Skip Navigation Links

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I have a big appetite for adventure.”
Red Oxx Gator Compact Carry On and Padded Gadget Bag - in Coal. Choose from 12 colors.

Gator Carry On Bag $125.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


Behold! The Gator.

A compact carry-on bag with a big appetite.

We can tell you how others have used this multi-purpose carry-on bag, but we're sure you'll think up something new. Just like its hungry namesake, this tough-skinned beauty will swallow up everything you need for travel. Ideal as an compact airline carry-on and easily classified as a personal item, a shooting bag for the range, SLR bag, diaper bag, C-pap bag, take it to work with a packed lunch; you get the picture.

WHAT ABOUT POCKETS?
Secure your delicate equipment in the Gator's rigid-formed, shock-resistant padded main compartment. No need to carry separate hydration, the Gator features dual elastic beverage end pockets. The expandable gusseted side pockets help you to keep track of gadgets like cell phones, iPods, sunglasses, and more.

These side pockets feature the exclusive "Red Oxx finger loop snap closures" which are Mil-Spec stainless steel snaps with thoughtfully designed thumb loops that make closing these handy pockets a "snap." This allows one-handed snapping closure. Simply slip a finger into the loop under the snap post and use your thumb to press the post in place. A simple genius solution that prevents crushing items under the snaps. Behind each gusseted pocket are hidden flat slip pockets for that little extra bit of storage.

GET ORGANIZED.
Inside the Gator carryall bag, there's a full-length mesh divider with four slots for pens and pencils and two mesh pockets. Located on the back is another full-length zippered pocket. 4lb. Volara closed cell padding envelopes the bag in the front, bottom, and back, protecting your precious contents from damage.

A HANDY MULTI-PURPOSE BAG.
Fully adjustable Claw Shoulder Strap will not slip. Or carry it with the wraparound handle handclasp. Popular with the demanding business crowd and all the rage with the adventure travel crowd, Gator Travel Bags are durable companions for many uses: SLR camera bags, diaper bags, NetBook or Tablets, C-pap bags, pistol range, you name it, the Gator will eat it. Consider it your "bag of all trades."

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your Gator on our production schedule. Your bag will then be delivered in under 30 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

"No Bull" Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND made in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, in production products and delivery time? - Read this personal letter from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the steps it takes to handcraft your Gator compact carry-on.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email and a review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. Backorders beyond a dozen days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is secure.

Every great bag needs cool luggage accessories.

Dimensions: 12"L x 6"W x 9"H
Capacity: 648 cu. inches

Pocket measurements:

  • Dual exterior gusseted pockets: 4.5"W x 7.5"H x 2.5"D (at opening)
  • Dual exterior flat slip pockets: 5"W x 7.5"H
  • Exterior zippered side flat pocket: 12"W x 6"D
  • Twin end elastic bottle pockets: 6"W x 6"W x 4"D (at opening)
  • Interior mesh pocket: 12" x 6"
  • Interior dual mesh slip pockets: 4"W x 4"D
  • Main compartment: 12"L x 6"W x 9"D

Gator Trivia: When Red Oxx President Perry Jones had young children he was embarassed to appear like he was carrying a diaper bag. After they were out of diapers he wanted a decent range bag to take with him shooting. The name Gator was selected because a Gator is sly and stealthy and can quickly consume large prey, sometimes larger than itself, with it's enormous mouth.

Write a Review

4.7 Average Rating
 (148 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next > 
 Great little bag
By Anonymous, , April 27, 2006

I was really pleased with the overall quality of the Gator Carry On Bag and how much gear I could stuff into it. The only thing I did not initially care for was the heavy (my wife called it clunky) attaching hardware for the shoulder strap. After I had it loaded down I was glad that it was so sturdy. The bag held up great on my Alaskan Bear hunting trip last year and has since been doing duty as my Range bag. It easily carries a couple of pistols, ammo and eye and ear protection with space left over.It really is a verstile little bag.
 
 My daily companion
By Rick Sullivan, , April 12, 2006

This is my 3rd Red Oxx Bag...I carry the Gator Carryon back and forth everyday with my powerbook and everything I need. Love it. Better and lighter than my Hartmann. Thanks Red Oxx.....
 
 Gator Bag is best design yet
By Anonymous, , April 10, 2006

I've tried to find the ideal travel bag in terms of size, features, design and quality of construction- and its all in the Gator Carry On Bag. Has best designed outside snap pockets I've ever used. Perfect size for traveling- maps, camera, books, even roll up a light jacket. Highly recommended!
 
 They Don't Make 'Em That Way Anymore
By Richard Hahn, , April 8, 2006

We are a service family. My late father was Air Force, I'm retired Army and my son is Active Duty Coast Guard. One of my most prized possessions is my dad's WWII Mussette Bag. These bags were all purpose, highly sought after and used to carry everything. At Fort Bragg I tried to get the Riggers to make me something similar but we were always deploying, getting ready to go somewhere or they were "too busy."

The Gator Carry On Bag, although a bit smaller, is the ONLY one I've every found that replaces that old beloved bag. There is absolutely no deficiency in the construction and it holds a huge amount of gear for its size. A "disabled" person tried to pick it up in London after I had put it on the curb. Fortunately a policeman intervened before I did something that was politically incorrect. NO ONE steals my Gator Bag.
 
 Just the right size
By Fred Moseley, , April 8, 2006

I've taken the Gator Carry On Bag on trips to Egypt, Peru, and Alaska. It's the perfect size for maps, camera, film, and binoculars, with side pockets for water bottles and airline tickets. It's also the perfect size for carry-on without the bulk of most baggage. I'd highly recommend it for travel and for the field.
 
 PERFECT LITTLE CAMERA BAG +++
By WILLIAM SWEENEY, , April 8, 2006

We live 300 miles from NYC, where we like to visit as often as possible to see our son, daughter-in-law and our 2-year-old granddaughter. The Gator Carry On Bag is a beautifully made, sturdy, well-padded small bag. It is the perfect size for carrying our Nikon D-70 digital camera, an extra lens and a speedlight -- of course we like to make MANY digital images of our granddaughter, whom we don't see ofter enough -- with inside room to spare, along with extra pockets for a bottle of water, sunglasses, a cell phone, etc. We carry it on the plane (it doesn't even count as an additional carry-on bag), and we easily schlep it around the city -- walking, on the subway, etc. -- with its comfortable shoulder strap. I'd call the Gator by far the best little camera bag +++ that I've ever owned.
 
 Little Giant
By Gary Ustik, , December 13, 2005

The Gator Carry Bag is just the right size for those every day needs; daily planner, address book, palm pilot, stationary/pens, maps, catalogs. The list goes on and on but I always have what I need when I need it. That's why I call it my ballistic Gator.
 
 Best Bag Built
By Quincy Clark, , November 23, 2005

The Gator Carry Bag can do anything. From use as a shooting bag, to camera bag, to holding fishing tackle, even diaper bag, and of course my airline carry on for those needed personal items. I have personally used this bag for all of these things and more. I only own one for now but I plan on purchasing another soon.
 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next > 
Specifications

Red Oxx Gator Bag Specs Chart

  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Designed AND made in Billings, Montana USA
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Cordura Nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 400 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • Detachable Claw no-slip adjustable shoulder strap
  • All zippers #10 YKK self locking
  • Nylon webbing zipper pull grab loops
  • Thread: #92 bonded Solar Max Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Double box stitched seams on all stress points
  • 3250 welded D-rings, nickel plated
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Wraparound handclasp with Mil-Spec snaps
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • 4 lb. Volara closed cell foam padding
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Available in 12 vibrant colors
  • US Dimensions: 12"L x 6"W x 9"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 30.5cm L x 15.2cm W x 22.9cm H
  • US Capacity: 648 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 10.6 Liters

Gator Carry-on Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 30 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

Will a Gator meet the airline's personal item standards?
Yes, and you can fit the bag under the seat, too.
 
Will my laptop fit in the middle compartment?
Most netbooks, iPads, Tablets and "mini" laptops will fit with room to spare, but probably not a full size laptop (17" plus).
 
Will my work files fit inside?
If you want a briefcase that will hold your files and a laptop, look into our Briefcase line, specifically the Metro and the wider CPA.
 
Can the Gator double as an SLR camera bag?
Yes, the Gator makes for a perfect SLR camera bag due to it's generous, yet practical size, its full wrap around padding and handy pockets.
 
What are the differences between the Gator and the Metro and / or CPA?
The Metro and CPA are specifically designed to be laptop business briefcases, whereas the Gator is more of a general multipurpose day bag.
 
Will the iPad, iPad II or most other Tablets fit inside?
Yes, the Gator makes an ideal Tablet bag.
 
Will the Gator compact carry-on fit into the Air Boss central compartment? We don't recommend inserting the Gator into the Air Boss. The results would be too bulky.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
It has one flat panel pocket with pouches for smaller items and writing instruments.
 
Can I fit my C-pap machine inside?
The Gator is an ideal C-pap bag.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.