorned many a fine sailing vessel. Much more stylish than the typical plastic fob and with no breakable parts sometimes the traditional solution is the best.
 Love them if I don't lose them
By Dorian, Los Angeles, CA, October 15, 2008

I love the little monkey pulls on my Red Oxx luggage. I purchased a bunch of new bags at the beginning of the summer and love both the bags and the pulls.The detail, the quality and feel of the little monkey fists is a pleasure. They are easy to hold and easy to grab for.Since June I have traveled about 90 days with the pulls on my bags. When I can I always try to carry my bags and not check them. Sometimes I don't have that choice. My complaint about the monkey fist zipper pulls is that they tend to snag and get lost when they get put through the airport check in and baggage claim belts. I have already lost about 7 or 8. It's too much work to take them all of each zipper before checking the bags in. I would be nice if there was a better way to keep them on the bags.
1 2 3 4 5 Next > 


  • American made Mil-Spec Parachute Cord
  • Hand tied in Guatemala
  • Each fist approximately 2" long with loop
Related Articles
Red Oxx "No Bull" Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

Red Oxx Bags are guaranteed forever, be sure to include them in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - No Questions Asked. Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

Are there other colors available?
To keep the cost down, we only offer the one color combination, black and gray.
Where are these made?
Our Monkey's fists are hand-tied by our craftsmen in the mountains of Guatemala. The parachute cord itself is made in the U.S.A.
What is a Monkey's Fist Knot?
This is a special knot that when tied a particular way, looks like a fist.
What is it used for?
Originally used to secure sails on sailing ships, our Monkey's Fist can be used for all sorts of ideas, from pulling zippers on bags, coats and jackets, to a key chain and so on.
Can I order multiple quantities?
We encourage you to place a large order as you'll find all sorts of uses for the knots.
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.

Take me to the top