Skip Navigation Links

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I am famous for more than my huge zippers.”
Red Oxx PR5 Safari Beanos Duffel Bag - pictured in Saffron. Available in 12 colors.

Safari-Beanos Bag PR5 $195.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


Gear of the Year! Travel without fear.

Outside Magazine's Luggage Award-Winner.

WHY A DUFFEL STYLE CARRY-ON BAG?
This is as big a duffel style travel bag as you can legally use for carry-on bags (both domestically and internationally). Avoid rising checked bag fees – and simplify your life-- pack it all in one bag.

It's amazing how much stuff you can cram into our PR5 Safari Beanos bag! Pack it up for a long weekend out of the city or load it up with all your goodies you don't want damaged on the flight home. Featuring a generous top loading main compartment (18"L x 10"W x 10"H), you can load most anything you'll want to carry.

BEST GEAR OF THE YEAR.
Outside Magazine recognized the Safari Beanos PR5 Safari bag as one of 2004's 15 best outdoor products.

James Glave, editor for Outside Buyer's Guide, said:

"Winning products must offer cutting-edge design and be really rugged. Our testers dragged it with a car down the sidewalk and threw it off the second-story balcony and tried to destroy it. We really place enormous emphasis on rigorous testing."

As does Red Oxx! The proof in the pudding as they say.

Read the review about this outstanding carry-on bag, voted best by Outside Magazine. Also endorsed as an ideal safari travel duffel by professional safari hunter and outdoor writer, Craig Boddington, from the sportsman TV series "Tracks Across Africa" and Safari Spokesman Ivan Carter on "Hornady's Africa with Ivan Carter".

WHERE DO MY BELONGINGS GO?
Set up with the same layout as its little brother the PR4, this award winning duffel features three rectangular storage compartments for maximum space efficiency. Dual end pockets have zippers that zip halfway down the sides for easy access to packed items.

The opening for the main compartment flips back out of the way for unrestricted access to the entire compartment. Twin turn locks keep the lid secure and anchored D-rings allow locks to be attached to the zippers for extra peace of mind while traveling as checked baggage.

The zippered front flat pocket keeps your passport or reading materials handy. The pass-through panel on the back side is designed for use with wheeled luggage as a docking sleeve. Unzip top and bottom zippers and slip it over the wheeled bags telescoping carry handle. Or leave the bottom zipper closed and it doubles as a second flat exterior pocket.

HOW TO CARRY THE BAG.
Includes the famous Claw No-Slip Shoulder Strap. Attached using heavy-duty 360 degree "claw-like" swivels, this strap hardware will endure any abuse imaginable-- quickly detaching for storage inside.

A CARRY-ON DUFFEL BAG BUILT LIKE A TANK.
Our customers like to define our gear as "built like a tank". While obviously you're not going to be toting around bags that weigh 50 tons and have three inches of armor plate, still the comparison is valid. For a carry-on duffel bag, the PR5 is built tough. Starting with one of the most durable soft textile materials available, 1000 weight CORDURA® nylon, we use super strong UV resistant thread that's stitched into every seam.

BOUND AND BAGGED.
Places where two separate pieces of fabric are stitched together are then bound, that is, we take a long piece of one inch wide nylon webbing and fold it over the edges of the two pieces and stitch them together, this creates a strong seam, or binding, that prevents the pieces from unraveling on the inside of the bag, or gives it a clean finished look if on the outside of the bag. Inside edges typically receive a thinner nylon webbing, whereas outside corner edges that are exposed to wear will have a thicker nylon binding. All of our binding material is vertically woven to prevent fraying, peeling or splitting that you may commonly see in competitors bags that brag of "binding" their edges.

WHY DOUBLE BOX STITCHED.
Each stress point, such as where the handles attach to the bag, is double box stitched - which is where we get the "double XX" in our name, Red Oxx; a stitching practice we adapted from our time as parachute riggers.

MY, WHAT BIG ZIPPERS YOU HAVE!
The reason Red Oxx uses the largest zipper we can afford, the #10 YKK VISLON® zipper, is that they are easily repairable, even in the field; they will hold their place, that is, they "lock"; they are difficult to penetrate, thereby increasing the security of your belongings; they function smoothly in inclement weather and they can be yanked from a variety of angles without losing teeth or becoming separated.

PUTTING THE HARD IN HARDWARE.
Red Oxx has occasionally been accused of "overdoing" our hardware. But once you've had a cheap piece of plastic hardware break in the middle of a busy intersection, airport or other inconvenient locale dumping your precious belongings all over the ground, having a heavy-duty nickel-plated or stainless steel D ring or attachment swivel that weighs just a little more, or might make a little noise, is a travel companion's confidence builder and peace of mind maker. After all, you want to enjoy your journey as best you can. Why worry about having your carry-on duffel bag break down?

Why not join the carefree carry-on crowd with an award winning PR5 Safari Beanos Duffel Bag today?

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your Safari-Beanos PR5 on our production schedule. It will then be shipped in under 14 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

Dimensions: 24"L x 10"W x 10"H (legal carry-on measurements).
Capacity: 2,400 cubic inches.
Weight: 3.4 pounds.

Pocket measurements:

  • Dual end compartments: 10"W x 10"H x 3"D
  • Dual end zippered flat pockets: 10"W x 10"H
  • Front exterior zippered flat pocket: 16"W x 7"H
  • Back exterior twin zippered flat pass-through pocket: 16"W x 7.5"H
  • Main compartment: 10"W x 18"L x 10"H

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time Distance Map.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, products in production and delivery time? - Check out this personal message from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your Safari Beanos PR5.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear with pride.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond a dozen working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is always secure.

Every great bag needs cool luggage accessories.

"Beanos" Trivia: Named after our friend "Beano" who needed a gear bag that could carry his clothes and still be carry-on legal. Named after his grandfather, a bean farmer in the midwest, whom he looked like as a kid. Formerly the Super Beano, the bag is now available in several sizes and is in it's 4th stage of design revision.

Write a Review

4.91 Average Rating
 (127 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next > 
 I LOVE this bag
By Jeff Rovner, Laguna Beach, California, August 5, 2008

My family takes a long vacation every summer, and we ordinarily check all of our luggage. But after a terrible experience last year, when the airlines lost our bags for several days, I decided that this year I would follow the advice of experts and figure out a way to carry on all of my stuff. So in preparation for my recent three weeks in Spain, I bought a Saffron-colored Safari Beanos Bag to carry my computer, electronics paraphernalia, reading materials, etc., and a matching Sky Train Bag for clothes. I'm delighted to report that the experiment was a total success. The Safari Beanos and Sky Train performed flawlessly. They held everything I needed and were incredibly user-friendly and durable. The attention to detail and thoughtfulness of design are remarkable. In fact, as I used the bags I discovered several practical features I hadn't known about, such as the outside pocket of the Beanos bag that turns into a sleeve to fit over extendable handles on other luggage.These bags are now among my most prized possessions. I give them my very highest endorsement. Kudos to Red Oxx!
 
 Excellent Carry-On Bag
By Jim W., Asheville, NC, June 30, 2008

As I mentioned in my Tri-fold Shave Kit review, I used this bag for a recent 14-day trip to Europe. No checked luggage. Everything I needed fit into the Safari-Beanos Bag PR5. When packed, it looked a tad too big for a carry-on. However, there was no problem with the Delta folks on either end. I even added a Lil Roy for my airline personal bag (iPod, snack, book, notepad w/pen, & neck pillow). The PR5 fit into the overhead bin without a hitch. When on the move, I hooked the Lil Roy to the PR5 carrying handle with a snap link. The Tri-fold traveled inside with toiletries and any other loose travel stuff. Two weeks with one bag--it can be done if you leave the extra junk at home. I'm going to try it with a PR4 next time. Thanks for making such durable, quality bags!
 
 Future Proof
By JM, Los Angeles, March 16, 2008

I fully expect this bag to last longer than me. I also considered the Flying Boxcar, which holds a bit more, but I was worried about it being slightly too big for carry-on. To give you an idea of the size of the side pockets on the PR5... They are big enough to hold the Tri-fold shave kit, although it's a snug fit. They are not deep enough to hold a pair of shoes, for me. A pair of size 8.5 sandals will barely fit. Just FYI. Of course there are other things you could stuff in there too. Great bag and I love the over sized hardware.
 
 My First Experience with Red Oxx and the Safari-Beanos Bag PR5
By Bob Perry, Greenfield, Indiana, November 13, 2007

My First Experience with Red Oxx and the Safari-Beanos Bag PR5I finally had to replace my old travel bag and was in the market to do just that. Having experience with Duluth Pack equipment for canoing and Filson my choice was 'in the bag' until my boss sent me an article he found about a company called Red Oxx, which featured the Air Boss. After reading the article and all the reviews about the different bags at Red Oxx I was faced with a tough decision either go with a company I already had done business with or try Red Oxx. I went back through the reviews posted here again and decided to go with Red Oxx. The personal reviews posted here were extremely helpfully in making my choice. So, thanks to everyone who took the time to write your experience with Red Oxx.I have been using this bag for little over a year now for air travel, car travel and camping. The bag has performed beyond expectations, good looking in the safari color pattern and the carry strap will not slip off my shoulder and the strap is even comfortable to use as a tumpline; now that will cause some looks walking through an airport. One thing I didn't count one was the positive comments from some of the flight attendants and TSA personnel about the bag's quality and its good looks.I purchased this bag with the intention that it will be the last bag I would ever need and so the cost of quality was worth it. I was wrong; I just purchased an Air Boss and will post my comments there too.Red Oxx is a first class company, with a first class product and first class customer service. Even Jim Markel has taken the time to write me personally to make sure I'm completely satisfied. Now that's customer service! Thanks Jim, that personal touch speaks volumes for your company.Bye for now!
 
 Lightweight, Spacious and Rugged
By Abbott Weiss, , April 7, 2006

This bag is a carry-on delight! I used it to fly from Boston to New Zealand, because I was gone for 17 days, and bag weight was a big factor, with airline weight limitations. My normal rollaboard was way too heavy, but the Beano held everything I needed, and I had no trouble taking it on flights.I love the variety of pockets; it is easy to pack, as well as to find things in the hotel without emptying the whole thing.Zippers are smooth and rugged; beautifully-made product. Even the color is unique and classy. This is a winner!
 
 Truly the best carry-on.
By Ryan Shepard, , April 7, 2006

Without question, this is an amazing bag. I'd learned about it via onebag.com, and based on reviews and pictures, decided that this should be the new piece of luggage I'd take on my trip to London and Amsterdam.It performed like a champ! Not only did it go through the luggage checks without being sent into the cargo hold (great, since I like keeping my luggage close by), it held EVERYTHING I needed for my eight-day trip. (And I only did laundry once!)It's rugged, well-built, and a handsome piece of craftsmanship. I like to buy things I need based primarily on function, secondarily on form and style; the Beano excels on both counts.
 
 Another Fail Safe Product
By Larry Parker, , November 29, 2005

I am floored again by the quality and workmanship of your product. It is so much fun to order these items because when they arrive, they are so much better than any picture can capture on the website. Besides in April, we wont have any trouble spotting the Saffron colored bags at the pier when we disembark the ship in Ft Lauderdale from the Western Caribean, like we did 4 years ago. No pink ribbons here.Thanks Jim and staff for another quality item. Santa Clause is bringing me a day pack....;o)
 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next > 
Specifications
Safari Beanos PR5 Specs Chart

  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified CORDURA® nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • 304 welded stainless V ring
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Detachable Claw No Slip Shoulder Strap
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Pass-through panel for use with wheeled luggage; can double as an extra pocket
  • Dual turn locks on zippered top flap panel
  • Twin D rings for locking zippered flap panel
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors
  • US Dimensions: 24"L x 10"W x 10"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 61cm L x 25.4cm W x 25.4cm H
  • US Capacity: 2,400 cubic inches
  • Metric Capacity: 39.3 Liters
  • US Weight: 3.4 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 1.54 Kilos

Sarari Beanos PR5 Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 14 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

What are the differences in size of the Beanos bags?
The PR5, a step up from the PR4, was designed for legal carry-on travel. The PR5-5 is sized between the PR5 and the largest of the series, the PR6.
 
Is the PR5 carry-on legal?
Yes, it was designed to be carry-on legal.
 
Will the PR5 qualify as a personal item?
The PR5 is designed as more of a smaller carry-on than a personal item. It's too big to be a personal item.
 
What's the difference between the PR5 Carry-on Bag and Flying Boxcar?
The Flying Boxcar has a full length main compartment with extra raised pockets located on the side of the bag, whereas the PR4/5 have a shorter main compartment and the pockets on both ends. The Flying Boxcar also features grab handles on the ends and a padded bottom with reinforced ballistic nylon, our toughest.
 
How many days of travel will fit in the PR5?
The PR5 was designed to hold up to a weeks worth of clothes. Some proficient packers could stuff it for 10 days. Obviously, it really depends on what you pack and how you pack it.
 
Can I fit my laptop in it?
Most 15" and up notebooks and tablets should fit in the main compartment.
 
Is the PR5 padded on the bottom?
Our Sun Chaser and Flying Boxcar are padded on the bottom. The PR Safari Beano's series of duffel bags is not padded.
 
Why are there two zippers on the back pocket?
This is a special "pass through" pocket that allows you to mount the bag over the handle of a wheeled bag.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my bag?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
What are the D-Rings for at the end of the zippers?
The D-rings allows you to lock your zippers closed. Again, one can still cut open the bag with a knife.
 
What's the best way to pack the PR5?
We recommend the bundle wrap method developed by Doug Dyment of Onebag.com fame. Use our luggage packing diagram (Pdf file). Which brings us to the next question...
 
Will the Eagle Creek packing cubes fit the PR5?
We recommend that you use our Nomad Shave Kit, Lil Roy Gadget Bag or Tri-fold Toiletry bag as packing cubes. You can color co-ordinate them to your preference and they come with useful carry handles. The Tri-fold Toiletry bag is also a brilliant shave kit organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
 
Is this the Railroad Grip?
The Railroad Grip is a different bag. It is sized differently to accommodate the lamp, rule book, radio and is built with a heavy-duty ballistic nylon. While the PR5 is a strong bag and is warranted for life, the Grip is the bag of choice for railroaders.
 
How does the PR5 compare to the Sky Train or Air Boss?
The PR5 is a duffel style bag with a main center compartment and two raised end compartments, whereas the Air Boss is a carry-on bag with 3 main central compartments. The Sky Train is a double main compartment carry-on bag that has retractable backpack straps. All three bags are carry-on legal.
 
Will my shoes fit in the end pockets?
Depends on the shoe! A child's shoes would fit as would most women's average foot size, perhaps (7-8). Boots will not fit and most men's shoes would be too large.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
The PR5 features a main compartment, flat side pockets and dual end pockets. It does not have interior pockets.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.