Skip Navigation Links

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I'm for CPA's who like tattoos and firearms.”
Red Oxx CPA Nylon Business Briefcase - pictured in Black. Choose from 12 Colors.

CPA Briefcase $175.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


A durable Nylon Briefcase for when you need more room.

Double the volume of our Metro Briefcase.

Carry-on the CPA Business Briefcase on your next flight and you'll have everything you need securely at your side. Plenty of room for files, a tablet or laptop, a snack, and even a change of clothes-- just in case your checked luggage goes to Barbados, while you're heading to Brooklyn. Volara closed cell foam padding in front, bottom and back keeps your laptop notebook safe and as a nice added touch, it also keeps your briefcase upright.

DOUBLE THE CARRY CAPACITY.
The CPA briefcase has the same features as our popular Metro briefcase, except double the volume capacity. The inside includes two internal mesh dividers on each side of the briefcase. One file divider is sewn down on the bottom to keep your files or magazines fixed in place, while the other is left open to the bottom so you can secure your laptop out of the way using the snap buckle. Both dividers have pockets for CDs, business cards, and writing instruments. Carry your Nalgene bottle in one of the twin gathered-elastic end pockets.

PLENTY OF POCKETS.
On the exterior of the briefcase you have access to six pockets, including two expanding bellows pockets with exclusive 'Red Oxx finger loop snap' closures. 'Red Oxx Finger Loop Snap' closures. These side pockets feature the exclusive ROFLS -- "Red Oxx Finger Loop Snap" closures which utilize our Mil-Spec stainless steel snaps and thoughtfully designed thumb loops that make closing these handy pockets a "snap." ROFLS allows one-handed snapping closure. Simply slip a finger into the loop under the snap post and use your thumb to press the post in place. ROFLS is a clever solution that prevents crushing items (like your precious sunglasses) under the snaps. Behind each gusseted pocket are secret hidden flat slip pockets for that little extra bit of storage.

Hidden behind each bellows pocket is a secret flat "slip pocket" for papers, boarding passes, sunglasses, etc. The bellows pockets work well for laptop batteries or power supplies. The other two pockets are full-length flat zipper pockets for tablets, documents or magazines. Confidently carry your CPA Briefcase using the nonslip Claw Shoulder Strap or by the reinforced nylon carry handles.

A BRIEFCASE BUILT LIKE A TANK.
Our customers like to define our gear as "built like a tank". While obviously you're not going to be toting around briefcases that weigh 50 tons and have three inches of armor plate, still the comparison is valid. For a briefcase, the CPAs are built tough. Starting with the most durable soft textile material available, 1000 weight Cordura nylon, we use super strong UV resistant thread that is double stitched into every seam.

Places where two separate pieces of fabric are stitched together are then bound, that is, we take a long piece of one inch wide nylon webbing and fold it over the edges of the two pieces and stitch them together, this creates a strong seam, or binding, that prevents the pieces from unraveling on the inside of the case, or gives it a clean finished look if on the outside of the bag.

In addition, each exposed fabric edge, such as on a pocket flap, is also bound using a thicker binding material. Inside edges typically receive a thinner nylon webbing, whereas outside corner edges that are exposed to wear will have a thicker nylon binding. All of our binding material is vertically woven to prevent fraying, peeling or splitting that you may commonly see in less expensive bags that brag of "binding" their edges.

Each stress point, such as where the handles attach to the CPA, is double box stitched - which is where we get the "double xx" in our name, Red Oxx; a stitching practice we adapted from our time as parachute riggers.

The reason Red Oxx uses the largest zipper we can afford, the #10 YKK VISLON® zipper, is that they are easily repairable, even in the field; they will hold their place, that is, they "lock"; they are difficult to penetrate, thereby increasing the security of your belongings; they function smoothly in inclement weather and they can be yanked from a variety of angles without losing teeth or becoming separated.

Red Oxx has occasionally been accused of "overdoing" our hardware. But once you've had a cheap piece of plastic hardware break in the middle of a busy intersection, airport or other inconvenient locale dumping your precious documents and electronics all over the ground, having a heavy-duty nickel-plated or stainless steel D ring or attachment swivel that weighs just a little more, or might make a little noise, is a travel companion's confidence builder and peace of mind maker. After all, you want to enjoy your journey as best you can. Why worry about having your bag break down?

WHY THE CPA?
The primary advantage of the CPA over the Metro is space. Doubling the volume in the main compartment (width) gives you flexibility to carry more with you. The Red Oxx CPA Briefcase keeps you moving, organized, even clothed, and your office goods protected.

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your CPA Briefcase on our production schedule. Your bag will then be shipped in under 14 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

Dimensions: 17"L x 7"W x 11"H.
Capacity: 1,309 cubic inches.
Weight: 3.25 pounds.

Pocket measurements:

  • Twin exterior bellowed snap pockets: 4.5"W x 8"T x +/-2"D (measured at top of pocket)
  • Twin exterior hidden flat slot pockets: 4.5"W x 7"T
  • Dual exterior zippered flat pockets:16"L x 10"H
  • Interior closed bottom mesh pocket: 16"W x 8"D
  • Three Interior closed bottom canvas flat pockets: 6"W x 5"D
  • Three interior closed bottom canvas flat pockets: 6"W x 4"D
  • Interior open bottom mesh pocket: 16"W x 9"D
  • Two interior closed bottom canvas pockets: 7.5"W x 5.5"D
  • 5 interior pen / pencil slots: 5"D
  • Main compartment: 7"W x 11"H x 17"L

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time Distance Map.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, products in production and delivery time? - Check out this personal message from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your CPA Briefcase.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear with pride.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond a dozen working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is always secure.

Every great briefcase needs cool luggage accessories.

Write a Review

4.78 Average Rating
 (116 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next > 
 You asked me what I thought!
By DC, Australia, November 1, 2012

You asked me what I thought! I just placed an order for a Duffel Bag in the same colour.

Enough said!

DC. Australia.
 
 Best Bag.
By HBS, San Diego, CA, September 17, 2012

This bag kept my important things safe during a 20 day cross country road trip, including a mountainous hike in Zion National Park.

Perfect size for a laptop + some.

The zippers are the sturdiest I've ever seen and the pocket space is fantastic. I love the handles and straps-- they are actually comfortable. The water bottle holders definitely do their jobs.

Wonderful warranty!

The only critique I have is to perhaps have the zipper extend a little more to allow the bag to open 100%.

That's just nitpicking. It's perfect.
 
 For Much More Than Business
By KBLuke, New Brunswick, Canada, September 6, 2012

I purchased this bag about a year ago and have found it has quickly become my go-to bag for travel, business, and everyday use. It is big enough that I can fit my Mac- Air laptop in its own separate case and then into this one, two days clothes, ipod, smart- phone, headphones, toiletries, a light coat, hat, a snack and magazines and paperwork and still have room to spare. I also own the skytrain and the gator bag.

The gator is a great day trip bag and I have been known to sometimes pack it inside the CPA briefcase -again, with room to spare. The CPA also fits well within the larger end of the carry-on size limits for a second piece of carry on luggage so that if you don't quite have one-bag travelling down yet this bag can fit over the handles of a rolling bag quite nicely through its own handles to travel with ease.

All in all I have been very pleased with this bag - well made, well designed, and well worth the purchase.
 
 Last briefcase I will ever need.
By Chase, Atlanta, GA., August 12, 2012

From the moment I opened the Red Oxx box and picked up my new CPA Briefcase I knew I had made the right choice. I bought the more subdued "black" version and have already received several compliments, the highest being from my boss. I work in sales and sometimes have to carry samples with me which can put strain on other standard bags but the CPA Briefcase handles everything with ease and looks great doing it.

Also I just got back from a 2 week trip with my wife and was able to fit both of our laptops, headphones, portable speaker, wires, chargers, camera and the list goes on. Great amount of space and easy to travel with. I never have to feel like a high school kid again while lugging around a backpack just to fit everything I need on sales calls or for travel.

Thank you Red Oxx for making a truly amazing product!
 
 I like it.
By Larry Hills, Collierville TN, July 10, 2012

I like this bag. Durable and just the right size. It provides good protection to sensitive electronics/notebook with its thicker outer wall padding. Well designed.

My only criticism would be to gusset the inner pockets more.

Overall, well worth the money.
 
 Black CPA
By Nhorman Dollentas, Helena, AL, June 14, 2012

Using the CPA for at least 3 weeeks now as a Wireless Telecom PM. Lots of room, easy access, very good non-slip strap. Expect to use it for a very long time. Very nice product! I might order more products in the future.
 
 It holds everything and more
By David S, San Antonio, TX, May 24, 2012

I bought the CPA briefcase as I already have the Air Boss, the Flying Fortress and the Safari Beanos 5.5. I traveled 26 times out of the US last year and only had to check one time. The CPA held, Bose headphones, iPad, Kindle, 2 magazines, passport/ticket holder, ziplock of chargers, ziplock of liquids, and normal things like pens, etc. I know I pack too much, but it held everything and still had room. The only thing I would change would be to have the zippers open a little bit more for easier access.
 
 Perfect
By Anonymous, The Beltway, May 17, 2012

I have spent a long time looking for my perfect daily bag/briefcase. This is finally it. It has the space and durability of my Timbuk2 messenger but looks much more professional. It looks good both when mostly empty or carting around a laptop, thermos, change of clothes and other assorted items needed for daily work and short trips. The only change I would make is to use a brighter material for the interior of the bag and the mesh netting, making it easier to find stuff without direct light.
 
 Difficult Access
By Mike Beard, Roseville CA, May 11, 2012

I received my CPA about a month ago to supplement my Flying Boxcar as my railroad grip. As usual the quality is magnificent. However I'm still trying to figure out how to organize it. Access to the interior is frustrating since the bag doesn't hinge open like a standard briefcase. If the upper flaps could be pulled aside I wouldn't have to dig in the dark for my items. Again, I'm trying to adapt to a new bag so we'll see. I may not be able to use it as my grip and convert it to another use.
 
 Gift
By Anonymous, South San Francisco/Houston, May 3, 2012

Gift to my grandson the CPA/Auditor in Houston. No report as yet!
 
 Another railroader....
By J.A.C., Georgia , April 26, 2012

I also decided to give this bag a try as a add on to my railroad grip. I work both sides of the engine, so sometimes I have to carry a bit more gear as a conductor. So far though, this is what I keep in there all the time : my rule books ( CSX has small books and a few large ones ) , my EC-1 book, a clip board, two plastics folders full of quarterly bulletins, and a small stack of important other railroad papers that we are not required to have, but I like to keep for reference, also my 15" laptop in a thin padded case, plus gloves, a small flashlight, a few writing pens and markers, bad order tags, some zip strips, and most of the time a few magazines and a book. As a conductor , my radio has to fit in there too.... And this bag actually manages to carry it all.... And it does it well so far. This is pretty much the same stuff I used to carry in a laptop style book bag, but I kept killing those things about once every two years.... ( I wish Red Oxx would build a back pack that wasn't a ruc sack, purely because the Ruc sacks seem like everything can't stay good and organized in one big compartment ) .... Now the reason for the four stars instead of five is the mesh dividers inside. One of them is fine, because it's not seen down to the bottom of the bag, and that's where I place my laptop , and it has a buckle up top to keep it vertical when you open the bag..... Good. The other one though is sewn down, so it limits what can go in there and once you put stuff in it the middle of the bag has very little room to hold much of anything..... So all my stuff is sort of friction fit in place down the center of the bag. I dunno if the bag should be an inch or two wider or if that sewn in divider should be removed.... I was hoping to be able to fit my railroad lantern in there too, but it's just too cramped to even try to squeeze it in there.... For the cost of this bag, and it's size, something is just a bit off for me..... I love the bag, and the gripes I have are minor, so don't let me deter your thoughts on it..... It's a solid piece of gear, built to withstand just about anything, and that plus the warranty makes me not regret the purchase..... I just wish the inside was thought out just a bit better..... I understand, most folks don't carry the implements of a raroader, and business travelers will love it. It could stand to be just another inch or two wide and it wouldnt hurt the slim profile or ease of carry one bit.
 
 CPA Briefcase
By Jason Clemons, Roanoke, Va, March 21, 2012

As a railroader, all Redoxx products are great. The CPA briefcase especially. The briefcase is able to withstand the brutal treatment railroaders treat their grips to, it's also small enough to fit through locomotive doors easily. The non slip shoulder strap is great for climbing motors with your grip on your shoulder without fear of it falling off your arm. Easily holds all the essentials for my trip. Extra pockets on the front are great for your cellphone and other small items like my flashlight. Great item!!!
 
 Great Bag - Needs Better Organization Inside
By Jon Schumacher, Milwaukee, WI, March 1, 2012

Overall, I like the bag. I've owned the Air Boss for a few years, and have recommended it and RED OXX to many, many people.

I thought I would try this bag, as the Tumi Bag I've used for years keeps coming apart at the zippers, and even though it had a lifetime warranty, I can't take the time to keep sending it back for repairs. With RED OXX, I don't worry about the warranty, as the zippers don't break.

I've only given it a 4 star rating, as I'm not a fan of the interior organization. It has (2) net pockets, and some smaller sections that are OK for putting some business cards, etc. However, I would gladly buy another bag if it had some zipper compartments inside. Other than the outside snap compartments, there is no good place to keep my phone charger, loose change, USB cable, headphones, etc.

I have found the outside snap pockets to be a good place to keep my small camera, car keys, and bluetooth headset for quick access, even while walking. I also like the slide compartments behind the snap pockets as a good place to keep my passport and boarding passes.

There are (2) outside full length zipper pockets. One of these I use to keep papers, and the other is a perfect place to keep my iPad.
 
 Built Tough
By D. G. Adams, New Mexico, February 18, 2012

I have several Red Oxx bags. I got the CPA briefcase for business travel. I was using my Gator bag (another great product) but needed a bit more space. This bag does the job. It holds my laptop, and other electronics plus cables with no problem. The side pockets are perfect for folders and paperwork. The interior compartments hold all the little stuff I collect somehow. I now have room for my art supplies and can get a light coat in the center compartment. Perfect. Highly recommended.
 
 Perfect briefcase
By Matthew, Modesto, CA, February 16, 2012

This is the briefcase I've been looking for. I've been using tactical style briefcases for over 10 years and none ever came close to performing as well as the Red Oxx briefcase.

The size is ideal and there is plenty of room for a laptop, notebooks, files and all the sundry supplies needed when you're working mobile. There is no fumbling trying to remove the laptop when going through a TSA checkpoint at the airport.

The construction is solid and has stood up to all the punishment dished out. The attention to the small details, like the front pocket fastening system shows Red Oxx knows how to build a briefcase properly.

The strap is comfortable over the shoulder and the hardware and stitching are made for years of service.

I am extremely pleased with all the Red Oxx bags purchased to date.
 
 Nothing but the best .
By Jeffery Hicks, Las Vegas,Nevada, February 7, 2012

I just received my CPA Briefcase and I love it. I can actually put everything I need in it. Redoxx really has their act together. This is the 2nd item I have purchased from them ,and it just doesn't get any better. The USA still does manufacture TOP OF THE LINE PRODUCTS. Please check out their other products . I know you will find something you like. Buy it and be happy !!!!
 
 good bag
By tom, davenport,iowa, January 18, 2012

Really a nice bag. I am a railroader and works out good for my books. only down fall is that the front 2 pockets need to have zippers on it insteed of buttons.
 
 Santa has a CPA friend
By Griff, Peoria, IL, January 8, 2012

I purchased this Christmas gift for a dear friend, who is a CPA, that does quite-a-bit of traveling. Here's her take on the CPA Bag:

Mike...I LOVE this bag! I can't thank you enough! Anyone who travels for business knows the key to a successful, hassle free trip is a function of good planning and a little luck...especially for woman! We are generally carrying our computer bags, our purses, and a suitcase, while hurrying to or from the airport in a pair of dress shoes. For years I have been using a backpack to cart my computer around. Oftentimes I have to stop several times on my way to the terminal, the security checkpoint and the gate, to rearrange my load. This is inefficient and irritating!

While the backpack can free up my arms, it doesn't sit on my shoulders properly and leaves me vulnerable to pickpockets. Additionally, the backpack does not have enough room inside to accommodate the necessary paperwork and equipment that I carry and because it is not well balanced, the load I carry hurts my back.

The Red Oxx CPA bag is the most practical and useful computer travel bag I have ever owned (and I have owned a lot)!! I love all of the pockets! The ones on the inside help keep my supplies and paperwork organized, while those on the outside help me keep many of my personal items, such as my water bottle, wallet and other travel needs, organized and at my fingertips so that I don't have to carry my purse separately. Carrying one less bag definitely helps me travel more efficiently and less irritated!

This bag is so well constructed that the heavy load I carry has not strained the seams, or bent the clips, which has been a problem with many other bags I've carried. In addition, this bag helps keep the load well balanced on my shoulders and back. When I set it down, it never falls over or leans one way or the other and when I carry it, the strap stays on my shoulder where it should be! Yes, yes, yes, I love this bag! The only thing that would make it better is if I didn't have to work and was instead carrying a million dollars instead of computers and paperwork! Thanks Mikie! This is one of the best, most useful gifts I have ever received!!

Luv ya,

Nickie
 
 AWESOME!!
By Dixie, Ohio, January 6, 2012

I ordered this bag for my son as a gift. I was so pleasantly surprised! The quality & design are superb. Red Oxx customer service was excellent even sending a thank you "passport" for my business!
 
 FROM ITALY
By CRUSS, ITALY - SICILY , January 6, 2012

A premise, my English is not perfect, I will use an automatic translator for this review, I apologize in advance for any errors and / or inaccuracies.

I am an Italian architect, I was also an official paratrooper, now I fly many trips in EU for business (COACH / FLY / TRAIN AND TAXI) or around the world for leisure.

This was to change my bag that I used for 12 years, and it was not an easy decision. I had acquired over the years a couple of garbage bags (big names, but little substance, purchases really stupid). I am a perfectionist, and the management and implementation of the yards is my job, where every error, however small, can cause disaster. I'm used to see through the empty words and stupid marketing. As Oscar Wilde said, "Today we know the price of everything and the value of nothing."

I have read, studied, analyzed, compared, hundreds of reviews, I perused the web comparing thousands of photos, construction techniques and sewing characteristics of materials, and dozens of other factors, before ordering my-CPA CASE.

Open the package and have it in hand was a real experience, I almost passed on to the microscope, the stitching, the material, the metal used, the spaces, the internal organization, NOT YOU COULD DO BETTER! There is now the perfect brief case and IT IS my new CPA CASE.

The far-fetched to have filled, to test the effect of the famous shell, and has fully passed the test, then I filled with my weight training and does not create any problem. The hinges lock automatically to perfection.

I should not say, :-), but the sale price is less than the actual real value of this piece. Last but not least, the bag is NICE! nice to see, beautiful to wear, beautiful to touch.

[My wife liked it ... one of the toughest tests] :-)

Thank you and good luck. Keep it up guys.

CRUSS
 
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next > 
Specifications

CPA Briefcase Specs Chart

  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Cordura nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 400 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Double Box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • 3250 welded D-rings, nickel plated
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Claw No Slip Shoulder Strap
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • 4 lb. closed cell Volara foam padding
  • Classified as a "personal item"
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors
  • US Dimensions: 17"L x 7"W x 11"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 43.2cm L x 17.8W x 27.9cm H
  • US Capacity: 1,309 cubic inches
  • Metric Capacity: 21.5 Liters
  • US Weight: 3.25 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 1.47 Kilos

CPA Briefcase Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan (Proprietary Red Oxx Exclusive)

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 14 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

What's the difference between the CPA and the Metro?
The CPA Briefcase is twice as wide as the Metro.
 
Will the CPA hold a laptop? What size?
The CPA was designed to carry virtually any laptop notebook up to 17-inch screen and three inches thick.
 
Will the CPA Briefcase meet personal item/carry-on standards?
Absolutely. It will fit any overhead bin and even under most airline seats.
 
How are the internal pockets configured?
The backside has a full length slip mesh pocket that is anchored to the bottom of the bag. In front of this pocket are six smaller cordura slip pockets. On the other side is a full length mesh divider not anchored to the bottom. In front of the divider are two cordura slip pockets and five pen pockets. Both of the full length interior pockets include buckle closures to help keep your office items organized.
 
Can I fit my C-pap machine inside?
Yes, the CPA will fit your C-pap. We also recommend using our Gator Compact Carry-on to carry your C-pap machine.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my briefcase?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.