Skip Navigation LinksHome  > News & Events  > 12 luggage colors to suit your palette  > Safari-Beanos-Bag-PR5

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I am famous for more than my huge zippers.”
Red Oxx PR5 Safari Beanos Duffel Bag - pictured in Saffron. Available in 12 colors.

Safari-Beanos Bag PR5 $195.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


Gear of the Year! Travel without fear.

Outside Magazine's Luggage Award-Winner.

WHY A DUFFEL STYLE CARRY-ON BAG?
This is as big a duffel style travel bag as you can legally use for carry-on bags (both domestically and internationally). Avoid rising checked bag fees – and simplify your life-- pack it all in one bag.

It's amazing how much stuff you can cram into our PR5 Safari Beanos bag! Pack it up for a long weekend out of the city or load it up with all your goodies you don't want damaged on the flight home. Featuring a generous top loading main compartment (18"L x 10"W x 10"H), you can load most anything you'll want to carry.

BEST GEAR OF THE YEAR.
Outside Magazine recognized the Safari Beanos PR5 Safari bag as one of 2004's 15 best outdoor products.

James Glave, editor for Outside Buyer's Guide, said:

"Winning products must offer cutting-edge design and be really rugged. Our testers dragged it with a car down the sidewalk and threw it off the second-story balcony and tried to destroy it. We really place enormous emphasis on rigorous testing."

As does Red Oxx! The proof in the pudding as they say.

Read the review about this outstanding carry-on bag, voted best by Outside Magazine. Also endorsed as an ideal safari travel duffel by professional safari hunter and outdoor writer, Craig Boddington, from the sportsman TV series "Tracks Across Africa" and Safari Spokesman Ivan Carter on "Hornady's Africa with Ivan Carter".

WHERE DO MY BELONGINGS GO?
Set up with the same layout as its little brother the PR4, this award winning duffel features three rectangular storage compartments for maximum space efficiency. Dual end pockets have zippers that zip halfway down the sides for easy access to packed items.

The opening for the main compartment flips back out of the way for unrestricted access to the entire compartment. Twin turn locks keep the lid secure and anchored D-rings allow locks to be attached to the zippers for extra peace of mind while traveling as checked baggage.

The zippered front flat pocket keeps your passport or reading materials handy. The pass-through panel on the back side is designed for use with wheeled luggage as a docking sleeve. Unzip top and bottom zippers and slip it over the wheeled bags telescoping carry handle. Or leave the bottom zipper closed and it doubles as a second flat exterior pocket.

HOW TO CARRY THE BAG.
Includes the famous Claw No-Slip Shoulder Strap. Attached using heavy-duty 360 degree "claw-like" swivels, this strap hardware will endure any abuse imaginable-- quickly detaching for storage inside.

Why not join the carefree carry-on crowd with an award winning PR5 Safari Beanos Duffel Bag today?

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your Safari-Beanos PR5 on our production schedule. It will then be delivered in under 30 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

Dimensions: 24"L x 10"W x 10"H (legal carry-on measurements)
Capacity: 2,400 cu. inches

Pocket measurements:

  • Dual end compartments: 10"W x 10"H x 3"D
  • Dual end zippered flat pockets: 10"W x 10"H
  • Front exterior zippered flat pocket: 16"W x 7"H
  • Back exterior twin zippered flat pass-through pocket: 16"W x 7.5"H
  • Main compartment: 10"W x 18"L x 10"H

"No Bull" Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, in production products and delivery time? - Check out this personal message from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the steps it takes to handcraft your gear.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email and a review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. Backorders beyond a dozen days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is secure.

Every great bag needs cool luggage accessories.

"Beanos" Trivia: Named after our friend "Beano" who needed a gear bag that could carry his clothes and still be carry-on legal. Named after his grandfather, a bean farmer in the midwest, whom he looked like as a kid. Formerly the Super Beano, the bag is now available in several sizes and is in it's 4th stage of design revision.

Write a Review

4.92 Average Rating
 (122 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next > 
 Official's Duffle
By Theresa C, TN, September 11, 2012

I purchased this bag for my husband who is a football official for TN high schools. It holds his clothing; ditty bag (with pockets for flags, whistles, lanyards, down keepers); cleated shoes in their own bag to keep grass/dirt/mud contained; towel; shower bag; shower shoes; watch/timekeeper; aspirin; rule book; and a few small items. I know that it holds all of this because I packed it.

I think that he will enjoy using it because it is definitely not wimpy. It is preferred that officials carry black bags; however, because he was having problems finding things in the bottom of his old black bag, I got this in Coal. I believe this is the best of both with the ends being black and the main exterior and interior being gray which helps him readily identify what he needs. I think this bag will last longer than he probably plans to officiate football.
 
 Love this bag!
By Charlene, Connecticut, September 6, 2012

My husband and I have used a Beanos bag on several worldwide trips. We find it to hold everything we need on the plane and off. We like it so much, that when our original one was stolen from a home robbery we had to order another one immediately! Then we decided one was not enough, we ordered another one so we would each have one. Keep up the great products.
 
 Exceeded expectations
By Carl Mischke, Johannesburg South Africa, September 6, 2012

This bag is beyond belief - from the depth of the colour, the sturdy construction (which was much more than I had expected), the solid feel and the powerful zips. Love the many compartments. Ideal for a week-end or even a week away (but not much longer).

Ordering more!
 
 woot
By bruce dollar, gardendale al., August 23, 2012

finally meet a bag that will out live me!
 
 Best Ever
By THull, Longmont, CO, July 11, 2012

You won't go wrong with this one & customer service is A#1

 
 Excellent Gear
By Bob L, Spotsylvania, VA, July 7, 2012

Bold vibrant colors inasturdy and durable bag.

Red Oxx has made an strong bag that can stand up to rugged travel demands while still looking great.

I am looking forward to buyingmysecondbafsoonand accessories. Finally a bag I can trust to secure my clothing while standing up to rugged off road conditions.

 
 The Perfect Travel Bag!
By A. Thiesen, Los Angeles, June 11, 2012

Superb construction and fantastic design at a reasonable price! Extra bonus points to be able to support a small company manufacturing a great product in the U.S.A.
 
 WELL DONE!
By S. P. McDonald, Savannah,GA USA, June 7, 2012

Did some serious research over almost a year before pulling the trigger on this and I was NOT disappointed! Bag arrived and was immediately impressed with the quality of the workmanship. This bag will be perfect for my frequent overseas travels. I consider this an investment and I think, (considering the quality,warranty etc), it is a damn good one! Will recommend!!
 
 Commendable.
By Will, On the move, May 31, 2012

I ordered this bag late one week as a carry-on in anticipation for a move. However, they didn't have it in stock. Customer service worked with the production line to get it made that weekend and rushed out to me days before my move. Couldn't have asked for more. Thanks, Red Oxx!
 
 Fantastic
By Shore Bob, NJ, May 17, 2012

the bag is excellent. i keep discovering new pockets. have taken it on holiday and it holds more stuff than i ever expected. i love the bright amythest color and the quality is great
 
 Its Magic!
By A. Ganaishlal, S. Florida, May 12, 2012

this bag is great..and has tons of room..i use it for all my travel needs...best thing for business is the fact that you can fit an Eagle Creek Pack It Folder laying flat on the bottom...

I had a Tom Bihn Tri-Star...this bag blows it away..

 
 Duffel bag perfection
By JWT, Ontario, Canada, May 3, 2012

I purchased the PR5 duffel bag to replace a well worn bag I use to travel to our summer cottage. I was impressed by the many positive comments on the Red Oxx site and my expectations were high when I ordered the bag in the Safari colour. I was completely taken by surprise when the bag arrived. It is absolutely, in every way beyond my expectations. The bag is very well designed to hold a ton of stuff and allows for easy organization of clothers and other gear. I particularly like the way the double zipper on the top allows for easy and complete access to the main compartment. It is masculine looking in the Safari colour and rugged beyond belief. The zippers work flawlessly and the strap is comfortable on the shoulder. It really does not slip! Before I ordered the bag I corresponded with a service rep at Red Oxx named Tallon Jones. He was informative and very helpful in assisting me in making my choice. I had checked out other brands on the internet, but none came up to the Red Oxx standards in my opinion. Red Oxx was recommended to me by a family member who is a railworker using a Red Oxx railroad grip. He swears by Red Oxx and so now do I. This will only be my first Red Oxx purchase.
 
 *Another* brilliant bag!
By Duncan, Australia, April 25, 2012

Yep, it's another astonishingly good bag, with the same outstanding build quality as the others I've bought. And, *this one* is big enough to get your MacBookPro into - as well as everything else (the Beanos 4 is too narrow).

I'd kinda like one that's just a bit shorter in the body (same dimensions as the MacBookPro let's say) - call it a Beanos 4.5?
 
 Very Good
By jim, Tampa Florida, April 20, 2012

It is a great bag. The only reasons I gave it a #4 are as follows: the end pockets are advertised as 10 inches and they are only about nine. The big problem is the strap. The rubber part, "the claw" does not slip which is great but it is much to narrow. It digs into your shoulder big time. I would appreciate if you would make another strap that the rubber could be at least twice as wide. I would buy it right now!!! Great product and a very professional company..my order was correct and right on time. Thanks, Jim
 
 Join the cult
By Bill Roach, Iowa, January 19, 2012

I love this bag. It reminds me of a bag, years ago, made by Eclipse. I love the way it opens, that is rugged and functional. And the quality is amazing, it is so over-built. Love it.
 
 Cool Beanos
By Jarrett Dorough, Connecticut, January 17, 2012

I cannot express how much I have enjoyed my PR5. I was pleasantly surprised by more than a few things about this bag. First off, the build quality is fantastic. Secondly, the amount of stuff I can cram into it is incredible. Lastly, the ease of navigating a busy airport with the bag over the shoulder is the icing on the cake. I have used the bag twice now and have no problems bringing everything I need for 7 days or so. I can see this thing lasting forever, fantastic bag!
 
 Stuffed Full
By J.C., Indiana, January 3, 2012

Love this bag. I took it to California for a week and even jammed full on the way back there was never a feeling that it was going to fail.

I found that it was easy to carry and fit into overhead bins of both mainline and regional jets. RedOxx offers excellent bags and excellent service!
 
 Railroad tough
By Robert Overfelt, Wellington, Kansas, November 24, 2011

I work for BNSF railways as a conductor, getting on and off locomotives, old and new is tough on any duffle/grip. I have gone through several bags over the last seven years. I noticed a lot of men and women used Red Oxx bags and the bags seemed to hold up well. After asking several about their Red Oxx bags I was sold, not one bad review, " best bag I have ever owned " is what I kept getting. One of my best friends on the railroad owns a pr-5 it looked fairly new so I asked him if he had just bought it and his answer surprised me, " no, I have had it eleven years, best bag I have ever owned ", I ordered mine the next day. We have to carry all kinds of equipment and information and it houses it all and my overnight supplies with no problem. It's the best bag I have ever purchased.
 
 Perfect Carry-On
By C.D., New Jersey, November 18, 2011

Received this bag last April. Waited to review until I used it on several trips. Fit enough for all my 4-7 day trips.

Easy through airport with bag attached to my wife's handle of her wheeled carry-on. The bag fit easily into overhead compartments of several different types of planes. Nice handles and comfortable strap. Overall heavy duty build without the weight of some carry-ons.

Very satisfied with Rod Oxx and my purchase. Highly recommend!
 
 great 6 day bag
By mike, seattle, November 18, 2011

This bag is very efficient, and I'm glad to have it for trips less than a week. Main compartment well sized for folded pants / shirts. End pockets don't seem that big, but actually hold quite a bit. Wide mouth top overcomes the cramped access of std duffels. Only thing I'd change is add a 3 snap hvy leather binder for the hand loops - the nylon one lacks stiffness.
 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next > 
Specifications
Safari Beanos PR5 Specs Chart

  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Cordura nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • 304 welded stainless V ring
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Detachable Claw No Slip Shoulder Strap
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Pass-through panel for use with wheeled luggage; can double as an extra pocket
  • Dual turn locks on zippered top flap panel
  • Twin D rings for locking zippered flap panel
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors
  • US Dimensions: 24"L x 10"W x 10"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 61cm L x 25.4cm W x 25.4cm H
  • US Capacity: 2,400 cubic inches
  • Metric Capacity: 39.3 Liters

Sarari Beanos PR5 Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 30 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

What are the differences in size of the Beanos bags?
The PR5, a step up from the PR4, was designed for legal carry-on travel. The PR5-5 is sized between the PR5 and the largest of the series, the PR6.
 
Is the PR5 carry-on legal?
Yes, it was designed to be carry-on legal.
 
Will the PR5 qualify as a personal item?
The PR5 is designed as more of a smaller carry-on than a personal item. It's too big to be a personal item.
 
What's the difference between the PR5 Carry-on Bag and Flying Boxcar?
The Flying Boxcar has a full length main compartment with extra raised pockets located on the side of the bag, whereas the PR4/5 have a shorter main compartment and the pockets on both ends. The Flying Boxcar also features grab handles on the ends and a padded bottom with reinforced ballistic nylon, our toughest.
 
How many days of travel will fit in the PR5?
The PR5 was designed to hold up to a weeks worth of clothes. Some proficient packers could stuff it for 10 days. Obviously, it really depends on what you pack and how you pack it.
 
Can I fit my laptop in it?
Most 15" and up notebooks and tablets should fit in the main compartment.
 
Is the PR5 padded on the bottom?
Our Sun Chaser and Flying Boxcar are padded on the bottom. The PR Safari Beano's series of duffel bags is not padded.
 
Why are there two zippers on the back pocket?
This is a special "pass through" pocket that allows you to mount the bag over the handle of a wheeled bag.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my bag?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
What are the D-Rings for at the end of the zippers?
The D-rings allows you to lock your zippers closed. Again, one can still cut open the bag with a knife.
 
What's the best way to pack the PR5?
We recommend the bundle wrap method developed by Doug Dyment of Onebag.com fame. Use our luggage packing diagram (Pdf file). Which brings us to the next question...
 
Will the Eagle Creek packing cubes fit the PR5?
We recommend that you use our Nomad Shave Kit, Lil Roy Gadget Bag or Tri-fold Toiletry bag as packing cubes. You can color co-ordinate them to your preference and they come with useful carry handles. The Tri-fold Toiletry bag is also a brilliant shave kit organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
 
Is this the Railroad Grip?
The Railroad Grip is a different bag. It is sized differently to accommodate the lamp, rule book, radio and is built with a heavy-duty ballistic nylon. While the PR5 is a strong bag and is warranted for life, the Grip is the bag of choice for railroaders.
 
How does the PR5 compare to the Sky Train or Air Boss?
The PR5 is a duffel style bag with a main center compartment and two raised end compartments, whereas the Air Boss is a carry-on bag with 3 main central compartments. The Sky Train is a double main compartment carry-on bag that has retractable backpack straps. All three bags are carry-on legal.
 
Will my shoes fit in the end pockets?
Depends on the shoe! A child's shoes would fit as would most women's average foot size, perhaps (7-8). Boots will not fit and most men's shoes would be too large.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
The PR5 features a main compartment, flat side pockets and dual end pockets. It does not have interior pockets.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.