Skip Navigation Links

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I make other carry-on bags nervous.”
Red Oxx Air Boss Carry-on Bag - pictured in Red. Available in 12 colors for $225

Air Boss $245.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


One Bag Travel! Air Boss.

The only carry-on bag you'll ever need.

Designed for the business traveler, this popular five star-rated carry-on travel bag is a must-have for anyone who enjoys the advantages of traveling light. Peruse over 600 customer reviews right here from hundreds of satisfied Air Boss customers and get an honest idea of whether this is the best travel bag for you.

CARRY-ON REBORN.
Red Oxx worked with Internet author and carry-on travel expert, Doug Dyment, guru of OneBag.com fame to develop this all-in-one carry-on bag.

EXPERT DESIGN AND DEVELOPMENT.
Follow this link to learn Doug Dyment's bundle wrapping technique so you can fit more in your airline carry-on bag and be more organized. Thanks to Onebag.com, here's a fantastic luggage packing diagram, showing you how to "bundle wrap" your clothing in the Air Boss.

WRINKLE FREE TRAVEL.
Designed with three large main compartments, the Air Boss carry-on bag also features two outside zippered pockets (one full-length, one for your airline tickets), an outside sleeve pocket, and tie downs inside the outer sections to keep your slacks and dress shirts in position and wrinkle-free until you can hang them up in the hotel.

A PLACE FOR YOUR BELONGINGS.
The center compartment is spacious enough to hold your Toiletries, extra shoes, work-out gear, business briefcase, etc. Volara closed-cell foam padding is sewn in the sides, so you've got a rigid, yet flexible, piece of carry-on luggage that protects your belongings.

PROTECT YOUR LAPTOP.
Looking for extra protection for your laptop? Pick up a Metro Briefcase, which will fit in the center compartment of the Air Boss, adding further protection and giving you a "one bag" travel option...with two bags inside one. Note that this can become a heavy bag to carry if you do this.

NEVER SLIPS OFF.
Includes detachable nonslip Claw Shoulder Strap that keeps your bag where you want it - on your shoulder.

LEARN HOW TO PACK IT.
Watch the Air Boss Packing Video posted in the Videos tab at left where CFO Amanda Markel shows how to use many of the bag's features.

ANOTHER CARRY BAG OPTION.
Looking for a similar carry-on bag with retractable backpack style shoulder straps? Try our other popular travel bag, the Sky Train.

Join the fleet feet crowd and travel carry-on with the Commander of the ship: the Air Boss!

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your Air Boss on our production schedule. Your bag will then be delivered in under 30 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H.
Capacity: 2,184 cubic inches.

Pocket measurements:

  • Matching dual exterior zippered full length side flat pockets: 13"H x 20"W each
  • Exterior flat snap pocket: 9.5"H x 20"W
  • Exterior zippered side flat passport / map pocket: 12.5"D x 7"W
  • Dual zippered tie down side compartments: 2"W x 20.5"L x 12.5"H
  • Main center compartment: 4"W x 20.5"L x 12.5"H

"No Bull" Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, in production products and delivery time? - Read this personal letter from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the steps it takes to handcraft your Air Boss.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear.

Online Air Boss orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email and a review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. Backorders beyond a dozen days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is secure.

Every great carry-on bag needs cool luggage accessories.

2009 Winner of the "Best Durable Luggage Award" from Bestcovery.com; "Discover the Best of Everything."

Selected as Kiplinger's Expert Pics The Best List of 2008 for Best Carry-on Travel Bag.

Air Boss Trivia: On the flight deck of an aircraft carrier, the Air Boss is in charge of all the operations of the flight deck. He controls the moving of planes on deck, landing of aircraft, launching aircraft, ordinance handling, and safety of all the personnel occupying the flight deck. The Air Boss oversees from the command tower. Orders are communicated with the flight deck via megaphone. Ex: "Hey greenshirt. Get out of that checked baggage line and on the plane, now!"

Write a Review

4.79 Average Rating
 (663 Reviews)

 
... 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16  ... Next > 
 Just buy it already
By Jay, Los Angeles, June 4, 2011

If you are like me, you scoured every website and review to justify buying this bag. Let me save you some time - it is worth every penny.

I have had the bag for about a year and it looks brand new. I travel weekly for business and I can carry a lot of gear in the bag. Sure you can overstuff it and it can get heavy (I have to carry a lot of computer equipment) but I would gladly take the flexibility of this bag over checking a second bag.

I have the best of both worlds because I almost always use the lightweight cart recommended on the Onebag.com site. It works perfectly with the Air Boss and the cart stows easily under a seat and attaches to my laptop bag.

One last thing - the zippers on this bag are bombproof. It is a small thing but it makes me happy every time I use them just knowing that they aren't going to break, catch or split open at an inopportune time.
 
 One bag travel success
By Anonymous, Colorado, June 2, 2011

Great bag. Lived up to reputation. Won't check bags again!
 
 Carry On Performance!
By J.R.E., Attleboro, MA, June 2, 2011

This carry on does everything that it promises. It is lightweight, tough, and easy to pack. Combine this with bundle packing and this can easily be a week long business bag (provided you have a seperate laptop bag). Easily fits into overhead. I give it an A.
 
 Well made bag
By Todd, San Jose, CA, June 2, 2011

First off, they have the best customer service ever. They mistakenly put an item I ordered in stock, when it wasn't and it delayed my order. I wrote back, got an answer that was prompt (a little late, but because my email went to spam filter), and they one day'd my order gratis so I could get it in time for my trip. Like everyone else says, it's a well made bag, but beware over filling it, as it can easily get to 25lbs! I also agree that the Tom Binh strap is a necessary thing for this bag. Would easily buy from them again.
 
 Great Bag But With Caution
By Teresa, Richmond, May 20, 2011

Love the construction, look, volume, and overall design. Bag is easy to pack and holds just as much as promised. Construction seems superb. Only issue is that dashing around an airport this can get heavy, esp when I used the 1-bag rule and put my laptop in it. I'll be getting a folding 2-wheel dolly or carry a laptop bag in future. I'm impressed that I can use if for business or pleasure trips with equal ease.
 
 Business Traveler
By Jay , Richmond, Va, May 20, 2011

I travel weekly on business and have been using this bag for a year.

You can pack a lot in the bag and it fits in the overhead of regional jets which is a plus.

It is not friendly for a business guy with suits and laptops. I hate that it has no compartments outside the handles. This means you cannot access anything while in screening line or boarding a plane without unsnapping the handles. What a pain.

It may be useful for casual travel but does not work for me.
 
 21 Flights in Under 3 weeks
By Bruce M, Tamworth, Australia, May 20, 2011

I'm new to the 'One Bag' concept but I certainly picked the right bag. After planning what I needed to take the bag just devoured the pile - admittedly reduced from what I might usually take, but I had a variety of cloths to cope with Seattle in March; to the Carribean and Fiji. The convenience of just walking off the aircraft and out of the airport without waiting for luggage was brilliant. I will echo the comments of some others about the weight on the shoulder strap when carrying long distances in some of the larger airports but swapping shoulders and alternating carrying with the handle reduced the problem.

Red Oxx delivery to Australia was remarkably swift. After 40,000 km the bag still looks like new, so I have no hesitation in recommending this product.
 
 Very pleased
By Joe, Crystal Lake, IL, May 19, 2011

I have had this bag for a year and made at least a dozen (typically 2 to 4 night) business trips with it. It and a laptop case are the only bags I've needed in that time. All my clothes fit neatly into it, it rides comfortably on the shoulder or in the hand, and it easily fits into every plane's overhead bin (except those commuters where only a lunch bag would be small enough!).
 
 Great Bag!
By Matt, Atlanta, May 19, 2011

I recently obtained the Air Boss after reading about it on onebag.com and tiring of always working my roller wouldn't fit in the overhead.

So I ordered the bag and had it within days. I just carried it on a trip from Atlanta to Cleveland. The Atlanta airport is very crowded and you have to cover a lot of ground to get through security and to your gate.

I had the bad on my shoulder the entire time I got into the airport until I reached my gate (aside from the xray scan) it was fairly comfortable for the first few minutes and then I could tell I was carrying it, but it was never tiring.

I was impressed with the bag, it is well organized, and has room to spare. Just be cafeful as it is very, very easy to overpack this thing if you are going to carry it on your shoulder.

I will be buying more from Red Oxx in the future.
 
 One of my favorites!
By kjm3579, Glassboro, NJ, May 16, 2011

I received my Air Boss just a few days before going away for a weekend just before Christmas. At first, the Air Boss looks small and I couldn't figure how all my stuff was going to fit, but I followed the online packing diagram and folded my clothes as shown. I was able to pack for three days and had a lot of room to spare. (I had packed dress clothes, work clothes, and casual clothes). The bag seems to grow as you pack it. I like the heavy duty construction and several people at the hotel noticed the bag. My wife was carrying less and needed to use two bags made by other companies. I am looking forward to trying it out on a few more trips in the coming months.
 
 Lives up to the reviews
By Malcolm H., Portland, Oregon, May 16, 2011

Between having friends rave about this bag, and reading all the positive reviews, I wasn't expecting to be disappointed, and I wasn't. Quality construction, easy to load and unload, holds a lot, and easy to carry. First test trip was to Hawaii for a week. No issues at all. It would be relatively easy to get above the 25lb limit for carryon with this bag, because you can fit so much in it. Very pleased - money well spent.
 
 Great bag that can be yoyr best friend or worst enemy.
By John p, Missouri, May 4, 2011

This little bag has so much room that it is almost bad. I just bouht my boss and when it arrived i was very impressed with the quality. Zippers are big and tought and the fabric feels like it can take a beating.

I recently took this bag on a trip to amsterdam. It was a 7 day trip and i am new to the whole one bag/minimal packing concept. So use the boss, 2 pack-it folders, and a pack-it tube i packed the following:

7 undershirts, overshirts, boxers, pairs of socks, 2 pairs of jeans, 2 pairs of shorts, plus toiletries and such. So i packed enough for three weeks. The bag held it easily and kept good form to fit in carryon. Problem was that it really started to tire the shoulder.

In the end the bag exceeded expectations and the only faults were that of my own. I imagine i may be buying a laptop bag in the near future. Thanks for a great product.
 
 Perfectly simple
By Andy, California, April 29, 2011

On its maiden voyage the AirBoss performed very well. The cavernous space allowed me to pack for a week of business meetings (with space left over) and maintain my "one bag" policy. Build quality is excellent.

Would like to see the shoulder strap available without rubber due to a latex sensitivity.
 
 Excellent!
By Andy Wood, Raleigh, NC, April 28, 2011

What a great bag! I've used it now on a couple of trips, and there are many wonderful things I could say about the bag. The best is that I get an overwhelming sense of satisfaction in not paying the airlines a dime for checking my bag!

Take that- sticking it to the man! How can you not like a bag that does all that?!?
 
 Great Traveling Bag
By Stephen Cross, WV, April 21, 2011

Just returned from our first weekend trip using the Air Boss.

My wife, 5 month old son and I all packed in this one bag.

I slid the diaper bag into the center compartment which swallowed it handily leaving me only one bag to handle along with the stroller.

I expect that this is the first of many trips with this bag as it is a well made product that I believe will serve me well for years to come.

SC
 
 Can your carry-on do this?
By Anonymous, Monument, CO, April 13, 2011

I lived out of this while traveling for 6 months and never had a single complaint, nor did I ever have to gate-check it. Perhaps more amazingly, I used it as a shipping carton when I needed to mail tourist trinkets home from Slovenia and couldn't find a large enough box before my flight. (I held the zipper pulls together with extra cable locks.)It spent about 4 weeks in international mail limbo and arrived home without a scratch and with everything intact. Your mileage may vary.
 
 Terrific Bag!
By Roger, Colorado, April 13, 2011

I thought that this bag was not going to hold all my stuff for a 7 day trip. I was wrong. It is more than enough! Then I felt that this bag would be too big for a carry on, again...I was wrong! It fit perfectly! I even recieved a complement from the stewardess on my smart selection in a bag. This bag is so practicle and durable! Love it! Now I want to buy more Redoxx gear!!
 
 big bad bag
By Mike, Montana, April 8, 2011

I got this bag as a gift- damn nice gift. Fit and finish is top-shelf, nothing cheap or flimsy about it. I end up over-packing, due to its size, but my at least my stuff is safe and organized. I have stuffed this thing like a blimp several times, to the point where I was wishing it came with a mule. I also found out that it will hold two complete IMTV vests (without armor plates). Sweet!
 
 nice bag
By bruce, boise, April 7, 2011

quite nice - great carry on size - robust construction - great customer service
 
 Outstanding bag
By Marc, Amsterdam, the Netherlands, April 7, 2011

In short, this bag is excellent. Fantastic build quality, strong, dependable, easy to pack, and light. I highly recommend it for the business traveller. Perfect for 5 days away, possible for 7.
 
... 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16  ... Next > 
Specifications

Air Boss Spec Size Chart

  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • US Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 53.3cm L x 20.3cm W x 33cm H
  • US Capacity: 2,184 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 35.7 Liters
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Cordura Nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 420 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • 4 lb. Volara closed cell foam padding on exterior panels
  • Double Box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • All zippers #10 YKK self-locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Nylon webbing zipper pull grab loops
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors

Air Boss Carry-on Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 30 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

 

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

Is the Air Boss carry-on legal?
Yes, the Air Boss is carry-on legal on most jet airlines.
 
What's the best way to pack the Air Boss?
The bundle packing method is recommended. Watch the packing video under the Photos and Videos tab or download the printable luggage packing diagram (Pdf file).
 
What's the difference between the Air Boss and the Sky Train?
There are two principle differences between the Air Boss and the Sky Train: The Sky Train has retractable backpack straps and opens flat lengthwise whereas the Air Boss opens flat like a book.
 
Will the Air Boss fit under the seat in front of me?
Cramming the Air Boss under the seat is not recommended.
 
Will the Eagle Creek packing cubes fit the Air Boss?
We recommend that you use our Nomad Shave Kit, Lil Roy Gadget Bag or Tri-fold Toiletry bag as packing cubes. You can color co-ordinate them to your preference and they come with useful carry handles. The Tri-Fold Toiletry Kit is also a brilliant shave kit organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
 
How many pounds will the Air Boss weigh when packed?
It depends on what you pack. A typical 3-5 day load will weigh about 20-25 pounds.
 
How many days travel can I fit in the Air Boss Carry-on?
Most travelers can get about 3-5 days with a typical load. Some adventurous types have been able to pack from a week to ten days! It all depends on how you pack and what you pack.
 
Where do I pack the laptop?
You can use the center compartment. We recommend that you use a padded sleeve to protect your laptop.
 
What's the best way to pack footwear?
Sole to sole to minimize the dirt and placed in the middle compartment. We recommend placing your shoes in a plastic bag first.
 
Can I change the logo color?
Sure. Simply order your favorite color Logo Patch and sew it on yourself. Red Oxx cannot change the patch colors for you.
 
Can I order a bag without the logo?
Logo Patches are centered using a hole punch. If you remove the patch, there will be a hole in the bag that could cause a snag. Red Oxx cannot build a bag without a logo as this would disrupt the efficiency of the production line. Feel free to use a permanent marker to color the patches.
 
Can you lock the Air Boss?
Yes, any TSA approved lock will work. Or you can use one of our inexpensive Cable Locks. Keep in mind, any soft sided bag can be cut open with a sharp knife. It's always better to carry the bag onto the plane and store in the overhead bin where you can keep an eye on it.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
The Air Boss has three large internal compartments. There are no internal pockets.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.