Skip Navigation Links

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I'm your souvenir bag for the flight home.”
Red Oxx Small Aviator Kit Bag

Small Aviator Bag $50.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


Your souvenir bag for the flight home.

Fly out flat, fly home packed.

Carry in your carry-on. Use the Small Aviator Bag as your "extra" carry-on when traveling. It lays flat inside your primary bag when heading out on vacation and after you've found all the trinkets and treasures to bring home for souvenirs, just stuff them in and you can carry this bag onto your flight home. Dozens of other uses. Gym bag, gear bag, sports bag, the list goes on.

The Aviator line of storage and carry gear bags were developed for the budget minded. Featuring the same sturdy materials and hardware as our regular Red Oxx bags, the Aviators are simplicity by design. They don't have a shoulder strap, mostly because the "break-over" zip open design does not condone itself with using a strap. Nor do they have any pockets or padding. Just a good old basic bag to serve basic simple needs without the extravagance or expense.

Just under two feet long, this rectangular bag stands at eight inches wide and nearly a foot tall. The 3/4 wraparound break over #10 YKK heavy-duty zipper configuration opens up the bag nearly flat. Enveloping 1.5 inch wide webbing handle wraps all the way around the bottom of the bag. Webbing is also double box stitched at all stress points. Built to the same heavy-duty exacting standards as all our bags. Available in Black only.

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your Small Aviator Kit Bag on our production schedule. Your bag will then be shipped in under 14 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

Dimensions: 22"L x 8"W x 11"H (Legal carry-on).
Capacity: 1,936 cu. inches. Weight: 1.4 pounds.

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time Distance Map.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, products in production and delivery time? - Check out this personal message from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your Small Aviator.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear with pride.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond a dozen working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is always secure.

Every great bag needs cool accessories.

Read the rave review from Rob M at KK Cool Tools.

Write a Review

4.89 Average Rating
 (47 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 Next > 
 Great bag!
By S. H., MA, July 5, 2012

One of the best bags I´ve ever owned. Just got my second one, although (and because) there´s nothing wrong with the first one. It has lots of miles on it, and I often use it as my primary luggage, as it´s so light.

 
 Fantastic Bag!
By Tartan Bear, Seattle, WA, June 14, 2012

Ordered this bag and extra small mesh bag to use either as a gym bag.

Fell in love with the mesh bag.

The contruction is military tough, industrial quality! I'm using this bag for my tent, tent footprint, and sleeping bag gear for my camping expeditions. Like these bags so much that will order the larger sizes as well. They fit and compliment my Jeep Wrangler Rubicon. Great expedition bags or a BMW motorcycle adventur tour across Afica!

Love the Red Oxx patch in red and the dog tags! Have gotton great compliments on the bags.
 
 Nice Day Bag for all Occasions
By Shelley, Fullerton/Anaheim, May 15, 2012

Ok, so I love all my Redoxx bags. For twenty years I've had all kinds of bags: duffels, backpacks, stachells, hoboes, whatever you want to call them, wheeled bags. But I haven't found any bags as well made as these or as versatile. I have this medium duffel bag and thought I would only use it for clothes. It would pack clothing nicely, but so far I haven't used it for that purpose. I tend to put all my day items in smaller bags, I always have, and my assortment of small and medium items I need for a day fit nicely. Nothing rattles around and I always make sure, especially when I have smaller items, that I put them in bags. I can put my shoulder bag in this bag so that I can just take that with me and leave everything else at work, on lunch hour, for instance. I found it a little hard to pack because of the flexible construction, but it's one of its best features, light, sturdy, and compact.

I don't think this bag needs shoulder straps, I think the construction of it would tend to make the bag heavier with a strap, and sofar the clasp handles are fine for carrying the bag. Keep up the good work Redoxx.

I do have one use for this bag. I have two cats and I've been thinking of putting together a kit for them in case we have to move quickly or get out of the apartment. This bag will be perfect for carrying a small supply of cat food and dishes and a small box of sand, and I mean small. That would get heavy. The cat kit is one of the many plans I have for this bag. Thanks for making such a versatile product. It's it's best feature.
 
 It works
By Jeremiah Reilly, Cambridge MA, May 1, 2012

I keep buying these handy, well made bags, including the mesh edition. I use the XS for travel. With careful packing I can manage a two week trip out of an XS Aviator. I browse the other Red Oxx bags. I love the idea of pockets, straps, colors. But I keep coming back to the Aviator: small, light, sturdy, inexpensive, roomy.
 
 Perfect balance of price and quality
By Robert, Vancouver BC, April 19, 2012

This is the best bag I have ever purchased. Great quality of materials and workmanship in a rugged minimalist bag. This bag is large enough for several weeks for my kind of travel and small enough to be my only carry-on bag.
 
 Great carry on bag
By Aaron, Livermore, January 5, 2012

My wife and I use this bag as a carry on. It works great, holds a ton and fits in the small overhead bins on commuter planes.
 
 Great bag!
By Amy, United States, January 5, 2012

We recently added this bag to our ever growing collection of Red Oxx bags. As with all the Red Oxx bags, this product is beautifully made, is reasonable priced, and is extremely durable.
 
 Exactly as described
By Donald M., Pacific Northwest, December 29, 2011

This bag is exactly as described...it's a big open single-compartment duffle. No exterior or interior pockets, just a solid, well-built BAG. I would think that a barely-filled Aviator would have items moving about, but if you use packing cubes or fill the bag, everything will stay in place. It does take up some room in another suitcase, but it provides the durability to protect whatever you put inside. I wouldn't worry about the bag opening or breaking and having your possessions strewn about.

Heavy-duty zipper, well stitched handles, and monkey-knot pulls.

If you want pockets, dividers or other features, look to other RedOxx models. But if a simple durable "bag" is what you want, you can't go wrong with this.
 
 OH YEAH
By Gerard, North Dakota, November 12, 2011

I have been looking over your products for some time and thought I would try the Medium Aviator Bag, WOW! it's what you said and then some, I really didn't think it would be as good as it was but this bag is "Top Of The Line", I have bought a lot of duffel bags from Wal-Mart and K-Mart so that is what I expected to get, low end with a label. But this bag is well made and bigger then I thought it would be and built like a tank, I'm in for the long haul boys. Thank you Red Oxx
 
 Ideal Carry On
By MI, New York, NY, September 24, 2011

Small Aviator + packing cubes make the perfect carry on. Rectangular shape provides maximum storage space - no wastage from curves, while packing cubes provide organization. Fits easily into overhead bins - was able to even stow a computer bag right on top of the Aviator in a small commuter jet bin. Looks sharp for business - I am a banker and carried a full load of pitch books and documents into a board presentation in this bag, ditching the Tumi roll-on. Over-engineered specs - I don't think I can wear this out.

Now for the gripe. The bag really needs a couple of D rings for a shoulder strap. Nearly every other reviewer has mentioned this. The zippers go all the way around, but you can offset the D ring attachments - or have two on each side, with reinforcing straps stitched underneath and around, parallel to the zippers.

I knew about the lack of attachments for shoulder straps before going in, and still bought it. Why? Because, even after research I couldn't find any bags comparable to the Aviator, with or without shoulder straps, from any manufacturer at any price. Solid 1000D material, robust zippers, clean minimalist design and great American workmanship. Five stars.
 
 Love it
By Sean, China, August 10, 2011

This bag is amazing. I do wish it had a shoulder strap, but it's an Aviator bag, and it's already great. Price is fantastic too!
 
 Good things come in small packages
By kjm3579, Glassboro, NJ, May 16, 2011

I bought this bag as a gift for my son. He goes through duffel bags about one per year so I figured he was a good candidate for the Red Oxx quality and life-time guarantee. He has used this bag for over night and weekend trips and it still looks brand new. It actually measures a little smaller than his last bag but because it isn't divided up into lots of smaller pockets he has a lot more usable room in it. The quality and construction is first rate. The only thing lacking is a place to attach a shoulder strap. My son is pleased with it and I won't have to keep buying duffel bags in the future.
 
 pperfect size
By J-Money, Alabama, March 31, 2011

This bag is the perfect size. It has tackled everyday duty back and forth to the gym as well as two and three night trips. This is my second bag from Red Oxx and third in the house. Do the smart thing and get rid of your "other" luggage.
 
 Favorite Bag
By Mike, St. Louis, February 18, 2011

Absolutely love this bag. Bought a simple bag for work. Work 48 hours shifts on the ambulance and this has more than enough space for everything. Was impressed the minute I opened it. Bag is built like a tank! Great materials, zipper, and workmanship. A testament to American craftmanship.
 
 Excellent, simple bag!
By Anonymous, Zapopan, Mexico, January 6, 2011

This is a very basic bag, very well made with first class materials. I wasn't too convinced about the adequacy of the size, thinking that something like 20"x 13" x 8" would be better, however now I see that I can fit a filled 15"x 10" Eagle Creek folder, plus a pair of slippers and rolled slacks at one end, and two 6.75"x 11" eBags packing cubes on top of each other filled with the rest of my clothing and electronics in the other end. The folder and cubes give enough body so the bag won't sag, and still leave space for a few ziplocks with odds and ends. A shorter and wider bag wouldn't adapt so well to this arrangement.

My only regret is that there are no attachment points for a strap, which is a convenience when you need both hands free, but adding D rings shouldn't be difficult, and I intend to do so. Otherwise a great bag.
 
 Great Bag
By Anonymous, NYC, December 31, 2010

Absolutely great bag that lives up to all of the great reviews here. It's simple, which is what makes it great.
 
 solid bag.
By Anonymous, toronto, ontario, canada., December 30, 2010

a great bag for shopping and all around use. one thing that would be nice if red oxx could change this would be some kind of softer gel like material for the handles. when you have snapped up the two buttons on the handle, the edges of the loops kind of dig into your palm when carrying a heavy load. a very minor problem but just something that i had to mention. something like poron. all in all though, a solid bag. also, don't let the small size name fool you, it's pretty darn big. and the near all around zipper is amazing, makes putting in stuff inside the bag so easy. i got all three sizes, so i am ready to just about anything.

very nice touch of red oxx to include a luggage tag with each bag.
 
 The "KISS" Principle in action
By Al, Port Washington, Wisconsin, October 29, 2010

I have been a long-time user of packing cubes (Eagle Creek & L.L. Bean) in various sizes. I like the fact that the aviator bag is rectangular and accepts the various cubes so easily. I'm packed for a three-day road trip and I still have room for more "stuff". However, I attempt to follow the advice of Antoine de Saint-Exupery: "He who would travel far, travels light". Thanks, Red Oxx, for a well-made, straight-forward piece of gear.
 
 Perfect for packing light
By obform, Red Sox Nation, October 21, 2010

In the month or so I have had this bag it has accompanied me on a 3-day trip to DC and a 2 week trip in Northern Italy. Filled with rolled clothes enough for the casual traveler, toiletries and a book or two it hardly weighs more than an empty rolling suitcase of similar capacity.
 
 10 days in 2 of these
By David B, Madison, WI, October 7, 2010

I took a 10-day trip through Germany and the Czech Republic with two of these bags. One was stuffed full of clothes, the other only mostly full of electronics, shoes, and other misc stuff. Both bags fit perfectly in the overhead compartments or under the seats, both on international jets and tiny shuttle flights.

These things are lightweight, durable, and simple. I've never been a fan of lots of compartments, so these were great for me. Even without packing cubes or compression, I was able to pack as much as I wanted because I didn't have anything in the way, and the bags themselves weigh next to nothing.

If you pack light and hate baggage claim, I can't recommend these enough.
 
1 2 3 Next > 

Photos
Specifications

Aviator Small Specs Size Chart

  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Cordura Nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Wraparound handclasp with Mil-Spec snaps
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Available in Black only
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • US Dimensions: 22"L x 8"W x 11"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 55.9cm L x 20.3cm W x 27.9cm H
  • US Capacity: 1,936 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 31.6 Liters
  • US Weight: 1.4 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 0.64 Kilos

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 14 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

What's the size difference between the Aviators?
Aviators come in four sizes. Look under the specifications tab for the measurements.
 
Why are some Mesh?
We liked the idea of a breathable bag, especially for damp clothes and beach or swimming accessories.
 
Do you have a comparison chart?
There's a photograph of all the bags side by side located under the Photos tab.
 
Are these carry-on legal?
The Extra Small and the Small Aviator are both carry-on legal.
 
Why isn't there a shoulder strap?
The bag would not work with a shoulder strap as the break over zipper configuration is designed to open the bag fully. Check out this review written by a fan for a simple solution to this question in the section titled: Simple Modifications to an Aviator Bag Improves Use.
 
Can you tell me what a "break over zipper configuration" is?
The zipper goes over the top and down the sides of the bag.
 
Are the Kit Bags waterproof?
All Red Oxx bags are water resistant, not waterproof. The stitching puts holes in the fabric.
 
Are they a lesser quality than the rest of your bags?
All Red Oxx Bags are made to the same high quality standards and are covered by our lifetime warranty.
 
Why is the price so much lower?
Our Aviator line represents refined simplicity. By having fewer features such as pockets, heavy-duty hardware and being made in one color with fewer pieces to be cut and stitched, and less time to make each bag, we can charge a much lower price.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
To keep the price down, we did not include interior pockets.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my bag?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.