Skip Navigation Links

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I make other carry-on bags nervous.”
Red Oxx Air Boss Carry-on Bag - pictured in Red. Available in 12 colors for $225

Air Boss $245.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


One Bag Travel! Air Boss.

The only carry-on bag you'll ever need.

Designed for the business traveler, this popular five star-rated carry-on travel bag is a must-have for anyone who enjoys the advantages of traveling light. Peruse over 600 customer reviews right here from hundreds of satisfied Air Boss customers and get an honest idea of whether this is the best travel bag for you.

CARRY-ON REBORN.
Red Oxx worked with Internet author and carry-on travel expert, Doug Dyment, guru of OneBag.com fame to develop this all-in-one carry-on bag.

EXPERT DESIGN AND DEVELOPMENT.
Follow this link to learn Doug Dyment's bundle wrapping technique so you can fit more in your airline carry-on bag and be more organized. Thanks to Onebag.com, here's a fantastic luggage packing diagram, showing you how to "bundle wrap" your clothing in the Air Boss.

WRINKLE FREE TRAVEL.
Designed with three large main compartments, the Air Boss carry-on bag also features two outside zippered pockets (one full-length, one for your airline tickets), an outside sleeve pocket, and tie downs inside the outer sections to keep your slacks and dress shirts in position and wrinkle-free until you can hang them up in the hotel.

A PLACE FOR YOUR BELONGINGS.
The center compartment is spacious enough to hold your Toiletries, extra shoes, work-out gear, business briefcase, etc. Volara closed-cell foam padding is sewn in the sides, so you've got a rigid, yet flexible, piece of carry-on luggage that protects your belongings.

PROTECT YOUR LAPTOP.
Looking for extra protection for your laptop? Pick up a Metro Briefcase, which will fit in the center compartment of the Air Boss, adding further protection and giving you a "one bag" travel option...with two bags inside one. Note that this can become a heavy bag to carry if you do this.

NEVER SLIPS OFF.
Includes detachable nonslip Claw Shoulder Strap that keeps your bag where you want it - on your shoulder.

LEARN HOW TO PACK IT.
Watch the Air Boss Packing Video posted in the Videos tab at left where CFO Amanda Markel shows how to use many of the bag's features.

ANOTHER CARRY BAG OPTION.
Looking for a similar carry-on bag with retractable backpack style shoulder straps? Try our other popular travel bag, the Sky Train.

Join the fleet feet crowd and travel carry-on with the Commander of the ship: the Air Boss!

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your Air Boss on our production schedule. Your bag will then be delivered in under 30 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H.
Capacity: 2,184 cubic inches.

Pocket measurements:

  • Matching dual exterior zippered full length side flat pockets: 13"H x 20"W each
  • Exterior flat snap pocket: 9.5"H x 20"W
  • Exterior zippered side flat passport / map pocket: 12.5"D x 7"W
  • Dual zippered tie down side compartments: 2"W x 20.5"L x 12.5"H
  • Main center compartment: 4"W x 20.5"L x 12.5"H

"No Bull" Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, in production products and delivery time? - Read this personal letter from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the steps it takes to handcraft your Air Boss.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear.

Online Air Boss orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email and a review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. Backorders beyond a dozen days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is secure.

Every great carry-on bag needs cool luggage accessories.

2009 Winner of the "Best Durable Luggage Award" from Bestcovery.com; "Discover the Best of Everything."

Selected as Kiplinger's Expert Pics The Best List of 2008 for Best Carry-on Travel Bag.

Air Boss Trivia: On the flight deck of an aircraft carrier, the Air Boss is in charge of all the operations of the flight deck. He controls the moving of planes on deck, landing of aircraft, launching aircraft, ordinance handling, and safety of all the personnel occupying the flight deck. The Air Boss oversees from the command tower. Orders are communicated with the flight deck via megaphone. Ex: "Hey greenshirt. Get out of that checked baggage line and on the plane, now!"

Write a Review

4.79 Average Rating
 (665 Reviews)

 
... 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32  ... Next > 
 Best. Bag. Ever.
By Benjamin P, Waterford, MI, December 21, 2009

What's not to love about this bag? It's amazing how much stuff it will hold. Without an internal frame or wheels, you're truly maximizing your carry-on volume. For trips where I pack light, my RedOxx Metro Briefcase fits in the middle pocket. The build quality is second to none. And the fact that it's made in the USA is appealing to me, since so few things are any more. Highly recommended.
 
 Awesome for Travel!
By Mike A, , December 14, 2009

I have used this a few times for air travel. Aside from one time in which I've had to gate-check it, it's been an awesome travel bag. It carries much more than I expected and isn't that bad on the shoulders. And man, that shoulder claw really clings pretty tightly.

Highly recommended for business travel!
 
 ABUSED MY BOSS!
By Alex, Lake Zurish, IL, December 14, 2009

Yes, I am embarassed, but this is worth telling: Early one morning I was off to the airport. I set my Air Boss down on the garage floor behind the trunk of my car after discovering that I left my keys inside the house. I went inside to fetch the keys, forgot about the Air Boss, backed over it, dragged it under the car down my 40 foot asphalt driveway and into the street. Something didn't sound right so I put the car in forward, drove back onto the driveway and parked. (Sinking feeling.) I looked below and there was the Air Boss wedged under the car, forward of the rear wheels! I got out the jack and jacked up the car in order to free it. The damage: A fair amount wear, but the wrap-around straps served as "skis" and took most of the abuse. At one point where one of the straps is sewn tight to the bag, it is nearly worn through. Other than that, it has two small holes in the outside snap pocket and some frayed areas along the straps that I might singe with a lighter in order to clean them up a bit. Let's just say that my Air Boss looks older than its years, but it is certainly still serviceable. Think what you want about soft-sided luggage, but no wheelie would have survived that ordeal.
 
 Great Product
By Xavier, Texas, December 14, 2009

As a frequent traveler I'm really pleased with the Air Boss. I've logged approx 75k miles in the air with it and have not had any issues with carrying/stowing this bag. I do want to caution everyone though that you can over pack this bag pretty easily. You do have to carry it, no wheels. Worth every penny!!!
 
 It works
By Pyr, Oslo, December 10, 2009

The bag works, also on this side of the world (Oslo - Amsterdam).

The right size, weight and construction. And it has something of this special feeling of finding "the one", no need to look further.
 
 I Like this Product
By Larry, Chicago, December 8, 2009

I have just returned from a 10 day trip to Paris in which I only carried the Air Boss. This was my true test for the Air Boss. I breezed through the airports, the Metro Paris Train and bus systems with ease. I bundled packed via the diagram provided on this site. I can say with conviction that it all worked very well for me. This is a very well constructed product. My only concern is that the zippers do not snap close as illustrated in the video. They did not open at anytime on their own either. I had made a few short business trips, 2-4 days, previously. My suits and shirts were not wrinkled and fit with the tie downs. I am becoming a believer in the 'minimalist' approach to travel. And the Air Boss is definitely helping. Also, it is nice to know it is made in the U.S.A.
 
 My First Trip With The Air Boss
By Michael, Virginia, December 8, 2009

I just returned from a 5-day trip to Austin, TX, which was my first experience using my new Air Boss bag. I love the quality of the construction and the materials used in this bag. Packing my clothes in the two outer compartments and my notebook computer in a neoprene sleeve with all the various cables, chargers, etc. in a ziplock plastic bag in the center compartment worked well. I was approached by a TSA officer in the Dulles boarding area for an on-the-spot bag inspection and she commented, "Nice bag." As other customers have noted, it is easy to over-pack this bag. For my next trip, I will definitely rethink my usual packing habits and limit the amount of stuff to keep the weight down. Three suggestions: add some padding to the bottom of the center compartment -- a lot of people put their notebook computers in there; add a mesh pocket in the center compartment (near the top of the bag) for holding your ziplock bag of liquids for easy access in the security inspection line; and replace the two snaps on the handle with Velcro to speed up the refastening of the handle (adding a little padding in the handle wouldn't hurt).
 
 Works Great for Me!
By Tubitz, Charlevoix, MI, December 7, 2009

I bought the AirBoss when I got tired of lugging my wheeled duffel bag for trips of less than a week. The AirBoss hasn't disappointed me in the least. It is first quality in materials and construction and I'm amazed what I can stuff into it.

One thing I really like is to slip my MAC into a rubber sleeve and use the center section for my briefcase. It lets me leave my computer case at home for short trips.

I don't have any trouble with the strap at all. It stays on my shoulder and the weight isn't a problem. The trick is to put the bag on your back and lean forward - walk like a sherpa!

My wishes for the AirBoss are for a whole set of the little cables to secure the zippers and a tiedown on the outside so I can hook it to the handle of my (wheeled) computer case when I'm moving thru the airport.

------Red Oxx Replies: Check out our Cable Locks for securing your zippers.
 
 Excellent Air Boss
By John Llewellyn, London, December 6, 2009

I reviewed all the reveiews of air luggage that I could find on the web. The Air Boss seemed to fit exactly what I wanted - lightweight, and hand carryable. I ordered it, it came in a week, and I promptly travelled with it. I am delighted: it does exactly what it says on the tin!
 
 Enjoying my Air Boss
By Jeff, Alabama, December 4, 2009

I love it! The Quality exceeded my expectations, looking fwd to my next Red Oxx Purchase.
 
 Good, but not exceptional
By Anonymous, Sausalito, CA, December 4, 2009

I read many of the reviews here and I guess my expectations for this bag were higher or perhaps different than those of the others.

I do agree that the materials used, especially the zipper seems to be very high quality.

I took it on a trip from California to Washington DC. I tried putting all my stuff into this bag. Doing that I got through security OK.

But with clothes and books and my notebook in the bag it was **uncomfortably heavy**.

Wheels might take up valuable storage space, but I wonder if the risk of injury trying to lug around everything in one bag is worth it.

I had expected that my notebook would be better protected in the center of the bag, but that compartment by itself was not enough -- I wrapped clothes around it to satisfy myself that the notebook wouldn't get damaged.

Also I needed to remove some of the contents from the bag in order to get it to fit in the overhead. That was a bit of a hassle.

I guess I'm a light traveler, traveling by air only a few times per year, so maybe my perspective doesn't align with the many others who gave this bag five stars. But I didn't really find the packing of the bag that much different than a much cheaper bag that I've used before. I didn't notice that there were fewer wrinkles than I've had with clothes carried in other bags.

In short, the bag is well made and will no doubt be a long-lasting one. But considering the cost and the problems that I noted here, I'm not really sure that it is the right one for me.
 
 Two Monkey Fists Up!
By CAI, KY, December 4, 2009

Last trip pushed the envelope. Five nights at conference in New Orleans. Two dress pants, 1 khaki, blazer, 3 dress shirts, 2 ties, 2 polos, 3 t-shirts, running shorts/shirt, running shoes, pair o' loafers, toiletries, various and sundry unmentionables. No problems. This amount of tonnage will hurt your shoulder after a while, even for a big, svelte guy such as myself (reality, paunchy/pear shaped). That is the only thing remotely negative I have to say, but I knew this possiblility going in. The best thing about this bag is the compression straps. I never realized how much air is packed into a bag. The straps allow you to really crank down on your clothes. I pack the blazer (and have packed a suit in this thing also) straight from the dry cleaner still in the plastic. A little touch up and you are good to go after you arrive. If you only bring one pair of shoes you can slide a computer (13") sleeve into the middle compartment with little fuss. I typically take Canadair regional jets out of Cincinnati. Though the bag is small enough to be considered a carry-on, I usually get pink tagged by the crabby flight attendants who now have to serve as baggage handlers due to the idiotic fees on checked bags which are all the rage. However, when I manage to elude the pink tag patrol, a big advantage of a soft sider is that you can really get some leverage and smash this bag into an overhead, even on a commuter jet. Last comment on the title of this review; on return trip from New Orleans, when said unmentionables and clothes have got to get back in the bag asap due to a late night on Frenchmen St. I found myself sitting ontop of the bag, bouncing up and down, while creeping the two monkey fists, inch by inch, to the closed position. I believe that the Nylon will rip before these zippers separate. Just when I thought that I maxed this bag out, I still had room to bring home the kids some t-shirts and free conference schwag. It is a portable black hole.
 
 Like my Air Boss
By Matt, Philadelphia, December 4, 2009

Started a new travel based job and wanted to find the "perfect" carryon to help eliminate the time and money associated with using checked bags.

My search led me to the Air Boss, and with 5 trips under it's belt it is living up to the hype.

The bag is rugged and flexible. I am able to pack 3 khakis, 1 jeans, 3 dress shirts, an pair of shoes (size 12) and a casual outfit with additional room to spare.

The bag fits in the overhead of normal aircraft. It will not fit in the overhead in smaller commuter jets, but then again my backpack barely fits in those. It will however, fit sideways underneath the 2 seats in your row if you do not have anyone sitting next to you that is using their underneath storage.

The strap ends up sitting on top of my backpacks strap and holds on strong. I do need to readjust it on my shoulder from time to time but that is not a big deal.

This bag is exactly what the reviews claim it is: the perfect one bag travel solution. Keep up the good work.

-Matt
 
 Great Except for Strap
By Bill, Memphis,, December 4, 2009

My wife and I each bought an Air Boss for a week-long trip after doing much reseach. We both love this bag. You can pack so much into it. We were able to carry it on each flight and on one airline, they made passengers with hard case luggage check theirs because there wasn't much space in the overheads. Because ours was soft-sided they didn't say anything about ours. A minor complaint is that I'd like to see a small mesh bag inside the Air Boss so we can more easily get to small things such as IPODS, etc. A major complaint that I've seen several others mention too is that the strap on these is really painful if you carry much more than a few pounds. It grips really securely and won't come off unless it takes some skin off with it. I packed a load of about 20lbs and it became very uncoformable in a short amount of time. Even through two layers of clothes it still bruised my shoulder and I'm not a small guy. Like someone else mentioned in a review, I'd think for a piece of luggage this expensive there could be a better solution for a strap. But other than that, it's a great bag. I've used it several times since I first bought it and all have been great experiences except for the pain from the strap.
 
 Amazing Product
By Jeff, Virginia, December 3, 2009

I bought this bag for a 2 week trip to Mexico that I was taking and after living out of it for almost 2 solid weeks, I have to say it's the best, most durable, smartly designed bag I've ever used. It is a little expensive, but I feel it's worth the money since I plan on using it for many trips to come and after checking other reviews, I feel confident it will hold up for the long haul.
 
 Works as promised--great bag
By MP, LA, December 3, 2009

Bag is terrific. Perfect size, great construction, light, durable, looks professional...everything as advertised. Minor suggestion is to make the small size pocket shallower for ease of retrieval of travel docs, passport, etc. Bag is great fully loaded or with only a few shirts in it. I fly 2x/wk & it works perfectly. Separately, the purchase process, delivery updates, and overall service was/is exceptional.
 
 Bordeaux
By Nikolaus, , December 3, 2009

After deliberating for a bit, I decided to opt for the color Bordeaux. If anybody's on the fence about getting this color, do it. It rocks.

I went on a tiny little connecting flight, and all the poor travellers with wheelie luggage had to gate-check their carryons. My Air Boss fit just fine in the overhead bin. Sweet.
 
 Excellent one bag solution
By Larry Valeriano, Chicago, December 3, 2009

This bag is extremely well thought out and built. Excellent build quality and truly meets the needs of a frequent traveler looking for a "one bag" solution.

I have used this bag for both business and personal travel, for trips ranging from 3 to 10 days where I packed clothing and a laptop.

The only area of improvement is the need for some internal organization: pockets and/or key ring. Otherwise, it's spot on.
 
 Great Bag
By Terry Simon, West Michigan, December 3, 2009

I bought this bag and immediately left on a ten day trip that took me to Switzerland, France, Taiwan and back home. The bag made it as a combination of carried luggage on trains, checked baggage and carry on. It was a little tight to pack ten days of clothes for business in three different climates, but it worked and returned in excellent condition. The baggage handlers didn't make a mark on it. For an all purpose bag it was great, and the best part is it's made in the US. Congratulations on an excellent design, top quality materials and great workmansjip.
 
 Great product, terrible strap
By Vito C, Phoenix, December 3, 2009

Great build quality, tons of space. Laptop in case fits right in center panel. A new staple in my travel arsenal. I've carried 2 suits along with everything else in this bag and for a shoulder bag it's tops. I recommend getting a Tom Bihn strap though because the gripper will tear your shoulder apart. You'll wind up with blood pooling under the skin, no joke. I'm 75" and well-built and even I wore down with this strap. Grips so tight on a long trip I bled through my shirt. New strap solved that problem, but at $35 for the strap I hated to having to 'upgrade' a $235 bag. Something to think about.
 
... 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32  ... Next > 
Specifications

Air Boss Spec Size Chart

  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • US Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 53.3cm L x 20.3cm W x 33cm H
  • US Capacity: 2,184 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 35.7 Liters
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Cordura Nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 420 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • 4 lb. Volara closed cell foam padding on exterior panels
  • Double Box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • All zippers #10 YKK self-locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Nylon webbing zipper pull grab loops
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors

Air Boss Carry-on Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 30 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

 

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

Is the Air Boss carry-on legal?
Yes, the Air Boss is carry-on legal on most jet airlines.
 
What's the best way to pack the Air Boss?
The bundle packing method is recommended. Watch the packing video under the Photos and Videos tab or download the printable luggage packing diagram (Pdf file).
 
What's the difference between the Air Boss and the Sky Train?
There are two principle differences between the Air Boss and the Sky Train: The Sky Train has retractable backpack straps and opens flat lengthwise whereas the Air Boss opens flat like a book.
 
Will the Air Boss fit under the seat in front of me?
Cramming the Air Boss under the seat is not recommended.
 
Will the Eagle Creek packing cubes fit the Air Boss?
We recommend that you use our Nomad Shave Kit, Lil Roy Gadget Bag or Tri-fold Toiletry bag as packing cubes. You can color co-ordinate them to your preference and they come with useful carry handles. The Tri-Fold Toiletry Kit is also a brilliant shave kit organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
 
How many pounds will the Air Boss weigh when packed?
It depends on what you pack. A typical 3-5 day load will weigh about 20-25 pounds.
 
How many days travel can I fit in the Air Boss Carry-on?
Most travelers can get about 3-5 days with a typical load. Some adventurous types have been able to pack from a week to ten days! It all depends on how you pack and what you pack.
 
Where do I pack the laptop?
You can use the center compartment. We recommend that you use a padded sleeve to protect your laptop.
 
What's the best way to pack footwear?
Sole to sole to minimize the dirt and placed in the middle compartment. We recommend placing your shoes in a plastic bag first.
 
Can I change the logo color?
Sure. Simply order your favorite color Logo Patch and sew it on yourself. Red Oxx cannot change the patch colors for you.
 
Can I order a bag without the logo?
Logo Patches are centered using a hole punch. If you remove the patch, there will be a hole in the bag that could cause a snag. Red Oxx cannot build a bag without a logo as this would disrupt the efficiency of the production line. Feel free to use a permanent marker to color the patches.
 
Can you lock the Air Boss?
Yes, any TSA approved lock will work. Or you can use one of our inexpensive Cable Locks. Keep in mind, any soft sided bag can be cut open with a sharp knife. It's always better to carry the bag onto the plane and store in the overhead bin where you can keep an eye on it.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
The Air Boss has three large internal compartments. There are no internal pockets.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.