Skip Navigation Links

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I make other carry-on bags nervous.”
Red Oxx Air Boss Carry-on Bag - pictured in Red. Available in 12 colors for $225

Air Boss $245.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


One Bag Travel! Air Boss.

The only carry-on bag you'll ever need.

Designed for the business traveler, this popular five star-rated carry-on travel bag is a must-have for anyone who enjoys the advantages of traveling light. Peruse over 600 customer reviews right here from hundreds of satisfied Air Boss customers and get an honest idea of whether this is the best travel bag for you.

CARRY-ON REBORN.
Red Oxx worked with Internet author and carry-on travel expert, Doug Dyment, guru of OneBag.com fame to develop this all-in-one carry-on bag.

EXPERT DESIGN AND DEVELOPMENT.
Follow this link to learn Doug Dyment's bundle wrapping technique so you can fit more in your airline carry-on bag and be more organized. Thanks to Onebag.com, here's a fantastic luggage packing diagram, showing you how to "bundle wrap" your clothing in the Air Boss.

WRINKLE FREE TRAVEL.
Designed with three large main compartments, the Air Boss carry-on bag also features two outside zippered pockets (one full-length, one for your airline tickets), an outside sleeve pocket, and tie downs inside the outer sections to keep your slacks and dress shirts in position and wrinkle-free until you can hang them up in the hotel.

A PLACE FOR YOUR BELONGINGS.
The center compartment is spacious enough to hold your Toiletries, extra shoes, work-out gear, business briefcase, etc. Volara closed-cell foam padding is sewn in the sides, so you've got a rigid, yet flexible, piece of carry-on luggage that protects your belongings.

PROTECT YOUR LAPTOP.
Looking for extra protection for your laptop? Pick up a Metro Briefcase, which will fit in the center compartment of the Air Boss, adding further protection and giving you a "one bag" travel option...with two bags inside one. Note that this can become a heavy bag to carry if you do this.

NEVER SLIPS OFF.
Includes detachable nonslip Claw Shoulder Strap that keeps your bag where you want it - on your shoulder.

LEARN HOW TO PACK IT.
Watch the Air Boss Packing Video posted in the Videos tab at left where CFO Amanda Markel shows how to use many of the bag's features.

ANOTHER CARRY BAG OPTION.
Looking for a similar carry-on bag with retractable backpack style shoulder straps? Try our other popular travel bag, the Sky Train.

Join the fleet feet crowd and travel carry-on with the Commander of the ship: the Air Boss!

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your Air Boss on our production schedule. Your bag will then be delivered in under 30 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H.
Capacity: 2,184 cubic inches.

Pocket measurements:

  • Matching dual exterior zippered full length side flat pockets: 13"H x 20"W each
  • Exterior flat snap pocket: 9.5"H x 20"W
  • Exterior zippered side flat passport / map pocket: 12.5"D x 7"W
  • Dual zippered tie down side compartments: 2"W x 20.5"L x 12.5"H
  • Main center compartment: 4"W x 20.5"L x 12.5"H

"No Bull" Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, in production products and delivery time? - Read this personal letter from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the steps it takes to handcraft your Air Boss.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear.

Online Air Boss orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email and a review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. Backorders beyond a dozen days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is secure.

Every great carry-on bag needs cool luggage accessories.

2009 Winner of the "Best Durable Luggage Award" from Bestcovery.com; "Discover the Best of Everything."

Selected as Kiplinger's Expert Pics The Best List of 2008 for Best Carry-on Travel Bag.

Air Boss Trivia: On the flight deck of an aircraft carrier, the Air Boss is in charge of all the operations of the flight deck. He controls the moving of planes on deck, landing of aircraft, launching aircraft, ordinance handling, and safety of all the personnel occupying the flight deck. The Air Boss oversees from the command tower. Orders are communicated with the flight deck via megaphone. Ex: "Hey greenshirt. Get out of that checked baggage line and on the plane, now!"

Write a Review

4.79 Average Rating
 (663 Reviews)

 
... 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24  ... Next > 
 Looking forward to a long and happy relationship
By Anonymous, , October 28, 2010

After ogling this bag for many months, I finally pulled the trigger in time for a 12 day trip across the US. Tough and spacious, I am very happy with my purchase. The only complaint is that the shoulder strap could provide a bit more padding -- it tends to become uncomfortable with a heavy bag.
 
 Best Bag I've Ever Owned!
By Sybo, England, October 27, 2010

I actually purchased this bag a while ago but it's still without a doubt the best bag I've ever owned! I can fit about 7 days worth of clothes in with other bits and bobs wedged in. The handle does make your hand ache after a while but the shoulder strap helps with that. Slots nicely in the overhead cabin and neatly under a bed. never been queried by the size for carry on and it's refreshing just walking past the queues after a long flight. So far this gem has seen Asia, Oz and the States and inspite of me being less than gentle with it, it still looks in fine condition! Highly recommended!
 
 Awesome Everything Bag
By Brian, Taylorsville, KY, October 26, 2010

I've had this bag for over a year now and absolutely love it. After traveling over 100,000 air miles - it doesn't show any wear (minus a small coffee stain on the outer pocket I intend to clean but never do). Initially found via onebag.com - I can't believe how great this bag is. I love the freedom of stepping on/off escalators, cab stands, train platforms, and stairs without hassle. I still can't believe how much I can fit in it either. I can easily go 7 days without having to do laundry. Fully loaded, it weighs about half as much as my fully loaded laptop bag (though to be fair, I am a geek and carry much weight in my laptop bag).
 
 Air Boss
By Jo, Tracy, CA, October 24, 2010

I purchased the Air Boss after researching traveling light on OneBag.com. My husband & I were planning a trip to NJ from CA to visit my family and we did not want to check any bags. The Air Boss held clothes for five days for both of us along with magazines, a small video camera, and our toothbrushes. My family was amazed that we planned a ten day trip and pulled it off with one carry on bag. We took a side trip and the Air Boss was perfect for a weekend bag. This bag was a dream. It was even gate checked when we flew on a Canadair Rejional Jet and was none the worse for wear. Great bag RedOxx!
 
 Happy Happy Joy Joy
By Anonymous, Tuxedo Park, NY, October 22, 2010

I've taken this bag on two trips so far, a week in Vegas and a week at Lake Tahoe. Having two sides to hold clothes is great, you can separate business stuff from casual or clean from dirty. I had no worries that this bag might tear or be damaged in anyway, it's a tough guy. The stap did leave little "hickies" around my neck/shoulder area so I will probably find a substitute but overall very happy and can't wait for the next adventure.
 
 Awesome Bag
By Stephanie, Dayton, OH, October 21, 2010

I was hesitant to spend so much on a bag, but I must say that it's been a great purchase. For my latest trip I fit three pairs of pants, 4 shirts, a pair of shoes, toiletries, etc. as well as my laptop. Even that full, I still was able to carry it on my shoulder with no slipping due to the great quality shoulder strap.

My only disappointment is that fitting so much in the bag means that it barely fit in the overhead compartment on my flight. On the smaller planes I had to check it at the jetway.

It's durable and very well constructed, so I know it will last for many years.
 
 Road Warrior Review
By Richard, Washington, DC, October 21, 2010

I got the Midnight to balance a professional appearance and to use for vacations.

I fly one or twice a week for business on the usual Mon-Thur consulting schedule. It replaced a standard 22x14x9 carry-on. Have used it for six flights, and I really like it.

I am professionally dressed for the Monday flight out, including blazer and here's what's in my usual travel bag. 1 pair wool slacks. 3 dress shirts, 3 changes of underclothes. 1 pair each casual slacks, casual shorts, sleeping cloths, swim trunks, workout shorts and shirt, business shoes and workout shoes. Toiletries. To me, bundle packing is a nice technique I will use on vacation travel, but unnecessary, as I am ok spending 5 minutes touching up clothes at the hotel.

Comparing that packed bag to my wheeled carry on, I was shocked at the difference in volume. Call it a 30% reduction in volume.

Weighed it, and all that, including the bag, weighs 17 lbs, if you want to compare your experience with mine. For me, that's in line with the general advice of keeping a bag to 10% of body weight.

It's comfortable to carry on the strap or in hand. I also have another bag for my computer, papers, etc. To be honest, I did from time to time miss the wheeled bag when standing in a long line at the airport with both this and my computer bag. You just have to pick what works for you. If I have to pack a couple of suits in this kit, I will likely use the wheeled bag.

SUPER MEGA BONUS!!!

You know how annoyed you get when you see people put BOTH carryons in the overhead bin? With this bag, I can, with a clear conscience, put the Airboss in the bin, and my computer case on top of it, in the same space as my old wheeled bag. Pull out my iphone, book or newspaper to pass the time, and have my leg space. For me, that's mother's milk.

For extended vacation travel with an iphone to have access to email and internet, and only one bag, this will be my #1 choice. No question.

The AirBoss is well thought out, and the build quality is SOLID. The minor nits you may see about not having a key fob or more organizing options are correct. Um... seriously, where do you put your keys, and is it that such a big a deal as to downgrade a rating? This bag is form over beautiful function.

Hope this helps you make a decision. Best, R

--------------------------------------------All you key folk will be happy to hear we now offer a Pin Mount Key Clip you can mount on or in your bags ~ Minister of Information, Red Oxx.
 
 The "One Bag"
By Mick, Melbourne, Australia, October 21, 2010

I bought this bag for a 13 flights in 12 days trip around the world. We had a carry-on's only rule for the group travelling and so after some time reading on www.onebag.com I bought this bag.

It was great and performed as advertised.

The bag carried all I needed for meetings in the depths of winter in the US and Europe with room for my Shorts and Crocs for use in India.
 
 Pretty, But Heavy
By Nesha C., St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands, October 14, 2010

At first glance the bag is beautifully constructed. Sturdy zippers and great pockets. However the mechanisms for the handle make me weary of carrying it for long distances. The strap would just not be sufficient to provide comfort for a long haul.
 
 Air Boss
By Rachel , Australia, October 14, 2010

* Prompt delivery

* Amazing functionality

 
 Long time on the road with this puppy
By Nathan, texas, October 13, 2010

I bought this bag based primarily on feedback from a frquent traveler forum (flyertalk) and have been very pleased. Because I use it for 6-14 day trips requiring me to pack a variety of types of clothing I found the "wheels free" option worth investigating. Each time I see people lugging those wheeled cases up and down stairs as I whiz on by I am happier with my decision. I wanted somethig that fits in the overheads and holds the maximum. I believe this is it.

I have purchased numerous bags in the past and this is the one I use the most. I fly and travel a lot.

I did replace the strap with a beefier one with more padding as I routinely get a lot of weight and carry it a long way.
 
 Great Bag - Lots of Compliments
By Bill, Huntingdon Valley, PA, October 8, 2010

I bought this bag for a 5-day trip to Oktoberfest in Germany. It was my only bag and the first time I've traveled so lightly, so I was fearful that I wouldn't have what I needed.

Let me tell you, the Air Boss performed its duties admirably. I packed a spare pair of shoes, 5 dress shirts, 2 pairs of pants, 2 sweaters, 4 t-shirts, socks, underwear, and toiletries. I had way more than I needed, but still fit everything in the overhead bins on the planes with no problem.

When getting ready to leave, one of my travel companions saw my bag for the first time and was shocked. "That's all you brought?!" I gained a lot of cred as a seasoned traveler and light packer, even though I'm really neither of those things.

If you're debating about this bag, just do it. You won't regret the decision.
 
 Air Boss
By Anonymous, Texas, October 4, 2010

I've been on a five day boy's trip to DC and a couple of three day business trips with the Air Boss so far. The Air Boss is exactly what I wanted. You can put more in this bag than you want to carry, but even when you fill it sparingly it still holds it's shape and stands up when you set it down at the airport as you wait in line for coffee. In addition to great function it looks fantastic. I got the midnight color and love it. Add a few packing cubes and you'll be on your way to organized, one-bag travel bliss.
 
 My Search is Over
By Kai, Victoria BC , October 3, 2010

My search is over, and I am now a very happy chappy.

Used the Airboss for 5 trips and countless flights from the smallest commuter to the largest Jumbo, this is IT!.

The packing is easy, you know where things are, and in the airplanes/hotels/motels/busses you are always organized and can find items you need very easy.

Do not overpack as you might have problems getting the Airboss into the overhead bin.

If I ever have to purchase another carry on bag.. guess what it would be?
 
 Most Excellent
By karynrae2001, Las Vegas, September 27, 2010

Perfect. We packed 2 bags for 3 people for a 10 day Spain trip. Along with 2 Totes, they were perfect. Packing directions helped us arrive wrinkle free, but the most important thing I need right now is allways in the center of my bundle!!They wore well, looked great and carried easy. Plently of room. Very well designed and pretty. I want to reiterate that we never had anyone question the bag as we carried them on the planes.It was always assumed they would fit and they did!
 
 Great Bag!
By Guy Martin, California, September 24, 2010

An outstanding bag that makes traveling a breeze - partly because even with the cavernous size, this bag forces you to think about the things you want to put in it, since the weight you carry is still there, despite the bag's compact dimensions.

I LOVE the fact that getting the Air Boss into and out of overhead bins is so much easier than watching my fellow travelers struggle to push and pull bulky wheeled luggage into the bins.

Construction of this bag is top notch, with heavy duty components all around. In short, a great bag that helps you learn how to pack more efficiently and makes travel a pleasure. I highly recommend this bag, as well as Eagle Creek packing cubes and 18" folders to make packing easier.
 
 My other bags don't compare
By Robin, Canada, September 23, 2010

I did my homework before I purchased the Air Boss, so I had high expectations. Needless to say, I was still impressed when I received the bag. The construction is robust and the attention to details is well suited to my obsessive compulsive behavior. I'm planning a trip to Europe and I intend on using this bag with the Eagle Creek Cubes to compliment my Dueter backpack. I'll follow up after to let you know how this bag holds up in the field.
 
 Does The Job
By Anonymous, Cape Cod, MA, September 21, 2010

Just completed a 16 day trip carrying the Air Boss and a brief case. Filled it up to the 22# Air Canada limit and had it on/off 6 flights. Fit nicely in overhead storage even on some CRJs and sky checked it on some smaller planes. Very happy with the performance. I should not have brought the shoulder strap as I found it more comfortable to carry the briefcase via its shoulder strap and hand carry the Air Boss. Doing this for a fair amount of walking I found the handle on the Air Boss uncomfortable. It flexes and thus tries to loop tightly around one's hand. A bit of padded stiffness in the handle would go a long way toward mitigating this problem.
 
 Great Carry On Bag!
By Anonymous, Memphis, TN, September 20, 2010

One of the best things about the Air Boss is that, unless its stuffed to the gills, it'll fit in the overhead of the regional jets that are so common today. The flight attendants don't usually give it a second look, so even gate checking it isn't necessary.

My wife & I recently spent a week in Europe and neither of us checked a bag . . . I used the Air Boss and she has a Sky Train. Either bag is highly recommended!
 
 Air Boss
By Kenneth, Madison, Wisconsin, September 16, 2010

This is my first experience with Red Oxx and attempting to use only carry-on luggage for travel. First, service was great and the product is top-notch. Travelers who normally take lots with them and check luggage should be aware that despite the proclamations that you can get everything into this bag, you will not be able to continue your old habits. Using this bag requires paring back the items you take with you and following a packing methodology such as the one suggested on One Bag. It will take a few trys to get the packing strategy down. On the recent trip, we traveled by train, air and car (taxi). YOU MUST BE AWARE that you will be carrying this bag along with any other carrying items. For most of our trip this worked out OK, though my traveling companion had an injured leg and i ended up carrying this bag along with two others. The really bad scene was at O'Hare where gate changes required incredibly long and brisk walks in congested situations while carrying the bags. The shoulder strap on this bag is not the best, as indicated by other reviewers, and I will likely replace it before my next trip. Also, I will get some kind of collapsable cart for the really long lugs. Overall, I really like this product and can see using it nearly everytime I travel. Just be aware, you are buying a philosophy along with the bag, and you may need to make additional plans to deal with your newfound ways of travel.
 
... 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24  ... Next > 
Specifications

Air Boss Spec Size Chart

  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • US Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 53.3cm L x 20.3cm W x 33cm H
  • US Capacity: 2,184 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 35.7 Liters
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Cordura Nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 420 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • 4 lb. Volara closed cell foam padding on exterior panels
  • Double Box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • All zippers #10 YKK self-locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Nylon webbing zipper pull grab loops
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors

Air Boss Carry-on Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 30 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

 

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

Is the Air Boss carry-on legal?
Yes, the Air Boss is carry-on legal on most jet airlines.
 
What's the best way to pack the Air Boss?
The bundle packing method is recommended. Watch the packing video under the Photos and Videos tab or download the printable luggage packing diagram (Pdf file).
 
What's the difference between the Air Boss and the Sky Train?
There are two principle differences between the Air Boss and the Sky Train: The Sky Train has retractable backpack straps and opens flat lengthwise whereas the Air Boss opens flat like a book.
 
Will the Air Boss fit under the seat in front of me?
Cramming the Air Boss under the seat is not recommended.
 
Will the Eagle Creek packing cubes fit the Air Boss?
We recommend that you use our Nomad Shave Kit, Lil Roy Gadget Bag or Tri-fold Toiletry bag as packing cubes. You can color co-ordinate them to your preference and they come with useful carry handles. The Tri-Fold Toiletry Kit is also a brilliant shave kit organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
 
How many pounds will the Air Boss weigh when packed?
It depends on what you pack. A typical 3-5 day load will weigh about 20-25 pounds.
 
How many days travel can I fit in the Air Boss Carry-on?
Most travelers can get about 3-5 days with a typical load. Some adventurous types have been able to pack from a week to ten days! It all depends on how you pack and what you pack.
 
Where do I pack the laptop?
You can use the center compartment. We recommend that you use a padded sleeve to protect your laptop.
 
What's the best way to pack footwear?
Sole to sole to minimize the dirt and placed in the middle compartment. We recommend placing your shoes in a plastic bag first.
 
Can I change the logo color?
Sure. Simply order your favorite color Logo Patch and sew it on yourself. Red Oxx cannot change the patch colors for you.
 
Can I order a bag without the logo?
Logo Patches are centered using a hole punch. If you remove the patch, there will be a hole in the bag that could cause a snag. Red Oxx cannot build a bag without a logo as this would disrupt the efficiency of the production line. Feel free to use a permanent marker to color the patches.
 
Can you lock the Air Boss?
Yes, any TSA approved lock will work. Or you can use one of our inexpensive Cable Locks. Keep in mind, any soft sided bag can be cut open with a sharp knife. It's always better to carry the bag onto the plane and store in the overhead bin where you can keep an eye on it.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
The Air Boss has three large internal compartments. There are no internal pockets.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.