Email Red OxxRed Oxx on YoutubeRed Oxx on YoutubeRed Oxx on InstagramPin it on Red Oxx PinterestJoin Red Oxx on facebook.Red Oxx on Google Plus

Red Oxx Sun Chaser Carry On Duffel Bag - shown in Burgundy. Choose from 12 colors.




Write a Review

4.9250
4.92 Average Rating
 (50 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 Next > 
55
 Great Bag!
By , Florida, March 11, 2009

I am a solid Air Boss traveler but there are times when I just need to travel casually from 1-5 days. I purchased the Sun Chaser with this in mind and I have now found the solution.The quality and durability of this bag cannot in my opinion be matched. I recently used this bag for a 4 day trip and using a packing folder I was able to carry 5 shirts, 2 pants, underwear, socks, toiletries extra shoes etc. +and was still able to put my wife's purse inside with space left over for more! And, you are going to love the grab loops on both ends for retrieving this bag from underneath the seat or in the overhead bin!I flew on CRJ 700 & 900's regional jets and was never asked to check it as it easily fit under the seat! Buying from Red Oxx should never be a concern for you as they sell the most durable and functional travel products available, and they have the best customer service in the industry. Period!Thanks again Amanda for a great product and a wonderful buying experience.
 
55
 Update on my Sun Chaser
By , United States, September 27, 2008

I've been hauling my Sun Chaser and Gator Bag for a while now and really appreciate the quality of how they are made and the cleverness of the designs. The more I pack and use them, the more I love them.

I've saved enough in airline checked baggage fees to pay for the bags! (and buy myself some good dinners) I have shown friends how the system works and several have adopted it for themselves. For those of us for whom the Air Boss is just too big, the Sun Chaser offers a weekender alternative, although I can do a week out of it.Thanks!
 
55
 this is a great bag
By , los altos, August 24, 2008

this is a great bag. I use it to haul around my digital SLR gear and it holds everything I need in the main compartment, the small zippered compartments are great for accessories and the padded bottom and "claw" strap complete the package.
 
55
 Love my Sun Chaser!
By , North Texas, June 21, 2008

I'm just home from a cross continental trip that bridged the new luggage and carry on rules for American Airlines. My new Sun Chaser fit nicely under the seat in front of me on an AA 757 with room to spare for a Little Roy that I use for a purse. This is an extremely handy size bag that bridges the gap between my Gator camera bag and the much larger carry ons that have to go in the overhead bins.Light in weight when empty, the Sun Chaser is large enough for me to use as a primary bag for short trips and as a carry on when I have to check a bag (I travel with things for business that the TSA won't allow in a carry on bag). The lighter the color of fabric you choose, the easier it is to see what you have in the bag.

As with all RedOxx bags, this bag is beautifully well made and tough. I really appreciate the quality zippers and the great shoulder strap! Every time I travel with a RedOxx bag someone asks me where I got it and do I really like it. The answer is online for purchase via RedOxx and yes, certainly I do love this bag.I use the Little Roy bags for many things beyond use as a purse. They are very handy for digital cameras and also to carry the tools I need to set up our show booth at trade shows.

The Sun Chaser easily meets the newly enforced carry on rules and is a pleasure to use for travel. I am glad I bought this bag and do recommend it to friends and strangers.
 
55
 Too nice for a gym bag
By , , September 13, 2007

I purchased the Sun Chaser to replace an old Eastpack bag I got years ago that resembles the Beano. My first reaction was "This is supposed to be tough"? I couldn't believe how light it was and after reading about the toughness I was stunned. But after using it for a while I see what others are saying. You don't appreciate the toughness of the material until you try it a while and it's amazing how thin an light it is.

So far the bag has been great. It's smaller than my previous bag (which was probably also the size of the Beano) and that makes it just about right for a gym bag. Shorts, shirt, sneakers, flip flops, bathing suit, and shower items all fit just fine. I could easily fit more including a towel if needed. I really didn't believe the hype on the strap but I now appreciate where others were coming from with the strap. It is pretty comfortable and I really don't like single shoulder strap bags. The extra strong zippers work great and the even the monkey fist ties on the end are a really nice touch. The padding on the bottom is great for giving the bag some form though I'm not sure I'd trust my DSLR camera in this bag as another reviewer said.

My biggest problem is that I like the bag so much that I cringe putting my wet or sweaty gym stuff in there. Other than that it would be nice if there was a key fob in one of the pockets - it's a feature I've come to like in my bags. There is a ring on the outside of the bag but I'm not sure what it's for. I'm really happy with this bag. Looks great( I went with the red), perfect size, rugged and tough. I like it so much I'm trying to talk myself into an Air Boss to replace my pullman style bag. Or a Gator or Ruck, though I'm not sure what I'd do with them yet.
 
55
 One tough bag!
By , , March 23, 2007

I work as a railroad conductor, and must lug around a lot of stuff. I needed a bag to carrry all my personal items (change of clothes, toiletries, entertainment). I found the Sun Chaser to be the perfect size as it can be tough to get large bags through locomotive doors. After a year of usage, there is no sign of wear on the bag...and I went on more than 100 round trips last year! I liked it so much, I ordered a C-Ruck to carry all my paperwork, rulebooks, and tools. Great product!
 
55
 Unbelievably spacious and tough construction!
By , , January 25, 2007

My first experience with Red Oxx bags was the Air Boss. I have had such a wonderful experience with that bag that I had to get the Sun Chaser for weekend trips. This bag may be the smallest in the expedition series, but don't be misled. It is very spacious, and has enough room to transport everything you would need for a 2-3 day trip, and more importantly, the bag is built like a tank. I will not travel with any other luggage! You will not be dissapointed with any bag from Red Oxx.
 
55
 SunChaser FunChaser
By , , November 20, 2006

Outside of the bags that make a trip happen, the best part about travel is usually the film that gets developed when you get home. I purchased the SunChaser as a camera bag because the padded bottom would protect my 35mm Nikon and the pockets on the side would hold all of my flashes, lens cleaners, and books that remind me how the camera works :) The ballistic skid plate and grab handles on the end make this the perfect bag for throwing in the back end of the SUV or the overhead of the airplane on your way to the next adventure. Don't worry about the stuff inside. Grab the SunChaser and have some FUN.
 
55
 Sun Chaser
By , , May 13, 2006

Wow, I just took the Sun Chaser on a week long vacation to Florida as my only bag. Everything went into it - clothes, flip-flops, toiletries, books (one hardcover and one softcover), 12" Powerbook, camera, sunglasses, Red Oxx travel basket...you name it. Granted, I did a little laundry while I was down there, but not much. It performed like a champion and just may be the most versatile piece of luggage in the history of mankind. It creates supremely efficient space and you cannot believe how much stuff it holds. I love the small outside pocket for storing phone, watch, and keys while going through airport security. I love the large outside pocket for reading material. Everything else just goes inside. Piece of cake dude.Keep up the good work.John
 
55
 Sunchaser delivers on functionality
By , , November 9, 2005

Great bag for workouts our quick weekend trips. Handy, functional pockets, feels compact but is well thought out and usable. Dead sexy bag that gets lots of looks... but I never take my eye off of it lest it dissapear!!!
 
1 2 3 Next > 
Related Articles
Frequently Asked Questions

What's the difference between the Sun Chaser Duffel and Safari Beanos PR4?
The Sun Chaser has a full length main compartment with extra raised pockets located on the side of the bag, whereas the PR4 have a shorter main compartment and the pockets on both ends. The Sun Chaser also features grab handles on the ends and a padded bottom.
 
What's the difference between the Sun Chaser and the Flying Boxcar?
The Flying Boxcar is a full five inches longer and one inch wider.
 
Will this bag meet personal item sizing?
You can use it as one but we don't market it as such. So long as it wasn't fully packed you might slip one by. Certainly works well as a carry-on bag.
 
Why is the bottom padded?
The padding was requested by photography enthusiasts to protect their camera gear from impacts.
 
Why are there two zippers on the back of the bag?
They are for a pass-through panel so that the bag can be mounted over the handles of a wheeled bag.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my bag?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
What's the best way to pack the Sun Chaser?
We recommend the bundle packing method. Watch the packing video under the Videos tab on the Flying Boxcar product page (a slightly larger but similar in design duffel bag). Not fond of bundle packing, build a custom set of your own Red Oxx Packing Cubes.
 
How many days worth of clothes will fit in the Sun Chaser?
The Sun Chaser was designed to hold a weekend's worth of clothes, like for a beach trip or road trip ... thus the name.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
The Sun Chaser two raised side pockets and one flat side pocket. There is only the one large main compartment without interior pockets.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, try and fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS in the cart comments and we will adjust your billing accordingly.
 
“I chase dreams and connecting flights.”

Sun Chaser $185.00

91020-AmethystIn stock185
91020-BlackIn stock185
91020-BordeauxIn stock185
91020-CoalIn stock185
91020-ForestIn stock185
91020-KhakiIn stock185
91020-MarinerOn back order185
91020-MidnightOn back order185
91020-OliveIn stock185
91020-RedIn stock185
91020-SafariOn back order185
91020-SaffronIn stock185

X

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


SLR Camera bag in hiding!

Sure! Carry-on duffel for a short trip to the Caribbean? Why not?

The smallest in our Expedition series of duffel bags, the Sun Chaser is the latest in incognito camera bags. The main compartment is roomy for all your photo gadgets like SLR zoom lenses, camera bodies, and short tripods. The closed cell Volara foam padded bottom helps to protect your precious fragile photo gear from impact. Secure the double zippered lid with the twin turn locks. The two raised side pockets are handy for when you need fast access. Both pockets zip halfway down the sides for easy access to buried equipment like data storage, adapters, manuals, etc.

MORE THAN JUST A CAMERA BAG.
The Sun Chaser (like all of our Red Oxx bags) is multipurpose – use it for road press, last-minute getaways, or quick vacations where you only need to pack your bathing suit, a few changes of underwear, a few different outfits, and your shoes. It also makes for a handy sports gear bag.

A GOOD BAG IS A SUM OF ITS PARTS.
Our Monkey Fist Zip Knots and heavy-duty #10 YKK zippers make opening the compartments a yankin' cinch, yet the self-locking zipper design prevents accidental openings. The full-length pass-through zippered pocket docking sleeve on the other side allows for stacking on wheeled suitcase handles... or leave the bottom zipper closed and use it as a flat pocket. Heavy-duty 1050 weight Ballistic Nylon, our toughest, on the padded bottom skid-plate signals many years of rough use sliding up and down cargo belts.

HOW TO CARRY THE SUN CHASER DUFFEL BAG.
The nonslip Claw Shoulder Strap allows for easy carrying, while the grab loops on both ends make retrieving this bag from the overhead compartment or yanking it from under other soft-sided luggage a snap. Carry it using the adjustable noslip Claw shoulder strap on your shoulder, cross body or by the handle.

BUILT LIKE A TANK?
Our customers like to define our gear as "built like a tank". While obviously you're not going to be toting around bags that weigh 50 tons and have three inches of armor plate, still the comparison is valid. For a carry-on bag, Sun Chasers are built tough. Starting with the most durable textile material available, 1000 weight CORDURA® nylon, we use super strong UV resistant thread that is stitched into every seam.

BOUND AND BAGGED.
Places where two separate pieces of fabric are stitched together are then bound, that is, we take a long piece of one inch wide nylon webbing and fold it over the edges of the two pieces and stitch them together, this creates a strong seam, or binding, that prevents the pieces from unraveling on the inside of the bag, or gives it a clean finished look if on the outside of the bag.

In addition, each exposed fabric edge, such as on a pocket flap, is also bound using a thicker binding material. Inside edges typically receive a thinner nylon webbing, whereas outside corner edges that are exposed to wear will have a thicker nylon binding. All of our binding material is vertically woven to prevent fraying, peeling or splitting that you may commonly see in competitors bags that brag of "binding" their edges.

WHY DOUBLE BOX STITCHING?
Each stress point, such as where the handles attach to the bag, is double box stitched - which is where we get the "double XX" in our name, Red Oxx; a stitching practice adapted from our time as parachute riggers.

MY, WHAT BIG ZIPPERS YOU HAVE!
The reason Red Oxx uses the largest zipper we can afford, the #10 YKK VISLON® zipper, is that they are easily repairable, even in the field; they will hold their place, that is, they "lock"; they are difficult to penetrate, thereby increasing the security of your belongings; they function smoothly in inclement weather and they can be yanked from a variety of angles without losing teeth or becoming separated.

PUTTING THE HARD IN HARDWARE.
Red Oxx has occasionally been accused of "overdoing" our hardware. But once you've had a cheap piece of plastic hardware break in the middle of a busy intersection, airport or other inconvenient locale dumping your precious belongings all over the ground, having a heavy-duty nickel-plated or stainless steel D ring or attachment swivel that weighs just a little more, or might make a little noise, is a travel companion's confidence builder and peace of mind maker. After all, you want to enjoy your journey as best you can. Why worry about having your bag break down?

The Red Oxx Sun Chaser is a multi-compartment, multi-task, carry-on sports duffel bag with a minimalist's design and organizational flexibility.

U.S.A. Dimensions: 19"L x 9"W x 9"H.
Capacity: 1,539 cubic inches (1,854 including raised side pockets).
Weight: 3.5 pounds.

Metric Dimensions: 48.3cm L x 22.9cm H x 22.9cm W
Capacity: 25.3 Liters
Weight: 1.59 Kilo

Pocket measurements:

  • Small raised zippered side pocket: 5"W x 7"H x 2"D
  • Large raised zippered side pocket: 10"W x 7"H x 2"D.
  • Main compartment: 19"L x 9"W x 9"H
  • Side pass through zippered flat pocket: 3"H x 17"L

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty. Red Oxx lasts longer.
Designed AND hand made in Billings, Montana U.S.A..
UPS Transit Shipping Time Map.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your Sun Chaser.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear with pride.

Red Oxx is a Veteran owned and operated US Manufacturer.

EMAIL POLICY: Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond a dozen working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. During checkout purchasers have the option to opt-out of our other occasional email notifications. Your email address is always secure.

Every great bag needs cool accessories.

Specifications
Sun Chaser Specs Chart

  • Designed AND made in the U.S.A.
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Detachable no-slip adjustable Claw Shoulder Strap
  • 4 lb. closed cell Volara foam padded bottom
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified CORDURA® Nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded Solar Max Nylon
  • 1050 weight Ballistic nylon skid plate bottom
  • Dual End Grab loops
  • Dual turn locks on zippered flap panel
  • Twin D rings for locking zippered flap panel
  • Pass thru panel to use with wheeled luggage; can double as an extra flat pocket
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors
  • US Dimensions: 19"L x 9"H x 9"W
  • Metric Dimensions: 48.3cm L x 22.9cm H x 22.9cm W
  • US Capacity: 1,854 cubic inches (including side pockets)
  • Metric Capacity: 25.3 Liters
  • US Weight: 3.5 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 1.59 Kilos

Sun Chaser Gadget Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Black = Raven
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

Questions? Visit our Customer Service Help Desk or call our Toll Free Hot Line: 1-888-733-6999.

Red Oxx "No Bull" Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himalayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

Red Oxx Bags are guaranteed forever, be sure to include them in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - No Questions Asked. Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Take me to the top