Skip Navigation Links

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“Parkour por favor?”
Red Oxx Rock Hopper Shoulder Sling Bag - shown in Mariner

Rock Hopper $135.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


When a day pack is too small, and a rucksack is too big.

The Rock Hopper Crossbody Shoulder Sling Bag's "Just Right."

Featuring two spacious main compartments, you'll have plenty of room for school books, your tablet or whatever else you might need to carry. In both compartments you have flat slip pockets to keep your stuff organized. You could for example, bring your lunch in the top compartment, and your text books or work manuals in the bottom compartment and nary the two shall meet.

WHO NEEDS TWO SHOULDER STRAPS?
The exterior zippered flat pocket works great for keeping your keys, wallet or handpurse available. Soft 400 weight red lining allows you to peek in your bags inner depths. The sling shoulder strap is padded and covered with Uni-Suede for advanced comfort and durability. The single strap uses military A.L.I.C.E. style flexibility so you can comfortably carry the Rock Hopper over just one shoulder all day. Besides, when was the last time you saw someone wearing a backpack using both straps?

HYDRATE WITH YOUR CAMEL BACK.
Popular uses for the Rock Hopper Crossbody Shoulder Sling Bag include a hydration daypack to safely store your camel back in, a cross-city daypack, a messenger bag, a shoulder bag day pack, even an extra large heavy-duty padded purse! There's a belly strap attached that snaps onto the shoulder strap featuring the same heavy duty o-ring and military grade equipment as our Rucksacks.

ACCESS WHILE WEARING.
The Red Oxx Rock Hopper Crossover Shoulder Sling Bag is tight with the motorcycle, mountain biking, hiking, jogging, skiing and snowboarding crowds as you can slip it over your head and it will stay secure across your chest, out of the way, yet available for access, "at hand" in front, where and when you need it.

Dimensions: 17"L x 10"W x 7"H.
Capacity: 1,000 cu. inches.

Pocket measurements:

  • Exterior flat zippered slip pocket: 10"W (at base) x 17"T
  • Twin interior slip pockets: 9"H x 10"W
  • Twin interior zippered main compartments: 10"W (at base) x 17"T x 3"D

"No Bull" Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, in production products and delivery time? - Read this personal letter from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the steps it takes to handcraft your gear.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email and a review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. Backorders beyond a dozen days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is secure.

Every great bag needs cool accessories.

Rock Hopper Trivia: Named after a customer who needed a front mount bag he could access while bouldering and mountain climbing. Rock Hopper is slang for "bouldering".

Write a Review

4.49 Average Rating
 (35 Reviews)

 
1 2 Next > 
 good, but ...
By Joel, california, October 25, 2013

PRO:

Well made, sturdy.

Can carry on your back or chest.

CON:

Holds enough that it becomes heavy enough to be uncomfortable after extended wearing (the single strap means your shoulder can get sore).

Teardrop shape makes it easier to swing around to front, but makes it harder to fit stuff in.

Could use some rings on which to suspend things such as water bottles, hats, jackets, etc.

SUGGESTIONS:

Leave the rockhopper alone (well, add some rings to hang things off of) but make a different kind of rucksack - one designed for urban use. What does that mean? No (or minimal) external pockets, secure access to main compartment(s) (perhaps back [of body] access or top access, no access from the outside). So, different from your existing rucksacks.

 
 Genius
By Curt Martin, Sydney, Australia, October 3, 2013

I love this bag. It was my first sling style bag and i would never go back to dual straps for a daybag now. It's great to be able to swing around easily to access it. I love the hardware and rugged build quality of everything. The peach facing on the strap is terrific when riding a bicycle as it's easy on the face when doing headchecks and it also dried quickly when wet much to my surprise. About the only suggestions i have is that it would be great to have an internal key clip in the front pouch and possibly an external mesh pouch for a water bottle. You really should buy this bag.
 
 Spectacular!
By Michael, Monroe, WA, September 12, 2013

I use my Rock Hopper for everyday business use as well as for weekend hiking. I love it so much I bought three more. My sons loved them so much they each asked for one. People ask about it wherever I go, and I'm happy to tell them it's comfortable, reliable, and rugged.
 
 Perfect for my daily commute
By Anonymous, Norway, June 21, 2013

I bought this to have something that could fit an extra sweater, some papers, perhaps a few groceries, etc, and be really quick to load and unload. It fulfills that role better than I expected, and is very comfortably to carry. I'm about 6'2" so small backpacks are often ergonomical nightmares or simply look stupid, so a comfortable, small bag like this is great.

(Oh, and please don't add more features or small stuff, it's great as it is. Extra small pockets and zippers are just extra weight and stuff that break for this customer. ;) )
 
 Rockhopper
By Steve, Oregon, April 12, 2013

I took a 5 day trip to Boston (Grandson 's school trip) and then took a 6 day trip to Arizona. Both times I carried on both bags, Airboss and the Rockhopper.

Everything I needed was contained in just those two bags. They are quality construction and can carry a bunch of stuff. I am a big guy and my clothes take up more space but I was able to take everything I wanted and then some coming home.

The Rockhooper held my netbook and tablet, snacks, check in items, belts, etc with room to spare. Great item to have.
 
 Nice Bag but I a couple changes would be nice
By Darin, Texas, November 22, 2012

I was looking for a bag to use for day trips thru the airport. I wanted something to hold my ipad, some chargers, keys, etc. It holds everything, but it can be hard to find smaller items. A place for smaller items like RSA tokens, car keys etc would be a plus. The front pocket is huge - too huge.

Also, it would be nice if my 15' Mac Book Pro would fit in it. Of course then the bag might be too big.

I would like to see one that would hold a 15" Mac Book Pro and has some smaller zipper pockets to hold other items. I am saying zippered because on my Red Oxx CPA Briefcase - the outer pockets have come loose as a carry on and stuff has fallen out to never be seen again.

For the price - I am not sure I would buy it again.
 
 Cool Bag
By Pete, Northern Virginia, September 8, 2012

I would give this bag five stars for both quality (its Red Oxx so that almost goes without saying) and style. It really is a very cool looking bag and I have used it for business travel and even as a diaper bag. It survived Disney World much better than I did!

So why did I knock off a star? When I carried it around Disney for ten to twelve hours a day for five days I noticed that the single strap didn't provide quite as much support as a traditional backpack. It also isn't designed to be able to switch between shoulders.

You can wear it on your right shoulder like a traditional backpack strap or you can put your head through the strap and wear it like a messenger bag strap on your left shoulder. I found the latter to be the most comfortable but after several long days loaded down as the family mule my left shoulder definitely paid the price.

The pockets are very simple, two large compartments and the front pouch....which I much prefer to some bags with all the small specialized storage spaces. When I travel it fits nicely under the airplane seat and I can easily find all my junk when I need it.

All in all this is one cool sack and if you want something with an extra bit of style that isn't your traditional messenger bag or backpack then this just might be for you.
 
 To Germany and back...
By Bill, Texas, August 1, 2012

I purchased the Rockhopper as my wife nabbed my usual daypack for her computer on this trip. The capacity and ease of use was great. My only issue with the bag was that it is configured for one's right shoulder. My personal inclination is to carry day-packs on my left shoulder, leaving my right arm free. I worked around this by slinging it cross-body or wearing it on the front.

A left-shoulder variant would be a nice option. Possibly a small inner pocket in the outer pocket up off the bottom of the back so certain items of import aren't all in the bottom of the pack.

Great complementary bag with my Beanos PR5 and SkyTrain.

 
 Great bag
By Andrew, Arizona, July 6, 2012

This bag is awesome. I transferred everything from my old bag and it doesn't seem nearly as heavy on my shoulder. I have absolutely no concerns that the bag will rip, tear or otherwise fail to function. I would have a few suggestions for the next iteration of the bag, including some type of small pocket on the outside for a cell phone, perhaps a water bottle pocket on the side and a little padding on the bottom. Still, this bag is exactly what I needed. I've already ordered my Air Boss based on the quality of the Rock Hopper. Can't wait to travel now.
 
 Awesome Everything Bag
By Jason Henderson, Saint Joseph, MO, May 16, 2012

This is the perfect bag for day hikes, college or high school, and work. I work on the railroad and using this bag for day to day use was perfect and held everything I needed. It is also a great bag for college classes and the strap is comfortable to wear between classes.
 
 Great Bike/Day pack
By Robin Hill, Billings, MT, May 2, 2012

I have used this bag for years...for everything from day hikes, bike rides, as a flight bag, and on vacation. It is the perfect size and it always amazes me how much stuff I can get in such a low profile, compact bag. It is has a simple design, not so many pockets that you have to spend a lot of time looking for something. When less is more...The RockHopper is the perfect choice!
 
 A Very Versatile Bag
By David, Massachusetts, March 29, 2012

I own enough Red Oxx gear that I can use multiple combinations of bags for any travel contingency. I travel very light, and I travel frequently. The Rock Hopper is a deceptive bag. It is small enough, and comfortable enough, to use as a walk around day bag. I've used it to carry a little food, a jacket, my iPad and camera. But I have also used the Rock Hopper as my "main" bag on quick overnight trips. At 1000 cu inches it is no slouch. I use it in combination with the Chica. Laptop and iPad plus several other items in the Chica, spare clothing, toiletries and other sundries in the Rock Hopper. It's my ultralight combination and it works beautifully. Like all Red Oxx gear, the Hopper is built like a tank but is still a light bag and feels very comfortable slung over the shoulder or over the top of the head. I highly recommend this versatile bag.
 
 Mixed feelings..
By Bill Roach, Iowa, March 1, 2012

I love RedOxx stuff and the quality of this bag is up to their high standards. For me, the verdict is still out on the unusual design. I loved the idea but in practice, I feel like the bag fits a little funny when it is just slung over my shoulder. It fits great when I wear it across my chest however. I will use it more to see better how it works out.
 
 Constant companion
By Matthew, Modesto, California, January 26, 2012

This bag has become my constant companion. I can grab it and go, knowing that all my essentials are at hand and secure. Working inside petrochemical plants means that the bag needs to be able to take abuse and whatever the weather throws my way.

The RockHopper isn't so big that it becomes unwieldy, but I can keep all the gear I need with me at all times.

The RockHopper is built tough and it's made to perform. And it's made in the good ol' US of A.
 
 Every weekend with the RockHopper
By Alex, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam, December 15, 2011

Every weekend I cary some "stuff" to around with me: my IPad, headset, a purse, cell phone, etc. Now with the RockHopper, I can not wait till it is weekend to get out and have the hands free, no backpack has that cool feel to it. The RockHopper looks cool and is unique, I can also carry some things I shop in the second compartment. The gear I bought from Redoxx have a cool look and feel to it and are very well designed.
 
 Great for Motorcyclist
By R.C. Frick, Richmond, Va, November 2, 2011

This bag rocks! I ride Harley's and I go to the gym. That's a difficult combination unless you want to look like a tool with a "book bag / back pack" on your back or you want to wear you gym clothes. The Rock Hopper keeps my workout gear, and holds it tight to my body, when cinched up. No wind movement and nothing flying around my face. Big enough to hold my gym shoes, towel, shorts, sweats, water bottle and lifting straps. Hell of a bag. I also picture this complimenting my Air Boss on business travel.
 
 Good School Backpack
By Steve Curry, ON, Canada, October 6, 2011

Nicely designed pack - could be a little wider at the top to accommodate binders. Great design all around - the 2 big pockets work very well, and the shoulder strap system is perfect.

This is a great bag for a student, or anyone who rides on public transit. It's not so big and bulky that you continually bump into others on the bus.
 
 Delivers as advertised
By Rus L, Bethesda, MD, July 21, 2011

I used it on a family trip and it delivered. Nice product.
 
 RockHopper
By Bill K., VA, USA, June 15, 2011

Seems very well made (only time will tell how long it'll last as a ammo carrier), and very non- mil looking. I use this bag as a go-bag, so it carries 10 M4 mags and 5 pistol mags in addition to extra medical kit and food/water. So far, I really like it and it can double as a general purpose carry bag due to it's low pro appearance. The single strap is long enough to go over level 4 thickness vest and Rhodesian carrier.
 
 Nice bag, but too big for me
By willo, Boston's north shore, May 21, 2011

I've had my iPad2 for about a month, and I started shopping for a new everyday bag to accommodate the device a month prior to that. I'm a mom who carries her own stuff plus some kid stuff and a little bit of emergency stuff, so I like a mid-size bag made of lightweight materials to keep the purse as light as possible while holding everything I need but discouraging the carrying of random junk.

I've been waiting eight days for my Rock Hopper to arrive, and I was SO SURE I'd ordered the right one... But it was not to be. The workmanship is great and I could easily (trivially!) get all my stuff into the Rock Hopper. The slot pockets in each large section are precisely what I wanted for the iPad2, and it fits just as I hoped--only a small sliver of the device available to grab at the top of the slip pocket when I want it; most the iPad2 safely behind a layer of nylon to protect it from crayons, lollipops, etc., rolling around loose in the large section.

The problem for me is that I had so much extra room that I didn't need (I could overlook this) while the bag felt very bulky on my back (a deal-breaker.) I am a short (5' 3") person who also has a relatively short torso for that petite size. Trying on the bag, over a single shoulder or my preferred cross-body style, I kept feeling like the narrow tip of the bag was poking up into the nape of my neck. Lengthening the strap let the load flop away from my body and was uncomfortable to my back and shoulders, even with just the contents of my everyday purse inside. The belly strap made a load more comfortable and the bag felt solidly close to my back, but still not enough so that I'd want to walk around like this all the time.

My old bag was only 325 cu. in., so the 1000 cu. in. Rock Hopper could have clued me in. For me, I would just carry a 2-shoulder backpack if I wanted a bag this large, and I'd get one sized for a student or a woman. If this bag could be scaled down in height and depth to about 60% the current size, it might work for smaller women, too. (Keep the full width, though, to squeeze those paper inside!)

Also, I'd strongly prefer two smaller pockets on the front instead of one flat-but-very-deep pocket. I like to keep quick-grab items like tissues and lip balm and hand-sanitizer at the ready, but also have a dedicated wallet-only pocket right there. Very deep but shallow pockets get too hard to access when a bag is stuffed full.

Finally, and much more nit-picking here, I got the Safari color scheme mostly to have as little black on the bag as possible. Personally, I would love to see at least one color scheme with a different color webbing. I prefer a softer neutral--brown or khaki--or even gray. I also don't like displaying large logos, but would tolerate it for a superbly crafted bag, which I still believe I could get from RedOxx, if I could only find the right format.
 
1 2 Next > 
Specifications

Rockhopper Specs Chart

  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Cordura nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Two interior pockets for holding tablets, mini laptops or Kindle eReaders
  • 3/8 neoprene rubber blend padding in back
  • Fastex side release flap buckles
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • 3250 welded O ring, nickel plated
  • Soft red 420 denier weight nylon lining
  • Durable Uni-Suede shoulder padding
  • US Dimensions: 17"L x 10"W x 7"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 43cm x 25.4cm x 17.8cm
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • US capacity: 1000 cu. inches
  • Metric capacity: 16.4 Liters

Rock Hopper Shoulder Sling Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 30 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

Can I fit a laptop in the padded pocket of the Rock Hopper?
Your standard 15 inch or larger laptop will not fit. Netbooks and mini notebooks, Tablets, iPads and Kindle eReaders will fit.
 
What's the difference between the Rock Hopper, Roadster and Airborne?
The Rock Hopper is an over one right shoulder bag or cross body bag, whereas the Roaster and Airborne are classic military style rucksack backpacks.
 
Which shoulder does the Rock Hopper go over?
The Rock Hopper was designed as an over the right shoulder bag or worn as a cross body (front) bag.
 
Will the Rock Hopper meet personal item standards?
Yes, it will meet personal item standards.
 
Is there a pocket for holding a water bottle?
There is no special pocket for holding a water bottle. Be aware that if you load one in either pocket it might leak on your bag's contents.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.