Skip Navigation Links

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I make other carry-on bags nervous.”
Red Oxx Air Boss Carry-on Bag - pictured in Red. Available in 12 colors for $225

Air Boss $245.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


One Bag Travel! Air Boss.

The only carry-on bag you'll ever need.

Designed for the business traveler, this popular five star-rated carry-on travel bag is a must-have for anyone who enjoys the advantages of traveling light. Peruse over 600 customer reviews right here from hundreds of satisfied Air Boss customers and get an honest idea of whether this is the best travel bag for you.

CARRY-ON REBORN.
Red Oxx worked with Internet author and carry-on travel expert, Doug Dyment, guru of OneBag.com fame to develop this all-in-one carry-on bag.

EXPERT DESIGN AND DEVELOPMENT.
Follow this link to learn Doug Dyment's bundle wrapping technique so you can fit more in your airline carry-on bag and be more organized. Thanks to Onebag.com, here's a fantastic luggage packing diagram, showing you how to "bundle wrap" your clothing in the Air Boss.

WRINKLE FREE TRAVEL.
Designed with three large main compartments, the Air Boss carry-on bag also features two outside zippered pockets (one full-length, one for your airline tickets), an outside sleeve pocket, and tie downs inside the outer sections to keep your slacks and dress shirts in position and wrinkle-free until you can hang them up in the hotel.

A PLACE FOR YOUR BELONGINGS.
The center compartment is spacious enough to hold your Toiletries, extra shoes, work-out gear, business briefcase, etc. Volara closed-cell foam padding is sewn in the sides, so you've got a rigid, yet flexible, piece of carry-on luggage that protects your belongings.

PROTECT YOUR LAPTOP.
Looking for extra protection for your laptop? Pick up a Metro Briefcase, which will fit in the center compartment of the Air Boss, adding further protection and giving you a "one bag" travel option...with two bags inside one. Note that this can become a heavy bag to carry if you do this.

NEVER SLIPS OFF.
Includes detachable nonslip Claw Shoulder Strap that keeps your bag where you want it - on your shoulder.

LEARN HOW TO PACK IT.
Watch the Air Boss Packing Video posted in the Videos tab at left where CFO Amanda Markel shows how to use many of the bag's features.

ANOTHER CARRY BAG OPTION.
Looking for a similar carry-on bag with retractable backpack style shoulder straps? Try our other popular travel bag, the Sky Train.

Join the fleet feet crowd and travel carry-on with the Commander of the ship: the Air Boss!

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your Air Boss on our production schedule. Your bag will then be delivered in under 30 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H.
Capacity: 2,184 cubic inches.

Pocket measurements:

  • Matching dual exterior zippered full length side flat pockets: 13"H x 20"W each
  • Exterior flat snap pocket: 9.5"H x 20"W
  • Exterior zippered side flat passport / map pocket: 12.5"D x 7"W
  • Dual zippered tie down side compartments: 2"W x 20.5"L x 12.5"H
  • Main center compartment: 4"W x 20.5"L x 12.5"H

"No Bull" Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, in production products and delivery time? - Read this personal letter from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the steps it takes to handcraft your Air Boss.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear.

Online Air Boss orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email and a review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. Backorders beyond a dozen days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is secure.

Every great carry-on bag needs cool luggage accessories.

2009 Winner of the "Best Durable Luggage Award" from Bestcovery.com; "Discover the Best of Everything."

Selected as Kiplinger's Expert Pics The Best List of 2008 for Best Carry-on Travel Bag.

Air Boss Trivia: On the flight deck of an aircraft carrier, the Air Boss is in charge of all the operations of the flight deck. He controls the moving of planes on deck, landing of aircraft, launching aircraft, ordinance handling, and safety of all the personnel occupying the flight deck. The Air Boss oversees from the command tower. Orders are communicated with the flight deck via megaphone. Ex: "Hey greenshirt. Get out of that checked baggage line and on the plane, now!"

Write a Review

4.79 Average Rating
 (663 Reviews)

 
... 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16  ... Next > 
 Excellent
By John, Maryland, May 11, 2012

Great bag, love the amount of space. Makes it really easy to have flights without checking luggage. It can get heavy, depending on how you pack. But there are plenty of ways to carry it, so it's not that bad.
 
 Red Oxx Air Boss
By Anonymous, Jacksonville, Florida, May 6, 2012

Looks great and is very practical. Packing is easy and it fits perfectly in overhead bins.
 
 Bring it All. Skip the Lines.
By Garrett, Canada, ON, May 3, 2012

Pros: this WILL last a lifetime (you can tell right when you get it), pocket on the front is awesome for holding my boarding pass and passport, can hold more than you would think when packed properly, shoulder strap is amazing, it is indeed international carry on dimensions even when fairly stuffed.

Cons: A couple of times when I reached into the front pocket with the button my finger nail got snagged on the back side of the button along the inside of the pocket.

I bought this bag because bringing only a carry on allows me to print my boarding passes before my flight and skip the check baggage line ;P. Went to Vegas in April and it worked like a charm.

The quality of the bag will meet and most likely surpass your expectations. The shoulder strap is great because unlike conventional straps you can wear it on the same side as the bag and it won't slip off. This allows you to put the bag down without having to pass the strap over your head every time.

I was 7 days in vegas but I packed more than you can imagine... it will hold everything you need it too, however I brought a red ox small aviator bag to bring back souvenirs, but didn't end up needing it.

I recommend this bag to anyone who is packing for only themselves (I still see use in checking bags if you have kids).
 
 Amazing
By Fetcho, Indiana, May 3, 2012

The Air Boss is the best bag I have ever laid my hands on. Amazing quality, most durable zippers and -all- materials. I still can't figure out how I can fit so much into this bag! I have owned Red Oxx Aviator Bags for a while now, and I used to get people asking about the bag, now last time I traveled I had two people say "Red Oxx, Nice!" by name, from afar! It is great to see a company with great products catching on!
 
 Tough bag
By Isaac Gorton, Spokane, WA, April 29, 2012

Ever since I had a camera and lenses stolen from checked bags I've only traveled with a carry-on. I have a very tough mil-style backpack that works okay, but now that my job requires several trips each month I need a bag that will keep my clothes neat and unwrinkled.

I purchased the Air Boss in Safari, as it is relatively low-key but stands out just enough from all the black bags out there. I often fly on small regional jets and turboprops and end up gate-checking it. After three trips it still looks good as new.

It would be nice to have a grab handle on each end for pulling out of the overhead or carrying vertically down the aisle.
 
 As promised
By David, Boston, April 26, 2012

After reading many reviews, I purchased the Air Boss as a way of changing my travel to one comfortable bag. It is as good as described - and I'm looking forward to many one bag trips.
 
 Five Flights in Eight Days
By Joshua Ward, Cambridge, MA, April 26, 2012

This past week I flew the following schedule over about five days: BOS-EWR-IAH-OKC-ORD-BOS. My new Air Boss arrived just in time for my trip. I carried with me this bag (packed for business and vacation) as well as a small laptop bag.

Pros:

*Construction is very solid.

*The "coal" color looked very professional without being boring all-black.

*Plenty of room (be wary about using ALL the space as your shoulder will thank you or kill you later).

*Should strap was indeed so "non-slip" that it almost pulled my shirt off trying to get the bag off my shoulder.

*It fit in many types of planes very well. This includes the 1+2 seat CRJ and the Q400 prop plane. Many people were forced to gate-check on my flights and I was NEVER ASKED. This was a HUGE plus for me. Something about having it over your shoulder when you walk down the bridge makes them ignore you.

Cons:

*I felt the price was still a little on the steep side, however, I don't buy luggage that often and when I do, I don't mind making it an investment as I do travel a lot.

*This isn't the bag's fault, but it can get pretty heavy on my shoulder. With that said, I still prefer not having the "backpack" style bags or wheeled luggage. Just plan ahead and pack lightly and you'll be fine.

*I really can't think of anything else bad about the bag to say...and I'm trying to!
 
 Couldn't be Happier
By Anonymous, Toronto, ON, April 26, 2012

Only made 1 trip so far with the bag but I can't believe how much I could get in it. When I first opened it and saw it totally flat (as there is no internal support structure) I was concerned, but I did a test pack for a week long trip and was amazed what I could get in.

If I had a beef it would be that the buckles are all shinny - I would have preferred them to be black, but that is picky.

Looking forward to more trips with it!
 
 Suggest 4 lack of wheels
By AkaCam, Sc, April 25, 2012

Has anyone considered attaching (gluing) light-weight, felt furniture glides to the bottom of their bag? They come is a variety of shapes, styles, and sizes and would elevate the bag somewhat from the floor. The felt disks are made to allow heavy weight furniture to glide easily across solid surface floors. I'd think the same would apply to these bags. Of course the pads wouldn't work outside on cement pavement, but at least you'd have half the battle won.
 
 Nice Bag
By Sheri, Medina, Ohio, April 20, 2012

Recently purchased two Air Boss Bags for our trip to Greece. One in Midnight, which we received but you shipped a Khaki bag instead of an Olive bag. Since I did not have time to return it before our trip I decided to use the Khaki bag (your inventory should be off). The bags work out great for carrying on and off planes, ferries and to our rooms on the islands. The bags held everything for our ten day trip. The zippers are not tight like the video shows, they are very easy to zip and unzip. They even pulled apart ½ inch or so. Overall they are constructed well and I am sure they will last a long time.
 
 Can't fit my golf clubs in it...
By Anonymous, Beloit, WI, April 17, 2012

I've taken my Air Boss on two trans-Atlantic business trips and one domestic vacation. It was the only bag I took to Europe. On my vacation I had to carry one more bag... my golf bag.

Great product. Keep up the good work.
 
 Air Boss - travel
By ERG, Chelmsford MA, April 11, 2012

I purchased this after being frustrated with never being able to find the "right" size luggage. I'd either try to squeeze everthing into a small travel on, where a lot of room (and weight) was lost on the handle & wheels, or a bag that was too big. I purchased this back in late Sept or early Oct 2011. Since then, I have made several trips to South Carolina, Las Vegas and England for 10 days. Not to mention many car trips to NY & Maine with this bag.

After learning how to "pack" and fold on www.onebag.com, I have been truely amazed that I use this relatively small bag without a problem. I can always "stuff" more in if needed. Sometimes I have even used the MetroBag nesttled inside. Works well and allows me to take a DLSR bag with lots of lenses with me. The construction is first rate, no matter where I pack stuff in, it is easily accessible and the zippers work well. It is very light weight, yet flexible. I have finally found a "perfect" travel bag!!! I do not hesitate to recommend it to friends & relatives!!
 
 My New Travel Companion
By Steven Thomas, St. Louis, Missouri, March 30, 2012

I just completed a 4 day business trip using this bag for the first time. If I can help it, I will never check baggage again, now that I have this Red Oxx. Here's what I packed:

1. A bundle containing the following:

a. a small leather jacket

b. 3 shirt sleeve polo shirts

c. 2 pairs of gym shorts

d. 3 prs of underwear

2. A pair of steel toe sneakers

3. 3 t-shirts, 3 socks

4. 1 pair of jeans

5. 1 belt, umbrella

6. electric razor, 2 eyeglass cases

7. ziploc bag containing 4 30z. containers and a storage case with misc. personal items

PROS:

? A beautiful well-constructed bag with solid, bold heavy duty zippers

? Bag was flexible. it was easy to fit my large bundle in the strap down sides & still fit my size 12 steel toe shoes in the main section

? plenty of compartments

? Bag always felt securely attached to my shoulder as I made my way through the airport. It felt like the bag was an extension of myself

? solid handle & shoulder strap

CONS:

? Shoulder strap was brutal and actually painful on my shoulder after about 10 minutes of navigating through the airport. Perhaps, there's another type of shoulder strap that can help relieve the discomfort of carrying this bag when it's full.

? It would have been nice to see a few internal zip compartments within the main, center opening. This would have nice to segregate my personal items such as hair brush, shaving kit, small electronics, etc.
 
 Awesome
By Anonymous, Gainesville, FL, March 29, 2012

 
 Great Construction, but Heavy!
By Patrice, Milwaukee, WI, March 29, 2012

Terrific construction, great design.

It holds quite a bit, I recently took a 3 week business trip and it fit everything I needed, but when full, it is quite heavy! I would actually like a slightly smaller version for my usual 3-4 day business trip.
 
 Core Of My Travel Gear
By Rob Petty, California, March 28, 2012

I generally do not buy anything without a great deal of research and thought. I narrowed my search down to this, the Bihn Aeronaut and a few others. Not to say this stood out enough to just say get this (as its not like I just ordered all the others and tried all side by side) so I went out on a limb and got the Air Boss. As many mention, you have to be okay with the lack of wheels and backpack straps. I prefer a duffel/shoulder style anyway as it keeps me very mobile in the airport, easier to put in overheads, etc. I can see how some might not be able to deal with the full weight of a fully loaded Air Boss. Just know your limit there.

Now I am on my second trip using this bad and I have gotten used to some of the design features. I have split my good clothes on one side, gym clothes/dirty clothes on the other, and extras like camera, laptop (15'' Think Pad) in the middle. It would be nice if the bottom had better padding to help protect the laptop, but I did put it in a sleeve for that tiny bit more protection. The bag stands up perfectly fine when loaded as I have done. I do not put my gym shoes in it as I find at size 12 its just too small to do it with the laptop. However, on the flip side I now use this and a backpack to put my other sports gear/dirty clothes/extras so in a way its even easier to use and pack. The straps are highly adjustable and there is just lots of room everywhere you look. I gave this four stars simply because there is always room for improvement but given I used a simple duffle for 10+ years, I can easily see me using this one the rest of my days. I am really happy with this purchase and have already recommended it to several friends.

I should also add, due to the design, its very easily to grab your laptop and liquids while boarding a plane if you have them stashed in the center.
 
 Great bag. Can get heavy.
By Kevin, Ohio, March 28, 2012

This is a fantastic bag. Traveling for work can be cumbersome and I needed a bag that would meet my needs without slowing me down. The Air Boss is exactly that. The only complaint (also expressed by others) is that it can get heavy when filling it with my laptop and other necessary items. This by no means would stop me from purchasing it again.

I would recommend this to anyone who is on the go and in need of well made, do anything bag.
 
 One Bag!
By Jez, UK, March 22, 2012

If you're looking at this bag I urge you to take a look at the one bag.com website - it will change your life! My travel is so much more comfortable, so much more efficient, so much less stressful and so much more enjoyable thanks to the AirBoss!

This bag does come with a Claw strap (which is excellent) and if you read the one bag.com website you'll find the perfect way to pack it.

I travel worldwide and often for only a day or few at a time and this bag is simply perfect. It's the Boss, the don, the King, the best of the best.

I wouldn't recommend another bag now: light, comfortable, versatile and so much space. The service I received was second to none - genuinely some of the best customer service I've ever received... and the guarantee printed on the box really brightened my day!
 
 Very pleased!
By Bhaya, Brooklyn, March 19, 2012

I read several reviews on carry on bags and visited stores to check out a few brands before deciding to go with the Red Oxx Air Boss. When it arrived, I liked the look and feel - high quality material, great zippers and easy access to all compartments. But I was concerned about how much stuff I could cram into this seemingly tiny bag. I was packing for a week - 5 days of business meetings followed by a weekend of personal travel. I tend to overpack and I didn't hold back just because the bag looked small. I was surprised to find that I was able to get everything to fit. Clearly its small size belies its actual capacity. Another benefit is that after stuffing it full it was still rather light - I could carry it on my shoulder without straining myself. Likely because the bag has no wheels, handle or frame to weigh it down. Fitting in the overhead bins was never a problem at all. I'm extremely pleased with my purchase and would recommend it highly.
 
 Believe the hype
By Andrey Rukhin, Fredericksburg, VA, March 16, 2012

There are plenty of rave reviews for this item both on and off Redoxx's site. After my first, week-long, trip with the bag, I have to say that I wholly agree with the overwhelming positive reviews for the Airboss: solid craftsmanship and it looks good!

This is a DEFINITE keeper: make sure you get the right colors, though.

My only unfulfilled wish is that RedOxx doesn't make anything with wheels: with the amount of stuff I can pack in their gear, I can use all the help I can get when walking/trudging through the airport.

In my humble opinion, this is a flawless item: I cannot come up with a single drawback for the Airboss.

Sorry if this review is too boring!
 
... 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16  ... Next > 
Specifications

Air Boss Spec Size Chart

  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • US Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 53.3cm L x 20.3cm W x 33cm H
  • US Capacity: 2,184 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 35.7 Liters
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Cordura Nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 420 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • 4 lb. Volara closed cell foam padding on exterior panels
  • Double Box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • All zippers #10 YKK self-locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Nylon webbing zipper pull grab loops
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors

Air Boss Carry-on Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 30 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

 

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

Is the Air Boss carry-on legal?
Yes, the Air Boss is carry-on legal on most jet airlines.
 
What's the best way to pack the Air Boss?
The bundle packing method is recommended. Watch the packing video under the Photos and Videos tab or download the printable luggage packing diagram (Pdf file).
 
What's the difference between the Air Boss and the Sky Train?
There are two principle differences between the Air Boss and the Sky Train: The Sky Train has retractable backpack straps and opens flat lengthwise whereas the Air Boss opens flat like a book.
 
Will the Air Boss fit under the seat in front of me?
Cramming the Air Boss under the seat is not recommended.
 
Will the Eagle Creek packing cubes fit the Air Boss?
We recommend that you use our Nomad Shave Kit, Lil Roy Gadget Bag or Tri-fold Toiletry bag as packing cubes. You can color co-ordinate them to your preference and they come with useful carry handles. The Tri-Fold Toiletry Kit is also a brilliant shave kit organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
 
How many pounds will the Air Boss weigh when packed?
It depends on what you pack. A typical 3-5 day load will weigh about 20-25 pounds.
 
How many days travel can I fit in the Air Boss Carry-on?
Most travelers can get about 3-5 days with a typical load. Some adventurous types have been able to pack from a week to ten days! It all depends on how you pack and what you pack.
 
Where do I pack the laptop?
You can use the center compartment. We recommend that you use a padded sleeve to protect your laptop.
 
What's the best way to pack footwear?
Sole to sole to minimize the dirt and placed in the middle compartment. We recommend placing your shoes in a plastic bag first.
 
Can I change the logo color?
Sure. Simply order your favorite color Logo Patch and sew it on yourself. Red Oxx cannot change the patch colors for you.
 
Can I order a bag without the logo?
Logo Patches are centered using a hole punch. If you remove the patch, there will be a hole in the bag that could cause a snag. Red Oxx cannot build a bag without a logo as this would disrupt the efficiency of the production line. Feel free to use a permanent marker to color the patches.
 
Can you lock the Air Boss?
Yes, any TSA approved lock will work. Or you can use one of our inexpensive Cable Locks. Keep in mind, any soft sided bag can be cut open with a sharp knife. It's always better to carry the bag onto the plane and store in the overhead bin where you can keep an eye on it.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
The Air Boss has three large internal compartments. There are no internal pockets.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.