Skip Navigation Links

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I make other carry-on bags nervous.”
Red Oxx Air Boss Carry-on Bag - pictured in Red. Available in 12 colors for $225

Air Boss $255.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


One Bag Travel! Air Boss.

The only carry-on bag you'll ever need.

Designed for the business traveler, our most popular five star-rated carry-on travel bag is a must-have for anyone who enjoys the advantages of traveling light. Peruse over 680 customer reviews right here from hundreds of satisfied Air Boss Carry-on customers to get an honest idea of whether this is the best travel bag for you.

CARRY-ON REBORN.
Red Oxx worked with Internet author and carry-on travel expert, Doug Dyment, guru of OneBag.com fame to develop this all-in-one carry-on bag.

EXPERT DESIGN AND DEVELOPMENT.
Follow this link to learn Doug Dyment's bundle wrapping technique so you can fit everything you need and nothing you don't in your Air Boss airline carry-on bag and become a more organized traveller. Thanks to guideance from Onebag.com, here's a fantastic luggage packing diagram, showing you how to easily "bundle wrap" your clothing in the Air Boss.

WRINKLE FREE TRAVEL.
Designed with three large main compartments, our Air Boss carry-on bag also features two outside zippered pockets; one full-length, one for your airline tickets, an outside sleeve pocket, and tie downs inside the two outer compartments to keep your slacks and dress shirts in position and wrinkle-free until you can unpack and hang them up in the hotel.

A PLACE FOR YOUR BELONGINGS.
The center compartment is spacious enough to hold your Toiletries, extra shoes, work-out gear, business briefcase, etc. Volara closed-cell foam padding is sewn into the sides, so you've got a rigid, yet flexible, piece of carry-on luggage that still protects your valuable belongings.

NEVER SLIPS OFF.
Includes detachable nonslip Claw Shoulder Strap that keeps your bag where you want it - on your shoulder.

DISCOVER HOW TO PACK IT.
Watch the Air Boss Packing Video posted in the Videos tab at left where CFO Amanda Markel shows how to use many of the bag's features.

PROTECT YOUR LAPTOP.
Looking for extra protection for your laptop? We recommend using a neoprene Laptop sleeve. A "macho" option is to put it in a Metro Briefcase, which will fit in the center compartment of the Air Boss, adding further protection and giving you a "one bag" travel option...with two bags inside one. Note that this can become a very heavy bag to carry if you decide to try this. Adding an extra Claw Shoulder Strap from your Metro and then carrying the Air Boss "backpack style" (one strap over each shoulder) can help offset this added load.

BUILT LIKE A TANK.
Our customers like to define our gear as "built like a tank". While obviously you're not going to be toting around bags that weigh 50 tons and have three inches of armor plate, still the comparison is valid. For a carry-on bag, they are built tough. Starting with the most durable soft textile material available, 1000 weight Cordura nylon, we use super strong UV resistant thread that is double stitched into every seam.

Places where two separate pieces of fabric are stitched together are then bound, that is, we take a long piece of one inch wide nylon webbing and fold it over the edges of the two pieces and stitch them together, this creates a strong seam, or binding, that prevents the pieces from unraveling on the inside of the bag, or gives it a clean finished look if on the outside of the bag.

In addition, each exposed fabric edge, such as on a pocket flap, is also bound using a thicker binding material. Inside edges typically receive a thinner nylon webbing, whereas outside corner edges that are exposed to wear will have a thicker nylon binding. All of our binding material is vertically woven to prevent fraying, peeling or splitting that you may commonly see in less expensive bags that brag of "binding" their edges.

Each stress point, such as where the handles attach to the bag, is double box stitched - which is where we get the "double xx" in our name, Red Oxx; a stitching practice we adapted from our time as parachute riggers.

The reason Red Oxx uses the largest zipper we can afford, the #10 YKK VISLON® zipper, is that they are easily repairable, even in the field; they will hold their place, that is, they "lock"; they are difficult to penetrate, thereby increasing the security of your belongings; they function smoothly in inclement weather and they can be yanked from a variety of angles without losing teeth or becoming separated.

Red Oxx has occasionally been accused of "overdoing" our hardware. But once you've had a cheap piece of plastic hardware break in the middle of a busy intersection, airport or other inconvenient locale dumping your precious belongings all over the ground, having a heavy-duty nickel-plated or stainless steel D ring or attachment swivel that weighs just a little more, or might make a little noise, is a travel companion's confidence builder and peace of mind maker. After all, you want to enjoy your journey as best you can. Why worry about having your bag break down?

ANOTHER CARRY BAG OPTION IS?
Looking for a similar carry-on bag with retractable backpack style shoulder straps? Try our other popular travel bag, the Sky Train.

Join the fleet feet crowd and travel carry-on with the Commander of the ship: the Air Boss!

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your Air Boss on our production schedule. Your bag will then be shipped in under 14 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H.
Capacity: 2,184 cubic inches.
Weight: 3.4 pounds.

Pocket measurements:

  • Matching dual exterior zippered full length side flat pockets: 13"H x 20"W each
  • Exterior flat snap pocket: 9.5"H x 20"W
  • Exterior zippered side flat passport / map pocket: 12.5"D x 7"W
  • Dual zippered tie down side compartments: 2"W x 20.5"L x 12.5"H
  • Main center compartment: 4"W x 20.5"L x 12.5"H

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time Distance Map.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, products in production and delivery time? - Check out this personal message from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your Air Boss.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear with pride.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond a dozen working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is always secure.

Every great carry-on bag needs cool luggage accessories.

2009 Winner of the "Best Durable Luggage Award" from Bestcovery.com; "Discover the Best of Everything."

Selected as Kiplinger's Expert Pics The Best List of 2008 for Best Carry-on Travel Bag.

Air Boss Trivia: On the flight deck of an aircraft carrier, the Air Boss is in charge of all the operations of the flight deck. He controls the moving of planes on deck, landing of aircraft, launching aircraft, ordinance handling, and safety of all the personnel occupying the flight deck. The Air Boss oversees from the command tower. Orders are communicated with the flight deck via megaphone. Ex: "Hey greenshirt. Get out of that checked baggage line and on the plane, now!"

Write a Review

4.79 Average Rating
 (682 Reviews)

 
... 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32  ... Next > 
 AIR BOSS MAIDEN VOYEGE
By PM, Southern California, June 16, 2008

I recently purchased my Raven Air Boss bag, and to say the least I was pleasantly surprised with the construction, hardware, and the esthetics's of my bag upon my initial inspection. I usually use a carry on bag for all my business and pleasure travels. I decided to "break-in" my Air Boss on a four day pleasure trip with my wife (21 year anniversary). My wife used her hard shell carry on with wheels. I figure if the Air Boss does not do well on this first pleasure trip, then I will scrap it for my business trip next month, and give it to one of my daughters for a gym bag. I packed this in the bag: 2 pair pants dress, 1 pair hiking pants, 2 pair under garments ("Armor" lightweight) tops and bottoms, I pair tennis shoes, 1 pair of dress shoes, 1 pair of workout shorts, 4 pair of socks half athletics/dress, 1 silk sports jacket, 3 semi dress shirts, 2 workout T shirts, 2 bandannas, 2 door stops, 1 flare side flashlight smoke detector, 1 medication container with meds, 1 small first aid container with meds, 1 small umbrella, 1 lenovo laptop and charge cord, 1 toilette bag TSA with stuff in it shampoo, brush, comb, deodorant, etc., 1 small batt. operated shaver, 1 manual razer with oil, 1 whistle, 1 small bag with miscellaneous stuff plastic fork/knife/spoon/matches, 1 mini maglite, and I had room for about two more sets of pants and shirts. The bag performed beautiful and looked good doing it. My wife was so impressed with it she requested "get me one of these bags". What was obvious to her is that the the different compartments can hold a bit more than her hard shell and is much easier to pack, or use it as you go so not to have to unpack the entire bag. So, I will be a return customer soon, and would like to know if you all have thought about offering personalization or custom patches to the bag for your customers? BTW-My daughter will have to get her own gym bag :( Thanks, and look forward to your response.Peter, We have heard that people take the bags to the local mall and have them monogrammed. At this time we do not have the in house capacity to do that. Setting up and running a full embroidery shop is quite the task. Thanks for the great review,pack list!CheersRed Oxx
 
 Finally, after 30 years . . .
By Mark, Crofton, MD, June 14, 2008

I just finished a week long business trip with the Air Boss and a brief case. The Air Boss was loaded with more than enough business clothing, casual clothing, and athletic gear to last beyond a week . . . and it still wasn't pushed to capacity. The two outside compartments are easy to load and if you follow the suggested folding procedures the slacks and shirts arrive relatively unwrinkled. The center compartment just swallows up everything else. Every other bag I have owned has had small external pockets, which are waste of space since they usually only hold a few sets of socks and just serve as an irritant when you are trying to shove your bag into an overhead compartment. The Air Boss's uncluttered exterior makes a real difference. The construction quality is outstanding and the CLAW shoulder strap really is nonslip, the best I have come across. Bottom line . . . buy this bag. You won't be disappointed.
 
 There's a new Sheriff in town...
By Larry, Southlake, TX, June 11, 2008

Just when you think you've tried it all... though I don't travel like I used to (250 segments/year for 7 years) I still appreciate high quality, well engineered gear. With a 2-week trip to Italy approaching and ever diminishing bag requirements from the airline I decided to give the bag a try. This testimonial is not so much about traveling with this bag alone (I had to check a bag to make room for items we intended to bring back to the states.) but to say that it delivers as promised; a rare feat today. In the middle of the trip was my daughter's wedding; no tuxes but silk sport coat with linen pants and shirt required. I decided to pack the essentials plus my wedding 'outfit' in the Air Boss just to be sure. Coat and pants (with Tilley hat on top) were carefully folded in one of the outside pockets and clipped in place. I also carried 5 shirts, 4 t-shirts, 3 pair shorts, 1 pair pants, 1 pair bluejeans,undergarments, dopp kit and another sport coat in the other sections. THE BAG WAS NOT FULL but it was all I felt I needed to survive if the dreaded luggage gods frowned on me. Big thing here is I carried the bag from Dallas to Phili to Rome then the Leonardo shuttle to the Termini,to Naples, taxi, hotel, back to train, Rome, Taxi, hotel, and rental car to Tuscany without taking the silk sport coat and linen pants out of the bag- almost 9 days! All this time I was 'living' right out of the bag packing and unpacking as needed. When I finally unloaded the coat and pants they were ready to wear with virtually no wrinkles! I have Tumi, Andiamo, Briggs and various other bags. All are ballistic grade, 'high end' products that have been real troopers in their day but you simply have a show stopper of a product in the Air Boss. I look forward to future travel sans the checked 'boat anchor'. Great attention to detail and uncompromising workmanship. Just wish you guys had gotten in the business a long time ago. Kudos to you and your staff!
 
 You'll be suprised!!
By Greg, Ohio, USA, May 15, 2008

This is the best carryon bag that I have found. I was actually able to pack more clothes and shoes into this bag than any rolling carryon I have owned. I was surprised by its capacity. I was even able to get rid of my laptop case by placing my laptop with charging cord in the Air Boss!! I had been looking at this bag for quite some time now. Seen a few appear on eBay and even used ones would almost bring full retail value in the auctions. That speaks to the known quality of the bag. I may add a different type of shoulder strap as suggested in other reviews. A wider strap that would better distribute the added weight from the extra capacity that I now have. I am very happy with quality of the Air Boss and pleased with my purchase.
 
 Air Boss: 1/2 the Price, Three Times the Bag
By Chip Levers, Flower Mound, Texas, May 14, 2008

I am a road warrior in Corporate America and an admitted luggage snob/ junkie. I have been lurking around the Redoxx website since the Outside Buyer's Guide gave your duffels a "Gear of the Year" award.Recently I spent 11 days on the road with my trusty Tumi 22" rollarboard. By the eighth day, I was tired of both the weight and interior space limitations inherent in the case. That night, in yet another hotel, I ordered an Air Boss hoping it truly was the "ultimate carry on".The bag arrived to my house as promised at about the same time I got home. I was impressed the minute I opened the box for a first inspection. There is no way the website can illustrate the quality invested in this bag. I was amazed by how the Air Boss could seem so beefy and light at the same time.One thing remained- the "Road" test! I had an uncharacteristic two weeks at home, plotting my packing strategy for a business trip from Dallas to Puerto Rico. This is a five day jaunt with customer calls, social activities and an industry convention each involving different wardrobe needs. I packed last night and the Air Boss swallowed everything I threw at it. The three compartments allowed me to segregate my clothes for each hotel on the trip, simplifying unpacking as well.This morning I breezed through security at DFW. The "Boss" went from gate to overhead bin to cab to hotel without ever threatening to cause a hernia or a gate check situation. I am thrilled.The quality and usability of the Air Boss are more than enough to make me a repeat customer, but wait, there's more!Several days after the package came, I received a thank you card from your company in the mail. Tonight I checked email and had yet another note, repeating the thanks and following up on my satisfaction.Great product, great service and you value your customers... What a concept!Let me return the favor Redoxx, thank you! Oh, and sorry Tumi...
 
 Great bag - it swallows everything
By M R Mitchell, Poole, UK, May 11, 2008

I eagerly awaited my bag to arrive via the UPS shipping option. I was not disappointed with the bag. I used it last week to travel to Russia and it is brilliant. A weeks worth of clothes in the 2 side sections and all the electrical stuff (cameras, ipod, etc) in the middle. I just kept stuffing items in the middle section and it just swallowed them up. Even the duty free purchases went in the middle section. absolutely amazing. And it gives you a real smug feeling when it fits perfectly in the metal cages at Heathrow T5 to check carry-on size. But a warning for UK customers. UK government charges about 20% duty on cost of bag + shipping charge. And then for good measure applies the dreaded 17.5% VAT on top of the bag, shipping and duty. And to my disgust UPS add £11 'brokerage' charge. You would have thought that would be included in the shipping charge as they must know about the charges to be applied and collected to UK destinations.BAG 5*+ . It is truly a great bag. HIGHLY RECOMMENDEDUPS - suck for the brokerage fee.UK import duty, etc - I can't write what I truly think as it is not pleasant language on family site!!
 
 14 days in Middle East
By Phil, UK, April 26, 2008

Great quality and design. Go to this flickr page to see my one bag carry on for a 14 day trip to the Middle Easthttp://www.flickr.com/photos/59326548@N00/2442602576/
 
 Air Boss
By Mike, Indiana, April 9, 2008

My wife and I (both 50+) just got back from an 9 day trip to Assisi and Rome. I got to try the Air Boss for the first time under real travel conditions. It worked great! I needed a new bag for traveling. In preparation for our Italy trip, I discovered your website and the Air Boss bag. It seemed to be exactly what I wanted so I ordered. Customer service was great and I had my bag in a matter of a few days. It is always great when something you order gets to you right away as this did. Very easy. When I saw the bag, I couldn't believe the rugged construction and the features. As other reviewers have said, there has been a lot of thought put into the design of the Air Boss. I won't go into details about all of the terrific features, as other reviewers on various web sites have already done so. But their comments are accurate. Good bag. I was now ready for the trip, other than convincing my wife to travel with just one bag. Good luck! On the trip to Italy, I packed 3 pairs of pants, 5 shirts (including 2 dress shirts), 2 undershirts, 3 briefs, 3 socks, a somewhat bulky fleece vest, 5 handkerchiefs and a hat. In addition, I had 2 guide books, 3 paperbacks, my toiletries, and finally my camera and my Ipod along with their respective re-chargers. At the airport I bought a large bottle of water for the trip. ALL OF THIS FIT into my Air Boss. Unbelievable! Also, I used the packing method recommended by Red Oxx and it worked extremely well. When unpacking, my clothes, including the cotton dress shirts, were hardly wrinkled, and I attribute those wrinkles to me being a first time packer this way. I was able to convince my wife to try the one bag method of travel. To say she was skeptical is putting it mildly. To say she thought I was completely crazy to try this for an 9 day trip is also putting it mildly! But she tried it. She needed wheels so she didn't use an Air Boss, although I tried to push her in that direction. The first indication that we were doing something a little different was when the lady at the airport check-in counter commented that she did not see how it was possible to travel to Italy with just carry-on. Of course, this just fueled the fires of doubt in my wife. But when we got to Italy the doubts disappeared. When we arrived, we went right through Passport Control and Customs without any waiting for luggage or delay. We had to take the train from the Airport to the Termini (Rome's main train station) to catch our train to Assisi. It was somewhat of a hike to the train but we did it without problem. While getting there, we noticed numerous people muscling their check-through bags along. Same thing at the Termini. Once on the train, we were able to easily store our bags above us which allowed us to keep an eye on them. The larger bags had to be put at the end of the car. Finally, and best of all, when we finally got to Assisi, dead tired from all the traveling, we were able to walk up the steep hills to our hotel. Not easy, mind you - it seems that no matter which direction you head in Assisi it is up hill - but doable because of having just one bag each. We had similar experiences in getting back to Rome after Assisi and to our hotel, using the train and subway during rush hour with our luggage. No problems. Finally, on the way back to the USA, we had a direct flight to Chicago. You can imagine how tired we were after a week's vacation and a 10 hour flight in cramped quarters. Well, I kid you not, from the time we stepped off the plane, clearing Passport Control and Customs, until we got on the train to the parking lot outside of O'Hare, it took less than 20 minutes! We high-fived one another. That is some reward for traveling light! Welcome home. The Air Boss made this possible and I am singing its praises to all my friends. Thanks for a great bag and thanks for giving me the confidence to encourage my wife to try one bag traveling. She's now a believer. We have also started talking about other trips to make because traveling with one bag is quick and easy so we can go at a moment's notice. Hopefully, this will allow us to do a lot more traveling in the future. We're looking forward to it. Best regards, Mike Murphy
 
 Air Boss
By John and Anne Cave, North Carolina, April 6, 2008

When we returned from traveling in Europe with our Air Boss luggage from Red Oxx, my husband noticed that an ink pen had exploded in the side pocket of his bag. Black Ink from a Pigma Micron archival waterproof pen was seeping all over the material. We quickly dabbed the wet ink with a paper towel and it totally released itself from the bag, leaving no stain at all! Such unsurpassed stain-resistance! We loved the bag as we traveled through Germany and London, but now we are sold totally on this indestructible luggage that will undoubtedly last forever!
 
 Clearly Superior
By Jim Coyer, San Diego, US, March 31, 2008

I've been eyeing this bag quite a bit over the last year, and finally my wife ponied up and bought me one for a recent trip to Tokyo from the US West Coast. My first impression was: its dimensions are bigger than I expected. I realized I had visually assumed a size more like a large laptop carryall bag, but this is closer in size to a roll-on suitcase. Once I started packing it, I realized this was key, since its length matches that of the shirts and suits you'll fold and place in the two side pockets. Capacity was great: I packed 3 dress shirts, 1 suit, 1 pair of running shoes, a pair of jeans, 1 casual shirt, 2 T-shirts, one windbreaker, 2 books, 1 gift, and a whole bag full of electronics. The CLAW worked great and never let go. And, like everyone else has said, it was easy to get this bag in the overhead. Extremely well-constructed all the way around. And Jim there made it real easy for my wife to order at the last minute in time to surprise me. Highly recommended.
 
 Kick-a** bag
By Joseph, Birmingham, Alabama, March 25, 2008

I used my newly purchased Air Boss and Gator on a recent 8 day trip to Europe. I was able to carry my MacBook Pro, a pair of shoes, 1 sweater, 4 pairs of pants, a sportscoat, 3 dress shirts, 4 t-shirts, 4 pairs of socks and more in the Air Boss using the bundle method. I barely had to pack anything else in the checked luggage that I took. With the exception of the small commuter planes where anything larger than a backpack had to be checked, the Air Boss fit perfectly in the overhead compartment.My only complaint is that I'm 5'6", and even when the shoulder strap was adjusted, the bag hung a little low to comfortably carry through the Atlanta and Paris-CDG airports. It looks great, the workmanship and materials are excellent, and the bag is incredibly functional. Best of all, it's made in the USA! I'm thinking of getting one for everyone in my family. Thanks Red Oxx!
 
 Air Boss Gets the Job Done
By DevilDoc Dave, New Jersey, March 11, 2008

I just made my first business trip with my AirBoss and Gator and I couldn't be happier! I had a couple of flights on an S80 and EMB145 and the AirBoss fit in the overhead bid on both planes without an issue. While other passengers were forced to gate check their roller bags, I waltzed right into the cabin and made my AirBoss disappear in the tiny overhead storage area. Without having my bags close at hand I never would have made my connecting flight. Awesome! The AirBoss easily handled a suit, 3 shirts, 2 pairs of pants, shoes, a laptop, my 3-1-1 bag, a couple of books, and it could have handled much more. I tried the bundle-pack method for the first time, and was pleased with the results.I look forward to putting my AirBoss and Gator to the test many, many more times! Thanks for an awesome product!
 
 The perfect carry-on?
By Richard Day, United Kingdom, March 9, 2008

I have been searching for the perfect carry-on for years and think I might have found it! This is the first carry-on that I have owned that will comfortably swallow enough business suits and casual clothes for a week yet will still fit in the overhead locker. It took me a few goes to get the packing method correct but now I am able to get all my clothes in one bag and everything remains unwrinkled when I unpack. Genius! I no longer worry whether my baggage is going to the same place that I am and air-travel has become a much less fraught experience. Be warned though, you will have to get used to fellow travelers asking where you got your bag from!Thanks Richard for the great review!(If you spot another Oxx owner make sure to say hello)Jim Markel
 
 It even handles kilts!
By Alister, Belgium, March 4, 2008

This past weekend was the first time I got to use my air-boss in anger. Having to go from Brussels to Aberdeen for my cousins wedding. Having to transfer through London Gatwick, I was really hoping to travel with only carry-on. Lo and behold.. the Airboss came through. It swallowed my full kilt outfit, kilt, shoes, dress jacket, sporran, belt, everything, as well as a couple of shirts and trousers for the rest of the weekend. Absolutely incredible! Oh, and yes.. some of the stewardesses definitely recognize the bag!
 
 Bad to the Bone
By Ron Posner, Caracas, Venezuela, March 1, 2008

This bag is the essence of OVERKILL! You can stuff it like a sausage to near bursting point and it handles it with ease. It's obvious that Made in USA is still worth every penny. The age-old adage applies - cheap is expensive and expensive is cheap. So if you can, just buy the best and you can never go wrong with it. This is definitely one of the best!
 
 Right Bag Most of the Time
By Anonymous, PHL - EWR, February 28, 2008

I travel for Business once every six weeks or so. I split my origination point between Philadelphia and Newark depending on my final destination and of course cost. I found this bag after looking for packing techniques at onebag.com. I am glad I purchased this bag but like anything there is room for improvement. About me, 6'2" tall, 42 long, 34 inseam, Athletic build, size 13 shoes. Using the bundle technique I was able to barely fit 2 suits 4 shirts, 1 pair of jeans, 2 casual shirts, along with underwear, undershirts, socks, ties and sleepwear in the outside compartments. 1 more inch, overall, in length could have helped with the suit shoulders (although my folding technique may have been off) and a quarter inch deeper on each of the compartments could have given me room for a slightly better bundle fit. Size 13 dress shoes fit comfortably in the middle compartment along with my toiletry bag and my 1 quart see through liquid(s) bag. Remember to pack right before you go unpack right away to avoid major wrinkles.In retrospect I would not carry formal business suits again. I have used it for business casual with 2 sports coats and have been extremely impressed and will use it again under those circumstances. For someone my size a 25-30 lb carryon is no big deal even when hustling in international terminals from one gate to another across an airport. Someone smaller may have issues with walking instead of rolling that much weight. Will I use it again, of course. Maybe a marriage between this and the Sky Train, will be the 'perfect' bag for me.
 
 Terrific bag
By James G, Washington DC, February 22, 2008

This is an extremely high quality bag. It is tough, truly well-crafted, and has a number of thoughtful designs. The zippers are tough and could stand up to over stuffing or knock around - which is important. Although the Air Boss easily meets the dimensions for standard carry-on, there are always commuter planes, or older planes in the fleet with smaller overhead bins, so one day you will have to give up your vaunted bag and let someone load it under the plane. The bag volume is better to the roll-aboards. R.O. took away weight by keeping it frame less - which is great. The square design, though, really lends itself to also allowing addition D-rings for attaching rucksack straps. Just a thought. Side pockets are great - particularly well-suited for any of the available enclosed clothes folders/ shirt envelopes. Suits stays neat in packets and under the straps. The center pocket is a bit tight for my running shoes. The lining throughout the bag is unusually cool - nice touch! This is a great bag - understated, honest, simple. A terrific choice for any savvy traveler.
 
 The Red Oxx moment
By Anonymous, Madison, February 10, 2008

I bought the Air Boss in October 2007 but wanted to wait until I had a few 'Red Oxx Moments' before posting my review. A Red Oxx moment is the instant that you realize you're in a situation which would have turned out much differently if you had your old bag. They start out small enough - a quick trip up a flight of stairs or walking down a snow- or mud-covered sidewalk. They gradually build to the point that you're smiling when you're one of the last passengers aboard due to a late connection and everyone else has to check (and subsequently lose) their rollers, so you can confidently say "that won't be necessary, this will fit under the seat." Or when you can pack for a week long trip to the Caribbean with all of your gear (snorkeling fins included) and clothing slung over your shoulder.Worth noting: it's built tougher than the pictures will ever be able to portray, and the first time you fill it up you'll be shocked at how light it really is and wonder why you used other bags for so long.
 
 Glad I purchased!
By Mike W., Chicago, January 20, 2008

I ordered my bags two weeks ago and went on a business trip last week. I am happy to say that I was pleased with everything I received from Red Oxx! My only suggestion would be to include a printout of the "How to Fold" PDF. I folded my clothes as the PDF showed and it worked out great. On the way back, I just threwall the clothes in the bag...but they didn't fit so nice. So, I took out all the dirty clothes, folded them, and put them back in. Everything was flat and fit like a charm.When I ordered it, I found I was missing my luggage tag. :-( I wrote customer service, and within a half hour (on a Friday at 4:30pm, mind you), I received a response saying that they will ship me a luggage tag for my Air Boss. After I returned and saw they sent the tags, I wrote tech support here again. Now this is on a Sunday, and guess what? I received a response within the hour. Simply amazing. I don't know many companies out there that has such a great response time as Red Oxx.
 
 Have Bag Will Travel
By ESA, Atlanta, December 22, 2007

I just took a job that will entail significant business travel. I knew my existing luggage wouldn't cut it so I went shopping and quickly found the AirBoss. One question I had was how much real business wear will it carry? Not a sport coat and a couple of pairs of slacks but suits, ties and dress shirts for people that can't sport reruns in the executive suite every day. I quickly found the answer. Using a slightly modified bundle packing method, it comfortably holds four suits (42R), five dress shirts, toiletries, five pairs of underwear, t-shirts and socks, 5 ties and a pair of shoes. All that weighs about 23 pounds with the bag. That's about enough for a week without doing laudry or a lifetime if you do laundry.The bundle packing method has to be modified because the width of a suit jacket shoulder to shoulder is longer than the length of the case so you have to fold the shoulders in toward the middle just inside the shoulder padding in the suit. The method still produces suits that aren't wrinkled. There is some wrinkling in the shirts but I suspect that is bad packing technique. It's also the result of the wrong shirts. In this day and age I need to be buying wrinkle resistant and will do so going forward.It's a great bag and definitely the best choice I could have made for week in/week out travel. It holds significantly more than my similar sized Tumi wheeled carry on.One suggestion I have is for Red Oxx to visit a golf store and check out the IZZO Dual Strap that is now de riguer on golf bags of all makes. I see no reason such a thing couldn't be offered for the Air Boss (or most any other bag) with no change to the bag. In fact, I may just add one myself it would be so easy.Note:I have seen that two strap carry method before. It is a great idea, simply hook two shoulder straps to the bag and cross them. Voila! you have a bag that is supported by two straps. (you must cross them)Red Oxx
 
... 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32  ... Next > 
Specifications

Air Boss Spec Size Chart

  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • US Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 53.3cm L x 20.3cm W x 33cm H
  • US Capacity: 2,184 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 35.7 Liters
  • US Weight: 3.4 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 1.54 Kilos
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Cordura Nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 420 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • 4 lb. Volara closed cell foam padding on exterior panels
  • Double Box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Nylon webbing zipper pull grab loops
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors

Air Boss Carry-on Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 14 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

Is the Air Boss carry-on legal?
Yes, the Air Boss is carry-on legal on most jet airlines.
 
What's the best way to pack the Air Boss?
The bundle packing method is recommended. Watch the packing video under the Photos and Videos tab or download the printable luggage packing diagram (Pdf file).
 
What's the difference between the Air Boss and the Sky Train?
There are two principle differences between the Air Boss and the Sky Train: The Sky Train has retractable backpack straps and opens flat lengthwise whereas the Air Boss opens flat like a book.
 
Will the Air Boss fit under the seat in front of me?
Cramming the Air Boss under the seat is not recommended.
 
Will the Eagle Creek packing cubes fit the Air Boss?
We recommend that you use our Nomad Shave Kit, Lil Roy Gadget Bag or Tri-fold Toiletry bag as packing cubes. You can color co-ordinate them to your preference and they come with useful carry handles. The Tri-Fold Toiletry Kit is also a brilliant shave kit organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
 
How many pounds will the Air Boss weigh when packed?
It depends on what you pack. A typical 3-5 day load will weigh about 20-25 pounds.
 
How many days travel can I fit in the Air Boss Carry-on?
Most travelers can get about 3-5 days with a typical load. Some adventurous types have been able to pack from a week to ten days! It all depends on how you pack and what you pack.
 
Where do I pack the laptop?
You can use the center compartment. We recommend that you use a padded sleeve to protect your laptop.
 
What's the best way to pack footwear?
Sole to sole to minimize the dirt and placed in the middle compartment. We recommend placing your shoes in a plastic bag first.
 
Can I change the logo color?
Sure. Simply order your favorite color Logo Patch and sew it on yourself. Red Oxx cannot change the patch colors for you.
 
Can I order a bag without the logo?
Logo Patches are centered using a hole punch. If you remove the patch, there will be a hole in the bag that could cause a snag. Red Oxx cannot build a bag without a logo as this would disrupt the efficiency of the production line. Feel free to use a permanent marker to color the patches.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my bag?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
The Air Boss has three large internal compartments. There are no internal pockets.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.