Skip Navigation Links

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I make other carry-on bags nervous.”
Red Oxx Air Boss Carry-on Bag - pictured in Red. Available in 12 colors for $225

Air Boss $255.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


One Bag Travel! Air Boss.

The only carry-on bag you'll ever need.

Designed for the business traveler, our most popular five star-rated carry-on travel bag is a must-have for anyone who enjoys the advantages of traveling light. Peruse over 600 customer reviews right here from hundreds of satisfied Air Boss Carry-on customers to get an honest idea of whether this is the best travel bag for you.

CARRY-ON REBORN.
Red Oxx worked with Internet author and carry-on travel expert, Doug Dyment, guru of OneBag.com fame to develop this all-in-one carry-on bag.

EXPERT DESIGN AND DEVELOPMENT.
Follow this link to learn Doug Dyment's bundle wrapping technique so you can fit everything you need and nothing you don't in your Air Boss airline carry-on bag and become a more organized traveller. Thanks to guideance from Onebag.com, here's a fantastic luggage packing diagram, showing you how to easily "bundle wrap" your clothing in the Air Boss.

WRINKLE FREE TRAVEL.
Designed with three large main compartments, our Air Boss carry-on bag also features two outside zippered pockets; one full-length, one for your airline tickets, an outside sleeve pocket, and tie downs inside the two outer compartments to keep your slacks and dress shirts in position and wrinkle-free until you can unpack and hang them up in the hotel.

A PLACE FOR YOUR BELONGINGS.
The center compartment is spacious enough to hold your Toiletries, extra shoes, work-out gear, business briefcase, etc. Volara closed-cell foam padding is sewn into the sides, so you've got a rigid, yet flexible, piece of carry-on luggage that still protects your valuable belongings.

NEVER SLIPS OFF.
Includes detachable nonslip Claw Shoulder Strap that keeps your bag where you want it - on your shoulder.

DISCOVER HOW TO PACK IT.
Watch the Air Boss Packing Video posted in the Videos tab at left where CFO Amanda Markel shows how to use many of the bag's features.

PROTECT YOUR LAPTOP.
Looking for extra protection for your laptop? We recommend using a neoprene Laptop sleeve. A "macho" option is to put it in a Metro Briefcase, which will fit in the center compartment of the Air Boss, adding further protection and giving you a "one bag" travel option...with two bags inside one. Note that this can become a very heavy bag to carry if you decide to try this. Adding an extra Claw Shoulder Strap from your Metro and then carrying the Air Boss "backpack style" (one strap over each shoulder) can help offset this added load.

ANOTHER CARRY BAG OPTION IS.
Looking for a similar carry-on bag with retractable backpack style shoulder straps? Try our other popular travel bag, the Sky Train.

Join the fleet feet crowd and travel carry-on with the Commander of the ship: the Air Boss!

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your Air Boss on our production schedule. Your bag will then be delivered in under 30 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H.
Capacity: 2,184 cubic inches.
Weight: 3.4 pounds.

Pocket measurements:

  • Matching dual exterior zippered full length side flat pockets: 13"H x 20"W each
  • Exterior flat snap pocket: 9.5"H x 20"W
  • Exterior zippered side flat passport / map pocket: 12.5"D x 7"W
  • Dual zippered tie down side compartments: 2"W x 20.5"L x 12.5"H
  • Main center compartment: 4"W x 20.5"L x 12.5"H

"No Bull" Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, in production products and delivery time? - Check out this personal message from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the steps it takes to handcraft your Air Boss.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear.

Online Air Boss orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email and a review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. Backorders beyond a dozen days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is secure.

Every great carry-on bag needs cool luggage accessories.

2009 Winner of the "Best Durable Luggage Award" from Bestcovery.com; "Discover the Best of Everything."

Selected as Kiplinger's Expert Pics The Best List of 2008 for Best Carry-on Travel Bag.

Air Boss Trivia: On the flight deck of an aircraft carrier, the Air Boss is in charge of all the operations of the flight deck. He controls the moving of planes on deck, landing of aircraft, launching aircraft, ordinance handling, and safety of all the personnel occupying the flight deck. The Air Boss oversees from the command tower. Orders are communicated with the flight deck via megaphone. Ex: "Hey greenshirt. Get out of that checked baggage line and on the plane, now!"

Write a Review

4.79 Average Rating
 (681 Reviews)

 
... 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32  ... Next > 
 AMAZING!!
By Joey, Austin, TX, April 10, 2009

This is one amazing carry on bag! I have been using it for three weeks now and have nothing but great things to say about the AIR BOSS.The construction is without equal. The zippers are tough and will not fail and the shoulder strap works as advertised. It is seriously overbuilt, yet it is extremely light. There is no way the website can illustrate the quality invested in this bag.Too be honest, I was skeptical I could fit everything needed for a one week trip inside this bag without having to "overstuff" it. I was wrong. The "bundle packing" system has worked great and I have more than enough room and my clothes have very few wrinkles. I truly believe I could fit two weeks worth of travel inside the AIR BOSS with no problems at all.To anyone still undecided, my advice to you is to purchase this bag...you WILL NOT be disappointed. It is worth every penny! Great product, great company. Thank you Red OXX!
 
 Best bag I ever bought
By Duke, Las Vegas, April 10, 2009

I got one of these maybe a year ago and it's the best thing that I ever bought for travel. I can fit more stuff in it than 22" wheeled carry on bags and have an easier time fitting it into the overhead compartment. Fantastic product and well made - probably the best zippers I've come across on anything.
 
 Air Boss: plenty of room and flexibility!
By Ties Molenaar, Amsterdam, April 9, 2009

Red Oxx's AirBoss is a fantastic bag for packing leisure and business attire. This last march I had to go to India for a study trip part of an executive MBA I'm attending. Because I was looking for a ticket from Amsterdam (Netherlands) to Hyderbad (India). I found a British Airways return ticket with one stop-over on London Heathrow for 900 EURO. Seeing that the British pound was at a relatively low value compared to the EURO I tried to book in British Pounds. Unfortunately I could not make this booking in British Pounds as the departure airport wasn't British. The solution 3 separate tickets.1. From Amsterdam to London.2. Return ticket London - Hyderabad - London.3. London - Amsterdam.Final sum 640 EURO's saving 260 EURO for the total trip. These multiple individual tickets forced me to rethink my luggage policy, as the airline would not be passing my luggage through from flight to flight and I would be passing through the high security checks at London Heathrow. Searching the internet I stumbled on onebag.com which led me to redoxx.com and the finally to ordering the AirBoss. Within 6 days it was delivered to my home address in the Netherlands. At a local travel shop I purchased 2 Eagle Creek pack-it folders (the 18 & 20). I used the 18 folder for holding my T-shirts, polo's and one sweater. The 20 folder held my business shirts and throusers. The 20 folder precisely fits into one of the outer compartments of the AirBoss.I packed the AirBoss with quite an impressive set of clothes for this 10 day trip to India:Outer compartment 1: 5 pants, 6 shirts (EagleCreek 20 Folder)Outer compartment 2: 6 t-shirts, 2 polo, swimming trunk+shortpants (EagleCreek 18 Folder) + 1 pair of step-in shoesInner compartment: 6 shorts, 8 pair of socks (Pack-It-cube from Eagle Creek) 1 pair of formal shoes, 2 suits (bundle wrapped), 9" laptop, Ipod, Nintendo DS, 3 books, digital camera and sleep pillow/-goggles All clothing came out wrinkle free, despite crowded buses, walking through Indian crowd fighting to be of service to you. Before I bundle-wrapped the suits I inverted one of the shoulders of each jacket and tucked it into the other shoulder. This method leaves the jacket absolutely wrinkle-free. Travelling and packing in between destinations in India was real easy with the AirBoss and the Pack-It folders.Obviously I was way over packed with respect to my 10 days of travel. Nonetheless everything fitted nicely into the AirBoss. Next time I'll pack less and do some laundry. Because I only travelled with hand-luggage and I passed through security rather quickly, I was able to catch an earlier flight at London Heathrow to Amsterdam. Way to go AirBoss!!!The bag itself is very nicely constructed. The centre compartment is ideal to use for those books, gadgets and other stuff you want to be easily accessible to during flight/travel. The outer zipper pockets are very good for storing itineraries and tickets. Advantages of the AirBoss: 1. Mobility in crowded buses 2. Mobility through a crowd and you do not look like the lost tourist. 3. Lots of room 4. No reclaiming of check-in luggage --> Easy to book separate tickets (Pounds vs Euro) 5. Catching earlier flight (Time saving) 6. Perfect with Eagle Creek Pack-it Folders
 
 Best Boss Ever!
By Barbara, Milton, Delaware, April 8, 2009

The Air Boss is the most wonderful bag I've ever had - period. End of story.To travel to the islands on connecting flights, mid-winter, with a whole bunch of clothes for every occasion PLUS all my snorkel gear (including full size fins, mask, etc.) and be able to pack it all in this bag and then effortlessly fly through airports and customs was a dream come true. This bag easily transported more clothes than I took in TWO similar sized bags the last time I took this same trip AND it held all my snorkel gear, too. Amazing.The shoulder strap is SO comfortable, even when carrying 25 lbs. And, unlike every bag I've had before, it did NOT gouge or slide off my shoulder once! Hallelujah!The Air Boss is one boss I'll always respect and want to work with year after year! It is handsome, well built, and highly effective. No regrets.The Air Boss is simply the best! If you value style and performance as much as quality and comfort, choose your color and order now!
 
 2 weeks, 3 countries in the winter PLUS ball gown = 1 bag
By Linda Simovic, Pennsylvania, March 28, 2009

I bought this bag after reading extensively about how to accomplish one bag travel on onebag.com. I am a frequent international traveler to Europe and Asia, as well as very frequent business travel within the US. In the past, I have had luggage lost in Eastern Europe, and I wasn't about to let it happen on this trip. As a woman, I'm faced with the ever present desire to pack a million things as a "just in case" preventative measure. Scaling down was a HUGE challenge for me. This bag, combined with some practice in packing, allowed me to recently take a 2 week trip to Eastern Europe in the dead of winter. I was on a school trip that required me to wear business attire for 5 days, and at the end of the trip I went to an Opera and had to wear a floor length ball gown!! I got it all into this bag. Plus the week after, I went skiing. Believe me - It is possible!!, but you need the right tools. This bag was paramount in my ability to travel around the world like this. By bundling my clothes, I was able to get all of the things I needed into this bag. I also bought and stuffed an additional 2 dresses, a bottle of perfume, and some small gifts into the bag on my way back!!! I had no idea there was going to be extra room but there was! I wish I could give the product an additional star. The bag is worth the price, and I am going to throw out or give away some of my other bags. I don't need them anymore.
 
 Fantastic bag - you will probably get rid of most of your other luggage
By Bill Parr, Shanghai, China, March 25, 2009

This is a great bag. It is an ideal carry-on bag. It can be big enough for extended (two-week) travel, or for just a couple of days. I routinely carry it and either the Metro or the CPA Briefcase (and the trifold shave kit). I have taken over 25 international trips with it in the time (less than a year) since I purchased the bags - and they have always been adequate to the task.Well-designed, tough as can be. The Metro and CPA Briefcases --- I use one or the other daily.Buy the Air Boss now - you won't regret it. I have traditionally been an owner of high-end (expensive, very high quality - I won't mention the brand names...) luggage. In my assessment - I upgraded going to the Air Boss.Bill Parr
 
 Outstanding
By Kathryn, Houston, March 10, 2009

I had been eying the Air Boss for a while, and finally purchased it to take on a two-week business trip. Verdict: OMG THIS IS THE BEST PIECE OF LUGGAGE EVAH!!!I was impressed from the very moment I pulled the Air Boss out of the box and admired the heavy-duty blue ("Mariner") canvas. I fiddled with the zippers, which are also heavy-duty, and continued to be impressed. Those zippers will never fail. They are sturdy and well-made. In fact, the entire bag is sturdy and well-made - and yet, it weighs less than half what my comparable Samsonite wheeled bag weighs.The Air Boss is designed to be the only bag you need on a trip. I was able to easily pack two weeks' worth of business clothes (plus casual wear for the weekend) in the two side compartments, while my toiletries, paperwork, phone charger, and other miscellaneous items slid neatly into the center compartment. A laptop fits in the center compartment as well. All three compartments are zippered all the way around, allowing the Air Boss to open flat for easy packing, and allowing for easy access to laptop and toiletries at security (just unzip the side and pull the laptop out).Even stuffed with all those clothes, the Air Boss still fit easily into the plane's overhead compartment. When it isn't so overstuffed, it can actually fit beneath the seat of larger planes, which is a huge bonus for those of you who, like me, are too short to easily reach the overhead compartment on said planes. (The tricky part is lifting a 30- or 40-pound bag that far over my head. I weigh only 100 pounds myself, and when I am holding something that is 40% of my body weight as high as I can reach, that's quite a moment. [In the physics sense, not the time sense.])I can't wait to go on another short trip on which I can take the Air Boss. Two weeks' worth of clothes was so heavy that I carried my laptop bag separately, but a weekend trip or a one-week trip would allow me to pack the laptop in the center compartment, thus using only one bag (plus purse). I'm excited just thinking about it. Yes, I am more excited about my luggage than I am about the putative trip.The only disadvantage of the Air Boss on this trip was that, as mentioned, two weeks' worth of clothes is quite heavy. The Air Boss doesn't have wheels, because wheels add a lot of weight to a bag and significantly reduce the capacity (there is no way my comparably-sized Samsonite wheeled bag could possibly have held all that clothing), so I had it on one shoulder and my laptop bag on the other shoulder as I trundled around the airports. OUCH. My shoulders were sore for three days, and were covered with tiny bruises that looked almost as if the capillaries had burst. (They're fine now - not a mark on 'em.) But if you, like me, are a wuss, you can buy a set of folding wheels and strap your luggage to them for airport travel.The Air Boss is a very well-designed bag that allows me to satisfy my engineer's desire for efficiency. I am totally in love with it. It was worth every penny.
 
 Air Boss Goes Around the World
By Jerry Hubbard, Houston, TX, March 5, 2009

I travel extensively for both business and pleasure and had been dragging around a huge suitcase on wheels for the last couple of years convinced that I needed all that room for my 50 pounds of junk. Plus, I had to start carrying a bag on-board since the airlines kept losing the checked bag (try 5 days with no clean clothes in Cape Town...thanks, Emirates). And both of these bags in addition to my computer bag. I feel stupid now just writing this!Anyway, in January I returned from a 10 day trip to New Delhi, unpacked the big green monster and took it directly to Salvation Army. I had had enough and I knew there must be a better way. I found www.onebag.com and then the Red Oxx website and immediately fell in love with the Air Boss. Bought it on the spot.I just returned from its maiden voyage...a 26 day, 5-city, 4-country around the world trip to Sydney, Perth, Bahrain, Saudi Arabia and London. And the Air Boss is fantastic! It weighed 26 pounds with two suit coats, three pairs of dress pants, four dress shirts, four golf shirts, three pair of shorts, two pairs of shoes, one tie (a mistake...should have been two), a kit bag and all the boxers (was that TMI?), socks and t-shirts required for about a week's run before laundry.This trip included a week of holiday to start and then two speeches (hence the suits), a three day industry conference, a two day industry conference and five different business meetings. And in climates as varied as Oz, the Middle East and the UK. I was able to carry everything I needed in the Air Boss, no problem. And, with a bit of ironing and using hotel laundries, I didn't look like an unmade bed. Most of the time anyway.Mea culpa...even though I violated the onebag.com rule of one bag (I still had to have my laptop bag) and the carry-on only rule (BA wouldn't let me take two bags on from Bahrain to London), the Air Boss was a dream to schlep around airports, train stations, taxis, hotels, etc.Bar none, this is the best bag I've ever owned. Next up; Bangkok for a week. With a goal of 20 pounds total Air Boss weight and carrying on all the way. Well done, Red Oxx.
 
 Works well for me
By Chip Jarvis, Tucson, March 3, 2009

I first heard about this bag from the "onebag.com" (Doug Dymet) website. While I have not completely gone "one bag", I like the idea. I finally bought an Air Boss for myself, and have had the chance to use it on one trip so far. I traveled with the Air Boss and a backpack containing two laptops. The bag is very well constructed, and LIGHT. I am surprised at just how much lighter it is than the roller bag carryon which I had been using. It also fits more stuff than the roller bag did -- though stuffing it full has greater consequences in the sense that you have to carry all that stuff without wheels! It is MUCH easier to fit into an overhead, due to its light weight, and the ability to "give" a bit. Since I was traveling with a fairly large backpack as well, the Air Boss shoulder strap didn't seem to work well for me. I just carried the bag by the handles, and it was fine -- heavy stuff was in the backpack.I travel frequently internationally, and bought this bag as a "commuter" bag. I have tried the "bundle packing" system, and find that I have not been able to successfully pack in this way and keep wrinkles out of what I'm packing. So I, too, use the Eagle Creek "packing boards", and they do fit the AirBoss very nicely. I find it easier to manage escalators, curbs, and cars without wheels. However, I think it would be much easier traveling with the Air Boss only, and no backpack, since that would allow me to more easily use the Air Boss shoulder strap. I look forward to traveling with this bag again.
 
 Ideal bag for speed travel
By John G, New Orleans, LA, March 1, 2009

I was happy with the bag before it even arrived. I placed my order only to find that it was slated to arrive after I departed on my trip. One call to Red Oxx and the shipping was upgraded free of charge. I could not ask for better customer service. As far as the bag goes, it held a suit, an extra pair of shoes, two days worth of casual clothes and a laptop easily. I frequently travel to DC and LA for three-five day business trips and this bag is perfect. Comfortable to carry and keeps me from the baggage carousels. Excellent construction. I highly recommend this product.
 
 Fantastic Bag, will be even better with practice
By Jo, Decatur, IL, February 27, 2009

We bought two of these bags, and as a couple, we did pretty well on our first trip out with them. I packed about 25 pounds in mine, including a laptop in a padded sleeve, and had no problem fitting it into the tiny Embraer regional jet storage area. He packed considerably lighter, had room to spare (the bag was even a bit too big for his needs!) and trekked around the airports with ease.I, on the other hand, was wishing for about 5 pounds less of a load. I am a tall woman and reasonably fit, but lugging 25 pounds across two terminals at DFW got to be a bit much on my shoulder. The shoulder strap was marvelous -- the weight (though easily accommodated by the Air Boss) was not. I intend to trim my packing list for the next trip!I didn't pack with the bundle method, and it still worked. However, I will try the bundle method next time, as I will have more business-type clothes and wrinkles will be more of an issue. The center compartment was perfect for a spare pair of shoes (which I stuffed with adapters, chargers, etc.), my laptop, books, and snacks.I loved the deep, accessible zipper pocket for travel documents. If I were designing Air Boss v. 2.0, I would do something similar with the area currently occupied by the snap pockets. Lose the snaps, divide this area in three (one on either side of the straps, one in the middle) and put zippers in. This arrangement would be fantastic for carrying smaller items that need to be accessible during the trip. I also second what other reviewers have said -- it would be nice to have some sort of clip for keys.The construction of the Air Boss is outstanding, the customer service is great, shipping is fast, and we so appreciate a quality product that is made in the United States. Thanks, Red Oxx!
 
 I've been converted!!!
By J Cantwell, Atlanta, February 27, 2009

I was skeptical, but after having read glowing reviews on the airboss, set myself up for a challenge of going to France for a week only with carry on. I go to EUR often enough and can typically check two large bags in addition to toting a carry-on.I packed for an entire week, using only the airboss and the suggested roll-up packing system. The only other bag I carried was a small computer case that I emptied and just used for flight papers, a couple of books, and toiletries while traveling.I need to add that I just went to Paris in February while they were having an unusually frigid spell, so all the clothes I took were heavy, thick, warm. In other words, bulky.I made it fine for the week. In fact, I even came back with several articles I never wore while there.I am completely sold on never ever checking luggage again even on (or especially on) international flights and stays of a week or more.I've been converted! Thanks, REDOXX, for my new-found freedom!!!
 
 This one's a winner!
By Patsi, Houston, February 27, 2009

I'm an event planner and was making arrangements to attend a conference in LA a couple of years ago. I was in the market for some new luggage since what I had was extremely big and very heavy and that was before I had anything in it. And OK, I wanted something that looked good, too. Anyway, I had been reading about the one bag way to travel and the Air Boss was so highly recommended that even though I did not think I could do without a rolling bag, I decided I would make the investment. The lifetime guarantee was a good selling point, too. I bought the red. I have to confess I had some serious doubts when I first got the bag - it looks so small - but I was pleasantly surprised. I did a test run before the LA trip when I went home for Christmas. Without doing the bundling method and not really paring down my wardrobe, it still fit plenty plus gifts, boots and toiletries. Amazing!!!The conference trip was even better because I followed the bundling method of packing and had room for all of the goodies, samples and books I acquired while there. I travel a couple of times a year and it has never let me down. I am now planning my first trip to Europe in the fall. I'll be spending a week in Florence and another in Paris and maybe a few days in Spain. I already have a Gator but was thinking of buying the mini roadster ruck and taking that along with my Air Boss. If anyone has any thoughts on this, I would appreciate the feedback.
 
 Air Boss is a Beast
By Rick M, Arlington, MA, February 21, 2009

Build quality is extraordinary, versatility and flexibility is un-matched, and its ability to swallow clothing computers and shoes is nothing short of magical. From Alaska to Dubai this bag has become my definitive bag. For trips of a week or less it is my only bag and for longer trips, or trips requiring multiple suits, it has become the chosen carry-on playing a great supporting role. Thanks Red Oxx!
 
 Move Over Roller Boards
By Charlie, Austin, Tx, February 17, 2009

I "happened" across this bag when surfing the web for more efficient travel techniques, One Bag was my first stop. I travel for business about 100 days a year and have used a roller bag for the last 7 years. My last bag of 5 years was a flight roller board (Purdy Neat), steel frame, which pushed 15+ pounds empty. I was never happy with how to pack it either, always tweaking to get the load configured just right. I used the eagle creek packing system and with the weight of the roller board for 2-4 days of business travel my load would push 50 pounds, not including laptop bag. Needless to say it's not easy getting around with a heavy roller board in cities like New York, Chicago, and Minneapolis: in and out of Cars, buses, taxis, subways, airplanes (different storage bin sizes/plane side check); And on and through revolving doors, escalators, elevators, stairs, curbs, rain (puddles), snow covered sidewalks/parking lots..should I go on.So I bit the bullet and purchased the Air Boss and used it last week. I also used the bundle packing system, so I was all in, cold turkey!!!.......and WHAT A DIFFERENCE. I love having two hands free again and I'm able to move around with ease. The only problem is 90% of the travel population has roller boards and they slow "us" up now. The bundle packing system makes it lighter; I think with more time I can master that.I do think there were a few less wrinkles, it's toss up, but I'll take it because it lighter.We now need a RedOxx lane..please move over. :)
 
 best bag ever!
By Anonymous, pittsburgh, February 6, 2009

bought this bag back in sept, finally had a chance to use it on my vacation to Mexico. this bag is GREAT! can stuff a ton into it and is just so well made. very easy to lug around despite not having any wheels and can fit in the overhead very easily you won't be disappointed. best of all it's made in America!
 
 Best Bag Ever
By Anonymous, Atlanta, GA, February 2, 2009

One bag. Everything for two weeks of business and casual travel. I've been doing law enforcement and public safety traveling for over 3 decades and figure this is the bag for the next 30.
 
 Air Boss: My Other Bags Remain In The Utility Room
By Jerry S., Denver, Colorado, January 30, 2009

I've always purchased the best that I can afford and having purchased the Air Boss, Gator Bag, Beano PR5 (for me) and the Metro Briefcase (for my nephew), honestly and w/o reservations, these bags ROCK!This review is for the Air Boss and I've found it to be a bag that I can literally take anywhere... and I usually do. I try to keep the weight under twenty pounds which the Air Boss with standard strap handles extremely well. When traveling with the Air Boss, I usually carry the Gator Bag and I find the combo exceptional.If I want to fly with only one bag, I just take the Air Boss and slip my personal items, laptop and running shoes into the center compartment and woila, I have one bag travel!Having been a long time mountaineer, I'm accustomed to wear and tare on equipment and with that said, the high quality equipment that I buy always gets the job done w/o any problems. I purchased the Air Boss and Red Oxx gear with the expectation that they'll last me MANY years and if I do run into problems, their guarantee cannot be beat.My Andiamo Valoroso roller carry-on, which was much more expensive than the Air Boss is currently gathering dust in the utility room as I have not taken it on an airplane since receiving the Air Boss. I wish the Air Boss and other Red Oxx gear had a removable clip whereby I could affix my car and house keys to so I can clip 'em in and forget about. However this is a very minor wish as the bag(s) just simply do their thing... well!
 
 Great Bag ... Twp Suggestions
By Wes, Phoenix, AZ USA, January 27, 2009

I acquired the Air Boss as a replacement for my old Land's End overnight attache which "gave up the ghost" after twenty-five years of almost daily use and many continents. This bag is of superior design and utility. The quality of manufacture is of the same standard.My suggestions for improvement are to add some sort of lanyard and clasp inside the outside "ticket pocket" for the purpose of clipping a key ring or other light weight item. The second is to add several open top "pockets" inside the other outside zippered pocket. These would be extremely useful for such items as cell phones, pocket notebooks, or glasses cases ... as well as pencils or pens or any other small item. We all dig for items like these sitting in departure lounges or on an airplane, and their ready retrieval is really handy.I highly recommend the Air Boss bag to serious travelers.Thanks to all at Red OXX!
 
 without equal...
By Etienne Gadient, San Francisco, CA, January 18, 2009

I have been using this bag for more than 3 years on an active basis. I recently took a trip where I tried a wheeled carry on and it was such a let down that I realized just how much better my experience was with this bag. After three years, I got spoiled. I am one who tends to read reviews, however never leaves them. Actually, this is my first ever review. This bag is that good. This is an excellent bag and comes with very few reservations.Let's start with the bad. * It is a shoulder bag. Before you go any further, you need to completely understand that everything you pack is going on your shoulder. For a week long trip or longer trip, I tend to pack about 35 lbs for my kind of traveling in this bag. If you are also carrying a laptop bag, this can get another 25+ lbs which is a little silly in terms of shoulder bearing weight. As a result, you shouldn't plan to walk miles with this bag. It that is your goal, perhaps you should be looking at a backpack (I believe the very similar sky train is better for this goal, but cannot attest to it) With a little planning, however, no wheels becomes its strength....yeah, that is about it.... Let's move to the good. * this bag is seriously overbuilt, yet without the hardware of wheels, etc, is amazingly light. The quality is something that I expected to be exaggerated...and happily, it isn't. The zippers are insanely overbuilt and the bag fabric is still looking like it did when it arrived. * bundle wrapping/pack it folders - frankly, I love the idea, but just couldn't make it work for me. Why is this a strength then? The eagle creek pack it folders fit really well in any of the three slots in this bag. This has become my system and admittedly, got me to the point where I haven't lost anything travelling for more than three years. My system is simple. If something comes out of the folder, something goes in. it makes living out of the bag simple and with a couple of other small steps (if its dirty, turn it inside out & put it on the bottom of the folder). Yes, the folders add a few ounces, but for me they are well worth the weight. * three slots are simply brilliant. I have to agree with Doug Dyment on this concept. For me, the two outside sleeves are for clothes and the center sleeve is perfect for that spare pair of shoes (I try to always travel with fitness shoes) and any toiletries (which consequently get protected from crushing by your clothes). It also becomes a space for spare stuff that would normally have to be carried in my briefcase (that travel power strip, ipod cable, ac adapter for that cell phone, etc)...basically anything that you use in the hotel and don't need prior. For those thinking this through, that may seem odd, since all I am doing is shifting weight from one shoulder to another. This actually speaks to the amazing shoulder strap...* Shoulder Strap - This often overlooked item is actually the key to this bag being a success. IF this bag had an inferior shoulder strap, this bag would fail with the requisite soreness after running through airports and hotels. The strap has two very key concepts that need to be understood to be appreciated. 1. It grips your shoulder. I wish my much more expensive briefcase shoulder strap were half as good. It stays and does not try to rearrange your clothes in the process. 2. It actually distributes load over a more generalized area than any other shoulder strap. To appreciate this, you have to consider why the weight of a backpack seems lighter pound for pound than a shoulder bag (besides dividing the weight by 2 straps). Take 35 lbs and put it in a decent quality backpack (wearing only one strap) vs. a standard shoulder bag. The 35 lbs is less taxing on the backpack because the part that contacts you is malleable. As a result, that weight is distributed over the entire area that contacts your body, rather than a very localized 1 sq inch or less. This is the difference between having to constantly switch shoulders and being able to carry it for long periods of time on one shoulder without taxing you. This strap is simply best of breed. * Simple is better - I remember when it first arrived, my first thought was "I paid $200 for a simple ballistic nylon bag with some zippers?" My initial thought was that this bag was seriously overpriced for essentially being a couple of pieces of ballistic nylon with some very big zippers. I SIMPLY COULDN'T HAVE BEEN MORE WRONG. The bag is an absolute value for what it provides. The simplicity of this bag is its strength. it is the right amount of organization without limiting your options in terms of what you pack. And the proof of it is that have used the same bag year over year...my first ever to accomplish that. * hardware really does get in the way - Remember I mentioned that I recently tried a trip with a wheeled bag? Due to some specific weight requirements, I used an Eagle Creek carry on for a trip recently. Admittedly for a wheeled bag, it is excellent...yet absolutely pales in comparison to the Air Boss. It wasn't even close. I found that in order to fit a similar grouping of items in that bag, it became overstuffed...technically still carry on legal...but with the airlines having a financial incentive to check bags...Those 22" wheeled bags cannot use their outside pockets to remain carry on legal. It was forced to be checked both ways... completely defeating the purpose of a carry on bag...and I was carrying LESS!!! I have never been forced to check my Air boss due to its size. Conclusions:1. Manage your weight - This bag forces you to really think about the weight you are packing. For example, I pack all of my toiletries into two ziplock bags. one for the TSA and one not. It has worked better than any purchased toiletry bag. I tend to not pack "just in case" stuff as a result. Isn't that the whole point of traveling light? do you really need 2 pairs of dress shoes on this trip? Traveling lighter makes the trip easier and puts less wear and tear on the bearer. 2. Wheels are actually an inconvenience - have you ever tried to climb a set of stairs with a wheeled bag? All of the hardware, plus your stuff make the process seriously inconvenient. Since you didn't have to manage your weight in the first place, your traveling heavier and now all of that hardware needs to be lifted. Wheeled bags are in their element in the terminal and the hotel lobby. Ever tried walking a long distance on sidewalk with a wheeled bag? The Air Boss simply is in its element almost anywhere.3. This bag helped me find a traveling system that worked. It took me 10 years of heavy traveling before finding this bag and developing a decent system for traveling. I genuinely believe that the catalyst for my system was the eagle creek pack it folders and the three slots system of this bag. 4. Speak to the Red Oxx team. - When I called in, Jim answered the phone and we spoke about 15 minutes about the ideas behind this bag. I genuinely got the sense that he would stand behind his word of "send me enough of the destroyed bag to recognize that it is mine and I'll ship you a new one." I hope I never have to find out personally...but he had stories that left me amazed. Simply Five stars and my personal thanks for an excellent piece of kit.
 
... 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32  ... Next > 
Specifications

Air Boss Spec Size Chart

  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • US Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 53.3cm L x 20.3cm W x 33cm H
  • US Capacity: 2,184 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 35.7 Liters
  • US Weight: 3.4 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 1.54 Kilos
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Cordura Nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 420 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • 4 lb. Volara closed cell foam padding on exterior panels
  • Double Box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Nylon webbing zipper pull grab loops
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors

Air Boss Carry-on Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 30 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

Is the Air Boss carry-on legal?
Yes, the Air Boss is carry-on legal on most jet airlines.
 
What's the best way to pack the Air Boss?
The bundle packing method is recommended. Watch the packing video under the Photos and Videos tab or download the printable luggage packing diagram (Pdf file).
 
What's the difference between the Air Boss and the Sky Train?
There are two principle differences between the Air Boss and the Sky Train: The Sky Train has retractable backpack straps and opens flat lengthwise whereas the Air Boss opens flat like a book.
 
Will the Air Boss fit under the seat in front of me?
Cramming the Air Boss under the seat is not recommended.
 
Will the Eagle Creek packing cubes fit the Air Boss?
We recommend that you use our Nomad Shave Kit, Lil Roy Gadget Bag or Tri-fold Toiletry bag as packing cubes. You can color co-ordinate them to your preference and they come with useful carry handles. The Tri-Fold Toiletry Kit is also a brilliant shave kit organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
 
How many pounds will the Air Boss weigh when packed?
It depends on what you pack. A typical 3-5 day load will weigh about 20-25 pounds.
 
How many days travel can I fit in the Air Boss Carry-on?
Most travelers can get about 3-5 days with a typical load. Some adventurous types have been able to pack from a week to ten days! It all depends on how you pack and what you pack.
 
Where do I pack the laptop?
You can use the center compartment. We recommend that you use a padded sleeve to protect your laptop.
 
What's the best way to pack footwear?
Sole to sole to minimize the dirt and placed in the middle compartment. We recommend placing your shoes in a plastic bag first.
 
Can I change the logo color?
Sure. Simply order your favorite color Logo Patch and sew it on yourself. Red Oxx cannot change the patch colors for you.
 
Can I order a bag without the logo?
Logo Patches are centered using a hole punch. If you remove the patch, there will be a hole in the bag that could cause a snag. Red Oxx cannot build a bag without a logo as this would disrupt the efficiency of the production line. Feel free to use a permanent marker to color the patches.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my bag?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
The Air Boss has three large internal compartments. There are no internal pockets.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.