COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I make other carry-on bags nervous.”
Red Oxx Air Boss Carry-on Bag - pictured in Red. Available in 12 colors for $225

Air Boss $255.00


X
Buy Now Add to Registry

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


One Bag Travel! Air Boss.

The only carry-on bag you'll ever need.

Designed for the business traveler, the popular five star-rated carry-on travel bag is a must-have for anyone who enjoys the many advantages of traveling light: freedom of movement, less time wasted waiting in lines, no lost luggage, easy access, and overall travel simplification. Peruse the nearly 700 customer reviews right here from hundreds of satisfied Air Boss Carry-on customers to get an honest idea if this is the best travel bag for you.

CARRY-ON REBORN.
Red Oxx worked hand-in-hand with famous Internet author and carry-on travel expert, Doug Dyment, guru of OneBag.com fame to develop this all-in-one carry-on bag.

EXPERT DESIGN AND DEVELOPMENT.
Follow the link to learn Doug Dyment's bundle wrapping technique so you can fit everything you need and nothing you don't in your Air Boss airline carry-on bag to become a more organized happier traveller. Thanks to guideance from Onebag.com, here's a fantastic luggage packing diagram, showing you how to easily "bundle wrap" your clothing in the Air Boss.

WRINKLE-FREE TRAVEL.
Designed with three large main compartments, our Air Boss carry-on bag also features two outside zippered pockets; one full-length, one for your airline tickets, an outside sleeve pocket, and tie downs inside the two outer compartments to keep your belongings in position and wrinkle-free until you can unpack and hang them up at your destination.

A SPACIOUS PLACE FOR YOUR BELONGINGS.
The center compartment is spacious enough to hold your Toiletries, extra shoes, work-out gear, business briefcase, etc. Volara closed-cell foam padding is sewn into the sides, so you've got a rigid, yet flexible, piece of carry-on luggage that still protects your valuable belongings.

NEVER SLIPS OFF.
Includes detachable nonslip Claw Shoulder Strap that keeps your bag where you want it - on your shoulder.

DISCOVER HOW TO PACK IT.
Watch the Air Boss Packing Video posted in the Videos tab at left where CFO Amanda Markel shows how to use many of the bag's thoughtful features.

PROTECT YOUR LAPTOP.
Looking for extra protection for your laptop? A neoprene laptop sleeve is recommended. A "macho" option is to put it in a Metro Briefcase, which will then fit in the center compartment of the Air Boss, adding further protection and giving you a "one bag" travel option...with two bags inside one. Note that this can become a very heavy bag to carry if you decide to try this. Adding an extra Claw Shoulder Strap from your Metro and then carrying the Air Boss "backpack style" (one strap over each shoulder) can help offset this added load.

A BUSINESS TRAVEL BAG BUILT LIKE A TANK?
Our customers like to define our gear as "built like a tank". While obviously you're not going to be toting around bags that weigh 50 tons and have three inches of armor plate, still the comparison is valid. For a carry-on bag, the Air Boss is built tough. Starting with the most durable, flexible, and practical textile material available -- 1000 weight CORDURA nylon, the Air Boss is built using super-strong UV-resistant thread that's stitched into every seam.

BOUND AND BAGGED.
Places where two separate pieces of fabric are stitched together are then bound -- that is, we take a long piece of one-inch wide nylon webbing and fold it over the edges of the two pieces and stitch them together, this creates a strong seam, known as a binding, that prevents the pieces from unraveling on the inside of the bag, or gives it a clean, finished look if on the outside of the bag.

BINDING INSIDE / BINDING OUTSIDE.
In addition, each exposed outside fabric edge, such as on a pocket flap, is also bound using a thicker binding material. Inside edges typically receive a thinner nylon webbing, whereas outside corner edges that are exposed to heavy wear have a thicker nylon binding. All of our binding material is vertically woven to prevent the fraying, peeling or splitting that you may commonly see in competitors carry-on bags that brag of "binding" their edges.

WHY DOUBLE BOX STITCHING?
Each stress point, such as where the handles attach to the bag, is double box stitched - which is where we get the "double XX" in our name, Red Oxx; a stitching practice we adapted from our history as parachute riggers.

MY, WHAT BIG ZIPPERS YOU HAVE!
The reason Red Oxx uses the largest zipper we can afford, the #10 YKK VISLON® zipper, is that they're easily repairable, even in the field; they will hold their place, that is, they "lock"; they are difficult to penetrate, thereby increasing the security of your belongings; they function smoothly in inclement weather, and they can be yanked from a variety of angles without losing teeth or becoming separated.

PUTTING THE HARD IN HARDWARE.
Red Oxx has occasionally been accused of "overdoing" our hardware. But once you've had a cheap piece of plastic "hardware" break in the middle of a busy intersection, airport or other inconvenient locale dumping your precious belongings all over the ground, having a heavy-duty nickel-plated or stainless steel D ring or attachment swivel that weighs just a tiny bit more, or might make a little noise, is a travel companion's confidence builder and peace-of-mind maker. After all, you want to enjoy your journey as best you can. Why worry about having your Air Boss break down?

IS THERE ANOTHER CARRY BAG OPTION?
Looking for a similar carry-on bag but with retractable backpack style shoulder straps? Try our other popular travel bag, the Sky Train.

Join the fleet feet crowd and travel carry-on with the Commander of the ship: the Air Boss!

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY!
Due to high demand, you're encouraged to place your order now to get your Air Boss on our production schedule. Your bag will then be shipped in under 14 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H.
Capacity: 2,184 cubic inches.
Weight: 3.4 pounds.

Pocket measurements:

  • Exterior full length zippered side flat pocket: 13"H x 20"W
  • Exterior full length flat snap pocket: 9.5"H x 20"W
  • Exterior zippered side flat passport / map pocket: 12.5"D x 7"W
  • Dual zippered tie-down compartments: 2"D x 20.5"L x 12.5"H
  • Main center compartment: 4"D x 20.5"L x 12.5"H

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time Distance Map.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, products in production and delivery time? - Check out this personal message from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your Air Boss.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear with pride.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond a dozen working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is always secure.

Every great carry-on bag needs cool luggage accessories.

2009 Winner of the "Best Durable Luggage Award" from Bestcovery.com; "Discover the Best of Everything."

Selected as Kiplinger's Expert Picks The Best List of 2008 for Best Carry-on Travel Bag.

Air Boss Trivia:
On the flight deck of an aircraft carrier, the Air Boss is in charge of all the operations of the flight deck. He controls the moving of planes on deck, landing of aircraft, launching aircraft, ordinance handling, and safety of all the personnel occupying the flight deck. The Air Boss oversees from the command tower. Orders are communicated with the flight deck via megaphone. Ex: "Hey brownshirt. Get out of that checked baggage line and on the plane, now!"

Write a Review

4.79 Average Rating
 (702 Reviews)

 
... 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16  ... Next > 
 Air Boss is #1
By Larry Davidson, Irving, Texas, June 3, 2012

My wife and I just came back from a 12 day trip in Europe where we went to London, Wales and Paris. My Air Boss and Gator were part of our luggage and both worked great as "carry on" luggage. The Air Boss has plenty of room and will carry a lot of clothing, gear etc. I am completely happy with both bags and would highly recommend them as they are made of the highest quality and materials.
 
 Tough as nails
By Josh, Denver, June 1, 2012

Just got back from a 2 week trip with this bag. Very pleased with the significant amount you can fit in here and the comfort of the strap (considering the amount of stuff I'm hauling). This will definitely be my go-to bag from now on for carry on. You can just feel the quality of the stitching and zippers - worth it.
 
 I really reallly like it!
By Shayn A, Sacramento, May 31, 2012

I travel a lot for business and because of rising checked bag fees, I went with a bag I could use as a carry on. Did a ton of research and decided to go with Red Oxx. I was not disappointed! Once you learn how to bundle pack, this bag is a bit easier, but anyway you pack, it's an awesome bag. I recently used it on 4 flights to Canada (2 each way). Packed 2 suits, 4 shirts, extra pair of pants, swim suit, extra set of dress shoes, laptop and all the necessary items (socks, underwear, t-shirts, belts, etc.). Even on the smallest planes (and believe me one was extra small), this bag fit in the overhead compartment (only once did I need a gentle push on the tiny plane). Also, while everyone else was being asked to do a gate check of their bag, I was not asked once. This is an incredibly durable and well made bag. Zippers and material are outstanding. Customer service at Red Oxx is incredible. Only one small draw back, once I packed the bag, it got a little heavy carrying it. I will probably learn to pack a little lighter. The shoulder strap is awesome though and does not slip at all. Recently went to Tahoe for the holiday weekend and I easily packed all my stuff and some of my wifes and daughters as well as their bags would not hold everything. Big fan now of Red Oxx and letting everyone know.
 
 Amazing
By Aaron, Iowa, May 31, 2012

Bought this bag as I was taking a week trip to the NE for some soccer matches. All I can say is WOW! As a business traveler, I was always looking for a bag like this and was seriously considering a bag from another manufacturer. I am so happy to pay the extra little bit, I am sure this bag and I will be going through some amazing travels in the future....
 
 WOW!!!!
By Scott Taylor, Southeast Michigan, May 31, 2012

I have made four business trips since I recieved my Air Boss and I keep wondering how I ever got along without it. I am a carry-on only guy and the Air Boss fits anywhere. I do place it on top of a small underseat Tumi wheeled computer bag to make the long (DTW) airport walks easier but I will never have a large wheeled bag again. It is only a month old but I tell all my road warrior friends who will listen that the Air Boss is the only what to travel!!!
 
 Great travel bag!
By Dennis, Worthington, OH, May 30, 2012

I took my first trip with the Air Boss and I really appreciated the rugged construction and high quality materials. This is the first multi-compartment bag I have used and I used it with some packing cubes. This makes sorting and finding clothing items super easy. The cubes also make sure that smaller non-clothing items don't get lost or misplaced. I also love the rugged zippers that close authoritatively-they make it easy to sometimes overstuff the bag. Some suggestions for future versions of the Air Boss bag: padded handles (like Tom Bihn bags) and a grab handle on the side would make the Air Boss even better.
 
 Well Built
By T Fry, Bozeman, MT, May 29, 2012

Very well built and looks like it will last forever. Shipping was incredibly fast- I ordered it on short notice for a trip and was happy to have it a couple of days before I left. Was very convenient to do the "one bag" thing.

The only thing I would add, as someone else sort of mentioned, is some type of loop or pocket(s) on the inside to securely attach stuff to (such as keys, etc.) maybe a small secure pocket. Loops would do it for me. p.s. is there a way to open the loop on the little dog tag/key chain that came with it?
 
 Size matters
By Richard, Doha, Qatar, May 27, 2012

It's bigger than I expected it would be! But Qatar Airways didn't raise any issues about it. As with all Red Oxx stuff, it gives the feel and appearance of being completely bomb-proof. I think it's an ideal solution for shorter trips where I don't have to take two suits. I might be in the market for a garment bag some time soon ...
 
 No wheels makes it very heavy
By C. Thomas, Philadelphia, May 27, 2012

I used this bag on a one week trip to Columbia and a one week trip to Brazil. While the bag is very well constructed, very roomy and easy to get into overhead bins without wheels it is VERY difficult to carry between terminals when full.

For examples going through customs at MIA and trying to change terminals in DFW, the lack of wheels will slow you down.

I should have thought of this but put way to much stock in all the 5 star reviews and didn't think it would be a problem. What was I thinking!? Of course the lack of any sort of return policy means I am now stuck with this bag for the foreseeable future as I can not afford a replacement.
 
 So far so good
By Bill, Massachusetts, May 18, 2012

The bag is solidly built and held clothes as advertised. Although I did not carry the bag on the plane I would've felt completely comfortable doing so (no trepidation about whether it would fit in the overheads or not). The bag survived being checked on 2 international flights with no problems and clothes arrived relatively wrinkle-free. My only suggestions would be to include a few small/low profile pockets (internal or external) for cell, keys, pens, etc. and to indicate on the website that the bag comes with a luggage tag (I could've avoided purchasing an extra one).
 
 Follow-up: 4 years, 200th trip
By David A., Jerusalem, Israel, May 15, 2012

In West Yellowstone, MT for the next 10 days, and as I was going over my frequent flier miles statement I realized- this is my AirBoss's 200th trip! I got it 4 years ago, and haven't used another bag since. The bag still looks the same as when I got it, but the cordura has a slightly softer hand to it- broken in like your favorite old shoes. I wanted to relate a story from this trip about how awesome this bag is.

I don't get to the US often anymore, but when I do, I have a somewhat unhealthy obsession with stocking up on nice silk Nat Nast shirts, which are hard to get abroad. As I transferred to the puddle jumper from Denver to Bozeman, they of course made me gate check my AirBoss full of expensive new shirts. After landing in Bozeman, I waited on the jetway for my bag, only to see it arc through the air as some jerk baggage handler tossed it to his buddy. Of course, it landed in a huge, oily puddle on the tarmac. When I finally got my bag, a soaking, disgusting, mess, I took it immediately to the bathroom and went to work on it with paper towels. After about 5 minutes, the bag looked brand new- and dry- again. I opened it up- not a drop of water inside. Shirts saved! I'm sure that most bags don't have the splash resistance of the AirBoss- this one instance paid for the bag twice over.

So, thanks guys, from another grateful AirBoss owner. I look forward to the next 200 flights!

PS I know Montana is a small place, so if said baggage handler is your brother-in-law, niece's boyfriend, whatever, please know it's not personal
 
 Doug Dyment Rocks!
By Tony, Massachusettes, May 14, 2012

Some of you might know that Doug helped design this with the Air Boss team.

WOW what a job, I love this bag, it is good looking, rugged, the pockets are in the right place.

It is generous sized, and I have no problem packing a laptop, tech stuff, and 5 days travel into the bag, with out it being overstuffed. Easy to pack, and easy to unpack in pieces if you want to.

The big strap is fantastic, I have weak shoulders, and I find this a great boon.

Thank you Doug and RedOxx!!
 
 I Like It!
By Brett, Boston, May 13, 2012

This bag's maiden voyage with me was a three day business trip and it is indisputably the best piece of luggage I have owned.

I was pleased by the durable construction, its amazing carrying capacity, and the functionality of its design. I am a particular fan of the big zippers; they open and close authoritatively without jamming.

As others have noted, don't overpack or the bag will be uncomfortably heavy for a shoulder strap. A word of caution about the shoulder strap, when they say "non-slip" they aren't kidding. I found the strap's traction made it difficult to adjust the bag position and at one point I almost tore the hood off my shell jacket when doing so.

A few minor things that would make this bag even better for me: some kind of reflective piping, a handle on the side for grabbing regardless of which way the bag is oriented, more padding in the bottom of the center section, and a small, covered external pocket for quick-grab items. Overall a great bag, though.
 
 Excellent
By John, Maryland, May 11, 2012

Great bag, love the amount of space. Makes it really easy to have flights without checking luggage. It can get heavy, depending on how you pack. But there are plenty of ways to carry it, so it's not that bad.
 
 Red Oxx Air Boss
By Anonymous, Jacksonville, Florida, May 6, 2012

Looks great and is very practical. Packing is easy and it fits perfectly in overhead bins.
 
 Bring it All. Skip the Lines.
By Garrett, Canada, ON, May 3, 2012

Pros: this WILL last a lifetime (you can tell right when you get it), pocket on the front is awesome for holding my boarding pass and passport, can hold more than you would think when packed properly, shoulder strap is amazing, it is indeed international carry on dimensions even when fairly stuffed.

Cons: A couple of times when I reached into the front pocket with the button my finger nail got snagged on the back side of the button along the inside of the pocket.

I bought this bag because bringing only a carry on allows me to print my boarding passes before my flight and skip the check baggage line ;P. Went to Vegas in April and it worked like a charm.

The quality of the bag will meet and most likely surpass your expectations. The shoulder strap is great because unlike conventional straps you can wear it on the same side as the bag and it won't slip off. This allows you to put the bag down without having to pass the strap over your head every time.

I was 7 days in vegas but I packed more than you can imagine... it will hold everything you need it too, however I brought a red ox small aviator bag to bring back souvenirs, but didn't end up needing it.

I recommend this bag to anyone who is packing for only themselves (I still see use in checking bags if you have kids).
 
 Amazing
By Fetcho, Indiana, May 3, 2012

The Air Boss is the best bag I have ever laid my hands on. Amazing quality, most durable zippers and -all- materials. I still can't figure out how I can fit so much into this bag! I have owned Red Oxx Aviator Bags for a while now, and I used to get people asking about the bag, now last time I traveled I had two people say "Red Oxx, Nice!" by name, from afar! It is great to see a company with great products catching on!
 
 Tough bag
By Isaac Gorton, Spokane, WA, April 29, 2012

Ever since I had a camera and lenses stolen from checked bags I've only traveled with a carry-on. I have a very tough mil-style backpack that works okay, but now that my job requires several trips each month I need a bag that will keep my clothes neat and unwrinkled.

I purchased the Air Boss in Safari, as it is relatively low-key but stands out just enough from all the black bags out there. I often fly on small regional jets and turboprops and end up gate-checking it. After three trips it still looks good as new.

It would be nice to have a grab handle on each end for pulling out of the overhead or carrying vertically down the aisle.
 
 As promised
By David, Boston, April 26, 2012

After reading many reviews, I purchased the Air Boss as a way of changing my travel to one comfortable bag. It is as good as described - and I'm looking forward to many one bag trips.
 
 Five Flights in Eight Days
By Joshua Ward, Cambridge, MA, April 26, 2012

This past week I flew the following schedule over about five days: BOS-EWR-IAH-OKC-ORD-BOS. My new Air Boss arrived just in time for my trip. I carried with me this bag (packed for business and vacation) as well as a small laptop bag.

Pros:

*Construction is very solid.

*The "coal" color looked very professional without being boring all-black.

*Plenty of room (be wary about using ALL the space as your shoulder will thank you or kill you later).

*Should strap was indeed so "non-slip" that it almost pulled my shirt off trying to get the bag off my shoulder.

*It fit in many types of planes very well. This includes the 1+2 seat CRJ and the Q400 prop plane. Many people were forced to gate-check on my flights and I was NEVER ASKED. This was a HUGE plus for me. Something about having it over your shoulder when you walk down the bridge makes them ignore you.

Cons:

*I felt the price was still a little on the steep side, however, I don't buy luggage that often and when I do, I don't mind making it an investment as I do travel a lot.

*This isn't the bag's fault, but it can get pretty heavy on my shoulder. With that said, I still prefer not having the "backpack" style bags or wheeled luggage. Just plan ahead and pack lightly and you'll be fine.

*I really can't think of anything else bad about the bag to say...and I'm trying to!
 
... 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16  ... Next > 
Specifications

Air Boss Spec Size Chart

  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • US Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 53.3cm L x 20.3cm W x 33cm H
  • US Capacity: 2,184 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 35.7 Liters
  • US Weight: 3.4 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 1.54 Kilos
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified CORDURA® Nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 420 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • 4 lb. Volara closed cell foam padding on exterior panels
  • Double Box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Nylon webbing zipper pull grab loops
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors

Air Boss Carry-on Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 14 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx "No Bull" Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

Red Oxx Bags are guaranteed forever, be sure to include them in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - No Questions Asked. Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

Is the Air Boss carry-on legal?
Yes, the Air Boss is carry-on legal on most jet airlines.
 
What's the best way to pack the Air Boss?
The bundle packing method is recommended. Watch the packing video under the Videos tab or download the printable Air Boss luggage packing diagram (Pdf file).
 
What's the difference between the Air Boss and the Sky Train?
There are two principle differences between the Air Boss and the Sky Train: The Sky Train has retractable backpack straps and opens flat lengthwise whereas the Air Boss opens flat like a book.
 
Will the Air Boss fit under the seat in front of me?
Cramming your Air Boss under the seat is not recommended.
 
Will the Eagle Creek packing cubes fit the Air Boss?
Why not use our Nomad Shave Kit, Lil Roy Gadget Bag or Tri-fold Toiletry bag as packing cubes? You can color co-ordinate them to your preference and they come with useful carry handles. The Tri-Fold Toiletry Kit is also a brilliant shave kit organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold-open-flat hanging design.
 
How many pounds will the Air Boss weigh when packed?
It depends on what you pack. A typical 3-5 day load will weigh about 20-25 pounds.
 
How many days of travel can I fit in the Air Boss Carry-on?
Most travelers can get about 3-5 days with a typical load. Some adventurous types have been able to pack from a week to ten days! It all depends on how you pack and what you pack.
 
Where do I pack my laptop?
You can use the center compartment. We recommend that you use a padded neoprene sleeve to protect your laptop.
 
What's the best way to pack footwear?
Sole-to-sole to minimize the dirt and placed in the middle compartment inside a plastic bag.
 
Can I change the logo color?
Sure. Simply order your favorite color Logo Patch and sew it on yourself. Red Oxx cannot change the patch colors for you.
 
Can I order a bag without the logo?
Logo Patches are centered using a hole punch. If you remove the patch, there will be a hole in the bag that could cause a snag. Red Oxx cannot build a bag without a logo as this would disrupt the efficiency of the production line. Feel free to use a permanent marker to color the patches.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my bag?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
The Air Boss has three large internal compartments. There are no internal pockets.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.