Skip Navigation Links

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“Tell the weed weasel I have my rule book.”
Red Oxx Railroad Grip

Railroad Grip $200.00


Embroidered Monogram Patches:

  • One - Three Initials $7.50
  • Four - Ten Letters $10.00

X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


WANTED... Railroader's Grip that lasts! And lasts...

This is the bag you've been hearing about and may have spotted out on the tracks.

DESIGNED BY RAILROADERS.
Red Oxx has been hand building this grip for locomotive railroad engineers here in Billings, Montana since 1992. Together with a group of five rail engineers, Red Oxx created an American-made bag that could survive the rough rail life. Designed with the help of these fellow engineers and train crew members at our local rail hub, it's been tested tough to the extreme, making it the perfect work grip. This bag is made out of our strongest material; 1050 heavy weight denier Ballistic Nylon (available only in BLACK) that will not shred, rip or tear. Originally developed as a flak jacket material, ballistic nylon is one of the strongest flexible textiles made.

FITS YOUR RAIL GEAR.
Sized to fit the large GCOR rule book in one end pocket, your lantern and radio in the other, you'll still have room for a week or more worth of clothes and your shaving kit in the cavernous main compartment. There are plenty of places to stow smaller things in the zippered flat pockets located on all sides of the bag.

Our "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty guarantees this'll be the last grip you'll ever have to buy! Why?

NO JUNK MATERIALS.
No plastic zippers, cheap thread or junky low-grade hardware like other rail grips. Red Oxx uses huge, tested tough #10 YKK nylon self-locking zippers that work every time. Easy to close, easy to open. Our thread is a proprietary UV protected #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon that will cut your fingers off before you can break it. UV protection from the sun resists thread aging. Since we're former military parachute riggers, you can bet every stress point is double cross-stitched.

PUTTING THE HARD IN HEAVY-DUTY HARDWARE.
When you see and feel the sheer heft our stainless steel and nickel-plated hardware you'll understand why so many railroaders swear by our grips. Just check out over two hundred and fifty product reviews from satisfied engineers and railmen who have tried them all, some of them several competitors bags in a year.

Life on the tracks is hard. It's about steel, oil and hard edges that cut and tear a regular bag to pieces. The Red Oxx Railroad Grip: stronger than Armstrong.

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order today to get your Grip on our factory production schedule. Delivery under normal circumstances is under 30 working days. During the holidays, it can be longer than 30 working days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

PERSONALIZE IT.
Because an embroidered grip is a respected grip. Order an Embroidered Monogram and make your Grip --yours. Available in red lettering only - located on top zipper panel only.

  • Three initials for only $7.50.
  • Up to ten characters (including spaces, dashes and periods) for only $10.00.

NOTE: Custom Embroidered Monogramed grips add an additional 2-3 business days before shipping.

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time Distance Map.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, products in production and delivery time? - Check out this personal message from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your Lil Roy.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear with pride.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond a dozen working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is always secure.

Dimensions: 24"L x 12"W x 12"H
Capacity: 3,456 cu. inches
Weight: 4.7 pounds

Pocket measurements:

  • Front and rear flat slip zippered pockets: 13"W x 8"H
  • Dual end flat slip pockets: 11"W x 11"H
  • Dual end 3/4 zippered compartments: 12"W x 12"H x 4"D
  • Main compartment: 12"W x 16"L x 12"D

Every great trainman bag needs Railroader accessories.

Download this free collectable Railroad Grip and Rucksack PDF Brochure (3.7MB).
Download this free collectable Railroader Accessories PDF Brochure (3.4MB).

Other ideal uses for the rugged Railroad Grip include:

  • Riggers bag - tough enough for any oil rigging job.
  • Trucker cargo bag - great for tools and travel gear.
  • Roughneck bag - If you work a tough job, this is your bag.
  • Horse tack bag
  • Rodeo bag
  • Roping bag
  • Halter bag
  • Trainers bag
  • AMR Pack
  • FIFO Miners Bag
  • Construction worker bag
  • NRC tool bag

Fun GRIP Trivia: It's called a Grip as this comes from the rail line term for a bag coined as a "Grip sack." This was a bag issued by the RR for employees to organize and carry their stuff. It was a large canvas bag with big handles. As the years passed, the term was shortened to Grip.

Write a Review

4.86 Average Rating
 (281 Reviews)

 
... 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 Next > 
 About time for a real "Grip"
By Scott G., SE Oklahoma, October 2, 2011

I used to go thru grips about one every 6 months. I had a High Sierra bag that lasted about a year and a half & this is replacing it. Poor zippers & non-skid on the locomotives are the Achilles heal of grips by my experience.

What do I think about this grip? I think it's built like a tank & worth every penny. Everything to do with the railroad industry is heavy duty & someone finally got it & made a grip to last. All of the hardware is big & tough, zipper is what I would call industrial, and I love the way the shoulder strap is made...nice touch. Only reason that I gave it 4 stars is because it doesn't have anywhere for small stuff like pens, ear plugs, cell, & so on. Would be a nice touch on the side somewhere.

I recommend putting your rule books in the bottom to keep bag from "taco-ing".

Yes, I do recommend this grip to anyone. The warranty alone is worth it...

Scott

Engineer
 
 railroad grip
By B, Illinois, August 30, 2011

have only made two round trips with this bag but can already tell it was well worth the extra bucks to purchase. well built and will hold everything. rule book, flashlight, gloves, reflective vest, reverser and keys in one end pocket. shaving bag and change of clothes in other end pocket. leaving plenty of room for whatever else in main compartment. the only thing i wish it had was a loop to keep ink pen in, so you don't have to go fishing to copy gbo or something. love the bag.
 
 Great.
By Anonymous, Montana, August 11, 2011

Great grip. I was pretty disappointed you didn't have the different color zipper pulls so I had to knock a star off
 
 How to Keep Your Bag from Folding
By Shelley, Fullerton and Anaheim California , August 10, 2011

This is a combination follow up review and advice dispenser. I've owned this bag for a month. I'm the sometimes proud and not so proud owner of a lot of bags in my day, I don't drive and I carry everything with me. I'm sure it will end up on a train trip with me, soon. The railroad grip is the best bag I've ever owned.

Here are some hints on how to pack so it won't fold if you don't think you have enough stuff to fill it. This bag is not only durable it's flexible and packing it is an art form. I put a lightweight summer jacket on the very bottom, yes it gets cool these days where I reside, and then place heavier items on top such as my water bottle, empty because this bag does leak if water gets out of it, a problem that is easily fixed by putting a heavy duty towel on the bottom just in case. I'm always prepared it's my motto.

I also put a bag with my wallet, first aid kit, foldable walking cane, lunch bag, and other misalaneous stuff, whatever i can think of at the time. I find that putting something reasonably lightweight on the bottom keeps the bag more stabled on the bottom. I live out of this bag. I don't run trains but I keep sixteen hour days, I call this my Sixteen Hour Day bag! It's the best.

The deep pockets holds my headset, a small radio, bag with a flash light, rain gear, yes I put rain gear in my bag during the summer, and one pocket is devoted for snacks, protein bars, an idea I got from reading one of the engineer reviews here. That was an excelent idea! I wanted a bag carried by and designed for the gear of train crews. I didn't know how perfect it would be for me, a woman who definitely doesn't carry a foo foo bag! Oh and btw, if you need to get a mother load of groceries, it works for that, too. Thanks guys!
 
 passanger service rated
By bikerblock, laj, July 28, 2011

This is Quality @#$%, Built tough, room for everything +++. Only suggestion is a plastic removable floor to keep bag from folding like a taco, thats because I can't find enough stuff to fill it.
 
 Happy Grip Owner
By Shelley, Fullerton, california , July 17, 2011

I waited six months to get this bag it was the only one I could find online that made me want it. All the crew reviews convinced me it was worth buying and now I believe it. Ok I'm not a railroader but I love talking to railroad engineers I'm a local fixture at our station and I am very very hard on bags. I've bought enough bags in my day to know I' already love this one! The d rings and fasteners are heavy weighted and are awesome! I love all the pockets and the heavy duty zippers. The only problem is I don't know if I can fill the bag it is so spacious. My room mate told me not to worry, I would. We'll start tomorrow. Really do love the tough quality of the material and the customer service was excelent, even saved me a few dollars in shipping I thought that was exceptional. Bag goes out with me tomorrow on its first adventure. Cant wait to show it off. TEGIRL
 
 Railroader
By David S., Waterloo, Il, July 2, 2011

By far the best bag I have owned. Everything on this bag is so heavy duty.I know it will last me for years of use on the railroad. Great customer service, great all american product, great worry free warranty. Well worth every penny you can spend.
 
 so far, very pleased
By Anonymous, buffalo, June 25, 2011

easily the toughest bag ive had. should have a contract with the military. one letdown was the pockets being too small to accept larger ec-1 and rule books. they do fit easily in the main compartment, but was hoping for a seperate storage area for this. have had it for a few trips and havn't been able to "test" it yet, but have seen others with theirs 6 months old look brand new. black is great, but how about a color choice? they are getting popular at work, and have to start reading the names so i dont take the wrong one!
 
 Absolutely worth it!!
By Michael Summers, Conneaut, Ohio, June 3, 2011

I just wanted to say that I received my Engineer's Railroad Grip bag in the mail on June 1st and I'm thrilled with it and it's already well worth the money I spent on it! I'll be letting everyone know who makes the most insanely tough bags so expect more orders from the northeast Ohio area soon! Thank you!
 
 QUALITY GRIP
By LC, Oregon, June 2, 2011

The quality of this grip is unbelievable. Great design and workmanship. Still not quite big enough to get all my railroad stuff and overnight clothing into but still a great bag nevertheless.
 
 2 weeks with new grip
By Bruce, Wisconsin, May 29, 2011

I got my new red oxx grip 2 weeks ago fit and finish is great. Everything fits in the bag . I'm told by others that red oxx stands behind the product that is what really counts. they did charge me for four letter monogram when i only got three. thanks.
 
 Awesome Grip Bag
By Chester, Gillette, Wyoming, May 3, 2011

This is a fantastic bag! The craftmanship is top notch. I have travelled all over the world and I have some great bags. This bag is among the best I have seen for half the price. This grip looks and feels like it will last me a very long time. If you are looking for a grip bag that will stand up to the punishment of a career on the rails then this bag is a purchase you will be very happy with.
 
 railroad grip
By T. L .DILLON, DETROIT, May 2, 2011

Awsome grip, had it a few weeks now, and i can tell it will out last anyother bag iv owned. plus with a no b.s. life time warrenty, im sure the cost of the bag will pay for its self when i was going through a grip every 8-12 months. very happy with this, well done boys !!!!
 
 Almost 3 years & still the perfect RR grip
By Link, Charlotte, NC, April 28, 2011

I've waited about 3 years to write this review and I can say this is the best bag /grip you will ever own. My bag is in perfect condition; just like the day I got it. There are no holes, rips, tares, failing hardware or loose threads. This bag is indeed built like a tank & will take whatever you can throw at it day in & day out. I cannot say enough positive things about the bullet proof construction of this bag. Everything you can read from the reviews & the technical specifications on the website are spot on. Heavy duty THICK nylon, double stitching, oversized sturdy metal hardware, the claw shoulder strap (that won't ever slide off your shoulder,) those huge zippers & money knots that never get bound up or jammed, yes this is the ultimate grip for any railroader.

I've always bought good, name brand luggage with a warranty to carry with me to work. However, the zippers would usually wear out & the D-ring would tear on either end after a little over a year or so. The materials were ok, but in reality they were not even in the same ballpark as The Engineer's Grip. There is a Tough Bag & Autumn Creek crowd out there, but even those guys are envious of my Red Oxx Engineer's Grip. Those other bags have thinner nylon, aren't stitched as well, and the hardware is cheap by comparison.

Our railroad gave us "grips" (if you could call them that,) about the same time I got my Red Oxx Engineer's Grip. Mine is still in the plastic it came in. Everyone who has carried these Chinese made garbage bags has watched them disintegrate. Zippers that don't work, cheap, thin nylon that has holes & tares in it, a shoulder strap that doesn't stay on your shoulder. .And they were so wide, one couldn't get them through the doors of the locomotive or up & down the ladders without getting hung on something. I laughed at the people who carried these things. All of them admired my sturdy Red Oxx bag, some questioned the price and my sanity for foregoing a free bag. These days my bag is still going strong like the day I bought it, and the other folks, well, they now understand what a quality made in America product I have.

I'm an engineer for NS & I recall getting this bag & wondering if all of my stuff would fit in there. It did, with plenty of room to spare! I'm not a light traveler and have weighed my bag at 65 pounds fully loaded. The end pockets will easily swallow NS's rule book, the gray bible, (and CSX's rule books too) and the other deep end pocket can easily host a radio, lantern, spare batteries and or raingear. The cavernous interior compartment is deep, holds a change of clothes, jacket, food, large shaving kit, huge 14 cup thermos, & shoes. The end pockets are great for gloves, pens, keys, flashlights, PPE, & other smaller items. The long side pockets have plenty of space for whatever you want to stuff in them too. The design is slim such that you can easily get on & off the ladders of the locomotive without getting caught on anything. Plus, it easily slides through the narrow doors of the older engines on your shoulder and won't catch on anything there either.

This is a bag designed for railroaders by railroaders, how could you possibly go wrong? The price didn't bother me, don't let it bother you either, it's worth it at twice the price. And how about that no bull lifetime warranty? No BS, no fine print, no disclaimers, no exceptions, no gimmicks, no questions - just amazing that a company will stand behind its product in this way. Even if this bag had only a 5 or 10 year warranty, I'd buy it. And when you buy these Red Oxx products, you're getting a quality made in the USA product (not some low dollar Chinese crap,) from a small company in Montana that is easy to do business with & stands by their product.

I also got the dog tags & cell phone case flip from Red Oxx. They are of the same durable construction & I'd recommend those to anyone. The dog tags are great since your info is on there, but not easily seen. I'm sold on Red Oxx & I'll be making all my future luggage purchases from this company.
 
 Railroad Grip bigger than it looks
By Todd Burg, Stevens Point, WI, April 28, 2011

I was not sure if I wanted the grip even though almost all the conductors at work were raving about it because I thought it would be to small for all my things. Wow, I'm blown away by what it will hold. It has 6 pockets that are just the right size, which actually makes it hold more than you'd think. This grip is the best I've ever had in 20 years of railroading. It is beyond what I expected and the warranty is unbeatable. In my opinion any other grip is a waste of money. My thanks to Red Ox for producing an awsome product that's built in the United States, a true US Product is hard to find these days and this one represents the quality of US Products as well as any product could. Couldn't be happier!!!
 
 Awsome.
By Huw Winston, Illinois, April 21, 2011

Can't beat the materials and durability of the construction. The design could use an additional smaller pocket and some enclosed pen/pencil loops. Overall a fantastic product.
 
 cant beat this deal
By mike, amsterdam ny, April 21, 2011

i had to save the pennies to buy the bag, but its was well worth it. this will be the last bag i will ever own.
 
 Excellent for Railroaders
By David, Logan,WV, April 10, 2011

I've only had my Grip for about a week. I can already tell i'm going to love it. Very durable construction. The only downfall I have to the bag is I would like to see it made in a variety of colors not just in Black.
 
 what took me so long?
By Mark Bishop, Rockbridge Baths, VA., April 10, 2011

I had so much trouble making myself by this bag, Most of the guy's that I work w/had one & i just didn't want to spend the $ but after 31 yrs. w/the C&O(CSX) & paying $ for junk that last only a yr. or less. Man do I fill STUPID, glad I did & now I'm telling everyone this is the real stuff. Now the only thing I wish it had was a place to hold my pen's & Hi-liter's. Besides that Thank You for such a GREAT Product.
 
 BNSF
By David, Spokane, April 7, 2011

I love this bag! It didn't look like it could store much when I first got it but my last trip I fit two days of clothes, a computer, two pairs of shoes, a storage clipboard, PPE, rulebook, and still had room for lunch! Thanks again for making a quality bag.
 
... 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 Next > 
Specifications

  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Designed AND made in USA
  • 1050 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Ballistic nylon fabric
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Nylon webbing zipper pull grab loops
  • Thread: #92 bonded Solar Max Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • 3250 welded D Rings, nickel plated
  • Stainless Steel Mil spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Nickel plated turn locks secure main compartment
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Available in BLACK only
  • Embroidery available in RED only
  • Monogram embroidery available on Grip and Rail King only
  • Designed by railroaders for railroaders
  • US Dimensions: 24"L x 12"W x 12"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 70cm L x 30.5cm W x 30.5cm H
  • US Capacity: 3,456 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 65.1 Liters
  • US Weight: 4.7 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 2.13 Kilos
  • Free collectable download Railroad Grip and Rucksack PDF Brochure

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 30 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

How does the Grip compare to the Safari Beano's Duffel Bags?
The Grip is built using a heavier and stronger 1050 weight ballistic cordura nylon, our toughest. An ideal textile for Railroaders and the hardships of the rail line.
 
What is Ballistic Nylon?
Ballistic nylon is a thick, tough, synthetic nylon fabric used for a variety of applications. Ballistic nylon was originally developed by the DuPont corporation as a material for flak jackets to be worn by World War II airmen. The term ballistic nylon takes its name from the fact that it was intended to protect its wearers from flying debris and fragmentation caused by bullet or artillery shell impacts. This is a special grade heavier weight cordura nylon designed for hard use and colored black to help hide dirt, oil, and grease stains.
 
What colors does the embroidery come in?
Embroidery is only available in red.
 
Can I get a Grip in a different color other than black?
Our U.S.A. sourced ballistic nylon is currently only available in black.
 
Will my rulebook (US), radio, and lantern fit inside?
Yes, the Grip was specifically designed to hold this particular railroader gear.
 
Are there any interior pockets or dividers?
We recommend using our Nomad toiletry kit and/or Lil Roy Gadget bags to organize your belongings inside your Grip. The Tri-fold Toiletry bag is also a great organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
 
Is there a railroad discount available?
Red Oxx eliminates the middle man with it's factory direct to consumer model. Our prices are based on the length of time it takes to build a bag and the cost of materials. Each bag we build comes with our iron clad "No Bull", no questions asked lifetime warranty. You will save considerable money in the long run because you bought only one bag, not to mention peace of mind knowing you own a Railroad Grip that will not fail.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my Grip?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.