Skip Navigation LinksAir-Boss

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I make other carry-on bags nervous.”
Red Oxx Air Boss Carry-on Bag - pictured in Red. Available in 12 colors for $225

Air Boss $255.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


One Bag Travel! Air Boss.

The only carry-on bag you'll ever need.

Designed for the business traveler, our most popular five star-rated carry-on travel bag is a must-have for anyone who enjoys the advantages of traveling light. Peruse over 600 customer reviews right here from hundreds of satisfied Air Boss Carry-on customers to get an honest idea of whether this is the best travel bag for you.

CARRY-ON REBORN.
Red Oxx worked with Internet author and carry-on travel expert, Doug Dyment, guru of OneBag.com fame to develop this all-in-one carry-on bag.

EXPERT DESIGN AND DEVELOPMENT.
Follow this link to learn Doug Dyment's bundle wrapping technique so you can fit everything you need and nothing you don't in your Air Boss airline carry-on bag and become a more organized traveller. Thanks to guideance from Onebag.com, here's a fantastic luggage packing diagram, showing you how to easily "bundle wrap" your clothing in the Air Boss.

WRINKLE FREE TRAVEL.
Designed with three large main compartments, our Air Boss carry-on bag also features two outside zippered pockets; one full-length, one for your airline tickets, an outside sleeve pocket, and tie downs inside the two outer compartments to keep your slacks and dress shirts in position and wrinkle-free until you can unpack and hang them up in the hotel.

A PLACE FOR YOUR BELONGINGS.
The center compartment is spacious enough to hold your Toiletries, extra shoes, work-out gear, business briefcase, etc. Volara closed-cell foam padding is sewn into the sides, so you've got a rigid, yet flexible, piece of carry-on luggage that still protects your valuable belongings.

NEVER SLIPS OFF.
Includes detachable nonslip Claw Shoulder Strap that keeps your bag where you want it - on your shoulder.

DISCOVER HOW TO PACK IT.
Watch the Air Boss Packing Video posted in the Videos tab at left where CFO Amanda Markel shows how to use many of the bag's features.

PROTECT YOUR LAPTOP.
Looking for extra protection for your laptop? We recommend using a neoprene Laptop sleeve. A "macho" option is to put it in a Metro Briefcase, which will fit in the center compartment of the Air Boss, adding further protection and giving you a "one bag" travel option...with two bags inside one. Note that this can become a very heavy bag to carry if you decide to try this. Adding an extra Claw Shoulder Strap from your Metro and then carrying the Air Boss "backpack style" (one strap over each shoulder) can help offset this added load.

ANOTHER CARRY BAG OPTION IS.
Looking for a similar carry-on bag with retractable backpack style shoulder straps? Try our other popular travel bag, the Sky Train.

Join the fleet feet crowd and travel carry-on with the Commander of the ship: the Air Boss!

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your Air Boss on our production schedule. Your bag will then be delivered in under 30 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H.
Capacity: 2,184 cubic inches.

Pocket measurements:

  • Matching dual exterior zippered full length side flat pockets: 13"H x 20"W each
  • Exterior flat snap pocket: 9.5"H x 20"W
  • Exterior zippered side flat passport / map pocket: 12.5"D x 7"W
  • Dual zippered tie down side compartments: 2"W x 20.5"L x 12.5"H
  • Main center compartment: 4"W x 20.5"L x 12.5"H

"No Bull" Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, in production products and delivery time? - Check out this personal message from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the steps it takes to handcraft your Air Boss.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear.

Online Air Boss orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email and a review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. Backorders beyond a dozen days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is secure.

Every great carry-on bag needs cool luggage accessories.

2009 Winner of the "Best Durable Luggage Award" from Bestcovery.com; "Discover the Best of Everything."

Selected as Kiplinger's Expert Pics The Best List of 2008 for Best Carry-on Travel Bag.

Air Boss Trivia: On the flight deck of an aircraft carrier, the Air Boss is in charge of all the operations of the flight deck. He controls the moving of planes on deck, landing of aircraft, launching aircraft, ordinance handling, and safety of all the personnel occupying the flight deck. The Air Boss oversees from the command tower. Orders are communicated with the flight deck via megaphone. Ex: "Hey greenshirt. Get out of that checked baggage line and on the plane, now!"

Write a Review

4.79 Average Rating
 (675 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ... Next > 
 Weekend Getaway
By All Stage and Sound, Maryland, October 10, 2013

This is perfect for my wife and I. She gets one side and I get the other side for our clothes. This leaves the middle part for our toiletries and anything else. Its the perfect size for us. We both don't have to carry bags. The carry strap is super comfortable. The handle is comfortable. The side pockets are very useful for phone chargers and kindle type devises. Finally this thing is never going to break or rip. Never. You get what you pay for!
 
 Great bag, but I don't use it as much any more
By AS, NJ, October 5, 2013

I must admit I don't this bag as much anymore. I bought this bag before I got married, and used it exclusively for my carryon. But after marriage, since my wife uses a rolling suitecase, I usually do it.

Plus, this bag can get heavy carrying it across large airports like Dubai.

In any case, I still use the bag for short 4 day trips where we drive because it can pack a lot while offering plenty of organization. So although I hardly use it for air travel anymore, it still sees monthly action. Plus, it's easy to squeeze into my car's small trunk.

I've used this bag in South East Asia, Hawaii, California, Florida, the Bahamas, and many other places in the continental US. Like everyone else's reviews, I've had no trouble fitting it into carryon space.

I also have some other products, including the Market Tote, Lil Roy, Travel Basket/Tray, the XS Aviator. Personally, I'm a HUGE fan of the XS Aviator, and I think it's one of best bags from any manufacturer.

My personal reason for really appreciating my AirBoss is that I lived out of it for a period of 6 weeks. When my wife was hospitalized and in between the hospital and in-patient rehab, I lived out of the AirBoss for 6 weeks. I also had the XS Aviator which I used for food and medical supplies, but it acted mostly as a storage bag. Fortunately, I could do laundry whenever needed. The AirBoss was great, as I was able to keep plenty of clothes separated between the three compartments. I mainly put dirty clothes in one outside section, and used the center for toiletries, shoes, laptop, and a DSLR. The other outside section held the clean clothes. The narrow zip slip pocket was used to keep receipts and records of medical expenses. The large side zip pocket held medical papers. I also used the XS Aviator to carry heavy loads and items like cans of food and bottles of water.

During the 6 weeks, I also ended up buying a lightweight nylon ripstop packable duffel from another company which was used to store dirty clothes (or be packed away in minimal space until needed). However, the build quality of the Redoxx gear was much better.

Anyways, that's the reason I appreciate the AirBoss. I relied upon it at the most critical time of my life, and it didn't disappoint.

Thank you Redoxx team. You helped me out.
 
 as promised
By Rotcoddam, Virginia, USA, September 26, 2013

Worked as well as promised in the various on line reviews and the product web site. A great bag that fit easily in any overhead compartment due to the soft sides and lack of wheels. I did underestimate how heavy it would get when carrying it a while. The shoulder strap really was great, but still my shoulder ached after carrying it for a half hour or so. I did find that by sliding the strap so that the weight of the bag was in front of my hip I could stand up straighter and this helped my back. With the case more to the rear, I had to lean forward to balance. Of course, I weigh only 145 pounds, so for a bigger guy that might not be an issue. Definitely recommend.
 
 Great bag!
By Bill, Alabama, September 26, 2013

This is a great bag! I recently took a one week vacation to Aruba and packed all my clothes in my bag so I needed no checked bag. It has become my go-to bag for every trip I make now.
 
 I'm sold
By Anonymous, NE, September 26, 2013

Purchased based on flyertalk reviews/raves. Used it for a family (3) trip to Vegas for 5 days. Using an EC folder and organizing bags, I was able to fit EVERYTHING in this bag. We also toted along two backpacks for diapers, snacks, etc., but the main luggage was only this Air Boss. It was heavy, but manageable. On a leg bag, was able to switch flights; therefore, having this bag eliminated the angst of trying to find room for a fullsize roller.
 
 Best travel bag I have ever used
By Jeff B, Santa Monica, September 20, 2013

Exceeds expectations. This bag is beyond tough and looks great. Zippers are strong and do not slip. Compartments hold more than seems possible. Color options are great. You will not be disappointed. Only two issues--cost us high and availability can be problem. But, this have should last ten years. Worth the wait.

 
 Fantastic gear
By JV, An airport somewhere in the US, September 5, 2013

The perfect bag for me. I have a couple of dozen domestic trips on this bag, most of them of 3-5 day duration. Carried on every time, all manner of aircraft. Plenty of space for casual business, plus some workout gear. I also have the metro briefcase for my 17" laptop, iPad, etc. I love NOT having wheels -- so fast and easy on trains, in planes, in airports, and especially getting across town in NYC. Great bag. Extremely well made and extremely well thought out.
 
 Best Luggage I've EVER or WILL EVER Own
By Benjamin, Boston, MA, July 29, 2013

I am not a tourist! I am a business traveler! I set foot on over sixty airplanes last year, so I know exactly what I want in a carry on. Never before had I found it until I did a search for "best carry on luggage" and this was at the top of the list.

I can easily fit a week's worth of clothes in here, which includes a pair of shoes, two suits, the RedOxx Tri-Fold Shave Kit, the RedOxx travel basket, and much more. If you know how to pack, this is the only bag worth having.

As far as utility goes, it easily fits in the overhead bin and doesn't take up excessive space like those idiotic "rollies" and the rude travelers who inexplicably carry them on. I've never had to gate check this bag...not even on smaller regional jets.

It's also tough and remarkably weatherproof. I personally feel that RedOxx downplays their products' water resistance. This thing has sat in the rain and been lugged through snow more times that I would have liked and nothing inside ever gets wet.
 
 Airboss is the best
By Chris Flanagan, Australia, June 22, 2013

Thank you Red Oxx. The magic of the internet means I can buy the best designed travel goods on the face of the earth, even though I live on the other side of the planet. It makes me want to come and see you in Billings (with my Air Boss in tow, of course). First class products. First class service. 5 stars. I'm recommending you to everyone who will listen. All the other major luggage brands aren't as clever or innovative as you. And thanks to onebag.com for the wisdom.
 
 POOR CHOICE
By Ken Greene, RN, Phoenix, June 10, 2013

I travel a TON, and this is probably the worst choice for a carry-on that I have ever had. Limited amount of pockets and lugging this bag around your neck is a terrible idea. Used once and now since the very restrictive return policy prohibits me from returning, I will dump it on eBay. HOW DO YOU EXPECT ANYONE TO KNOW HOW A PRODUCT PERFORMS WITHOUT BEING ABLE TO TRY IT IN THE FIELD? Perhaps that is the "plan" to force people to keep something they do not want.
 
 This Is the One.
By L, Phoenix, AZ, June 7, 2013

Air Boss (safari color) is the best piece of carry-on luggage I have ever owned. It's super lightweight (when empty), rock-solid, and built extremely well. You will not be disappointed -- no problems whatsoever.

I wanted to write a review to comment on people who have changed their bag, but not their bad travel habits... stuffing the bag full ("it's heavy and my back hurts") and are not using bundling techniques. Read Rick Steves' techniques, read onebag.com, or take a look at other sites. It's so easy and you will enjoy your trip so much more.

I've got a bad back and I'm over six feet... and I've had no issues.

I'll buy more bags from RedOxx. 100% worth every penny.
 
 successful purchase
By Michael Wardle, Northern Ontario, Canada, June 7, 2013

Just used the bag on an extended trip to France and England. It did really well on both plane and train despite being overly full. Liked the protection it gave for my laptop. Will up date in a year.
 
 SMART & FUNCTIONAL
By I.ERICSSON, SURREY, UK, June 4, 2013

I travel a lot through Europe for business and have never managed to find a bag which is big enough to carry what i need to take with me but small enough to get in as cabin baggage. I also need it to accomodate a laptop bag. The air boss does this easily - functionally it is great, design wise it is equally impressive and the customer service was brilliant. A great product supplied by a great company.
 
 A year in: Great, but with limits
By RP, Washington, DC, May 26, 2013

I think it's been about a year since I got my Air Boss and I wanted to update my review.

First of all, after lots of planes, trains and automobiles, it still looks practically new. No frayed edges, no funky zipper problems.

Secondly, I just returned from six days of business travel (five airplanes, three rental cars) with sportcoats, ties, dress shirts, dress pants, and a spare pair of size 13s. I couldn't have done that with my roll aboard. This thing is big.

Thirdly, the wrinkles really do fall out if you hang stuff in the bathroom overnight after running the shower a while.

Fourth, I was able to fly standby on an earlier flight because I hadn't checked anything and even though the overhead bins were full, I could wiggle my AirBoss into a spare space.

The downside is that my back is now paying for bad body mechanics one time I hoisted all of that on my shoulder. Six days of clothes may fit, but there's a reason people like wheels. It also gets really old carrying it from the farthest gate.

This is probably the most versatile bag I've owned, but it isn't right for everything. Sometimes, you just need to check a bag. Or maybe the Sky Train is easier to lug, since it has backpack straps.

 
 Love the Air Boss
By Joshua Weller, Australia, May 16, 2013

I am very happy with the Air boss. It is everything I was expecting and more. The new changes are improvements that were pointed out in many Online reviews and have been corrected, Ugly Logo Badge, etc.. one thing I would like to see.

1: a D ring or Loop of kinds inside one of the Zip pockets to hang a Key clip on and also to Attach the Dog Tag /ID & Cable Lock so it inside the bag not dangling outside making noise and getting in the way.
 
 Love it, but...
By Mike, Chicago, IL, May 13, 2013

My wife bought this for me after I researched it extensively, as an alternative to being forced to gate check too many times with a roller case, and to help get around in crowded city streets, trains, subways, small taxis, etc. I have used it on several domestic and international trips, both business and recreational, and in general love the look and solid feel.

First the good: this thing is built like a truck, with super strong zippers pull ties, straps, etc. It can easily be stuffed into crowded overhead compartments and at a pinch under an airline seat. I can pack enough shirts, underwear for a Monday-Friday business trip, although shoes can be an issue if you like to run and carry a spare pair. The central compartment is great for accessing books, camera, laptop, your ziplock of liquids.

Cons: there is no organizer space for pens, computer mouse, keys etc, part from the small side pocket. The real negative I have is that you can plain overload it, and it can easily weigh 25-plus pounds with a few papers, books, magazines, laptop and power supply slipped in. That can put you over a weight limit on some small European planes, but the biggest problem I have had is, since using this bag, I have developed a shoulder pain on one side. It gets better when not traveling and flares up again when I use the bag. Now maybe I should just use the carry handles, but they are not super comfortable, and then I don't have a free hand. I am fit, but in my fifties, so maybe the problem is specific to me.

Net: great product, but I would consider the double shoulder strap/backpack Sky Train the better option for carrying when walking any distance, but then you lose the flat packing ability of the Sky Train. As it is, I will continue to use this bag, minus the shoulder strap, for family trips.

I also have the Metro briefcase, which I use daily. I have never successfully been able to fit the one into the other, but at least having both takes care of the lack of small item storage pockets in the Boss.
 
 Love this bag!
By E Cox, Boston, MA, May 6, 2013

This suitcase has been everywhere from Russia to Colombia, mainly for business travel. Packed properly, I can travel for a week without having to check a bag. I have spent so much time using and bragging about my luggage that my wife got tired of hearing me and made me get one for her.
 
 Form & Function
By Susan, Maryland, May 5, 2013

Since I had some trips coming up I decided it was time to invest in something better than the junky rolling carry-on I got years ago. I've been reading Onebag.com and following Doug's advice on packing & that obviously convinced me to order the Air Boss.

I used it on a two week business trip in April. I did laundry once, so I basically had 7 days worth of clothes, 2 pairs of shoes, plus miscellaneous stuff like chargers, a toothbrush, and some paperwork. After packing, I definitely could have put more in the bag -- although I think if I had stuffed it to capacity I would have trouble carrying it for long. As it is, I got a little tired hauling the bag around the airport on a quest for coffee, but no other problems.

The claw strap deserves all the raves it's gotten -- I wish I could get use it on the bag I take to the office every day!

And now that I'm back home I'm delighted that this will take up a lot less space in the closet than my old carry-on.
 
 As good as they get.
By CC, Bakersfield, CA, May 5, 2013

This bag probably travelled over 200,000 miles with me. It handled heat & humidity, air-conditioned cars as well as dusty public buses. And it is still in excellent shape. I am glad I spent a bit for high quality.
 
 More than I can handle
By Jill Johnson, Baton Rouge, LA, May 2, 2013

I bought this bag on the recommendation of the 'OneBag.com' guy. He was right on about all the attributes of the bag. It's great.

It has an amazing amount of space (like magic, you can keep adding stuff). I packed for a 10 day trip including my computer, make up, etc. and stuffed everything in.

MY only problem is that all that stuff is heavy, and even though the OneBag.com guy is opposed to bags with wheels, I wish I had gone for a wheeled version. Next time I will pack less or lift weights to prepare for the journey.

So my only complaint is not with the bag, but with my physical abilities. I will probably also look into another shoulder strap.
 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ... Next > 
Specifications

Air Boss Spec Size Chart

  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • US Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 53.3cm L x 20.3cm W x 33cm H
  • US Capacity: 2,184 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 35.7 Liters
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Cordura Nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 420 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • 4 lb. Volara closed cell foam padding on exterior panels
  • Double Box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Nylon webbing zipper pull grab loops
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors

Air Boss Carry-on Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 30 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

Is the Air Boss carry-on legal?
Yes, the Air Boss is carry-on legal on most jet airlines.
 
What's the best way to pack the Air Boss?
The bundle packing method is recommended. Watch the packing video under the Photos and Videos tab or download the printable luggage packing diagram (Pdf file).
 
What's the difference between the Air Boss and the Sky Train?
There are two principle differences between the Air Boss and the Sky Train: The Sky Train has retractable backpack straps and opens flat lengthwise whereas the Air Boss opens flat like a book.
 
Will the Air Boss fit under the seat in front of me?
Cramming the Air Boss under the seat is not recommended.
 
Will the Eagle Creek packing cubes fit the Air Boss?
We recommend that you use our Nomad Shave Kit, Lil Roy Gadget Bag or Tri-fold Toiletry bag as packing cubes. You can color co-ordinate them to your preference and they come with useful carry handles. The Tri-Fold Toiletry Kit is also a brilliant shave kit organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
 
How many pounds will the Air Boss weigh when packed?
It depends on what you pack. A typical 3-5 day load will weigh about 20-25 pounds.
 
How many days travel can I fit in the Air Boss Carry-on?
Most travelers can get about 3-5 days with a typical load. Some adventurous types have been able to pack from a week to ten days! It all depends on how you pack and what you pack.
 
Where do I pack the laptop?
You can use the center compartment. We recommend that you use a padded sleeve to protect your laptop.
 
What's the best way to pack footwear?
Sole to sole to minimize the dirt and placed in the middle compartment. We recommend placing your shoes in a plastic bag first.
 
Can I change the logo color?
Sure. Simply order your favorite color Logo Patch and sew it on yourself. Red Oxx cannot change the patch colors for you.
 
Can I order a bag without the logo?
Logo Patches are centered using a hole punch. If you remove the patch, there will be a hole in the bag that could cause a snag. Red Oxx cannot build a bag without a logo as this would disrupt the efficiency of the production line. Feel free to use a permanent marker to color the patches.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my bag?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
The Air Boss has three large internal compartments. There are no internal pockets.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.