Skip Navigation Links

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I make other carry-on bags nervous.”
Red Oxx Air Boss Carry-on Bag - pictured in Red. Available in 12 colors for $225

Air Boss $255.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


One Bag Travel! Air Boss.

The only carry-on bag you'll ever need.

Designed for the business traveler, the popular five star-rated carry-on travel bag is a must-have for anyone who enjoys the many advantages of traveling light: freedom of movement, less time wasted waiting in lines, no lost luggage, easy access, and overall travel simplification. Peruse the nearly 700 customer reviews right here from hundreds of satisfied Air Boss Carry-on customers to get an honest idea if this is the best travel bag for you.

CARRY-ON REBORN.
Red Oxx worked hand-in-hand with famous Internet author and carry-on travel expert, Doug Dyment, guru of OneBag.com fame to develop this all-in-one carry-on bag.

EXPERT DESIGN AND DEVELOPMENT.
Follow the link to learn Doug Dyment's bundle wrapping technique so you can fit everything you need and nothing you don't in your Air Boss airline carry-on bag to become a more organized happier traveller. Thanks to guideance from Onebag.com, here's a fantastic luggage packing diagram, showing you how to easily "bundle wrap" your clothing in the Air Boss.

WRINKLE-FREE TRAVEL.
Designed with three large main compartments, our Air Boss carry-on bag also features two outside zippered pockets; one full-length, one for your airline tickets, an outside sleeve pocket, and tie downs inside the two outer compartments to keep your belongings in position and wrinkle-free until you can unpack and hang them up at your destination.

A SPACIOUS PLACE FOR YOUR BELONGINGS.
The center compartment is spacious enough to hold your Toiletries, extra shoes, work-out gear, business briefcase, etc. Volara closed-cell foam padding is sewn into the sides, so you've got a rigid, yet flexible, piece of carry-on luggage that still protects your valuable belongings.

NEVER SLIPS OFF.
Includes detachable nonslip Claw Shoulder Strap that keeps your bag where you want it - on your shoulder.

DISCOVER HOW TO PACK IT.
Watch the Air Boss Packing Video posted in the Videos tab at left where CFO Amanda Markel shows how to use many of the bag's thoughtful features.

PROTECT YOUR LAPTOP.
Looking for extra protection for your laptop? A neoprene laptop sleeve is recommended. A "macho" option is to put it in a Metro Briefcase, which will then fit in the center compartment of the Air Boss, adding further protection and giving you a "one bag" travel option...with two bags inside one. Note that this can become a very heavy bag to carry if you decide to try this. Adding an extra Claw Shoulder Strap from your Metro and then carrying the Air Boss "backpack style" (one strap over each shoulder) can help offset this added load.

A BUSINESS TRAVEL BAG BUILT LIKE A TANK?
Our customers like to define our gear as "built like a tank". While obviously you're not going to be toting around bags that weigh 50 tons and have three inches of armor plate, still the comparison is valid. For a carry-on bag, the Air Boss is built tough. Starting with the most durable, flexible, and practical textile material available -- 1000 weight CORDURA nylon, the Air Boss is built using super-strong UV-resistant thread that's stitched into every seam.

BOUND AND BAGGED.
Places where two separate pieces of fabric are stitched together are then bound -- that is, we take a long piece of one-inch wide nylon webbing and fold it over the edges of the two pieces and stitch them together, this creates a strong seam, known as a binding, that prevents the pieces from unraveling on the inside of the bag, or gives it a clean, finished look if on the outside of the bag.

BINDING INSIDE / BINDING OUTSIDE.
In addition, each exposed outside fabric edge, such as on a pocket flap, is also bound using a thicker binding material. Inside edges typically receive a thinner nylon webbing, whereas outside corner edges that are exposed to heavy wear have a thicker nylon binding. All of our binding material is vertically woven to prevent the fraying, peeling or splitting that you may commonly see in competitors carry-on bags that brag of "binding" their edges.

WHY DOUBLE BOX STITCHING?
Each stress point, such as where the handles attach to the bag, is double box stitched - which is where we get the "double XX" in our name, Red Oxx; a stitching practice we adapted from our history as parachute riggers.

MY, WHAT BIG ZIPPERS YOU HAVE!
The reason Red Oxx uses the largest zipper we can afford, the #10 YKK VISLON® zipper, is that they're easily repairable, even in the field; they will hold their place, that is, they "lock"; they are difficult to penetrate, thereby increasing the security of your belongings; they function smoothly in inclement weather, and they can be yanked from a variety of angles without losing teeth or becoming separated.

PUTTING THE HARD IN HARDWARE.
Red Oxx has occasionally been accused of "overdoing" our hardware. But once you've had a cheap piece of plastic "hardware" break in the middle of a busy intersection, airport or other inconvenient locale dumping your precious belongings all over the ground, having a heavy-duty nickel-plated or stainless steel D ring or attachment swivel that weighs just a tiny bit more, or might make a little noise, is a travel companion's confidence builder and peace-of-mind maker. After all, you want to enjoy your journey as best you can. Why worry about having your Air Boss break down?

IS THERE ANOTHER CARRY BAG OPTION?
Looking for a similar carry-on bag but with retractable backpack style shoulder straps? Try our other popular travel bag, the Sky Train.

Join the fleet feet crowd and travel carry-on with the Commander of the ship: the Air Boss!

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY!
Due to high demand, you're encouraged to place your order now to get your Air Boss on our production schedule. Your bag will then be shipped in under 14 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H.
Capacity: 2,184 cubic inches.
Weight: 3.4 pounds.

Pocket measurements:

  • Exterior full length zippered side flat pocket: 13"H x 20"W
  • Exterior full length flat snap pocket: 9.5"H x 20"W
  • Exterior zippered side flat passport / map pocket: 12.5"D x 7"W
  • Dual zippered tie-down compartments: 2"D x 20.5"L x 12.5"H
  • Main center compartment: 4"D x 20.5"L x 12.5"H

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time Distance Map.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, products in production and delivery time? - Check out this personal message from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your Air Boss.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear with pride.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond a dozen working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is always secure.

Every great carry-on bag needs cool luggage accessories.

2009 Winner of the "Best Durable Luggage Award" from Bestcovery.com; "Discover the Best of Everything."

Selected as Kiplinger's Expert Picks The Best List of 2008 for Best Carry-on Travel Bag.

Air Boss Trivia:
On the flight deck of an aircraft carrier, the Air Boss is in charge of all the operations of the flight deck. He controls the moving of planes on deck, landing of aircraft, launching aircraft, ordinance handling, and safety of all the personnel occupying the flight deck. The Air Boss oversees from the command tower. Orders are communicated with the flight deck via megaphone. Ex: "Hey brownshirt. Get out of that checked baggage line and on the plane, now!"

Write a Review

4.79 Average Rating
 (699 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ... Next > 
 The Good, The Bad and Well, there isn't any ugly
By Anonymous, San Francisco , September 28, 2012

The Good:

1) Top-notch construction quality

2) Beautiful design

3) When used with a packing system you can fit an incredible amount of gear in this carryon (see one bag.com for a good system)

The Bad:

OK, this is, no doubt, the perfect bag for a certain kind of travel. I used it on the first go-around for a long trip that included mostly airports and hotels, with long runs through the airport on long travel legs (e.g., SFO, Hong Kong, Dubai). Carrying this bag was much harder than rolling a bag. Sorry, but it is true. I am fairly big, strong and fit, but by the time I hauled it around on a 22 hour multi-airport trip I was sweaty, uncomfortable and sore.

Again, I will use this bag extensively, but not on long business trips that are mostly airport and hotels...
 
 First impressions
By Anonymous, Pennsylvania, September 27, 2012

Bought two of these for an extended trip. Hoping for a carry-on experience combined with information from OneBag.com

Bag is everything that is described on the site.

Hope to add comments after our trip.
 
 Not for me
By Mike, Denver, September 25, 2012

This bag isn't for everyone, and isn't for me. The strap digs into my shoulder and is very uncomfortable. So... you lose a star for that. I'm not sure what makes this bag worth $225. I could probably find something close to the same dimensions in another, more affordable, duffel bag. Another star lost. And then I find out it's non-returnable after it's been used. There goes another star. I must be missing something as all of the reviews of this product are quite favorable, but I personally won't be purchasing anything from Redoxx in the future.
 
 Great bag, horrible strap
By Rob B., Detroit, MI, September 22, 2012

Took my first trip with the back and absolutely loved it. Was able to get an entire weeks worth of closes and my laptop in one back. Also, I never had a problem with it fitting under the seat while watching several people having to gate check their over-sized carry-on. The only issue I had was the shoulder strap. It was too long, even on the shortest adjustment, and I found the ridged design very uncomfortable. I will continue to use the bag, but with a 3rd party shoulder strap which is disappointing due to all the praises for the strap design.
 
 Air Boss rules
By Chris, Boston, September 21, 2012

This is the first ever piece of luggage that made me say "wow!" when I first saw it. The quality is simply amazing, the look is great (I got the black one, but the gray zipper pulls add a touch of class as does the red brand badge). I am proud to show that it is made in the USA.

I bought it for a long trip around Europe, and as one of two pieces I am carrying. I am on the road for three months so needed more than this could carry, but for a week or two it would be more than big enough on its own. It has just the right number of pockets so that I can organize my things but not so many that they get lost. It is comfortable to carry. I love this bag!
 
 Fab bag
By Nick, Huddersfield, uk, September 20, 2012

Brilliant bag, the build quality is top draw. Before you buy research packing techniques to get the most out of it. Its amazing what you can pack in it with the right system.
 
 Solid Product
By Anonymous, Texas, September 18, 2012

This is a great bag! As everyone states, this bag is durable and heavy duty. Size, dimensions, and simplicity fit my carry on needs perfectly. I recommend this product.
 
 Awesome bag
By Greg, Kirkland, WA, September 17, 2012

This replaces my wheeled Tumi which has been replaced twice now due to broken parts. I love the reduction in weight with no wheels and the ease of movement through airports, metros, train stations etc. The three compartments are great and it seems like I have forgotten something when I pack as I have so much more room now. I did complement it with a Tom Bihn Absolute strap.
 
 Good choice for international travel
By Bill, California, September 12, 2012

i have been using my Railroad Grip for a long time, and had a long international flight coming up, so decided to buy the AirBoss for my trip. It was a good choice!! I carried everything I wanted, plus some. Even maxed out, it was east to get into and out of a over-head compartment (Had an exit row seat so no seat in front). The airline limits carry-ons to 15 pounds, but I think I was about 20, and because of the size they didn't say a word.

The fact that Red Oxx is American made, with outstanding quality is a plus.

Another great product by Red Oxx. If I ever need another bag for work or travel, it will be a Red Oxx.
 
 Excellent Bag
By Cris Harmsen, Netherlands, Europe, September 11, 2012

I am away nearly each week in Europe and wanted to get rid of my trolly and definately stop checking in luggage.

The positive reviews all over the internet and on this site convinced me to go for this bag.

I am glad I did. I adapts itself to whatever I have to take along. Be it on a 2 week vacation to Sweden or my 1 week business trips where I need to bring 2 suits and some casual clothes. I pack everything in Eagle Creek packing cubes and cloths folders. They fit perfectly and keeps it all organised and easy to take through air port security.

The strap is not bad, but the bag can start to feel heavy when walking on larger airports. I am considering using a 3rd party strap.

Unfortunately, importing it to Europe made it more expensive then I wanted. Freight cost and import cost added more then $150 to the bill :-( )

But, as I am very satisfied with the bag, the one time cost outweighs the years of pleasure I anticipate having with this bag.

It is definately like many other buyers say; this is really good quality. You get what you pay for!

 
 Fantastic!
By Stephen O Dell, North Carolina, September 9, 2012

I purchased the Airboss based on its reviews, and reference from the Onebag site. I fly to Europe mostly, multiple cities at a time, at least twice a year, which is the purpose of this bag. I will use it next month for that kind of trip but last week had the opportunity to use it on a short hop to NYC. Just fantastic! Really enables smart packing, is well-designed and well-made. A joy. One has to be careful not to over-pack due to its spaciousness - can make the bag a bit heavy. To that end, maybe consider some additional padding in the handles? Great shoulder strap. Thank you for making such a great product.
 
 Unbelievable Quality
By Pete, Northern Virginia, September 8, 2012

I've had my boss for over three years, have gone around the world and never been disappointed. If you are on the fence about the quality and craftsmanship of Red Oxx do not hesitate. Once you see how things are supposed to be made you will never look at anything else with a zipper the same again.

That being said I have done the One Bag travel many times and realize that sometimes I like to pack a little extra. This bag is perfect for trips of four or five days, especially if you need a sports coat or suit. Don't misunderstand, I have been oversees for a month with only the Air Boss and been just fine but it really is designed to fit the One Bag packing model.

You cannot go wrong with this bag but watch out because once you see the quality of this gear you may end up like me and find yourself ordering other bags too!
 
 Just great
By Dale Athey, Newcastle-on-Tyne, UK, September 8, 2012

After a bit of research I decided to order my Air Boss. Delivery from US was no problem and it looked just great when I unpacked.

Had to wait a couple of weeks before trying out on a business trip to Germany and Austria which involved budget airline, trains, etc. Air Boss was great, and combined with the Metro was the ideal choice for this trip. Many of my travelling companions admired the bag, and I suspect there may be some further orders coming from UK in near future !
 
 Very Happy!!
By Bill, Orlando, FL, September 6, 2012

I'm extremely happy with the bag at this point. I've only recently started traveling for business and was committed to only using carryon baggage for my week-long trips. I'm amazed at how much stuff I can fit into the bag.

I was a little surprised at the weight of the empty bag, but I haven't had an issue yet with the loaded weight. I can't wait to put it through its paces and see how it looks in the future. Keep up the good work, Red Oxx!
 
 Pleased
By Scott Stenvold, United States, September 1, 2012

Excellent quality, GREAT shoulder strap! Nice to find a bag without those crappy wheels that are really wheels/rods/handle and take up a lot of space--not to mention the wheels don't stand up. Maybe on an airports beautifully waxed tile, but not on the concrete going to my car, pavement going to the terminal from parking lot, nor the cobblestone paving when trekking up to my sister's door in SA, TX. Oh- important: Best Zippers Ever! Finally, a very handsome bag.
 
 Great bag but TOO heavy!
By geri, Chicago, August 30, 2012

The bag itself seems great and easy to pack - I used it for a four day trip recently. However, it is way too heavy to carry on my shoulder. I have to carry it up the steps to the L train and then when I get off the train, it's a long walk to the terminal. Then another long walk to the actual gate. Maybe there is a luggage cart you can suggest to go with it to drag it through the airport.

I'm also in agreement with the other person that I would like to add some kind of feet to bottom too. I really did not want to sit it down on the bathroom floor - yuck!
 
 Love the bag, need a smaller strap
By Julie L., San Francisco, CA, August 19, 2012

I love the bag, its everything I expected and more. I can travel with only this one bag on 3-5 day trips, no problem. Major road-warrior love.

I do have one issue:

I'm 5"2 and the Claw Shoulder Strap doesn't shorten enough to my liking, so the bag drops to below my hip when I carry it, which is not comfortable at all. I will have to replace the strap for my ext trip (which I am loath to do because the strap provided ROCKS) for one that I can adjust to my liking.

Besides that... I have already recommended the bag (to my guy colleagues who are taller than I am).
 
 Love the bag, need a smaller strap
By Julie L., San Francisco, CA, August 19, 2012

I love the bag, its everything I expected and more. I can travel with only this one bag on 3-5 day trips, no problem. Major road-warrior love.

I do have one issue:

I'm 5"2 and the Claw Shoulder Strap doesn't shorten enough to my liking, so the bag drops to below my hip when I carry it, which is not comfortable at all. I will have to replace the strap for my ext trip (which I am loath to do because the strap provided ROCKS) for one that I can adjust to my liking.

Besides that... I have already recommended the bag (to my guy colleagues who are taller than I am).
 
 Nice bag
By Anonymous, Wisconsin, August 16, 2012

Used the Air Boss for the first time on a 3-day business trip. Agree with previous reviewers that the bag was a bit heavy and awkward to carry on my lengthy airport walks. Also, it did not fit in the overhead on the small plane I took for my connecting flight, but not a big deal. It did protect my laptop, which was the main reason I purchased it, and the bundling technique for packing worked great! The different compartments made it easy to organize and get through security with no problems at all.

 
 Best Bag For the Buck
By John, Midwestern USA, August 14, 2012

I purchased this bag for a two-week tour of the Eastern US. I was driving, we had tight space and I needed something that would be versatile, tough and could hold all my clothing. On tour I carry a guitar in a case, gig case, and tool kit, along with gear for another guitar player and a third musicians as well. So space in our car was limited. For this tour I was carrying a suit, dress shirts, dob kit, bath towel, pants, jeans, socks, underwear and running clothing. All in one bag. Everything fit. Packing was easy using the suggested bundle method.

Best of all, this bag was extremely versatile and bullet proof. It was a much more efficient use of space than my wheeled carry-on size bag I'd used previously.

I have not had a chance to fly with it yet, but I can see it will be up to the task.

My only complaint is the strap is a bit lacking. It's strong and grips well, but it's not as wide as I'd like. For a carry bag, the strap could be a bit more comfortable. But that's really picking nits.
 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ... Next > 
Specifications

Air Boss Spec Size Chart

  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • US Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 53.3cm L x 20.3cm W x 33cm H
  • US Capacity: 2,184 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 35.7 Liters
  • US Weight: 3.4 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 1.54 Kilos
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified CORDURA® Nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 420 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • 4 lb. Volara closed cell foam padding on exterior panels
  • Double Box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Nylon webbing zipper pull grab loops
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors

Air Boss Carry-on Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 14 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

Is the Air Boss carry-on legal?
Yes, the Air Boss is carry-on legal on most jet airlines.
 
What's the best way to pack the Air Boss?
The bundle packing method is recommended. Watch the packing video under the Videos tab or download the printable Air Boss luggage packing diagram (Pdf file).
 
What's the difference between the Air Boss and the Sky Train?
There are two principle differences between the Air Boss and the Sky Train: The Sky Train has retractable backpack straps and opens flat lengthwise whereas the Air Boss opens flat like a book.
 
Will the Air Boss fit under the seat in front of me?
Cramming your Air Boss under the seat is not recommended.
 
Will the Eagle Creek packing cubes fit the Air Boss?
Why not use our Nomad Shave Kit, Lil Roy Gadget Bag or Tri-fold Toiletry bag as packing cubes? You can color co-ordinate them to your preference and they come with useful carry handles. The Tri-Fold Toiletry Kit is also a brilliant shave kit organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold-open-flat hanging design.
 
How many pounds will the Air Boss weigh when packed?
It depends on what you pack. A typical 3-5 day load will weigh about 20-25 pounds.
 
How many days of travel can I fit in the Air Boss Carry-on?
Most travelers can get about 3-5 days with a typical load. Some adventurous types have been able to pack from a week to ten days! It all depends on how you pack and what you pack.
 
Where do I pack my laptop?
You can use the center compartment. We recommend that you use a padded neoprene sleeve to protect your laptop.
 
What's the best way to pack footwear?
Sole-to-sole to minimize the dirt and placed in the middle compartment inside a plastic bag.
 
Can I change the logo color?
Sure. Simply order your favorite color Logo Patch and sew it on yourself. Red Oxx cannot change the patch colors for you.
 
Can I order a bag without the logo?
Logo Patches are centered using a hole punch. If you remove the patch, there will be a hole in the bag that could cause a snag. Red Oxx cannot build a bag without a logo as this would disrupt the efficiency of the production line. Feel free to use a permanent marker to color the patches.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my bag?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
The Air Boss has three large internal compartments. There are no internal pockets.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.