Skip Navigation Links

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“Tell the weed weasel I have my rule book.”
Red Oxx Railroad Grip

Railroad Grip $200.00


Embroidered Monogram Patches:

  • One - Three Initials $7.50
  • Four - Ten Letters $10.00

X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


WANTED... Railroader's Grip that lasts! And lasts...

This is the bag you've been hearing about and spotted out on the tracks.

DESIGNED BY RAILROADERS.
Red Oxx has been hand building this grip for locomotive railroad engineers here in Billings, Montana since 1992. Together with a group of five rail engineers, Red Oxx created an American-made bag that could survive the rough rail life. Designed with the help of these fellow engineers and train crew members at our local rail hub, it's been tested tough to the extreme, making it the perfect rail work grip. This bag is made out of our strongest material; 1050 heavy weight denier Ballistic Nylon (available only in BLACK) that will not shred, rip or tear. Originally developed as a flak jacket material, ballistic nylon is one of the strongest and durable flexible textiles available.

FITS YOUR RAIL GEAR.
Sized to fit the large GCOR rule book in one end pocket, your lantern and radio in the other, you'll still have room for a week (or more) worth of clothes and your shaving kit in the cavernous main compartment. There are plenty of places to stow smaller things in the zippered flat pockets located on all sides of the bag.

Our "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty guarantees this'll be the last grip you'll ever have to buy! Why?

NO JUNK MATERIALS.
No skinny plastic zippers, cheap thread or junky low-grade hardware like other rail grips. Red Oxx uses huge, tested-tough #10 YKK nylon self-locking zippers that work every time. Easy to close, easy to open. Our thread is a proprietary UV protected #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon that will cut your fingers off before you can break it. UV protection from the sun resists thread aging, a common breakdown point used in typical inferior bags. Since we're former military parachute riggers, you can bet every stress point is double cross-stitched.

PUTTING THE HARD IN HEAVY-DUTY HARDWARE.
When you see and feel the sheer heft our stainless steel and nickel-plated hardware you'll understand why so many railroaders swear by our grips. Just check out over two hundred and fifty product reviews from satisfied engineers and railmen who have tried them all, some of them have burned through several competitors bags in a year.

BOUND, NOT GAGGED
Places where two separate pieces of fabric are stitched together are then bound, that is, we take a long piece of one inch wide nylon webbing and fold it over the edges of the two pieces and stitch them together, this creates a strong seam, or binding, that prevents the pieces from unraveling on the inside of the bag, or gives it a clean finished look if on the outside of the bag. In addition, each exposed fabric edge, such as on a pocket flap, is also bound using a thicker binding material. Inside edges typically receive a thinner nylon webbing, whereas outside corner edges that are exposed to wear will have a thicker nylon binding. All of our binding material is vertically woven to prevent fraying, peeling or splitting that you may commonly see in less expensive grips that brag of "binding" their edges.

Life on the tracks is hard. It's about steel, oil and hard edges that cut and tear a regular bag to pieces. The Red Oxx Railroad Grip: "stronger than Armstrong."

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order today to get your Grip on our factory production schedule. Delivery under normal circumstances is under 21 working days. During the holidays, it can be longer than 21 working days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

PERSONALIZE IT.
Because an embroidered grip is a respected grip. Order an Embroidered Monogram and make your Grip --yours. Available in red lettering only - located on top zipper panel only.

  • Three initials for only $7.50.
  • Up to ten characters (including spaces, dashes and periods) for only $10.00.

NOTE: Custom Embroidered Monogramed grips add an additional 3-5 business days before shipping.

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time Distance Map.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, products in production and delivery time? - Check out this personal message from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your Grip.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear with pride.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond a dozen working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is always secure.

Dimensions: 24"L x 12"W x 12"H
Capacity: 3,456 cu. inches
Weight: 4.7 pounds

Pocket measurements:

  • Front and rear flat slip zippered pockets: 13"W x 8"H
  • Dual end flat slip pockets: 11"W x 11"H
  • Dual end 3/4 zippered compartments: 12"W x 12"H x 4"D
  • Main compartment: 12"W x 16"L x 12"D

Every great trainman bag needs Railroader accessories.

Download this free collectable Railroad Grip and Rucksack PDF Brochure (3.7MB).
Download this free collectable Railroader Accessories PDF Brochure (3.4MB).

Other ideal uses for the rugged Railroad Grip include:

  • Riggers bag - tough enough for any oil rigging job.
  • Trucker cargo bag - great for tools and travel gear.
  • Roughneck bag - If you work a tough job, this is your bag.
  • Horse tack bag
  • Rodeo bag
  • Roping bag
  • Halter bag
  • Trainers bag
  • AMR Pack
  • FIFO Miners Bag
  • Construction worker bag
  • NRC tool bag

Fun GRIP Trivia: It's called a Grip as this comes from the rail line term for a bag coined as a "Grip sack." This was a bag issued by the RR for employees to organize and carry their stuff. It was a large canvas bag with big handles. As the years passed, the term was shortened to Grip.

Write a Review

4.87 Average Rating
 (286 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ... Next > 
 Outstanding!
By C. G. Vesely, Portage, WI, December 24, 2012

The best grip I have ever seen....period! Worth every penny!
 
 AWESOME
By hard degnan, london, ontario. canada, December 20, 2012

great railway grip. perfect for any railroader. just wish i would have bought one of these 23 years ago when i hired on. durable, tough fits all your gear and looks great doing it. it will definately out last me. great value for the price. good job dudes
 
 Its Guuuud
By Anonymous, , December 19, 2012

Solid Grip, Price was high, but value per dollar spent was worth it.

The bag is nice and tall; but not very long.

It easily fits insulated coveralls, lantern, sweater, jacket, vest, radio, with room for another change of clothes easily.
 
 Great Grip!
By Jeff, Texas, December 13, 2012

I wish I had this grip years sooner. Very rugged as advertised, more than enough room for several changes of clothes. All the extra side pockets are more than adequate for rule books, radio, and all the garb railroaders are required to have. Very pleased with my purchase!
 
 Love the grip
By Kevin, California, December 12, 2012

I love the large center area for my clothes and all the pockets around for all my books, gloves, radio, etc. I love the heavy duty zippers on this since that is the first ring that went out on my tuffbag.
 
 Montana tough
By Montanan, Missoula, Mt, December 6, 2012

So far so good. Made in Montana just like me! Tough, rugged, and long lasting! Recommend it to any railroader out there! Thanks for the good grip!
 
 Awesome Grip!
By Eric, Indiana, December 5, 2012

I've had my grip for almost 2 months and its everything they advertise and more!! More room than any other bag I've owned in my ten years on the railroad. My only regret is that I didn't buy one sooner!!
 
 Worth the Cost $$$
By Anonymous, SouthWest Indiana, November 28, 2012

Bought this grip over a year ago and it's still like new. Heavy built and lots of room. And with 30 years left on the rails the cost figures out very low per year. Recommend it to any and all. Now seeing more of them around terminals and not a bad word said about them. Great USA product.
 
 4 years later...
By Anonymous, Revelstoke, BC, Canada, November 27, 2012

I bought this grip four years ago, and it still works like the day I got it.

I don't remember putting in a review back when I got this, so I figured I'd give one now that I'm back looking at the Rucksack version (wasn't available then). The workmanship and materials is as close to perfect as could be achieved. Everything has lasted. The design allows for easy organisation (I do use some mesh bags inside the main compartment to keep things like my cooking kit all separated). The shoulder strap does an excellent job of not slipping (great for getting on/off the unit).

I'm planning to get a Rucksack version now, since the extra capacity and "backpack style" carrying would be nice.
 
 Great Grip
By Anonymous, , November 25, 2012

Great Grip! Size is just right for most railroaders. The zippers are much better than those found on bags made by other companies.
 
 Finally a grip done right
By Brett, Houston TX, November 8, 2012

finally a tough ass bag that doesnt break after two trips or zippers fall apart. lobe att he space will be buying the backpack and shaving kit since ive seen the quality of these products
 
 A Heavy-Duty Beauty
By Anonymous, Arlington, VA, November 1, 2012

This is a really heavy-duty bag that holds a ton of gear. It looks to be very well made, and I expect it will outlast me.
 
 Great bag
By Aaron , Mn , November 1, 2012

This is the best bag i have ever used ! It has so much room for my books and clothes for all weather conditions it was worth every dollar ! Great product
 
 Rule book storage
By Craig, Grand Mound, IA, October 18, 2012

I like the bag, plenty of room for all of the rule books we need to carry these days.
 
 Perfect
By MDHart, Ft Worth, October 18, 2012

This bag is exactly what I had hoped it would be. I had thought about buying the backpack but after seeing one I'm glad I didn't. I think its way too big for me to carry on my everyday travels. I'll only wished how to make the to make the purchase.
 
 Awesome Grip
By Keith Dickerson, Fort Wayne Indiana, October 11, 2012

The absolute best grip I have ever owned. I would definitely recommend this bag to anyone that needs tough and durable luggage. I had plenty of room for all my gear and books. Well worth the money!
 
 Duffle Grip
By Anonymous, Indiana, October 5, 2012

Very well built, and even has ample room for everything a conductor needs to carry.
 
 Great Product!!!
By David Williams, Illinois, October 4, 2012

Currently using this grip on the road. Have only had it a few weeks but love it already, perfect for railroaders! I have tried other brands only to find that they wear out easily ( including Tuff Bag, which by the way only has an 18 mo. limited guarantee ) I have laminated my receipt and have no intention of purchasing another railroad grib ever again!
 
 Extremely Functional!
By Anonymous, Alberta, Canada, September 29, 2012

Was due for a new grip, replacing the one I have had for about 6 or 7 years. Saw this grip on the property and was impressed by build quality and functionality. Upon receiving my order I was concerned to see the bag had no bottom support. Thankfully after loading up the grip, the lack of a hard bottom does not seem to be an issue. This grip is built tough, is roomy, and has a lot of compartments to separate and organize your belongings.
 
 Railway Grip
By R.A.Stuart, Winnipeg,Mb.,Can., September 28, 2012

This is an excellent quality grip for any railroader , yes has many of the necessary pockets to carry all of the required stuff , however the American Rule Book must be of different size than its Canadian counterpart , as such can only be accomodated in the main section as none of the pockets will fit in either a vertical or horizontal position. So rules the binder.
 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ... Next > 
Specifications

  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Designed AND made in USA
  • 1050 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Ballistic nylon fabric
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Nylon webbing zipper pull grab loops
  • Thread: #92 bonded Solar Max Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • 3250 welded D Rings, nickel plated
  • Stainless Steel Mil spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Nickel plated turn locks secure main compartment
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Available in BLACK only
  • Embroidery available in RED only
  • Monogram embroidery available on Grip and Rail King only
  • Designed by railroaders for railroaders
  • US Dimensions: 24"L x 12"W x 12"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 70cm L x 30.5cm W x 30.5cm H
  • US Capacity: 3,456 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 65.1 Liters
  • US Weight: 4.7 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 2.13 Kilos
  • Free collectable download Railroad Grip and Rucksack PDF Brochure

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 21 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

How does the Grip compare to the Safari Beano's Duffel Bags?
The Grip is built using a heavier and stronger 1050 weight ballistic cordura nylon, our toughest. An ideal textile for Railroaders and the hardships of the rail line.
 
What is Ballistic Nylon?
Ballistic nylon is a thick, tough, synthetic nylon fabric used for a variety of applications. Ballistic nylon was originally developed by the DuPont corporation as a material for flak jackets to be worn by World War II airmen. The term ballistic nylon takes its name from the fact that it was intended to protect its wearers from flying debris and fragmentation caused by bullet or artillery shell impacts. This is a special grade heavier weight cordura nylon designed for hard use and colored black to help hide dirt, oil, and grease stains.
 
What colors does the embroidery come in?
Embroidery is only available in red.
 
Can I get a Grip in a different color other than black?
Our U.S.A. sourced ballistic nylon is currently only available in black.
 
Will my rulebook (US), radio, and lantern fit inside?
Yes, the Grip was specifically designed to hold this particular railroader gear.
 
Are there any interior pockets or dividers?
We recommend using our Nomad toiletry kit and/or Lil Roy Gadget bags to organize your belongings inside your Grip. The Tri-fold Toiletry bag is also a great organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
 
Is there a railroad discount available?
Red Oxx eliminates the middle man with it's factory direct to consumer model. Our prices are based on the length of time it takes to build a bag and the cost of materials. Each bag we build comes with our iron clad "No Bull", no questions asked lifetime warranty. You will save considerable money in the long run because you bought only one bag, not to mention peace of mind knowing you own a Railroad Grip that will not fail.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my Grip?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.