Skip Navigation LinksHome  > Gear Reviews  > 12 luggage colors to suit your palette  > Safari-Beanos-Bag-PR-55

Email Red OxxRed Oxx on YoutubeRed Oxx on YoutubeRed Oxx on InstagramPin it on Red Oxx PinterestJoin Red Oxx on facebook.Red Oxx on Google Plus

Red Oxx Safari Beanos PR5.5 Duffel Bag. Pictured in Khaki. Available in 12 Colors.




Write a Review

4.8358
4.83 Average Rating
 (58 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 Next > 
55
 PR 5.5
By , NC, February 7, 2013

I ordered a black bag because the patch stood out instead of blending in with the bag. The bag is well built and worth the money. I love the zippers, should last forever.

Thanks for a quality, American made product.
 
55
 Bought four--very pleased
By , Iowa, January 7, 2013

In December I bought one for each member of our family--myself, my spouse, and our two daughters--in four different colors for ease of identification.

As everyone else says, they are extraordinarily sturdy and beautifully constructed. My spouse is an "over-stuffer" who has a bad track record of destroying zippers and ripping seams on suitcases and backpacks. Ha. In this bag he has met his match! Ditto for the kids, for that matter. No more bickering with my 11 year old fashionista about how many different outfits she can bring along for visits to the grandparents, aunts, uncles, and cousins.

As for ease of use, I didn't hear any complaints while we were gone. We definitely all liked the double-zip opening at the top, as that made it much easier to find items inside. The end pockets provide plenty of space for shoes, (multiple) toiletry bags, even squishable jackets. Sure, a boxy suitcase still generally makes it easier to find stuff, but these bags are so much more versatile and durable.

That said, because the PR 5.5. are relatively heavy for bags without wheels, I'd be quite hesitant to use them for a trip where we would need to lug them on our shoulders for very long. But for driving trips such as one we just took, it is great to be free of even heavier and bulkier wheeled suitcases (which is what these bags are replacing).

As for the size, obviously you'd have to buy the bag in every size to have the perfect option for every possible kind of trip. Since we mostly anticipate using these for extended car trips rather than air travel, we opted for the 5.5 to make sure we each had plenty of room to pack shoes, fleece jackets, and so on, without having to stuff things in. The 5.0 carry-on size probably would have been big enough, frankly, but it's nice to have that extra space available to accommodate gifts and that sort of thing. The 5.5 is huge when fully stuffed; the 6.0 when stuffed would probably be more than I myself could even lift.

I should also express gratitude for the speedy service. When I placed my order one of the colors we wanted was listed as "out of stock." I included a note mentioning my desire to get the bags before we left on the trip, and within either 24 or 48 hours of placing the order, they had all been shipped. Thanks!
 
55
 Super piece of kit
By , China, November 30, 2012

Dear Redoxx,

thanks again for the super speedy service to China. I already have the PR5, and now with the PR5.5 my kit bags are complete. I have used the PR5 on various safari hunts; the best bags I know of!

Hope you will have some new products soon!
 
55
 Good bag
By , Atlanta, GA, November 2, 2012

Very nice bag. Heavy duty but not too heavy, good size for weekends. It lacks a rigid bottom panel, which is a plus for storage (and stuffing into the trunk) but a minor minus for packing ease and when carrying via the shoulder strap, as it tends to flex a bit. In a larger bag this may be a problem but not so much in this size. My wife is already coveting this one so I suspect I'll be buying another one soon.
 
45
 Almost perfect but....
By , USA, October 30, 2012

The one problem with this bag is that its a "tweener".

Its right in-between: too big be a carry-on but not quite big enough to replace my suitcase.

It may fault for ordering the wrong size (misunderstood the dimensions).

On the plus side: it is a MONSTER bag. Extra-super heavy duty!! Wonderfully sturdy fasteners and zipper.

The parallel track main compartment zippers take a little getting used to and I'm not quite sure about the dual upper and lower zippers on the front pouch -- a little idiosyncratic.

All-n-all, a great bag. Just wish I'd gotten a larger size.
 
55
 super slow shipping
By , Arcade NY, September 27, 2012

according to their shipping map i should have received my bag in 4-7 days . i placed my order 8/31/12 and called 2 weeks later to check on my order and the ignorant asshole at red oxx told me it wasnt even shipped and hung up on me. my bag showed up 9/22/12. i think it was delivered via pony express .
 
55
 Safari-Beanos Bag PR 5.5
By , Rome, New York, September 13, 2012

I came upon the RED OXX website after spending several weeks searching for a quality duffle. I originally had my mind set on a bottom drop bag but once I found RED OXX I was convinced that this was the one I wanted. No regrets here whatsoever. This is a quality, American made product well worth the price. I would highly recommend RED OXX and would buy from them again. PS - if you ever develop a bottom drop bag let me know.
 
55
 Perfect Size
By , UK, September 13, 2012

I have used other Red Ox bags which I have found indestructable. The multitude of pockets makes organising ones kit simple. I have settled on this safari beano in conjunction with the Gator carry on bag as the ideal combination for safari travel. Highly recomended
 
55
 Hard to fill
By , Albuquerque, NM, August 11, 2012

If I fill this monster I will not be able to lift it without a crane.
 
55
 PR5.5 Perfecto Mondo
By , Calgary, Alberta, Canada, July 18, 2012

I've just returned home from a two week vacation of Europe. Color me impressed with this piece of luggage. Initially I thought this bag would be too small, boy how wrong could I be. Managed pack everything I needed, 11kg well under the 22kg limit for the airlines. Very sturdy, and held up well where my friends luggage were torn, dented or missing. Well worth it and sense will be around a long time.
 
55
 Safarie Benos PR 5.5
By , Austin, July 5, 2012

I am traveling to Kenya & Tanzania in mid- August. So, I won't really test the new bag until then. I am quite impressed with how well the bag is made. The zippers are heavy duty and the seams look extremely strong.
 
55
 Almost Perfect
By , Easton, MD, July 5, 2012

I think that I could have put my whole house in this thing! It was the perfect size for a check in case, and probably a size bigger than I needed. Packed, it weighed slightly over 20 lbs., which was exactly what I wanted. Kept finding pockets all during the trip.
 
55
 Well designed, well built
By , San Francisco, CA, June 14, 2012

I recently carried this and a C-Ruck through Europe for two weeks. The PR 5.5 afforded me all the packing space I needed and kept my luggage weight well below my airline's limit, even after I had filled it with several bottles of booze. I was seriously impressed by the bag's durability, from the fabric to the zippers and clasps. By the time I got home, there still wasn't a scratch on the thing, and I had hardly been gentle with it. If its inaugural voyage was any indication, this product was well worth every penny I spent on it.
 
55
 Great Bag, Great Service
By , Houston, TX, April 27, 2012

This bag is even more impressive in person, and the service is truly top notch.

We needed this bag for an overseas trip to Africa for the oil & gas industry and Red Oxx was able to make the bags and ship them to us in less than a week!

This bag should set the standard for being made in America.
 
55
 Top shelf
By , Georgia, February 9, 2012

I bought the PR 5.5 for a 7 day African plains game safari on the recommendation of Craig Boddington in Sports Afield magazine (http://www.sportsafield.com/content/how-pack-safari). The bag seems indestructible, just as Craig described. Like anything else, you get what you pay for. If you want top shelf quality, this is it.
 
55
 GREAT Bag
By , Pittsburgh, PA, February 1, 2012

Great bag, top quality. I'll definitely be back for other products in the future. This is totally worth the price. Mine was on back order and Red Oxx said it takes about two weeks to get the order filled. Almost two weeks to the day, it was at my door. Great service. By American, buy from Red Oxx. You won't be disappointed.
 
55
 Safari Beanos PR5.5
By , Bothell, WA, December 29, 2011

I was impressed with the overall quality of the product. The zippers were heavy duty and the stitching and workmanship were best quality.

Its a very useful bags for 3 day business trips and can also be useful as a range bag for a sighting in afternoon.
 
55
 PR 5.5
By , West Virginia, July 28, 2011

I recently went on a 9 day excursion through Greece. This bag was amazing. I easily crammed everything I needed into, plus a bunch of stuff I didn't. Very sturdy and dependable, and I had no problem taking it as a carry on. Overall an amazing bag I would recommend to anyone, especially an over packer like myself!
 
45
 Super bag
By , Washington state, July 12, 2011

This bag compliments my Air Boss making travel easy. It's bult to last, stylish, and designed to pack it full. I do however have one issue. The main compartment when closed & lock at zippers to D-rings, is still accessable by simply undoing the turn locks on the end of the flap and reaching into the main compartment. With the exception of overly large items, the main compartment could be emptied quite easy. Maybe the turn locks could have holes in them for cable lock?
 
55
 Impressive Tough Bag
By , NY, June 23, 2011

Tough bag with impressive hardware, great zips with the monkey-fist knots. You can get a lot of gear into the bag. Crammed 10-days worth of vacation/hiking stuff, including a summer sleeping bag yet the top-flap closed easily. The only downside is that all that packed stuff then makes the bag a bit heavy!
 
1 2 3 Next > 
Related Articles
Frequently Asked Questions

What are the differences in size of the Beanos bags?
The PR5.5, a step up from the PR5, was not designed for legal carry-on travel. The PR5.5 is sized between the PR5 and the largest of the series, the PR6.
 
Is the PR5.5 carry-on legal?
The PR 5.5 was not designed to be carry-on legal.
 
How many days of travel will fit in the PR5.5?
The PR5.5 was designed to hold a weeks worth of clothes, or around 50 pounds. Some proficient packers could stuff it for two weeks. Obviously, it really depends on what you pack and how you pack it.
 
Can I fit my laptop in it?
Most 15 inch and under notebooks should fit in the main compartment.
 
Is the PR5.5 padded on the bottom?
Our Sun Chaser and Flying Boxcar are padded on the bottom. The Safari Beanos series is not padded.
 
Why are there two zippers on the back pocket?
This is a special "pass through" pocket that allows you to mount the bag over the handle of a wheeled bag.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my bag?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
What are the D-Rings for at the end of the zippers?
The D-rings allows you to lock your zippers closed. Again, one can still cut open the bag with a knife.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
The Safari Beanos series has exterior flat and raised pockets only.
 
What's the best way to pack the PR5.5?
We recommend the bundle wrap method developed by Doug Dyment of Onebag.com fame. Which brings us to the next question.
 
Will packing cubes fit in the PR5.5?
We developed a line of lovely packing cubes that were designed to work with all our bags. Many people also like to use our Lil Roy and Nomad Dope Bag as packing cubes. You can color code your belongings and use the handles to hang them in your room for easy access.
 
Is this the Railroad Grip?
The Railroad Grip is a different bag. It's sized differently to accommodate the lamp, rule book, radio and is built with a heavy-duty ballistic nylon. While the PR5.5 is a strong bag and is warranted for life, the Grip is the bag of choice for railroaders.
 
How does the PR5.5 compare to the Sky Train or Air Boss?
The PR5.5 is a duffel style bag with a main center compartment and two raised end compartments, whereas the Air Boss is a carry-on bag with three main central compartments. The Sky Train is a double main compartment carry-on bag that has retractable backpack straps. All three bags are carry-on legal.
 
Will my shoes fit in the end pockets?
Depends on the shoe! A child's shoes would fit as would most women's average foot size, perhaps (7-8). Boots will not fit and most men's shoes would be too large.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
The PR5-5 features a main compartment, flat side pockets and dual end pockets. It does not have interior pockets.
 
Will the PR5.5 meet checked luggage standards?
Yes, the PR-5.5 is designed for checked travel.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, try and fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.
 
“When a little extra is more than enough.”

Safari-Beanos Bag PR 5.5 $205.00

91032-AmethystIn stock205
91032-BlackIn stock205
91032-BordeauxIn stock205
91032-CoalIn stock205
91032-ForestIn stock205
91032-KhakiIn stock205
91032-MarinerOn back order205
91032-MidnightIn stock205
91032-OliveIn stock205
91032-RedIn stock205
91032-SafariIn stock205
91032-SaffronIn stock205

X

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


Larger than Life! Go ahead, pack it as full as you can.

A safari duffel that easily holds up to 50 pounds.

This size in the Beanos Series Safari Duffel Bags was developed after the new weight restrictions limited travelers to 50 lbs on domestic flights. This is the travel duffel bag to take out into the world for your seven to ten day trip!

8. REASONS TO OWN A PR5.5 DUFFEL

1. LARGE POCKETS.
The large end pockets can hold your hiking boots on one end and your Tri-fold Shave Kit along with your flip flops in the other. A zippered front flat pocket keeps your passport handy. The pass-through panel on the back side is designed for use with wheeled luggage as a docking sleeve. Unzip top and bottom zippers and slip the panel over the wheeled bags telescoping carry handle. Or leave the bottom zipper closed and it doubles as a second flat exterior pocket. See the photos tab at left to see what this looks like.

2. NO SLIP STRAP.
Think lightweight, forget those clumsy wheels and telescoping handle that waste space and add weight. This is not technically a legal carry-on bag, per se, but if packed light and carried by a larger person, you might be able to sneak one on board. Speaking of carry, the sturdy detachable and adjustable padded no-slip Claw shoulder strap is the perfect blend of reliability and function.

3. TOUGH ZIPPERS.
Easily zip open or closed any compartment or pocket with our exclusive proprietary Monkey Fist Zip Knots and the toughest, biggest zipper for duffel bags available: the #10 YKK auto-locking nylon zipper. The reason Red Oxx uses the largest zipper we can find, the #10 YKK VISLON® zipper, is that they are easily repairable, even in the field; they will hold their place, that is, they "lock"; they are difficult to penetrate, thereby increasing the security of your belongings; they function smoothly in inclement weather and they can be yanked from a variety of angles without losing teeth or becoming separated.

4. BUILT LIKE A TANK.
Our customers like to define our gear as "built like a tank". While obviously you're not going to be toting around duffel bags that weigh 50 tons and have three inches of armor plate, still the comparison is valid. For a duffel bag, they are built tough. Starting with one of the most durable soft textile materials available, 1000 weight Cordura nylon, we use super strong UV resistant thread that is double stitched into every seam. Rugged, reliable and tough.

5. BOUND AND BAGGED.
Places where two separate pieces of fabric are stitched together are then bound, that is, we take a long piece of one inch wide nylon webbing and fold it over the edges of the two pieces and stitch them together, this creates a strong seam, or binding, that prevents the pieces from unraveling on the inside of the bag, or gives it a clean finished look if on the outside of the bag. Inside edges typically receive a thinner nylon webbing, whereas outside corner edges that are exposed to wear will have a thicker nylon binding. All of our binding material is vertically woven to prevent fraying, peeling or splitting that you may commonly see in competitors bags that brag of "binding" their edges.

6. RIGGER CHECK.
Each stress point, such as where the handles attach to the bag, is double box stitched - which is where we get the "double xx" in our name, Red OXX; a stitching practice we learned from our service as parachute riggers.

7. PUTTING THE HARD IN HARDWARE.
Red Oxx has occasionally been accused of "overdoing" our hardware. But once you've had a cheap piece of plastic hardware break in the middle of a busy intersection, airport or other inconvenient locale dumping your precious belongings all over the ground for everyone to see (and steal), having a heavy-duty nickel-plated or stainless steel D ring or attachment swivel that weighs just a little more, or might make a little noise, is a travel companion's confidence builder and peace of mind maker. After all, you want to enjoy your journey as best you can. Why worry about having your bag break you down?

8. EASY ACCESS.
Handy flip open lid allows unencumbered access to the spacious main compartment. Stainless double turn-snaps secure your gear. With such a roomy main compartment, you can pack all you'll need for your much needed vacation and still have room to bring all of your souvenirs home. When a PR6 is too big and a PR5 is too small, the PR5.5 fits the "travel light" philosophers ticket.

U.S.A. Dimensions: 27"L x 11"W x 11"H.
Capacity: 3,267 cubic inches.
Weight: 4.05 pounds.

Metric Dimensions: 68.6cm L x 27.9cm W x 27.9cm H
Capacity: 53.4 Liters
Weight: 1.84 Kilos

Pocket measurements:

  • Dual end compartments: 10"W x 10"H x 4"D
  • Dual end zippered flat pockets: 10"W x 10"H
  • Front exterior zippered flat pocket: 17"W x 7"H
  • Back exterior twin zippered flat pass-through pocket: 17"W x 7.5"H
  • Main compartment: 11"W x 20"L x 11"H

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty. Red Oxx lasts longer.
Designed AND hand made in Billings, Montana US.A..
UPS Transit Shipping Time Map.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your Safari Beanos PR5.5.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear with pride.

Red Oxx is a Veteran owned and operated US Manufacturer.

EMAIL POLICY: Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond a dozen working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. During checkout purchasers have the option to opt-out of our other occasional email notifications. Your email address is always secure.

Every great bag needs cool accessories.

"Beanos" Trivia: Named after our friend "Beano" who needed a gear bag that could carry his clothes and still be carry-on legal. Named after his grandfather, a bean farmer in the midwest, whom he looked like as a kid. Formerly the Super Beano, the bag is now available in several sizes and is in it's 4th stage of design revision.

Safari Beanos PR5.5 is a Red Oxx "Staff Pick" favorite.

Specifications
Safari Beanos PR5.5 Specs Chart

  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Cordura nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • 304 welded stainless V rings
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Claw No Slip Shoulder Strap
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Double box stitching on all stress points such as carry handles
  • Pass-through panel to use with wheeled luggage; can double as an extra pocket
  • Dual turn locks on zippered top flap panel
  • Twin D rings for locking zippered flap panel
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Designed AND hand made in the U.S.A.
  • US Dimensions: 27"L x 11"W x 11"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 68.6cm L x 27.9cm W x 27.9cm H
  • US Capacity: 3,267 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 53.4 Liters
  • US Weight: 4.05 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 1.84 Kilos

Safari Beanos PR5.5 Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black = Raven
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, back orders are typically filled within 7-10 working days. Visit our Customer Service Help Desk or call our Toll Free Hot Line: 1-888-733-6999.

Red Oxx "No Bull" Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himalayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

Red Oxx Bags are guaranteed forever, be sure to include them in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - No Questions Asked. Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Take me to the top