Skip Navigation Links

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I make other carry-on bags nervous.”
Red Oxx Air Boss Carry-on Bag - pictured in Red. Available in 12 colors for $225

Air Boss $255.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


One Bag Travel! Air Boss.

The only carry-on bag you'll ever need.

Designed for the business traveler, the popular five star-rated carry-on travel bag is a must-have for anyone who enjoys the many advantages of traveling light: freedom of movement, less time wasted waiting in lines, no lost luggage, easy access, and overall travel simplification. Peruse the nearly 700 customer reviews right here from hundreds of satisfied Air Boss Carry-on customers to get an honest idea if this is the best travel bag for you.

CARRY-ON REBORN.
Red Oxx worked hand-in-hand with famous Internet author and carry-on travel expert, Doug Dyment, guru of OneBag.com fame to develop this all-in-one carry-on bag.

EXPERT DESIGN AND DEVELOPMENT.
Follow the link to learn Doug Dyment's bundle wrapping technique so you can fit everything you need and nothing you don't in your Air Boss airline carry-on bag to become a more organized happier traveller. Thanks to guideance from Onebag.com, here's a fantastic luggage packing diagram, showing you how to easily "bundle wrap" your clothing in the Air Boss.

WRINKLE-FREE TRAVEL.
Designed with three large main compartments, our Air Boss carry-on bag also features two outside zippered pockets; one full-length, one for your airline tickets, an outside sleeve pocket, and tie downs inside the two outer compartments to keep your belongings in position and wrinkle-free until you can unpack and hang them up at your destination.

A SPACIOUS PLACE FOR YOUR BELONGINGS.
The center compartment is spacious enough to hold your Toiletries, extra shoes, work-out gear, business briefcase, etc. Volara closed-cell foam padding is sewn into the sides, so you've got a rigid, yet flexible, piece of carry-on luggage that still protects your valuable belongings.

NEVER SLIPS OFF.
Includes detachable nonslip Claw Shoulder Strap that keeps your bag where you want it - on your shoulder.

DISCOVER HOW TO PACK IT.
Watch the Air Boss Packing Video posted in the Videos tab at left where CFO Amanda Markel shows how to use many of the bag's thoughtful features.

PROTECT YOUR LAPTOP.
Looking for extra protection for your laptop? A neoprene laptop sleeve is recommended. A "macho" option is to put it in a Metro Briefcase, which will then fit in the center compartment of the Air Boss, adding further protection and giving you a "one bag" travel option...with two bags inside one. Note that this can become a very heavy bag to carry if you decide to try this. Adding an extra Claw Shoulder Strap from your Metro and then carrying the Air Boss "backpack style" (one strap over each shoulder) can help offset this added load.

A BUSINESS TRAVEL BAG BUILT LIKE A TANK?
Our customers like to define our gear as "built like a tank". While obviously you're not going to be toting around bags that weigh 50 tons and have three inches of armor plate, still the comparison is valid. For a carry-on bag, the Air Boss is built tough. Starting with the most durable, flexible, and practical textile material available -- 1000 weight CORDURA nylon, the Air Boss is built using super-strong UV-resistant thread that's stitched into every seam.

BOUND AND BAGGED.
Places where two separate pieces of fabric are stitched together are then bound -- that is, we take a long piece of one-inch wide nylon webbing and fold it over the edges of the two pieces and stitch them together, this creates a strong seam, known as a binding, that prevents the pieces from unraveling on the inside of the bag, or gives it a clean, finished look if on the outside of the bag.

BINDING INSIDE / BINDING OUTSIDE.
In addition, each exposed outside fabric edge, such as on a pocket flap, is also bound using a thicker binding material. Inside edges typically receive a thinner nylon webbing, whereas outside corner edges that are exposed to heavy wear have a thicker nylon binding. All of our binding material is vertically woven to prevent the fraying, peeling or splitting that you may commonly see in competitors carry-on bags that brag of "binding" their edges.

WHY DOUBLE BOX STITCHING?
Each stress point, such as where the handles attach to the bag, is double box stitched - which is where we get the "double XX" in our name, Red Oxx; a stitching practice we adapted from our history as parachute riggers.

MY, WHAT BIG ZIPPERS YOU HAVE!
The reason Red Oxx uses the largest zipper we can afford, the #10 YKK VISLON® zipper, is that they're easily repairable, even in the field; they will hold their place, that is, they "lock"; they are difficult to penetrate, thereby increasing the security of your belongings; they function smoothly in inclement weather, and they can be yanked from a variety of angles without losing teeth or becoming separated.

PUTTING THE HARD IN HARDWARE.
Red Oxx has occasionally been accused of "overdoing" our hardware. But once you've had a cheap piece of plastic "hardware" break in the middle of a busy intersection, airport or other inconvenient locale dumping your precious belongings all over the ground, having a heavy-duty nickel-plated or stainless steel D ring or attachment swivel that weighs just a tiny bit more, or might make a little noise, is a travel companion's confidence builder and peace-of-mind maker. After all, you want to enjoy your journey as best you can. Why worry about having your Air Boss break down?

IS THERE ANOTHER CARRY BAG OPTION?
Looking for a similar carry-on bag but with retractable backpack style shoulder straps? Try our other popular travel bag, the Sky Train.

Join the fleet feet crowd and travel carry-on with the Commander of the ship: the Air Boss!

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY!
Due to high demand, you're encouraged to place your order now to get your Air Boss on our production schedule. Your bag will then be shipped in under 14 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H.
Capacity: 2,184 cubic inches.
Weight: 3.4 pounds.

Pocket measurements:

  • Exterior full length zippered side flat pocket: 13"H x 20"W
  • Exterior full length flat snap pocket: 9.5"H x 20"W
  • Exterior zippered side flat passport / map pocket: 12.5"D x 7"W
  • Dual zippered tie-down compartments: 2"D x 20.5"L x 12.5"H
  • Main center compartment: 4"D x 20.5"L x 12.5"H

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time Distance Map.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, products in production and delivery time? - Check out this personal message from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your Air Boss.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear with pride.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond a dozen working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is always secure.

Every great carry-on bag needs cool luggage accessories.

2009 Winner of the "Best Durable Luggage Award" from Bestcovery.com; "Discover the Best of Everything."

Selected as Kiplinger's Expert Picks The Best List of 2008 for Best Carry-on Travel Bag.

Air Boss Trivia:
On the flight deck of an aircraft carrier, the Air Boss is in charge of all the operations of the flight deck. He controls the moving of planes on deck, landing of aircraft, launching aircraft, ordinance handling, and safety of all the personnel occupying the flight deck. The Air Boss oversees from the command tower. Orders are communicated with the flight deck via megaphone. Ex: "Hey brownshirt. Get out of that checked baggage line and on the plane, now!"

Write a Review

4.79 Average Rating
 (699 Reviews)

 
... 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32  ... Next > 
 My First Trip With The Air Boss
By Michael, Virginia, December 8, 2009

I just returned from a 5-day trip to Austin, TX, which was my first experience using my new Air Boss bag. I love the quality of the construction and the materials used in this bag. Packing my clothes in the two outer compartments and my notebook computer in a neoprene sleeve with all the various cables, chargers, etc. in a ziplock plastic bag in the center compartment worked well. I was approached by a TSA officer in the Dulles boarding area for an on-the-spot bag inspection and she commented, "Nice bag." As other customers have noted, it is easy to over-pack this bag. For my next trip, I will definitely rethink my usual packing habits and limit the amount of stuff to keep the weight down. Three suggestions: add some padding to the bottom of the center compartment -- a lot of people put their notebook computers in there; add a mesh pocket in the center compartment (near the top of the bag) for holding your ziplock bag of liquids for easy access in the security inspection line; and replace the two snaps on the handle with Velcro to speed up the refastening of the handle (adding a little padding in the handle wouldn't hurt).
 
 Works Great for Me!
By Tubitz, Charlevoix, MI, December 7, 2009

I bought the AirBoss when I got tired of lugging my wheeled duffel bag for trips of less than a week. The AirBoss hasn't disappointed me in the least. It is first quality in materials and construction and I'm amazed what I can stuff into it.

One thing I really like is to slip my MAC into a rubber sleeve and use the center section for my briefcase. It lets me leave my computer case at home for short trips.

I don't have any trouble with the strap at all. It stays on my shoulder and the weight isn't a problem. The trick is to put the bag on your back and lean forward - walk like a sherpa!

My wishes for the AirBoss are for a whole set of the little cables to secure the zippers and a tiedown on the outside so I can hook it to the handle of my (wheeled) computer case when I'm moving thru the airport.

------Red Oxx Replies: Check out our Cable Locks for securing your zippers.
 
 Excellent Air Boss
By John Llewellyn, London, December 6, 2009

I reviewed all the reveiews of air luggage that I could find on the web. The Air Boss seemed to fit exactly what I wanted - lightweight, and hand carryable. I ordered it, it came in a week, and I promptly travelled with it. I am delighted: it does exactly what it says on the tin!
 
 Enjoying my Air Boss
By Jeff, Alabama, December 4, 2009

I love it! The Quality exceeded my expectations, looking fwd to my next Red Oxx Purchase.
 
 Good, but not exceptional
By Anonymous, Sausalito, CA, December 4, 2009

I read many of the reviews here and I guess my expectations for this bag were higher or perhaps different than those of the others.

I do agree that the materials used, especially the zipper seems to be very high quality.

I took it on a trip from California to Washington DC. I tried putting all my stuff into this bag. Doing that I got through security OK.

But with clothes and books and my notebook in the bag it was **uncomfortably heavy**.

Wheels might take up valuable storage space, but I wonder if the risk of injury trying to lug around everything in one bag is worth it.

I had expected that my notebook would be better protected in the center of the bag, but that compartment by itself was not enough -- I wrapped clothes around it to satisfy myself that the notebook wouldn't get damaged.

Also I needed to remove some of the contents from the bag in order to get it to fit in the overhead. That was a bit of a hassle.

I guess I'm a light traveler, traveling by air only a few times per year, so maybe my perspective doesn't align with the many others who gave this bag five stars. But I didn't really find the packing of the bag that much different than a much cheaper bag that I've used before. I didn't notice that there were fewer wrinkles than I've had with clothes carried in other bags.

In short, the bag is well made and will no doubt be a long-lasting one. But considering the cost and the problems that I noted here, I'm not really sure that it is the right one for me.
 
 Two Monkey Fists Up!
By CAI, KY, December 4, 2009

Last trip pushed the envelope. Five nights at conference in New Orleans. Two dress pants, 1 khaki, blazer, 3 dress shirts, 2 ties, 2 polos, 3 t-shirts, running shorts/shirt, running shoes, pair o' loafers, toiletries, various and sundry unmentionables. No problems. This amount of tonnage will hurt your shoulder after a while, even for a big, svelte guy such as myself (reality, paunchy/pear shaped). That is the only thing remotely negative I have to say, but I knew this possiblility going in. The best thing about this bag is the compression straps. I never realized how much air is packed into a bag. The straps allow you to really crank down on your clothes. I pack the blazer (and have packed a suit in this thing also) straight from the dry cleaner still in the plastic. A little touch up and you are good to go after you arrive. If you only bring one pair of shoes you can slide a computer (13") sleeve into the middle compartment with little fuss. I typically take Canadair regional jets out of Cincinnati. Though the bag is small enough to be considered a carry-on, I usually get pink tagged by the crabby flight attendants who now have to serve as baggage handlers due to the idiotic fees on checked bags which are all the rage. However, when I manage to elude the pink tag patrol, a big advantage of a soft sider is that you can really get some leverage and smash this bag into an overhead, even on a commuter jet. Last comment on the title of this review; on return trip from New Orleans, when said unmentionables and clothes have got to get back in the bag asap due to a late night on Frenchmen St. I found myself sitting ontop of the bag, bouncing up and down, while creeping the two monkey fists, inch by inch, to the closed position. I believe that the Nylon will rip before these zippers separate. Just when I thought that I maxed this bag out, I still had room to bring home the kids some t-shirts and free conference schwag. It is a portable black hole.
 
 Like my Air Boss
By Matt, Philadelphia, December 4, 2009

Started a new travel based job and wanted to find the "perfect" carryon to help eliminate the time and money associated with using checked bags.

My search led me to the Air Boss, and with 5 trips under it's belt it is living up to the hype.

The bag is rugged and flexible. I am able to pack 3 khakis, 1 jeans, 3 dress shirts, an pair of shoes (size 12) and a casual outfit with additional room to spare.

The bag fits in the overhead of normal aircraft. It will not fit in the overhead in smaller commuter jets, but then again my backpack barely fits in those. It will however, fit sideways underneath the 2 seats in your row if you do not have anyone sitting next to you that is using their underneath storage.

The strap ends up sitting on top of my backpacks strap and holds on strong. I do need to readjust it on my shoulder from time to time but that is not a big deal.

This bag is exactly what the reviews claim it is: the perfect one bag travel solution. Keep up the good work.

-Matt
 
 Great Except for Strap
By Bill, Memphis,, December 4, 2009

My wife and I each bought an Air Boss for a week-long trip after doing much reseach. We both love this bag. You can pack so much into it. We were able to carry it on each flight and on one airline, they made passengers with hard case luggage check theirs because there wasn't much space in the overheads. Because ours was soft-sided they didn't say anything about ours. A minor complaint is that I'd like to see a small mesh bag inside the Air Boss so we can more easily get to small things such as IPODS, etc. A major complaint that I've seen several others mention too is that the strap on these is really painful if you carry much more than a few pounds. It grips really securely and won't come off unless it takes some skin off with it. I packed a load of about 20lbs and it became very uncoformable in a short amount of time. Even through two layers of clothes it still bruised my shoulder and I'm not a small guy. Like someone else mentioned in a review, I'd think for a piece of luggage this expensive there could be a better solution for a strap. But other than that, it's a great bag. I've used it several times since I first bought it and all have been great experiences except for the pain from the strap.
 
 Amazing Product
By Jeff, Virginia, December 3, 2009

I bought this bag for a 2 week trip to Mexico that I was taking and after living out of it for almost 2 solid weeks, I have to say it's the best, most durable, smartly designed bag I've ever used. It is a little expensive, but I feel it's worth the money since I plan on using it for many trips to come and after checking other reviews, I feel confident it will hold up for the long haul.
 
 Works as promised--great bag
By MP, LA, December 3, 2009

Bag is terrific. Perfect size, great construction, light, durable, looks professional...everything as advertised. Minor suggestion is to make the small size pocket shallower for ease of retrieval of travel docs, passport, etc. Bag is great fully loaded or with only a few shirts in it. I fly 2x/wk & it works perfectly. Separately, the purchase process, delivery updates, and overall service was/is exceptional.
 
 Bordeaux
By Nikolaus, , December 3, 2009

After deliberating for a bit, I decided to opt for the color Bordeaux. If anybody's on the fence about getting this color, do it. It rocks.

I went on a tiny little connecting flight, and all the poor travellers with wheelie luggage had to gate-check their carryons. My Air Boss fit just fine in the overhead bin. Sweet.
 
 Excellent one bag solution
By Larry Valeriano, Chicago, December 3, 2009

This bag is extremely well thought out and built. Excellent build quality and truly meets the needs of a frequent traveler looking for a "one bag" solution.

I have used this bag for both business and personal travel, for trips ranging from 3 to 10 days where I packed clothing and a laptop.

The only area of improvement is the need for some internal organization: pockets and/or key ring. Otherwise, it's spot on.
 
 Great Bag
By Terry Simon, West Michigan, December 3, 2009

I bought this bag and immediately left on a ten day trip that took me to Switzerland, France, Taiwan and back home. The bag made it as a combination of carried luggage on trains, checked baggage and carry on. It was a little tight to pack ten days of clothes for business in three different climates, but it worked and returned in excellent condition. The baggage handlers didn't make a mark on it. For an all purpose bag it was great, and the best part is it's made in the US. Congratulations on an excellent design, top quality materials and great workmansjip.
 
 Great product, terrible strap
By Vito C, Phoenix, December 3, 2009

Great build quality, tons of space. Laptop in case fits right in center panel. A new staple in my travel arsenal. I've carried 2 suits along with everything else in this bag and for a shoulder bag it's tops. I recommend getting a Tom Bihn strap though because the gripper will tear your shoulder apart. You'll wind up with blood pooling under the skin, no joke. I'm 75" and well-built and even I wore down with this strap. Grips so tight on a long trip I bled through my shirt. New strap solved that problem, but at $35 for the strap I hated to having to 'upgrade' a $235 bag. Something to think about.
 
 Fantastic
By Will, Hawaii, December 3, 2009

I *love* almost everything about this bag. I do wish it had more, small internal pockets, perhaps mesh, for organization.

The only gripe I have is the large, garish front logo. What's more annoying is the ballpoint-sized hole in the fabric under said logo (only obvious after the patch is removed). I understand the importance of branding, but I'm sure customers, particularly business travelers, would appreciate a more understated placement.

All that said, I plan to take this big all over the world, several times over. Excellent product!
 
 Excellent workmanship
By Holden L, Jupiter, Fla., November 26, 2009

The workmanship on the Air Boss is impressive. Every stitch is in place, and the thing is built stoutly. It looks and feels like it will last for decades.

There are a number of thoughtful details -- things that you wonder why other manufacturers don't emulate. My favorite is the red interior of the bag. Most other makers' bags are black inside. You can't see anything. A pair of black socks can get lost inside a bag for a week. Red Oxx bag interiors are red, so you can see stuff. It sounds like a minor thing. It's not minor. It's a little thing that makes your life easier.

The zippers and zipper pulls are strong and easy to grab. The shark strap is wonderful, and the heavy swivel hooks that hang onto the strap are exactly what's needed.

I got the yellow model, and I've already have a couple of envious comments. The bag is eye-catching and obviously well-made.
 
 Worth the wait!
By PW, Australia, November 5, 2009

I have been looking at the Air Boss for over 12 months - I read every review I could find. I just don't like checking luggage and the Air Boss ticked all the boxes.

With the Aussie dollar bouncing back and a business trip coming up I took the opportunity to get a bag delivered to a colleague in the states.

I used a "similiar" soft sided bag packed solid for the first part of the trip. By the time I picked up my new bag the "other" bag had begun to tear internally.

With some shopping I had added to new pairs of shoes and a ski jacket to my load. On first impression the Air Boss didn't look any bigger than the current bag. However, with a bit of playing I managed to get all my gear, including the new purchases, and the folded original bag into the Air Boss. It was full and heavy but the claw strap made it so easy to carry. Much easier than the original bag.

I easily got through check in without question. It didn't fit in the first overhead locker because it really was bursting at the seams. No problems, the crew easily stowed it in a locker. The next 2 flights on larger aircraft were no problem at all.

I was so impressed with the easy of carrying and its ability to take more and more gear - you knew it wasn't going to be damaged.

Unfortunately, by the time my wife got home I had unpacked the bag and all she got to see was a nice simple bag again. She will have to wait until I use it again!!

I also got great support with my research from the team at Red Oxx and I loved the little warranty "ditty" on the box carton - very clever!

Crazy to say I am looking forward to packing this bag again.

PW

 
 I Had A Problem.... Now 6 Months Later...
By Ed P., Dallas, TX, November 3, 2009

I have crossed the two year mark now with the bag. At 1.5 years, I ran into a problem with the strap seperating from the bag and a zipper starting to loose its stitching. I fell through the cracks at Red Oxx, and it took longer than it should for them to respond to the problem. So, how did it go and how has life been after?

First, kudos to Jim for letting my 1.5 year review stand. It would have been easy to 'sweep it under the rug' once he engaged, but he didn't. That is a level of integrity you don't see every day. And if you are considering Red Oxx, I think it is important to know that they (Jim and Amanda) are the real people behind the scenes taking care of you. Jim and Amanda made a mistake, apologized for it profusely, and I accepted their apology. How often to you have a company apologize for their mistakes?

Moving on to the bag, after they made the repairs, it has been back to its old self. Taking a regular beating, holding more stuff than it should, and still looking great. I travel on a frequent basis, and had to use a 'substitute' while my bag was off for repairs, and it just wasn't the same. The Air Boss does truly fit the 'one bag' label, and I can't imagine living without it in my travels.

Jim and Amanda, thanks again for taking care of me and showing a level of integrity not often seen these days. Both of you are top notch!

I have two Red Oxx bags already. And, I will buy another when I need it. You can't go wrong with Red Oxx!
 
 2 1/2 years with the Air Boss...
By RG, , October 30, 2009

... and it just keeps getting better. Much of what I said in my review back in 2007 remains true. I now use this bag with one Eagle Creek 18" Pack-it strapped down on each side. An extra pair of shoes (wrapped in a market tote) in the center compartment, along with toiletry bag and accessories.

Buying the Air Boss actually saved me money by not having to wade through cheaper inferior competitors before inevitably buying one!

The only thing I'd change is to add some foam padding to the grip wrap.
 
 15 Days: Paris + Egypt
By John B., Bellevue, WA, October 20, 2009

Outstanding bag in every way!

Used as solo bag for 15 day trip: 4 Days in Paris, 11 in Egypt, the latter spanning the length of the Nile from Cairo to Abu Simbel, and a side trip to Alexandria. Excellent construction. No challenge to carry-on by Air France or Egypt Air. In addition to clothing and typical travel items, I also packed my Everest III portable CPAP device/mask/tubing/bat. charger in the middle compartment and it fit nicely also. Used the CPAP on the Red-Eye to Paris to good effect. Just a fantastic bag in every way. Thanks so much!
 
... 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32  ... Next > 
Specifications

Air Boss Spec Size Chart

  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • US Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 53.3cm L x 20.3cm W x 33cm H
  • US Capacity: 2,184 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 35.7 Liters
  • US Weight: 3.4 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 1.54 Kilos
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified CORDURA® Nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 420 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • 4 lb. Volara closed cell foam padding on exterior panels
  • Double Box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Nylon webbing zipper pull grab loops
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors

Air Boss Carry-on Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 14 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

Is the Air Boss carry-on legal?
Yes, the Air Boss is carry-on legal on most jet airlines.
 
What's the best way to pack the Air Boss?
The bundle packing method is recommended. Watch the packing video under the Videos tab or download the printable Air Boss luggage packing diagram (Pdf file).
 
What's the difference between the Air Boss and the Sky Train?
There are two principle differences between the Air Boss and the Sky Train: The Sky Train has retractable backpack straps and opens flat lengthwise whereas the Air Boss opens flat like a book.
 
Will the Air Boss fit under the seat in front of me?
Cramming your Air Boss under the seat is not recommended.
 
Will the Eagle Creek packing cubes fit the Air Boss?
Why not use our Nomad Shave Kit, Lil Roy Gadget Bag or Tri-fold Toiletry bag as packing cubes? You can color co-ordinate them to your preference and they come with useful carry handles. The Tri-Fold Toiletry Kit is also a brilliant shave kit organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold-open-flat hanging design.
 
How many pounds will the Air Boss weigh when packed?
It depends on what you pack. A typical 3-5 day load will weigh about 20-25 pounds.
 
How many days of travel can I fit in the Air Boss Carry-on?
Most travelers can get about 3-5 days with a typical load. Some adventurous types have been able to pack from a week to ten days! It all depends on how you pack and what you pack.
 
Where do I pack my laptop?
You can use the center compartment. We recommend that you use a padded neoprene sleeve to protect your laptop.
 
What's the best way to pack footwear?
Sole-to-sole to minimize the dirt and placed in the middle compartment inside a plastic bag.
 
Can I change the logo color?
Sure. Simply order your favorite color Logo Patch and sew it on yourself. Red Oxx cannot change the patch colors for you.
 
Can I order a bag without the logo?
Logo Patches are centered using a hole punch. If you remove the patch, there will be a hole in the bag that could cause a snag. Red Oxx cannot build a bag without a logo as this would disrupt the efficiency of the production line. Feel free to use a permanent marker to color the patches.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my bag?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
The Air Boss has three large internal compartments. There are no internal pockets.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.