Skip Navigation Links

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I make other carry-on bags nervous.”
Red Oxx Air Boss Carry-on Bag - pictured in Red. Available in 12 colors for $225

Air Boss $255.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


One Bag Travel! Air Boss.

The only carry-on bag you'll ever need.

Designed for the business traveler, our most popular five star-rated carry-on travel bag is a must-have for anyone who enjoys the advantages of traveling light. Peruse over 600 customer reviews right here from hundreds of satisfied Air Boss Carry-on customers to get an honest idea of whether this is the best travel bag for you.

CARRY-ON REBORN.
Red Oxx worked with Internet author and carry-on travel expert, Doug Dyment, guru of OneBag.com fame to develop this all-in-one carry-on bag.

EXPERT DESIGN AND DEVELOPMENT.
Follow this link to learn Doug Dyment's bundle wrapping technique so you can fit everything you need and nothing you don't in your Air Boss airline carry-on bag and become a more organized traveller. Thanks to guideance from Onebag.com, here's a fantastic luggage packing diagram, showing you how to easily "bundle wrap" your clothing in the Air Boss.

WRINKLE FREE TRAVEL.
Designed with three large main compartments, our Air Boss carry-on bag also features two outside zippered pockets; one full-length, one for your airline tickets, an outside sleeve pocket, and tie downs inside the two outer compartments to keep your slacks and dress shirts in position and wrinkle-free until you can unpack and hang them up in the hotel.

A PLACE FOR YOUR BELONGINGS.
The center compartment is spacious enough to hold your Toiletries, extra shoes, work-out gear, business briefcase, etc. Volara closed-cell foam padding is sewn into the sides, so you've got a rigid, yet flexible, piece of carry-on luggage that still protects your valuable belongings.

NEVER SLIPS OFF.
Includes detachable nonslip Claw Shoulder Strap that keeps your bag where you want it - on your shoulder.

DISCOVER HOW TO PACK IT.
Watch the Air Boss Packing Video posted in the Videos tab at left where CFO Amanda Markel shows how to use many of the bag's features.

PROTECT YOUR LAPTOP.
Looking for extra protection for your laptop? We recommend using a neoprene Laptop sleeve. A "macho" option is to put it in a Metro Briefcase, which will fit in the center compartment of the Air Boss, adding further protection and giving you a "one bag" travel option...with two bags inside one. Note that this can become a very heavy bag to carry if you decide to try this. Adding an extra Claw Shoulder Strap from your Metro and then carrying the Air Boss "backpack style" (one strap over each shoulder) can help offset this added load.

ANOTHER CARRY BAG OPTION IS.
Looking for a similar carry-on bag with retractable backpack style shoulder straps? Try our other popular travel bag, the Sky Train.

Join the fleet feet crowd and travel carry-on with the Commander of the ship: the Air Boss!

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your Air Boss on our production schedule. Your bag will then be delivered in under 30 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H.
Capacity: 2,184 cubic inches.
Weight: 3.4 pounds.

Pocket measurements:

  • Matching dual exterior zippered full length side flat pockets: 13"H x 20"W each
  • Exterior flat snap pocket: 9.5"H x 20"W
  • Exterior zippered side flat passport / map pocket: 12.5"D x 7"W
  • Dual zippered tie down side compartments: 2"W x 20.5"L x 12.5"H
  • Main center compartment: 4"W x 20.5"L x 12.5"H

"No Bull" Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, in production products and delivery time? - Check out this personal message from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the steps it takes to handcraft your Air Boss.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear.

Online Air Boss orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email and a review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. Backorders beyond a dozen days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is secure.

Every great carry-on bag needs cool luggage accessories.

2009 Winner of the "Best Durable Luggage Award" from Bestcovery.com; "Discover the Best of Everything."

Selected as Kiplinger's Expert Pics The Best List of 2008 for Best Carry-on Travel Bag.

Air Boss Trivia: On the flight deck of an aircraft carrier, the Air Boss is in charge of all the operations of the flight deck. He controls the moving of planes on deck, landing of aircraft, launching aircraft, ordinance handling, and safety of all the personnel occupying the flight deck. The Air Boss oversees from the command tower. Orders are communicated with the flight deck via megaphone. Ex: "Hey greenshirt. Get out of that checked baggage line and on the plane, now!"

Write a Review

4.79 Average Rating
 (679 Reviews)

 
... 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24  ... Next > 
 The Ultimate Carry-on
By Anonymous, Kentucky, August 3, 2010

This bag is fantastic, and has a really heavy duty feel to it. I easily loaded 3 days travel into it using eagle creek folders and had plenty of space left. I actually cut back on how much I packed because the shoulder strap while being very grippy has little cushion and bruised my shoulder with little "hickeys" caused by a "connection delay run across the airport". Compared to my wife's roller carry-on I could pack more and it fit easily into the embrauer overhead bins.

I'm very satisfied with my purchase.
 
 The Perfect Carry-On
By Anonymous, Florida, July 31, 2010

This bag is fantastic! I was able to comfortably pack 4 days of clothes and I'm very impressed with the design and it's durability. In the airport, I actually got compliments.
 
 Marvellous bag!
By Alessandro, , July 31, 2010

I have to tell you that Air Boss is really marvellous. You can put inside a lot of items and it is really useful to organize your travel. When I travel I have the space for the presents for my family, as well!
 
 Boss of Air Travel
By Brian, Houston, July 29, 2010

I was looking for a carry on bag that would last--what I got when I bought the Air Boss was beyond all expectations. The good reviews are not without merit. This bag holds all the clothes & equipment I need for my 3-4 day business trips, and has room for more. Unless they finally invent the personal jetpack, I'll be using this bag for the rest of my days.
 
 Great bag/Great service
By John, Yardley, PA, July 29, 2010

I recently traveled through three countries in Europe, including 4 flights and long rental car trips. The Air Boss helped make the trip easier, with the many compartments helping organization. I am thinking that I might have been able to leave my checked roller luggage at home! Additionally, Red Oxx service is super.
 
 Great Bag
By Jordan, Marietta GA, July 29, 2010

I love this bag got a ton of stuff in it. I did have to buy an eagle creek hanging clothes folder to ensure no wrinkles on the dress clothes but that made this bag perfect. I got all my heavy jiu jitsu gear and all my dress clothes for 4 days in this one carry on. It is amazing.

Would be great if the middle compartment was slightly wider for stuffing gear in but it holds a ton....
 
 Great Bag
By Sean, , July 22, 2010

This was my go to bag for a 3 day seminar "tour." Able to fit clothes, running shoes, and a projector. Easy to get stuff in and out, which was important when trying to pack up at 4am in the dark (hotel lost power). Lots roomier than my roller and much easier to get in and out of the airport with.

The shoulder strap doesn't slip. However, when you can load the bag up, which you can, your shoulder knows it's there.

Thanks for the great bag!
 
 One Bag. One Airboss
By John N., South Carolina, July 22, 2010

This is the only bag you will need for a weeks worth of traveling. Perfectly designed with plenty of room. It has no flaws. My only suggestion would be to not overpack this bag if you will be using it as a carry on. It's easy to do. I stuffed it full on the way back from Panama and had to check it. It held up without injury through all of the rough handling unlike some of the roller bags which came down the conveyor with mangled handles.
 
 Tough Elegance
By Edwin Dario, West Chester, OH, July 13, 2010

Ordered Air Boss on 7/9, received the Air Boss early 7/12 in Cincinnati! I was quite excited to receive this bag, and was impressed with the "Red Oxx" packaging tape on the box. When I opened the box (Hallelujah Chorus). There it was, my new Raven Black Air Boss staring at me with all it's elegance and toughness begging to be used. The bag is distinct and the Red Oxx emblem can be seen a mile away, and could never be mistaken for anything other than first rate. It screams quality and professionalism. I initially purchased the Patagonia MLC after reading a review on OneBag.com and PraticalHack.com. In both reviews, the MLC was highly rated but was always compared to the highly rated Air Boss which I had never heard of. When I received the MLC, I was satisfied, but not overly impressed. I questioned the bag's structural integrity, durability and materials. The bag was compact, light and small. However, when I tugged on the handles I could hear a slight ripping noise...Did I just spend $160 on bag that wouldn't withstand my lugging and trekking throughout my business travels? At that moment, I went to the Red Ox web-site and navigated to the Air Boss and made my purchase. I intensely compared each bag side by side, stuffed both with a variety of eagle creek pack-it tubes, cubes and folders. Also added two pairs of shoes etc. Both bags accommodated my gear with ease, however, the Air Boss maintained is it's structural integrity and the MLC sagged. The Air Boss had plenty of room to add more gear; the MLC was at its' capacity. While the MLC has the optional back pack straps, the Air Boss fit comfortably on my shoulder with the claw. Total weight- ~16 lbs. Needless to say, the MLC is in the process of being returned. I'm so impressed with the gear from Red Oxx that I'm going to ditch my Patagonia back pack that I use for work and will purchase the Metro Briefcase which conveniently fits in the center compartment of the Air Boss. I will truly be a "One Bag" Traveler! I only have two gripes: 1) I really wanted the Air Boss in Midnight, however as expected it was on back order and I couldn't wait 2 weeks. 2) The enclosed Red Oxx sticker was commandeered by my 12 year old daughter who immediately took the sticker and stuck ir on her bedroom mirror! When I later sneaked into her room to remove the snicker, she caught me red handed and yelled at me that I couldn't have it! Women! Needless to say, I don't have a Red Oxx sticker to display to show my loyal following. The Air Boss will take it's maiden voyage in two weeks aboard a Regional Jet. Hopefully, I will also have the Metro to take along with me as well. Thanks Red OXX!
 
 Does what it says it does
By G Curtis, Georgia, July 8, 2010

I've only used the bag once, but the highest compliment I can give is this product is what it claims to be. It's rugged, tough, sized right, and just works.

I would recommend this bag to anyone.
 
 Flat Out the Best
By Blake , Washington State, July 8, 2010

I have been on the hunt for the "perfect" single bag for years. The goal: find a bag that can support my ambition to never check luggage again ... whether I am gone for just one day, a week, or two months. This is it.

I confess that this is my second bag... but that is ONLY because my son needed one for his walkabout. This bag has wandered through the Middle East, all point of Europe, Asia and to the town an hour away. It truly is the perfect solution.
 
 Nice Bag
By Tony, Plano, Texas, July 8, 2010

Quality of the materials and construction is excellent. I also like the design.

Improvements could be made in the following areas: 1) the carry handle could use a bit of padding to make it more comfortable to carry when loaded; and, 2) more adjustability in the shoulder strap. The strap is too long for my wife to use comfortably.
 
 EXCELLENT QUALITY & LOOKS WITH FUNCTION
By Dr Peter Larkins, Melbourne AUS, July 8, 2010

After lenghty reading of websites and blogs I was still undecided between buying the Air Boss or Sky Train bag.Being in Australia it was too difficult to view the products or return them so I lashed out and bought both!After using both for a limited time so far I am really happy with the Air Boss and considerably underwhelmed by the more expensive Sky Train.I recently spent a week in Queenslnd on vacation and carried all my clothing in the AB without fuss.It fitted easily in the Airbus overhead bin even when almost full and it was great to exit the airport within 5 mins of leaving the plane while others waited for luggage..I bought 2 medium and 1 small packing cube and easily fitted 2 prs shorts,6 T shirts,running gear,underwear,toilet bag,swim gear,shoes,light sweater and reading material - with room left if I needed it.I did carry a separate computer bag with office/work items.My experience with the Sky Train is less satisfactory - less space,cost more and more awkward to pack.I will persist with using it a couple more times to see if I can figure out what the real benefits are other than the backpack straps.

I also want to praise the Redoxx team for their prompt service and responses to my prepurchase shipping enquiry.
 
 Epic
By Tim, Detroit Area, July 7, 2010

I've had this bag since February. I decided to wait until I had several trips under my belt before I submitted the review. I'm a Platinum flier on Delta, so I knew it would get a workout. To the point - buy the bag. I've had at most 10 days of business clothing in the bag, and I can tell you this thing works. I've also had more TSA agents and fellow travelers ask me about the Air Boss than any other item I carry. Seasoned travelers will appreciate the value, simplicity, and durability of this bag.
 
 Finally, A Great Carry-On
By Alex, Washington DC, July 4, 2010

I bought the Air Boss in preparation for a trip from DC to LA and San Diego. What an amazing bag. I was able to easily and quickly get through security and fit the bag into extremely cramped overhead space. The Claw shoulder strap has to be seen to be believed. The positive reviews don't do it justice. With the prices for checking baggage, it seems as if overhead space is becoming more and more limited. The Air Boss has more space than any bag I've ever used yet is able to fit into the tighter spaces available. What a combination!
 
 No Wrinkles
By Anonymous, Georgia, July 3, 2010

A coworker and ReddOxx customer convinced me to consider your products when looking to replace my luggage. That is one recommendation I have not regretted. After looking at your products I decided to start with the Air Boss. I often travel for business and pack starched dress shirts and suits. I was somewhat concerned with being able to pack the type and quantity of clothing I need for trips in the Air Boss and avoid wrinkles. I was certainly in for a surprise. The Air Boss swallows up anything you can throw at it and, if you follow the packing directions, wrinkles are almost a thing of the past. Indeed, on a recent trip I totally avoided the dreaded "post flight" ironing session. Just unpack your clothing after arriving and, after a night on a hanger, the wrinkles disappear. As everyone else has stated, the quality of the product is unrivaled by any other company. The quality is matched by the thoughtful design and the remarkable customer service. I should point out that I have learned that you can pack too much in the Air Boss so that it becomes impossible to fit in the overhead of some planes. That issue is not a problem with the product but is a reflection me just trying to see how much I can pack in the bag. I have since gotten a PR4 which I use a personal item. Let the others have the "rolling bags," I just smile to myself as they check those bags at the door of a loaded plane while I am not questioned about my Airboss and walk right past to take my seat.
 
 Perfect for air travel
By Flint, Philadelphia USA, July 2, 2010

This bag is extremely well made yet quite lightweight. I had more than enough room for a week long business trip and for the additional items gathered during my travels. The bag easily fit in the aircraft overhead compartment. I was able to strap this bag across my chest, and then strap my laptop bag across my chest over the opposite shoulder. This was extremely comfortable and allowed me to quickly move around. The bundle wrapping method worked perfectly, I did not have to iron anything. Also, the Eagle Creek Stuff-It Tube Cube's fit perfectly inside the middle compartment of the Air Boss for better organization.
 
 Great Bag
By Tom H, Denver, CO, July 1, 2010

Great bag; stores items very efficiently. I know wheels would compromise the size/capacity of the bag, but a clever wheel/handle addition to the bag would make this the perfect bag. I wish the center section included a padded computer bag. Purchase of such will make this bag complete for me. I am a road-warrior and have evaluated many bags over the years; this is the best bag I have found. I usually only travel for a few days on a trip, but feel comfortable it would accommodate even a week plus trip just fine. I write this review on the 3rd trip since acquiring the bag, so I have tested it out well. Can't speak to longevity yet, but construction appears very rugged.
 
 air boss
By Lee, newy ork, July 1, 2010

I've had the airboss for about a month. overall, i really like the bag. the zippers are great and i love how it's expandable. with my gym clothes/shoes, it's thin/compact enough to be a day bag. but it's also big enough when fully loaded to carry a week's worth of clothes. i also love the shoulder strap - it really does stay on my shoulder.

i have two complaints about it. first, i wish there was a smaller zipped pocked on the inside. my old bag had this, and it was very useful for putting things like keys, change, toothbrush, etc. right now there's a small pocket on the ouside like this, but it's not as useful.

second, i wish they had used velcro instead buttons on the two straps that meet together in the middle. i just think velcro is faster.
 
 buy this product!
By Anonymous, Saskatoon, SK, July 1, 2010

Love the product. it's really sturdy and the shoulder strap is amazing!

wish there were more little pockets to help organize stuff.. but still it's worth buying as it's so versatile and can hold pretty much everything!
 
... 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24  ... Next > 
Specifications

Air Boss Spec Size Chart

  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • US Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 53.3cm L x 20.3cm W x 33cm H
  • US Capacity: 2,184 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 35.7 Liters
  • US Weight: 3.4 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 1.54 Kilos
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Cordura Nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 420 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • 4 lb. Volara closed cell foam padding on exterior panels
  • Double Box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Nylon webbing zipper pull grab loops
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors

Air Boss Carry-on Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 30 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

Is the Air Boss carry-on legal?
Yes, the Air Boss is carry-on legal on most jet airlines.
 
What's the best way to pack the Air Boss?
The bundle packing method is recommended. Watch the packing video under the Photos and Videos tab or download the printable luggage packing diagram (Pdf file).
 
What's the difference between the Air Boss and the Sky Train?
There are two principle differences between the Air Boss and the Sky Train: The Sky Train has retractable backpack straps and opens flat lengthwise whereas the Air Boss opens flat like a book.
 
Will the Air Boss fit under the seat in front of me?
Cramming the Air Boss under the seat is not recommended.
 
Will the Eagle Creek packing cubes fit the Air Boss?
We recommend that you use our Nomad Shave Kit, Lil Roy Gadget Bag or Tri-fold Toiletry bag as packing cubes. You can color co-ordinate them to your preference and they come with useful carry handles. The Tri-Fold Toiletry Kit is also a brilliant shave kit organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
 
How many pounds will the Air Boss weigh when packed?
It depends on what you pack. A typical 3-5 day load will weigh about 20-25 pounds.
 
How many days travel can I fit in the Air Boss Carry-on?
Most travelers can get about 3-5 days with a typical load. Some adventurous types have been able to pack from a week to ten days! It all depends on how you pack and what you pack.
 
Where do I pack the laptop?
You can use the center compartment. We recommend that you use a padded sleeve to protect your laptop.
 
What's the best way to pack footwear?
Sole to sole to minimize the dirt and placed in the middle compartment. We recommend placing your shoes in a plastic bag first.
 
Can I change the logo color?
Sure. Simply order your favorite color Logo Patch and sew it on yourself. Red Oxx cannot change the patch colors for you.
 
Can I order a bag without the logo?
Logo Patches are centered using a hole punch. If you remove the patch, there will be a hole in the bag that could cause a snag. Red Oxx cannot build a bag without a logo as this would disrupt the efficiency of the production line. Feel free to use a permanent marker to color the patches.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my bag?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
The Air Boss has three large internal compartments. There are no internal pockets.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.