Skip Navigation Links

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I'm ready for two days in Vegas.”
Red Oxx Safari Beanos PR4 Duffel Bag - pictured in Amythest. Available in 12 colors.

Safari-Beanos Bag PR4 $185.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


Graduate to minimalism‽

Find traveling peace when less is more.

As Antoine de Saint-Exupéry, the author of 'The Little Prince' once said, "He who would travel happily must travel light." As the smallest in our carry-on safari luggage series, the PR4 is perfect for overnight airline travel, as a gym bag, or a passenger seat companion for overland travel.

PLACES FOR YOU BELONGINGS.
Featuring plenty of exterior pockets for organizing your gear and a cavernous interior compartment, the PR4 Safari Beanos Duffel holds more than you thought possible. Handy spacious end pockets allow easy access to your 'must have' gear, especially useful when stuffing the PR4 under the seat, be it plane, train, or bus. Both pockets zip halfway down their sides for easy access to buried belongings.

A zippered front flat pocket keeps your passport handy. The pass-through panel on the back side is designed for use as a docking sleeve with wheeled luggage. Unzip top and bottom zippers and slip it over the wheeled bag's telescoping carry handle (or leave the bottom zipper closed and it doubles as a second flat exterior pocket).

The spacious center compartment has a unique open flap with twin zippers that allow you to peel away the flap for unhindered access to your belongings. Twin steel turn locks keep the flap secure.

NO SLIP CARRY.
Like most of our duffel bags, the PR4 includes the famous Claw nonslip padded shoulder strap. Attached using heavy-duty 360 degree "claw-like" swivels, this hardware will endure any abuse you can throw at it. Quickly detaches for storage inside in case you use your PR4 carry-on for checked luggage.

USE IT AS A PERSONAL ITEM.
Ladies, if you want to use this on your next flight, stick your purse in this spacious bag's center compartment and use it as your "personal item" in conjunction with your primary carry-on, such as an Air Boss or Sky Train.

For the men out there, fill it to the brim, and travel in the same carry-on manner. Designed for the minimalist traveler out there, the Red Oxx Safari Beanos PR4 is still packed to the gills with overbuilt features that will serve you for a lifetime of travel.

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your bag on our production schedule. It will then be delivered in under 30 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

Dimensions: 19"L x 9"W x 9"H (carry-on legal).
Capacity: 1,539 cu. inches.

Pocket measurements:

  • Dual end compartments: 9"W x 9"H x 2"D
  • Dual end zippered flat pockets: 9"W x 9"H
  • Front exterior zippered flat pocket: 11.5"W x 6"H
  • Back exterior twin zippered flat pass-through pocket: 11.5"W x 6.5"H
  • Main compartment: 9"W x 14"L x 9"H

"No Bull" Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, in production products and delivery time? - Check out this personal message from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the steps it takes to handcraft your gear.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email and a review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. Backorders beyond a dozen days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is secure.

Every great bag needs cool accessories.

"Beanos" Trivia: Named after our friend "Beano" who needed a gear bag that could carry his clothes and still be carry-on legal. Named after his grandfather, a bean farmer in the midwest, whom he looked like as a kid. Formerly the Super Beano, the bag is now available in several sizes and is in it's 4th stage of design revision.

Write a Review

4.86 Average Rating
 (42 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 Next > 
 Amazing
By Richard Lucas, Powell River,bc, July 17, 2014

This bag is amazing from the quality stitching to the oversize zippers everything that is built onto thepr4 is of such a high standard I wonder how redoxx makes any money.I was concerned about bag sized for weekend trips but you can put in at least three days worth of clothes.You will not be disappointed in this product it is such a superior bag than anything I've seen in any of my travel overseas.Yes crap made in China is cheap but you get what you pay for so keep buying locally or in country it really is that much better
 
 best carry-all ever
By Spence, Boston, July 16, 2014

I bought two safari beanos bags, in Safari colors, along with a pack and laptop bag from another Made-in-USA company.

I have yet to use the other two bags. Most of the time I'm not carrying a full size laptop but rather an 11" Air or iPad 2 and keyboard. The PR4 has been the best carry-all bag I've ever used. I once got a gift of a bag 15 years or so ago, one of those cheap, made in china crap bags companies give away as "rewards" to their employees. The size and kind of bag at that time was identical to the PR4, but the carry straps ripped out the inside of the bag within a month or so of use.

This bag has no such worry. The zippers are massive, the construction way over-built and worth every single penny.
 
 Like A Black Hole for Your Clothes (That's a Good Thing!)
By Steve, Upstate New York, May 16, 2014

I own quite a few pieces of Red Oxx gear so the amazing quality is something I take for granted. But if you have never held a Red Oxx bag you owe it to yourself to see how well built these bags are... Trust me, bag failure is the last thing you will have to worry about during your travels.

I bought the PR4 as an overnight bag and was afraid it might be too small. My fears didn't end when I took the PR4 from the shipping carton... I thought, there is no way I can use a bag this small. Then I packed the bag and I was astonished at how much fit inside. In the main compartment I fit 2 pairs of pants, a pair of gym shorts, 3 shirts, 4 pairs of underwear and sox, and a sports jacket... and a light wool sweater... and a pair of New Balance Minimus shoes. I am 6'1" and wear XL clothing so these are not small items. There's plenty of room in the end pockets for electronics, grooming items and other travel essentials. While a week with the PR4 might be a stretch (unless I'm at the beach) I can easily fit what I need for a few days of casual / business casual travel in a compact package.

Red Oxx bags have a magical ability to hold far more than their dimensions suggest. I highly recommend the PR4.
 
 Great size bag for RR trips
By Sean Leighty, Tucson AZ, December 19, 2013

I use it as my grip, and it has plenty of room for my clothes, lap top, RR rules, and a few snacks. So glad I finally bought one!!
 
 Love this bag!!
By Eddie K, West Seneca, NY, November 7, 2013

I use this bag for back and forth to the gym. It has enough room for a complete change of clothes. I use the Rocl Hopper to store my toiletries and the travel basket for my keys, loose change, wallet, etc. The bag is rugged beyond belief and well worth the price. It's my firm belief that this is the best bag out there.
 
 Great bag for a weekend trip
By Tabish, California, October 31, 2013

I used to pack an Extra Small Aviator bag on weekend trips, but the lack of a shoulder strap and zips/pockets was a bit limiting. This bag is a great upgrade.

Two minor negatives in my view:

1. The hardware on the bags (rings, zippers, pulls, etc) are way beefier than they need to be. I find they get in the way of each other a bit and make the bag a bit heavy. For a bag this size / capacity, lower gauge hardware would probably be plenty strong.

2. A general complaint of mine about RedOxx bags, but I don't like the Claw shoulder strap -- its clinching action digs into you, and, when carrying a heavy load over light clothing, it's even occasionally left a row of small clincher bruises on my shoulder. I've found a third-party strap that suits me, though.
 
 Great for a two-night'er
By Sean in Dufferin County, Dufferin County, ON, October 25, 2013

Perfect multi-use bag. I just packed three days worth of business casual into mine (although a bit tight) but for a two day trip, or to load my ham radio gear up for a bit of field work, it's great. Love the big zippers and extra pockets.
 
 Arctic Traveler
By Dave, Thule Greenland, October 24, 2013

Great bag! I work most of the year in northern Greenland and travel 3-4 times between work and Arizona. This bag is great for hauling my gear back and forth. Amazing the amount of stuff that can fit in the bag! Good job Red Oxx!
 
 Rugged Safari PR4 to Northern Lau (Fiji)
By M.G. Walker, Waiheke Island, NZ, July 4, 2013

I am travelling on my bi-annual trip to the Northern Lau in Fiji with my new Safari PR4. On this trip I am using it as an organizer in a larger bag. Travelling to a remote island in Fiji involves inter-island flight and a 6 hour boat ride for 50 miles across open sea. All the bags I take have to be strong and deal with a lot of rough handliing. My wife will be travelling for the second time to Fiji with her Red Oxx Sun Chaser. Thank you Red Oxx for your great bags and workmanship.
 
 Great Product!
By Doug B, Alberta Canada, June 13, 2013

Recently purchased this bag for a trip to Europe. It is everything and more than they say it is.

Great durability and functionality make this a must have for anyone who demands quality.
 
 Good multi-purpose bag
By RC, Earth, April 19, 2013

Got this to serve as a utility bag for multiple needs. Used it as a range bag for a pistol class this past weekend - served well to carry all the required equipment. Going to use it as a carry-on this coming week and look forward to generally beating the crap out of it.

Only constructive criticism I'd provide:

1) I wish there was a 4.5 version since I think that would be the perfect size.

2) Would be nice if there was an option where the dual top zippers could be connected via a removable snap handle so they could ripped open simultaneously.

3) A little bit of bottom padding would be great (perhaps not to the extent of the SunChaser)

All in all I'm very happy with with the PR4.

 
 Excellent Carry-On Bag
By Wayne G., Atlanta, GA, January 31, 2013

Quality: Superior--as advertised and as attested to by other reviewers.

Capacity: The Beanos PR4 is a large capacity bag with a small footprint. A week after receiving the bag I took my 12th (legal) trip to Cuba for work. In the main compartment, I packed: a pair of pants, three shirts, a merino wool t-shirt, two pair of quick dry briefs, socks, a cap, a camping towel, and a lightweight jacket--plus a year's supply of Nexium that I was taking to a friend. Even so, the compartment was only 80% filled. The end pockets held my toiletries and meds, plus my travel and work documents, Iphone, Kindle, rechargers, etc. All of this, including the bag, weighed 13 pounds, a very comfortable weight for use with a shoulder strap, and, by the way, this shoulder strap is non-slip, exactly as advertised.

Utility: I found the Beanos easier at managing airport security than the backpack style bag I had used for years. While walking with the Beanos, you can easily open the side pocket, remove your 3-1-1 bag, then fill the pocket with your wallet, keys, etc. Small point, but a great convenience, especially considering how often I have to do it. Once on the ground, the multiple outside pockets (six if you count the pass-through pocket) were great for quick organization and access.

On the plane, there's no need to fight with the passengers who are obligated to stow their roller-board suitcases in the overhead bins. Just slip the bag under the seat in front of you so that the pockets facing outward hold what you might want to access during the flight. Then you can just lean down and unzip the pocket to get at your magazine, book, Kindle, etc.

Appearance: I chose the Safari color, and the actual bag looked much better than the representation I saw on my computer screen. Also, I had read reviews commenting that the hardware seemed somewhat oversized for the size of the bag. I found that not to be the case. The size of the hardware is cosmetically in proportion to the rest of the bag and to the hardware's function.

Overall: For more than two decades have adhered to the pack-light-and-carry-it-on philosophy. When I found myself no longer filling my backpack style suitcase completely, I looked for an alternative with a smaller footprint. This led me to the Beanos PR4 bag. This is a product whose form follows its function--and it shows. Thanks to the RedOxx folks for the forethought and attention to detail that makes this an outstanding bag for me.
 
 PR4 Excellence
By Jeff S., Cleveland, OH, November 15, 2012

Purchased the Safari-Beanos PR4 to compliment my Air Boss for air travel. Two trips in the books so far and it has performed flawlessly. Like all other Red Oxx products, its quality is over the top. Can't tell you how many times I have been stopped by other travelers and asked what type of bag(s) I was carrying. I have gone as far as printing up cards with the company's name and contact info to pass out to those who ask.
 
 Best Carry-On Bag I Own
By Padraic, Hawaii, July 2, 2012

Perfect size bag. Great design, with unbeliveable quality, this bag will last forever.

From muddy rain forest jungles to hot, dry windy deserts to business class travel Red Oxx bags have stood up to all type of travel better than I have. The only downside deciding which bag I'm going to get next. Red Oxx you have made a great product, thank you
 
 This bag rocks
By gbiehler, New Mexico, May 10, 2012

This is the best made bag I have ever purchased. It is tough and designed for actual use by someone who thought about how the bag would be used. Nice Job!
 
 Love it!
By Duncan, Brisbane, Australia, April 6, 2012

Love it. I can't get over the astonishingly high quality of materials and construction. Well done. A bag in a million. You can be sure I'll be banging on about how good this bag is for years to come to anyone who will listen!

Not quite big enough for a macbook pro. I need a Beanos 4.5
 
 One of the best bags I've ever owned!
By JM, Tennessee, March 8, 2012

I am very rough on my luggage when I travel. I purchased the Safari Beanos PR4 and 6, along with a Tri-Fold Shave Kit, and Rigger wallet for dedicated luggage to take on hunting trips, and I am, so far, very pleased.

The storage space that you get in these bags is not apparent until you pack things in it, and then it really shines. There are also plenty of separate, storage compartments which give you plenty of distinct, and easily accessible areas to place various items.

The build quality is very rugged, and ought to hold up to years of use....and abuse by the airlines.

As far as the PR4 is concerned, I would have no qualms about recommending it as a carry-on bag, or an overnight bag.

The only complaint I have, if you could call it that, is the price, but for the quality and features you get, so far, it appears to be a great value.

Great job guys! I'll definitely by more luggage from Red Oxx when I need it.
 
 A good overnight/overhead bag
By Chuck, Philadelphia, January 26, 2012

I just got back from a week in Singapore. I purchased the PR4 as n overhead bag to take on the plane. This is my 3rd Red Oxx - I have an Air Boss and a CPA Briefcase.

This is a perfect size for what it is aimed at. This will also become my new default overnight bag. Like all RO products - sturdy, but light.

I've used messenger bags before for this purpose, but the PR4 has now replaced them.
 
 Freaking Fantastic!
By Jeff, Cliffside Park, NJ, December 29, 2011

Absolutely the best small bag on the plant! I have used various railroad crew overnight bags for my photographic equipment, but this one is the best: quality construction, great zippers, rugged, perfect layout. Simply one of the best freaking bags I've ever owned and--gasp!--made in America.
 
 Amazing service, awesome bag!
By John McCarthy, London, England, December 7, 2011

From the moment I opened the box and lifted out my PR4, I was in love. I'm a minimalist traveller so, for me, this is perfect for weekend and week-long trips alike. I would have bought the PR5, but UK airlines have dodgy size restrictions and in this day and age it's better to be safe than sorry when it comes to dealing with airport employees. Aside from the costly delivery ($45 to the UK), I couldn't fault a single thing. The bag is even better than expected; very durable, looks fantastic and was delivered very quickly. I currently have it sitting by my bed and constantly find myself looking for the next opportunity to use it. To top it off I recently received a 'Thank you for your support' card that makes me even prouder to own a Red Oxx bag. I will definitely purchase gear from here again, although I don't see my PR4 giving in anytime soon. Thanks guys!
 
1 2 3 Next > 
Specifications

Safari Beanos PR4 Specs Chart

  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Cordura nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded Solar Max nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • 304 welded heavy-duty stainless V ring
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Detachable Claw No Slip Shoulder Strap
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Pass-through panel to use with wheeled luggage; can double as an extra pocket
  • Dual turn locks on zippered top flap panel
  • Twin D rings for locking zippered flap panel
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors
  • US Dimensions: 19"L x 9"W x 9"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 48.3cm L x 22.9cm W x 22.9cm H
  • US Capacity: 1,539 cubic inches
  • Metric Capacity: 25.3 Liters

Safari Beanos PR4 Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 30 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

What are the differences in size of the Beano's bags?
The PR4, the smallest of the series and the PR5, a step up in size from the PR4, were designed for legal carry-on travel. The PR5-5 is sized between the PR5 and the largest of the series, the PR6, which was designed for checked bag travel.
 
Is the PR4 carry on legal?
Yes, it was designed to be carry-on legal on most jet airlines.
 
Will the PR4 qualify as a personal item?
The PR4 is designed as more of a smaller carry-on than a personal item. You could try it as a personal item, but we don't guarantee the results.
 
What's the difference between the PR4 and Sun Chaser?
The Sun Chaser has a full length main compartment with extra raised pockets located on the side of the bag, whereas the PR4/5 have a shorter main compartment and the pockets on both ends. The Sun Chaser also features grab handles on the ends and a padded bottom reinforced with ballistic nylon, our toughest.
 
How many days of travel will fit in the PR4?
The PR4 carry-on bag was designed to hold a weekend's worth of clothes.
 
Can I fit my laptop in it?
Most 15 inch or smaller notebooks and tablets should fit in the main compartment.
 
Is the PR4 padded on the bottom?
Our Sun Chaser and Flying Boxcar are padded on the bottom. The PR series is not padded.
 
Why are there two zippers on the back pocket?
This is a special "pass through" pocket that allows you to mount the bag over the handle of a wheeled bag.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my bag?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
What are the D-Rings for at the end of the zippers?
The D-rings allows you to lock your zippers closed.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
The Safari Beano's series has exterior flat and raised pockets only.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.