Red Oxx Safari Beanos PR4 Duffel Bag - pictured in Amythest. Available in 12 colors.

Write a Review

4.85 Average Rating
 (53 Reviews)

1 2 3 Next > 
 Good multi-purpose bag
By RC, Earth, April 19, 2013

Got this to serve as a utility bag for multiple needs. Used it as a range bag for a pistol class this past weekend - served well to carry all the required equipment. Going to use it as a carry-on this coming week and look forward to generally beating the crap out of it.

Only constructive criticism I'd provide:

1) I wish there was a 4.5 version since I think that would be the perfect size.

2) Would be nice if there was an option where the dual top zippers could be connected via a removable snap handle so they could ripped open simultaneously.

3) A little bit of bottom padding would be great (perhaps not to the extent of the SunChaser)

All in all I'm very happy with with the PR4.

 Excellent Carry-On Bag
By Wayne G., Atlanta, GA, January 31, 2013

Quality: Superior--as advertised and as attested to by other reviewers.

Capacity: The Beanos PR4 is a large capacity bag with a small footprint. A week after receiving the bag I took my 12th (legal) trip to Cuba for work. In the main compartment, I packed: a pair of pants, three shirts, a merino wool t-shirt, two pair of quick dry briefs, socks, a cap, a camping towel, and a lightweight jacket--plus a year's supply of Nexium that I was taking to a friend. Even so, the compartment was only 80% filled. The end pockets held my toiletries and meds, plus my travel and work documents, Iphone, Kindle, rechargers, etc. All of this, including the bag, weighed 13 pounds, a very comfortable weight for use with a shoulder strap, and, by the way, this shoulder strap is non-slip, exactly as advertised.

Utility: I found the Beanos easier at managing airport security than the backpack style bag I had used for years. While walking with the Beanos, you can easily open the side pocket, remove your 3-1-1 bag, then fill the pocket with your wallet, keys, etc. Small point, but a great convenience, especially considering how often I have to do it. Once on the ground, the multiple outside pockets (six if you count the pass-through pocket) were great for quick organization and access.

On the plane, there's no need to fight with the passengers who are obligated to stow their roller-board suitcases in the overhead bins. Just slip the bag under the seat in front of you so that the pockets facing outward hold what you might want to access during the flight. Then you can just lean down and unzip the pocket to get at your magazine, book, Kindle, etc.

Appearance: I chose the Safari color, and the actual bag looked much better than the representation I saw on my computer screen. Also, I had read reviews commenting that the hardware seemed somewhat oversized for the size of the bag. I found that not to be the case. The size of the hardware is cosmetically in proportion to the rest of the bag and to the hardware's function.

Overall: For more than two decades have adhered to the pack-light-and-carry-it-on philosophy. When I found myself no longer filling my backpack style suitcase completely, I looked for an alternative with a smaller footprint. This led me to the Beanos PR4 bag. This is a product whose form follows its function--and it shows. Thanks to the RedOxx folks for the forethought and attention to detail that makes this an outstanding bag for me.
 PR4 Excellence
By Jeff S., Cleveland, OH, November 15, 2012

Purchased the Safari-Beanos PR4 to compliment my Air Boss for air travel. Two trips in the books so far and it has performed flawlessly. Like all other Red Oxx products, its quality is over the top. Can't tell you how many times I have been stopped by other travelers and asked what type of bag(s) I was carrying. I have gone as far as printing up cards with the company's name and contact info to pass out to those who ask.
 Small Beanos Bag
By Chris, Denver, CO, August 9, 2012

Great capacity for its size, with nice access thanks to double zippered top. Plenty heavy...could eliminate some of the metal hardware and it would still be a lifetime bag. But overall it's a perfect 2-day bag.
 Best Carry-On Bag I Own
By Padraic, Hawaii, July 2, 2012

Perfect size bag. Great design, with unbeliveable quality, this bag will last forever.

From muddy rain forest jungles to hot, dry windy deserts to business class travel Red Oxx bags have stood up to all type of travel better than I have. The only downside deciding which bag I'm going to get next. Red Oxx you have made a great product, thank you
 This bag rocks
By gbiehler, New Mexico, May 10, 2012

This is the best made bag I have ever purchased. It is tough and designed for actual use by someone who thought about how the bag would be used. Nice Job!
 Love it!
By Duncan, Brisbane, Australia, April 6, 2012

Love it. I can't get over the astonishingly high quality of materials and construction. Well done. A bag in a million. You can be sure I'll be banging on about how good this bag is for years to come to anyone who will listen!

Not quite big enough for a macbook pro. I need a Beanos 4.5
 One of the best bags I've ever owned!
By JM, Tennessee, March 8, 2012

I am very rough on my luggage when I travel. I purchased the Safari Beanos PR4 and 6, along with a Tri-Fold Shave Kit, and Rigger wallet for dedicated luggage to take on hunting trips, and I am, so far, very pleased.

The storage space that you get in these bags is not apparent until you pack things in it, and then it really shines. There are also plenty of separate, storage compartments which give you plenty of distinct, and easily accessible areas to place various items.

The build quality is very rugged, and ought to hold up to years of use....and abuse by the airlines.

As far as the PR4 is concerned, I would have no qualms about recommending it as a carry-on bag, or an overnight bag.

The only complaint I have, if you could call it that, is the price, but for the quality and features you get, so far, it appears to be a great value.

Great job guys! I'll definitely by more luggage from Red Oxx when I need it.
 A good overnight/overhead bag
By Chuck, Philadelphia, January 26, 2012

I just got back from a week in Singapore. I purchased the PR4 as n overhead bag to take on the plane. This is my 3rd Red Oxx - I have an Air Boss and a CPA Briefcase.

This is a perfect size for what it is aimed at. This will also become my new default overnight bag. Like all RO products - sturdy, but light.

I've used messenger bags before for this purpose, but the PR4 has now replaced them.
 Freaking Fantastic!
By Jeff, Cliffside Park, NJ, December 29, 2011

Absolutely the best small bag on the plant! I have used various railroad crew overnight bags for my photographic equipment, but this one is the best: quality construction, great zippers, rugged, perfect layout. Simply one of the best freaking bags I've ever owned and--gasp!--made in America.
 Amazing service, awesome bag!
By John McCarthy, London, England, December 7, 2011

From the moment I opened the box and lifted out my PR4, I was in love. I'm a minimalist traveller so, for me, this is perfect for weekend and week-long trips alike. I would have bought the PR5, but UK airlines have dodgy size restrictions and in this day and age it's better to be safe than sorry when it comes to dealing with airport employees. Aside from the costly delivery ($45 to the UK), I couldn't fault a single thing. The bag is even better than expected; very durable, looks fantastic and was delivered very quickly. I currently have it sitting by my bed and constantly find myself looking for the next opportunity to use it. To top it off I recently received a 'Thank you for your support' card that makes me even prouder to own a Red Oxx bag. I will definitely purchase gear from here again, although I don't see my PR4 giving in anytime soon. Thanks guys!
 The Only Bag for My Safari
By Austin, Ireland, November 24, 2011

I admit to being a compulsive bag buyer - mainly because I have never found the one right bag for all my needs. So heading to South Africa for a second safari I chose the Safari PR4 which I can confidently say is the perfect bag for all my needs. Huge capacity, unbelieveably strong (I've tested it with over 100 Lbs of gear) and still compact and comfortable enough to tote around all day and pop under your seat on long haul flights. This is the last bag I will ever buy!
 Two Words. Freaking. Awesome.
By Eddie Forero , Colorado Springs, June 30, 2011

I'll try to keep it short. This bag is amazing. I can't say enough good things about it. I got the PR4 just before a 5-day business trip after eyeing it and reading reviews for months.

I'm so glad I did. Even though it seemed smaller than my previous bag it fit everything I needed and even stuff I bought while away.

It almost seems like magic how much you can put in this bag.

I may have get a PR5 for our trip to Europe this year, but honestly, if I plan it just right I may try to do it with the PR4!

If you're in the fence about pulling the tigger on a Red Oxx rest assured this bag will not only suit your needs, but will be doing it for years to come.

This is the single best traveling purchase I have made bar none.
By Roger, Colorado, April 13, 2011

When I recieved this well built bag I worried that I had chosen too small. I was wrong! This bag surpassed all my expectations! I just came back from a 7 day trip to Washington,DC and Williamsburg, VA. I packed for 7 days and all my gear fit in this bag. I am a light traveler and chose Exofficio clothing and was able to pack 4 long sleeve shirts, 4 underwears/socks, 1 shorts, 1 pants, 3 t-shirts, toiletries, 1 windstopper vest, 1 raincoat, and a Nikon DSLR!! I kept tickets and reciepts on the thin outside pocket. I love this bag!! I could have added a little bit more but I was actually a little overpacked. If I had needed to bring some sort of formal wear then this bag would not have worked for this trip, but for casual travel, or short trips this bag rocks!! 7 days=1bag AWESOME!
 Just the Job
By Terry Ogg, Liverpool, UK, March 11, 2011

My Safari-Beano PR4 in Khaki is my 8th piece of Redoxx gear so I've come to expect the best quality. The PR4 doesn't disappoint. Rugged, utilitarian, capacious and draws admiring comments (just like its owner!). Shipping to the UK was quick.
 The perfect bag for work and play
By Steve, MI, January 27, 2011

I have had this bag for about a month now. I use daily as for everything from carrying my lunch and supplies to work, my workout clothes skipping rope and supplements. The pocket combination is perfect and there a suprising amount of space. Small enough to rest on the passenger seat of my 4Runner but large enough to hold all my stuff. Sure it is a little pricey but this bag is built to last and in america. Oh ya I get alot of compliments on the bag, it does have a cool look about it. Would buy it all over again with no hesitation. Steve
 The Perfect Gym Bag
By Glenn, Upstate NY, January 7, 2011

This is an excellent bag. Top Quality, made in the US, with thoughtful features and great attention to details.

Rubber shoulder pad means it doesn't slip off my shoulder when I am on the run, metal loops are convenient to hook things onto, zippers and pulls are super and work easily. There are plenty of pockets well laid out with room for everything. For the first time I can find everything when I go to the gym.

Well done Red Oxx, and thank you for a great experience. The best things are still made in the US!
 Mighty Mouse
By BobbyD, Alabama, December 21, 2010

I had been looking at the airboss for a long time. But I was to cheap to buy it for myself. My wife knew I was looking at Red Oxx bags so she gave me one as a gift for my birthday. I was really disappointed when I opened the box and saw this tiny little bag. But not to hurt her feelings I raved over the bag. I decided to try and use the bag for a two day trip to the coast. I started packing the bag. When I had everything for the two day trip packed, I still had room for more stuff. I was shocked at how much stuff I had in this little bag. I love all the pockets to keep things organized. I use this bag all the time for two and three day trips with no problem. I love it and would not think of taking anything bigger for a two day trip. Don't let the small size fool you. This mighty mouse is a mighty bag. Now if Red OXX would only make an airboss/skytrain this small.
 Great bag, hard to tell size
By Eric Klein, Cupertino, CA, December 10, 2010

I had a difficult time determining whether to buy the PR4 or the PR5. I looked at all the photos, read as many independent reviews as possible, then took a risk and ordered the PR4.

I really like the PR4. It's incredibly well built, and the hardware almost seems like overkill for a bag of its small size. It really seems like the hardware was designed for a larger bag (PR5) and was ported to PR4 without downsizing it.

The PR4 is definitely a day bag only. Shoes, a full change of clothes, and big side pockets for toiletries, etc. It makes an awesome, though again overkill, gym bag. I couldn't tell from everything I read whether I could get two days worth of travel clothes (full gym gear + work change of clothes) into it, but I now believe you need a PR5 for that.

Highly recommend the PR4 for its build quality and attention to detail. The only thing preventing me from giving it a 5 star is its hardware that seems out of place or overkill for such a small bag, and the challenge I had determining whether a PR4 or a PR5 was the right choice. Probably really a 4.5 star rating from me, and I guess I'll be looking into a PR5 at some point for longer than day trips. I bet a PR5 turns out to be a 5 Star experience.
 Good bag
By Anonymous, Chicago, September 29, 2010

Well made, very sturdy bag. This bag will take a beating. I purchased this over the sunchaser as i like the end pockets being easy to access if in overhead compartment or car trunk. No need to pull the bag out to get a few items if in the end pockets. Used this past week overseas carry-on. fit everything i needed with room to spare, including my small travel camera bag w/ 3 lenses, light jackets, other little travel necessities. great size for a couple days travel. happy with the purchase. the biggest complaint is that there's no keyring inside one of the pockets. when i travel, i like to attach my keys to a fob inside a pocket so no worries about losing them on the trip. I will be figuring a good way to attach one on myself. Otherwise, im very happy with the bag

----------Red Oxx Replies: Thanks for the great review, we now carry a Pin Mount Key Clip that allows you to mount it anywhere you like!
1 2 3 Next > 
Related Articles
Frequently Asked Questions

What are the differences in size of the Beano's bags?
The PR4, the smallest of the series and the PR5, a step up in size from the PR4, were designed for legal carry-on travel. The PR5-5 is sized between the PR5 and the largest of the series, the PR6, which was designed for checked bag travel.
Is the PR4 carry on legal?
Yes, it was designed to be carry-on legal on most jet airlines.
Will the PR4 qualify as a personal item?
The PR4 is designed as more of a smaller carry-on than a personal item. You could try it as a personal item, but we don't guarantee the results.
What's the difference between the PR4 and Sun Chaser?
The Sun Chaser has a full length main compartment with extra raised pockets located on the side of the bag, whereas the PR4/5 have a shorter main compartment and the pockets on both ends. The Sun Chaser also features grab handles on the ends and a padded bottom reinforced with ballistic nylon, our toughest.
How many days of travel will fit in the PR4?
The PR4 carry-on bag was designed to hold a weekend's worth of clothes.
Can I fit my laptop in it?
Most 15 inch or smaller notebooks and tablets should fit in the main compartment.
Is the PR4 padded on the bottom?
Our Sun Chaser and Flying Boxcar are padded on the bottom. The PR series is not padded.
Why are there two zippers on the back pocket?
This is a special "pass through" pocket that allows you to mount the bag over the handle of a wheeled bag.
Is there a way to securely lock my bag?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
What are the D-Rings for at the end of the zippers?
The D-rings allows you to lock your zippers closed.
Are there any interior pockets?
The Safari Beano's series has exterior flat and raised pockets only.
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.
“I'm ready for two days in Vegas.”

Safari-Beanos Bag PR4 $185.00


In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!

Graduate to minimalism‽

Find traveling peace when less is more.

As Antoine de Saint-Exupéry, the author of 'The Little Prince' once said, "He who would travel happily must travel light." As the smallest in our carry-on safari luggage series, the PR4 is perfect for overnight airline travel, as a gym bag, or a passenger seat companion for overland travel.

Featuring plenty of exterior pockets for organizing your gear and a cavernous interior compartment, the PR4 Safari Beanos Duffel holds more than you thought possible. Handy spacious end pockets allow easy access to your 'must have' gear, especially useful when stuffing the PR4 under the seat, be it plane, train, or bus. Both pockets zip halfway down their sides for easy access to buried belongings.

A zippered front flat pocket keeps your passport handy. The pass-through panel on the back side is designed for use as a docking sleeve with wheeled luggage. Unzip top and bottom zippers and slip it over the wheeled bag's telescoping carry handle (or leave the bottom zipper closed and it doubles as a second flat exterior pocket).

The spacious center compartment has a unique open flap with twin zippers that allow you to peel away the flap for unhindered access to your belongings. Twin steel turn locks keep the flap secure.


Like most of our duffel bags, the PR4 includes the famous Claw nonslip padded shoulder strap. Attached using heavy-duty 360 degree "claw-like" swivels, this hardware will endure any abuse you can throw at it. Carry the PR4 on your shoulder or cross body. Quickly detaches for storage inside in case you use your PR4 carry-on for checked luggage.

Our customers like to define our gear as "built like a tank". While obviously you're not going to be toting around bags that weigh 50 tons and have three inches of armor plate, still the comparison is valid. For a carry-on duffel bag, they are built tough. Starting with one of the most durable soft textile materials available, 1000 weight Cordura nylon, we use super strong UV resistant thread that is double stitched into every seam.

Places where two separate pieces of fabric are stitched together are then bound, that is, we take a long piece of one inch wide nylon webbing and fold it over the edges of the two pieces and stitch them together, this creates a strong seam, or binding, that prevents the pieces from unraveling on the inside of the bag, or gives it a clean finished look if on the outside of the bag. Inside edges typically receive a thinner nylon webbing, whereas outside corner edges that are exposed to wear will have a thicker nylon binding. All of our binding material is vertically woven to prevent fraying, peeling or splitting that you may commonly see in competitors bags that brag of "binding" their edges.

Each stress point, such as where the handles attach to the PR4, is double box stitched - which is where we get the "double xx" in our name, Red Oxx; a stitching practice we adapted from our time as parachute riggers.

The reason Red Oxx uses the largest zipper we can find, the #10 YKK VISLON® zipper, is that they are easily repairable, even in the field; they will hold their place, that is, they "lock"; they are difficult to penetrate, thereby increasing the security of your belongings; they function smoothly in inclement weather and they can be yanked from a variety of angles without losing teeth or becoming separated.

Red Oxx has occasionally been accused of "overdoing" our hardware. But once you've had a cheap piece of plastic hardware break in the middle of a busy intersection, airport or other inconvenient locale dumping your precious belongings all over the ground, having a heavy-duty nickel-plated or stainless steel D ring or attachment swivel that weighs just a little more, or might make a little noise, is a travel companion's confidence builder and peace of mind maker. After all, you want to enjoy your journey as best you can. Why worry about having your bag break down?

Ladies, if you want to use this on your next flight, stick your purse inside this spacious bag's center compartment and use it as your "personal item" in conjunction with your primary carry-on, such as an Air Boss or Sky Train.

For the men out there, fill it to the brim, and travel in the same carry-on manner.

Designed for the minimalist traveler out there, the Red Oxx Safari Beanos PR4 is still packed to the gills with overbuilt features that will serve you for a lifetime of travel.

Dimensions: 19"L x 9"W x 9"H (carry-on legal).
Capacity: 1,539 cubic inches.
Weight: 3.35 pounds.

Pocket measurements:

  • Dual end compartments: 9"W x 9"H x 2"D
  • Dual end zippered flat pockets: 9"W x 9"H
  • Front exterior zippered flat pocket: 11.5"W x 6"H
  • Back exterior twin zippered flat pass-through pocket: 11.5"W x 6.5"H
  • Main compartment: 9"W x 14"L x 9"H

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Transit Shipping Time Map.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your Safari Beanos PR4.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear with pride.

Red Oxx is a Veteran owned and operated US Manufacturer.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond a dozen working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. During checkout purchasers have the option to opt-out of our other occasional email notifications. Your email address is always secure.

Every great bag needs cool accessories.

"Beanos" Trivia: Named after our friend "Beano" who needed a gear bag that could carry his clothes and still be carry-on legal. Named after his grandfather, a bean farmer in the midwest, whom he looked like as a kid. Formerly the Super Beano, the bag is now available in several sizes and is in it's 4th stage of design revision.

Safari Beanos PR4 is a Red Oxx "Staff Pick" favorite.


Safari Beanos PR4 Specs Chart

  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Cordura nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded Solar Max nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • 304 welded heavy-duty stainless V ring
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Detachable Claw No Slip Shoulder Strap
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Pass-through panel to use with wheeled luggage; can double as an extra pocket
  • Dual turn locks on zippered top flap panel
  • Twin D rings for locking zippered flap panel
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors
  • US Dimensions: 19"L x 9"W x 9"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 48.3cm L x 22.9cm W x 22.9cm H
  • US Capacity: 1,539 cubic inches
  • Metric Capacity: 25.3 Liters
  • US Weight: 3.35 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 1.52 Kilos

Safari Beanos PR4 Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, back orders are typically filled within 14 working days. Visit our Customer Service Help Desk or call our Toll Free Hot Line: 1-888-733-6999.

Red Oxx "No Bull" Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himalayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

Red Oxx Bags are guaranteed forever, be sure to include them in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - No Questions Asked. Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Take me to the top