Skip Navigation Links

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“Tell the weed weasel I have my rule book.”
Red Oxx Railroad Grip

Railroad Grip $200.00


Currently out of stock. Place your order today and it will ship within 30 days.

Embroidered Monogram Patches:

  • One - Three Initials $7.50
  • Four - Ten Letters $10.00

Embroidered Monogram Patches:

  • One - Three Initials $7.50
  • Four - Ten Letters $10.00

X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


WANTED... Railroader's Grip that lasts! And lasts...

This is the bag you've been hearing about and may have spotted out on the tracks.

DESIGNED BY RAILROADERS.
Red Oxx has been hand building this grip for locomotive railroad engineers here in Billings, Montana since 1992. Together with a group of five rail engineers, Red Oxx created an American-made bag that could survive the rough rail life. Designed with the help of these fellow engineers and train crew members at our local rail hub, it's been tested tough to the extreme, making it the perfect work grip. This bag is made out of our strongest material; 1050 heavy weight denier Ballistic Nylon (available only in BLACK) that will not shred, rip or tear. Originally eveloped as a flak jacket material, ballistic nylon is one of the strongest flexible textiles made.

FITS YOUR RAIL GEAR.
Sized to fit the large GCOR rule book in one end pocket, your lantern and radio in the other, you'll still have room for a week or more worth of clothes and your shaving kit in the cavernous main compartment. There are plenty of places to stow smaller things in the zippered flat pockets located on all sides of the bag.

Our "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty guarantees this'll be the last grip you'll ever have to buy! Why?

NO JUNK MATERIALS.
No plastic zippers, cheap thread or junky low-grade hardware like other rail grips. Red Oxx uses huge, tested tough #10 YKK nylon self-locking zippers that work every time. Easy to close, easy to open. Our thread is a proprietary UV protected #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon that will cut your fingers off before you can break it. UV protection from the sun resists thread aging. Since we're former military parachute riggers, you can bet every stress point is double cross-stitched.

PUTTING THE HARD IN HEAVY-DUTY HARDWARE.
When you see and feel the sheer heft our stainless steel and nickel-plated hardware you'll understand why so many railroaders swear by our grips. Just check out over two hundred and fifty product reviews from satisfied engineers and railmen who have tried them all, some of them several competitors bags in a year.

Life on the tracks is hard. It's about steel, oil and hard edges that cut and tear a regular bag to pieces. The Red Oxx Railroad Grip: stronger than Armstrong.

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order today to get your Grip on our factory production schedule. Delivery under normal circumstances is under 30 working days. During the holidays, it can be longer than 30 working days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

PERSONALIZE IT.
Because an embroidered grip is a respected grip. Order an Embroidered Monogram and make your Grip --yours. Available in red lettering only - located on top zipper panel only.

  • Three initials for only $7.50.
  • Up to ten characters (including spaces, dashes and periods) for only $10.00.

NOTE: Custom Embroidered Monogramed grips add an additional 2-3 business days before shipping.

"No Bull" Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, in production products and delivery time? - Check out this personal message from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the steps it takes to handcraft your Grip.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email and a review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. Backorders beyond a dozen days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is secure.

Dimensions: 24"L x 12"W x 12"H
Capacity: 3,456 cu. inches

Pocket measurements:

  • Front and rear flat slip zippered pockets: 13"W x 8"H
  • Dual end flat slip pockets: 11"W x 11"H
  • Dual end 3/4 zippered compartments: 12"W x 12"H x 4"D
  • Main compartment: 12"W x 16"L x 12"D

Every great trainman bag needs Railroader accessories.

Download this free collectable Railroad Grip and Rucksack PDF Brochure (3.7MB).
Download this free collectable Railroader Accessories PDF Brochure (3.4MB).

Other ideal uses for the rugged Railroad Grip include:

  • Riggers bag - tough enough for any oil rigging job.
  • Trucker cargo bag - great for tools and travel gear.
  • Roughneck bag - If you work a tough job, this is your bag.
  • Horse tack bag
  • Rodeo bag
  • Roping bag
  • Halter bag
  • Trainers bag
  • AMR Pack
  • FIFO Miners Bag
  • Construction worker bag
  • NRC tool bag

Fun GRIP Trivia: It's called a Grip as this comes from the rail line term for a bag coined as a "Grip sack." This was a bag issued by the RR for employees to organize and carry their stuff. It was a large canvas bag with big handles. As the years passed, the term was shortened to Grip.

Write a Review

4.86 Average Rating
 (273 Reviews)

 
... 9 10 11 12 13 14 Next > 
 More durable than the CSX GRIP
By Nancy Meeks, Auburn, IN, December 18, 2010

This grip was purchased for a conductor who has gone through several bags over the last few years. The material used for this bag is very durable and looks to be worth every dollar spent.

Many people agree that it has plenty of room. However, I must agree with Norm, the main compartment could be about 6" longer. Perhaps it is because my railroader is very tall and needs a little extra room in his grip for the extra material of his clothing, especially in the winter months. Overall it does have room and the compartments are great.

I enjoyed the review done by Pete, on July 20, 2010 I suggest reading it.

I would definitely recommend this grip for ALL railroaders. Their job is so tough on their grip and with this Red Oxx you will never need another one.

Thank you Red Oxx, I appreciate well constructed items that I can buy to support a company that offers something made, right here, in America.
 
 GREAT GRIP! GREAT SERVICE!
By Anonymous, SPOKANE WA, December 16, 2010

I BOUGHT THIS GRIP FOR MY HUSBANDS BIRTHDAY AND I DIDN'T THINK IT WOULD BE HERE ON TIME AS I WAS LAST MNUTE BUYING. NOT ONLY WAS IT HERE FOR HIS B-DAY BUT IT LIVED UP TO IT'S HYPE. MY HUSBAND LOVES HIS NEW GRIP AND THE OTHER RAILROADERS DROOL OVER IT! :) I LOVED SUPPORTING A LOCAL CO AND APPRECIATE GOOD QUALITY MERCHANDISE AND SERVICE. THANKS!!
 
 Railroad Grip
By Jay Nedds, Willard, Oh, December 15, 2010

I like the bag, enough stuff was already written on how good this bag is, so I tried to think of how I'd improve it. The only thing I can think of, maybe make one of the end pockets about 1 inch longer, so if you have any gear that won't fit in one end it may in the other. (I'm talking about the big end compartment, if you're not sure.) How about adding a pocket on the top flap, about 4X8 inches, big enough for pens, cell phone, wallet,ect.
 
 pocket
By Don Gardner, Conroe Tx, November 28, 2010

This bag is great, just needs a pocket that dosen't have a zipper for easy access for pens etc. Still a great bag.
 
 Great Grip
By Norm, Waseca, MN, November 17, 2010

This has been the best grip I have owned over my 32 years of railroading. I would and do highly recommend this to my co-workers. I am going to be one of the weirdo's that actually wish it was about 6 inches longer in the main body.
 
 Last Railroad Grip I'll Ever Buy....That Good!
By Jeffro, Clovis, October 28, 2010

This is the BEST grip I've ever owned, by far. Large enough to hold all the my gear. My favorite feature is the end pockets.... large enough to hold my RR rule book. Super heavy duty construction. Superior product without a doubt. Well worth the money. Wish I would have bought one of these years ago. Last thing.... THIS BAG IS MADE IN AMERICA.... Thank you. Stay safe everyone.
 
 Best bag I have ever owned..
By Gary, NW Indiana, October 27, 2010

I think this bag is stylish and totally functional. It also helps that it is tough as nails! I carry this to work every day. It will no doubt get me to retirement!
 
 Don't Wait like I did!
By Happy Hogger, CN/IC down South, October 21, 2010

I only wish I'd done this a few years ago. Plenty tough, plenty of room and already getting stuffed, tossed and abused! NO PROBLEM!!!
 
 great grip
By Sean, buffalo, ny, October 20, 2010

great grip, seems to hold everything i need,very well made. Ed said buy it and so I did. thanx for a great product.
 
 plenty of room
By Gayl, North Dakota, October 7, 2010

The grip has plenty of room for all the stuff I carry and looks to have room for my winter gear, too! I only wish the strap were a little wider. I am really happy with this gift from my wonderful family!!
 
 Name Here
By Anonymous, UPRR Big Spring, Tx, September 30, 2010

This bag is everything "positive that is" that all the other reviews say it is. I'm a conduct in Texas and one thing I can say is, if "ahem" when you order this grip spend the extra bucks to get your name on it. I got my name on mine and I've gotten a lot of comments on it, plus it looks cool, unless you've gotta nerdy name. BUY THIS BAG YOU WON'T REGRET IT!!!
 
 The Perfect Railroad Grip
By Anonymous, Houston,TX, September 23, 2010

I have finally found the perfect grip. After using several different grips through the years I now have the last one I will ever need. My last grip was a tuffbag which started having zipper issues after 2 weeks of use. When I recieved my redoxx grip I loaded all of my stuff in it with no problems and since have been pretty tough on it. This bag has taken some heavy abuse already and still has no problems. I also have had many co-workers ask about it and they all want to get one now. I have 20+ years left to work and it will be with a redoxx grip, nothing else!!!
 
 Expect more Orders
By Anonymous, Canada, September 16, 2010

Quality made from the get go. The hardware is outstanding, and is necessary for the day to day abuse I give a grip. I was a little scared off by the price to start with being I couldn't inspect the bag before buying. I can tell you though it is definately worth the money and is deceptively larger than i thought. The warranty is awesome (if I ever need it).

The monographing comes in red which is very striking on a black bag. My bag is now the envy of other grip in the terminal.
 
 Great Bag
By Anonymous, KCMO UPRR, September 2, 2010

This bag is great! Had no problem fitting all my stuff in it. Rugged material and heavy duty straps, zippers and clasps are great. No worries of anything tearing or breaking even after loading at the last 30lbs of stuff in it. The only things I would change would be to put on heavier duty bottom material to resist fraying from sliding it across the diamond plate on the front of a locomotive walkway and a key ring inside one of the pockets to hang your switch keys from. Other than that it has been a great bag.
 
 the best railroad grip money can buy
By JUSTIN, arkansas, August 13, 2010

you get what you pay for. i had a tuffbag for 5 years and was satsfied with it until the zippers started coming apart. called tuffbag to repair and was told it would be 8 dollars per zipper and freight both ways. total of 68 to 72 dollars. i only paid 96 for the bag. i saw a redoxx at work not long after that and put my order in. by far the best grip i have owned.
 
 As close to perfect as you can get
By Tim, Kansas City, August 12, 2010

Have used the railroad grip for 1 month and would buy again...perfect size for an engineer and zippers work best by grabbing ends of monkey knots, which seems like common sense but I was so use to grabbing the tiny zippers on old grip I continued doing same. Only thing I would suggest is a key ring holder inside of the grip to keep thieves from taking switch lock keys...and maybe some internal pockets...excellent product.

---------------------------------------Tim, we're looking for a portable key holder you can attach to the inside of your bag that meets our reliability requirements and toughness standards. Stay tuned ~ Minister of Information for D.O.R.A.
 
 Worth Every Cent
By Norris Kasey, Roanoke, VA, August 8, 2010

I needed a grip for my job as a conductor that can take the abuse of being moved on and off a locomotive. I constantly get caught on the small doors all the time. my old grips would tear or brake zippers. lasting about 5 to 6 months. not this one it can take a beating and show no signs of it. you get what you pay for. great bag.
 
 Great R.R. Grip
By Conrad, Escanaba, MI, July 29, 2010

I am a Locomotive Engineer in Upper Michigan and i've been fed up having to replace grips every year or two. When I received this Red Oxx grip, I was a bit worried because it looked small but after transferering all of my crap into it, theres still plenty of room for half as much more stuff. I'm impressed with the quality of the zippers, straps, and hooks. The material appears that it will last for many years. The only problem I can see is that there is no kind of reinforcement material on the bottom of the bag, and since railroaders are always tossing thier grips on and off of locomotive walkways, I can see the possibility of the material fraying over time on the bottom. All in all, I am very impressed with this grip and i'm confident that it will outlast anything i've purchased in the past.
 
 Best Grip Ever!!!!!!
By Jon Kephart, Richmond,VA, July 29, 2010

This is by far the best grip money can buy. I had no problem spending the money on a bag that has a Lifetime Guarantee. I recommend this grip to everyone.
 
 Nothin' fancy
By Pete, Fort Fun, CO, July 20, 2010

I'm not a railroader, but I did stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night. I travel 30 weeks a year as an underpaid, overworked, sleep deprived consulting engineer in the power industry and I'm pretty hard on my equipment, but hey, so are baggage handlers. I currently roll with the CPA Briefcase and Trifold Shave Kit so admittedly, I'm a bit of a Red Oxx fan.

I needed a truck bag that I could wedge into the extended cab of a Tacoma or bungee cord to a flatbed Blue Heeler-style when I drive. I needed something bulletproof to use as luggage that could also comfortably pull double duty in the field when I fly. What I really needed was to get over to the Red Oxx webpage and see what treasures they had for me. I found the railroad grip accidentally in a section of the webpage away from the more "civilian" products and fell in love with it. Heck, I've only had it for a few days and I'm still basking in the afterglow while smoking a cigarette.

I believe it was the great warrior poet Colonel Hannibal Smith who once said, "Overkill is underrated." The boys from Red Oxx know a little something about overkill and they don't make crappy stuff. Read the reviews. Yeah, it's spendy, but when that box comes off the big brown truck and you lay your filthy paws on your new bag(s) for the first time you'll get over it quickly. Plus you gotta love them no nonsense Montana guys who, in our carbon-neutral, mush-mouth, fast-paced, flip-flopper, dead-tech, hope-and-change 21st century world still have a no-BS one-sentence lifetime warranty. Not that you'll need the warranty, mind you, unless a toddler or hungry Grizzly or pissed off Great White gets ahold of your bag. Even then they'd prolly fix it, no questions asked, just for the great story.

I buy from these guys because I'm supporting a small business owned by former Marines and native Montanans who make top shelf products by hand with love in every stitch. This way I'm not contributing to those bonuses for Evil Corporate America we've all heard so much about. I slave hard for my pittance so when I spend money, I shop hard and buy good food, good booze, good tools, and good gear. I avoid cheap China-made crap (which is increasingly difficult to do) and like it when folks like the Red Oxx boys answer the phone on the second ring and have instant answers to my questions.

Oh yeah, the bag. It's all been said in the reviews below. It's a black heavy duty rectangular bag that will swallow a ton of stuff and still fit nicely in confined spaces. Nothin' fancy, just big square pockets and bomber construction. It's not a periwinkle blue Bedazzled manpurse from Linens'n'Things containing yoga pants, a soy latte, and a few The Fray CDs. If that's what you're after, stop reading right now and move back to SoCal. It you need a hard use, buy once/cry once truck bag/luggage/gym bag/range bag from Planet Kickass that your grandkids will fight over when you're dead (and I know you do, you manly man of action, you), find a few pennies between the couch cushions and save up for this action.
 
... 9 10 11 12 13 14 Next > 
Specifications

  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Designed AND made in USA
  • 1050 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Ballistic nylon fabric
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Nylon webbing zipper pull grab loops
  • Thread: #92 bonded Solar Max Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • 3250 welded D Rings, nickel plated
  • Stainless Steel Mil spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Nickel plated turn locks secure main compartment
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Available in BLACK only
  • Embroidery available in RED only
  • Monogram embroidery available on Grip and Rail King only
  • Designed by railroaders for railroaders
  • US Dimensions: 24"L x 12"W x 12"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 70cm L x 30.5cm W x 30.5cm H
  • US Capacity: 3,456 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 65.1 Liters
  • Free collectable download Railroad Grip and Rucksack PDF Brochure

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 30 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

How does the Grip compare to the Safari Beano's Duffel Bags?
The Grip is built using a heavier and stronger 1050 weight ballistic cordura nylon, our toughest. An ideal textile for Railroaders and the hardships of the rail line.
 
What is Ballistic Nylon?
This is a special grade heavier weight cordura nylon designed for hard use that helps hide dirt, oil and grease stains.
 
What colors does the embroidery come in?
Embroidery is only available in red.
 
Can I get a Grip in a different color other than black?
Our U.S.A. sourced ballistic nylon is currently only available in black.
 
Will my rulebook (US), radio, and lantern fit inside?
Yes, the Grip was specifically designed to hold this particular railroader gear.
 
Are there any interior pockets or dividers?
We recommend using our Nomad toiletry kit and/or Lil Roy Gadget bags to organize your belongings inside your Grip. The Tri-fold Toiletry bag is also a great organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
 
Is there a railroad discount available?
Red Oxx eliminates the middle man with it's factory direct to consumer model. Our prices are based on the length of time it takes to build a bag and the cost of materials. Each bag we build comes with our iron clad "No Bull", no questions asked lifetime warranty. You will save considerable money in the long run because you bought only one bag, not to mention peace of mind knowing you own a Railroad Grip that will not fail.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my Grip?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.